FB Twitter

The Sandpiper

The Sandpiper

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Escape to a romantic getaway in The Sandpiper overlooking Beadnell Bay.

Inside you will find a cosy log burning stove to keep you snug and warm and there is a stunning glass ceiling above the bed which enables you to continue star-gazing long into the night.

The Sandpiper has the king size bed in the centre of the room and there is a cosy bunk bed room just off the main room for the smaller ones to stay. There is a fitted kitchen with gas hob, oven and grill, stove top kettle and all the utensils and pans you need to cater for yourselves during your stay.
Underneath the hut there is a small electric fridge. The ensuite bathroom has a flushing toilet, walk in shower and heated towel radiator.

The Sandpiper is situated in it’s own private garden overlooking the fields towards the sea and after a long day exploring all the wonderful places which Northumberland has to offer. You can enjoy a glass of wine and cook on the wood burning Fire pit/pizza oven whilst waiting for you’re the hot tub to reach optimum temperature for you to relax in and enjoy the views and dark skies. Outside there is also a cycle hut for bike storage and a large map of all the cycle routes

Situated on the outskirts of Beadnell village, The Sandpiper is approximately 15 minutes walk through the village to the gorgeous sandy beaches of Beadnell Bay. In the village there are two family and dog friendly pubs and a beautiful café.
All linen and towels are provided for your stay so all you have to do is switch off and enjoy. The Sandpiper sleeps 4 and is dog friendly
The Sandpiper is based on Cast iron wheels and is clad internally and externally with reclaimed timber from a local hotel and a warehouse in Newcastle, insulated with sheep’s wool, features hand crafted oak units and fittings, a king sized bed and en-suite shower.

Here you get back in touch with nature yet enjoy all the trappings of luxury accommodation.

Love this cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is amazing for large groups, we went with the whole family. Enough space for everyone, with great extras like the barbi hut, the garden hut and we especially loved the games room. The garden itself is huge and so peaceful.
The kitchen is very well equiped with a choice of dining areas big enough for 12 to sit together to eat. There is no need to even go out , a big plus at the moment! But if you do want to go out there are 3 eating places within a 10 minute walking distance. And it is in a grear location for lovely walks too, a short walk to Beadnall beach, or longer along the coast to Seahorses or even Bamburgh. Loved it and will definitely be returning. Thank you for creating this lovely cottage.




Great experience

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our couple of nights here. Instructions for the hut, hot tub and list of places to visit were provided prior to our stay, and the "contactless handover" was Covid compliant. Bed was really comfortable, shower was hot and everything spotlessly clean. Has a sea view, Beadnell bay is a 10 minute walk away, lots of places to visit nearby and a plenty of pubs / restaurants to visit if you don't wish to cook. Enclosed garden, so we could let our dog play safely. And he absolutely loved the dog treats the owners provided for him - human treats were provided too. Will definitely visit again.



Sam Smith replied 23 days ago
HI Tim Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that you had a great time and found the information useful and managed to get use out of the hot tub. We are pleased that your dog loved the treats and you enjoyed yours. Thank you also for leaving the hut so clean and tidy when you left Hope you visit again soon

2 nights stay August 2020 for our 30th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic break at the Sandpiper and thought the Shepherds Hut was beautiful and loved the fact it was constructed from recycled wood and had a history. The bed was so comfortable and the shower was fantastic, plus loved the hot tub and generally the property was very well equipped and spotless. Thanks for a great stay and would like to return at some point to a beautiful area where we have spent so many previous happy family holidays and would definitely re book the Sandpiper.



Samantha Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Sally, thank you so much for your fabulous review we really appreciate your kind words and so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at The Sandpiper

Weekend stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and we absolutely loved it. We’ve stayed now in the winter and summer and have loved every minute. The huts are immaculate and well catered for. The hot tubs and views are a real treat.
Thanks so much




Fabulous 2 night getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just loved our 2 night stay. From the information provided before we arrived, to the stay and extra treats supplied in the hut. The hot tub was amazing and the smell of the wood as you go into the cabin was fantastic.
Just a 10 minute walk into Beadnell too. We can't wait to come back in the winter and make use of the log burner in the hut.




Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is compact and well planned. Light and airy making you feel to be part of the countryside especiallly with the glass roof above the bed!
A lot of thought and care has gone into the layout and there is everything you need for a short stay.
Only downside is it needs a larger mirror and a fridge inside!




Sam Smith replied 68 days ago
Hi Carole, Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper. The hut is compact and to allow space for the crockery etc we had to have the fridge outside. Will have a look at adding a larger mirror - thank you for your feedback x

Weekend away for our 20th wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The shepherds hut was amazing, beautifully decorated and had everything we could possibly need. The glass roof is brilliant and the bed was super comfy. The hot tub was great fun and perfect for easing our aching legs after walking miles along the beautiful coast line. Couldn’t have had a better weekend anywhere else.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 20th Anniversary celebrations at the Sandpiper. Hope you visit again soon

Dog friendly getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely one night getaway with our dogs in the Sandpiper. It was great to have a night away with the beach right on our door step and so much more to explore nearby. The hut it self was warm and cosy and we really made the most of the hot tub after our long walk. We will be returning.



Sam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Nicola Thanks for your great review and hope to see you again soon Sam

A brilliant place to stay in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was fabulous. Loads of wildlife, beautiful views and very relaxing. Really enjoyed the hot tub, the glass ceiling and watching the swallows. Perfect!



Relaxing, superb dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a superb accommodation well thought out with everything you need. Very comfortable and some beautiful scenic views. Total relaxation and excellent value. All our worries drifted away. Dog friendly too. We will definitely be back soon. Thank you shepherds retreat (The Sandpiper).



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thanks for your great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper and we do hope you visit again soon

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a wonderfull relaxing stay. The hot tub was fab and the beds were so comfy. We toasted marshmallows on the fire at night then lay and looked at the stars through the glass roof. Will certainly be booking uo again.



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you had a wonderful relaxing stay, thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay