FB Twitter

The Sanderling

The Sanderling

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Escape to a romantic getaway in the Sanderling overlooking Beadnell Bay.

Inside you will find a cosy log burning stove to keep you snug and warm and there is a stunning glass ceiling above the bed which enables you to continue star-gazing long into the night.

The Sanderling has a fitted kitchen with gas hob, oven and grill, stove top kettle and all the utensils and pans you need to cater for yourselves during your stay. Underneath the hut there is a small fridge. The ensuite bathroom has a flushing toilet, walk in shower and heated towel radiator.

The Sanderling is situated in it’s own private garden overlooking the fields towards the sea and after a long day exploring all the wonderful places which Northumberland has to offer. You can enjoy a glass of wine and cook on the wood burning Fire pit/pizza oven whilst waiting for you’re the hot tub to reach optimum temperature for you to relax in and enjoy the views and dark skies.
Outside there is a cycle hut for bike storage
Situated on the outskirts of Beadnell village, The Sanderling is approximately 15 minutes walk through the village to the gorgeous sandy beaches of Beadnell Bay. In the village there are two family and dog friendly pubs and a beautiful café.
All linen and towels are provided for your stay so all you have to do is switch off and enjoy. The Sanderling sleeps 2 and is dog friendly
The Sanderling is based on Cast iron wheels and is clad internally and externally with reclaimed timber from a Glasgow school gym floor, and a warehouse in Newcastle, insulated with sheep’s wool, features hand crafted oak units and fittings, a king sized bed and en-suite shower.
Here you get back in touch with nature yet enjoy all the trappings of luxury accommodation.

Lovely Sanderling

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous break in chilly January. Lovely location, setting and accommodation - we will definitely be back.



Absolutely fantastic - even in rainy November!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, I really cannot praise this place enough!
Wood-fired hot tub - wonderful even in drizzly November, with views across the fields (and the kindling was all set ready to go when we arrived!). Outdoors space cleverly set out, and useful things found clean, dry and tidy in the shed.
Log burner great fun to keep going and blimey did the hut get warm!! No worries about being cold here at all!!
The glass ceiling I've not seen anywhere else and absolutely made my day!
All aspects of the hut cleverly thought out - the windows were high enough to be private but from the bed you see the sea (and some kitesurfers on our stormy morning!), which was so lovely!
The location was rural fields on one side (the side you could see from the hot tub), but with a convenient road the other side so you could be in the pub in 2mins, in town in 5-10 mins and at the seaside in less than that. If you want absolute silence, the road may bother you, but we thought it a perfectly fine trade-off for convenience, and didn't affect any part of our stay.
All little things you could want provided - smellies, hot chocolate, beer, matches, binoculars, board games, everything for cooking (you can't beat pancakes for breakfast in bed in a shepherd's hut looking out over fields of sheep towards the distant frothy waves, honestly!). I marvelled at every part of this little hut, and wanted to live there forever.
Honestly, I will be raving about this to anyone who will listen for a long time to come. What a perfect stay!




Sam Smith replied 182 days ago
Oh Wow! Jo - you have made my day - I really don't know what to say but Thank you for your most amazing review. I am so pleased that you loved the Sanderling hut and everything about it. We try and think of everything that people need for their stay (but it still doesn't stop you worrying about whether people are enjoying it) and I am so happy that you had everything that you needed. Keep raving about it and come and stay again soon Thank you so much Sam x

Perfect Birthday Shenanigans

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, there was everything you needed and it all was eco, quality stuff. We had the best time listening to the radio, playing games and generally tending fires and dipping in and out of the hot tub. Would totally recommend!



Stunning retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sanderling shepherds hut is an outstanding place to kick back, relax and watch the world go by especially the glorious night sky.
Everything catered for to a very high standard, plenty of wood to get those burners going for a cosy comfy stay.
The hot tub is amazing.
Sam the owner is a very lovely decent lady who helps with any issues.
One can only say exceptional.
Thank you so much.




Sam Smith replied 196 days ago
Thank you Julie for your review and so pleased that you liked the Sanderling, look forward to seeing you next year at the lodge thanks Sam x

Beautiful Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our short break taking it back to basics for our 5yr anniversary . So cozy and the hut tub was gorgeous with a glass of bubbly. Great location for walks with the dog. Definitely would visit again



Sam Smith replied 196 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased that you enjoyed your 5th Anniversary with us Hope you visit again thanks Sam

Brilliant getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the weather being unforgiving, we had an awesome time in the Northumberland countryside. The walk to the beach, evening BBQ, prosecco in the wood fired hot tub and Sunday lunch at a local pub are mandatory.
Definitely would come again.




Sam Smith replied 217 days ago
Hi Ashram, lovely to meet you yesterday and thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your enjoyed your stay thanks Sam

2 day break for anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab time had by us(with 6 month old pup). Great set up a short walk from Beadnell. Will hopefully visit again.



Sam replied 217 days ago
Thanks for your review and happy belated Anniversary, pleased you had a great time thanks Sam

Beautiful getaway!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was really looking forward to my stay at The Sanderling and it definitely didn’t disappoint. Such a beautifully furnished caravan with everything we needed. If you’re looking for somewhere to go and relax this is the perfect spot with it’s fabulous hot tub and glass roof to enjoy the views.

Only a short walk to the beach with a couple of lovely pubs near by and only a 5 minute drive into Seahouses. Will definitely be returning :)




Samantha Smith replied 217 days ago
Thanks for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that your enjoyed your stay Sam x

Cosy weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in the Sanderling, everything was perfect! Really enjoyed stargazing whilst sitting in the hot tub. We will definitely be booking it again!



