FB Twitter

The Sanderling

The Sanderling

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Escape to a romantic getaway in the Sanderling overlooking Beadnell Bay.

Inside you will find a cosy log burning stove to keep you snug and warm and there is a stunning glass ceiling above the bed which enables you to continue star-gazing long into the night.

The Sanderling has a fitted kitchen with gas hob, oven and grill, stove top kettle and all the utensils and pans you need to cater for yourselves during your stay. Underneath the hut there is a small fridge. The ensuite bathroom has a flushing toilet, walk in shower and heated towel radiator.

The Sanderling is situated in it’s own private garden overlooking the fields towards the sea and after a long day exploring all the wonderful places which Northumberland has to offer. You can enjoy a glass of wine and cook on the wood burning Fire pit/pizza oven whilst waiting for you’re the hot tub to reach optimum temperature for you to relax in and enjoy the views and dark skies.
Outside there is a cycle hut for bike storage
Situated on the outskirts of Beadnell village, The Sanderling is approximately 15 minutes walk through the village to the gorgeous sandy beaches of Beadnell Bay. In the village there are two family and dog friendly pubs and a beautiful café.
All linen and towels are provided for your stay so all you have to do is switch off and enjoy. The Sanderling sleeps 2 and is dog friendly
The Sanderling is based on Cast iron wheels and is clad internally and externally with reclaimed timber from a Glasgow school gym floor, and a warehouse in Newcastle, insulated with sheep’s wool, features hand crafted oak units and fittings, a king sized bed and en-suite shower.
Here you get back in touch with nature yet enjoy all the trappings of luxury accommodation.

lovely place, thankyou

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
really lovely place to stay, nice welcoming touches and very good communication :-) we saw the stars from bed which was amazing thankyou!



A fun place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sanderling is a fun place to stay. It's a different experience to stay in a little hut with the big window over your bed and the very dark surroundings. The table and chairs fit under the bed, and the chairs have room for your clothes. The hut is very comfy with clean, soft sheets and a giant duvet. The Sanderling is private, so you can sit on your steps, on the outside chairs or in the hot tub without anyone overlooking you. The birds are a delight. The hut is only a short walk away from the beach and there are excellent cycle routes all around. We recommend a stay here if you want something just a little bit different.



Fabulous stay in The Sanderling

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved every minute staying in The Sanderling it was great. The hut itself was gorgeous, and was cosy and romantic. It’s equipped with everything you could possibly need. The views were gorgeous the hot tub was great and loved having to light the burners! The bed was spacious and very comfortable. We will definitely return and highly recommend.



Spectacular stay in the Shepherds hut

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the shepherds Hut, the hut has everything you need for a relaxing stay away. The hut is very cosy and I would highly recommend this place for a break away. Brilliant location too! Just wish we booked to stay for longer.



Sam Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Alex, Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you will have to come back for longer next time! Thanks for leaving the hut so tidy when you left Sam

The BEST stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in the Sanderling Hut! It’s beautifully designed, super comfortable and an incredibly unique stay. The views are wonderful, communications really quick and the location is just spot on. We can’t wait to stay again and couldn’t recommend this higher!



Sam Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Jenny, thanks for your amazing review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you come back and visit us again soon Thanks Sam

A lovely break away

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sanderling is a perfect get away stay. Everything you could possibly need is provided in the hut. Although we didnt have perfect weather we still enjoyed the hot tub, lovely relaxing end to the day! Would love to return.



Sam Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Viv Thanks for your five star review, we really appreciate your kind words and pleased that the Sanderling had everything you needed for your stay Hope you visit again soon thanks Sam

A beautiful place to relax and enjoy time together.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and myself both throughly enjoy our stay in the sanderling, the outdoors had everything you need to relax. The hot tub was brilliant and the pizza oven so easy to use.
The hut was very comfortable and the owners have literlly provided everything you could need to make anthing in the downsized kitchen area.
Also dog friendly which was great.
Can't fault this place, only praise for how comfortable our stay was and the owners for being in touch regularly and ensuring we had the best stay possible.
We'll definitely return in the future!




Sam Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Rachael Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that it had everything you needed for you to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for leaving the Sanderling so tidy upon departure, it was very much appreciated Hope you visit again soon thanks Sam

A Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the Sanderling in July 2020 and had an amazing time. The Shepherds hut is in a great location, it was easily acccessible, had amazing uninterupted views over the fields and the sea in the distance and it was within walking distance to Beadnell town. This was the perfect mix of having that country side experience without being too remote.

I couldn't pick just one highlight of the hut, as I loved every part of it. The hot-tub and firepit outside was amazing, and it felt very rustic and exciting lighting the fires to heat the hot-tub, and it was a perfect way to end the day. Also the roof windows above the bed made the hut feel so spacious and added such a great touch. There are blinds provided too if you wanted it to be darker at night. The overall style of the hut was so cute and it felt really special.

The facilities inside the hut were amazing, everything was of a high quality and it helped to make the stay feel more luxurious. I found that the hut was well equiped with everything we needed. Having not stayed in a hut like this before, I wasn't sure what to expect. But my stay was very comfortable and had all of the amenities that you would need. I was very suprised by the bathroom as it was larger than I had realised from the photos with a spacious shower and excellent water pressure.

Also, with the current situation around COVID-19, I felt very comfortable staying here after the extra information that Sam had sent explaining the new measures that had been put in place.

We had an amazing time staying at the Shepherds hut, and our only wish was that we had booked a longer stay as we didn't want to leave! I would really highly recommend this hut to anyone, as it is the perfect relaxing break. I hope to return soon.





Sam Smith replied 41 days ago
Hi Emily, Apologies for the late response. Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we are so happy that your enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed to make your stay relaxing. I appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness and information as it has been so difficult ensuring that everyone is safe and still has the information needed to enjoy their stay. Thank you for leaving the hut in a clean and tidy condition when you left we really appreciate it Take care Sam

Perfect!!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most perfect place!! We loved it so much, it's beautiful, sat looking out over the fields towards the sea, absolute bliss

The hut is huge way bigger than I thought, the bathroom is amazing it's not at all like camping it's a proper bathroom. Hot tub is bliss!!! It's so dog friendly, there is no way for the dog to escape so we were so comfortable knowing he could wonder around and was safe. He was as relaxed as we were!!

I'm just sad we could only go for one night, I can't wait to go back for longer.

Thank you




Sam Smith replied 68 days ago
Thank you Megan for your fantastic review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday and loved the shepherds hut. You will have to come and stay longer next time! Thanks Sam

Lovely little hideaway...

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Sanderling at the beginning of July. The team have taken care with the cleaning and safety aspect of the place. A lovely little ‘cabin’ set off a road with views of the fields. Out of the two, tmi would recommend this one as it faces the fields and you can not see the road and it has a more private ‘garden’ with chairs, table, bbq/pizza oven and hot tub. The hot tub takes a while to heat, make sure you read the instructions;)
Inside is small and compact as you’d expect but SO cosey- a risen bed with skylight, and out comes a table and chairs from under (then our dogs used it as a den to sleep;))
Small kitchen with what you need, outside fridge, and a lovely modern bathroom.
Beadnell was 10mins walk and there’s a couple of nice pubs, then smother 5mins takes you to the lovely bays and beaches- fabulous location in Northumberland. Highly recommend, we’ll be back!




Sam Smith replied 68 days ago
Hi Kate, thank you for your wonderful review. It has been hectic reopening and it is lovely to know that we have created a lovely cosy space for people to come after lockdown. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and do hope that you come and stay again Thanks Sam

Should have stayed longer

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Albeit brief, a very relaxing break away. The weather was kind to us but I'm sure it wouldn't have mattered. Everything was just as expected and was perfect. The bed was very comfy and the roof window was great. Loved the hot tub but took us a while to get the temperature right!



Sam Smith replied 68 days ago
Hi Louise Thank you for your review about The Sanderling. I am so happy that you loved your stay with us. The hot tub is a bit of a learning curve with it being wood fired but pleased you got to enjoy it. Thanks Sam

Lovely Sanderling

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous break in chilly January. Lovely location, setting and accommodation - we will definitely be back.



Absolutely fantastic - even in rainy November!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, I really cannot praise this place enough!
Wood-fired hot tub - wonderful even in drizzly November, with views across the fields (and the kindling was all set ready to go when we arrived!). Outdoors space cleverly set out, and useful things found clean, dry and tidy in the shed.
Log burner great fun to keep going and blimey did the hut get warm!! No worries about being cold here at all!!
The glass ceiling I've not seen anywhere else and absolutely made my day!
All aspects of the hut cleverly thought out - the windows were high enough to be private but from the bed you see the sea (and some kitesurfers on our stormy morning!), which was so lovely!
The location was rural fields on one side (the side you could see from the hot tub), but with a convenient road the other side so you could be in the pub in 2mins, in town in 5-10 mins and at the seaside in less than that. If you want absolute silence, the road may bother you, but we thought it a perfectly fine trade-off for convenience, and didn't affect any part of our stay.
All little things you could want provided - smellies, hot chocolate, beer, matches, binoculars, board games, everything for cooking (you can't beat pancakes for breakfast in bed in a shepherd's hut looking out over fields of sheep towards the distant frothy waves, honestly!). I marvelled at every part of this little hut, and wanted to live there forever.
Honestly, I will be raving about this to anyone who will listen for a long time to come. What a perfect stay!




Sam Smith replied 307 days ago
Oh Wow! Jo - you have made my day - I really don't know what to say but Thank you for your most amazing review. I am so pleased that you loved the Sanderling hut and everything about it. We try and think of everything that people need for their stay (but it still doesn't stop you worrying about whether people are enjoying it) and I am so happy that you had everything that you needed. Keep raving about it and come and stay again soon Thank you so much Sam x

Perfect Birthday Shenanigans

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, there was everything you needed and it all was eco, quality stuff. We had the best time listening to the radio, playing games and generally tending fires and dipping in and out of the hot tub. Would totally recommend!



Stunning retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sanderling shepherds hut is an outstanding place to kick back, relax and watch the world go by especially the glorious night sky.
Everything catered for to a very high standard, plenty of wood to get those burners going for a cosy comfy stay.
The hot tub is amazing.
Sam the owner is a very lovely decent lady who helps with any issues.
One can only say exceptional.
Thank you so much.




Sam Smith replied 321 days ago
Thank you Julie for your review and so pleased that you liked the Sanderling, look forward to seeing you next year at the lodge thanks Sam x

Beautiful Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our short break taking it back to basics for our 5yr anniversary . So cozy and the hut tub was gorgeous with a glass of bubbly. Great location for walks with the dog. Definitely would visit again



Sam Smith replied 321 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased that you enjoyed your 5th Anniversary with us Hope you visit again thanks Sam

Brilliant getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the weather being unforgiving, we had an awesome time in the Northumberland countryside. The walk to the beach, evening BBQ, prosecco in the wood fired hot tub and Sunday lunch at a local pub are mandatory.
Definitely would come again.




Sam Smith replied 342 days ago
Hi Ashram, lovely to meet you yesterday and thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your enjoyed your stay thanks Sam

2 day break for anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab time had by us(with 6 month old pup). Great set up a short walk from Beadnell. Will hopefully visit again.



Sam replied 342 days ago
Thanks for your review and happy belated Anniversary, pleased you had a great time thanks Sam

Beautiful getaway!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was really looking forward to my stay at The Sanderling and it definitely didn’t disappoint. Such a beautifully furnished caravan with everything we needed. If you’re looking for somewhere to go and relax this is the perfect spot with it’s fabulous hot tub and glass roof to enjoy the views.

Only a short walk to the beach with a couple of lovely pubs near by and only a 5 minute drive into Seahouses. Will definitely be returning :)




Samantha Smith replied 342 days ago
Thanks for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that your enjoyed your stay Sam x

Cosy weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in the Sanderling, everything was perfect! Really enjoyed stargazing whilst sitting in the hot tub. We will definitely be booking it again!



Sam replied 342 days ago
Thanks for your kind review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub Sam

Fun, comfy and charming but shame about the noisy road

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Sanderling was a very welcome end to 5 days walking. It was luxurious and comfortable (for a shepherd’s hut). The hut itself is very beautiful and well made, and all the facilities are high quality. It’s been well thought out as a premium type of accommodation, with everything we needed for our stay, plus wine and chocolate to welcome us!

The shower, kitchen etc all work very well. This isn’t ‘glamping’ really - it’s a proper holiday home with a bit of novelty.

The hot tub and bbq are great touches. The former takes a long time to get going but is as good as it sounds sat under the stars with a glass of wine, soothing our aching muscles.

The main downside is that the coastal road is very close to the hut. This woke us up a couple of times as it gets busy in the mornings. And it kind of spoils the vibe when your enjoying beautiful views across the bay only to have that noise fairly constantly. It quietened down at night but mornings and evenings were noisy - HGVs, motorbikes and farm traffic especially.

It’s less than ideal to stay here if you don’t have a car. The walk into Beadnell is doable, with a footpath set apart from the road. But it’s not that enjoyable with cars speeding past all the way.

We’ve stayed in a few shepherds huts around the country. This was more like a very small but well equipped holiday cottage. The fact that there was a busy road immediately outside our window was a shame and made the high cost seem not quite worth it. There are similar places you can stay in this area - on the coast and in the hills - with none of the noise and all of the charm.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sam for your review and your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the Sanderling hut and the wood fired hot tub. We have tried to offer something that will be a unique glamping experience with the luxury of all the trimmings - ie hot showers, wood burning stove and glass roof. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub after your long walks. It does take approx 90 mins to heat up with the wood supplied and you can relax and enjoy a glass of wine or two while waiting. The huts are located on the 'B' road heading into Beadnell which is the single carriageway road into and out of Beadnell and I am sorry you were disturbed by the traffic during your stay. There is a road approx 50 yards across from the hut which takes you down a country lane through the village and it is a shame that you didn't realise you could get that way so that you did not have to walk down the road. I will ensure a map is put in the welcome pack for future guests.

Great stay in wonderful hut

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one night with our dog.
A lovely clean hut with everything you need at hand.
Very close to several towns, pubs and restaurants.
Hot tub is lovely.
Great communication from hosts.




Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Thanks so much for your review, It was lovely to meet you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Sanderling

An idyllic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed on Bank Holiday weekend and scored with the weather. The Sanderling was easy to find and we had received comprehensive information from the owners. The hut is perfect, every need has been anticipated. It is small but perfectly designed to make the most of the space. So much thought was given: there was milk, tea, coffee, matches.... and even a bar of chocolate, wine and beer! The hot tub was a wonderful treat too. We will definitely be booking up again.



Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your fab review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Sanderling and I hope that you do visit us again soon

Fantastic glamping experience

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
They really thought of everything from the woodfired hot tub to the bottle of wine on arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and our little hurt had a particularly great view across the fields and to the sea. We would highly recommend it and we can’t wait to come stay again



Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jenny Thanks for your wonderful review and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your recommendation. We do hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Fabulous in everything!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time in such a quirky shepherds hut. Everything had been thought of and we loved all of the touches and attention to detail. Myself, husband and Jango our springer had a lush chilling 3 night stay, hot tub amazing, bed so comfy, powerful shower, amazing views and so quiet on an evening. Box Café pizza place was fab and the two pubs in Beadnell were fab and all within a 10/15 minute walk. Love the beach in Beadnell and Jango loved it too. We will be back and fancying a winter break there as we think it will be lovely and cosy. Thank you so much xx



Sam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura Thanks for your kind review and pleased you had a chilled out stay using the hot tub and enjoying the views. I love the box pizza so pleased you got the chance to visit it. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

Unique accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we couldn't believe our eyes. It was more than we expected and the location was everything you need from this type of holiday. The van provided all we needed for our holiday. We will certainly consider the holiday again in the future. I will certainly recommend it to my friends






Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jill Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sanderling and thank you for recommending it to all your friends

Great mini break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully made wagon from reclaimed wood. Great size bathroom, king size bed.
Dog-friendly and great location. Everything that we needed for our mini break.




Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you liked your stay in the Sanderling.

loved it

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Compact but has everything you need. New to rental and therefore good condition and quite luxurious for glamping. We loved the experience, lying in bed looking at the sky through the glass roof above the kingsize bed was amazing. Pity we were there on the shortest day of the year but we did manage to do a bit of stargazing.
Location perfect for peace and quiet but easy access to shops pubs eating places and places to visit. Only stayed 3 nights and didn't manage to use the wood fired hot tub. We lit the fire on the first night but it wasn't warm enough before we went to bed. Am sure it would have been lovely to relax in though.
Would recommend to friends but would have liked a tv if staying longer than 3 nights. Has Wi-Fi so we were able to stream on our phones.





















Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Liz, thank you for your wonderful review for the Sanderling. It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and I am so pleased that you like the hut and the star gazing. We decided not to have TVs in the huts due to trying to be eco friendly and running the power off Solar Energy so a TV will probably take too much power. The hot tub fire needs to be set up and burning really hot to get the water to heat up and it usually takes about 1.5 hours to get to the correct temperature. We usually recommend lighting it, have your meal, whilst keeping the fire stoked up and then it will be ready by the time you are finished eating. Thanks Sam