FB Twitter

Red Roofs

Red Roofs

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 78 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms, 3 of which are on the ground floor
  • Set up as doubles or singles
  • Welcomes 8 dogs, free of charge
  • Two bathrooms, one upstairs, one downstairs
  • Spacious and rambling family home
  • Huge enclosed garden for dogs and children to enjoy
  • Beautiful and peaceful location.
  • Wonderful views of and easy access to Hickling Broad.
  • Detached with a huge, enclosed back garden, all grass!
  • Dog friendly village pub within walking distance!
  • Bring your own boat or hire one from the village boatyard
  • Amazing birdwatching opportunities in the nearby Nature Reserve

Perfect family break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay here at Red Roofs, 4 adults, 2 children, 1dog. Plenty of space and an awesome sized fully enclosed garden. Lovely large upstairs main bedroom and bathroom away from the main areas - so grandparents could escape to peace and quiet and an awesome view of Hickling Broad.
The furnishings are old and sturdy and it was great knowing that the children could do no damage while running about.
Kitchen again a little old fashioned but has everything that you could possibly need.
It was great having family meals in the separate dining room.
Two of the three downstairs bedrooms are tucked away towards the end of the building so children could get to sleep and not be disturbed by the grown ups in the main sitting room.
The welcome pack far exceeded our expectations with a wonderful home made sponge with all our goodies, thank you. We also appreciated the plentiful supply of tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs, tea towels and lots of throws for the sofas.
Thank you for a gorgeous company stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A wonderful weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Feb 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Red roofs was exactly what our party was looking for! A peaceful and comfortable place that allowed our dogs to stay too and with complete peace of mind of their security with the huge, enclosed garden. The rooms were warm and comfortable and the dining area big enough to accommodate all of us. The views of the surrounding water were wonderful.
The local pub was in walking distance and staff there were very friendly and served great food.
Only a short 10 minute drive to the beach provided us with a delightful walk along the coast. It was just a shame we only spent the weekend there as it would have been great to explore the Broads right on our doorstep. A return visit is a must!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and warm, huge garden, peaceful. Another lovely stay. Wonderful walks from the door and days out. Thank you!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Lovely holiday with the all the family.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second visit lovely location very dog friendly cottage is getting a bit dated but everything you need is provided and clean.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Thoroughly recommend whether you travel solo or with company

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overlooking Hickling Broad, Red Roofs is a lovely family home, full of charm and character in a lovely location. Huge rear, fully enclosed garden for the dogs - my 3 loved it. Ideally located between the coast and the rest of the Broads. Both the pre-ordered seafood platter and the pizza making kits were superb. Also recommend The Greyhound pub in the village.Thoroughly recommend whether travelling solo or with company.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Red Roofs is a very comfortable house and has every equipment for a perfect stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This location and holiday home is ideal for family members and multi dogs, having a massive garden with trees shrubs lots of lawn for them to do zoomies! The inside is spacious and the beds comfortable, An open fireplace with guards provided a cosy lounge on a colder evening and very easy to light with lots of wood and coal free,
The kitchen has every modern facility, although the house isn’t modern, but a lovely place for chilling and such a quiet area, hardly any traffic, only neighbours vehicles and a few delivery vans.
Ideal round walk from the house taking in nature and moored boats,
Thank you to the owner Jane for a home made scrumptious cake and goodies left for guests!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



It's why we keep going back...

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lost count of the number of stays we've had at Redroofs.
The location is perfect and the huge, secure back garden offers great peace of mind that dogs are safe outdoors. Always tidy and beautifully tended.
It's a big house so ideal for perhaps multi-family or multi-generation get-togethers, especially with 3 bedrooms on the ground floor. And there's plenty of everything in the kitchen!
Short walk to village pub (Greyhound, Hickling Green), short drive to all the wonderful beaches of East Norfolk.
Whats not to love ...

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Our 8th visit....but we're sad about the The Pleasure Boat Inn and Whispering Reeds ( see below )

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is a huge family favourite! I just can't put into words to say how fond we all are of this beautiful home and garden. Hickling Broad over the track at the front of the house is a joy to look at. The house itself has a lived in, country house feel, which makes it all the more delightful to arrive there.. It's like being welcomed back into comforting arms which immediately relaxes it's occupants.
All age groups from our family have stayed there....from 2 year olds up to 70+ year olds. It's perfect for all.
Our dogs have all been so happy there too. Jane and her team always leave amazing goodies on our arrival day. So a massive thankyou to them.
Our only major disappointment is that The Pleasure Boat Inn has closed down .We used to row many, many times to it, for drinks and food. Also that Whispering Reeds no longer hire out boats...we all used every craft that they had. A GREAT SHAME!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Sue Allen - East Ruston Cottages replied 216 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review about Red Roofs; it is house that has a very particular feel about it and has welcomed many generations over the years. It was very kind of you to take the time to write it and Jane will be thrilled (she is the one who put the welcome goodies together). We may have some good news about The Pleasure Boat Inn..... it has been bought by the Norfolk Wildlife Trust and there is a suggestion (ok let's call it a rumour but it is coming from the ex owner of the pub) that they will be using the old shop area as an office and plan to get the pub up and running again. We will be thrilled if they do that and hopefully the next time you return you will find it open. Sadly Whispering Reeds won't be back up and running again for boat hire but there are still options at Martham and Potter that will enable guests to hire a boat and get to Hickling Broad. Sue

Summer holiday at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at Red Roofs, the house is big and comfortable, the huge garden is wonderful for the dogs who spent hours entertaining themselves sniffing everything trying to find the rabbits and squirrels (they never did!) and of course for zoomies. The location is stunning directly opposite Hickling Broad and it's very peaceful. There are plenty of walks from the doorstep and we enjoyed walking at dusk to see the deer and flocks of geese in the neighbouring fields. There is a rowing boat available to use during the summer and we had fun on the broad with this. I must mention ERC and Sue in particular who is always so helpful and who arranged a dog stroller at very short notice for one of our dogs struggling to walk and we collected this from another ERC property where it wasn't being used, a true community of owners willing to support guests at other properties is quite rare and is testament to Sue's hard work. We love Norfolk and can't wait to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Sunny stay at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We’ve had a lovely 2 week stay bringing together 3 generations of family and our bonkers cockapoo Pepper.
It was our second stay, so we were familiar with the area and greatly enjoyed visits to Sea Palling, Winterton and Bacton beaches. Stalham vintage market was joyous surprise and we spent hours pottering up and down the stalls looking for hidden gems and reminiscing about some of the objects that we’d used in the past to the great hilarity of the teenage contingent of the party.
The house suited us well, fitted us all in and with the downstairs bedrooms and bathroom facilitated Nanny with her mobility issues. Pepper loved the huge garden especially chasing off the pigeons and occasional rabbit who she shared it with. It’s in an idyllic quiet location overlooking Hickling Broad. The Greyhound Inn was welcoming and the food was delicious , you will need to book as it’s very popular. The quiz on Sunday evening was great fun. Thank you for a second lovely stay, it’s great to find somewhere we can bring all the family together and we were so blessed with the weather which added to our 2 weeks of happiness.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Beautiful cottage in an Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs was beautiful in a lovely location, it has everything you would wish for as a dog loving family, there is nothing our dogs couldn’t do here they do at home, the kitchen was very well equipped and all rooms and very spacious, the downstairs bathroom spacious but needs some TLC, the garden was the jewel in the crown and is big enough for numerous dogs

Short drives to Stalham which has a big Tesco and lots of other shops including an amazing Butchers and Fish and Chip shop, choice of lots of dog friendly beaches and woods not to forget the day boat hire for you and your dogs stopping off at various sites

Conclusion, one of the best holidays we have had and Red Roofs certainly was one of the main reason for this being a fantastic holiday

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Wow, what a location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third stay at an East Ruston cottage, but first at Red Roofs. Wow what a location, Hickling Broads is stunning. The house itself is very big and caters for all your needs and more. It’s not modern but that adds to the character. Thank you for the more than generous welcome goodies. The garden is huge and perfect for dogs. Our 2 Westies loved doing their zoomies around it. There’s also a table, chairs & umbrella for the humans and a big gas BBQ, which we made use of. Perfectly located to enjoy lovely walks from the door with the dogs. The NWT Hickling Broad reserve is only a 20 mins walk away or 5 min drive (dogs not allowed), where we saw the famous Swallowtail Butterfly and lots of others wildlife. Many beaches are only a short drive away and the shops and amenities are also within easy reach. Some recommendations - we enjoyed hiring an electric boat from Martham Ferry Boatyard, very peaceful trip along the broads. Dogs enjoyed it too. Also tried out paddling boarding for the first time at Go Paddle, great instructors and highly recommend. Visited Felbrigg Hall for a nice long walk with the dogs. Had a lovely takeaway lunch from The Butchers Arms. Great fish & chips from Broadlands Fish & Chips. We have thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay and look forward to returning again soon!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great place to stay with kids and dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Red Roofs, we were a family of 5 adults, 2 young children and 2 dogs. The house is large and was ideal for us as most bedrooms are downstairs. The upstairs bedroom was huge and great for my parents to have their own space away from the kids and dogs. It had a lovely seating area and bathroom up there too.

Comfy lounge and a nice big dining room to all eat together. By far the best thing about the house is the garden, a huge back garden all enclosed which was fab for the dogs and kids, a big gas bbq too. And the front garden is large too, we sat out there in the evenings. We also used the rowing boat a few times, this is a great addition to the house.

A lovely welcome too with cake, some local goodies and milk meant we arrived and instantly put our feet up in the garden after a long hot drive! Thanks for a fabulous holiday!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A lovely week with dogs and hoomans

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is located in a beautiful area close to the broads and beaches, and there is opportunity to enjoy countryside walks and quirky pubs and villages which are close by. The team work hard to ensure everything is provided, and we thought it was a helpful touch that they offer to put a shopping delivery away ready for your arrival. We had a scrummy afternoon tea delivered on the first day, meaning no cooking was required and we could just dump our bags, eat and enjoy the first evening. The dogs were happy as they had a huge garden to play in; my only grumble would be that the garden gets really boggy when it's been raining, limiting how much time you can really spend out there the following day once the sun has come up. Perhaps there's a draining solution that could be looked into. The rooms are spacious and the beds were nice and large; we didn't mind that the furniture was old fashioned as this is what helps to have dog friendly spaces to stay in, and we really do appreciate having somewhere to go with so many dogs. We really liked the fire in the living room - it made the place so cosy and we happily sat by the fire playing games and chatting. I would recommend visiting Happisburgh beach as it was beautiful and dog friendly, and Sea Palling was a good place for a walk along the beach followed by a bag of chips. It would have helped to have a hosepipe in the garden on the outside tap to hose the sand off the dogs, so this is a suggestion we can make to help dog owners out after a beach run. Overall, we all enjoyed the stay, and as the organiser, I personally was impressed with the communication from Sue and George. We also liked that there was a freshly baked cake left for us to celebrate the King's coronation, and we also enjoyed the items left in the hamper for us, especially the cookies! Thank you so much - we will be recommending and we would book again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Georgina Simson replied 332 days ago
Thank you Victoria for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your break at Red Roofs. The property is located directly opposite Hickling Broad which is one of the largest waterway systems in the East of England. With that and the unfortunate heavy rain, the drainage was working over time. Hopefully you will have a return trip in better weather conditions!

This place is magical

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came here to revisit old memories since my brothers and I used to visit regularly in our teens. Still utterly tranquil, with excellent village pub 'Greyhound' just round the corner

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Superb Easter family break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended. Perfect location, great for our family Easter break. Very clean and beds were incredibly comfy. Our dogs had a fabulous time too! Looking already as to when we can book at Red Roofs again, thank you for making our stay incredibly special and memorable.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Long weekend with the family at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weekend here. The house is very spacious and was well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The welcome pack of goodies and delicious home baked cake was much appreciated. It is also well situated for the Broads and many nearby dog friendly beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Fabulous...again

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay again at this peaceful home from home. Great walks from the door and the nature reserve worth a visit. Despite the inclement weather, we were toasty and comfortable. Really nice.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





New Years break at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a most enjoyable New Years stay at Red Roofs.
The location was fabulous, we booked this property in particular to avoid the New Year fireworks and it was perfect; we did not hear a single one which made for a great stay; our Springer Spaniel does not like the loud bangs so she was able to be fully rested and have no anxiety.
The property has a wonderfully large garden; ideal for springer zoomies!
The open fire was delightful on the cold evenings.
The welcome hamper was a lovely surprise and had some great items which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The house itself is in need of some TLC and updating as it is very dated in its appearance; but this did in no way deter from our enjoyment of our stay and we have already booked again for the next New Year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Ideal location for our extended family

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal setting for our extended family, downstairs bedroom opposite a bathroom for the less mobile, easy walk to Hickling Nature reserve for the bird watchers, Off road walking from the door & secure garden for the dog, beautiful calming view of the Broad & cheery log fire for us all.
The well considered welcome pack was much appreciated & it was so joyful to see the Xmas tree lights twinkling when we arrived.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





second stay this year and this time for two weeks...!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay this year and for two weeks this time, myself and the wife and our three dogs love Red Roofs, perfect spot. charming house & huge dog safe garden and next to Norfolk's largest Broad, a short distance from some of Norfolk's best beaches all dog friendly. there are so many things to make your stay perfect at Red Roofs, the great welcome pack with fresh cake and local produce, things you don't always notice this time while resetting the fire I found a knee pad. another tick on the reasons we love it here. Being here for two weeks allowed us to really relax and visit our favourite spots as well try some of the new ones we read about on the ERC facebook page from other vacationers. Note to self don't bring too much food. There are so many good places to eat. We need a walk on the East Coast in the wind to try burn the calories off.
We have stayed at Red Roofs many times and at different times, we love the house and the gardens, the front gets the sun and there are tables and seating, perfect for a few large G&T's or some vino tinto. till about 3pm then head out back to the larger table and chairs and BBQ. to continue with a few Sundowners...........then if you get a bit chilly back indoors to open fire. we are already booked for next year, is it time pack yet....!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Iovely holiday ar Redroofs

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a very pretty location. Very dog friendly with a huge rear garden totally enclosed.The cottage felt really cosy when the fire was lit in the evenings, we used the boat on the broad which the children enjoyed, we would certainly be returning and would recommend the cottage to friends.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday great surroundings and so lovely that it is so dog friendly especially having the wonderful garden.

Thank you we will be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Why would we want to go anywhere else?

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 humans and 1 dog stay twice a year for 10 years in a house that is really far too large for them (capacity 8+ humans + 8 dogs) – WHY?
Because we love it and it ticks all our boxes. Quirky, comfortable and quality; stunning quiet location next to Hickling Broad; large and secure back garden for long-dog zoomies; short drive to all those wonderful Norfolk beaches; backed up by the ERC team.
Why would we want to go anywhere else?

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





It was our first time with ERC

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we’ve had an amazing two weeks at Red Roofs. Hickling is so beautiful and peaceful. Dog friendly cafes, pubs and beaches everywhere. Really recommend Cart Gap, Bacton and Sea Palling. The house was amazing right next to Hickling Broad, everything you needed for your dog was provided and the huge dog safe garden was such a bonus.
The welcome basket was gorgeous, especially the home made Victoria sponge which served as my birthday cake!
Check out the pop up pub and pizza van round the corner at the garden of the Ferryboat Inn, and the food at The dog friendly Greyhound pub in Hickling was delicious, (pub quiz on Sunday evenings).
We will be returning to this lovely part of England

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Dog s holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property its self is larger and spacious.
If not a little uncared for.
The welcome basket was a lovely touch.
The crowning glory of this property is no doubt the very large and safe garden. At the back and the stunning vue from the front.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





our perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay at Red Roofs.....so the conclusion would be , that we, as a large family with two big dogs , all find the house, gardens, closeness to Hickling Broad with it's amenities and peacefulness absolutely PERFECT.
Sadly Whispering Reeds the nearby sailing club, has cut back on it's sailing boats and motor launches ( due to covid, and massive reed infestation in the water. The Pleasure Boat Inn, which has provided us with many meals in the past, was being re-furbished These things led to disappointments this year. But it didn't spoil our everlasting love for Red Roofs! As one family member said...." It was all enchanting"!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



We keep coming back

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sue and the team really understand what you need to enjoy a holiday with your dogs In Norfolk. We have been returning year after year and Sue has looked after all our needs and helped us relax with her reassuring professionalism. ERC is unique in its attention to dog friendly details. If you want to enjoy a holiday on the Norfolk coast with your dogs but don’t know where to start - ERC is the answer!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Another lovely stay at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another lovely holiday at Red Roofs. It is very welcoming, comfortable and makes you feel very looked after. All needs are catered for, especially the dog. The kitchen is very well equipped and leaves you wanting for nothing. The garden is huge, secure, and great for us and the dogs alike. I would thoroughly recommend Red Roofs for a lovely relaxing holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





wrinkly cleavage and wonky incisors, Grey roots and comfy slippers - so made for each other :-)

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently saw a FB post describing Redroofs as “wrinkly cleavage and wonky incisors. :-) Grey roots and comfy slippers! ”. Well, that’s fine because it describes me too, so we were obviously made for each other.
Neither of us is flashy or ostentatious; in some parts we’re quite plain and basic but overall we’re full of comfort, homeliness and kwytch. Oh, and don't forget the peace and quiet ...
Have seen lots of improvements over the years and it continues to be our holiday home of choice – the location is simply perfect (private road, view of broad); gardens are wonderful - both the secure back paddock (for the dog) and the pretty front for the early evening sunsets; beds are REALLY comfortable and the power shower is awesome; can’t beat a log fire when an evening turns chilly; whatever you want, it will probably be there somewhere (Redroofs is pretty well kitted out, especially the kitchen); everywhere is clean and fresh. Jane provided fresh flowers and a particularly interesting welcome pack this visit and also met our special requests.
Missing Redroofs already ...

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely break in a beautiful setting. So peaceful , great garden for the dogs. Close to everything yet still feel you are in middle of nowhere, location is perfect. Very well equipped. Helpful and attentive owner. Great fun in rowing boat too .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent holiday home and super dog friendly

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is a fantastic house, very comfortable and in an amazing location. We felt very at home there and the garden was perfect for the dogs.
Would definitely go again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Another great time and stay at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using ERC for seven years and have stayed at a few of their properties, We are confirmed Red Roofers, The house is well appointed with all your need for your stay. had a few additions over the years for easier time with your four legged babies. The welcome pack is great with some local treats and a delicious home made cake!!! this property house a massive (dog safe) garden, Our three love it and would be content here for the break. But the Broad is right outside and RR is located close to great dog friendly beaches a very short drive away, This part of Norfolk has loads of places to walk the doggies. lots of dog friendly places to stop and recharge the legs and replace lost calories. Some great ideas in the guest/guide book. We've seen the seals, Been in the sea. had hot doughnuts at Sea Palling and great food at Reefs @ Sea Palling, We also had few lunch stops at Bebe-Rai's @ Scratby beach. Loaded fries OMG and great burgers and the Ice Cream sundae's, wherever you stay with ERC try this place, The beach at Scratby is also great for pooches first or after "Death by Fries"

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



A beautiful, spacious house

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, with stunning views of the lake, so spacious, well equipped with everything you may need at hand.
We had 8 people And 4 dogs stay for 3 days, and had plenty of space. Dogs loved chasing each other around in the massive enclosed garden. Lovely views of the lake at the front. Can’t wait to go back

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fabulous in every way

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I must say when this cottage was said to allow up to eight dogs, I was a little nervous it might be, well, doggy. We were pleasantly surprised to find an elegant, homely house with comfy chairs, super bed linen, a welcome pack and an incredibly responsive service from Sue. Despite the three storms, we felt cosy and comfortable. Highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay at Red Roofs for Christmas. The house is quite old fashioned but we loved the charm of it and unlike modern homes we were not afraid the dogs would mark the floors or anything. Plenty of throws for the sofas and we took our own to cover the sofas etc. The main living room is the best room of the house. Large open fire with plenty of kindle, wood & coal included in your stay. It was so cosy with the Christmas tree lit up and everyone enjoyed this room the most. The dogs loved the large garden and we found some lovely walks from the house. The view is amazing and the front faces directly onto the broads. The lady who met us was very friendly and was really helpful in making sure we had everything we needed. We even had a homemade cake, pickles, eggs, milk, bread, chocolates and dog treats left with a lovely Christmas card. The house is really dog friendly with beds, towels & bowls etc and a small mud room to clean them off before they enter the living area. One of our guests uses a walking frame and found the house really assessable and a shower chair was provided for her to use. Overall a really lovely house to stay in especially if you have dogs. Would definitely return for a second visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lovely Cosy Home

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place for a group of friends to stay, lovely house, especially the lounge which was large but cosy, in a super location by the Broad. It’s only a short drive from excellent beaches and there’s a nature reserve nearby which is worth a visit.

The garden is perfect for the dogs, large and enclosed.

Thoroughly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of Red Roofs is its selling point. So peaceful and no ambient lighting, set down a quiet track overlooking Hickling Broad. If you are taking your dogs the back garden is totally secure and huge. The track leading to the house leads to a farm with public footpaths leading from it. We met the owner of the house a couple of times - Jane left us a super selection of goodies for our arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. House is comfortable and we loved having a fire at night. So much to do in this area - we hiredca cruiser, did a steam train trip, loads of walking, horse riding and saw literally hundreds of seals up close. We visited seven different beaches - all clean and dog friendly and so quiet.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



another great week at Red Roofs, the second this year.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are confirmed Red Roofers been staying for many years, the house is well appointed, all that you may need is there, a large dog friendly garden, every time we return Jane the owner has added something to make your stay even more enjoyable, the kitchen, the living room. The house is right on Hickling Broad one of the largest in Norfolk. there are lots of places to walk the dogs right there and it is also well placed for the beaches at Sea Palling and a great position for lots dog friendly beaches a short drive away.
We definitely recommend staying here.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Relax in a stunning location with huge secure garden

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The peace and quiet ... On a private road overlooking one of Norfolk's largest and most beautiful Broads, this is relaxation heaven. Not a sound but the birds. Lots of dragonflies, but they don't make any noise.

Redroofs is a home not a house, a little quirky but immensely comfortable. There isn't anything that we need on holiday that seems to be missing from Redroofs - outdoor seating & dining facilities, gas barbeque, lots of sofas and armchairs, loads of china & kitchen equipment for those that like to cook, buoyancy aids for the rowing boat, terrific shower, comfortable beds ... The rear garden is enormous, very secure and not overlooked - peace of mind to let the dog(s) do their thing. The front garden is beautifully planted and is the bit with view.
Can't wait to go back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Another lovely week

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Red Roofs for a few years now. The reason we keep coming back is the house is very comfortable, well stocked, and has a beautiful enclosed garden which is dog safe and friendly. It is 10 minutes from the beach, and walking distance to two dog friendly pubs. We feel extremely comfortable and welcome each time we visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A great summer holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real gem on the banks of the Hickling Broad loved by our children and two Springer spaniels. Loads for them to do including our own home sports day in the back garden followed by a barbecue. The beaches are lovely, early morning walks with the dogs to see the seals followed by swims in the afternoon ending with a lovely doughnut and ice cream. The rowing boat was enjoyed by all. Thank you very much for providing and making our holiday so enjoyable.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Holiday on the Broads

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal stay for a family....very quiet location....little bit dated but comfortable....adequately equipped....large property to be able to have your own space...large gardens for dogs to run around....lovely beaches close by which are very doggy friendly in parts....owner very responsive....needed a couple of dog bowls and they were there the next day ...would certainly recommend for a large party

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Excellent stay at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs was a lovely spacious cottage, the large garden was loved by the dogs and we made use of the great BBQ. Welcome pack was a great added bonus. We also ordered afternoon teas they were amazing from illcookyoueatbaked. It was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The team at East Ruston cottages were helpful from start to end.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fantastic for dogs and humans quite like it too

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a house with faded glory but very clean and comfortable then this could be the place for you.

The back garden is amazing, very large and secure for most dogs. If you have an escapologist like me then there is one spot behind the far, far, far tree, (that is how big the garden is), that mine could have got out from, because of the compost heap rather than anything wrong with the fence, but you will know your dog, I know never to leave mine alone in a garden as he digs and jumps, so it wasn't a problem and he enjoyed the chance to sprint after his ball, over, and over and over ( did I mention over), again. With dog throws for the comfy sofa, dog towels available, (which I placed at every entrance ) for muddy feet, what more could a dog want.

For humans, there is a well stocked kitchen, good showers, comfy beds, comfy sofa's, a large dining table where you can while away the evening, a gas barbeque and seating out the back and the front, where the views are stunning.

The ants in the front garden were a pain sometimes. Have a good look at the pictures, what you see is what you get, if you want modern and new this is probably not the house for you. .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Another lovely stay at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming back to Red Roofs now for a number of years, and will continue to do so. The house is very well equipped and we always have a very generous welcome pack. We take our dogs with us, and the garden is secure, large, and absolutely perfect, especially if the sun is shining. The stay is absolutely ideal for us, with 2 dog friendly pubs within walking distance and a dog friendly beach a 10 minute drive away., What more could you want for a perfect holiday?

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A lovely house in a great position

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, had a great holiday. A good base for sailing, walking, canoeing, swimming, barbecues ....

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Family reunion!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Red Roofs. Four generations able to come together for the first time in a year.
The location was perfect; the view across Hickling Broad was stunning and there were level walks straight from the doorstep. The house was ideal for our differing needs, new parents with baby in the upstairs bedroom and everyone else accommodated downstairs (much more peaceful). The house was comfortable and very homely with throws and beds for the dogs too. It was well equipped - everything we needed, we found and we really appreciated the gas bar-b-q which was a bonus. The rear garden was extremely large, completely secure and the dogs loved being able to run around.
Jane the home owner had left us a great welcome basket with lovely local produce and a home made Victoria Sponge - delicious! There were even some tasty treats for our four legged companions, Nell, Remy, Flash, Ettie and Esme.
There was lots to do locally and we enjoyed exploring what Norfolk had to offer, visiting Sea Palling, Horsey, Great Yarmouth, Potter Heigham (I would definitely recommend hiring a day boat from there, if only to experience the excitement of going under the exceptionally low bridge) and the Old Vicarage Gardens at East Ruston. We also really appreciated having the use of Jane’s rowing boat which was great fun and allowed us to explore the inlets that would otherwise have been inaccessible. We were sorry to leave.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



No gimmicks – just perfectly dog-friendly and comfortable property in a stunning location!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not particularly modern or flashy, Redroofs is an old & quirky property with a fabulous outlook in a quiet and stunning location. On a private road overlooking one of Norfolk’s quietest and most beautiful Broads it’s a real family home.
Such a relief to be able to leave the back doors open knowing the dogs can run around the huge dog-safe rear garden without doing any damage or getting lost. Lots of outdoor seating for the sunny times in the gardens maintained by the lovely Jimmy.
The kitchen is full of quality equipment, should you need it. There are carpets! This is great if your dog doesn’t like hard floors (like ours). It really is a home from home and that’s why we just keep on coming back...

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



another great week at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here a lot a really enjoy the house, well appointed with everything you need for a great holiday. very large enclosed garden, now with a rabbit proof fence so the flower bed was in full bloom when we visited. garden furniture and a BBQ. In recent times the kitchen has had a makeover if you decide to cook at home its all there, the walks around the house are great and a gentle stroll to the pleasure boat for good local ales and nice food. we have visited many beaches around Red Roofs all are dog friendly and some are pretty deserted so just great. The wifi has been extended with a new router so if the weather changes you can surf all over the house. we often stay in winter and the log fire is great, we love it at Red Roofs and have already re-booked.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



second stay this year at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time this year at Red Roofs, we really enjoy it there, well appointed roomy house, right on Hickling Broad, geat views of the boat house's and the broad. we have stayed there many times, recent kitchen makeover and ample bits in the kitchen means you want for nothing, a new internal stable door makes it easier to catch the doggies paws by the back door before entering the house, very large living room with a log fire, the garden is huge and recent improvemnts to the fence mean no rabbit (malteasers) for my two to eat, as mentioned with the big enclosed garden you dont need to leave Red Roofs, for the warmer months, a table with plenty of chairs and BBQ. The private road outside has foot path at the end which you can explore, or pop in the car 5 mins from Sea Palling or a perfect base for plenty of dog friendly beaches, close by are two dog friendly pubs with good menu's and the pleaseure boat has a nice fenced garden with views of the water. a log fire for colder months and is falling distance from Red Roofs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



At home at Redroofs

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Made welcome with arrival pack (great Victoria Sponge!) & fresh flowers in rooms. Well equipped,
Great BBQ, in fully dog secure garden. Location is superb, picturesque, & for water sports on the broads or nearby beach walks. Had a major storm, and the gardener called to check all was ok....nice touch.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





It's why we come back again ... and again ... and again ...

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
consider this 2nd home and it is a home not just a house .Superb location, terrific dog-proof garden.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Stunning Location for this great holiday property.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location, ideal if you want peace and quiet on your holiday. A short walk to the Norfolk broads, use of a small rowing boat, boatyard offering boat hire at the end of the road, 2 pubs almost on the doorstep, large fully enclosed garden, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds. Choice of beaches within a short drive from the house.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Everything we needed for a lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the huge enclosed garden to the lovely beds, we felt very at home at Redroofs. A lot of thought had gone into providing all the little touches that make a holiday cottage comfortable and easy to live in. Having three dogs, it was ideal. We had a lovely time at Redroofs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Superb setting and comfortable cottage but some problems

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Still a lovely and magical place and setting but this time there were some issues. What we think was a Welcome Pack consisted of 2 unadorned sponges one stacked on the other without filling in-between, a half used carton of milk, use by date 3/7/20! and a pack of teabags. Would probably have been better not to have bothered.
Last time we were here we had the use of an aging but adequate BBQ, but this time were left a note saying it was unavailable as it had not been cleaned - though there was plenty of notice of our booking (about 12 months). We cleaned the BBQ only to find that one burner was detached due to rust, rendering it hazardous and u/s.
We also looked forward to using the rowing boat moored opposite (without any oars). A note said we had to visit Whispering Reeds boatyard if we wanted to use the boat. When we did a pleasant but embarrassed employee explained we could have the oars if we took the boat there - which wasn't possible without the oars!! It was intimated that as we were outsiders the owner (who had taken the oars to the boatyard on 4/7/20) did not want any Covid risks to the neighbours.
We contacted Sue at East Ruston Cottages who expressed astonishment, but was magnificent in her response. Within hours she arrived bearing a super welcome pack, a pair of oars and a replacement BBQ. We were however unable to subsequently use the BBQ because the owner had secreted the BBQ utensils somewhere other than the kitchen where they were supposed to be according to the cottage manual.
As we rent out property ourselves, we feel that the owner needs to adopt a less proprietorial attitude in renting the property, as in short, we were unsure as to how welcome we were, which is a shame.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Simon, thank you so much for your honest and comprehensive review. I am really sorry - as you know - that you experienced the problems you had at Red Roofs and there has been much communication between me and the owner to ensure these are not experienced by any other guests. I will be in touch with you regarding a partial refund for your stay. My very best wishes, Sue

Ok but needs sone TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We knew it was old fashioned which suited us as a family but it needs some updating/investment.

For example; The kitchen units we’re dirty. It’s had its day and needs replacing. There are lots of traditional kitchens in the marketplace which would suit this style of home.

Some of the lampshades are very old, and again, in need of updating.

Because it does need some investment, it appears a little untidy in places, I’m afraid.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Bev. Thank you so much for your review and obviously I am concerned that we have such a low score from you so please let me address the points you have made as they are very valid. Dirty kitchen units - I can only apologise for this. We would have been very happy to put this right during your stay if you had let me know there was a problem. We do always ask guests to alert us to any problems that we can rectify immediately and would have come in and done a full clean of the kitchen at a time to suit you. The age of the property and fittings suits some people, as you can see from many of the high score reviews on here and other sites but of course it is not for everyone. I will be reviewing the property with the owner at the next available opportunity to see what can be upgraded and replaced within her budget. With the house being old and next to water there are several maintenance/upgrade costs that are not immediately apparent to or beneficial for the guests as they are to the fabric of the building. The kitchen will certainly be reviewed as you suggest. Many thanks for taking the time to do a review - it is always much appreciated!

Amazing location and huge dog-safe back garden

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and the huge dog-safe back garden are amazing. The peace of mind to let the hound run around is worth every penny! House is quirky and a real home, so comfortable but not so pristine as to make you worry about every last speck of mud or dog hair.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Lovely house and excellent garden

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely large house with an excellent large garden in a beautiful, peaceful location. House is quaint and quirky.



Lovely Home from Home Getaway for both Family and Dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would not hesitate to recommend both Red Roofs and East Ruston Cottages as our holiday this year has been great from start to finish.

The house is in a wonderful position overlooking Hickling Broad and provided lots of opportunities to see heron, kingfishers, corn buntings, swans, ducks, cormorants, squirrels and rabbits, most from the garden. However, the icing on the cake, had to be walking the dogs on the local beaches and seeing seals playing just off shore.

Inside the rooms were spacious and relaxed and we quickly made ourselves very much at home. The beds were extremely comfy, with lovely clean linen - much needed after a long day exploring. The kitchen was well stocked with everything needed to cook meals both indoors and out. The welcome pack was much appreciated by both humans and dogs, particularly when travelling a long way.

The fact that this house caters so well for dogs, meant the holiday was totally stress free. Everyone had a great time with lots to see and do. We even hired a boat from the local marina - just around the corner - and had a cream tea afloat.

Norfolk is a new area for us, but one that we will certainly be returning to.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week, 8 adults and 5 energetic dogs (1 Springer and 4 Cockers). All of us, without exception, had a wonderful time! On arrival, our shopping order had been put away for us and a welcome pack, including homemade cake and doggy treats, was waiting for us.
The house was plenty big enough for all of us and the dogs were allowed in the sofa and beds (as long as throws were used). The garden was enormous and fully enclosed with secure gates. The dogs loved it so much and couldn't wait to get out there and explore every morning, infact, their tails never stopped wagging all week!
We enjoyed barbeques in the garden and visited the local pubs, The Pleasure Boat and The Greyhound, which are both dog friendly. We also visited the nearby beaches (also dog friendly)and the Dunes Cafe at Winterton-on Sea.
All in all, an extremely dog friendly place to stay!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A lovely relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week's stay at Redroofs. The house has everything needed for both cooking and relaxing. Plenty of space inside. Showers very good. Kitchen fully equipped. Huge garden was perfect for our 3 large dogs and could have easily accommodated more (and of course safe for children). Great beach walks short distance by car. Downstairs bedrooms and bathroom were perfect for older guests. Farm shops few minutes by car. Sainsbury's delivery was all put away before our arrival which was very kind. Would definitely recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Perfect dog friendly location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is a perfect dog friendly location set in a tranquil setting a stones throw from the norfolk broads. The house is well equipped and comfortable and the huge back garden perfect for zoomies for our 2 greyhounds and labradoodle. As 3 of the bedrooms are downstairs it was ideal for my husband who struggles with walking. The village itself is lovely and the 2 pubs within walking distance the The Greyhound and the Pleasure Boat Inn can highly recommend. Customer Service was excellent and we will certainly book again with East Rushton Cottages

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Perfect spot for a family holiday with hounds

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is the perfect dog friendly house for pottering about on and off the Broad. Great service too!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Another relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at this property. We first came two years ago with two elderly dogs, then last year brought my in-laws and brother in law. This year we brought one young dog, mother in law and bro in law. Every year we have had a relaxing stay. The surroundings are so peaceful and beautiful you can’t help but relax. The house itself is comfortable and spacious. It is extremely dog friendly so I wasn’t on tender hooks watching our pup. The garden is fully enclosed, although I wouldn’t bring some of our other eight dogs as the fence is a little low between the house and the one next door who also have a dog. There are plenty of places to go and visit, but we were a little limited by my mother in laws age related mobility issues. All three times we have had reason not to be able to make the most of opportunities. Despite this, we all really enjoyed just relaxing and pottering about neighbouring towns and beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Returning to Red Roofs

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Red Roofs....... stayed previously and loved it. The House is perfect. Right on the banks of Hickling Broad in quiet private road. large front garden looking over the Broad with chairs and a table, the House seems huge and well appointed with all you need for your stay. the rear garden is very big, completly fenced in so dog safe. rabbits, squirrells and pheasents and all manner of ducks visit so my two dogs had a great time on patrol to safe guard our well being from invaders.....we have stayed in winter months and in the summer. great times at any season, Norfolk is great plenty to do and lots of dog friendly beaches, pubs. On arrival you recieve a welcome pack which is a pleasent surprise and very nice some local fayre and treats for the hounds so all recipients happy. we have already rebooked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic location, great garden for 4 greyhounds. Comfortable, spacious rooms.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a stunning setting for a comfortable and peaceful stay. Plenty of room for 4 adults and 4 greyhounds. The rooms were spacious and homely, the kitchen wasn't huge but was adequate as long as we weren't all there at the same time! The garden was a great space and very secure. Useful information provided included vet details which is not always available at dog friendly accommodation so brownie points there. Our only criticism would be that the rug in the lounge was continually rucking up which could create a trip hazard. Our attempts to rectify this were numerous and unproductive. Otherwise we were delighted with our choice of accommodation and would definitely come again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



A lovely house ...

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
... in a fantastic position on the edge of Hickling Broad. As in our previous visits we enjoyed a lot of sailing, swimming in the sea (and the broad), walks into the nature reserve, bird and insect spotting, and evenings in the very comfortable house. Nothing not to like.
We will be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Terrific location, home-from-home, so comfortable and dog loves it !

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Have been visiting Redroofs twice yearly for several years. The location suits us perfectly, the house is mega-comfortable and the rear dog-proof garden is a godsend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Beautiful relaxing house, with all the facilities you could possibly need, and a useful welcome pack

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had an amazing week, despite the weather. The house and garden are beautiful and set in an idyllic setting. A dog friendly pub in walking distance is also very handy. Just 10 minutes to the beach! Perfect!!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An April Break in Red Roofs to celebrate a special Anniversary and Birthday and a family reunion, .

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth time of visiting and this house is just up our street for our family.
Admittedly the weather was kind to us and we took full advantage with Hickling Broad on our doorstep.
Our enjoyment of the week break was exactly as anticipated and we look forward to visiting Red Roofs and the surrounding area again with our growing family. Must add that it was great and secure for the dogs as well.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Beautiful location, comfortable and genuinely dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were five guests with two greyhounds. Location was wonderful and the cottage and garden dog friendly, although with abundant wildlife and a relatively low fence on the right hand side we did have a couple of attempted escapes! Cottage had everything we needed for comfort and lots of information re the surrounding area

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





A comfortable old house in a super location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sitting room of this house is so cosy and lovely to sit in with a lovely view of the thatched boathouses. The beds were all clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were all of a good standard. The location is super. The kitchen is a little dated but everything including the dishwasher worked well.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at Red Roofs.
Such an usual location,right next to Hickling Broad down a very quiet lane.
I loved the open fire at the house and the Pleasure Boat Inn, nearby,was a lovely welcoming pub.





Human and dog holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great cottage and garden for the dogs. Only suggestion is that the carpets are a little tired and could do with replacing to also remove rugs as trip hazards. That aside you will not regret hiring this cottage for your 2 and 4 legged family



A wonderful property to holiday with your dogs.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love Red Roofs. Stayed 4 times and booked two more for next year. Starting to feel like home from home. Everything you could need is provided (apart from human towels) .



QUIET HIDEAWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay in Hickling, and it will not be the last! Fantastic home, beautiful gardens, both back and front, very dog and people friendly. Superb location, short strolls to two lovely dog friendly pubs, and less than ten minutes drive to beaches, supermarkets, and more pubs! Already booked again. BRILLIANT!



Our 14th visit in 8 years

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky, quiet & comfortable property in a super location. Terrific dog-friendly and enormous back garden, lovely views to the front, Redroofs isn't pristine but it is a home and very comfortable. All kitchen appliances are new, beds are super-comfy, certainly has everything we need from a holiday venue.