FB Twitter

Shepherds View

Shepherds View

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 71 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Luxury accommodation for couples

Superb Accomodation & Hosts

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at Shepherds View with Dufton Barn Holidays. The property is completely immaculate and very well equipped with everything one needs for a comfortable and luxurious break. The level of cleanliness is second to none and the COVID precautions have been applied diligently to ensure the safety of all guests. The log burner, heated floors, Netflix and all other amenities are outstanding additions setting Shepherds View head and shoulders above all other options. The hosts Simon & Carole are super kind and nice people, they simply let you enjoy your time away but are readily available if you need anything. Cannot recommend Shepherds View highly enough and we will be back once again. Thank you



Simon replied 32 days ago
Lovely to see you both again and see you next October!

Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay but not the last. We always look forward to our stay at Shepherds View, are never disappointed and are always reluctant to leave. It’s the perfect spot to relax and recharge either by walking the hills or just sitting by the window watching the wildlife. Truly an idyllic spot.



Carole replied 40 days ago
Thank you once again for taking the time to review and for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing again next time…!

Shepherd's View Dufton

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay last week at Shepherd's View. We found it very well equipped, extremely comfortable and in a superb location, with lovely walks from the door and within easy reach of interesting places further afield . ( The Bowes Museum and Raby Castle are well worth a visit ).We enjoyed it so much that we've already booked a return visit in the Spring.



Carole replied 46 days ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and you certainly made the most of your trip North. We'll look forward to welcoming you back next Spring!

We have already booked a return visit

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at Shepherds View, and are already missing the wonderful views from the upstairs windows; would have loved to bottle and take home the view of Dufton Pike, and all the surrounding hills.
The location is perfect, with immediate access to countryside walks, and very easy access to the lovely Appleby in Westmorland; a huge amount of work has been put into providing small laminated descriptions and photos of local walks, and the availability of maps was very much appreciated.
The quality of furniture, furnishings and all equipment is excellent. However we would have appreciated a few more mugs, plates and cutlery so that the dishwasher didn't need to go on as frequently; due to my vulnerability to infection, we didn't want to eat out, so all meals were taken at Shepherds View. This is probably not an issue for most people, and hopefully by the time we return in May, we will feel more confident about eating out..




Simon replied 65 days ago
We are so glad that you had such a great stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you again next year. You make an interesting point about the dishwasher and we will look to add some additional crockery - we thought that 4 of everything would be enough, and 6 of the cutlery, but can see where you are coming from. Not sure you found all the mugs as there are actually 14 of differing shapes & sizes in the cottage.

A Hidden Gem, quality and comfort.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having owned our own holiday rental home for 15 years( albeit overseas) We may look at things from a different angle and are possibly more critical than many. Having said this we also appreciate all the hidden effort that goes into creating and maintaining a holiday rental to a high standard.
For us Shepherds View ticks all the boxes.
The location is absolutely perfect, tucked away behind the last house in the village, secluded but not isolated, with fabulous views over open countryside.
It is perfect for walking and no need to even move your car, with many walks suitable for all abilities straight from the doorstep. We had taken maps and books of walks and never even opened them as the owners had provided cards and maps of numerous walks in the area.
The village has a pub serving excellent food and a tea shop which serves a cracking breakfast and excellent cakes.
Appleby is just a 10 min drive away for more pubs and restaurants and a selection of shops to meet your requirements for self catering.
So, having done with the location let’s move to the accommodation. Where do I start?
Shepherds View is superb, everything is high end, chosen with your comfort and enjoyment in mind.
The ground floor kitchen has everything you could need for any level of self catering from a microwave meal to a Sunday roast and we made the most of it, including the beautiful welcome hamper of local produce.
Instructions for the use of all the appliances were left on laminated cards so no need to just “wing it”.
Plenty of washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs and laundry liquid is available for use and several tea towels and hand towels…… I hate it when accommodations only provide one for a whole week!
To the right of the front door is access to an area where you can store suitcases, boxes etc and a sink for scrubbing muddy boots.
Upstairs is tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable.
We had been a little dubious about the combined living /sleeping area worrying about feeling cramped and remembering “studio apartments” experienced on the package holidays of our youth. There was absolutely no cause for concern, the living area was spacious for the two of us and the furnishings bright, modern and tasteful, with the attention to detail that was evident throughout the whole of the accommodation.
The super king bed, extremely comfortable mattress, fluffy duvet and wonderful pillows ensured an excellent nights sleep.
The bathroom is large and modern with both a bath and a walk in shower. Neither of us are big bathers, preferring to shower but it’s jacuzzi bath with mood lighting was extremely welcome after walking for several miles on the fells.
Good quality, locally made toiletries were provided and my big thing, decent towels!! I hate it when it says towels provided and you turn up and find a postage stamp sized towel that barely covers you ( I always take my own)
At Shepherds View, not only were we provided with towelling robes but 4 huge fluffy bath towels,
( mine never came out of the case) this is the sort of thing I mean when I say attention to detail.
Finally our thanks to our hosts Carole and Simon who were friendly and helpful, there if we needed them but otherwise left us to out own devices. Sorry we never got to use our own private garden but there was so much else to do!
This place is an absolute hidden gem and we can’t wait to return.




