FB Twitter

Stuckgowan

Stuckgowan

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Affordable luxury on Loch Lomond, exclusively yours.

Affordable luxury for wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our micro wedding at Stuckgowan House and it had everything we needed! Off peak prices offer great value for money, and the staff could not have been more helpful with my queries. Loraine the housekeeper even sent a welcome message!

I was really impressed with how well stocked the house was - all the boring bits had been thought about, like loo roll, dish washer tablets, tea towels and hand soap. It made the stay very easy!

There was plenty of room for us to do our own thing or join together. Particularly impressed that we could watch movies in the basement late at night without disturbing those asleep upstairs, or get up and use the gym whole everyone was still snoring!

Thank you for a lovely stay at a great property to build lots of memories, and for thinking of all the details that made it a thoroughly relaxing weekend.




What a house!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Honestly what an amazing house! We used this for the week of our wedding with both mine and my partners family staying there and then to host our wedding reception on the Friday.
The staff of the house are amazing and the house had everything we wanted and needed (and more).
It didn’t seem like anything was too much for the staff here and any question or query, they responded and acted quickly.




Great house, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great venue and fabulous location. The house is very well equipped and plenty of space to accommodate several families and a couple of dogs too. A few minor niggles, not much wardrobe/drawer storage in rooms and a couple of kitchen appliances not working.
The holiday was booked through Abercrombie and Kent and despite having used them on a number of occasions I would not book with them again. However, Susan Reid from Stuckgowan Estates was extremely helpful and I wish we had booked direct. I would also highly recommend the private chef Joanne Hamilton from Geranium & Thyme, her culinary skills are amazing! All in all, I would happily recommend Stuckgowan House as a great holiday setting.




Great place to spend time with family and friends

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This booking was supposed to be for my 60th birthday but with all the Kung Flu nonsense we had to move it forward 12 months. Susan could not have been more accommodating and helpful in moving the booking and this definitely cut the stress. We spent the week with our family and friends and as this group included a newborn and a 1 and 2 year old (and two dogs) we spent a lot of time in the house and enjoyed each other’s company but with the size of the house it was also easy to spend time apart if needed. We used the gas BBQ on the patio three times to great effect and on Susan’s recommendation we had Joanne at Geranium and Thyme come in and cook a delicious birthday meal for us. The house was lovely and clean and all facilities were first class, including the hot tub. The view of the Loch is amazing, especially from the upstairs front bedrooms and within the grounds there are numerous waterfalls which are good for a bit of wild bathing if you have the nerve. There were some midges about but this did not detract in the slightest from our holiday ( use Smidge)
We had the odd problem at the house but that was dealt with immediately so I see this as more of a plus point.
The house is well placed to explore the area with plenty of nice places to eat out within easy reach but the best thing about this house is the fact that you don’t have to go out, just being there is a vacation.
All our guests were impressed by the house and its surroundings.




We had a fantastic week at Stuckgowan, the house is gorgeous and the location unmatchable.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Stuckgowan, the house is gorgeous and the location unmatchable. This is the second year in a row we have hired the house and we would definitely come again



Impressive views of Loch Lomond

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely location for a break with a large party in Scotland. The house had everything to entertain a party from 16-60. It would have been nice if it was possible to walk more of the grounds - 34 acres or which probably about one is walk-able. As we had dogs with us it would have been helpful to know where else we could walk them locally off the lead.
Cinema room was a huge hit as was the pool table and hot tub. All the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The living area and dining room could easily accommodate our party of 11.
We had a leaking shower which meant we couldn't use it but maintenance came out quickly to check it out.




Fantastic Service, wonderful House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everyone couldn’t be more friendly and accommodating. The house had everything you could ever want for a great weekend. The location is brilliant very private but still close enough to local restaurants etc.



Susan Reid replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review and look forward to welcoming you back to any of our properties with your 5% discount booking directly on your next stay.

wedding venue

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house that didn't disappoint! lots to do for all ages especially the cinema room, bar and hot tub. We had Argyll hog roasts provide the food, who where very professional and the food was delightful. Music system is second to none and the karioke machine was made good use of. Beds where very comfortable, and shower rooms very stylish. The kitchen was the biggest i've ever seen and very well equipped. We will certainly return. Thank you!



Susan Reid replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted your Wedding was such a success at Stuckgowan.

2 Night Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Stuckgowan House for 2 nights for my friend’s Hen weekend. We were given a very warm welcome by the house keeper Lori who gave us a tour and showed us how to work things. The place was perfect for the weekend. Fantastic views, massive rooms, very clean, excellent kitchen facilities and plenty bathrooms and showers for the 17 guests. It didn’t stop raining over the weekend so having a hot tub covered by a gazebo meant we could still enjoy this facility. Would recommend this for others looking to book a place for a large group of people.



Susan Reid replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and comments and delighted to hear you all had a wonderful weekend and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Fantastic house - needs a little TLC

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the property with my group of 18 plus dogs. The house is absolutely beautiful and huge, so much space and the facilities on offer amazing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, however there are a couple of little things I would like to highlight and purely as constructive feedback so that the owners can put this right and keep the property at the top of its game. Most of grumbles are regarding bathrooms and in particular leaks. 2 of the showers leaked in to other areas of the house, we highlighted this on our stay and were told not to use the area that the leak was in, not ideal given this was the main dining room! We did still use this but placed a bucket under the leak and worked around it, not a big deal to be honest. Another bathroom sink did not drain, downstairs main bedroom with en-suite. There was also an issue with the carpet gripper on the main staircase, 4 of our party had a nail in the foot until we fixed the issue ourselves! Another issue for us was lack of walks for the dogs direct from the property, you can’t do this and need to get in the car or cross the busy road. Slight cleanliness issues when we got in, bin in copper room not emptied, stuff left in one of the bedroom drawers and dusty bedroom carpets. None of these would stop us from returning, it is an amazing house and feel lucky to have stayed.



Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback which enables us to bring in contractors to rectify these problems. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We are regularly checking this 200 year old grade A listed home to find any problems and to upgrade or repair the facilities and customer feedback assists us to react. Thanks again and we hope to see you back at any of our houses.

A Fantastic Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
21 of us ladies from age 18-75 had a wonderful 2 night stay at Stuckgowan. The house makes for a great weekend, regardless of activities you have planned, because it is so beautiful and well-equipped with entertaintment facilities - cinema room and hot tub were well-used! Make sure you leave time to enjoy these things. Cannot fault the property at all. Only minor issues were - difficult to get response regarding any queries about the house when there e.g. we had trouble opening some windows, operating the sonos but didn't get a reply. Also we paid an extra £200 for a slightly later check out than the early 10am - well worth it - however feel it would be a nice touch to have this free of charge, subject to availability i.e. if no one is booked to check into the house for a day or 2 after your stay, as we have had this complimentary late check out in other large properties before. Again, very minor details that would not affect our desire to return to this property as it is just wonderful. Susan was very helpful in answering my questions in the lead up to our stay. We will remember this weekend, and Stuckgowan House, fondly for years to come!



Fantastic Family Vacation Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When our family of nine first arrived at Stuckgowan we were simply amazed! We loved everything about the place from the many bedrooms to the fabulous kitchens to the incredible living spaces...media room, workout room, and living room. The views from the house and the property around the house were gorgeous. We were delighted with every aspect of our stay there.



Beautiful Spot for our Family Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I travelled to Scotland to get married this April. We brought a group of close family and friends and needed a spot that would best accommodate our eclectic group (We had age ranges from enfant to seniors). We couldn’t have chosen a better location for a relaxing country retreat. Stuckgowan has everything! The amenities well suited everyone- from the billiards room to the movie room to the jacuzzi to the outdoor BBQ. We took boat tours of Loch Lomand, went hiking, and travelled to town for pizza and a visit to the aquarium. But a highlight for everyone was sitting around the large 20 seated dinner table at the end of the day and sharing a meal. I couldn’t recommend Stuckgowan more. We were so happy with our experience.



Fabulous hen weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the accommodation for a hen do and couldn’t have asked for more. Stunning location, beautiful house and fantastic decor.

Lorraine showed us around the property on arrival and couldn’t have been more helpful, showing us how to use all of the mod cons and technology around the house.

Plenty of space and areas to enjoy. I would definitely recommend to anyone.




A birthday weekend to remember!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Stuckgowan! The views were breath-taking, the facilities were fantastic and the layout of the property was gorgeous! We were celebrating my husbands 40th birthday and from the minute we arrived on the Friday afternoon we had a ball.



Brilliant weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Stuckgowan for a hen weekend and couldn’t have picked a better venue!
The house had everything you could think of and was beautifully presented!
Michele, the house manager was so helpful and made sure we had everything we need!
I would highly recommend and will definitely be back!