FB Twitter

Farmhouse Cottage

Farmhouse Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Part of Mersley farmhouse, the Farmhouse Cottage is a perfect space for couples. Located on the Garlic Farm with onsite restaurant and farm shop. Great location for exploring the Island on foot, bicycle or car.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful welcome and were pleasantly surprised how spacious the cottage was.Everything was provided and it was very comfortable.Any special requests were dealt with promptly.Slight criticism ,the private garden had no privacy but as this was part of the owners garden it wasn't a big problem.We ate at the restaurant for breakfast which was very good and the staff very helpful.The shop was good,again with helpful and friendly staff.
In summary,we had a lovely stay in beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful people.We are already planning to return!


Robin from Melbourne,derby stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in September 2020


Stay at Farmhouse Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, comfortable cottage. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. We had a really lovely stay.

Guest from Orpington stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Lovely short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth year staying at the Garlic Farm and we weren't disappointed.
Lovely cottage coupled with the gorgeous surroundings of the farm.
We loved our 4 night stay and will definitely be back.


Alan from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Lovely Location, Lovely Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farm itself was in a great location to explore the Island, also they had a fantastic Farm shop & great food in their Restaurant.
The Farm Cottage was comfortable with all mod-cons , though quite a few spiders, which I had to get my husband to remove - some cupboards needed to be dusted.

One only issue was that its connected directly to the main Farm House - so you could hear the hosts family in their living room from the kitchen - but you could close the kitchen door , also when they were walking upstairs - which was above the kitchen & sitting room.

The hosts were really friendly - always busy working but theres a lot to do around the farm, check their website & would recommend


Malgorzata from West Sussex stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Partners Birthday holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to The Isle Of Wight on numerous occasions and visited The Garlic Farm on every visit. Have often spoke about staying in their cottages, we are so glad that we chose to do so.
Excellent place , very comfortable accommadation, a great base for enjoying great Island. Would recommend it to everyone.


David from Hitcham stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Garlic farm is always very good

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very short 2 night stay at the garlic farm,. second time we have visited. The farm is lovely, very friendly and relaxing place to be. The island is perfect for relaxing, walking and visiting interesting places. Accommodation is excellent, well equipped and extremely clean and comfortable. I have recommended this to other members of the family and they visit and stay from time to time and will continue to do so. We expect to be back again for a couple of nights in the autumn and our granddaughters who are very young loved it when we brought them last time.

Julia from Hampton stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 2 nights in March 2020


Thoroughly enjoyable

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly enjoyable short break, despite the stormy weather. Thank you for looking after us so well :)

Phil from Watchfield, Swindon stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in February 2020


Hen Do

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a perfect little place to stay, along with one of the other cottages.
Great bathroom and a very comfy bed. And a great view to wake up to.


Charlotte from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 2 nights in February 2020


A perfect winter weekend away.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely time in a beautiful cozy cottage in perfect Winter weather. The cottage was spotless with a log fire already made up. The breakfast was delicious and all staff were very frienfly. A home from home in a stunning location. Perfect. We shall return.

Barry from Bolney stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 2 nights in January 2020


A lovely short stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a wonderful stay. The cottage was clean and comfortable. Great for our little one with travel cot and highchair included. Great customer service, very friendly. Thanks again.

James from Brindle stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 2 nights in October 2019


Beautiful little cottage perfect for our needs.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with plenty of character. On site with the garlic shop, lovely restaurant (where we ate a delicious breakfast) and the garlic farm experience which had a excellent activities going on for our two small children. Games room was an added bonus, as was the outside play area for kids.
Great hosts with excellent communication when needed. Lovely touch was the fresh milk in the fridge, a bulb or garlic and some pickle from their shop. Will definitely be returning and would love to try out the yurts next time.


Samantha from Shoeburyness stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in October 2019


Farmhouse Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at The Garlic Farm. The Cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Great food available in the restaurant and lovely garlicky gifts for sale in the shop. Beautiful surroundings - can't wait to stay again

Margaret from Telscombe Cliffs stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


short break

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
the cottage had 2 rooms of the farmhouse over the kitchen and lounge of the cottage that was a bit noisey and not explained properly in the discription and had slight damp in hall way and cupboard and kictchen door was into farmhouse

Helen from Salisbury stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Whirlwind tour of IoW

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cosy comfortable cottage ideally located for all parts of the island. Well equipped kitchen, large bathroom plus a cosy living room and good sized bedroom.
Slightly noisy early evening as only a partition wall between cottage kitchen and farmhouse next door. Noisy overhead in living room too but once children went to bed it was all quiet again.
Cottage has a number of small steps going from room to room making it challenging for less able guests.
Nothing is very far from the Garlic Farm. Ideal location to explore the island.
There is a tasting room at the farm-allows ‘try before you buy’ option. Great idea! 10% off for guests too.


Guest from Cheam, Sutton stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in September 2019


Amazing place to relax in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you could ever want and more! We loved all the little touches, especially the pre-built fire in the log burner, ready to go! We could have spent many more nights here and felt right at home. Can't recommend enough :)

Margaret from Crawley Down stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in September 2019


Excellent Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garlic farm is a great experience, lovely cottages, clean, tidy and very friendly. With great Facilities including walking around the farm, animals and restaurant.

Gemma from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Great location. Would recommend.

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable stay at the garlic farm (farmhouse cottage). The location is great as a base to explore the island. The garlic farm shop and cafe are excellent - breakfast is a must. The cottage was very cosy and clean - the only thing we would say is that the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. A relative stayed in one of the new yurts which we would definitely consider next time we visit. Overall very impressed.

Hollie from Portishead stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in September 2019


Lovely short break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a short but comfortable stay at our cottage. A base from which to visit friends. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the tranquility of the area and weren’t disturbed by the visitors to the cafe and shop etc at all.

I should have paid attention to the confirmation email and logged in to the website for guests to find the actual cottage. A rather fruitless search from the main car park finally ended up with me logging in and getting a location map, which in itself could have been easier to interpret. A few signs for guest would be helpful.

Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Would stay there again.


Amanda from Bromley stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in August 2019


A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at the Garlic Farm. Beautiful location, lovely cottage and everyone was friendly and welcoming. I think that the cottage itself needs a little updating as there were quite a few marks and scuffs on some surfaces in the bathroom and in the bedroom. Although we were aware that the cottage itself was attached to the main farm house, we were able to hear quite a lot of activity from next door. So it might be worth making people more aware of this. Thank you again for a very enjoyable stay. We will be back!

Guest from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in August 2019


August garlic festival holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage again in fact the whole farm and location.
We are thinking of booking a spring 2020 visit.


Geoff from Skegness stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Good break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great location, comfortable cottage.
Very good the peaceful four days spent there.
We love the black garlic and other products. We purchased some to take back .


Rocco from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in July 2019


Perfect Bolthole

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage, well-equipped with with all one needed for a weekend stay. Excellent range of food and activities provided on site.

Guest from Reigae stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


Fantastic Cottage Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to a very warm welcome and had extremely pleasant interactions with all staff members for our entire stay (Millie was fantastic with the guinea pigs!). Our cottage had plenty of room and everything we needed for our stay (Netflix and the wood burning stove were our favourites). The farm itself was very well laid out, tidy and had everything we could have wanted and more (the games room was a nice touch). We also had the delight of waking up to peacocks every morning which was rather interesting. There were a couple of negatives but nothing major: our shower basin didn’t drain properly so we had a kind of dual bath/shower situation happening and the next door neighbours dog was making quite a racket at times (don’t hold it against him whatsoever). Overall, we had a brilliant stay and will be recommending the garlic farm to our family and friends. Look forward to staying here again in the future!

Harry from Waterlooville stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate our guests feedback and will act asap on the shower drainage issue. We are glad you enjoyed the farm and its surroundings and look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Melanie

Valentines weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really sweet get-away, my husband and I had a lovely weekend. Colin was on hand to ensure all was well, he fetched us some towels and spoke to the restaurant about including a pot of tea with our breakfast.
The location is beautiful and the food exceptional. The farmhouse is well equipped and comfortable. Even the weather was amazing to enjoy the island.


Julie from aa stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 2 nights in February 2019


Lovely winter weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my husbands birthday and it was a perfect location to explore different parts of the Isle of Wight. The cottage was very cosy and had everything we needed to cook in etc. The wood burner was really good with the cold weather! We had breakfast in the restaurant which was just incredible! A really lovely break away with everything we needed :)

Lisa from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in February 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Lisa for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and what the Isle of Wight has to offer, we hope to see you again soon :) All the best, Melanie

Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our first time at The Garlic Farm and we was very impressed. Looking to book again next year

Anthony from a stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Good comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage in lovely countryside We had a very pleasant three day stay visiting local sites.

Robert from Great Missenden stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Farmhouse cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage with all requirements in a superb quiet location. Even if you are not a garlic lover this is worth considering for a stay. A wide range of stock in the shop and a separate area for tasting all sauces, garlic varieties etc. Good friendly restaurant, the garlic breakfasts are not overwhelming but very tasty. Overall you won’t be disappointed.

Ronald from a stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ron for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Melanie

Perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing few days away staying at The Garlic Farm. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and our cottage was pretty and perfect for our stay. Having the restaurant there was great and our garlic breakfast we had on our last morning was amazing. Will definitely be back... hopefully with our family next time.

Sharon from Chatham stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sharon for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Melanie

The garlic expedition

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed it and will return in the near future to savior more garlic delights and local drinks

Geoff from Skegness stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in August 2018


Hugo replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had such a good time and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again some time. Hugo

Gorgeous Farmhouse Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farmhouse Cottage at The Garlic Farm in Newchurch was truly like a little piece of Heaven. A restful, peaceful and beautiful set up right in the heart of the countryside and 15min drive to Shanklin or Ryde. The whole team who work there are exceptionally friendly and helpful and we really loved the whole set up, from the peacocks strolling around to the Garlic Farm walks where you can see Highland Cows. The restaurant serves very good food and delicious cake. We could spend hours in the tasting centre and shop, really loved this, plus you get a discount there if you’re staying at the Garlic Farm .The Farmhouse Cottage was lovely and cosy but still spacious. Would highly recommend this place. You will need a car to stay here, as it’s a little bit off the beaten track. Thank you for such a wonderful holiday experience. Maria and Wilf

Maria from London stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 4 nights in July 2018


Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have reluctantly returned home after a fantastic week staying at the Garlic Farm. Farmhouse Cottage is set in a truly beautiful location, the perfect spot for a relaxing break. The cottage itself was clean, spacious and well equipped with everything you need. Many thanks to Hugo, Colin & family for their kind hospitality, we look forward to seeing you next year.

Sharon from Whiterock Place Southwick stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barn Cottage which was perfect. Just one comment, it would be great if the shop sold milk. Fabulous Christmas meal & also breakfast in the restaurant. Thanks for being so helpful & accomodating.

Jessica from stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 1 nights in December 2017


Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay, the owners were very welcoming, and the food in the Garlic Farm Restaurant was good and the staff were flexible with regard to the menu.

Michael from Amersham stayed at Farmhouse Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017