Carole replied 66 days ago
Thank you for such a detailed review! Can't think of anything you haven't mentioned - just brilliant! Look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

This is a first class accommodations within a beautiful countryside.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage well deserves the 5 star it has, the cottage has everything you could possibly need at a very high standard. The owners Simon and Carole are most welcoming and would do anything to give you a great break at the cottage. The cottage is very clean and modern with all the facilities you could want including a fantastic jacuzzi bath. If you don't want to cook there is the Stag Inn literally 2 min down the road serving good food and drink at reasonable prices. Last but not least you are in a area with fantastic views and walks without any need to travel by car, but if you want to you are within 45 mins by car of the Lake District. We loved our short break so much we have already booked next year for a week.



Carole replied 66 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We can't wait to have you back next year!

Superb!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More than happy to write a review for Dufton Barn Holidays. The barn is by far and away the most well appointed and thought out self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. The level of comfort, thought and detail that has gone into this renovation is superb. The location speaks for itself with stunning views from the upper floor. If you love to walk, as we do, you would not be disappointed as there are a myriad of walks to chose from of varying lengths and levels from easy to more challenging.
We are not normally people who recommend as everyone’s expectations and tastes will differ, however this is an exception and we
would have no hesitation.
We will be back!




Carole replied 83 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. It means so much to us that you did, and your comments have made our day! Thanks

Simply perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply perfect, everything we enjoy and more, this was a return visit and we look forward to our next.
Thank you Carole and Simon




Carole replied 92 days ago
It was lovely to see you both again, and thank you for leaving everything so clean!!!! Hopefully see you again in the future.

Wow!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn is absolutely amazing. It is clean, spacious and comes with lots of of home comforts. The view is amazing to wake up to, especially on a sunny morning. It is also the ideal romantic getaway.



Carole replied 97 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Fabulous barn in a beautiful, quiet location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherd's View is beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped... everything for a very comfortable self catering holiday. Spotlessly clean with thoughtful touches - maps and guides for local walks, carefully chosen books and it is located in a pretty village with a good pub 2mins walk away! Not forgetting the amazing view from the property.




Carole replied 104 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We've tried to think of everything, but we have now added a rolling pin!!

Lovely people very clean excellent place today

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here very much would come back again for sure people were warm and welcoming and the hamper was very lovely touch which we enjoyed very much



Carole replied 127 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay and hopefully we will see you back again at some point!

A week of bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfection, anyone finding this venue less so would be "impossible" to satisfy. Thats all I have to say.



Carole replied 145 days ago
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Thank you for your comments and the photos! Hope to see you again soon.

An ideal holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous property, in a magnificent location - run by a very kind and pleasant couple. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Carole replied 168 days ago
It's lovely to have another convert to the wonders of the Eden Valley. Thank you for taking time to review your stay and for your kind words. We're delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.

An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We choose to stay at Shepherds View because having stayed before we knew the standard would still be excellent.



Carole replied 175 days ago
It was lovely to see you back again and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully see you again in the not too distant future.

Perfect Honeymoon Location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View was one of the best places we have stayed in the UK. Simon and Carole were so accommodating and went above and beyond to arrange a few things for us on our arrival. When we arrived the place was exactly as we hoped for and more.

Shepherds View offers so much! The view from the property, especially the bedroom/ sitting room, is on another scale! No one can see into the property and the view up Dufton Pike is so unique. The wildlife around is abundant and the noises are so peaceful and tranquil. The property itself is specified to a very high standard. Waking up, opening the curtains with a fresh coffee from the espresso machine was a simple but favourite highlight ours. Electric velux windows and blinds, jacuzzi bath, digitally controlled shower and led lighting added even more to our experience.

As it was our honeymoon we were after some peace and quiet. We went to a spa just in nearby Appleby which was reasonably priced and included a 2 course lunch. We chose to walk up High Cup Nick, a stunning 13km walk up into the north pennies straight from the property itself. We ventured over to the lakes for a meal at the amazing Cottage in the Wood. We did drop into Keswick for a brief moment which is lovely but busy. However, we feel it was a short week well spent.

We wish we could’ve stayed longer. We fell in love with Dufton and felt we only scratched the surface. There was so much more to be done and we cannot wait to go back. The place was perfect!!




Carole replied 182 days ago
You couldn’t have picked a better few days to visit! We are blown away by your comments, made especially so by the importance of the occasion to you. Thank you so much and hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes for your future together![Emoji Removed]

Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here last December it was like coming home, such was the welcome from Simon and Carol. The barn was spotless, the welcome hamper was very welcome and everything we might need was on hand. The two short walks that Simon drew out for us were easy to follow and took us to places we might not have visited otherwise, particularly Askham Hall. We were treated to two spectacular sunsets that more than made up for the rain. Have already booked another return trip and are looking forward to it.



Carole and Simon replied 195 days ago
Thank you so much for your really kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year!

Wonderful holiday , great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt overwhelmed when first arrived, everything you could wish for.
View from the lounge/ bedroom window is stunning.
Bed is very comfortable , best nights sleep had in a long time.
Carole and Simon are brilliant hosts and lots of great advice on what to do.
We are novice walkers but because of their detailed maps etc we felt confident to do some challenging ones.
Great location , lots of things to do whatever the weather.
Would definitely recommend.




Carole replied 203 days ago
We are so glad you liked the barn, but more importantly that you had such a great holiday. Such lovely comments, for which we are very grateful, and really glad that we lived up to the recommendation of your friends!

A relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 07 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing holiday in this beautiful cottage. The location was perfect for walking and it was delightful to return to a warm and welcoming base after being on the fells. We found the barn extremely comfortable and well fitted out, we liked the attention to detail. The view from the large window was wonderful and we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. It was a very relaxing holiday and we look forward to returning in the future.



Simon replied 213 days ago
We’re so glad you had such a lovely break and enjoyed relaxing in the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back when time permits you.

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds view is an amazing place to stay. The view from the living room is stunning and the kitchen over looks a field of sheep and lambs. The accommodation has heated floors so it is lovely and cozy, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very luxurious especially with the jacuzzi bath.
Recommend staying at this the great place as it is in a great location for some breathtaking walks and the owners are welcoming and very helpful.




Carole replied 220 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much and it is really nice to hear what features you particularly enjoyed. Can’t always guarantee the lambs however!

Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation, Plenty of places to visit, Really enjoyed our stay. Would throughy recommend the Barn.



Carole replied 230 days ago
It was lovely to have you for our first guests after lockdown and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much!

Just perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want self catering accommodation in a superb setting then this is it.

The barn is warm, very comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need. Everything is of a very high standard, from the furnishings to the appliances and the “welcome box” of goodies is the final touch.





Carole replied 345 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely words and taking the time to write them on Xmas day too! We will look forward to seeing you in May, hopefully in a better world!

Great return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful retreat. Love the added extras that make it so relaxing to stay here. Lots of info on walks from the doorstep and further afield. Hoping for a third visit soon.




Carole replied 356 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments. It will be lovely to have you back again, although hopefully not straight after another lockdown again!

Beautiful, luxury escape for two

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully appointed converted barn in a great location for outdoor pursuits. The owners are really friendly and helpful and genuinely care about your experience. It is the only barn at the location - there is lots of privacy and gorgeous views from all windows. Located in a quiet village between The Lakes and the North Pennines there is plenty of walking, cycling, sightseeing etc. You are about 35 from the Lakes but to be honest we stayed mainly local as it's beautiful on your doorstep. The owners have very thoughtfully provided lots of laminated walking guides many of which take you straight from your door if you fancy giving the car a rest. Walks in the area are stunning, we saw few people and plenty of sheep/cows - just the way we like it! There is a pub and a café in the village if that's your sort of thing, however the kitchen is very well stocked for self catering too. The barn itself is very luxurious (even by my usually high standards!), the owners have put a lot of care and attention into the general fit out with a super comfy bed and sofa, underfloor heating, log burner, jacuzzi bath and great technology throughout. However, what we loved best was all the little touches - this sets Dufton Barn above other properties we have stayed in. The fire was laid out ready to light on our first day, their were little treats left for us all over the place, gorgeous candles to use, place to clean your walking boots, spare umbrellas, warm throws to snuggle under after a muddy walk, milk in the fridge, ice in the freezer etc etc. A great deal of thought goes into the guest experience, hats off to the owners for doing such an amazing job. After a stay here you feel spoilt, treated, rested, relaxed and quite wanting to barricade yourself in and never leave!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all the different aspects of the barn as we strive to give value to our guests in the whole guest experience, and you have understood and encapsulated this beautifully with your words.

Wonderful, relaxing short break in fabulous barn conversion.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a short break with Dufton Barn holidays. The location was perfect, a picturesque village, surrounded by amazing scenery and a variety of walks for all abilities. We were able to choose from walking directly from the accommodation, or drive to other areas in the locality of Eden Valley and the Lake district.
Shepherds view barn was absolutely stunning, finished to a high standard, had been thought out carefully and we had everything we needed and much much more! The modern fixtures and fittings throughout the property were outstanding and we felt immediately at home in the barn. There was ample information on walking, sightseeing and local places of interest which was really helpful.
The welcome hamper was a lovely addition and we enjoyed sampling the produce!
Simon & Carole were great hosts and very helpful and thorough upon arrival.




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. You are so right about the location - Lake District, Dales, Howgills, and not forgetting the Eden, all in close proximity. Plenty to see and do whatever your interests.

Just Lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated in the delightful village of Dufton, Shepherds View is a luxury holiday cottage for couples.

And it is luxury - the fixtures and fittings are top notch - with the attention to detail truly impressive.

The things that really matter are taken care of too: it’s spotlessly clean, the tech and other appliances are clearly explained, the view from the upstairs window is beautiful, the cottage is very quiet and the location is great for the Pennines & the Lake District.

The local pub, The Stag, is two minutes walk away and serves really good food and local ales.

Shepherd’s View is just lovely..!





Superb in every way!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week away was originally planned for Mid Summer but having to defer it because of coronavirus until the Autumn didn't really matter as we had a wonderful time anyway. We selected Shepherds View because it seemed perfect for the walks we wanted to do and also because the accommodation looked lovely and we weren't disappointed on either count. Once we arrived the car hardly turned a wheel as we could go on so many superb walks straight from the door. Of course High Cup Nick is the one everyone goes for from Dufton but there were several other good ones described on the laminated sheets which were provided for our use.
"Luxury" is an overused word these days but I can't think of a better one to use for Shepherds View. Everything about it oozed quality. The "uber" comfy bed was especially welcome. The view from our window was pretty special too!
Our hosts, Carole and Simon, were very friendly and helpful and, all in all, we would recommend this accommodation if you want to stay somewhere special in this quiet but beautiful part of the world.




5* romantic break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented, well equipped and warm barn. Loads to do in the surrounding area and also close to the Lakes, dales and pennines. Will definitely be returning!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable luxury cottage for two in a beautiful location . The owners provided very helpful walking and cycling routes . We felt totally relaxed in the COVID climate as there were obviously meticulous cleaning and disinfecting procedures in place . There was a lovely private garden .The Stag was literally two minutes walk away and served excellent craft ale and delicious food . Couldn’t fault the place .



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your kind comments.

Summer short hols

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent wot more can I say
Barn has the wow factor as soon as you walk through the door. Host where Brillant greeting us as we arrived. Lots of maps and walks ready and available right from our doorstep. Nice little touches just made the break away one of the best I’ve had
Thank you would definitely recommend to any of my family and friends




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. Holidays are for making memories and we are glad to have helped you enjoy your break away so much!

Wonderful break for walkers

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful break. First in after lockdown and any nerves we had were eliminated as soon as we entered this spotless property. Everything we needed had been provided, along with a lovely assortment of luxury treats, as a welcome. The small but perfectly formed cottage on the edge of the village had lots of modern gadgets to entertain us and we could have gazed out at the lovely rural views all day long. We loved the suggested walks with helpfully marked up maps and wecompleted them all. The perfect break. Would love to return and sample the local pub one day.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your very kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed this wonderful area, albeit in difficult circumstances, and we will hopefully look forward to seeing you again. In the meantime we continue to add more local walks!

3 Days of Perfection! Shepherd's View Barn & the Dufton area is the ultimate relaxation combo!!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner visited Shepherds View Barn and Dufton last week for 3 days. We were greeted upon arrival by Carole and Simon who are both lovely, showed us around the amazing accommodation, let us know to knock on next door should we need anything and then left us to our devices to enjoy our stay.

The barn is 10/10 in every way, cleanliness, luxury, views, comfort, amenities, everything! From the heated floors, to the mood lighting, amazing log burner, Jacuzzi bath and everything in between made the stay so amazing. The view of Dufton Pike from the bedroom window is second to none, you never get tired of staring at this, we even got some snow!

The welcome hamper was a lovely touch and we took full advantage and used it all up!

Dufton itself is beautiful, every type of walk you could want from casual stroll around the village and local grounds, to more strenuous walks like Dufton Pike are literally on your doorstep. We did the pike, it took around 2.5 hours from leaving to returning with a mini picnic stop and brew on the way back down. We also did the church walk and tied in one other walk to this at the same time, both were lovely and took us around 1-1.5 hours to do both.

We are missing the barn already and looking to book again over the summer, cannot wait to come back, thank you again Carole and Simon, see you soon!




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed the barn so much. You certainly made the most of it despite the cold weather, but there is still so much for you to do, and we will look forward to seeing you later in the year hopefully!!

Our second visit

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Dufton after having stayed last year and had enjoyed it so much we wanted to come back. It's a perfect cottage, especially if you want somewhere where staying in is just as enjoyable as going out.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you both again and thank you for your comments. Hopefully see you again soon!!

Simply the best.....

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in Shepherds View and once again it was simply brilliant. Shepherds View is immacultaly clean and a wonderful place to base yourself when visiting the Eden Valley and Cumbria. Our hosts Simon & Carole are both the nicest people you can imagine and they have thought of every single little detail. They greet you with a smile and nothing is ever too much trouble. The cottage itself has everything you need for a relaxing self catered holiday and the Smart TV along with the lovely log burner are great for cosy cold nights in. We cannot recommend Shepherds View highly enough and will be coming back for a third visit sometime very soon. Thanks Simon & Carole.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for your support for the barn. We are really glad you enjoy your stays so much and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!

Autumn getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week staying at Shepherds View. The place was immaculate; the views across the Pennines are something else!
The local area is full of great places to eat and sites to see. We shall certainty be making a return!
Thank you Dufton Barn Holidays




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your kind words. There is so much to do in the area and you certainly made the most of your visit with all the walking you did. We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Just what the doctor ordered

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say ..... as soon as we arrived we were greated by Carole and Simon who immediately made us feel very welcome . The cottage was amazing , no expense had been spared with the detail and quality. Such nice little touches..... the locally produced hamper and the personalised note in the kitchen , the gorgeous products from the bath house (we stopped at their store on the way home for some of their products) and the views were just hypnotic. Our weekend was perfect in every way. Would 100% recommend this cottage to anyone . The sunday dinner at the stag was also amazing xx



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We are more than happy if you prescribe a stay for your patients!

Second fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot imagine anywhere better to stay in the Eden Valley. Will definitely be making a third visit. Friends have enjoyed it as much as we do. There is nothing Carole and Simon haven’t thought of for a special break. Still our favourite self-catering property!



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you again. There really is so much to do in this area even before you head out to the Lakes or the North Yorks moors. Look forward to seeing you again soon when you get time!

Fantastic property in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in a lot of self catering holiday properties and this one is the best. It is fantastically well equipped - there is everything you could think of and more. It is very comfortable with a huge bed and luxury bedding. The kitchen has everything you could want. There is a stunning view across open countryside. The owners have provided laminated instructions for a set of local walks, mostly starting from the property. There was also a generous welcome hamper of local products. We would love to come here again.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind and generous words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and you are welcome back anytime!

Luxury in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our five night stay in one of our favourite areas (and villages) was exceptional. The views of Dufton Pike from the bedroom/studio are stunning. Although the weather was a little too wild for walking, we found plenty to do, visited interesting towns nearby, and also had lovely drive out into the heart of the Lake District. The standard and comfort of the accommodation, together with its imaginative design and the great hospitality from the hosts, make this a place not to miss,
,




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you both again. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodation so much and your touring around the area. Hope to see you again soon - either as a guest or a neighbour!

Perfect self-catering for two

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This self-catering barn conversion for two really does have a wow factor enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of the host and hostess. It is situated in an idyllic part of The Lakes District and has amazing views near and far. The purposes built conversion inside the old barn has style and elegance covering everything and nothing is lacking. Too good to be true.....well yes it is!
Dufton village is in the delightful Eden Valley and within easy reach of Ullswater and Haweswate. Nearby Lowther Castle is amazing and hiring an electric bike from there such fun.
This self-catering accommodation should be on everybody's bucket list!




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you had such a great stay. We really appreciate your kind words and hopefully we will see you in the not too distant future!

Just Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is superb with everything (and more) that is required for a little bit of luxury in a lovely spot. The view from both windows of the cottage is spectacular and it is situated at the edge of a lovely little village (with pub and little tea room). From the moment we arrived and were met by Carole (the owner) we knew that this was a special place. A lovely hamper was provided, the bed was super comfy and there was a lovely little private garden to sit back and enjoy. We cannot praise this cottage enough and we would award it 6 stars!!!



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are so glad you had such a lovely stay. We would love you to be our Visit England Assessor when we are reviewed again next year!! Hopefully see you again soon.

Absolutely lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent our honeymoon at Shepherds View and we had a fantastic time. Simon and Carol were lovely and welcoming despite our late arrival the day after our wedding. Shepherds View is beautiful and there are many thoughtful touches that made our stay extra special. The location is great and we enjoyed some of the walking nearby. Thank you for everything and we can’t wait to come back!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, especially for such an important event as your honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to review the barn, as we know you will both be busy at work. We are grateful for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back when time permits in the future.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, shepherds view is absolute perfection.
The cottage is decorated beautifully and has everything you could possibly need. Carole was a lovely hostess, so friendly.
We loved the treats in the welcome hamper that was provided.
We wanted peace and quiet and that is what we got. Dufton is a lovely peaceful village and the Stag Inn is definitely worth a stroll to for a meal.
It is also just a short drive into Appleby and with plenty of places to eat. We can recommend the Crown and Cushion and we found the co-op was great for stocking up on provisions.
We managed the walk up Dufton Pike and it was definitely worth the hard work for the reward of the views and there was a soak in the jacuzzi bath to look forward to on our return.
We came away feeling so relaxed and are already planning our return.





Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed the peaceful location and made the most of the area. Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and hope to see you again very soon!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was fantastic and has been fitted out to a very high standard. The views from the window over open countryside are amazing and the jacuzzi bath was perfect after a day of walking - there are a lot of walks around Dufton (including High Cup Nick) and you are only a short drive from the lakes but without the throng of tourists. We will definitely be returning soon!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed the barn, especially for your anniversary, and thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Amazing 5 Star cottage in beautiful surrounding countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic cottage with all the modern convenience of today's technology throughout and views of the surrounding countryside to take your breath away.Carole and Simon were the perfect host's who made you feel welcome from the moment you arrived . The cottage has a very well deserved 5 Star Gold Award which in itself speaks volumes, and so we would 'nt hesitate to return.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are really glad you enjoyed the area so much, as it really is very beautiful and unspoilt. Hopefully see you again in the not too distant future!

Luxury in a barn

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunningly luxurious barn conversion with an incredible sense of the personal touch starting with the wonderful personalised welcome message and hamper to the range of guides and maps available to guests. Luxury really is the word here with a state of the art jacuzzi/hydro bath and remote control lighting and blinds. Oh yes and the bed ... massive and so comfy. And all this set in a beautiful location on the Pennine way, a few hundred yards from the pub and with stunning views over the countryside.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. Your comments have encapsulated all that we have tried to achieve, together with the wonderful location. Thank you for such lovely words!

Wonderful, serene stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherd's View is a very pretty barn in a very pretty location. Dufton village is a wonderful place for a quiet walk with a quiet drink in the pub afterwards. Carole and Simon are very welcoming and always close by if needed. They have thought of everything for Shepherd's View from the most comfortable bed and a relaxing jacuzzi. The views from each room are lovely. We could have sat looking out of the windows all day at the hills, the sheep, the rabbits and the house martins! We did however get out for a few walks around Dufton village and drove to Ullswater for the day which was of course lovely.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind comments and for taking the time to review your stay. We are really glad you were able to enjoy so much of the surrounding area.

Perfect break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly hosts have made a huge effort with this wonderful property.
Everything we could wish for -really comfy bed, jacuzzi bath, welcome goodies, well equipped kitchen, and all in a stunning location.




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your very kind comments.

A fantastic place to stay for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is simply wonderful! Beautifully furnished and equipped and a great location. The owners of the property, Carole and Simon, have thought of absolutely everything anyone could need for a relaxing and very comfortable holiday. We highly recommend this Premier cottage and look forward very much to a return visit.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are delighted you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed exploring the wonderful Eden Valley. You are more than welcome to return and we look forward to seeing you at some point in the not too distant future!

Superb cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is a superbly equipped and comfortable cottage. Everything needed for a successful holiday is provided and the owners are welcoming and helpful. The village is ideally situated for enjoyable walks. The local pub is minutes away and serves excellent meals. Highly recommended.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are really pleased you enjoyed the area so much as Dufton and the surrounding Eden does have so much to offer.

The best cottage we have ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Shepherds View to be in a beautiful area of the Eden Valley. The cottage was extremely comfortable with everything you could wish for provided. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. One day we hope to return.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review and happy to hear you loved the area and were comfortable during your stay- that has been our main aim. Look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Perfect stay for exploring Cumbria

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dufton Barn. The hamper was an absolute surprise and well received introducing me to excellent local strong cheddar (and I thought it was only the West country who made good cheddar!) and other great delights. The kitchen has everything you need during your stay and the jacuzzi bath gives a great massage after a long walk. The bed is very comfortable and I never ever felt cold here. Dufton is a lovely village with lots of great short and long hikes. The PostBox Pantry in the heart of the village gives a great cup of tea and coffee and make sure you have one of their scones! Super views of Dufton and Knock Pike from a large picture window is a great time waster too!



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lucy it was a pleasure meeting you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully it won't be long before we see you again!

Great relaxing stay in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely warm welcome from Carole when we arrived and a few things were explained to us of how some things operated etc. The Barn had everything you could want and more for your stay including cooking equipment if you wanted to cook. The welcome hamper was great for us as my wife needs Gluten Free food and this was really catered for. We loved all the remote coloured lights etc, round the upper floor ceiling and remote control blinds. The Jacuzzi bath was great to relax in after a long walk. Fantastic views from the upstairs window, you could just sit and look out all day. We walked up Dufton Pike the first day, not a very long walk but steep getting to the top, great views all around as you were going up and from the top. Next day we went to High Cup NIck , the Grand Canyon of the North. This was spectacular from the top, a long moderate walk with great views but well worth it!
Both Carole & Simon were great hosts, they made us feel very welcome.
The Barn is just fantastic, what else can we say!!




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed yourself so much and it was a pleasure meeting you.

Outstanding

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we could wish for. We had a superb holiday. Thanks for all attention to detail, the location was just right for walks of various lengths, and the maps/guides available were excellent. High Cup Nick is a must.




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much, and hope to see you again in the future.

Fantastic holiday we want to be there now

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners really have thought of everything. The barn is cosy, but still spacious. The views are amazing. Wonderful local walks with thoughtful walking guides provided by the owners. The food at the local pub is excellent. We said just yesterday that we wish we were back at the barn.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and it says it all that you are homesick for the barn. Please do come back when you can!

Sheer perfection!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is definitely our very top self catering property - there is nothing that Carole and Simon haven’t thought of. Views, fantastic welcome pack, most comfortable bed ever and just luxurious barn. We loved it and have booked our return.



Carole Higginbottom replied more than 1 year ago
We are really flattered you enjoyed your visit so much to consider Shepherds View one of your favourite places. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year. No doubt you will bring the good weather with you again!

Amazing luxurious place to stay, so realxing and also a brilliant location for hiking

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing, relaxing stay at Shepherds View, Simon and Carole have thought of everything you need for a wonderful holiday break. The views were mesmerising and we enjoyed watching the wildlife from the comfort of your swivel chair. The hikes direct from your door make it so easy to enjoy all the wonderful walks in the area including High Cup Nick and its dramatic U-shaped valley - a real highlight for us. We were so lucky with the weather however a lovely place to be if we had been snowed in too. We hope to return soon, thank you Carole and Simon



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased that you had a great stay and really appreciate the time you have taken to review your visit. Please do visit again as there is so much more to see in this lovely and less known part of Cumbria.

Shepherds View, Dufton

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our arrival we were met by the owner Carole who gave us a tour of the accommodation. As soon as you walk in you immediately see why they have a five star rating, from the luxury bedding and furnishings to the jacuzzi bath, everything has been thought of to make your stay as relaxing as possible. The views from the building are stunning and sitting in front of the picture window with your favourite tipple is highly recommended. When you do eventually drag yourself away from the luxury accommodation you're not disappointed as there are loads of walks for you to enjoy, maps and descriptions provided. A meal at the village pub is also recommended. Our stay from start to finish was perfect and this is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. Highly recommended.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and we are immensely flattered that you feel this is one of the best places you have ever stayed in. Hope to see you again in the future!

Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay. It's perfect for those who enjoy having a home base and then going to explore, but also for those who want to stay in and relax in the accommodation. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you may need, and the wood fire was a wonderful touch, with a large supply of kindling. We will be recommending it to friends and family, and will most likely be back again ourselves



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you both again soon!

Fashionable tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is the perfect place to experience countryside views from a luxurious vantage point with instant access to lavazza espressos and a warning log burner.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much and made the most of your break. Thanks for taking the time to review.

NYE 2018 Break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot speak highly enough of Shepherds View. The accommodation has been completed to the highest standard yet maintains a homely feel that allows you to relax and unwind after a day of walking. We truly didn’t want to leave!!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and please return when time allows. Hopefully you are revitalised for 2019!

Superb Hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A prefect base for a relaxing break in a village setting that's easy to get to. Every comfort has been thought of and the welcome basket is a generous treat. The hosts are charming and helpful without being intrusive. We wished we could have stayed for longer. Stunning views and a range of well marked walks with maps and information provided at the cottage. Acorn Bank Gardens (NT) is well worth a visit and is only 15 mins away.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much and hope to see you back again at some point in the future to recharge after Grandchildren sitting! (apologies for the late delay in replying)

The best place we have ever stayed!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The absolute best property we have ever stayed in. That's saying something as we have been fortunate to have visited some pretty amazing places around the world!
Shepherds View is luxurious, wonderfully relaxing and beautifully located. It is situated in the lovely Eden Valley and close to amazing places such as High Cup Nick, Ullswater, Derwent Water & the Lake District to name a few. This means it is the perfect place to stay if you intend to visit these amazing sights and want to easily travel around.
Carole & Simon are wonderful hosts and made us feel extremely welcome throughout our stay. They have thought of absolutely everything in Shepherds View to ensure you can escape from the real world but feel like you are at home. The cleanliness of the property is second to none and it is very well equipped with a massive comfortable bed, Smart TV with netflix, fantastic modern log burner and an immaculate jacuzzi & bathroom to name a few things. The kitchen is well equipped and if you are wanting to cook they provide everything you need to self cater too. We are quite fussy and I can confidently say that Shepherds View actually exceeded our expectations. We loved this place so much that we were sad to have to leave and get back to the real world. There is no doubt we will definitely be back. Thank you.




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We feel privileged that you were able to enjoy yourself so much as this was always our vision for our guests. The Eden really is a perfect place to visit as you describe, and we are delighted that Shepherds View exceeded your expectations.

Very relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a super place to stay, everything had been thought of to make the stay very relaxing indeed! Thank you.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you found the barn so relaxing and enjoyed your stay so much.

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm welcome from owners who were knowledgeable about the area & on hand to help with recommendations if required. Spotlessly clean, furnished & equipped to a very high standard with everything you need for a self catering break (+ little extras like a yummy welcome hamper). Spectacular views & wonderful walks straight from the door (it was great not having to use the car every day). The area is unspoilt & quiet without the crowds you find in some other areas (we walked for 3hours without seeing anyone else). Close to Appleby for the essentials but there are loads of pubs and cafes around if you prefer not to cook (including a pub within walking distance of the cottage - but far enough away so that you don't get any noise). Will highly recommend & would love to return.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always good to know when guests have enjoyed their stay, and you have summarised perfectly what we like about the area!

Love this place

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here recently and loved the comfort and quality of this lovely barn. Although we were out quite a bit most days we looked forward to returning to the barn as it is warm and cosy, tastefully decorated and very well equipped with fabulous fixtures and fittings. Carole and Simon are wonderful hosts and have obviously worked hard and put a lot of thought into creating Shpeherds View. We wanted for nothing while we were there. We will definitely be returning and I can’t recommend it highly enough.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of your time in the area.

Top class self catering

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very comfortable in Shepherd's View with its superb view of the Pennines. It had all the amenities required for a 5* stay. We were very pleased and its an ideal spot for hill walking.



Exceptional luxury accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week and will definitely return. The standard of the accommodation is very high and we can completely understand why they got 5 star gold! We have stayed in many places all over the world and this Cottage is one of only a handful of places that we would happily return to. Excellent in every way and we can wholeheartedly recommend this property to others.



Lovely stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my boyfriend stayed here in August 2018 for 3 nights. The Barn is beautiful, exactly how it looks in the pictures, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we arrived we were greeted by Carole and Simon, and they gave us lots of information about where to go, and what to see whilst there. They were both lovely, and really accommodating. This was exactly the sort of place we were looking for, and we were amazed at how modern everything was. It's always nice to stay somewhere homely, and we definitely felt comfortable during our stay. We loved the hamper filled with local produce. We will definitely be returning, as there was so much we didn't get chance to do/see.



A new favourite place!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great find! Wonderfully situated. A tastefully appointed little get-away. Very thoughtful owners.



Four Nights in Shepherd's View

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we were hoping for. A fantastic property in an idyllic location with to-die-for views over the fells. 10/10!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wonderful stay in an amazing spot - thank you :)

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay, and Carole was really helpful both before we arrived and once we were there. The place is absolutely lovely, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you!