FB Twitter

Red Roofs

Red Roofs

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Spacious and rambling family home
  • Beautiful and peaceful location.
  • Wonderful views of Hickling Broad.
  • Plenty of space for 8 of you and up to 8 ish dogs.
  • Detached with a huge, enclosed back garden, all grass!
  • Two dog friendly village pubs within walking distance!
  • Bring your own boat or use the owner's dinghy.
  • 3 of the 4 bedrooms are on the ground floor.

another great week at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here a lot a really enjoy the house, well appointed with everything you need for a great holiday. very large enclosed garden, now with a rabbit proof fence so the flower bed was in full bloom when we visited. garden furniture and a BBQ. In recent times the kitchen has had a makeover if you decide to cook at home its all there, the walks around the house are great and a gentle stroll to the pleasure boat for good local ales and nice food. we have visited many beaches around Red Roofs all are dog friendly and some are pretty deserted so just great. The wifi has been extended with a new router so if the weather changes you can surf all over the house. we often stay in winter and the log fire is great, we love it at Red Roofs and have already re-booked.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



second stay this year at Red Roofs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time this year at Red Roofs, we really enjoy it there, well appointed roomy house, right on Hickling Broad, geat views of the boat house's and the broad. we have stayed there many times, recent kitchen makeover and ample bits in the kitchen means you want for nothing, a new internal stable door makes it easier to catch the doggies paws by the back door before entering the house, very large living room with a log fire, the garden is huge and recent improvemnts to the fence mean no rabbit (malteasers) for my two to eat, as mentioned with the big enclosed garden you dont need to leave Red Roofs, for the warmer months, a table with plenty of chairs and BBQ. The private road outside has foot path at the end which you can explore, or pop in the car 5 mins from Sea Palling or a perfect base for plenty of dog friendly beaches, close by are two dog friendly pubs with good menu's and the pleaseure boat has a nice fenced garden with views of the water. a log fire for colder months and is falling distance from Red Roofs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



At home at Redroofs

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Made welcome with arrival pack (great Victoria Sponge!) & fresh flowers in rooms. Well equipped,
Great BBQ, in fully dog secure garden. Location is superb, picturesque, & for water sports on the broads or nearby beach walks. Had a major storm, and the gardener called to check all was ok....nice touch.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





It's why we come back again ... and again ... and again ...

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
consider this 2nd home and it is a home not just a house .Superb location, terrific dog-proof garden.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Stunning Location for this great holiday property.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location, ideal if you want peace and quiet on your holiday. A short walk to the Norfolk broads, use of a small rowing boat, boatyard offering boat hire at the end of the road, 2 pubs almost on the doorstep, large fully enclosed garden, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds. Choice of beaches within a short drive from the house.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Everything we needed for a lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the huge enclosed garden to the lovely beds, we felt very at home at Redroofs. A lot of thought had gone into providing all the little touches that make a holiday cottage comfortable and easy to live in. Having three dogs, it was ideal. We had a lovely time at Redroofs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Superb setting and comfortable cottage but some problems

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Still a lovely and magical place and setting but this time there were some issues. What we think was a Welcome Pack consisted of 2 unadorned sponges one stacked on the other without filling in-between, a half used carton of milk, use by date 3/7/20! and a pack of teabags. Would probably have been better not to have bothered.
Last time we were here we had the use of an aging but adequate BBQ, but this time were left a note saying it was unavailable as it had not been cleaned - though there was plenty of notice of our booking (about 12 months). We cleaned the BBQ only to find that one burner was detached due to rust, rendering it hazardous and u/s.
We also looked forward to using the rowing boat moored opposite (without any oars). A note said we had to visit Whispering Reeds boatyard if we wanted to use the boat. When we did a pleasant but embarrassed employee explained we could have the oars if we took the boat there - which wasn't possible without the oars!! It was intimated that as we were outsiders the owner (who had taken the oars to the boatyard on 4/7/20) did not want any Covid risks to the neighbours.
We contacted Sue at East Ruston Cottages who expressed astonishment, but was magnificent in her response. Within hours she arrived bearing a super welcome pack, a pair of oars and a replacement BBQ. We were however unable to subsequently use the BBQ because the owner had secreted the BBQ utensils somewhere other than the kitchen where they were supposed to be according to the cottage manual.
As we rent out property ourselves, we feel that the owner needs to adopt a less proprietorial attitude in renting the property, as in short, we were unsure as to how welcome we were, which is a shame.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 302 days ago
Simon, thank you so much for your honest and comprehensive review. I am really sorry - as you know - that you experienced the problems you had at Red Roofs and there has been much communication between me and the owner to ensure these are not experienced by any other guests. I will be in touch with you regarding a partial refund for your stay. My very best wishes, Sue

Ok but needs sone TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We knew it was old fashioned which suited us as a family but it needs some updating/investment.

For example; The kitchen units we’re dirty. It’s had its day and needs replacing. There are lots of traditional kitchens in the marketplace which would suit this style of home.

Some of the lampshades are very old, and again, in need of updating.

Because it does need some investment, it appears a little untidy in places, I’m afraid.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Bev. Thank you so much for your review and obviously I am concerned that we have such a low score from you so please let me address the points you have made as they are very valid. Dirty kitchen units - I can only apologise for this. We would have been very happy to put this right during your stay if you had let me know there was a problem. We do always ask guests to alert us to any problems that we can rectify immediately and would have come in and done a full clean of the kitchen at a time to suit you. The age of the property and fittings suits some people, as you can see from many of the high score reviews on here and other sites but of course it is not for everyone. I will be reviewing the property with the owner at the next available opportunity to see what can be upgraded and replaced within her budget. With the house being old and next to water there are several maintenance/upgrade costs that are not immediately apparent to or beneficial for the guests as they are to the fabric of the building. The kitchen will certainly be reviewed as you suggest. Many thanks for taking the time to do a review - it is always much appreciated!

Amazing location and huge dog-safe back garden

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and the huge dog-safe back garden are amazing. The peace of mind to let the hound run around is worth every penny! House is quirky and a real home, so comfortable but not so pristine as to make you worry about every last speck of mud or dog hair.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Lovely house and excellent garden

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely large house with an excellent large garden in a beautiful, peaceful location. House is quaint and quirky.



Lovely Home from Home Getaway for both Family and Dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would not hesitate to recommend both Red Roofs and East Ruston Cottages as our holiday this year has been great from start to finish.

The house is in a wonderful position overlooking Hickling Broad and provided lots of opportunities to see heron, kingfishers, corn buntings, swans, ducks, cormorants, squirrels and rabbits, most from the garden. However, the icing on the cake, had to be walking the dogs on the local beaches and seeing seals playing just off shore.

Inside the rooms were spacious and relaxed and we quickly made ourselves very much at home. The beds were extremely comfy, with lovely clean linen - much needed after a long day exploring. The kitchen was well stocked with everything needed to cook meals both indoors and out. The welcome pack was much appreciated by both humans and dogs, particularly when travelling a long way.

The fact that this house caters so well for dogs, meant the holiday was totally stress free. Everyone had a great time with lots to see and do. We even hired a boat from the local marina - just around the corner - and had a cream tea afloat.

Norfolk is a new area for us, but one that we will certainly be returning to.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week, 8 adults and 5 energetic dogs (1 Springer and 4 Cockers). All of us, without exception, had a wonderful time! On arrival, our shopping order had been put away for us and a welcome pack, including homemade cake and doggy treats, was waiting for us.
The house was plenty big enough for all of us and the dogs were allowed in the sofa and beds (as long as throws were used). The garden was enormous and fully enclosed with secure gates. The dogs loved it so much and couldn't wait to get out there and explore every morning, infact, their tails never stopped wagging all week!
We enjoyed barbeques in the garden and visited the local pubs, The Pleasure Boat and The Greyhound, which are both dog friendly. We also visited the nearby beaches (also dog friendly)and the Dunes Cafe at Winterton-on Sea.
All in all, an extremely dog friendly place to stay!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A lovely relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week's stay at Redroofs. The house has everything needed for both cooking and relaxing. Plenty of space inside. Showers very good. Kitchen fully equipped. Huge garden was perfect for our 3 large dogs and could have easily accommodated more (and of course safe for children). Great beach walks short distance by car. Downstairs bedrooms and bathroom were perfect for older guests. Farm shops few minutes by car. Sainsbury's delivery was all put away before our arrival which was very kind. Would definitely recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Perfect dog friendly location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is a perfect dog friendly location set in a tranquil setting a stones throw from the norfolk broads. The house is well equipped and comfortable and the huge back garden perfect for zoomies for our 2 greyhounds and labradoodle. As 3 of the bedrooms are downstairs it was ideal for my husband who struggles with walking. The village itself is lovely and the 2 pubs within walking distance the The Greyhound and the Pleasure Boat Inn can highly recommend. Customer Service was excellent and we will certainly book again with East Rushton Cottages

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Perfect spot for a family holiday with hounds

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Red Roofs is the perfect dog friendly house for pottering about on and off the Broad. Great service too!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Another relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at this property. We first came two years ago with two elderly dogs, then last year brought my in-laws and brother in law. This year we brought one young dog, mother in law and bro in law. Every year we have had a relaxing stay. The surroundings are so peaceful and beautiful you can’t help but relax. The house itself is comfortable and spacious. It is extremely dog friendly so I wasn’t on tender hooks watching our pup. The garden is fully enclosed, although I wouldn’t bring some of our other eight dogs as the fence is a little low between the house and the one next door who also have a dog. There are plenty of places to go and visit, but we were a little limited by my mother in laws age related mobility issues. All three times we have had reason not to be able to make the most of opportunities. Despite this, we all really enjoyed just relaxing and pottering about neighbouring towns and beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Returning to Red Roofs

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Red Roofs....... stayed previously and loved it. The House is perfect. Right on the banks of Hickling Broad in quiet private road. large front garden looking over the Broad with chairs and a table, the House seems huge and well appointed with all you need for your stay. the rear garden is very big, completly fenced in so dog safe. rabbits, squirrells and pheasents and all manner of ducks visit so my two dogs had a great time on patrol to safe guard our well being from invaders.....we have stayed in winter months and in the summer. great times at any season, Norfolk is great plenty to do and lots of dog friendly beaches, pubs. On arrival you recieve a welcome pack which is a pleasent surprise and very nice some local fayre and treats for the hounds so all recipients happy. we have already rebooked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic location, great garden for 4 greyhounds. Comfortable, spacious rooms.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a stunning setting for a comfortable and peaceful stay. Plenty of room for 4 adults and 4 greyhounds. The rooms were spacious and homely, the kitchen wasn't huge but was adequate as long as we weren't all there at the same time! The garden was a great space and very secure. Useful information provided included vet details which is not always available at dog friendly accommodation so brownie points there. Our only criticism would be that the rug in the lounge was continually rucking up which could create a trip hazard. Our attempts to rectify this were numerous and unproductive. Otherwise we were delighted with our choice of accommodation and would definitely come again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



A lovely house ...

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
... in a fantastic position on the edge of Hickling Broad. As in our previous visits we enjoyed a lot of sailing, swimming in the sea (and the broad), walks into the nature reserve, bird and insect spotting, and evenings in the very comfortable house. Nothing not to like.
We will be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Terrific location, home-from-home, so comfortable and dog loves it !

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Have been visiting Redroofs twice yearly for several years. The location suits us perfectly, the house is mega-comfortable and the rear dog-proof garden is a godsend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Beautiful relaxing house, with all the facilities you could possibly need, and a useful welcome pack

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had an amazing week, despite the weather. The house and garden are beautiful and set in an idyllic setting. A dog friendly pub in walking distance is also very handy. Just 10 minutes to the beach! Perfect!!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An April Break in Red Roofs to celebrate a special Anniversary and Birthday and a family reunion, .

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth time of visiting and this house is just up our street for our family.
Admittedly the weather was kind to us and we took full advantage with Hickling Broad on our doorstep.
Our enjoyment of the week break was exactly as anticipated and we look forward to visiting Red Roofs and the surrounding area again with our growing family. Must add that it was great and secure for the dogs as well.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Beautiful location, comfortable and genuinely dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were five guests with two greyhounds. Location was wonderful and the cottage and garden dog friendly, although with abundant wildlife and a relatively low fence on the right hand side we did have a couple of attempted escapes! Cottage had everything we needed for comfort and lots of information re the surrounding area

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





A comfortable old house in a super location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sitting room of this house is so cosy and lovely to sit in with a lovely view of the thatched boathouses. The beds were all clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were all of a good standard. The location is super. The kitchen is a little dated but everything including the dishwasher worked well.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at Red Roofs.
Such an usual location,right next to Hickling Broad down a very quiet lane.
I loved the open fire at the house and the Pleasure Boat Inn, nearby,was a lovely welcoming pub.





Human and dog holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great cottage and garden for the dogs. Only suggestion is that the carpets are a little tired and could do with replacing to also remove rugs as trip hazards. That aside you will not regret hiring this cottage for your 2 and 4 legged family



A wonderful property to holiday with your dogs.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love Red Roofs. Stayed 4 times and booked two more for next year. Starting to feel like home from home. Everything you could need is provided (apart from human towels) .



QUIET HIDEAWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay in Hickling, and it will not be the last! Fantastic home, beautiful gardens, both back and front, very dog and people friendly. Superb location, short strolls to two lovely dog friendly pubs, and less than ten minutes drive to beaches, supermarkets, and more pubs! Already booked again. BRILLIANT!



Our 14th visit in 8 years

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky, quiet & comfortable property in a super location. Terrific dog-friendly and enormous back garden, lovely views to the front, Redroofs isn't pristine but it is a home and very comfortable. All kitchen appliances are new, beds are super-comfy, certainly has everything we need from a holiday venue.