FB Twitter

Old Brewery House

Old Brewery House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


Old Brewery house is a charming, characteristic property sitting in the tranquil grounds of Donnington Brewery overlooking a private lake and gardens and home to two resident peacocks. Seemingly miles from anywhere, yet right on the doorstep of Stow on the Wold, this charming Cotswold town offers a wide variety of shops, restaurants and eateries to please all.

A very spacious house in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very comfortable and spacious. Lovely view over the lake, although it is a pity that walking by the lake is not allowed. It was the wrong time of year for us to make use of the garden but it looks like it would be pleasant in good weather. The peacocks were welcome visitors in the mornings! The kitchen is very well equipped but the range cookers are unsuitable for a holiday rental property as the hotplates and the ovens take so long to get to useful temperature - they do not suit the way that a holiday rental is used.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 63 days ago
Thank you Antony for your review of Old Brewery House. We are so glad you found the property to be spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Thank you for your feedback we will pass it on to the property manager. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds soon.

Friends reunion - brilliant location and great facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 8 of us staying. All instructions were clear, explanations was great, location awesome. What’s not to like!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 124 days ago
Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely reunion at Old Brewery House, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come to this house over & over again. Beautiful property, warm, clean & well equipped. Lovely pubs & walks nearby.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 139 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review on Old Brewery House. We are delighted the property is warm, clean and well-equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Family weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful house! SO spacious! Fab location. We had a 3 and 7 year old and it worked perfectly, they especially loved the peacocks coming to say hello every morning. Fantastic service form Stay Cotswold and we will definitely use them again. Thanks guys! X

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 151 days ago
Thank you Raymond for your review of Old Brewery House. We are delighted you found the property to be spacious and wonderful. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Spacious property.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Plenty of room in this spacious property. Could benefit from some TLC. Cooker was difficult to master. If you dont want the hassle visit The Golden Ball in Lower Swell, only a 30 minute stroll down quiet country lanes. Excellent food and service and allergies well catered for.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 187 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback, Paul. Old Brewery House has a double Everhot Range Cooker which can take some time to master but is a lovely traditional feature of countryside living. There are detailed instructions on how to use the Ranger Cooker available at the property and the Property Manager, Andy is also on hand and happy to help with any queries that guests may have. Overall, we’re pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the convenience of The Golden Ball just a short walk away. We hope your group will be back to stay again sometime.

An Excellent Family Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Brewery House was a wonderfully spacious but still very cosy venue for our family reunion. The property, situated in a lovely spot in the centre of the old brewery complex, was well equipped and scrupulously clean. A lovely Victoria sponge cake was waiting for us on our arrival and Andy, the property manager was friendly and very helpful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 230 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Old Brewery House. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and family reunion in the Cotswolds as well as the lovely cake! We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold again soon.

Happy Days in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brewery House is super place to stay in many ways. The site is very quiet, rural and picturesque and the house is well equipped and very spacious. It is ideal for couples as each bedroom has an en suite bathroom.
There is plenty to do in the area and lots of excellent walks. There are several National Trust places worth visiting, especially Hidcote if visiting late Spring or Summer.

(The house could do with a lick of paint in places and a couple of tablespoons would have been very useful!)


Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 266 days ago
Thank you for your review Sue. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Brewery House and exploring the Cotswolds.

The Old Brewery, Upper Swell

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally very satisfactory. An interesting property in a beautiful location. We had issues with the cooker in determining the temperature and we felt the quality of beds/bedding could be upgraded. We must praise Andy who was extremely friendly and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable holiday- the tour of the brewery was the icing on the cake.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 305 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review. The property managers are on hand to help with any issues that arise during your stay, so we are pleased you found Andy extremely friendly and helpful. It is wonderful to hear that you had a very enjoyable holiday and we hope we can welcome you back soon to The Old Brewery and the Cotswolds.

A great break

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Old Brewery House very much. It was very clean and well equipped. The bedrooms were all of a good size and comfortable. The cooker took some getting used to, being of a Rayburn/Aga type, but it worked well. The logs for the fire were appreciated. It's a very old house and the condition is as would be expected, but it was ideal for our party of 8. A lovely quiet location, with lake and river. Very picturesque.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 315 days ago
Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Old Brewery House and the picturesque surrounds and we hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds soon!

Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really love the house. It was perfect for this role in the local area and had absolutely everything we needed. We would definitely go back.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 335 days ago
Victoria, we are delighted you loved Old Brewery House, thank you for your review, we certainly look forward to seeing you again.

A short stay at Old Brewery House

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Brewery House was a great place to stay and visit the Cotswold's. The property has four large bedrooms, all on suite and lots of space for people to spread-out and enjoy. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 341 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Old Brewery House. We are thrilled to hear that yourself and your group had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold in the future.

A great place for a family gathering. 4 ensuites ideal. The kitchen diner more than adequate.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Brewery house was great for an 80th birthday get together. Andy was more than helpful and was always willing to answer any queries we had. The building was a little tired but clean and comfortable. A tour round the brewery was interesting and the men ( and some of the women) enjoyed the beer! There were some items lacking in the kitchen but a check by the management could remedy that.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 347 days ago
Thank you Patricia for you review, we are thrilled you had a great stay at the Old Brewery House and enjoyed a tour round the Brewery! We appreciate your comments and will of course pass them on to the owners. StayCotswold looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Fabulous stay in Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eight of our family stayed at the old Brewery House for a 3 day break and we all had a fabulous time. The house is extremely spacious and is well equipped with everything needed.
We took advantage of the beer brewed on site too.
Great place that we would fully recommend. Andy was very helpful before and on arrival too.
Simon

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Simon for your wonderful review. We are delighted you had a great stay at The Old Brewery and got to try some of the beer! We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Cotswolds soon.

Lovely stay in a lovely house

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extended family of 6 people aged 9 to 70 stayed for a long weekend. Weather was awful and it was perfect to stay warm and cosy in what is a fairly large but very thought through cottage with plenty of nooks and crannies to entertain kids while the adults huddled around the fireplace. Andy was as helpful as other reviews have mentioned, and some more. We enjoyed walking around the pond, the river, and spotted the peacocks on a number of occasions. We will need to come back in summer, bet it must be so pretty..,

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review Stephanie, we are glad to hear that Old Brewery House was able to provide some comfort and warmth during the bad weather! We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer to explore some more of the Cotswolds!

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here every year & it never fails us! Peace & quiet, peacocks, log fire, two sitting rooms, and best of all for us (8 women) all the beds can be split into singles - hard to fine elsewhere.

Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Susannah for a great review on Old Brewery House we are delighted you stay with us every year and hope to welcome you back for many more visits.

Fantastic place

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the Old Brewery House, perfect for 4 couples plenty of space. The kitchen was very well equipped and we made good use of it cooking a celebratory birthday dinner.
Our contact Andy was very helpful and informative about the property and we all agreed that we would not hesitate to stay there again.
StayCotswolds were excellent, as we had to change the date of our original booking due to the COVID restrictions, so a thank you to them for a seamless transfer.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
A fantastic review Carol, we are very pleased you had a great stay at The Old Brewery. we hope to welcome you back to StayCotswold soon.

Wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Old Brewery House with family, the location & weather was fantastic. A wonderful spacious house with so much character. The surrounding area and the brewery make it a very memorable place to stay. It is also close to Stow on the Wold for shops & amenities

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





A beautiful, spacious and isolated interesting old house by the River Diker.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely spacious, especially the kitchen, more than sufficient space for the average family. Takes a while to take in all the rooms as being an old building (like a large farm house), there are lots of ups and downs with nooks and crannies !
Outside space is ample for two vehicles with an interesting garden and area to sit and relax by the river. A very isolated and quiet position, the working brewery next door ,is not a problem !
The best equipped kitchen we have encountered- would loved to have stayed longer. So will return !

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Relaxing week in sunny Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location for visiting any part of The Cotswolds. Large house with good sized rooms and excellent outdoor space for games particularly croquet (equipment provided, also badminton). Kitchen dinning area well laid out and lovely and sunny in the mornings. Slight noise from the work that had to be done outside towards the end of our stay but didn't really impact on us. Had more of an issue with visitors to the brewery and walkers wandering down our side of the driveway. More than happy to be next to a working brewery but maybe better direction for visitors? We did have a lovely week and having access to a very good local beer was a bonus! Particularly enjoyed seeing the flocks of geese fly over at sunset.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Such a comfortable well placed property

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Old Brewery House as a family group of 8. Andy is great and answered our questions both before arrival and whilst we were there. He was so helpful - thanks Andy. The house is very well equipped and being so spacious it felt really comfortable. The gardens and outside space is well kept and we spent many happy hours out there. It is lovely and quiet, so feels very peaceful and relaxing. The location is great to access Stow-on-the-Wold, Broadway, The Slaughters, Bourton-on-the-Water and slightly further afield to Cleve Hill and Cheltenham. The beer went down well too.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Gorgeous... can’t wait to come back.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow... the property is picture perfect Cotswolds, the Brewery House is warm, cosy and inviting. It feels like a fancy home away from home and it’s so easy to relax. We stayed here after a month traveling in Europe and Brewery House was the perfect place to unwind - and dare I say - the best part of our entire trip.

Andy seems to get a lot of great reviews too and it’s all true. Careful trying his beer though as you’ll be hooked!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Family Christmas

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the second time we stayed in the Old Brewery House for Christmas together with family visiting from overseas and all voted it a great success. The house is large and comfortable and easily absorbed the extra people who visited us meaning that on one occasion 17 people sat down for lunch with plenty of plates, glasses, knives, forks etc. Andy was, as previously, extremely helpful and provided us with an additional table. The Everhot cooker presented a bit of a problem but, once it was heated up, the four ovens were much appreciated and enabled us to cook a perfect turkey and crispy roast potatoes as well as all the other traditional Christmas food. It was lovely to look out on the lake and see such a variety of water birds as well as peacocks immediately outside the door.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Lovely week

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very special and spacious house in a lovely location. We had a wonderful time and my kids loved it.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Brilliant family time!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our bi-annual "Family Holiday" - 7 of us. A really fantastic location. The grounds were stunning and we had a great deal of fun playing croquet. One small minus point was that we would've preferred the BBQ area to be located nearer the house than it was. A bit of a trek carrying things to and fro from the kitchen. The house was very spacious. All the bedrooms were such a good size. And lots of room to sprawl out downstairs too. The Brewery house was central for many places to visit in that area. Not that far to anywhere. The Aga in the kitchen took some getting used to - but we succeeded in the end! Andy - the property manager was excellent. Such a help and so understanding in every way. Definitely one of our best family times.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Wonderful weekend among friends with babies

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with a bunch of NCT friends and babies for a weekend early July and could not have wished for a more lovely setting. We barbecued and played in the garden, played cards in the living room, had brunch all together in the large kitchen and walked around the beautiful surroundings to see the brewery, the peacocks on the lawn and the geese on the pond.
We were very pleased with our choice and would recommend it to any group looking for a charming getaway in the cotswolds.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place and superb service from start to finish. Thanks particularly to Andy (the very helpful property manager) for sorting handover / and questions etc and the stay Cotswolds team for efficient booking.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Great base for our daughter’s wedding

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house. Four bedrooms with own en-suite made is easy for our guests with the bridesmaids staying.
Andy very helpful and the beer went down well at the wedding reception.
Two downsides. One several people follow the beer for sale sign, buy beer, drink it by the lake so not very private
Two there is a lot of giant hog weed in the garden, the sap of this plant can burn the skin.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Easter Bliss in Upper Swell

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party of 8 ( 4 couples) celebrated my sons 30th birthday and Easter weekend at The Brewery....we had a magical visit....

The Brewery is even prettier in person than in photos...it is an Idyll, a fairytale spot with a river, croquet lawn & ducks & swans all going to greet you...as well as cows in the field next store...The 4 bedrooms rooms are all large (super kings) that can be unzipped for singles if needed....with pretty modern bathrooms...the beds comfortable and lots of linens and duvets to cosy up in.....The kitchen is so well equipped and there is an outdoor bbq...the living rooms and smaller den (our guys dubbed the " man cave) are so well done ( there is a fire place in the living room which works beautifully) There are gorgeous country walks, quiet and a fabulous real brewery right next door...we never heard any noise.....If there house were for sale, I want to get it....we ALL said we'd be back...we had a terrific time.....blissful...I recommend highly!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes