FB Twitter

Kilchoman

Kilchoman

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Kilchoman Apartment in Port Charlotte Hall - stylish open plan layout over two floors (sleeps 2).

Kilchoman

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location from which to explore Islay. Very well equipped throughout. Lovely space for a couple.



Margaret replied 79 days ago
Thank you Ailsa for your kind words about Kilchoman Apartment. It is sometimes nice to have some separate space , but still be part of the celebrations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back some time soon. Best wishes, Margaret

A wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arrival on a dreich summers day, it was wonderful to have the apartment warm & cosy for us.
Everything was clean & fresh, & there were so many little details that helped to make the place feel homely.
Being in Port Charlotte was great for wherever you wished to travel on the island
We would stay here again, & highly recommend this apartment!




Margaret replied 93 days ago
Thank you so much for your generous review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kilchoman apartment. We would love to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Margaret

homan Appartment, Port Charlotte, Islay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kilchoman Appartment is idealy placed for visiting places of interest on the lovely Island of Islay and is situated in the centre of Po



Margaret replied 116 days ago
Thank you Joan for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both over by and we look forward to welcoming you all back next year. I must thank you for lending me your hillwalking stick, otherwise I may still have been stuck at the Oa. Best wishes, Margaret.

Lovely apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this apartment a number of times and it is always clean and tidy. An excellent location in Port Charlotte.



Margaret replied 132 days ago
Thank you so much Elaine. It is always a pleasure to have you to stay. See you next year! Best wishes, Margaret

Cold weather but warm welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week on Islay which does not sell itself properly. For example - Islay Hall, Bridgend - has a notice at the end of it's drive saying teas and gardens but when you get inside it is a wonderful hotel with great food and service only discovered on our way back to the ferry at the end of the week when trying to fill in a bit of time on a wet day. Kilchoman itself met all our needs and we would stay there again.



Margaret replied 167 days ago
Thank you very much Stephen, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time over on Islay. I agree that a lot of what Islay has to offer is most certainly understated and there is so much more than whisky. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Margaret

Great place to enjoy Islay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent apartment for 2 people
Well equipped and spotless
Excellent location to explore Islay
Plenty locations to visit
Highlights of weeks visit
Meals at Machrie Hotel/Port Charlotte Hotel/Ardberg Distillery/Gallic Centre
Entertainment in the Port Charlotte Hotel and of course the friendly Islay people
Weather was mixed but it did not keep us from enjoying our stay




Margaret replied 180 days ago
It was lovely to meet you both and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Kilchoman Apartment- your old classroom! Thank you for your very kind words- greatly appreciated. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guests some time soon. Best wishes, Margaret

Kilchoman apartment Port Charlotte Islay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Kilchoman for a week in April 2019. The apartment was spotless, spacious and well appointed. The bed was also very comfy. Everything was new and modern and was good value for money. We totally fell in love with Islay a will definitely be back and will be happy to book Kilchoman again. Lesley and Alasdair Smith



Margaret replied 238 days ago
Dear Lesley and Alasdair, Thank you for your generous comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break over on Islay and that you were comfortable in Kilchoman Apartment. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back any time.

Lovely apartment in beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Islay and have often stayed in accommodation with Port Charlotte holidays. Accommodation always excellent, apartments well equipped and Islay is a beautiful island to explore.



Margaret replied 335 days ago
Thank you Mairi for your generous review. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you both over by again soon.

Wonderful October week

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed & equipped apartment in a lovely historic hall, high quality throughout, situated on outskirts of Port Charlotte. Margaret & Alison could have not been more helpful sorting out our requirements. Excellent base for exploring all over Islay. We could not have had a better holiday. Islay has so much to offer at this time of year. Beaches & coastal walks, moorlands & hills, superb birds & wildlife lots of places to get up close to both. & for rest days not only cafes, pubs & hotels but all these distilleries, craft shops and places of interest to find out more about the history. We could not have had a more perfect week! Lots of winter birds visiting. & so few people around at the end of October. We’ll be back!



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Mike, thank you so much for your generous review. Alison and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your October break with us. You certainly managed to see a lot of Islay, but don't worry- there is plenty more to discover ! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Slainte! Margaret

Ideal couples accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm apartment. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped in the kitchen - everything you might need. Alison was very helpful sorting out the tv.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind words, Sandra. it was a real pleasure to have you both as our guests and we hope that you shall return. Best wishes, Margaret

Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay in Kilchoman apartment. Port Charlotte is a great location for an Islay holiday. The Old School apartments are thoughtfully designed and equipped, very comfortable and well managed.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Nigel, Thank you very much for your very generous comments. I am glad that you had an enjoyable break over by and it would be a pleasure to have you both as our guests again.

Nice stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The views excellent. Staff really efficient and kind. It is a nice place to explore the Isle of Bute.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I think that there may be a slight mix up as we are based on the Isle of Islay- although Bute is a lovely island too.

A perfect location for touring, walking, watching wildlife and no shortage of places to eat out.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Islay and the apartment. We last visited three years ago and the standard of the apartment is still excellent. The apartment is light and airy and situated at the top of the hill in part of the old school which overlooks the sea. It is in an ideal location for anyone who loves the outdoors and with easy access to local history (museum) and visitor centre 10 minutes walk away in Port Charlotte, plus craft fairs which take place regularly in the port. There are plenty of places to eat out either for breakfast, lunch or dinner. From here there are endless opportunities to go walking, bird watching, fishing, kayaking and with plenty of nearby whiskey distilleries, a chance to sample the many whiskeys and gins.
We have always been warmly greeted on arrival by the key holder, who is very helpful and full of local information and near to hand if needed. We would definitely return at the drop of a hat!




Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your generous review Tracy. We were delighted to have you as our guests once more and I shall definitely make sure that the team see this. We hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Was great tio be back to Islay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was a great stay there, Margarete was very helpfuly and we will be back soon; we can recommend this great accommodation to any other people



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Karen, Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad that you survived the Whisky Festival week. Welcome back any time.

Simply superb!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time here. Superb apartment in a stunning village location. Ideal location for exploring Islay.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Barbara- Thank you for being such fabulous guests and for your very kind words. Hope to see you next year!

All we could wish for

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent facilities and very comfortable. Location perfect close to loch and village pub. Would not hesitate to book again.



Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ray for your review . Your kind comments are very much appreciated and it would be a pleasure to have you as our guests on another occasion.

Our Stay in Islay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family wedding took us off to Islay for a long weekend and this property was recommended to us by my niece who grew up in Islay. My daughter who is 12 going on 20 is the one you need to impress. As soon as she entered the apartment, she went wild face-timing her friends to show off her new abode. On departure, she insisted that we return to Islay just so she could stay in the same apartment again.
The only negative aspect was it is really for two which makes it quite luxurious. However, the owner kindly arranged for a fold down bed to be put in place for my daughter. It was not the best and the wooden slats kept coming out and my daughter's only complaint was it wasn't very comfortable so she slept on the couch and moved to our bed as soon as we surfaced - much more to her liking!




Margaret replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Shona for your kind words. Welcome back anytime.