FB Twitter

Yurt Bonnie

Yurt Bonnie

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Our beautiful yurts have been handmade on the Isle of Wight and sit in a private field up behind the renowned Island attraction The Garlic Farm. They're perfect for couples and small families sleeping up to 6 in one kingsize double bed downstairs and four single mattresses on a mezzanine deck. Games room, tennis court, football pitch, play area, restaurant and farm shop.

Lockdown breakout

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had three days at the Garlic farm. our first proper outing since the winter lockdown. It was amazing. We only left the farm a couple of times as it was so relaxing there. Hugo and Mel looked after us beautifully. We are already planning to return in september.

Nick from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in April 2021


Pandemic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Given that we’re still in a pandemic, this was pretty good. Due to restrictions, we sadly did not meet the hosts but they did us one text. The yurt itself is cute, definitely worth a stay and has everything you’d need (especially now we’ve added a cork screw)!!

Guest from NORTHOLT stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in April 2021


Fantastic stay in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The yurt was lovely and Melanie and Hugo could not have been more welcoming a helpful. Only downside was it was a bit too chilly in the mornings which meant you woke up really early as it got too cold to sleep so maybe thicker quilts could be provided in the colder months but other than that we loved it as our first experience of yurting.

Guest from Wooburn Green stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 4 nights in April 2021


A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The yurts are ideal for a family. Our 3 kids loved the upstairs bedroom, and the wood burner made it lovely and cozy, despite the rain/thunder/hail/wind that was thrown at us! It was such a relaxing weekend, just what we all needed!

Rachel from Eastbourne stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in October 2020


A fantastically relaxing short break in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We came to stay with friends, each in our separate yurts and it was a really wonderful experience. We had never been before and the yurts took our breath away, we thought they'd been well thought through and every touch was very much appreciated. The bathroom was superb, bed comfortable and kitchen area well equipped. The hammock / firepit and general outdoor space and facilities were superb. We were blessed with the weather and enjoyed walks around the Garlic Farm (the sunflower field is a must in season) and playing tennis and also using the football area as an impromptu cricket pitch! We had breakfast at the GF too which was nice and walked to the pub in the local village (Newchurch). Highly recommend and would love to return.

Guest from Hordal stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in July 2020


Great family break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in the yurt was great fun. The kids loved sleeping upstairs, lighting campfires, and swinging in hammocks in the trees. And we loved the comfy beds, hot showers and excellent food in the cafe. Excellent stay all round despite the changeable weather.

Kate from Poole stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in August 2020


Expectations Exceeded in every way

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garlic Farm enjoys a superb location and the field of five yurts, which we took over for a short family holiday, lends itself extraordinarily well to such a purpose. The yurts were all very well equipped and beautifully maintained. In addition to our five yurts we had exclusive access to a communal dining/entertainment facility, complete with magnificent gas barbecue, large fridge-freezer and a fire pit around which the adults in our party would tend to congregate In the evening. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and all of us, from the young children to the elderly grandparents, found our high expectations were exceeded in every way.


Lucy from Beckenham stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 4 nights in August 2020


Fabulous five days

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a wonderful place The Garlic Farm is and the yurt was exactly what we needed after working non stop through Covid19. The yurt had everything we needed. It’s location was beautiful. The welcome hamper was tremendous.

Lucy from Winchester stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 4 nights in July 2020


Stay 11-13th October

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The whole stay from start to finish was comforting, relaxing and easy! I was unsure about what would be available in the yurt in terms of facilities, however the garlic farm had catered for all glamping needs! From a huge double bed, to a fully fitted and functioning bathroom to a quaint kitchen with extensive cooking facilities.
Colin, the farm owner who lives on site could not do enough for us. He even picked us up from the car park and took us and our luggage to our Yurt in the farm buggy, which only added to the experience!
The only downside to stay in the Yurt was that there was no WiFi. However it encouraged us to put our devices down for the weekend and we didn't really miss them.
My favorite part of the stay was sitting round the log burner in the evenings with a glass of wine and a blanket and engaging in conversation- a true escape from modern life!


Louise from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 2 nights in October 2019


Lovely!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful place for couples and families. They have thought of everything to make them comfortable and fun. All staff on site are extremely friendly and the location is a perfect point to explore the island from.

Emma from Bishops Stortford stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in July 2019


Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location and facilities (BBQ, fire pit, logs etc) for a group holiday. would highly recommend

Guest from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 5 nights in June 2019


Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. Very comfortable, but a bit chilly a couple of times as we didn't always get to grips with the log-burning stove! Everyone was very helpful, the cafe and shop well worth a visit as well as taking a walk round the farm. Hares were out and about just outside our yurt and red squirrels came to the squirrel feeder at the cafe. Lots to do on the island too. Wonderful!

Helen from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in May 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Helen for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Melanie

Fantastic experience

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant time here with our 4-year-old. The yurt was stunning and provided such a great family experience. Particular highlights were sitting outside watching the stars in the hammock and by the fire pit. The peace and quiet and lack of digital distractions all made for great quality family time. Wish we had booked for longer.

Rhiannon from Weymouth stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in April 2019


Yurt

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay, in nice wood lands.. great facilities.. done thing for all ages..
Helpful and friendly hosts...


Lydia from a stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in April 2019


A camper I am not

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am not a camper so staying in the yurt I thought would take me out of my comfort zone. I was very wrong it was great had everything I could need except microwave!

I booked it on a whim for me and my 4 children age range 11 to 18. The farm organised the ferry crossing and passed on their discount so all was set for us to travel.

Getting to the farm was easy although there are some quite tight lanes and I realised some poor drivers who are not great at reversing so be prepared to do a little yourself.

Our first impressions of the farm were of the cafe as we went in to have a cup of tea and it was very welcoming. Reasonably priced. From the restaurant window we could see peacocks walking around these little beauties were often our wake up alarm in the mornings.

I messaged Hugo from farm that we had arrived and we headed for the yurt. From the outside I thought how will we all fit in and not kill each other but as the door opened it was like a little tardis with so much fitted in.

My four children had very comfy mattresses on the mezzaine. All were ready made up and I had a large double on the ground floor.

The shower was nice and big and was warm but not boiling water full flushing loo so no nasty chemical toilet to deal with. There was a loo roll but take extra as its a long way to the nearest store if you run out at night!!

The kitchenette had what we needed. Not but storage space if you are planning to take lots of provisions I put a lot of ours in the fridge and under the small oven. I had paid extra for a breakfast welcome pack and veg pack. All the items in it were good quality and I brought what we didnt use home. Tea towels wash cloths and bin bags were provided.
There is a table with bench chairs so we could all eat together.
The woodburner was a good send as we stayed halloween week when the night temperatures were near zero with beautiful sunny days. Wood fire lighters and matches were all provided with a guide on how to build a fire if you like me have underfloor heating or radiators you might not know.
The side tables next ro my bed had board games in and my children played monopoly and charades and did not fight!

Outside were some benches a fire pit and a separate bbq with the yurt as well as a larger more communal space with lighting larger bbq and seating about 100m away.

Just past that the tennis courts are available to use with racquets and balls in the games room.

The games room had wifi a Wii, table football, pool table and table tennis table. It was about 180 m from our yurt so not far at all.

Overall we had a great time we were able to travel easily around ths island went fossil hunting on the beaches, celebrated Diwali at Robin Hill, shopping at Ryde, adopted a donkey at the donkey sanctury and rode the cablecar at the needles and many more things and we were only there for 3 nights 4 days.

Definitely would recommend to campers and non campers.


Emily from Wsm stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in October 2018


Fabulous!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay! They have thought of everything!!!

We had 2 yurts, with 5 children, there was so much for them all to do!!

Highly recommend the garlic farm for a family stay!!!


Matthew from Wokingham stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely late October stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blessed with wonderful late October weather, and had a great time in our yurt.
The owners were really helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.
The kids loved the having the mezzanine level to themselves, it was exciting for them. Having use of the shared facilities (gas BBQ, fire pit and dining table) as well as the yurt's own was a bonus. The yurt was really comfortable and we were toasty with the log burner on and warm bedding which was provided. All fuel was also provided. We all loved the hammock!
All the other yurts were occupied but they are a good distance apart and it almost felt like we had the whole field to ourselves.
The venue would be a great place to get a load of friends of family together and hire all the yurts.
Our daughter loved the horses, peacocks and chickens, and both kids enjoyed playing in the play ground area. We didn't have time for tennis or football but other families were making use of these facilities and the games room.
We'd most certainly come back!


Graham from Romsey stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 2 nights in October 2018


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the yurt and made use of the facilities! We hope to see you again soon. Melanie

Booked already for next year

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it so much that we’ve already booked again for next year! Good location, the Farm itself is lovely (as were the breakfasts.)
No complaints other than it being a bit pricey.


