FB Twitter

Saligo

Saligo

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Saligo Apartment in Port Charlotte Hall with bright living space over two levels (sleeps 8).

Very nice place.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everthing was in good condition. Even if we asked for three more duvet covers, they were delivered right away. The reason for that was: We were 8 men in 4 beds with 3 doublebeds and only one cover for both. Those 3 men got then there extra cover. Blankets were available. Thank you Margret and Alison for your support



Margaret replied 16 days ago
Dear Hajo, Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist with the sleeping arrangements without delay. It was lovely to meet you when I was over. It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back soon. Best wishes, Margaret .

Excellent holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a wonderful week in Saligo apartment in Port Charlotte. The apartment is very clean and comfortable and has all things you would need in a ‘home from home’. Ensuite bathrooms in each bedroom are a definite bonus. Would definitely recommend it to others.



Margaret replied 26 days ago
Thank you Maggi. Once again it was our pleasure to welcome you all back. Hope to see you all again soon. Best wishes, Margaret .

Saligo

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rented all 3 apartment for my parents joint 80th birthday. Perfect for large groups. Great space and garden. Well equipped throughout.



Margaret replied 33 days ago
Thank you Ailsa for being such fabulous guests. I am glad that you enjoyed Saligo for such a special celebration all together. We hope that we shall be able to welcome you all back soon. Best wishes, Margaret

Super Saligo!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Party of three staying for 6 nights. Very comfortable with every bedroom having a lovely en suite. Well thought out accommodation and well provisioned by way of equipment especially in the kitchen. Tastefully decorated and furnished and warm. Would certainly visit again and hope for better weather!




Margaret replied 46 days ago
Anne, thank you very much for your generous review. It is such a pity that the weather was not at its best, but I am glad that you were all comfortable and warm. Hopefully, we shall be able to tempt you back when the sun has returned. Best wishes, Margaret

Beautiful Accommodation on beautiful Islay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Saligo. House was exceptionally clean and spacious, had everything you could ask for. Location excellent . Thank you we will return.



Margaret replied 72 days ago
Thank you Jacqui for your very kind feedback. It is greatly appreciated. I shall certainly share it with Alison and the team. It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back in the future. Best wishes, Margaret.

X

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Margaret replied 86 days ago
Thank you for your review Mike. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we would love to welcome you all back. I noted that you thought our value for money was 3/5. This was at the lower end of our range and is something which is a priority for us. I appreciate that this is a completely subjective assessment and accept it. It did, however, prompt me to have a look at similar properties to compare what we offer with others and their relative tariffs. During our peak season our tariff for Saligo works out at just over £23.00 per person per night as we can accommodate 8. Just for fun, I looked at the current charges at a number of youth hostels which I have stayed in over the years for a large family stay for 7 nights. I was surprised to learn that we were more competitive.

A great base

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saligo holiday let is a very comfortable base from which to explore the beautiful island of Islay. Margaret is very welcoming and the apartment is very well equipped. I would definitely recommend it.



Margaret replied 98 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments- greatly appreciated. We would love to welcome you all back some time soon. Best wishes, Margaret

Amazing time in Port Charlotte

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saligo was an excellent apartment in a beautiful location. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the lounge area was an excellent place to relax and socialise.
Saligo is only a short walk to pubs, restaurants etc.
We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a place to stay in Islay and ideal for larger parties with 4 double/twin rooms.




Margaret replied 107 days ago
Thank you very much for your generous comments. It was a pleasure to have you all as our guests for such a special occasion. Welcome back soon ! Margaret

Great place to stay .

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Andrew decided to return to The Isle of Islay after 41 years, to celebrate his 60th birthday with 20 friends . We hired 3 houses from Port Charlotte holidays .
All 3 houses were excellent, just what we wanted , All ensuite, beautifully clean and well equipped . Loads of china and glasses, for all types of drink!! Thank you Margaret.




Margaret replied 121 days ago
Jill, thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us, especially for such a special occasion. I hope we shall be able to welcome you all back well before the next 41 years. Slainte! Margaret

Feis Ile 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great house for a group. Everyone has en suite shower rooms and lots of living space to chill out, chat and dine.
House is well fitted with everything you would ever need and more. Beds are exceptionally comfortable!

Location is within Port Charlotte and a short walk to the local restaurants and bars.

Margaret goes above and beyond to ensure everything is excellent.




Margaret replied 142 days ago
Stuart, Thank you very much for your generous review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you all back for the Feis. Slainte! Margaret

A delightful house in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat was just excellent. Beautifully decorated, great beds, well equipped, and the last word. I hope to have an excuse to return



Margaret replied 170 days ago
Sheila, I am so glad that you all enjoyed your week in Saligo Apartment. Thank you for your very kind words. It would be a pleasure to have you all back soon. Margaret

Beautifully modernised accommodation in historic village school

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saligo apartment is an ideal base for exploring the wonderful island of Islay, with all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. It is spacious, bright, clean and well maintained. The huge open plan lounge is a great space for relaxing and socialising, and the number of bathrooms is particularly generous, with never a need to queue! Being part of a converted school, the windows are large and let a lot of light in, but do not lend themselves to sitting and gazing out at the view as they tend to be at a high level (no doubt to focus attention on schoolwork !). The kitchen is relatively small compared with other rooms, but is perfectly adequate. We had a small problem with the heating when we arrived, as the settings had been changed by previous occupants, but this was rectified within minutes after a quick phone call, so we were impressed with the responsive service. This is definitely a place we would go back to, and judging by the Visitors Book many other holiday visitors do return every year.



Margaret replied 192 days ago
Graeme, it was a real pleasure to have you all as our guests over the Easter break. Your generous comments are greatly appreciated and we hope that you shall all return at some time in the not too distant future.

Fantastic settling to explore Isle of Islay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very easy access and making contact, on arrival everything was in great order and clean.

Superb location to the grocery shop, pub, beach and play area. Easy access to local distillery and other destinations on the island not far away,

Bedding, towels great, kitchen supplies fantastic and lots of space.

Hot water every morning and evening, nice to have the option of a bath as well as showers.

We had the best time, many thanks




Margaret replied 362 days ago
Tracy, I am delighted that you enjoyed your break in Saligo Apartment and your kind comments are very much appreciated. We hope that you shall all be able to return in the near future. Best wishes, Margaret

Fantastic house in Port Charlotte

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saligo is a fantastic house to stay in. Very clean and comfortable and well equipped with everything you may need. Very central for touring the island. We have been going to Islay for the past 15 years and think that this is the best house we have found. We would definitely recommend this house and we will definitely be back.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Maggi, I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in Saligo and that you were all comfortable and cosy. Your very kind comments are greatly appreciated and I shall certainly make sure that the team see this. It would be a pleasure to have you all as our guests again.

Port Charlotte gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented apartments for my husbands 30th, Saligo and Ardnave. Especially the Saligo apartment was perfect for celebrating with our group of friends as it had a lovely open plan living room! The house had everything you could need and very tastefully decorated. The owner, Margaret was very accommodating when asked if we could have a cot set up in one of the rooms. It was close to everything in port Charlotte and was like staying in a home away from home! We would highly recommend staying here!



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time over on Islay.

A Wonderful Home from Home in Beautiful Port Charlotte, Islay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Saligo was excellent yet again. The friendly welcome from Alison helps you to relax straight away. The accommodation is very comfortable and so well equipped. A lot of thoughtful touches add to the tasteful décor. There are plenty of books and games to entertain the children, a welcome change from tablets and phones. The kitchen is so well equipped, everything we needed (and more!) as we love to cook and bake. We were lucky to enjoy sitting in the garden in the evening sun watching the birds and butterflies. Being in the village is perfect for visiting the museum, wildlife centre or just taking a walk down to the pier. It took just a couple of minutes to nip down to see the 20 or so dolphins in the loch at the bottom of the street. Amazing! The children love cycling along to the park which surely has one of the best views in Scotland. It was another memorable week in this lovely apartment and we'll definitely be back.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I heard that the dolphins were spectacular. We hope to see you all back again next year. Slainte!