FB Twitter

The Bothy

The Bothy

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Bothy is a small cosy cottage with fantastic views towards the sea to the east and the Cheviots to the West. It is walking distance to the beach, perfect for your 4 legged friends. An ideal base to discover Northumberland

A Lovely week!!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a week at the Bothy. The cottage was lovely and clean and the welcome gifts are a lovely thought as well as the doggy treats!! The beaches in the area are great and Seahouses is the perfect location for all amenities. We found the Bothy an excellent base to explore Northumbria and we also nipped over the Scottish border :) Definitely recommend, I am so pleased that I found this accommodation.

Jane from Warrington stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2022


Sam Smith replied Today
HI Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy and enjoyed exploring Northumberland. Hope you come and visit again soon thanks Sam

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay here. Everything perfect. Had a wonderful time. Amazing views and sunsets. Loved the garden.

Andrea from Isle Of Lewis stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in July 2022


Sam Smith replied Today
HI Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed the sunsets from there - they are wonderful Sam

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, very peaceful, beds very comfortable, really enjoyed our break we stayed for 5 nights wished we had booked for 14 so much to see and beaches are amazing

Chriss from Grantham stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in June 2022


Sam Smith replied Today
HI Chris Thanks for your wonderful, kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you will have to come back for longer next time! Sam

Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy is a perfect holiday cottage, clean, compact but everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The garden is perfect to sit in the evening and watch the setting sun or see the light houses in the distance. Set in a location that is perfect for visiting Bamburgh, Craster,Amble and many more places of interest with amazing beaches for dogs and humans alike. Definitely a place we would return to.

Heather from Peterborough stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2022


Sam Smith replied Today
Hi Heather Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at The Bothy and enjoyed exploring Northumberland, hope you visit again soon Thanks Sam

Hunters Dog tours

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay , great location, comfortable, clean & well equipped
Dog friendly
We will definitely return


Michaela from Mirfield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Michaela, Thank you for you review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the lodge

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a week at The Bothy. It's a lovely little cottage with everything you need, and the private back garden is brilliant! You can sit under the pagoda on the swing seat and enjoy the amazing views. (With a delicious slice of cake if you like, which is a lovely welcome present on arrival )

It's in a great location, a short walk to the local pub/restaurant, a little longer but still well in walking distance to the beach and handy for the bus or car if exploring a bit further.


Alison from Tyne And Wear stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Alison Thanks for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay again x

Brilliant place

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy is a lovely little cottage with superb views from the back garden. It is located in an ideal spot for exploring the area. The family who owns the property are lovely friendly people and cannot do enough for you without interferring with your stay.

Margaret from Sheffield stayed at The Bothy for 14 nights in April 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Thanks for your review and your kind words, so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us Sam

April break 2022

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, clean, comfortable, good parking, having been here several times as good as ever. Sam and team really look after you.

John from Hexham stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2022


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Hi John, thank you so much for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your return stay thanks sam

The bothy

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing and cosy stay , hosts were welcoming and friendly . Views were amazing . Dog friendly xx

Moyra from stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2022


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Hi Moyra, thanks for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy, hope you visit again sometime, thanks Sam

Comfortable cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bothy, the location is great and our contact with the owners excellent. The cake, wine, chocolate and doggy treats were very much appreciated by all!
The cottage is very comfortable, clean and cosy.
Many thanks for making our stay in Northumberland memorable.


Sue from Bridlington stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in March 2022


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Hi Sue, thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased you liked the Bothy and enjoyed the welcome treats thanks Sam

Relaxing Short Break

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jan 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent 3 nights at The Bothy. Very relaxing and the location is perfect. An easy 15 minute walk into Beadnell which has an excellent pub and cafe. We were welcomed with Prosecco, cake and chocolate which was lovely and although the cottage is compact it has everything you need.
Internet connection was not good which was the only downside.


Julie from West Linton stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in January 2022


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Hi Julie Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the welcome treats. Unfortunately the wifi in Northumberland can be a little intermittent thanks Sam

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with friends and 2 dogs, other friends were occupying the Shepherds cabin, it’s a lovely quiet location with views over open countryside. We are returning later on in the year

Maureen from Pontefract stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in December 2021


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed the Bothy and were able to spend time with your friends, see you later in the year Thanks Sam

Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, super welcome package of goodies, beautiful area, beach walks amazing! Will definitely be back!

Guest from Tamworth stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in December 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Hi Julie Thanks for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. See you next year ! Sam

Pleasant cottage near Beadnell

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant cottage in quiet location, a few minutes walk from Beadnell on the Norrthumbrian coast. Lovely views of open fields from the dining area/veranda. Would recommend for a secluded comfy retreat, although not completely isolated as there are three more holiday properties nearby.

Guest from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in October 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Hi Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views from the Bothy. Thanks Sam

Cozy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely welcome gift ...cake was delicious
Comfy bed
Needs updating in some areas
Needs larger television


Paul from Escrick York stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in October 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Hi Barbara. Thanks for your review and feedback, we appreciate all comments as it helps us with our customer service. Thank you Sam

Lovely little cottage in spectacular scenery

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful example of a hideaway with wonderful rear countryside views.
Modern conveniences provided to complement carefully chosen decor, furniture and overall finish, contributing to a warm and comforting environment provided for the guests.
Ample parking, detailed instructions and guidance.
Fabulous welcoming gifts, very much appreciated by us after a long drive up. We felt relaxed and in a ‘home from home’ environment as soon as we stepped through the door. Lovely touches for the pooch too - especially the biscuits
I have given a 4 for personal comfort as I found the double mattress to be rather soft for my back (but I appreciate this is personal preference).
I would happily recommend The Bothy to friends and family, thank you for letting us stay.



Tina from Nr Nuneaton stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in October 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Hi Tina Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we appreciate your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks Sam

Great week

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd trip to The Bothy. The perfect home from home holiday location. Nothing is too much trouble during your stay here. I would highly recommend it. The dogs loved it too

Bronwynn from Mirfield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in October 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Thank you [Emoji Removed] see you next time, Sam

Fantastic as always

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location,clean,fully equipped & home from home it’s our 4th stay with mains cottages.
Sam and Stephen are friendly,great and nothing is too much bother,the welcome cake,choc & Vino is lovely.
Dog friendly.
In easy reach of lots of places to visit,Craster,Bamburgh,Holy Island,list is endless.
We are still finding new places to go on our 4th visit here.
Highly recommend any of mains cottages properties.


Tracey from Warrington stayed at The Bothy for 6 nights in September 2021


Sam Smith replied 307 days ago
Hi Tracey Thanks so much for your fab review and we are so pleased that you love to stay with us and hope you keep coming for many years to come thanks Sam

The Bothy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay here no hesitation on rebooking again such a lovely cottage . Unfortunately had to shorten our stay for personal reasons .but really enjoyed our time there

Tricia from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in August 2021


Sam Smith replied 331 days ago
Hi Tricia Thanks for your lovely review and sorry you had to leave earlier than planned. Hope you come back soon and stay thanks Sam

Lovely cottage and views from the garden

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at The Bothy and we have just booked again for next year.

The welcome pack of cake and wine is a lovely touch and the location is perfect to explore the local beaches.


Joanne from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2021


Sam Smith replied 331 days ago
Hi Jo Thank you so much for your lovely review and for booking to come back next year. Hopefully will get the chance to see you when you next stay

Just what we needed for a quiet, uncomplicated holiday with lots of beach walks. Very well appointed

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything worked! Everything was clean! Welcome cake was very welcome. I managed to eke it out to a mighty 3 days, before the last crumbs were hoovered.
The Bothy was the perfect size for 2 children and 2 dogs. Lots of electrical points for chargers and laptops. Laundry room was brilliant.
TV was compact, but only needed to watch the footy, so not an issue. The dogs loved running around in the back yard. Didn't use the barbecue but it was clean and ready to go.
Kitchen had everything we needed, dishwasher was great. Again, everything worked and was clean.
The only thing I would change is to bring a bigger dog! Our Toy Poodle was sneaky enough to commando her way through the 5 bar gate on a couple of occasions.


Lynne from Cumbernauld stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2021


Samantha Smith replied 331 days ago
Hi Lynne Thank you so much for your amazing review! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy. I like your comment about 'bringing a bigger dog'. We will check out the gate and add some mesh to it, incase your bring the toy poodle back :) thanks Sam

Relaxing week away

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We amended our original booking in 2020 from 5days to a week in 2021, 4 adults from 2, and added an extra dog in....all changes accommodated without issue. On arrival, everything was as expected; clean, tidy and with dog treats! Location is just outside the village, perfect for a dog walk via a pub in the evening... Easy access to loads of locations; Holy Island, Bamburgh, Seahouses, Cragside, amongst others, but especially the beach. The beaches are great, loads of room, perfect for the dogs (and for a swim).
The sunsets from the garden at The Bothy were amazing. Great week away.


Diane from Ulverston stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2021


Samantha Smith replied 331 days ago
Hi Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your welcome pack and your stay at The Bothy and enjoyed exploring Northumberland thanks sam

A perfect, comfortable and peaceful break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the must perfect, comfortable and peaceful break at ‘The Bothy’. The bungalow is very homely and superbly equipped. It was sparkling clean, with comfortable sofas, chairs, beds and bedding. The pergola, rocking bench and fire pit were simply perfect for watching the most beautiful sunsets. We were so lucky to spot a barn owl on 2 of our evenings - magical. Sam could not have been more helpful with our TV issue. Oh and did I mention the cake and treats? Heaven! We would absolutely love to return here one day. Thank you so much for having us.

Jennifer from Newcastle stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in May 2021


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your fabulous review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the newly installed pergola and rocking chair were a success. Thank you for letting me know about the TV and that we were able to replace it quickly. Thanks for leaving the Bothy so neat and tidy when you left it is really appreciated

2nd time at The Bothy

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week spent at the Bothy. Everything you need is there and dog is made welcome too. Doggy and human treats waiting for you on arrival.
Great area for a break with your 4 legged family member.
Pubs in the village very dog friendly and only a ten minute walk away. Beadnell beach wonderful as are all the beaches along the Northumberland coast. Loved our stay and would return again.


Margaret from Buckley stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2021


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and for visiting us again. Pleased you enjoyed your treats and the dogs liked theirs too. Hope to see you again soon

Great stay at the Bothy !

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage- lovely welcoming owner. Good location for exploring the area - great dog treats !

Maureen from Liverpool stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in May 2021


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind review and hope you visit again sometime

Great cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed 4 days at The Bothy with our 4 dogs, what a great location, so easy to walk to Beadnell and beyond. Very comfortable cottage with lovely views across to the cheviot hills. Sam and her mum were lovely and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed lovely walks to Seahouses (fab fish and chips!), Low Newton ( recommend The Ship for lovely food, coffee and access to the stunning beach at Low Newton. Bamburgh is 5 miles away and also stunning. The Bothy was so clean and tidy with lovely comfortable beds. We will be back. thank you so much. Fiona, Alex, Eddie, Morris Nerina and Ebony.

Fiona from Saltburn-by-the-sea stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in April 2021


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Fiona, Alex, Eddie, Morris, Nerina and Ebony Thank you for staying with us at the Bothy and for your kind review. Sounds like your explored a lot of the area when you stayed and hope you come and visit again sometime

Lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a perfect stay. Cottage cosy, clean and has everything you need.
Great location for long walks.
Thank you


Nicola from stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in December 2020


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Family stay with 2 dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great Comms with Sam leading up to the stay, nice welcome gifts and cosy cottage. Beds comfy, decent shower and bath, and laundry attached. Enclosed garden very handy for the dogs. It's a steady 10 min walk to the pub, and a very short drive to beadnell beach which is great. No hesitation in recommending either the bothy or the area.

Mark from stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely property

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for a few days escape. So relaxing looking out at the view during breakfast. Very clean, and hosts very welcoming.

Margaret from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in October 2020


Another lovely holiday at The Bothy

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have been to The Bothy and it was just has lovely Sam and her staff were just has helpful It’s a nice location We walked into Beadnell a couple of times the garden was very lovely it’s has been done up we spent some time in the garden we were lucky we had very good weather we have booked to go next year can’t wait

Allan from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in August 2020


A lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy is a lovely cottage in a great location. We really enjoyed the view of the farmland from the back garden. The cottage has all the amenities you need, the beds are comfortable and the cake left on arrival was delicious.

Bryony from Crowborough stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in August 2020


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and enjoyed the cake. Hope you come and visit us again soon Take care Sam

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This, with the Shepherd's Cottage, provided an excellent holiday for a family with 3 generations. The venue was beautiful and very comfortable with lots of space to spread indoors and outdoors and also space to escape! It was especially good during "lockdown" as the venue had considered extra precautions and we had plenty of activities to entertain everyone whilst staying in our "bubble".

Guest from Stanley stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2020


The Bothy review

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a great wee here! Thoroughly recommend. Everything you need, dog friendly, walking distance to pub, restaurants and beach. Peaceful location to explore the beautiful Northumberland coast! Excellent comms from owner and all worked out as explained.

Peter from Shifnal stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2020


Cosy Country Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at The Bothy, it is so well equipped with everything you need for your stay. The back garden is lovely and secluded and it is lovely to sit out and enjoy the views. Great location for exploring Beadnell, Bamburgh and the surrounding areas

Miriam from Morpeth stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in July 2020


A lovely week

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week in the Bothy. It is in a brilliant location, just a short walk to Beadnall beach, the local shop, the pub, hotel and cafe, all of which were great. Also well situated for a longer walk or short drive to Seahouses.
The cottage has absolutely everything we needed and more. It was comfortable and we soon felt at home. The garden is fantastic, peaceful and secluded with a bbq, table and chairs etc. Loved it!
Although private The Bothy is close to other property (lodge, cottage, camping huts) with the same owners who are so friendly and helpful.
And a lovely wecome pack just topped the experience. .


Alison from Tyne And Wear stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2020


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Alison. thank you for your amazing review. It was great to see you and so pleased you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the Bothy and garden. Thanks Sam

Second visit to this wonderful property.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to this wonderful property, fantastic location and with everything you could possibly want nearby. Lovely friendly area with everyone trying to help, especially as whilst we were there the current restrictions came into force. The owners were very supportive and kept us well informed of the amenities that were open or closed. Would recommend this cosy little cottage to anyone, will definitely be going back for a third visit, especially as our dog loves the beaches and lovely open spaces.

Jason from Scarborough stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in March 2020


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you managed to enjoy your stay at The Bothy before everything shut down. Thank you for leaving the cottage so neat and tidy when you left and we look forward to you visiting again sometime Thanks Sam

Just the ticket

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t believe my luck , the weather , the area and the cottage were all out of this world ,oh as well as the behaviour of my two dogs!!!
I couldn’t have asked for anything more was far more than I expected .
Will definitely return for longer


Alayne from Halifax stayed at The Bothy for 2 nights in February 2020


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Alayne, thank you for your wonderful review and pleased you enjoyed your first experience in Northumberland. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again soon Sam

Not our first time, nor our last

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love Northumberland and we love this selection of properties. We have stayed in other cottages on the same site but as we are now just two and a dog the Bothy suits us fantastically well. Its a lovely little place, perfect for couples or small families and the facilities are perfect. Our dog has now got to know the property and seems to love coming as much as we do.

Can completely recommend the place.


David from Derby stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in December 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you David and Elaine for your lovely review and it was great to meet you this time. We hope you come and visit again soon thanks Sam

Excellent stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay, excellent facilities. Sam really goes the extra mile to ensure guests enjoy their stay. The Christmas tree was a lovely touch.
Clean, well equipped kitchen, excellent for dogs!
Beadnell towers food was lovely.
Thanks so much we will definitely be back!


Amber from stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in November 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Amber thank you for your kind review and so pleased that you loved your stay at The Bothy. We hope that you do come back and visit soon Thanks Sam

Absolute perfection!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy is clean, spacious, VERY well equipped & in the perfect location for walks from the door. It spacious enough for 4 also perfect for couples, dog friendly too. The grounds are well kept, the Bothy has EVERYTHING you'd need for a lovely stay. Warm & cosy for a winter stay or sun loungers & BBQ for a Summer break. We absolutely can not fault anything here. Sunsets & Sunrise an added bonus

Paul from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in November 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Paul for your review and it is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay again with us. See you in the summer! thanks Sam

Autumn holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy was a fantastic 'home from home' during our Northumberland walking holiday last month. We had dogs with us and the cottage was great for them. We hope to visit again some day.

Candia from Wolverhampton stayed at The Bothy for 8 nights in October 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Candia It was lovely to meet you when you stayed and thank you for your review. Hope you enjoyed your walking trip Sam

Cosy cottage in wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very welcoming cosy cottage with wonderful views.
A very handy location for all the beautiful places on the Northumberland coastline.
From Holy Island to Amble and everywhere in between.


Stuart from stayed at The Bothy for 14 nights in September 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at the Bothy and exploring Northumberland and we hope that you visit again soon thanks Sam

Our second stay at The Bothy

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s our second stay at The Bothy, we love it as so quiet and great views for a good price. Sam was very helpful after I found no grill pan or large baking trays, they dropped some off the next day whilst we were out.
We even got good weather, we managed to avoid the rain somehow!
The Bothy is cosy, our reactive lurcher is happy there, he even spotted a rabbit in the garden!
Sam was happy to let the other guests know our dog was reactive and to keep their dogs away he they saw him.
Found lots of lovely places to visit too, the beach is about a 20 min walk away which we didn’t mind, but there was parking near the beach too and not far from the A1 which leads to lots of good places


Rachael from Sheffield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in September 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Rachael, it was lovely to meet you all when you stayed again and thank you for letting us know about the missing items and your patience for getting them to you. Hope to see you next year thanks sam

Great holiday in Beadnell

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy was great for our week-long stay at Beadnell. The garden was enclosed and great for the dog to play in. We had a problem with wi-fi but this was fixed promptly and it was nice to actually talk the kids for a change!

Paul from Sedgefield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in August 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, thank you for your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your patience with the wifi and pleased you enjoyed the down time with the family whilst it was off :) Sam x

A wonderful time at The Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at The Bothy it was very clean and tidy it was like home from home going off to places and just relaxing at The Bothy Sam and her husband were very helpful our pushchair had a mishap and Sam’s husband repaired it for us also Steve and is wife were most helpful and friendly would we Come again yes we would

Alan from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Allan It was lovely to meet you and the family during your stay and we were pleased that we could help out with the pushchair. Thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you again next year

Lovely cottage great location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is good close to town and shops ,but lovely and quiet great views from garden.cottage has everything you need and some treats too wine biscuits cake even doggie treats!. Lots to do in area will definitely come back.

Moira from stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

Wonderful Cottage and great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful time we had at this exceptional cottage, our puppy absolutely loved his stay. From the delightful treats upon arrival for all of us to the great location as a base to discover Northumberland. Fantastic hosts who made our stay so welcoming, we will definitely be returning. Can’t recommend this cottage highly enough, thank you so much Sam and family.

Jason from Scarborough stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Gillian, Jason and Jasper, It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and puppy enjoyed his treats (we have emailed you the recipe) Hope you come and stay again sometime Kind regards Sam

Best doggie holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn’t know what to expect but it couldn’t have been better. Our dogs absolutely loved it and it was very safe for two young collies. so we will most likely be back next year.
Sam and her team made us feel very welcome, the doggie treats were a nice touch.


Margaret from Mirfield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi It was great to meet you and the pooches during your stay and pleased the doggie treats went down well. Hope to see you again another time thanks sam

Comfortable, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome awaited us with a delicious cake, a bottle of wine, chocolate and a welcome pack for our dog. The cottage was plenty big enough for of us. The cottage was comfortable and nicely furnished. The kitchen was well-equipped and looked quite newly fitted. There was an enclosed patio area (although sadly the weather wasn’t suitable for us to enjoy it as much as we would have liked). The Bothy was well-situated for lots of day trips and a 5 minute drive to the beach arbor a Beadnell Bay (free car park!).

Lesley from Rugeley stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind review and apologies for not responding earlier. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy and hope you visit again sometime

A weeks holiday in the bothy with my partner, sister, brother in law and 5 dogs!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay. Beautiful beaches within 2 miles and many more within the area. Banburgh Castle was also very close by. The bothy was a lovely place to stay with its beautiful countryside views and enclosed private garden. We saw hundreds of birds and we also saw deer in the field. The cottage was perfect for us and the welcome card, cake milk and wine was very much appreciated. The dogs enjoyed their home made biscuits and there was even a doggie first aid kit! The owners were like friends to us and were there for any advice or problems which we never had! We did not want to come home. As an extra bonus, the weather was beautiful. A very big thank you to all concerned for our fantastic holiday.

Mary from Melton Mowbray stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Apologies for the delay in responding - It is so lovely to know that you all enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and the welcome packs - both human and doggie - were enjoyed. It was lovely to meet you and hope that you do come and stay again soon

the Bothy

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holiday cottage was very well equipped. Comfy and clean. Hosts were very welcoming. In an ideal location for the beaches of Northumberland.

Anne from stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Anne for your lovely review. It was great to see you and the pooches and look forward to seeing you later in the year thanks Sam

First, not last

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed before on this site in a different property but this was the first time in the Bothy. We loved the Bothy, perfect small cottage for a small family. We are loving the area and this site is perfectly situated for the area.

David from Derby stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI David Thank you for your wonderful review and it was so good to have you back. Pleased you enjoyed the Bothy and hope to see you again next year thanks sam

Brilliant at the Bothy

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly welcome, the Bothy provided everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Beadnell, lovely place. Just one thing, we couldn't let our Lurcher dog off lead in the back garden as the fence/hedge was low. One sight of a rabbit and she'd have been over and off! Not really a problem as she had lovely runs on the nearby beach! Thank you again for a lovely stay, and the cake was delicious.

Margaret from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in March 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the cake! We appreciate your feedback about the fence and understand your concern. Pleased she enjoyed the beach though thanks sam

Good value for.money

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage very cosy and comfortable. Lovely welcoming pack both for humans and dogs. The only disappointment was the garden. The fencing wasn't very high and any determined agile dog would be over it. Also the paved area could have done with a good clean as it was quite slippy when damp and falling leaves. The cottage could also do with a bit more outside lighting.

Margaret from Sheffield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in November 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Margaret Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found the cottage comfortable and enjoyed the welcome pack. I am sorry about the patio being slippy, we will sort that out this week and I hope it didn't cause too much trouble. We have looked at adding more lighting but with being in an area of dark skies it is not encouraged and we have supplied torches when being outside with the dogs. But we will certainly look to see if we can add any sort of downlighters so it does not have too much impact but helps when being outside Kind regards Sam

Perfect short holiday with our dogs.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners were there to welcome us with a homemade cake, wine and homemade dog treats. That set the happy tone for the remainder of our stay. I can't wait to return to the beautiful beaches, friendly village and the cosy Bothy.

Una from Tyne and Wear stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in October 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Una, It was lovely to meet you and Anne and the dogs last week and I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at The Bothy. We do hope that you come and stay again soon Thanks Sam

Very nice cottage, would recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in walking distance of village and short driving distance to Seahouses. The cottage has everything you need and more, the owners have really thought of everything you could need during your stay.

Kaye from stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in September 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kaye, thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay Thanks sam

A wonderful little bolt hole

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy provided my sister and I with a marvellous place to stay on our recent family holiday. The ‘children’ and grandchildren stayed in Shepherds Cottage so the grannies had a superb bolt hole away from the hubbub! The views at the back of the cottage are absolutely fantastic, we had our early morning cup of tea out there and our last drink of the day there too. Sitting in the dingy that was crafted into a bench seat, watching the wildlife, including a deer one morning! Well equipped cottage with very comfortable beds. The kitchen is very small but lacked nothing. An outside shed houses the washing machine etc. Will certainly recommend this place.

Catherine from Berwick stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, thank you Cathi for your review about The Bothy, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay there and all the family enjoyed the Cottage. Pleased you got to use the boat seat, that was something Stephen and I made last year. Sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope to see you all again soon

Our stay at The Bothy

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time staying at the Bothy. The hospitality was excellent. Cake wine and treats for our dog when we arrived. It was clean and well placed with stunning views. I would certainly recommend staying here. The most pet friendly place we have ever stayed.

Christine from Bolton stayed at The Bothy for 14 nights in July 2018


A beautiful location with panoramic views.The hosts are welcoming and very generous.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week spent in the Bothy.The cottage location is a lovely rural one and our views from the garden were wonderful and very private.
The cottage is wonderfully equiped by thoughtful and generous hosts.On arrival there was cake,chocolate and wine together with homemade doggy biscuits our Staffie woofed down.


Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are pleased that you all enjoyed the cake, chocolate and wine and that the Staffie enjoyed the homemade biscuits. Hope you come and visit us again soon thanks Sam

A fabulous find!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay! We found The Bothy clean. very comfortable, homely and well equipped. The welcome cake, wine and dog goodies were a lovely touch. It is clear how dog friendly The Bothy is and it gave us great peace of mind that the garden was completely secure. Our two would have found a way out if there was one! I slept in the massive double bed which was very comfortable. There was a lot of information provided in the cottage about things to do and places to go and I found the list of dog friendly pubs very helpful.

The location is very peaceful with lovely views from the garden. We were blessed with the weather and took full advantage of the beaches at Beadnell and Bamburgh for some lovely dog walks. Thank you also to Sam for arranging at short notice a wonderful dog sitter / walker so we could have a dog free day out at Alnwick Gardens - the cherry blossom was in full bloom and stunning. We felt totally confident leaving our two furries with Kate.

We very much look forward to more holidays at The Bothy in the future.

Thank you Sam and family.

Caroline, Shirley, Mr. Darcy and Ivy


Caroline from Gatehouse Of Fleet stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Caroline, Shirley, Mr Darcy and Ivy We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at The Bothy and exploring Northumberland. It was lovely to talk to you whilst you were staying. I am so pleased that Mr Darcy and Ivy had a great time with Kate and enjoyed their holidays too so that you could relax and explore Alnwick Gardens. We do hope that you come and stay again sometime Kind regards Sam

Very pet friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage in fantastic location and all dog needs catered for. Would benefit from some general refurbishment.

Lynda from Alfreton stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lynda, Thank you for your review and for your feedback about refurbishment. We have recently completed a refurb on the main rooms in the house and we really appreciate your feedback about the bathroom refurb, which is our next plan, so won't be too long. Thank you again and I am pleased that you had a great holiday and look forward to you coming again Kind regards Sam

IDEAL FAMILY UNIT

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE HAD THE BOTHY AND THE COTTAGE TO ACCOMMODATE A FAMILY WEEKEND SO MOST OF THE TIME WAS SPENT IN THE COTTAGE WITH THE BOTHY BEING USED FOR SLEEPING ONLY. IT WAS IDEAL FOR THAT AND WE WERE AWARE OF THE OTHER FACILITIES WHICH WE DID NOT USE - THE GARDEN AND AL FRESCO EATING ETC. THERE IS A LOT TO DO IN THE AREA AND BEADNELL IS AN IDEAL LOCATION. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.

Don from stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Don Pleased that the Bothy helped with the extra guests this year and that you enjoyed the stay there. See you another time Sam

A lovely Bothy

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great visit to the Bothy, it was very clean and in excellent condition. Sam had kindly left us a bottle of fizz to see in the New Year as well as cake and a bottle of red. We are hoping to return soon.

Sarah from stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in December 2017


Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sarah, thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the cake and fizz and found The Bothy to your liking Hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Comfortable cottage in beautiful spot

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time with Mains Cottages but first time in the Bothy. Loved our stay. Beautiful place

Martin from Maltby stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in November 2017


Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Martin, Thank you for revisiting us and I am pleased that you enjoyed The Bothy and hopefully you will come back and stay again Kind regards sam