Sarah from Cheam stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in August 2018


A fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of five and had a fabulous stay in the yurt at the Garlic Farm. The yurts are amazing! Hot running water, a fab wood burner to keep us warm and a fridge and stove. The double bed was so comfortable! The children loved the freedom of being able to run around the garlic farm and it was safe for them to play anywhere.
A well stocked games room kept them very entertained.
Will definitely be going back!


Guest from Warwick stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in August 2018


August stay at Upper Yurt

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at The Garlic Farm. Beautiful surroundings, fantastic facilities and first class accommodation. The football pitch, games room and tennis court were very popular with my kids. We will definitely be returning.

Caroline from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 7 nights in July 2018


Another amazing break at the garlic farm!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second year at the garlic farm yurts. Utterly fantastic place. Food fantastic and the whole place is absolutely perfect. Didn’t want to come home and for super keen tennis players like our family this is our happy place.

Sarah from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in August 2018


Fabulous luxury yurt holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place, The Garlic Farm. The yurt was gorgeous. Super spot. Our 7 and 4 year olds loved it just as much as we did. They were so excited to be sleeping up in the mezzanine level. And our bed was super comfortable. Lovely evenings roasting marshmallows on the fire pit outside. It was so cosy inside though and can imagine sitting by the log burner on cooler evenings. Very helpful visitor information and recommendations. Fun magic show with dinner in the cafe one evening. Great tractor ride round the farm. Would highly recommend. The yurt and garlic farm really made our holiday. Thank you.

Victoria from Brockenhurst stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 4 nights in July 2018


Fantastic location and accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The yurt was clean, comfortable and luxurious. It was hot while we were there, but the opening canopy kept it cool. Great facilities- everything has been thought of - outdoor seats, hammocks, BBQ, swing ball and wood store close by. Very peaceful location and handy to have breakfast at the garlic farm. The beds were comfy, the sleeping loft great fun (the 4 year old loved it!) and great to watch the stars. Five stars!

Guest from Stratford Upon Avon stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in July 2018


Our week at the Garlic Farm Yurts

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the yurts was amazing. We stayed for 3 wonderful nights. The meet and greet was exceptional. The yurts clean and comfortable and catered our every need to the smallest detail. We made good use of the communal BBQ followed by our hammocks..What more could you ask for! Wonderful strolls around the farm and shop. Fantastic, will definitely be booking to stay again. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable.

Laura from stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 3 nights in June 2018


something different

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
really rather good fun and a bit different. We weren't helped by the weather that was a bit windy to really enjoy sitting outside but would certainly consider coming back. Remarkably cozy with the little wood burner. Self contained and self sufficient.

Guest from Winchester stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 2 nights in June 2018


1st time in a yurt

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our time in the yurt, it was comfortable with a proper bed, kitchen, shower and we loved the log fires inside and outside the yurt. The wooden seats, picnic benches, BBQ and hammock outside was a nice touch. My children loved the indoor hammock. Lots of thought was put into making our stay as comfortable as possible, even a bottle of milk in the fridge on arrival and some free snacks from their farm shop on the table. We had a great time and hope to come back.

Guest from London stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 2 nights in April 2018


A peaceful haven for quality family time

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I, plus our teenage son stayed in this yurt for the second year running. There was something for all of us, whether we wanted to sit and read, play tennis, use the games room, browse the shops or sit in the cafe and walk through the beautiful grounds. Also, just a few miles away from many attractions on the island it's a great base for wider exploring. The Garlic Farm has a lovely family feel about it, and there's something about 'glamping' that gives it an authentic, yet luxurious feel. From the cosy bed, hot running water, sheepskin rugs, cosy log burner and bohemian interior, it definitely falls into the 'hygge' category for a holiday that is good for happiness and well-being. Another highlight were the peacocks and chickens that freely roam the site, and are always up for a photo or two.
During a couple of rainy days, we stayed cosy in the yurt and played board games and cooked delicious bacon sandwiches under the grill. On sunnier days, we were able to sit outside and admire the fantastic views, have a BBQ, gather round the fire pit or relax in the hammock.
The staff were all really friendly and they made sure that we had everything that we needed, and there was a good supply of logs for the fires. We were welcomed upon arrival, and there was fresh milk in the fridge, flowers in the vase, and some goodies to taste. On our last day, we enjoyed a traditional Garlic Farm breakfast and then bought loads of goodies from the shop, which our family were very pleased to receive when we got back.
We all had a fabulous time, and our 13 year old son said that it was the best holiday that he had ever had!
Thank you to everyone for a lovely stay.


Victoria from Walsall stayed at Yurt Bonnie for 4 nights in April 2018