FB Twitter

Shepherds View

Shepherds View

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Luxury accommodation for couples

Luxury in a barn

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunningly luxurious barn conversion with an incredible sense of the personal touch starting with the wonderful personalised welcome message and hamper to the range of guides and maps available to guests. Luxury really is the word here with a state of the art jacuzzi/hydro bath and remote control lighting and blinds. Oh yes and the bed ... massive and so comfy. And all this set in a beautiful location on the Pennine way, a few hundred yards from the pub and with stunning views over the countryside.



Carole replied 13 days ago
We are really glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. Your comments have encapsulated all that we have tried to achieve, together with the wonderful location. Thank you for such lovely words!

Wonderful, serene stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherd's View is a very pretty barn in a very pretty location. Dufton village is a wonderful place for a quiet walk with a quiet drink in the pub afterwards. Carole and Simon are very welcoming and always close by if needed. They have thought of everything for Shepherd's View from the most comfortable bed and a relaxing jacuzzi. The views from each room are lovely. We could have sat looking out of the windows all day at the hills, the sheep, the rabbits and the house martins! We did however get out for a few walks around Dufton village and drove to Ullswater for the day which was of course lovely.



Simon replied 19 days ago
Thank you for your very kind comments and for taking the time to review your stay. We are really glad you were able to enjoy so much of the surrounding area.

Perfect break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly hosts have made a huge effort with this wonderful property.
Everything we could wish for -really comfy bed, jacuzzi bath, welcome goodies, well equipped kitchen, and all in a stunning location.




Carole replied 19 days ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your very kind comments.

A fantastic place to stay for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is simply wonderful! Beautifully furnished and equipped and a great location. The owners of the property, Carole and Simon, have thought of absolutely everything anyone could need for a relaxing and very comfortable holiday. We highly recommend this Premier cottage and look forward very much to a return visit.



Carole replied 43 days ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are delighted you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed exploring the wonderful Eden Valley. You are more than welcome to return and we look forward to seeing you at some point in the not too distant future!

Superb cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is a superbly equipped and comfortable cottage. Everything needed for a successful holiday is provided and the owners are welcoming and helpful. The village is ideally situated for enjoyable walks. The local pub is minutes away and serves excellent meals. Highly recommended.



Simon replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are really pleased you enjoyed the area so much as Dufton and the surrounding Eden does have so much to offer.

The best cottage we have ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Shepherds View to be in a beautiful area of the Eden Valley. The cottage was extremely comfortable with everything you could wish for provided. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. One day we hope to return.



Carole replied 64 days ago
Thank you for such a lovely review and happy to hear you loved the area and were comfortable during your stay- that has been our main aim. Look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Perfect stay for exploring Cumbria

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dufton Barn. The hamper was an absolute surprise and well received introducing me to excellent local strong cheddar (and I thought it was only the West country who made good cheddar!) and other great delights. The kitchen has everything you need during your stay and the jacuzzi bath gives a great massage after a long walk. The bed is very comfortable and I never ever felt cold here. Dufton is a lovely village with lots of great short and long hikes. The PostBox Pantry in the heart of the village gives a great cup of tea and coffee and make sure you have one of their scones! Super views of Dufton and Knock Pike from a large picture window is a great time waster too!



Carole replied 75 days ago
Hi Lucy it was a pleasure meeting you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully it won't be long before we see you again!

Great relaxing stay in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely warm welcome from Carole when we arrived and a few things were explained to us of how some things operated etc. The Barn had everything you could want and more for your stay including cooking equipment if you wanted to cook. The welcome hamper was great for us as my wife needs Gluten Free food and this was really catered for. We loved all the remote coloured lights etc, round the upper floor ceiling and remote control blinds. The Jacuzzi bath was great to relax in after a long walk. Fantastic views from the upstairs window, you could just sit and look out all day. We walked up Dufton Pike the first day, not a very long walk but steep getting to the top, great views all around as you were going up and from the top. Next day we went to High Cup NIck , the Grand Canyon of the North. This was spectacular from the top, a long moderate walk with great views but well worth it!
Both Carole & Simon were great hosts, they made us feel very welcome.
The Barn is just fantastic, what else can we say!!




Simon replied 80 days ago
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed yourself so much and it was a pleasure meeting you.

Outstanding

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we could wish for. We had a superb holiday. Thanks for all attention to detail, the location was just right for walks of various lengths, and the maps/guides available were excellent. High Cup Nick is a must.




Simon replied 93 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much, and hope to see you again in the future.

Fantastic holiday we want to be there now

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners really have thought of everything. The barn is cosy, but still spacious. The views are amazing. Wonderful local walks with thoughtful walking guides provided by the owners. The food at the local pub is excellent. We said just yesterday that we wish we were back at the barn.



Simon replied 111 days ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and it says it all that you are homesick for the barn. Please do come back when you can!

Sheer perfection!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is definitely our very top self catering property - there is nothing that Carole and Simon haven’t thought of. Views, fantastic welcome pack, most comfortable bed ever and just luxurious barn. We loved it and have booked our return.



Carole Higginbottom replied 131 days ago
We are really flattered you enjoyed your visit so much to consider Shepherds View one of your favourite places. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year. No doubt you will bring the good weather with you again!

Amazing luxurious place to stay, so realxing and also a brilliant location for hiking

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing, relaxing stay at Shepherds View, Simon and Carole have thought of everything you need for a wonderful holiday break. The views were mesmerising and we enjoyed watching the wildlife from the comfort of your swivel chair. The hikes direct from your door make it so easy to enjoy all the wonderful walks in the area including High Cup Nick and its dramatic U-shaped valley - a real highlight for us. We were so lucky with the weather however a lovely place to be if we had been snowed in too. We hope to return soon, thank you Carole and Simon



Carole replied 134 days ago
We are really pleased that you had a great stay and really appreciate the time you have taken to review your visit. Please do visit again as there is so much more to see in this lovely and less known part of Cumbria.

Shepherds View, Dufton

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our arrival we were met by the owner Carole who gave us a tour of the accommodation. As soon as you walk in you immediately see why they have a five star rating, from the luxury bedding and furnishings to the jacuzzi bath, everything has been thought of to make your stay as relaxing as possible. The views from the building are stunning and sitting in front of the picture window with your favourite tipple is highly recommended. When you do eventually drag yourself away from the luxury accommodation you're not disappointed as there are loads of walks for you to enjoy, maps and descriptions provided. A meal at the village pub is also recommended. Our stay from start to finish was perfect and this is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. Highly recommended.



Carole replied 169 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and we are immensely flattered that you feel this is one of the best places you have ever stayed in. Hope to see you again in the future!

Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay. It's perfect for those who enjoy having a home base and then going to explore, but also for those who want to stay in and relax in the accommodation. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you may need, and the wood fire was a wonderful touch, with a large supply of kindling. We will be recommending it to friends and family, and will most likely be back again ourselves



Simon replied 206 days ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you both again soon!

Fashionable tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherds View is the perfect place to experience countryside views from a luxurious vantage point with instant access to lavazza espressos and a warning log burner.



Simon replied 211 days ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so much and made the most of your break. Thanks for taking the time to review.

NYE 2018 Break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot speak highly enough of Shepherds View. The accommodation has been completed to the highest standard yet maintains a homely feel that allows you to relax and unwind after a day of walking. We truly didn’t want to leave!!



Simon replied 226 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and please return when time allows. Hopefully you are revitalised for 2019!

Superb Hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A prefect base for a relaxing break in a village setting that's easy to get to. Every comfort has been thought of and the welcome basket is a generous treat. The hosts are charming and helpful without being intrusive. We wished we could have stayed for longer. Stunning views and a range of well marked walks with maps and information provided at the cottage. Acorn Bank Gardens (NT) is well worth a visit and is only 15 mins away.



Simon replied 247 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much and hope to see you back again at some point in the future to recharge after Grandchildren sitting! (apologies for the late delay in replying)

The best place we have ever stayed!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The absolute best property we have ever stayed in. That's saying something as we have been fortunate to have visited some pretty amazing places around the world!
Shepherds View is luxurious, wonderfully relaxing and beautifully located. It is situated in the lovely Eden Valley and close to amazing places such as High Cup Nick, Ullswater, Derwent Water & the Lake District to name a few. This means it is the perfect place to stay if you intend to visit these amazing sights and want to easily travel around.
Carole & Simon are wonderful hosts and made us feel extremely welcome throughout our stay. They have thought of absolutely everything in Shepherds View to ensure you can escape from the real world but feel like you are at home. The cleanliness of the property is second to none and it is very well equipped with a massive comfortable bed, Smart TV with netflix, fantastic modern log burner and an immaculate jacuzzi & bathroom to name a few things. The kitchen is well equipped and if you are wanting to cook they provide everything you need to self cater too. We are quite fussy and I can confidently say that Shepherds View actually exceeded our expectations. We loved this place so much that we were sad to have to leave and get back to the real world. There is no doubt we will definitely be back. Thank you.




Simon replied 294 days ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We feel privileged that you were able to enjoy yourself so much as this was always our vision for our guests. The Eden really is a perfect place to visit as you describe, and we are delighted that Shepherds View exceeded your expectations.

Very relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a super place to stay, everything had been thought of to make the stay very relaxing indeed! Thank you.



Simon replied 298 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you found the barn so relaxing and enjoyed your stay so much.

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm welcome from owners who were knowledgeable about the area & on hand to help with recommendations if required. Spotlessly clean, furnished & equipped to a very high standard with everything you need for a self catering break (+ little extras like a yummy welcome hamper). Spectacular views & wonderful walks straight from the door (it was great not having to use the car every day). The area is unspoilt & quiet without the crowds you find in some other areas (we walked for 3hours without seeing anyone else). Close to Appleby for the essentials but there are loads of pubs and cafes around if you prefer not to cook (including a pub within walking distance of the cottage - but far enough away so that you don't get any noise). Will highly recommend & would love to return.



Simon replied 317 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always good to know when guests have enjoyed their stay, and you have summarised perfectly what we like about the area!

Love this place

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here recently and loved the comfort and quality of this lovely barn. Although we were out quite a bit most days we looked forward to returning to the barn as it is warm and cosy, tastefully decorated and very well equipped with fabulous fixtures and fittings. Carole and Simon are wonderful hosts and have obviously worked hard and put a lot of thought into creating Shpeherds View. We wanted for nothing while we were there. We will definitely be returning and I can’t recommend it highly enough.



Carole replied 317 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of your time in the area.

Top class self catering

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very comfortable in Shepherd's View with its superb view of the Pennines. It had all the amenities required for a 5* stay. We were very pleased and its an ideal spot for hill walking.



Exceptional luxury accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week and will definitely return. The standard of the accommodation is very high and we can completely understand why they got 5 star gold! We have stayed in many places all over the world and this Cottage is one of only a handful of places that we would happily return to. Excellent in every way and we can wholeheartedly recommend this property to others.



Lovely stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my boyfriend stayed here in August 2018 for 3 nights. The Barn is beautiful, exactly how it looks in the pictures, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we arrived we were greeted by Carole and Simon, and they gave us lots of information about where to go, and what to see whilst there. They were both lovely, and really accommodating. This was exactly the sort of place we were looking for, and we were amazed at how modern everything was. It's always nice to stay somewhere homely, and we definitely felt comfortable during our stay. We loved the hamper filled with local produce. We will definitely be returning, as there was so much we didn't get chance to do/see.



A new favourite place!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great find! Wonderfully situated. A tastefully appointed little get-away. Very thoughtful owners.



Four Nights in Shepherd's View

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we were hoping for. A fantastic property in an idyllic location with to-die-for views over the fells. 10/10!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wonderful stay in an amazing spot - thank you :)

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay, and Carole was really helpful both before we arrived and once we were there. The place is absolutely lovely, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you!