Sam replied 217 days ago
Thanks for your kind review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub Sam

Fun, comfy and charming but shame about the noisy road

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Sanderling was a very welcome end to 5 days walking. It was luxurious and comfortable (for a shepherd’s hut). The hut itself is very beautiful and well made, and all the facilities are high quality. It’s been well thought out as a premium type of accommodation, with everything we needed for our stay, plus wine and chocolate to welcome us!

The shower, kitchen etc all work very well. This isn’t ‘glamping’ really - it’s a proper holiday home with a bit of novelty.

The hot tub and bbq are great touches. The former takes a long time to get going but is as good as it sounds sat under the stars with a glass of wine, soothing our aching muscles.

The main downside is that the coastal road is very close to the hut. This woke us up a couple of times as it gets busy in the mornings. And it kind of spoils the vibe when your enjoying beautiful views across the bay only to have that noise fairly constantly. It quietened down at night but mornings and evenings were noisy - HGVs, motorbikes and farm traffic especially.

It’s less than ideal to stay here if you don’t have a car. The walk into Beadnell is doable, with a footpath set apart from the road. But it’s not that enjoyable with cars speeding past all the way.

We’ve stayed in a few shepherds huts around the country. This was more like a very small but well equipped holiday cottage. The fact that there was a busy road immediately outside our window was a shame and made the high cost seem not quite worth it. There are similar places you can stay in this area - on the coast and in the hills - with none of the noise and all of the charm.




Samantha Smith replied 251 days ago
Thank you Sam for your review and your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the Sanderling hut and the wood fired hot tub. We have tried to offer something that will be a unique glamping experience with the luxury of all the trimmings - ie hot showers, wood burning stove and glass roof. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub after your long walks. It does take approx 90 mins to heat up with the wood supplied and you can relax and enjoy a glass of wine or two while waiting. The huts are located on the 'B' road heading into Beadnell which is the single carriageway road into and out of Beadnell and I am sorry you were disturbed by the traffic during your stay. There is a road approx 50 yards across from the hut which takes you down a country lane through the village and it is a shame that you didn't realise you could get that way so that you did not have to walk down the road. I will ensure a map is put in the welcome pack for future guests.

Great stay in wonderful hut

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one night with our dog.
A lovely clean hut with everything you need at hand.
Very close to several towns, pubs and restaurants.
Hot tub is lovely.
Great communication from hosts.




Sam Smith replied 262 days ago
HI Thanks so much for your review, It was lovely to meet you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Sanderling

An idyllic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed on Bank Holiday weekend and scored with the weather. The Sanderling was easy to find and we had received comprehensive information from the owners. The hut is perfect, every need has been anticipated. It is small but perfectly designed to make the most of the space. So much thought was given: there was milk, tea, coffee, matches.... and even a bar of chocolate, wine and beer! The hot tub was a wonderful treat too. We will definitely be booking up again.



Sam Smith replied 262 days ago
Thanks so much for your fab review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Sanderling and I hope that you do visit us again soon

Fantastic glamping experience

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They really thought of everything from the woodfired hot tub to the bottle of wine on arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and our little hurt had a particularly great view across the fields and to the sea. We would highly recommend it and we can’t wait to come stay again



Samantha replied 276 days ago
Hi Jenny Thanks for your wonderful review and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your recommendation. We do hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Fabulous in everything!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time in such a quirky shepherds hut. Everything had been thought of and we loved all of the touches and attention to detail. Myself, husband and Jango our springer had a lush chilling 3 night stay, hot tub amazing, bed so comfy, powerful shower, amazing views and so quiet on an evening. Box Café pizza place was fab and the two pubs in Beadnell were fab and all within a 10/15 minute walk. Love the beach in Beadnell and Jango loved it too. We will be back and fancying a winter break there as we think it will be lovely and cosy. Thank you so much xx



Sam replied 276 days ago
Hi Laura Thanks for your kind review and pleased you had a chilled out stay using the hot tub and enjoying the views. I love the box pizza so pleased you got the chance to visit it. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

Unique accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we couldn't believe our eyes. It was more than we expected and the location was everything you need from this type of holiday. The van provided all we needed for our holiday. We will certainly consider the holiday again in the future. I will certainly recommend it to my friends






Samantha Smith replied 301 days ago
Hi Jill Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sanderling and thank you for recommending it to all your friends

Great mini break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully made wagon from reclaimed wood. Great size bathroom, king size bed.
Dog-friendly and great location. Everything that we needed for our mini break.




Samantha Smith replied 301 days ago
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you liked your stay in the Sanderling.

loved it

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Compact but has everything you need. New to rental and therefore good condition and quite luxurious for glamping. We loved the experience, lying in bed looking at the sky through the glass roof above the kingsize bed was amazing. Pity we were there on the shortest day of the year but we did manage to do a bit of stargazing.
Location perfect for peace and quiet but easy access to shops pubs eating places and places to visit. Only stayed 3 nights and didn't manage to use the wood fired hot tub. We lit the fire on the first night but it wasn't warm enough before we went to bed. Am sure it would have been lovely to relax in though.
Would recommend to friends but would have liked a tv if staying longer than 3 nights. Has Wi-Fi so we were able to stream on our phones.





















Sam Smith replied 329 days ago
Hi Liz, thank you for your wonderful review for the Sanderling. It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and I am so pleased that you like the hut and the star gazing. We decided not to have TVs in the huts due to trying to be eco friendly and running the power off Solar Energy so a TV will probably take too much power. The hot tub fire needs to be set up and burning really hot to get the water to heat up and it usually takes about 1.5 hours to get to the correct temperature. We usually recommend lighting it, have your meal, whilst keeping the fire stoked up and then it will be ready by the time you are finished eating. Thanks Sam