FB Twitter

Modulog 1 with log burning tub

Modulog 1 with log burning tub

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Stay in Modulog

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time in April and stayed in one of the 4 Modulogs onsite. The location was perfect and the view was amazing. The accommodation was unique and very homely. We were very lucky with good weather and would recommend Tom’s Eco Log accommodation. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and in fact changed our ferry booking for a later time for us. I do think it might be rather cramped if six people stayed in the Modulogs.



An excellent family location

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long weekend at Tapnell Farm with 3 small children and it was perfect in every way. The park is excellent and spotlessly clean, the food at The Cow was delicious and our modulog was well equipped, with comfortable beds and warm at night. We will definitely return.



Oasis of Relaxation in Rain and Shine

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the amenities and found Modulog one had the perfect amount of space for a couples retreat. It was perfect for an afternoon indoors while it rained, and picnicking outdoors when it was sunny. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The honesty shed supplied almost all of our needs, having a card machine in the honesty shed would have been helpful. We also enjoyed the farm and the cow and game room.



Short Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hi
We stayed over an October weekend. The weather helped make it a fabulous weekend. We had everything we needed in the cabin.

Everything was set up well for a great relaxing weekend and the honesty shop was really handy and it was nice to have old fashioned honesty back again and pint bottles of milk to make that feel authentic. I felt like I'd gone back in time in a good way.




Stunning settings, staff are very friendly and very helpful.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During these unprecedented times, the check in and check out was very easy. To the point that you can just arrive and go to your room. You gain a text message when you room is ready and just turn up and get on, thumbs up here!

I’ve always wanted to stay in a log cabin and this was our first holiday since having a new born.

You are allocated a parking space and a large wheel barrow to take all your belongings to the accommodation, I really piled up the barrow and was effortless. Nice easy walk down to The Modulog, just be aware the Modulog cabins are the furthest from the car park, but easy access. The access included walking past all other types of accommodation available that was fun to admire.

Upon first impressions when first spotting the Modulog 1 and walking in, my wife and I really got the WOW factor. I had ordered the breakfast and BBQ add-ons which were beautifully set out on the dinning table and all meat etc was neatly stored in the fridge. Really felt like a homely and welcoming place to stay for a week. The breakfast and BBQ add ons were delicious and a must have in my view!

Upon living in the Modulog, there was a few days with really bad weather. The cabin held up and felt cosy inside with the log fire burning away. Although this did enable us to really live in the cabin. This is a dog friendly accommodation and in some areas it shows. Couple of the sofa pillows had dog hair attached where I had to brush off and also a water stain of some sort on the sofa so had to cover this up. The room with the two single beds in did have a slight scent on urine, sounds worse than it was but can tell it was there. Wasn’t sure if this was possibly a child having an accident from past or if a pet had an accident and soaked into the wood. Wasn’t strong enough to cause an issue to our stay.

The toilet door handle was well used and could do with being replace to a plastic handle to clean easily. Also the crack down the centre of the two leaf door was quite large that you can easily look in, could do with a small piece of wooden trim attached to either door to cover the gap.

The view was stunning from the porch and had a couple of stunning sun sets. Only gripe is I would of like the 2 slightly over grown bushes/trees to be topped to hedge height to enable us to view the sunset from decking area, instead we had to walk behind the cabin to high ground and sit up there instead to view.

The hot tube was nice, although only heated by a hot tap not log burner. No jets or bubbles but not an issue in my eyes. Had to empty and refill the tub every time time you used and finished using it. Took a while to fill up but worth it. The plug was a bit of a pain to get out as as the ring was to small for me to get my finger in and then the thread came out. Ended up having to use the screw end on the wine bottle opener to get it out.

Privacy whilst outside in the tub, BBQ, sitting around the camp fire or on deck could of been slightly better. The outside areas are quite close together and a small fence behind the hot tube would of been good.

Everything you need is within the kitchen, couldn’t find a oven dish but I texted Chloe as per book within room and she came down within minutes to hand one over. Kitchen very clean and neat. Where water had dripped onto the floor over time, part of the laminated flooring had lifted where I did catch my foot on before I knew it was there, needs repairing.

The honesty shed was good, had most of the essentials. Did try and go up a couple of times for milk and there wasn’t any but was soon restocked.

The cow restaurant was awesome, really enjoyed the food there and would highly recommend the “dirty fries”. Burgers are cooked to perfection. The waiters were really friendly and the app you use to order was brilliant and easy to use, wish all restaurants had this!

Stunning walks around the site, and plenty of animals to walk up to and admire in the back fields.

Overall, we had an amazing time. Didn’t want to leave in all honestly and really felt relaxed. I will certainly be returning again in the near future. In my eyes, Modulog 2 would be the one to go for due to being furthest away accommodation and having most privacy. Next time I’ll be going for that!

Anyone wanting a decent get away, this is the place to experience. Don’t let my down point reviews to put you off, they are nothing compared with the amount of good points.




80

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking of our stay at Tapnell was really easy as was the fact they booked the ferry, directions from Yarmouth were perfect.
Our thanks for being able to use the farm track as we were using a wheelchair to access the Modulog, and we did enjoy our stay.
The Modulog appeared to sleep 5, there were 3 of us, just right, 5 would have been impossible.
The lounge seating was extremely uncomfortable, the dining area fitted very well the layout, the kitchen was good for the nature of the Modulog and its idea of 'glamping'.
The double bed was not really comfortable, being right up against the outer wall, it was difficult to keep warm, and in a way limited space to the occupants.
Hot water was not consistent when showering/shaving.
Wi fi was very hit and miss.
We enquired at The Cow about their menu, and were told they did offer food other than beefburgers, we asked for a paper menu, we were told to go on line, all we could find was beefburgers, something we do not eat.
The general waste bins were not clean when we removed the plastic bags.
A hot tub was used at 23.30-24.00hrs. on the evening of the 26/27th September 20, vibrations came through the floor of our Modulog disturbing our sleep.







Just the best time

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Tom And The Team
Thanks for giving us such a loverly
Base for our short break in the isle of white
We understand that it’s hard for every one during this pandemic
Buy you and your team made us feel safe and more than welcome.

For a Middle age couple and a dog our accommodation was Better than Ideal

And there were some splendid walks starting right outside our front door

The twist is that had we not bid for this generously donated auction action prize at the Macmillan ball last year we would never have
Found this jem of a retreat,

That’s not to say that this a place for the old, Far from it, the pubs great, the farm parks a must see
And for the fearless there the water park
So it’s all good.
Macmillan got a big bundle of cash (Which they so desperately need )
and we got a Fabulous staycation in a loverly part of the Uk.

We know it’s tuff for the travel sector write now , but please please keep doing what your doing so We can return with the rest of the Sharp Troop

Thanks again
David and Sharon Sharp







Fantastic Stay in the Modulog Cabin!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay on Tapnell Farm in the Modulog Cabin. Excellent service from the team with plenty of information prior to check-in. Setting is incredible with views across the hills of IOW, farmland etc. Facilities on the farm which include the park farm, the cow restaurant are a really high-standard, COVID-Secure and reasonably priced.

The Modulog was clean, tidy and accommodated for every need. The team at Toms Eco Lodge were extremely helpful if we needed anything and always provided a quick response. The lodge was perfect for us as a couple but would easily work for friends/ families etc.

Hot tub/ Bath was easy to use and perfect in the evenings watching the sunset. It would be a benefit if there was some sort of wind-break/ fence around maybe two-sides of the hot tub however but this inst a necessity and did not take anything away from the experience.

Small but well-appreciated touches include the BBQ, fire pit and supply of logs/matches etc. Milk supplied in the fridge, the honest shed for small purchases and fresh supply of eggs are nice additions to the stay.

Overall a brilliant place with an idyllic setting on the IOW. Great location with excellent access to the coast (Colwell Bay, Totland Bay, Freshwater Bay). Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay on the island. We would definitely return.