FB Twitter

The Sandpiper

The Sandpiper

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 108 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Escape to a romantic getaway in The Sandpiper overlooking Beadnell Bay.

Inside you will find a cosy log burning stove to keep you snug and warm and there is a stunning glass ceiling above the bed which enables you to continue star-gazing long into the night.

The Sandpiper has the king size bed in the centre of the room and there is a cosy bunk bed room just off the main room for the smaller ones to stay. There is a fitted kitchen with gas hob, oven and grill, stove top kettle and all the utensils and pans you need to cater for yourselves during your stay.
Underneath the hut there is a small electric fridge. The ensuite bathroom has a flushing toilet, walk in shower and heated towel radiator.

The Sandpiper is situated in it’s own private garden overlooking the fields towards the sea and after a long day exploring all the wonderful places which Northumberland has to offer. You can enjoy a glass of wine and cook on the wood burning Fire pit/pizza oven whilst waiting for you’re the hot tub to reach optimum temperature for you to relax in and enjoy the views and dark skies. Outside there is also a cycle hut for bike storage and a large map of all the cycle routes

Situated on the outskirts of Beadnell village, The Sandpiper is approximately 15 minutes walk through the village to the gorgeous sandy beaches of Beadnell Bay. In the village there are two family and dog friendly pubs and a beautiful café.
All linen and towels are provided for your stay so all you have to do is switch off and enjoy. The Sandpiper sleeps 4 and is dog friendly
The Sandpiper is based on Cast iron wheels and is clad internally and externally with reclaimed timber from a local hotel and a warehouse in Newcastle, insulated with sheep’s wool, features hand crafted oak units and fittings, a king sized bed and en-suite shower.

Here you get back in touch with nature yet enjoy all the trappings of luxury accommodation.

A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place to stay with all the amenities you need. Ideal for the dog as he is safe and secure. We stayed last year and again it didn’t disappoint.



Highly recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful views, attentions to detail, lovely hot tub. Host very helpful. Wonderful local walks, really lovely stay



Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a two night stay in the Sandpiper. It was perfect. Could not fault one thing. The attention to detail was outstanding. Everything you needed to make a perfect break away.



10/10 an amazing staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have nothing bad to say about the sandpiper. Prior to arriving the customer service was brilliant from Sam. She went above and beyond to make sure the hit was practical for our needs.
The bed is super comfy and the indoor wood burning fire heats the place up. It’s so cosy. So relaxing. We will be back.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed twice, once in 2020 and again with our daughter in 2024. Great location and facilities! Highly recommend.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant weekend staying at the Sandpiper- really well equipped and cosy. Hot tub was a great hit too! Excellent customer service- my son left his Apple Pencil and they were brilliant finding it and sending it back. I would highly recommend.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Dec 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely pre Christmas get away and could not fault the place. Very cosy, warm and comfortable with everything you need.
Hot tub was great and easy to heat. The shower was just gorgeous and the view from the glass roof was amazing. We woke up in the night looking directly at the Plough. ⭐️
Excellent customer service and lots of useful information provided prior to our stay.
Would highly recommend this little hidden gem and can’t wait to go back.




Samantha Smith replied 167 days ago
Hi Julia, thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Pre-Christmas get away and enjoyed watching the stars through the glass roof. Hope you visit again soon Thanks sam

Great location, fantastic communication and superb value

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here a Friday/Saturday in December 2023. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proximity to Beadnell centre and surrounding towns such as Craster and Seahouses make it an ideal location/base for exploring the Northumberland coastline. We stayed in the Sandpiper lodge. It was kitted out with all the essential amenities and very clean on our arrival. The 2pm Check-in is a rarity these days and very much appreciated. The views of the countryside and Northumberland coast including Dunstanburgh Castle were fantastic. The hot tub and log burner were very easy to use with instructions available on the dedicated app for everything you could require for your stay. I hope this approach is adopted by all lodges/accommodation/hotels etc. in the future. The stargazing roof was a great experience to sleep under the stay with the lodge supplying binoculars and star gazing books. The only thing to mention is the proximity to the road which is approximately 50m from the lodge but didn't affect our stay as it isn't a busy road.



Amazing stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a a fantastic stay at The Sandpiper! The host provided a really useful brochure detailing the accommodation and surrounding area before we arrived. This contained all the information we needed for our stay.

The accommodation itself was really well planned out and felt spacious despite its size. It was also really well equipped. The stargazing roof was amazing and we were so lucky to have clear skies while we were there.

One thing to note is that the accommodation is just off a main road. This was no issue to us as at this time of the year we didn’t use the outdoor space much, apart from the hot tub on an evening. Also, the views across towards Beadnell were amazing so more than made up for any traffic noise.




The Sandpiper is a is an amazing stay for a weekend away.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During mine and my boyfriends stay we had an excellent time. The location is beautiful with amazing views and so much to do in the surrounding areas. The hot tub is so relaxing so if planning your visit I would recommend using it. We are definitely thinking of staying again and recommended it to many family and friends.



Very relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to have perfect weather for our stargazing. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was great with lovely hot water. We were lovely and warm once we had the log burner going. We loved the fire pit outside, which we lit each night and sat and watched the stars. It was all very relaxing.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from a brilliant break away to the North East. The accommodation was pure luxury with some thoughtful and lovely additions.
The location was fantastic.




Perfect place for total relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sandpiper. The bed is so comfortable we had the best night's sleep, under the stars, thanks to the glass ceiling. Lovely hot shower and cosy log burner, not to mention the wood fired hot tub to ease the musclesafter long walks on Beadnell Beach.
Lots of local places to eat and drink.
The perfect place for total relaxation.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location. The Retreat is and warm. Nearby Beadnall, Seahouses and Bamburgh have fantastic beaches.



A wonderful few days

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandpiper was spotless, comfortable and very cosy. I thoroughly enjoyed my three days there. It’s a very easy 1km walk to Beadnall with several great places to eat and drink, gorgeous easy to access beach area and all very dog friendly.



Amazing stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here. The hut was the perfect place to get away and switch off and relax. We loved spending time outside enjoying the fire pit and hot tub, and the garden being fully enclosed was great for the dog. The bed was very comfy and we could lay in bed stargazing through the skylight. Thank you so much for the treats for us and Ruby, she loved the homemade dog biscuits! We’ll definitely be back and will be recommending you
Thank you!




Shepherd s delight

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely hut and lovely touches at this eco friendly van. Small private garden which is super for kids and dogs



Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Margaret, thank you for your lovely review Thank Sam

Second stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay and we brought the kids this time, we all loved it. Star gazing on the evening was amazing, bbq on the fire pit and a dip in the hot tub!



Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
HI Lyndsey Thank you for your great review and so pleased the kids enjoyed their stay with you, Hope you visit again soon Thanks Sam

Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandpiper is a little slice of heaven close to the beautiful beaches of the Northumberland coast. We loved every minute and our only grumble would be that the time whizzed by!



Sam replied 286 days ago
Hi Angela Thank you so much for your lovely review, you will have to come and stay for longer next time! Sam

Family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic little find..We stayed here for a week and totally enjoyed it. The shepherds hut is ideal and quite quirky. It has everything you need and more. The hot tub was really relaxing but we did spend quite a bit on wood keeping it going, but worth it.the location is good even though it's next to the busy road it's not really a problem. We walked to Beadnell beach which took about 20 mins, there is a path through the houses and then across the fields. The pizza hut at the beach is good and the Landing across is great too. The beaches I think are some of the nicest in the country and not too busy either. Lots of paddle boarding goes on down at Beadnell beach so if your into that it's ideal. Most places are dog friendly too so overall a fantastic place to stay with everything you need to have a great holiday. Highly recommended.



Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
HI, Rachel Fabulous review, thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper. We are very lucky with the beaches in Northumberland as they are never too busy and are dog friendly. Thank you for recommending us and see you next year Thanks Sam

Perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the Sandpiper. Great location to cycle to the beach. Idyllic views & especially loved waking up to see our woolly neighbours (sheep). Our children had lots of fun making pizzas in the fire pit & we loved returning to the hut after a busy day on the beach to the wood-fired hot tub.
Lots to do in the area. Enjoyed paddle boarding & sliding down the sand dunes.
Will hope to return in the not so distant future.




Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Geraldine Thank you for your great review, it sounds like you had a fabulous time, so pleased you enjoyed it. Hope you visit again soon Thank Sam

Excellent weekend in Beadnell

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent bolt hole for a relaxing and unique weekend. Spotlessly clean and full of nice little extras such as the prosecco, chocolate and hot tub. Thank you to Sam for being so accommodating by email, and for the sandpiper app which was full of useful information. Would highly recommend!



Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Rob, Thanks you for your kind words and for the recommendation for the Sandpiper, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the welcome gifts We hope you visit again soon Thanks sam

Fantastic stay, amazing location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the shepherds hut. The location was amazing and the hut was wonderful. Everything was thought of and we enjoyed our trip very much. We will definitely be returning. Thank you for a fantastic holiday



Sam replied 286 days ago
Thank you so much for your great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper and we look forward to welcoming you back another time Thanks Sam

Sandpiper stsy

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time staying at the Sandpiper. The accomodation was 5* and the facilities were excellent too. The hot pool was very easy to work and was very relaxing with a glass of wine after a busy day sight seeing around the area.
Location perfect to get to all of the local landmarks and sights.
Recommendation of Lewis’ for our fish and chips ( curry sauce and mushy peas) was well worth it.
Would love to come back next time we are in UK.
Apart from it raining on the first day, the sun came out for us and it was glorious.




Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Alison, it was great to see you when you arrived and thank you so much for a great and informative review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay Thanks Sam

Great little break.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Sandpiper. The hut was great and had everything you could possibly need. The hot tub was wonderful and was brilliant for relaxing with a drink enjoying the view. It also has a very good sized secure garden which our dog and young child loved.
It's located in a beautiful area with plenty to see and do!
We did have a problem with the glass roof leaking over the bed one night due to some very heavy rain which wasn't ideal however we didn't let it dampen our spirits and the owners were very helpful and quick to try and sort it.
Overall it was a relaxing little break away from reality.




Sam Smith replied 357 days ago
Hi Kim, thank you so much for your wonderful review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper. Thank you for your understanding about the leak and we have hopefully sorted it now.

Fantastic time away

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a brilliant weekend, we enjoyed every minute! The wood fired hot tub was a hit with parents and children, as were the home made pizzas! We enjoyed breakfast in Beadnell after a short walk into the village and had a great time on the beach.



Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Alex, You're welcome! so pleased you had a fabulous weekend and enjoyed the hot tub and home made pizzas. Hope you visit again soon Thanks Sam

Amazing place

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous weekend away, we wish we could have stayed for longer! Comfy bed, powerful shower, wine and chocolate upon arrival. Added bonus of being provided with free wood to start off the hot tub and binoculars for star gazing/wildlife watching. Loved relaxing in the hot tub on an evening then watching the stars laid in bed. Couldn't have asked for a better place. The local area is gorgeous too, recommend Seahouses, Farne Islands and Craster/Dunstanburgh Castle. Can't wait to come back in the winter months to use the wood fire inside and see the stars better.



Sam replied 286 days ago
HI Sophie, thank you for your amazing reveiw. We are so pleased you loved everything about your stay. The winter months are a great time to visit the dark skies of Northumberland and hopefully you might get to see the Northern lights Thanks Sam

Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely first class accommodation incredibly comfortable, extremely comfortable bed. All the kitchen utensils you could ever need.
Dog friendly too even go the extra mile to leave treats for your pooches
Hot tub is a great feature and a great way to chill
Communication with Sam was first class
Very close to the village of Beadnell and it’s glorious beach. 2 mile from
Seahouses, 5 Mike from Bamburgh a beautiful walk along the beach
WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND




Sam Smith replied 286 days ago
Hi Sylvia, thank you for your fabulous review and we are so happy that everyone enjoyed their welcome treats, including the pooch. Thank you for recommending us as we really appreciate that Sam

A great peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All amenities needed for your stay. Comfortable and cosy. Great information sent beforehand about the premises and location. Would highly recommend.



Sam replied 286 days ago
Hi Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it Thanks Sam

Another fantastic stay at Sandpiper

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in sandpiper and it was just as good this year as last - love spending evenings sitting in the wood fired hot tub underneath the stars - the hut itself is small but perfectly formed with a great little shower room and a wood burner in the corner - we put the table down for more room or just lounged on the huge bed watching the raindrops on the glass roof. It’s definitely quirky but we love it



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your review so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay at The Sandpiper and enjoyed the hot tub Thanks Sam

Ideal

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent little place so close to Beadnell & the coastline. Ideal for two adults & dogs that enjoy beach walks. Would definitely stay again



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can I just say what a lovely little getaway. We had perfect clear skies and from the hot tub could see every constellation in the sky. First time staying in a shepherds hut and let’s just say the bar was set very high! Thanks for a lovely stay.



Wow

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is just WOW, everything you need in this beautifully done hut, bed is comfy and the stars above you are amazing to lie and watch whilst enjoying the heat from the log burner. The hot tub was so nice, lovely and warm for hours on end, didn't want to get out, could have sat and looked at the view forever. Can't wait to come back. Thankyou Samantha and Steve *****



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Clare, Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper. Hope its not too long before you come and stay again Thanks from Sam and Steve

Lovely trip at The Sandpiper

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just returned from a lovely, peaceful stay at the Sandpiper. Everything you could possibly need was provided, the bed was comfortable and the hot tub was amazing (stayed warm for hours). Thoroughly enjoyed our stay :)



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hut and enjoyed the hot tub, hope you come and visit again soon Thanks Sam

Second time we have stayed

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have stayed and will be booking again. The owner Sam could not be more helpful. Great place and Great area.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your kind words and so happy you enjoyed your second stay Thanks Sam

The most amazing stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with a beautiful view. The Sandpiper is in the perfect location with the shops just being a a 5 minute drive away. You’re made to feel welcome as soon as you walk through the doors and it’s the most cosiest environment throughout. Me and my partner had the most amazing two days there and would go back in a heartbeat.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Luke, thank you for you wonderful review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper Hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Relaxing Twixmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, cosy shepherds hut, finished to a high standard. The large bed was so comfortable and the shower super, the log burner kept it really warm.
Everything you could need was provided with even a few treats for ourselves and our dog Alfie - thank you.
The glass roof was the cherry on the top, laid in bed stargazing with a glass of fizz was just idyllic.
Beadnell is a 10-15 minute walk away with two pubs, a cafe and shop.
You can walk for miles on the beach and our dog loved it.
I would highly recommend staying here to experience something wonderful and unique.





Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your twixmas break at The Sandpiper and experience everything the hut and Beadnell have to offer Come and stay again sometime thanks Sam

A fantastic break away from city living

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandpiper Shepard’s retreat is packed with personality and everything you need to spend some time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

A king sized bed with a skylight. The shower and bathroom facilities are top notch. Legitimately surprised buy the water pressure and heat of the water in the shower. An excellent way to start the day.

The wood fired hot tub was a great way to relax under the stars in this dark skies area. Thoroughly enjoyed it even in the winter months where you feel the benefit even more.

The village of Beadnell is a 15 minute walk down the road and have a picturesque coastline and a lovely local pub, The Craster Arms.

All in all. It was lovely to slow things down and relax in front of the wood burning stove (or the hot tub) on the chilly winter evenings while sharing a bottle of wine with my wife and either playing some board games or stargazing in the night skies area

10/10 would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing break




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Wow! thank you for your amazing review about the Sandpiper. I am so pleased that you had a fabulous stay. I hope you come and visit again Thanks Sam

Lovely winter trip away

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t fault the hut - everything you need for a toasty weekend away in November !
Lovely little touches - chocolate and Prosecco, long fire heats up quickly making you feel happy and warm. Hot tub took a while to heat up but no complaints as it was mid November when we visited and it decided to rain and winds were strong !
Excellent location - just up the road from beadnell village where there are dog friendly pubs , beach is beautiful. My first time glamping - wasn’t sure what to expect but it was wonderful-shower hot and runs well. Cooking facilities spot on , overall it was great! Will defo book again - but perhaps in the warmer months for some sunshine
Thank you to Samantha our host !




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anna, thank you for your amazing review! I have loved reading about your stay in the Sandpiper and how much you enjoyed your break despite the rain and winds! I definitely agree with you that the indoor fire is lovely and cosy and keeps you warm. The tub does take a little while longer to heat up in the winter months so you will have to come and visit again in the summer Thanks Sam

Brilliant, will be back!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved Sandpiper and can't wait to return. So comfy and well thought out. Generous arrival gifts very appreciated and the perfect location to explore Northumberland.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Katie, thank you for your great review for the Sandpiper. Hope you come and stay another time soon thanks Sam

Perfect honeymoon

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband both enjoyed our stay at the Sandpiper .
The bed was super comfy.
All the other amenities were fine ...
If you want a quite holiday with fantastic views and beaches near by, then this is for you.
I would highly recommend you give this retreat a try.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Congratulations first of all Maxine to you and your new hubby. So pleased that you had a lovely time at the Sandpiper for your honeymoon. Thank you also for your recommendation Sam x

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Hut which had everything you could think of! The hotub and pizza oven were a favourite. We will definitely be back.



Very impressed

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay highly recommend

Very clean inside and out it has everything you need to enjoy the time away
Very relaxing and also really good if you have a dog




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Craig, thank you for your review and so pleased that you and your four legged friend enjoyed your stay Sam

Fabulous

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed in the Sandpiper 4 years in a row now and it’s always a pleasure! The only thing I would suggest is for the hot tub to have some sort of portable covering so if it’s raining, it’s doesn’t put a ‘dampener’ on the experience!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Emma, thanks for your review and feedback, so pleased that you enjoy coming back to stay with us. We haven't put a canopy over as we don't want to spoil the view of the stars. Not a bad idea to have a portable one though so we might have to have a look into that, thanks Sam

Stunning luxury hut

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of two adults and two kids had a fabulous stay in the Sandpiper the weather on the Friday was vile, very wet and windy so we lit a fire with the wood provided and settled down for the evening. The hut has absolutely everything you could need, it's pure luxury. The weather was fine the next day so we made the most of the amazing hot tub and pizza oven, well worth the effort for both. The views were stunning and the location is great for getting around if you want to. We didn't manage to see any stars due to the weather but that's just a perfect excuse to go back! We all highly recommend this wonder shepards hut!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you had a great time despite the weather. You will definitely have to come back and see the stars Thanks Sam

Another Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second trip to the Sandpiper. So relaxing, loved the hot tub and gazing at the stars. Lovely welcome treats for us and the dog! Very comfortable stay.

Thank you again and we hope to return soon!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your 5 star review, it makes us so happy when we know guests have had a lovely time. See you next time Thanks sam

Prefect little family break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Title says it all 2 adults,2 kids & 1 dog had a prefect mini break will definitely book again. Couldn't answer the 1- 5 ratings on my phone but 5 in all categories.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed your family break, hope you come and stay again soon Sam

A beautiful base in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a perfect retreat for a couple of days of pure indulgence and being spoilt. We loved everything on offer and used the hot tub and wood fired pizza oven to their fullness. Unfortunately we were unable to get the most out of the ceiling skylight as we had 2 very cloudy evenings, but is was still very special to be able to look straight up into the sky while lying on the extremely luxurious bed. The only reason we gave 4 instead of 5 for customer service was because there was references made to doggy treats and dog friendly walks from the hut, neither of which were provided. I appreciate this may be due to new COVID restrictions, but in that case maybe the suggestion of them should be removed from the guide book as it was a bit disappointing not to receive them when we were expecting them. We imagine there is a way to walk to the coast over the fields, again as referred to in the guidebook, but this wasn't marked on our OS map and without a map provided to explain where this route was, we didn't dare set off across the potentially private fields, and so made our way into Beadnell along the road. This is our ONLY gripe, and we really did have a most amazing stay and would love to be able to return in the not too distant future.



Happy days!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful two days retreat. Great location. Beautiful rural scenery. Great weather definitely helped. Lots of small coastal villages to visit which were steeped in history. Couldn't believe we actually used the hot tub but so glad we did. Happy days!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Wendy Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the weather was good for you See you next time Sam

Fantastic few days away

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to Northumberland a couple of times a year and have started in various places but this was definitely the best. We are a single mum and 2 kids and it was perfect for us. Close to all the action of Beadnell and Seahouses but in a rural setting. We loved the hot tub and the star gazing through the glass roof over the bed, the kitchen had everything we needed and the shower was great. Would definitely recommend to small families or couples.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Holly Thank you so much for your great review. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed using the hot tub. Thank you also for recommending us and hope you visit again soon thanks Sam

A blissful escape

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful off the grid escape surrounded by breathtaking views, as far as you can see.
This little hut provides every home comfort you need to swirch off, without mod cons and excesses. It's situated well in northumberland between many popular villages and costal hot spots with plenty of places to visit and activities to enjoy, if you want to. If not you can just enjoy the peace and loose all sense of time.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Thank you for your fabulous review of the Sandpiper. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and managed to relax and enjoy the peace. Hope you visit again soon Thanks Sam

A perfect 24hr break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for one night as 2 adults, one toddler, one infant and a dog!

We found the hut as per the directions and discovered a little slice of happiness in an ideal location!

The hut was incredibly clean, with all the linen, towels and toiletries you’d need for a short break. The hut is in its own walled garden so perfect for dogs and children. The hot tub was amazing (once we mastered the art of the fire!) and we used the BBQ for tea. Alfresco dining for tea and breakfast was wonderful.

We’ll definitely be back- thank you!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased you enjoyed the hut, hot tub and BBQ and hope that you will come and visit again soon thanks Sam

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the cabin. It was our third visit so we knew how nice it is. The owners couldn’t have been more helpful and we’d love to stay again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate Thanks again for your wonderful review, so pleased that you love visiting the Sandpiper and hope you come back soon Thanks Sam

Fantastic shepherds huts, lovely hot tub, amazing views, everything we needed, very comfy beds.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was lovely, very high standard, highly recommend the huts. Roadside location though very set back and walled/gated off but a little road noise though it didn't bother us. Great location for Beadnell, seehouses, Bamburgh and Alnwick. Fantastic views. We loved it! Will be back!



Three night stay in Sandpiper , taking in Bambrogh Castle and Holy Island ,

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time here, everything was provided, the bed although a bit high for my wife , was super comfortable, and waking to the (well some) sunshine in the morning and seeing the dark sky's at night through the sky light was superb, and if you wanted darkness you could just close up all the perfect fit blinds. The shower is powerful and plenty of room.. (one of the best showers I have had anywhere let alone in a hut ) lol .. Out side there is plenty of room to do what you want in the garden area, seating for when you want to dine alfresco , when using the great BBQ/pizza oven and once fired up the Scandinavian log fire hot tub , is a great place to relax, chill and have a drink into the late evening, as is the hut its self, as on our second evening the temperature dropped and I fired up the log burner inside, within 20 mins roast toasty. All in all you cant go wrong with a stay here and that's before you take in the stunning views , beaches and historical places to visit...



Fab stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful shepherd hut, beautiful location with a wonderful comfy bed, beat shower we've had in a hut.
Hot tub great too.




Making memories at Sandpiper

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay and it was amazing. Beautiful location, so clean and outstanding Customer service. The wood fire hot tub is so relaxing after long days out enjoying Northumberland. Every thing you could possibly need is provided. Thank you and we’ll definitely be back again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Susan, thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your second stay at the Sandpiper, see you next time

A rare find

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely couple of nights at The Sandpiper which provided everything we needed. Lovely location in this beautiful part of the country to explore the amazing coastline. For the kids to have their own room and proper beds, to be able to take our furry family member too and he be safe in an enclosed garden, plus the luxury of a hot tub = a rare find in my experience! We’ll definitely be back for more adventures!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! thanks for this incredible review. I am so happy that you all enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the hot tub and garden, see you next time Sam

Couple 2 night stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would definitely recommend staying in the Shepherds Huts, it was a perfect couples retreat, we had a lovely time. Location was perfect! Just a 10 minute to Beadnell village meaning we were close enough to pubs & beach but just out of the way to make it feel private.
The outside facilities are great, private garden with dining area, bbq & hot tub- we used them all. The hut looks fantastic, all reclaimed wood but very modern at the same time. The hosts have really though of everything just pack clothes and food & your good to do. The Little touches really make the difference like tea & coffee, salt & pepper, washing up liquid, fire wood, bbq coals, matches, bottle opener, clothes dryer etc




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hello! What a fabulous review, thank you so much. It makes our day when we know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and it sounds like you had a great time, thanks x

A perfect second visit and definitely not the last.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandpiper is the most beautiful and well equipped shepherds hut you could wish for. This was our second stay there and we loved every minute. The hut is warm and cosy, the enclosed garden is great for our dog and the hot tub is the icing on the cake. There are lovely treats to welcome you in arrival and it is spotless. A walk away from Beadnell Bay and all of its delights make it an ideal base. Can’t praise it highly enough and I will be booking again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jane, thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your second stay at the Sandpiper. Hopefully its not long until your third stay thanks Sam

Lovely hut

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended, lovely place to stay. Good location very close to most of the places. The local fish and chips are brilliant. We will definitely go back there again. Also my child and my dog really enjoyed the time there.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for taking the time to review the Sandpiper and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay Thanks Sam

AMAZING!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was amazing the bed first of all is UNREAL best nights sleep ever. You don’t need to bring anything apart from some food and yourself the garden was gorgeous. The best holiday ever if you have fur babies my dog had the nicest time. We had little goodies on arrival and the hot tub/ bbq and fire were all so easy to use. The beach and local restaurants are about 15 mins away. Can’t wait to come back again this year it’s been so lovely. Thank you so much xxxx



Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
HI Katie Thank you so much for your fabulous review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper and it sounds like you got a good rest. see you later in the year, thanks Sam

Shepherds retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sandpiper is really comfy lovely stay great fire pit and barbecue.great view from front of the hut would definitely recommend to other friends,family



Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Brian Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending us to others Sam

Fab short break

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved staying in the Sandpiper. So homely and quaint with lots of amazing extras such as the hot tub and fire pit. Loved the enclosed garden which was perfect for our dog.
Lovely touch of complimentary wine, beer and chocolates too. Absolutely no complaints and will definitely book again.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your short break and hope you visit again soon Thanks Sam

Short but sweet stop at the Shepherds Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly we must thank Sam for her excellent customer service as this made our stay possible! The sandpiper is absolutely beautiful! We were blessed with glorious weather which highlighted the stunning scenery! Inside the hut there was ample space, the kitchen area has everything you need and more; lovely complimentary treats! The bunk room was such a treat for the kids and they loved their little space. The main bed is king size which was great and super comfortable. The start gazing window was so lovely and we were fortunate to have a clear night so could spot so many gorgeous stars. The hut was clean and had great space to store bags/shoes etc under the bed. The dogs loved their snug spot in front of the fire (although too warm to light it, with the weather being so pleasant). The hot tub was a hit and visually pleasing being wood with log burner to heat it. The shed with fridge is a great idea and the gorgeous outside seating and garden was spacious enough for the kids to play. All in all l, totally fab and would highly recommend. Great surrounding area to explore too!



Sam SMith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jess, sorry for the late response to your review, not sure what happened but seen it come through! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate it and I am so happy that you all had a wonderful time and thank you for recommending us

Perfect get away!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stay, great location and cosy accommodation. Such a lovely time and we will defo be back. :)



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Steven Thank you for your kind review and pleased you had a lovely stay

Amazing time had by all

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fantastic stay in the Sandpiper! The whole experience was fantastic. The views were some of the best I’ve seen, so lovely with your morning coffee! Hot tub was such a nice touch.
The fact the dog could stay made it even better! Thank you- we will return!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Helen Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed the reviews from the Sandpiper, see you next time !

Last minute hot tub break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked very last minute to stay in sandpiper as we’d always wanted to stay in a shepherds hut, but most don’t allow dogs. This one does and it has the most amazing wood fired hot tub, plus a walled garden with a fire pit. To be honest I’d be pushed to find anything on my list of things I’d love to have that was missing. Wood burner in the hut - check, Enough wood to get started - check, more wood available on site - check, hot tub - check, complimentary bottle of wine - check, really good shower - check.

Then there was the thing that I hadn’t even thought I’d need - the glass ceiling over the bed, but that was gorgeous to watch the stars from, although the bed was so comfy I didn’t last too long star gazing.

We enjoyed the hot tub so much we didn’t even have the time to sit around the fire pit so will probably have to go back sometime !

Minor things to look out for is the fridge is in the bikehut, rather than just under the main wagon, But an insulated flask that we brought worked for the milk - also the bed is really high which if you’re short like me was a bit of a challenge.

Other than that I can’t think of a way to improve sandpiper.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub. You will definitely have to come back and use the fire pit. We moved the fridge into the hut so we could have a larger fridge for the guests and that wouldn't fit under the hut :)

Great short break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely two night short break. Timed perfectly to coincide with the March cold-snap, but didn’t spoil our enjoyment - outdoor hot-tub while it’s snowing is something to be recommended!!

Accommodation is lovely, bed is super comfy and the wood-burner heats the place up quickly. Shower is also good: hot and powerful. Did get some clear skies, and the view out the glass roof while lying in bed is marvellous

Plenty to see and do nearby - fish & chips in Seahouses was tasty and the Saltwater Cafe does a great breakfast.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Dave Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the colder weather

A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely perfect visit this weekend to celebrate a special anniversary. We took our two young children who loved the bunk beds! Cosy, warm and well equipped! We enjoyed the hot tub and BBQ. The location was perfect for visiting Beadnell, Seahouses and Bamburgh. A perfect weekend



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed celebration your anniversary at the Sandpiper

A prefect place to relax and recharge

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned after the most relaxing stay. What a beautiful and well thought out shepherds hut. Communication with Sam and her nephew was great and Sam was very accommodating. We were so lucky to have wonderful weather in March and sat in the amazing hot tub till midnight one evening. Being able to hear the sea from the hot tub truly was magical. Yes the hut is set just off the road so if you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs but we slept fine and came home fully relaxed and recharged and ready to plan our next visit there.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed the relaxing evening in the hot tub. Hopefully see you next time

Time-out

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although only a few miles from where I live, the Sandpiper Shepherd’s Hut was a lovely break away from the busyness of life. They say a change is as good as a rest and it was certainly that, my husband and I really enjoyed our two night stay, the hut was comfortable, cosy and well-equipped, we made use of the hot tub (in spite of the weather) and enjoyed hiking along the stunning Northumberland coastline from Beadnell to Low Newton. Shepherds Retreat is perfect glamping accommodation, only 15 mins walk from Beadnell with it’s amenities and stunning coastline, the huts have everything you need under a glass roof for a perfect break. We were even lucky enough to see a starry Northumberland dark sky from our bed
If I had any critique it would be that it took almost 4 hours to heat the hot tub first time, but I think the weather and wind direction had something to do with that and although the road noise didn’t bother us too much I can imagine it is a lot busier/noisier in the summer months but apart from that we had a great shepherds hut experience!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Andy Thank you for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hot tub can take a bit longer to heat in the winter months and we have added an extra bag of logs to the welcome pack to help heat the fire quicker. There is a bit of a knack to get it going but worth it in the long run.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing weekend away at The Sandpiper - very luxurious and we particularly loved the wood fired hot tub! Lots of beautiful beaches nearby and excellent pubs!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI, thanks for your lovely review and so pleased you had a relaxing weekend

Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely hut very cosy when the log burner was on, the hosts really have thought of everything down to matches, the road noise was the only downside but the view of the sea made up for it, we loved the glass roof shame the clouds had other ideas, would love to come in summer and make use of the hot tub I had no luck getting it hot enough I’m inexperienced and my 16yr old daughter wasn’t much help, unfortunately I tried and failed to get the temperature up. It is January !
Fab location lovely views and great accommodation what more could you want.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Amber Thank you for your review and sorry you didn't get the hot tub enough for you to use, the trick is to get the fire roaring and leave the lid on the tub for an hour or so before stirring it.

A fantastic relaxed break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needed some chill out time after a particulr harrowing Christmas time. We couldn't have chosen a better place. The Sandpiper was everything we could have wished for. Clean, comfortable, good layout with an excellent shower, well stocked and the welcome package was a very nice touch. The Hot Tub was amazing (even in January). Overall luxurious first Glamping experience. Will definitely book again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your review and apologies for the late response (think the system went a bit doolally). So pleased that you enjoyed your first glamping stay with us

Great customer service, lovely shepherds hut!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately we booked the Sandpiper Hut on the weekend on 27/11, just at Storm Arwen hit. This unfortunately disrupted and cut short the weekend as we could not utilise the hut/outside space, and the full Northumberland coast was hit with power outages/storm damage etc. Despite this, Sam was extremely extremely accommodating, and allowed us to move into a larger accommodation nearby when in the middle of the night to keep safe.

The Sandpiper is immaculately presented, very clean and appeared to have everything you need. I imagine it would be beautiful in Summer, or even a storm free winters night - and we will definitely be back. No issues with anything controllable whilst we were there, and particularly impressed with the Customer Service from Sam - who gave us a full refund (when they quiet easily could have refused). Will be back, 5 stars.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Tom Thankyou for your review. It was unfortunate that you visited storm Arwen weekend but please you were safe. Hopefully you will come and visit again when it’s not quite so wild ! Thanks Sam

5 day treat !!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Nov 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Sandpiper for 5 nights in Oct/Nov 21 for a 50th birthday treat. The hut has been fitted out beautifully internally and was very comfortable and cosy, especially with the log burner going. The kitchen was well equipped, and the bathroom was much appreciated. Our only negative was the hot tub isn’t ideal for cold winter days/evenings unless you have an endless supply of wood, and the two bags provided were not much use in getting the water even luke warm, and at £5 per bag for extra, this would have proved costly for a 5 night stay. Maybe two or three bags per night stayed should be included in the price in winter months.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the first year we have had people stay for longer than 2/3 nights and we appreciate your feedback re the wood supply. We currently leave a fire starter kit for the log burner and 2 bags for the first night of the hot tub, then usually it takes one more bag (which you can purchase and we have an honesty box - where 20% goes to the RNLI charity). We do realise that in the winter months it takes a little more to heat up the water and we will be leaving a few more bags to help with that and if people stay longer then additional bags will be left. Thanks again for your feedback as it really helps us with our customer service. Thanks Sam

Wonderful weekend in the sandpiper.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the sandpiper last weekend, great location, excellent facilities including a very comfy bed with a view of the stars. Added bonus of the extra treats of chocolate and wine which we enjoyed in the fabulous hot tub. Thank you I'm sure we will be returning x



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Clare Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the welcome treats. Hope you do come and visit us again soon Thanks Sam

Wow!!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most amazing holiday! The Shepherd’s Hut was immaculate! So comfy and had everything that we needed. We absolutely loved the hot tub and glass ceiling, we were fortunate and had a couple of really clear nights and was so relaxing looking up at the stars. Already booked up for next year!



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thanks for your fab review and look forward to you returning next year. Thanks Sam

Girls Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 night stay in this lovely Shepherds Hut. Hot Tub, BBQ. Everything you need. Thank you we will definitely return and recommend.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kerry Thanks for your fab review and so pleased you enjoyed your girls weekend Sam

Fabulous glamping hut

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sandpiper is absolutely amazing! And if you are looking for somewhere special it’s definitely the place to go.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Maria Thanks for your wonderful kind words. Hope you visit again Sam

Our 3rd trip: 3 years in a row! And we will certainly be back again!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed in the Sandpiper 3 years in a row now; brilliant facilities, love that we can bring the dogs (two border collies).

The hot tub is great (just takes a bit of mastering getting the temperature right).

The kitchen is fully equipped - they really have thought of everything!

We went with friends and their dog this year and they stayed in the Sanderling next door. On our arrival we checked that all gates were shut before letting the dogs off their leads, and noticed that the gate to the Sanderling had a larger gap at the bottom, so we blocked it off with kindling bags (so that our friends dachshund couldn’t escape). We thought nothing more of it and set out for a walk to the beach for the day. When we got back, the owners had been and nailed some chicken wire to the bottom of the gate to secure the dogs! We couldn’t believe it! Absolutely brilliant customer service!

The only thing I would suggest is a few solar fairy lights outside. It can be quite dark if sitting outside on an evening and I think this would not only look pretty, but be practical as it shouldn’t be too much to affect the viewing of the dark skies!

We will definitely be back again!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Emma Thanks for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your 3rd stay at the Sandpiper. There is always a tricky little dog to sneak through and find the gaps which helps with making sure the gardens are secure :). We have added some more solar downlighters to the outside and will look at getting some fairy lights too. When I have added them in the past and had them in the hedge - my brother has cut the hedge and chopped all the wires! - will have to think of new places to put them thanks sam

Another fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Shepherds Retreats hasn’t disappointed….. Clean, cosy, comfy and well equipped! A lovely welcome pack full of goodies awaits on arrival and delicious snacks for your four legged friend .
I have stayed here several times before and I have already booked to come back in December. I think that speaks volumes how much I love and rate Shepherds Retreats and their Sandpiper & Sanderling shepherd’s huts.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Sara Thanks so much for your lovely review and so pleased you enjoy your time with us at the huts. It makes us so happy to know that people have a great time when staying and thank you for booking again, will hopefully see you in December thanks sam

Amazing stay in sandpiper hut

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect in the Hut we couldn’t have wished for anything more. The glass roof above the bed was a bonus as we could see the stars in the dark sky every night. The location very near Beadnell was brilliant. Three top notch restaurants to choose from but booking is advisable and easily done. We walked from Beadnell to Seahouses and towards Bamborough on the beach.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Angela for your review and I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Sam

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our visit.
Hot tub and outside are fantastic, great shower.boys loved roasting marshmallows.




Wonderful stay at the Sandpiper hut

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights here over the August Bank Holiday, renting out both huts with my sister and brother in law in the Sanderling - beautiful, well kept huts, everything you need apart from the weather!! Even a lovely touch of prosecco, north chocolates (Yum) and some dog treats in addition to tea, coffee and sugar! We usually camp so this was a big treat for us - during lockdown my son had asked if we could stay somewhere with a hot tub and as we love Northumberland, this was ideal. Walking distance from lovely Beadnell beach though we didn't brave a swim this time but a nice walk on the beach which was a first for our pup and she settled in so well at the hut, enjoying the garden space. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, pizza oven and BBQ - its a bit trial and error getting the temperature just right for all but we got there .....no stars in the cloudy sky so we'll have to go back - it would be lovely to light the fire indoors and have a cosy night in, in the winter so I think we'll have to come back. Highly recommend a visit and owners couldn't have been more helpful.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Pleased all the family enjoyed their stay and enjoyed using the hot tubs. You will definitely have to return to see the stars as they are amazing. Thanks Sam

A cosy stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our two night stay - the shepherds hut is so cosy to come back to after exploring the beautiful Northumberland coast. Loved the hot tub and comfortable beds.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Kirsten I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper and thank you for your kind review Thanks Sam

Fabulous hut and facilities, shame about the road noise

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time.
The huts are fantastically well equiped and comfortable. Great cooking equipment , generous amounts of towels including beach towels, and welcome wine and chocolate was a nice touch. The hot tub was fabulous. We didn't use the bbq, but there's loads of outdoor space garden for your sole use, and ample outdoor seating and table space.
As one of us is blind, having a self contained shower was a real selling point, and we were prepared for it to be pretty basic, but it was amazing! Super powerful and clean, v large cubicle and nice and hot. The controls were impossible to change temperature, but it was fine. There's a perfectly sized small private fridge and secure cycle storage which are luxuries.
Also due to the sight impairment we chose the larger cabin to have the extra space to lay things out. There was loads of space and this worked well.
The WiFi didn't work any of the times we tried. There was a warning it can be intermittent, but for us unplugging is part of why we go, so non-existent wasn't a problem.
There were comprehensive instructions prior to arrival, and booking was straightforward, so we had no need to contact our hosts, who seemed very hospitable by email prior to arrival.
Overall, fabulous.
We will definitely return.

A few minor niggles (but didn't put us off):
1. Road noise / privacy. Sandpiper faces a road, with a great view of the sea - but only from the top of the steps and if there are no cars / camper vans parked in front (which there were for our stay). The road was surprisingly busy and noise ruined a quiet afternoon reading / relaxing. We went to the beach instead - not too much of a hardship! - but for us relaxing quietly on site while cooking while camping/glamping is part of why we do it, and it seemed a shame to not use the fab outdoor area more. A simple hedge would dampen sound and improve privacy, and wouldn't really impact the view. We would choose the other hut in future, despite it having less space, as it faced away from the road.
2. There are great eco measures in place such as solar power, but the hot tub water drains out to the patio and isn't recycled eg to water flower beds, which seems a shame.
3. On arrival bird had got into the cabin and made a mess all over the table and floor, which we put our hands and bags on when we arrived. This created an unfair initial impression as the hut was otherwise immaculately clean. Mesh screens would help avoid this and stop insects also improve ventilation (solid wooden shutters stopped any air circulation and you had to close the windows to shut them). Tents manage this, surely a luxury cabin can!





Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Lesley Apologies for not responding earlier to your review. We really appreciate all your comments about your stay and recommendations about the mesh on windows - we are sorry that you experienced the issue with the bird and I think the mesh is a great idea. We are in the process of marking out parking at the front of the properties, although we do allocate parking on the arrival information this is not always adhered to so we have ordered parking bay signs for each property. We are also going to install a hedge on the parking side but do not want to restrict the view from the huts too much. Thank you again for all your comments as it does help us to review the daily operations of the huts Sam

Lovely stay, great experience

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The hut is lovely, great for a young family, my children loved the whole hut especially the bunk beds and the hot tub.
Plenty of room, shower was really big and was nice to have the amenities. Kitchen had everything you needed, no need to take any cutlery. I loved the stay and Beadnell is a lovely place. The owner went the extra mile and fitted mesh to gate to ensure my pup could not escape. Received a lovely gift on arrival also.
It is near a busy road, sometimes quite noisy, but it wouldn’t stop me going back.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your kind review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper and do hope you will come and stay with us again. Kind regards Sam

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We fell in love with The Sandpiper as soon as we arrived. Its beautiful and quaint and has everything you need and more for a perfect stay. A gorgeous, huge rustic bed, cute bunk beds for the children, a modern bathroom with a fabulous powerful shower and a small but perfectly formed kitchen space. Outside the garden is great for a dog and children to play and the barbecue area is ideal for a family meal. To top it all is a wonderful hot tub where we spent many hours relaxing, listening to birds sing and drinking fizz!
The welcome gifts were a lovely surprise - including homemade dog treats! There is nothing at all I could fault and we will definitely be back as soon as we can.




Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Wow Jane! Thank you so much for your amazing review and I am so pleased that you loved your stay and all the welcome treats. Hope you do come and visit again soon Sam

Superb Shepherd Hut

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time staying in the Shepherd hut. The welcome gifts of wine and chocolate were a lovely gesture!
The hot tub was amazing- a great way to relax. The star gazing roof looked lovely and makes the hut very light and bright! A visitors guide book is in the hut which gives clear instructions on how to work the fire, hot tub and bbq.
You can turn left on to the main road from the hut and walk to the local pub ‘The Craster Arms’ which had a huge beer garden.
My only issue was as the hut allows dogs there was dog hair around- not a problem for most people, but my husband suffers from a dog allergy so this did set his allergies off.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Fern Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub. I am so sorry about the dog hair and I hope that your husband is ok. I will speak to the cleaning team and ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you for making me aware of this issue Thanks Sam

May Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very lovely and clean place to stay, and I have recommended it to some friends after a friend recommended the stay to me last year.
We didn’t realise how close the second cabin was to the Sandpiper or how close to the main road they both were, but the vacationers in the cabin next door were really pleasant and you can’t see into their garden so it feels private.
The bed is very comfy and had a beautiful view of the stars.

The hot tub took us a couple of hours to heat up from scratch. It was lovely once you got in. The front door was a bit difficult to lock and unlock too, you need to pull the door in towards you to lock it.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending it to friends and we do hope that you stay again sometime.

First trip after lockdown!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time stay in a Shepherds Hut & won't be our last if they are all as comfortable as this.Thought of everything, even down to little gifts on arrival. Beautiful area with lots of lovely beaches and villages.



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased that you enjoyed your post lockdown trip and do hope that you visit again sometime, thanks

Perfect mini break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Sandpiper as a post lockdown break and our only issue is that we couldn’t stay longer! The accommodation is cosy and the outside space is fantastic - our dog spent ages exploring in the little garden and we loved the hot tub. The hosts were fab and very welcoming and the village of Beadnell was just a short walk away with two nice pubs/beer gardens. We would definitely recommend to couples or small families. Thank you again for having us!



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Megan, thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub. Hope to see you again sometime

Anniversary getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay. The hut was well equipped with pots, pans, glasses, cooking untensils, chopping boards and sharp knives. The north chocolate, wine and Allendale beer were a lovely touch too. The ensuite was the best shower we've had away from home! There was plenty extra wood availble at a reasonable price. However, there was just one thing missing that I forgot to bring; a mini first aid kit. The location is excellent, easy walking distace to Beadnell village and a pleasant walk along the coastal path to Seahouses and Bamburgh. The instructions provided in the guest book and extra precautions were well thought out and easy to follow. I slightly struggled to find the key safe and use it, but that's probably because I haven't been away from home in almost a year and haven't excercised any common sense! We would love to say again and have recommended shepherds reatreats to our friends and family.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Claire, it was lovely to meet you both during your stay and I am blown away with your review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at The Sandpiper. Thank you for your feedback about the mini first aid kit - I will get some to put in the huts. Hope you come and stay again and enjoy more anniversaries here Thanks Sam

Perfect Night Away

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the 1st email, communication has been excellent, regular updates with the forever changes due to covid.

The hut has been very well thought out and is beautiful inside and out! as soon as you walk in you feel relaxed! The weather was not the kindest for our visit, however I can only imagine how even more stunning it would be in the Summer, this still did not stop us using the hot tub! The hut has everything you need and more!

Thank you for a much needed relaxing break.





Samantha smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Julie Thank you so much for your amazing review and I appreciate your support and patience throughout this covid situation. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub. You will have to come and stay again in the summer Thanks Sam

Amazing staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a wonderful experience for our first family holiday with the dog and a baby. The hut was absolutely lovely, it was really comfortable and the hot tub and outside seating and fire was a lovely addition. How can we forget our stargazing experience. The location was fab and the local restaurants and cafes were brilliant. Highly recommend! Thank you again and we will be back.



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased your first family holiday was a success. Pleased that you got to enjoy the stars and the hot tub. Hope you visit again soon thanks

Love this cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is amazing for large groups, we went with the whole family. Enough space for everyone, with great extras like the barbi hut, the garden hut and we especially loved the games room. The garden itself is huge and so peaceful.
The kitchen is very well equiped with a choice of dining areas big enough for 12 to sit together to eat. There is no need to even go out , a big plus at the moment! But if you do want to go out there are 3 eating places within a 10 minute walking distance. And it is in a grear location for lovely walks too, a short walk to Beadnall beach, or longer along the coast to Seahorses or even Bamburgh. Loved it and will definitely be returning. Thank you for creating this lovely cottage.




Great experience

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our couple of nights here. Instructions for the hut, hot tub and list of places to visit were provided prior to our stay, and the "contactless handover" was Covid compliant. Bed was really comfortable, shower was hot and everything spotlessly clean. Has a sea view, Beadnell bay is a 10 minute walk away, lots of places to visit nearby and a plenty of pubs / restaurants to visit if you don't wish to cook. Enclosed garden, so we could let our dog play safely. And he absolutely loved the dog treats the owners provided for him - human treats were provided too. Will definitely visit again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Tim Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that you had a great time and found the information useful and managed to get use out of the hot tub. We are pleased that your dog loved the treats and you enjoyed yours. Thank you also for leaving the hut so clean and tidy when you left Hope you visit again soon

2 nights stay August 2020 for our 30th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic break at the Sandpiper and thought the Shepherds Hut was beautiful and loved the fact it was constructed from recycled wood and had a history. The bed was so comfortable and the shower was fantastic, plus loved the hot tub and generally the property was very well equipped and spotless. Thanks for a great stay and would like to return at some point to a beautiful area where we have spent so many previous happy family holidays and would definitely re book the Sandpiper.



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sally, thank you so much for your fabulous review we really appreciate your kind words and so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at The Sandpiper

Weekend stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and we absolutely loved it. We’ve stayed now in the winter and summer and have loved every minute. The huts are immaculate and well catered for. The hot tubs and views are a real treat.
Thanks so much




Fabulous 2 night getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just loved our 2 night stay. From the information provided before we arrived, to the stay and extra treats supplied in the hut. The hot tub was amazing and the smell of the wood as you go into the cabin was fantastic.
Just a 10 minute walk into Beadnell too. We can't wait to come back in the winter and make use of the log burner in the hut.




Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is compact and well planned. Light and airy making you feel to be part of the countryside especiallly with the glass roof above the bed!
A lot of thought and care has gone into the layout and there is everything you need for a short stay.
Only downside is it needs a larger mirror and a fridge inside!




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Carole, Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper. The hut is compact and to allow space for the crockery etc we had to have the fridge outside. Will have a look at adding a larger mirror - thank you for your feedback x

Weekend away for our 20th wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The shepherds hut was amazing, beautifully decorated and had everything we could possibly need. The glass roof is brilliant and the bed was super comfy. The hot tub was great fun and perfect for easing our aching legs after walking miles along the beautiful coast line. Couldn’t have had a better weekend anywhere else.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 20th Anniversary celebrations at the Sandpiper. Hope you visit again soon

Dog friendly getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely one night getaway with our dogs in the Sandpiper. It was great to have a night away with the beach right on our door step and so much more to explore nearby. The hut it self was warm and cosy and we really made the most of the hot tub after our long walk. We will be returning.



Sam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Nicola Thanks for your great review and hope to see you again soon Sam

A brilliant place to stay in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was fabulous. Loads of wildlife, beautiful views and very relaxing. Really enjoyed the hot tub, the glass ceiling and watching the swallows. Perfect!



Relaxing, superb dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a superb accommodation well thought out with everything you need. Very comfortable and some beautiful scenic views. Total relaxation and excellent value. All our worries drifted away. Dog friendly too. We will definitely be back soon. Thank you shepherds retreat (The Sandpiper).



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thanks for your great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sandpiper and we do hope you visit again soon

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a wonderfull relaxing stay. The hot tub was fab and the beds were so comfy. We toasted marshmallows on the fire at night then lay and looked at the stars through the glass roof. Will certainly be booking uo again.



Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you had a wonderful relaxing stay, thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay