FB Twitter

Elm Bank

Elm Bank

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Elm Bank is an elegantly presented holiday home in the peaceful village of Lower Swell, just a mile from the famous market town of Stow-on-the-Wold. Boasting stylish interiors, spacious living areas, a well-equipped kitchen and a superb garden, this fabulous property is perfect for large groups looking to enjoy the Cotswold countryside.

Great place for a family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were celebrating a 90th birthday. Accommodation was ideal for the 9 of us. Lovely to have a large dining room table that we could share leisurely meals together. Well equipped kitchen for providing even a 3 course meal.
Enough comfortable seating for us all in the lounge area. Great to have the open fire on in the evening.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 35 days ago
Thank you Esther for your review of Elm Bank. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be ideal for your celebration. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Perfect weekend stay in spacious, comfortable house

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a great weekend in a beautiful spot. We visited as a group of 12 for a 40th birthday gathering. Each couple had their own room and bathroom, and the kids made use of the additional rooms (the sofa room downstairs was also a separate room). Beds were really comfortable and all the rooms really homely. House is really well equipped, right down to personalised letter mugs!!! House was warm and we all felt at home right away. Plenty of carpets for the kids to run around on, they absolutely loved it. Would love to go back, one of the most comfortable, spacious places we’ve stayed.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 48 days ago
Thank you Kate for your wonderful review of Elm Bank. We are delighted to know that you had a great weekend at the property celebrating a 40th birthday. It is lovely to know that the beds are really comfortable and the house is well equipped, warm and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds soon.

Immaculate property, great communication and well stocked

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we've stayed at Elm Bank over Christmas as a family and we were not disappointed.
The place was absolutely spotless and we had everything we needed in the kitchen and the rest of the house for a full Christmas dinner and social times. Having the two lounge areas is fantastic as it give space to move around but also has enough seats for everyone to be in the one room (front) if you want. The short walk up the hill to Stow makes for a good coffee-break and there are good running routes too. We went to see the Christmas lights at Sudely castle.

We reported one issue with a shower which was responded to immediatley (though we said it was fine not to do anything there and then as it was Christmas eve and we had enough bathrooms). The owner left lots of goodies and the place was brilliantly decorated for Christmas.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 98 days ago
Thank you Gill for your review of Elm Bank. We are delighted to have welcomed you back for a second stay and that you found the property to be spotlessly clean and well equipped. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Lovey Family Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely weekend stay for a family birthday. Plenty of space with rooms/seating big enough for everyone to sit together. All the bedrooms were really nice and lots of bathrooms, for our party that meant each family got their own bathroom. Great location in a pretty Cotswold village within easy distance of the Cotswold Farm Park where we spent a pleasant afternoon with the kids. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 130 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Elm Bank. We're thrilled you found Elm Bank perfect for your party and made the most of the excellent location. We would love to welcome you back in the future!

Perfect house in an idyllic location close to the village pub and local walks.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Elm Bank for my 40th birthday and the house was perfect for 8 girls.

We had such a lovely weekend here and enjoyed the local pub, a walk to Lower Slaughter and some lovely beer at the Hawkstone Brewery.

The house had everything we needed and more, lots of space, comfy beds and a quiet village location.

Thank you for having us.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 136 days ago
Thank you Mary we are delighted you enjoyed your 40th celebrations at Elm Bank and hope to welcome you back again soon

Beautiful house in an excellent location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property for my husband's 70th birthday celebration with all our immediate family - 6 adults and 4 young children in total. There was plenty of room for us all, every pair of adults had an en-suite, and the children's 2 rooms were fine for the three toddlers and baby. The communal areas were very spacious - 2 lounges and a separate TV room and dining room, along with a spacious kitchen/breakfast room. More than enough space for us all. The kitchen was very well equipped, almost too many pots and pans and dishes. It was useful having a separate utility room for the tumble dryer and a back entrance to take off kids shoes etc. The garden was very pretty, although a recent mow would have helped!

We were able to have a couple of local walks, there was a big field adjoining the back of the prpperty for the children to run around in and ride their bikes(although unfortunately it was not accessible from the back garden). Nearby Stow on the Wold was so pretty as were the other local towns. The pub across the road was very handy and the food was good.

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay and birthday celebration.

There were a couple of small negatives:

1). The radiators in the master bedroom and bedroom no.4 did not appear to work at all. The individual radiator thermostats were set to 19C but the radiators were never warm and the rooms were noticeably colder than the rest of the house. We were unable to adjust the temperature on the thermostats.
2). Please can you ensure the cleaners empty the condenser tray and clean out the filter in the tumble dryer. The tray was full to the brim with water and the filter very clogged up. We sorted them out once we realised why the dryer wasn't drying!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 171 days ago
Thank you Karin for your review of Elm Bank. We are delighted you found the property to be spacious, well equipped and in a great location to explore local walks, pub and Stow. We will pass on your feedback about the tumble dryer and radiators on to the property manager for them to review and implement any appropriate actions for the benefit of future guests. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Family 65th Birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House was very comfortable and spacious. Location and views good.
Plenty of crockery, utensils and facilities at the property and all very clean.
Very happy with our stay.
Only downside is driveway and parking a little tight for nervous drivers or big cars.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 173 days ago
Thank you Steven, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay at Elm Bank and hope to welcome you back.

A very comfortable stay for a big family

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a pleasant stay at Elm Bank. There was ample room for 8 adults and 3 kids. It's convenient located just outside of Stow on the Wold along a quiet road. We enjoyed using the BBQ and spending time in the garden. The house was very clean and well maintained. The property management team was also very responsive and replied to emails quickly.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 228 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review of Elm Bank! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the lovely garden and BBQ. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Lovely property, great location fir extended family

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was extremely comfortable and well equipped to meet the needs of an extended family. The indoor spaces coupled with the garden meant it was ideal regardless of the weather.
The location was ideal for exploring the Cotswolds and with Stow being 3 or 4 minutes drive, the lack of a djop in yhe village was not an issue. The house is across yhe Road from the Golden Ball pub which served great food. An ideal place for a relaxing family break.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswolds replied 230 days ago
Thank you Michael for your lovely review of Elm Bank. We are pleased to read that the property was comfortable and well equipped and it was ideally located to explore the Cotswolds. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds soon.

2nd visit. Suits our needs with 3 young granchildren from opposite ends of the country.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The title says it all really. House is very comfortable, could do with a stair gate and it has a very pleasant garden. Beds and rooms comfortable and a good location for visiting places of interest for young children.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 299 days ago
Thank you for your review Brian, we are glad you found Elm Bank comfortable and in a great location, StayCotswold hope to welcome you back again.

Great family homely weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recommend this stay in a homely, spacious, well decorated, good facility home. We were 4 couples, 3 toddlers, long weekend. Accommodation great, location very good. Everything you need for the kitchen is there. Heating system excellent, we had a warm stay in inclement weather. We made use of all 3 reception rooms, allocating part of the homely front room (no TV) into a play area, in conjunction with the TV sitting/dining room, and front bedroom. We played with some games provided and read some of the books. A welcome kitchen pack was appreciated. Towels etc all provided. Very comfortable beds and generally we all slept well. Pub across the road gave us adults a card-beer break. Too wet to play in the good garden, but summer would allow play and barbecue. We parked 3 cars in the driveway and 1 adjacent the garage doors. Keysafe opened 5pm (not before).

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Iain for your review of Elm Bank. We are so glad that you found the property to be homely, spacious and well decorated. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Great place

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elm Bank is fantastic place to spend time with family , everything you could possibly want is there . It's in a beautiful part of the country.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Carole for your review of Elm Bank. We are delighted that you found the property to have everything you could possibly want. We hope you will visit the Cotswolds again soon!

Lovely New Year Break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House is in perfect location for a New Year break with friends. Lovely walk in to Stow on the Wold.

House is large enough for two families and had everything we needed!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Amy for your review of Elm Bank. We are delighted that you found the property to be spacious, well equipped and in a good location to walk to Stow-on-the-Wold. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Really nice and clean property

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a wedding in Stow-on-the-wold. Really nice property, all rooms clean and well looked after. Plenty of car parking space. Lovely garden and surrounding area.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you had a wonderful stay at Elm Bank, Ruth - We hope you'll book again in the near future!

Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful country cottage set in the most idyllic surroundings. Warm, comfortably sleeps 10 and well equipped. Lovely log fire in sitting room and plenty of space for everyone. Will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Laura, thank you for the great review! We're pleased you will definitely be back to stay at Elm Bank - we hope to see you again soon!

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good condition and location.
Everything is provided for your comfort. Everything in the house is of a high quality.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay at Elm Bank and enjoyed the location.

Good space great for a family catch up but needed updating

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a good size house, good location. There were a few cobwebs around where it hadn’t been cleaned. We felt the house interior and exterior was tired and needed updating.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to let us have your view. Regarding the cobwebs – the housekeeper is already alerted but it is spider season in the countryside so I’m afraid these are something that can very quickly appear at this time. The house is deliberately retro in decor, however the owners do have a programme to update and renew every winter. Overall, we’re pleased that you enjoyed your family catch up at Elm Bank and found the location to be ideal.

Lovely family weekend at Elm Bank

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Elm Bank is a lovely spacious house in a beautiful setting and great for a family get together. StayCotswold were helpful and responded promptly to questions and with comprehensive information re the house, parking etc. The house was well equipped and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were spacious. The beds were comfortable except the futon in the morning room which was reportedly uncomfortable.
The outside space was great, well equipped and well used as it was a beautifully sunny weekend. It was great to have the BBQ which we used one afternoon. We had an Indian takeaway one evening, which was delicious (The Prince of India in Stow on the Wold). We all thought it was one of the the best Indian takeaways we'd had and highly recommend it.
We had a problem with two of the bathrooms as there was a blocked drain, however Amy had a drainage service sent out on the Sunday morning and the problem was resolved. It was blocked by old baby wipes despite signs in all the bathrooms asking people not to do this!
Overall we had a great 3 night stay in a lovely house in a beautiful area and would recommend it to families and groups of friends.


Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation, Judith. It’s great to hear that your family enjoyed a relaxing stay at Elm Bank, although it’s disappointing that your time was somewhat impacted by the blocked drains due to a wet wipe, despite all the polite notices! I’m pleased that you found the management team to be responsive and that the issue was quickly identified and resolved so that you could enjoy the rest of your stay. We hope that you will be back to stay again sometime soon!

Weekend escape

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at Elm Back. The cottage was beautiful, very spacious and well kept. The kitchen was well stocked. There was milk, bread and butter when we arrived! The garden was a fantastic place to relax. Electric showers all worked well. The family bathroom water pressure was not great. The downstairs shower/ WC was new. The Neighbour was friendly and helpful. Stay Cotswold company had very good telephone service when I called to enquire about the key code. There is a futon in the downstairs study room which was very comfortable. The whole cottage was clean and well stocked. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Elm Bank. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold again in the future.