FB Twitter

Pennine Potting Shed

Pennine Potting Shed

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 56 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Accommodation for walkers

Great property

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property with all the mod cons. Great tuck shop and supplies. Very clean and well thought out. Good communication prior to arriving.



Fantastic cosy lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic little place in dufton.enjoyed everything about the potting shed.everything we needed in there.never met the owners but they've done a cracking job.thank you so much.



Simon replied 8 days ago
Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your visit. Sorry we missed you!

Such a warm welcome to a little gem

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing use of space. You literally want for nothing in this little gem. Carole and Simon gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. Such a shame it was raining as it would have been great to sit out in the Potting Shed’s self contained court yard. I hope we can return as there is much to see in the area



Simon replied 8 days ago
Lovely to meet you. There really is so much to do in the area - The Eden Valley is a hidden gem.

Not at all bad for a Shed

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay after long walk on the Pennine Way. Really cozy and well designed in very attractive garden. All the facilities you need, including a boot dryer and bunk beds! Hosts provided food and tea/coffee for breakfast. Dufton is a really attractive village, with a great pub for evening meal/drinks a few minutes walk from the Shed.



Simon replied 8 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Want to stay somewhere a bit different?………

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the outset of booking the hosts were very helpful with any queries over the phone. We had been walking the Pennine Way and were very wet and running a bit late to our expected arrival time, however after contacted the accommodation to let them know they said they would light the wood burner in preparation for our arrival - they even had boot warmers for us to use! Compact but still very comfortable, they had all bases covered regarding equipment and a great shower!! Thank you both very much, the Pennine Pathfinders!



Simon replied 8 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

Excellent walkers stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I stayed at the Potting Shed while walking the Pennine way June 2024.
The Potting shed is perfect for walkers. The Potting Shed exceeded our expectations. The space may be small but it is perfectly formed.
The seating and the log burner are perfectly situated. The bunk beds were big enough for two blokes over 6ft.
The wet room is a brilliant idea and works well.
The weather on the day was not great so we did not sit outside.
Our hosts were lovely and checked in with us to check everything was OK and if we needed anything, which we didn't as the provisions provided were more than ample and there was plenty to make pack lunches too.

Over all an excellent wee find.




Simon replied 26 days ago
We are delighted you had such a comfortable stay! The Potting Shed is great in the dry but even better in the wet!

Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a warm welcome after a long, wet day walking the Pennine way! Such a friendly place with cosy details, very welcoming owners, a pub next door, a fire and little snacks all around. A place to relax, ready to go again!



Carole replied 26 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for taking the time to review.

Another fantastic stay at The Pennine Potting Shed.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, quiet and very well equipped again. Carole and Simon are superb hosts. Thank you both so much



Simon replied 41 days ago
Lovely to have you both back - hope to see you again in the future!

A delightful, compact little home with absolutely everything you need and more

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a joy it was to stay in the Potting Shed! Every detail was thought of when creating this lovely, private space designed particularly with walkers in mind. From the moment I sat in my private little garden watching the birds as I took off my boots, to the hot shower, mug of tea, and tasty nibbles in front of the wood stove. Dinner at the pub just a few steps away and a soft bed put the finishing touches on my day. A lovely selection of breakfast items made starting the next day easy, though it wasn't easy to leave my new cozy home. Thanks for the warm welcome and all the thoughtful touches. It doesn't get any better than this!



Simon replied 46 days ago
Thank you for your kind words. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and it is always good to hear that the beds are comfy as this is key after a long days walking!

A little Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are expecting this to be like your average garden shed you will be very pleasantly surprised. It is a cosy and quirky hideaway in a lovely garden. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need.



Simon replied 46 days ago
Thank you so much for reviewing. So glad you had such a great stay.

Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were walking the Pennine Way with our dog and this was one of the best stays - they've thought of everything and I mean everything, dog & boot wash, boot drying, cook in (it had everything) or go to the pub which was also great. All in all, we'll be back.



Simon replied 46 days ago
Thanks for reviewing. So glad we were one of your best stays. Its great to hear, and hope to see you again in the future.

Perfect Pennine Way stopover

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Potting Shed is compact but thoughtfully designed and laid out accommodation. The owners have thought of everything that a walker might need. There is a small courtyard for a drink or meal outdoors and a woodburner for cold evenings. The location is perfect for Pennine Wayfarers. The chocolate biscuits were welcome, the continental breakfast porovided was excellent and we were able to set off early for a long hike over Crossfell.




Simon replied 46 days ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and we are glad you enjoyed your stopover with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

A most EXCELLENT place to stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I reserved the Potting Shed for my walk on the Pennine Way to Alston. I was there for a very short time, arrived before dinner and left shortly after sunrise. The area was perfect: it had drying unit for my boots. There was food for a breakfast and snacks for my walk. It had everything I needed: it was perfectly laid out. I would have liked to stay longer, just to enjoy the Shed, but I had a schedule. The hosts were very helpful. It was an ideal place to stay.



Simon replied 65 days ago
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for introducing us to the Ravenber Way.

an unexpected treasure

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I arrived at Dufton cold and wet while waking the Pennine Way. I hadn't booked accomodatikn, as i had been camping, but i needed to dry out! Someone in the pub suggested i try The Potting Shed, and luckily it was vacant. They couldn'thave been more helpful, bringing breakfast supplies and even lighting the log burner for me. I would recommend this little treasure!



Simon replied 65 days ago
Lovely to meet you and glad we were able to help in your hour of need!

Visiting friends in Dufton to walk High Cup Nick

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very compact unit but perfectly kitted out with everything you could need. Would definitely re-visit



Simon replied 65 days ago
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Overnight stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a one night stay on my Pennine Way Walk.Very helpful host nice welcome,pub serving very good bar meals close by.



Simon replied 65 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Would be interested to know what was wrong with the condition of the property and why the location wasn't quite right for you.

Pennine Potting Shed review

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding, quirky place on the Pennine Way. Perfect for what I needed - a warm, cosy place to rest my legs!

Hosts were fantastic.

Will definitely be back!




Simon replied 65 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were well rested. Look forward to seeing you again on another walking holiday in the future.

Night in the potting shed

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The potting shed is small and beautiful. There is nothing missing for an overnight stay in the stunning North Pennines. comfortable beds, log burning stove, electric boot dryer, breakfast & snacks, great shower and even a tuck box ‘shop’! Everything has been thought of and carefully and creatively fitted into this fab little overnight home. Perfect



Simon replied 65 days ago
thanks for your lovely comments - we are so pleased you enjoyed your night with us.

Charmng, Delightful and Comfortable!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pennine Potting Shed is a home from home and a true delight.
The property itself is so cosy and presented with perfection. We arrived after 4 pm to find that Simon had already lit the fire making it a warm welcome.
The attention to detail is second to none. From slippers to a tuck box, breakfast provisions to a boot warmer….wow these thing really do make a difference and made us realise how much effort had been made to make a comfortable stay.
Dufton is a charming village making the property a perfect location for walking the Pennine Way or taking in the views from High Cup Nick.
Thank you Carole and Simon for a most enjoyable weekend.




Simon replied 65 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your weekend with us! Hope to have you back with us again in the future.

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Carole and Simon. We had such a lovely stay in the Pennine Potting Shed. It was cosy and comfortable with lots of little extras that really made a difference. The beds were comfy, the shower was powerful and the kitchen was just what we needed. Perfectly positioned to walk to High Cup Nick and the Stag Inn, great food there! I will definitely be back, I am sure every season has something different to enjoy.



Simon replied 138 days ago
Thank you for taking time to review and glad it was just what you needed. Look forward to seeing you again - you are right every season has something different!

The Second Time is a Charm

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My return visit to the Pennine Potting Shed was again a joy and this time, rather than the delight of discovering it had everything a wet and weary walker/jogger might need (and more), I had the added excitement and anticipation of KNOWING it was where I wanted to be for my birthday treat. Planning on a summer stay now, so I can sit outside and soak in the evening warmth (we can but dream!) after a day on the fells. Might even bring a friend.



Simon replied 152 days ago
Great to have you back again. Evening sun, glass of wine, chilling with a friend - what's not to like!

Solo Unsupported Winter Pennine Way

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at the Potting Shed en route to my 6.5 day completion of a Winter Pennine Way. Carole and Simon could not have been more helpful. I called ahead when descending at night from High Cup Nick and they had a roaring fire waiting for me when I arrived and a fridge full of food and provisions to keep me topped up that night AND for the following day as I had a long day out to get to Twice Brewed Public House. The standard of accommodation is top notch and I left the following morning to tackle Cross fell in -15C wind chill fully rested and fed. 10/10

Thoroughly recommended.

Regards,

Bill Whitfield.




Simon replied 152 days ago
Pleasure to have you - 6.5 days! Madness!!

Just one night, but there'll be another

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is another example of you get what you pay for. Whilst there may be cheaper B&Bs around in the wider surrounding area, here you know what you're going to get and it's high quality, so worth that little bit extra, because that's what you from the hosts - that little bit extra. They've really thought of everything. Plus Dufton is a gem - don't tell anyone - and here at the Potting Shed you can be free and make hall the head space you need.



Simon replied 206 days ago
Thanks for your review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Cosy, well equipped and welcoming

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great welcome. Clean, cosy and perfectly located. Everything we needed and more. Just what these weary walkers were looking for to set us up for Cross Fell. Thank you!



Simon replied 273 days ago
Lovely to meet you both and really glad that we made your stay in Dufton so comfortable. Enjoy the rest of your Pennine Way journey!

Pennine Potting Shed

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a great location. Fantastic welcoming hosts. We have already booked to go back next year



Simon replied 307 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Lovely stay after my wettest day on the Pennine Way

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All my needs met. Heated boot and towel rail dried all my gear. Lovely hot shower and the goodies box meant I was able to cook a lovely meal in front of a real fire. Great night’s sleep and left refreshed to tackle Crossfell.



Simon replied 322 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Glad you enjoyed it so much and that you were able to use many of the facilities that you don't find in accommodation anywhere else on the Pennine Way. Slightly strange therefore that you marked a 4 for value for money, given that most of these extras were included in the price of your stay.

PennineWay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are on our third Pennine Way journey and without doubt the Potting Shed is the best accommodation on the Pennine Way. The accommodation is set in the village of Dufton and is separate from the owners property. The internal layout easily accommodates 2 people and is designed to ensure all amenities are provided. The bunk beds are comfy and the breakfast and tuck box are added touches.
Just a pity all accommodation on the Way is not as good as the Potting Shed!!!




Simon replied 329 days ago
Thanks for your lovely comments, and glad you enjoyed your 2nd visit! Hope you made the rest of the walk this time, although we will always be happy to have you return if you need!!

Simply wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem of a place! We stayed sadly for one night only while undertaking the Pennine Way and arrived rather worse for wear after a tough day on Cross Fell The Potting Shed had literally everything we needed and more with the ‘cherry on the cake’ being the electric boot airer! WOW! So much thought and attention to detail made our experience a valuable one and we plan to return



Simon replied 356 days ago
Really glad you enjoyed your stay after such an awful day on the hills! Glad we were able to be a port in the storm for you to dry you out and get you on your way again!

A great night's sleep in this wonderful little place.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was definitely one of the best places we have stayed on our walk from John o Groats to Lands End. It has everything - great location, lovely little garden, such comfortable beds (we will not forget them in a hurry!) and such thoughtful extras - fresh food in the fridge for our breakfast. We felt really well cared for and the owners have got everything right. Also, Dufton village is beautiful and the local pub (Stag Inn) only a few minutes walk for the best pie so far on our journey. Thank-you!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to review on your mammoth trek. So glad we could help you enjoy the experience!

Loved our overnight stay and can't wait to return

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here as an overnight stop on a long distance ride. Its the perfect place to stay. Really comfortable with everything you could possibly need. There has been so much attention to detail and lots of little extras to enhance the stay. Wonderful selection of breakfast items provided



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to meet you - thanks for the review, and we are really glad you enjoyed the stay - we will look forward to seeing you again!

Pennine way day 10

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long hot walk from Middleton what a delight to arrive at Pennine Potting Shed
Wonderfully sited a short walk from the Stag Inn the property has everything you need to revive before tomorrow's hike over Cross Fell, excellent shower, nice living area and plenty of food and snacks are provided by the hosts. Check in and out is easy and I can't really find anything bad to say about the stay. My second time here and I only wish I lived nearer so we could stay again




Potted to Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The thought and imagination that has gone into designing the layout and amenity of this little space is amazing. It wanted for nothing in terms of providing whatever a walker might need. I have stayed in two bedroomed homes much less well-kitted out than the Potting Shed. Communication and provisioning were done to a high standard. The proprietors deserve all the rewards they are garnering!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Dianne thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Really glad you enjoyed your stay!

A Perfect Cosy Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Pennine Potting Shed after a very tough day along the Pennine Way. The owners live next door and gave us a very warm welcome. They have thought of everything you may need, including a boot heater. They generously provided free sweet snacks and fruit and there was a nice selection for breakfast as well as sandwich provisions.
The shower was great and the beds comfortable. We would highly recommend it and definitely return if we come to the area again.




Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carole and Simon go over and above with their standard of accommodation at The Pennine Potting Shed. Just so many extras are included in the price that we didn't expect (there were even slippers and a boot dryer!) and the breakfast supplied was excellent, more than enough for two breakfasts for the two of us.

The kitchen is excellently equipped and the bathroom is modern and spacious. Very comfy beds too! It's one of those properties which looks small from the outside but when you enter it is much bigger inside without feeling overcrowded.

The tuck box included items which could be utilised to make meals, very handy indeed.

When I compare it to other places we have stayed, there is nowhere as good as this. It is an absolute bargain!




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Small but perfectly formed.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovely cosy space at the end of the owners garden, lots of goodies left to make breakfast and the 'tuck shop' was really useful - such a good idea. Comfy bed, the log burner made it homely. Clean with plenyt of hot water for the shower. The boot dryer was inspired.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and glad you enjoyed it!

Cross fell expedition

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is unique accommodation , quirky , quaint , cosy, functional and a charming place to retire to at the end of a long day on the hill .



The most luxurious Shed you'll ever potter in to!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully designed tiny house with everything a tired walker could need and so much more!

I stayed for one night with my partner and our dog. We chose the potting shed for it's perfect location on the Pennine Way. It's really a treat to arrive, from dog towels to shoe warmers, so much thought has gone into providing the little luxuries a traveller might not have when living out of a backpack.

If you're looking for a romantic break this might not be for you since there are bunk beds rather than a double bed. They were very warm and comfortable, the shower was hot, and there is a pub with local ale a couple of minutes walk away. I would recommend and stay again!




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Couldn't have summarised what we have tried to create any better! Hope to see you again.

Little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent short break here. Ideal for walking. Nice, compact and cosy. The boot warmer great addition to dry those boots for the next day. Lovely comfy bunk beds



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay so much. See you again soon!

A lovely weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Potting Shed last weekend and had a great time. There was everything you needed and more at the shed, including breakfast foods, tea and coffee, a lovely hot shower, comfortable beds (tho neither of us could climb up to the top bunk not being in our first flush of youth lol!). We're hoping to visit again, hopefully for a week in the Shepherds barn next time. Dufton is a beautiful village and we had 2 great meals in the Stag.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The potting shed was a fantastic place, the added extra's made a huge difference.
Highly recommend this is anyone - we will be back to walk in the area again.
thank you lovely stay which is had been for longer. :)




Fabulous accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Potting Shed is a little bit like Dr Who’s tardis - larger inside than appears from the outside!! Three of us stayed at the property whilst walking the Pennine Way & the accommodation was ideal. The property owners are clearly very thoughtful people as every possible extra has been provided, including food for breakfast. Highly recommended



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks John. It was lovely to meet the 3 of you and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Hope you had a good day over Cross Fell!

Pennine potting shed

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place to stay after a hard day walking excellent selection of fruits and food, excellent stay would Stay there again.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you...and we would love to have you back!

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carole and Simon have thought of everything a tired walker could need. We were fortunate not to need it, but there was even a boot dryer. TV, radio, good reading lights, perfect shower, lovely outside sitting area. The wood burner would be very cosy in winter. Can’t recommend the Potting Shed highly enough



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely words. Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much!

A Fabulous Little Place

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Potting Shed was perfect for our overnight stop, had everything we needed & plenty of nice touches, all to make life easier. We loved the way the space has been used & it’s own little garden area. We will most certainly visit again.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Overnight stay for Pennine Way walkers

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The
Potting Shed proved to be ideal accommodation for us. Arriving in Dufton over High Cup Nick, the
Potting Shed was perfect.

We couldn’t think of anything else a walker could need, comfortable, well equipped and lots of little extras to make our stay a real treat.




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and it was great to meet you both.

A Lovely Place to Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carol and Simon were really nice to deal with – very pleasant, friendly, chatty people who made us feel very welcome.

The Pennine Potting Shed was very clean and had everything that a visiting walker would want. They clearly have put a lot of thought into what people want.

The place was very modern and had all the necessary conveniences – even a boot warmer/dryer!

If you're staying in Dufton, Dufton Barn Holidays is the place to stay.




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your comments - it was a pleasure meeting you and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay - you can always do this section of the PW again!!

The Potting Shed is a gorgeous little place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So welcoming after the long walk over from Dufton. Lots of special touches that were so helpful for walkers, like the hose to wash muddy boots and the boot drying rack. The breakfast and packed lunch were extremely generous! Perfect food for walkers and I was so well fed that day, much appreciated. I can't recommend the Potting Shed enough!



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - hope you enjoy the rest of your PW journey!

Pleasantly surprising

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wasn't sure what to expect from a potting shed but I was very pleasantly surprised by what I found.
Carol welcomed me and was very friendly.
As I was doing the Pennine Way and needed to make an early start they provided me with the wherewithal's to make my own packed lunch so I could get away promptly.
The provided continental breakfast was expansive and set me up nicely for the hard day ahead.
The bunk bed was very comfortable and long enough, as I'm 6'3" I find most are way too short.
The Potting Shed felt very homely and there were a lot of thoughtful touches.




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you.

A remarkable bolt hole on the Pennine Way

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well kitted out. The name "Potting Shed" doesn't do it justice, it's more of a (very old) brick built garden studio, with a small, private courtyard garden. It has two bunk beds and a sofa bed. Everything you might need is included!

Eating out at the Stag Inn (2 minutes' walk) worked out well, but beware they stop serving quite early.




An unexpected gem

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long very hot day on the Pennine Way it was a welcome surprise to arrive at the Potting Shed. After b and bs all the way it was nice to be in a self contained unit which contained everything needed for a comfortable stop and also a lot of very nice small additional extras which add to the experience. It is a fairly new conversion so everything is in first class condition and has been done with a lot of good taste. Talking of taste the food I had both as a breakfast and as a packed lunch was the best of the entire walk.
Overall well worth 5 stars, even the Pub is only a minute or two away




Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ged It was lovely to meet you and so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for reviewing!

Potting Shed Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Potting Shed was well equipped and comfortable, snug and convenient for walking The Pennine Way. As it was The Horse Fair, we were very glad that we were able to stay there, as there was nothing else available in the vicinity. The owner was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the pub was overly busy, due to the Fair, so we were grateful for the Potting Shed's "tuck box" which had some basic items for sale with an honesty box. which was a godsend. The only downside to our stay was a charge of £15pp for breakfast / lunch. This seemed overpriced for what was provided. Overall though, I would stay again as it was a cute place for a short stay.



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you felt the food overpriced, but really appreciate your feedback. We are still trying to get the balance right, and some guests have said that it was the best breakfast on the PW. If you have any specific details we would be more than happy to receive your feedback. Thanks again.

All round excellent accommodation!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A potting shed like no other! So much thought has gone into providing every possible comfort for weary walkers. A little haven on a long Pennine walk. A great nights sleep in the most comfortable bunk beds I've ever come across. A small kitchenette to prepare your own meals. Boot warmers, sofa, wood burning stove, super shower. Your own small garden to relax in with a beer at the end of a long days walk from Middleton in Teesdale. We ordered the continental breakfast which came with enough extras to make packed lunches for the next two days. All delicious! I cannot recommend this place highly enough. You won't be disappointed. Thanks to Carole and Simon for a very memorable and comfortable stay.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, Judy! Thank you so much. We really appreciate your feedback as we have put everything into this project. We are particularly pleased the beds are so comfy as it’s key to get a good nights sleep!

Loved our stay at the potting shed

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The potting shed has everything you need for an overnight stop on the pennine way. Great shower, comfy beds,and it's aesthetically gorgeous too.
Didn't use the logburner as it was warm but I imagine it would be so cosy in bad weather. There's an even a secluded outdoor garden to sit with a drink/ breakfast.




Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your visit. It's always good to know that what we have created works for our guests!

Very cute and comfy stay - a real treat on the Pennine Way

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in very fresh and new cabin. The potting shed itself is wonderfully decorated and aita in a beautiful garden



Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your Pennine journey!

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The potting shed was a lovely overnight stay after walking from Langdon Beck. It and everything we needed and a wonderfully easy to light and cosy log burner .Carole and Simon were very welcoming and great hosts.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Pennine way pit stop

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for one night while walking the Pennine way in May. I was pleased to find somewhere to stay as accommodation is scarce in Dufton especially somewhere so clean and welcoming as The Potting Shed. It had everything a walker could want including a boot dryer and somewhere to dry wet clothes. The food provided for breakfast was excellent and because it is self catering it made an early start possible for walk over the Fells. All in all a lovely place to stay.



Carole replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for taking time to review your experience. It is a real boost that we met your expectations.