FB Twitter

Shepherds Cottage

Shepherds Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Shepherds Cottage is situated on the outskirts of Beadnell village and is perfect for larger groups of friends and family.

Beautiful place to stay for a beautiful celebration.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful weekend in Shepherds Cottage celebrating our parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. The accommodation was not only perfect for the range of ages and mobility issues but also in terms of the space and facilities on offer. The garden was wonderful and secure for our dogs and so pretty and peaceful to sit enjoying the sunshine. The seating availability both inside and out is vast and enables you to sit as a group in 4 different areas. The games room was also brilliant and kept everyone occupied at different times during the weekend. The cottage definitely got a 10/10 from us all and we loved the welcome gifts. The cake was absolutely delicious and I would have passed it off as my own if the rest of the family thought I could bake.!!!

Jan from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in July 2022


Sam smith replied Today
Hi Jan, thank you for your 10 out of 10 review. I am so happy that you all managed to enjoy the wedding anniversary celebrations with all the family. Thanks Sam

Shepherds cottage WOW!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW! what a fabulous place to stay the cottage is beautiful and they have thought of everything you need the garden is beautiful the games room is out of this world. We had an amazing stay thankyou so much .we will be booking again and again

Paul from Throckley, Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 4 nights in July 2022


Sam Smith replied Today
Hi Thank you for your review and I am so happy that you loved the cottage and games room. Hope you come back and visit soon thanks Sam

Our third stay !!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Shepherds Cottage ! It offers all the facilities we need for 10 humans shed 66 to 5 yrs and a dog !! Loads of space (indoors and out )The games room is a real bonus ! Well equipped kitchen ! The hosts are very friendly and welcoming Really looking forward to staying here for Christmas -

Brenda from Morpeth stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in May 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Brenda, thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay again, see you at Christmas Thanks Sam

Shepherds Cottage is by far one of if not the best accommodation we have stayed in.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed now in all of the properties here at this site and they just keep getting better. ❤️❤️

Dominic from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in May 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Dom, thank you for your great review and so pleased you have tried all the properties there. You just have two more to go! thanks Sam

Another fabulous stay in Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of ten has just returned from another stay at Shepherds Cottage (4th visit) and we have all had a brilliant time. Everything supplied for a very enjoyable stay for all ages of the family.

Sheena from Morpeth stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in April 2022


Sam Smith replied 56 days ago
Hi Sheena, many thanks for your kind review and so pleased you enjoy staying, See you next year Thanks Sam

Family break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a weekend at Shepards Cottage, to celebrate my sisters 40th birthday.
We had a fantastic break - the cottage was like home from home. Our children ages range from 4 - 12 and all were entertained with the variety of options in the games room. The cottage was spacious and comfortable. Great location too, only a 5 minute car journey into Seahouses. Would definitely recommend.


Mel from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 2 nights in February 2022


Samantha Smith replied 117 days ago
Hi Mel, thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased the birthday celebrations went well. Thanks Sam

A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Shepherds Cottage. The space and facilities were extensive and beds extremely comfortable. We have thoroughly enjoyed celebrating time with friends in a beautiful location. The cottage has wonderful views and is very private and peaceful. Our friends particularly enjoyed the games room which has everything you can imagine!
Thank you for having us.


Jennifer from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in October 2021


Sam Smith replied 230 days ago
Hi Jen Thanks again for visiting us and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you next year Sam

Perfect for a larger group

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arranged a family get together at Shepherds Cottage to celebrate a big birthday. Six adults and four children and plenty of room for all us, also very comfortable. Everything you can think of was provided and we were able to take our 3 dogs too. Lovely enclosed garden and a games room which was great for both the adults and the children. Within walking distance of Beadnell which has a lovely pub, cafe and beach. Would definitely stay here again.

Julie from West Linton stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 4 nights in October 2021


Samantha Smith replied 307 days ago
HI Julie, Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations at Shepherds Cottage. We would love for you to come and stay again sometime. Thanks Sam

The Magical Shepherd's Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherd's Cottage is a magical place. It was perfect for our large family of mixed ages from 74 years old to 5 months. The barbeque house and the huge games room were a special hit with everyone. The pretty garden was a safe and wonderful place for outdoor games and relaxing.
Indoors the two large comfortable sitting rooms gave ample space for everyone. The house was so well equiped from the kitchen to ensuite bedrooms. The huge tables in the kitchen and conservartory meant we could all eat together comfortably.
Short drive, or a 15 minute walk, to the beach was ideal.
Sam and her family had thought of everything to make our stay wonderful. Everyone had a great time. Thank you.


Nicky from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Sam Smith replied 307 days ago
Wow, thank you for your wonderful review. It makes us so happy to know that you all enjoyed your stay at Shepherds Cottage. We do hope you come and stay again another time thanks Sam

A perfect family holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in August in 3 of the cottages, Shepherds Lodge, Shepherds Cottage and The Bothy. All 3 were comfortable, clean and very well equipped, with everything you could possibly need for a weeks holiday. The games room was just fantastic, and loved the bbq hut! We will be back!! Thank you.

Lydia from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Sam Smith replied 307 days ago
HI Thank you for your kind review and pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in the 3 cottages. We do hope you come and visit another time, thanks Sam

Family get away

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd stay at sherperds cottage, perfect for a family get together. Everything you need ,very spacious, huge games room and bbq hut. Lovely garden very dog friendly.
Cake and prosecco on arrival, friendly owners. Already booked for next year.


Donna from Barnsley stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Sam Smith replied 331 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and so pleased that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next year Thanks Sam

Family stay at Mains Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful time at the cottages with all the family. This is our 4th time at the cottages and always find them the same, welcoming, comfortable, dog friendly and ideally located just 10 mins for the beach. The dogs had a great time chasing each other around the large garden. Thanks to Sam and family for a wonderful stay!

Anne from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anne Lovey to welcome you back again this year and so pleased you enjoyed staying in all the properties again and pleased the dogs enjoyed the garden and beaches Thanks Sam

A weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, well equipped and spacious house with a fantastic, dog-friendly garden. Really helpful and kind owners. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would thoroughly recommend and would like to come back.

Catherine from York stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in July 2021


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Catherine. Thank you so much for you kind review and pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will come and stay for longer next time Thanks Sam

Extremely happy returning guests!!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we’ve had the pleasure of experiencing this wonderful accommodation at Beadnell and we will 100% return again.

The accommodation is beautifully laid out, clean, comfortable and due to all the lovely touches it’s as easy as being at home.

Sam & Co are so welcoming and really have thought of everything from beach towels and fishing nets to dog brushes.

Thank you again for another fabulous stay and we can’t wait to book again!


Emma from Harrogate stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Another perfect stay st Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at Shepherds Cottage (third visit), and it was just perfect. Our family of nine have had a lovely time and enjoyed our time together in a perfect setting and accommodation which catered for all our needs. Another very enjoyable holiday and we will are looking forward to booking again.

Sheena from Morpeth stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 4 nights in May 2021


Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
HI Sheena and family It was so lovely to see you all during your stay and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again Take care Sam

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic family break ar Shepherds Cottage.with our two teenagers and elderly parent.
The property is extremely spacious and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Having four en suite bathrooms was also a real bonus for our family as everyone enjoyed having their own space/ privacy.
The games room was amazing and our children really enjoyed the pool, darts and table tennis. In fact they said this house was the best place they had ever stayed at.
The location could not be better with views of the sea from virtually every window and also the best garden / outdoor space you could ever want. We were very lucky with the weather so sat outside for breakfast and also spent time in Beadnell and of course the beautiful beach at Beadnell Bay.
A real home from home in every way, providing some much needed rest and relaxation for our family - we will definitely be back!
Thanks also for the delicious cake, chocolate and wine, they were very much appreciated!


Lynn from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in May 2021


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Lynn, Peter and family, Thank you so much for your amazing review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything Shepherds Cottage had to offer. You will have to come and visit again Thanks Sam

We’ll definitely be back.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again everything was in perfect order. This was our third time staying here and each time we are impressed by Shepherds cottage. The cottage itself is clean, tidy and spacious. However, you also get bbq hut and a well kitted out games room where we spent a lot of time.
Also it is just a short walk into Beadnell.
As the title say we will definitely be back.


James from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 6 nights in September 2020


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks again for your wonderful review and so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us again. See you next time!

Love this cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is excellent for larger familes and groups. The extra outdoor summer house, barbi hut and games room just add to the space and things to do. There is an excellent kitchen, very well equipped and a choice of seating areas to eat for up to 12 people. Theres is no need to go out, a good point especially during these tricky times. But if you do want to go out the cottage is in a great location, with 3 eating places just 10 mins walk, a bit further to Beadnall beach and a short drive( or long walk) to Seahouses and Bamburgh. We will definitely be returning. Thank you!!

Alison from Gateshead stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


Best holiday ever

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've holidayed in Northumberland many times, and hand on heart I can honestly say this has been the best so far... the virtual tour of this beautiful cottage is well put together and sells it well, but it doesn't do it justice.
The rooms are all spacious, the conservatory was lovely.
The gardens were enjoyed by adults and children alike, and then there was the games room which we spent many a night entertaining ourselves.
I promise I will use the indoor bbq next time as we will be back.
John and Sam have been great hosts on the two occasions I've booked their cottages with them.
Thank you again
The Aherne clan and Walshy


Daniel from Bradford stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Daniel and all the clan! It was lovely to see you all again when you stayed and we are so happy that you loved your stay. Thank you for you lovely words about Jon and I and we do hope you come back and stay with us again soon so you can use that BBQ hut. Obviously the games room took over Take care and thanks again Sam

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This, with the Bothy, provided an excellent holiday for a family with 3 generations. The venue was beautiful and very comfortable with lots of space to spread indoors and outdoors and also space to escape! It was especially good during "lockdown" as the venue had considered extra precautions and we had plenty of activities to entertain everyone whilst staying in our "bubble".

Guest from Stanley stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Shepherds Cottage. Second visit with our family of nine and we all had a lovely time with plenty to entertain all. Safe garden for children and plenty of fun in the games room for all ages. Looking forward to another visit.

Sheena from Morpeth stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Oh to be by the sea

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely time at Shepherds cottage. Great spacious house with games room and bbq hut, enclosed garden for little ones and dog to safely run around.
The house has a warm and comfortable feel to it. Hosts very kind in making our first holiday after lock down feel happy and safe. Thank you


Guest from Huddersfield stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 5 nights in July 2020


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt relaxed after lockdown take care Sam

40th birthday party

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 adults, a 2 year old and 2 dogs had a fantastic stay for my 40th. Could not fault anything about the cottage. Loads of space for all inside and out, perfect garden for dogs, hours of fun in the games room for all, could not fault a thing. Everything we needed was there. Lovely welcome from Sam and so close to the beach. AMAZING, thankyou.

Pamela from Richmond stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020


Mains Cottages, Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant holiday again, 5th year in a row & already booked for next year. The place is superb & Sam & family cannot do enough for you.

Rob from Manchester stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2020


Week escape from fireworks for our dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful week we had at Shepherds Cottage. Our dogs don’t like the fireworks so we always like to take them away and it was wonderful we didn’t hear any:)

Family joined us for a few days and we were all able to enjoy the fantastic facilities at the cottage playing darts, table tennis, snooker and pool. On the a couple of the evenings we used the BBQ hut which was fabulous and really good fun.

The surrounding area was great with some beautiful beaches which were so quiet at this time of year we were extremely fortunate.

A big thank you to Sam for the goodies left for us and for all the helpful advice it was really appreciated. We would definitely recommend the cottage it really is a wonderful home to all get together


Michelle from Coventry stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in November 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and all the games in the games room, we hope that you stay again sometime thanks Sam

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need is here in fact if you never left the house you wouldn’t be bored, the games room is a child ( or big kids delight) the BBQ hut is fab.. the garden is huge and the dogs absolutely loved playing.

Sam and her family are truly wonderful hosts and will highly recommended any of their property’s ( please don’t book though we want to go back next year ha ha:-)




pamela from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 5 nights in October 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Pamela, thanks for your review and your recommendation - you need to get booked in for next year so you don't lose out. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was great to meet you when you stayed thanks Sam

Super week at Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from a great week at Shepherds Cottage with our multi dog family! What a fabulous place for a holiday, the cottage was well furnished with comfy beds and lots of facilities. The conservatory was used far more than the lounge, it's a brilliant space, it may be a suggestion to have a small TV in there as well as in the lounge? Not that we watched much TV as the walks, beaches and points of interest were too many to mention. The cottage is ideally placed for visiting so many places and we will definitely be hoping to return again next year.
The garden was ideal in many ways, though we were just slightly worried about how 'dog secure' the fencing was as a couple of our dogs can be quite determined escapologists and with the fast traffic on the adjacent road, we didn't ever leave them unattended in the garden. That isn't a criticism in any way and I'm sure there's never been an issue but it was just something we were aware of and we understand that no garden can be deemed as 'dog proof'.
Many thanks for a great week in beautiful Northumberland (even in the pouring rain!) you are very lucky people living there!


Catherine from Chorley stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 6 nights in September 2019


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Catherine for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will have a think about a TV in the conservatory but sometimes as you say there is lots of other things to do. I understand about the garden and we have had our two collies, lucy and bella test it out but I know what some houdini dogs are like and we will keep checking the fencing to ensure that it stays safe. Hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Spacious and comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 4th time staying at Shepherds cottage. We have enjoyed every trip here but the recent changes have made it even better...new kitchen along with new beds and modernised ensuites. Beautiful location with plenty landmarks in driving distance (or walking).

Victoria from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Victoria Thanks again for your fab review and visiting us year on year. We will be tackling the bathrooms this year so you will have to come back again and see the changes thanks sam

Brilliant location, good level of comfort and great welcome

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage offers plenty of comfortable accommodation in a very handy location. The beds were great and cleanliness to a high standard. A good deal of thought has gone into caring for all needs, including children and dogs. The welcome was brilliant including the home-make cake in the fridge and bottle of wine. From early morning walks on Beadnell beach to sitting in the conservatory watching the sun go down over the fields, Northumberland has so much to enjoy and Shepherds cottage is very well placed for accessing all there is on offer.

If possible to make to a small request for some oven gloves, that would be great!


Penelope from The Sands, Farnham stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Penelope for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and all it has to offer, as well as the cake! Apologies for the missing oven gloves I will make sure that there are some there next time thanks sam

Great Celebration weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with plenty of room for everyone. Cottage very well equipped everything you need. Our dog loved the treats left for him.
Very clean and good beds.
Owners very helpful and friendly.
Games room perfect for families on rainy days. Would book again and will highly recommend to friends.


June from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in July 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that your enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us at Shepherds Cottage. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

just perfect for our family

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great holiday and the weather was mostly kind to us. Accommodation very spacious, plenty of room for 6 adults, 2 children, 2 babies and 2 dogs. Garden is a bit of a wilderness but that attracts the wildlife which we love and there is plenty of room to run and play and the children and dogs loved it. Indoor bbq hut and games room were amazing, well equipped and frequently used. Views front and back of hills, fields, the sea. Loved sitting watching the birds in the garden. Location excellent, far enough on edge of village to be peaceful but just a 20 min stroll to the Craster Arms (and I am an arthritic 65 yr old, the younger members of the party did it in 10 mins.) Shops and eating places close by. Beadnell bay beach is a five minute drive from the property, short distances to other places for sightseeing. We think Cragside House is well worth a visit.
Yes its a bit dated and showing wear and tear in places but it has the atmosphere of a well loved family home, comfortable and cosy. Décor is not a big issue when you can sleep well in comfortable beds, chill out on the numerous sofa's, get together for meals in the well equipped kitchen, get some quiet space if wanted in the massive conservatory, garden, bbq hut, games room, lounge or your bedroom (all en suite so no queues for toilet and shower.)
Altogether a real find. Owners friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others and would stay here again if over the north east again in future.


Gillian from Barrow In Furness stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very informative review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Shepherds Cottage and all of the amenities it has to offer. We are working our way through the decor so hopefully you will see some changes if you come and stay with us again. We do like to keep the cottage feel about it but we are aware that some areas need some updating. Thanks again for your review and your recommendations and do hope you visit the North East again in the future thanks Sam

Even Better than we expected!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (3 adults and 6 Kids) stayed in shepherds cottage for a week. The weather was awful for the First 2 days so the games room, BBQ indoors and wood burning stove we're Just what we needed! The cottage was very comfortable, the kitchen was very well equiped, the views were Amazing.

Jane from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 6 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Jane Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the English weather! Pleased that you got to use all of the facilities and explored some of Northumberland thanks Sam

Making memories!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family are spread quite far apart in location so we try to get together for a week at least once a year.
Shepherds Cottage is located in one of our favourite places. The cottage has everything we could wish for , spacious and well equipped. Each bedroom has an en-suite which is important to us . The garden,games room and BBQ hut were hugely enjoyed by us all and our 3 Whippet’s . The conservatory was so relaxing in the afternoon after a long walk on the superb beaches .
We can’t wait to return!


Karen from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Karen for your great review, we are so pleased that everyone enjoyed their stay, including the Whippets. hope to see you again next year thanks Sam

Great base for exploring all Northumberland has to offee

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was a fantastic find - well laid out and provisioned, plenty spacious for the number of guests it caters to (three communal rooms, plus the kitchen and outside games room).
Comfortable bedrooms with plenty of space. Positioned in a quiet space outside the village but there's a pavement to walk in and Beadnell is all of half a mile away. Easy to hop into the car and explore the Northumberland coast or head into the Cheviots (only a 30 minute drive to Wooler). Sam and Steve were both lovely and accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend and actually wondering if we can fit in another trip, because a weekend really wasn't long enough...


Guest from York stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura Thank you kindly for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and it was lovely to meet you all. WE do hope that you come and stay again soon Kind regard Sam x

The best dog friendly property we have come across

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at this property and if we are visiting this area we would not consider anywhere else. We have two Jackapoo's who love the nearby beach. The owner is Sam Smith who cannot do enough for you & is contactable at any time along with her brother Steve. We have already decided to book again for the same time next year.

Rob from Manchester stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rob, thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was great to see you all again this year and the new little addition - betty. We are so pleased that you love the cottage and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. thank you also for letting me know you made an error with the cleanliness score (marking it 3 out of 5 instead of 4 out of 5) I will ensure that the cobwebs are cleaned away from the corners of the rooms thanks Sam

Family retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a great location with the beach just a 15 minute walk away. There are good local amenities within 5 minutes drive. The cottage itself is wonderfully spacious, there was 2 children and 7 adults plus our dogs staying there for a week, and there was more than enough room for us all. Whether you choose to relax in the conservatory watching the wildlife in the garden, or watching tv in the living area with a hot chocolate next to the real fire or doing cross words at the huge kitchen table or even sat playing board games, or going to play snooker, pool, darts in the games room you're sure to have enough room and things to do. It caters for all ages our group ranged from 2yrs to 72yrs old. Also there is a wonderful bbq hut in the garden something not to miss using it was so snug on a cold February night. The garden is secured well for your dogs and is quite big for them to have a good run around if there not tired out by all the walking you have done. Definitely a place not to be missed out on. I don't normally do reviews but I can honestly say we all loved this cottage. Sam and her brother Stephen make you feel so welcome it was lovely meeting such genuinely lovely people. Plus Sam gave us a sneak preview of her new shepherds retreat lodges. They are absolutely stunning so if you want a romantic break for 2 i would definitely book one. Just imagine been sat outside in the hot tub with a glass of wine then going to bed looking through the glass roof falling asleep looking at the stars. Plus the other shepherds retreat lodge sleeps 4 so you don't have to miss out if you have children with you. We will definitely be returning for sure . I had one upset 8yr old girl that did not want to leave.

Cheryl from Hull stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Cheryl, I'm going to hire you for my marketing !! Thank you so much for this fabulous review, we loved meeting you and all the family and we are so pleased that you loved the cottage. Also thank you for your feedback about the new huts as it really helps to know we are doing the right thing, you will have to come and stay in them next time. Thank you for your lovely presents you gave us it was so kind and very much appreciated, still have the tulips - they are lasting well. Take care and see you again Sam x

Wonderful stay in fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, spacious, has everything you need, greeted with a huge salted caramel cake! Perfect for our 3 generations as lots of room to spread out and relax. Games room was fantastic for 2 teenage boys. BBQ hut unique and cosy! Hosts were lovely and we would definitely return.

Jo from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Jo for your kind review, It was lovely to meet you and looking forward to your return next year

Fantastic home to discover northumberland from.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the October school week with friends in Shepherd's Cottage, hoping to explore an area we did not know - what a fantastic base it turned out to be. The accommodation was more than we could have hoped for (4 adults and 3 'tween' girls) and we were made especially welcome by Sam and the lovely cake, chocolates and wine she left for us (as well as milk, tea, coffee ect.) There was also lots of very useful information on the local area. Shepherd's Cottage has everything and more you could want for a holiday home and was a fantastic place to spend time with friends ..... the girls even cooked for us one night and hosted a Murder Mystery game, which was great fun. We loved the BBQ hut and enjoyed cooking the great produce from the butcher in Bamburgh and the Games Room was well used. Beadnell is a short walk from the cottage and The Craster Arms pub does great food. We fell in love with the Northumberland coast - beautiful beaches, castles, great food, fantastic golf courses and friendly locals. The girls loved their day out to Alnwick Castle and learning the 'fly' a broomstick. We will definitely be back to explore some more and hope the weather will be as kind. Many thanks to Sam and family for making this a holiday with lots of memories.

Wendy from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Wendy for your fabulous review, it makes me so happy that we have helped to make lots of wonderful memories of your holidays. It is lovely to hear that you all had a fantastic time and made use of all the facilities. We loved having you to stay and hope that you come again sometime thanks Sam

Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A group of friends stayed at Shepherds Cottage for a week & thoroughly enjoyed it. The house, although on a main road, is remarkably quiet, very well equipped & comfortable. There is oodles of space for both dining & relaxing. Outside space is lovely with plenty of patio furniture & fantastic games room. Good communication with the owner who responded quickly to any queries. Overall a great base for a holiday in Northumberland.

Judith from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Excellent service. Fantastic, comfortable and well equipped accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely catch up with friends in Shepherd’s Cottage. The Cottage is very comfortable and has everything you would need. There are lots of room to sit and chat including a lovely log fire. There are various dining areas and a very well equipped kitchen for catering. The games room went down well.
Any issues we had were dealt with promptly and we really appreciated the lovely welcome we received from the owners including a delicious cake.


Gillian from Edinburgh stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Beautiful holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The exterior of this cottage belies the beautiful and very large interior. All the rooms are large light and airy. Plenty of room to find your own space when need be. Three eating areas for different occasion meals, Indoor BBQ was great fun, and handy should it rain. The massive games room was a No 1 hit with everyone and kept the grandchildren occupied from first thing in the morning, allowing parents a little lie in! An exceptional property which provided an exceptional holiday.

Catherine from Berwick stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Cathi, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was lovely to have you all stay. Pleased the games room game in useful for the grandchildren. Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left it was much appreciated

A lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent pre stay information.
A great cottage with plenty of room for 8 adults and 2 babies.
The games room was popular and the weather was very kind.
Lots of interesting places to visit and eat nearby.
Thank you Samantha and family, we had a brilliant holiday. The welcome pack was well received, especially the cake! The dog also liked his treats.
Hoping to return next year.
Carol


Carol from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Carol Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and enjoyed exploring Northumberland Sam x

An ideal base with something for everyone

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The entire family had a brilliant week in Shepherds Cottage - the actual cottage provided us with everything we could need and the location was perfect for exploring the area. The games room was particularly appreciated as were all the 'goodies' left to make us feel welcome - thank you, Sam. A minor issue occurred and this was dealt with swiftly and efficiently so thank you again, Stephen, for sorting this.
We visited various beaches, castles, gardens as well as enjoying crabbing off the harbour wall, crazy golf at Seahouses, the Grace Darling Museum at Bamburgh and causeway crossing to Holy Island, as well as a selection of good eateries suitable for all ages. Our last morning was a breakfast brunch at the Salt Water Café in Beadnell - excellent!


Lynn from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the goodies and your stay at the cottage. We hope that you come and stay with us again soon Kind regards Sam

IDEAL FAMILY UNIT

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THIS WAS OUR SECOND STAY AT THE COTTAGE WHICH HAS ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING ONE COULD WISH FOR INCLUDING A LARGE WELL EQUIPPED GAMES ROOM AND AN INDOOR BBQ UNIT. THE COTTAGE IS VERY ROOMY AND EVEN OUR LARGE FAMILY COULD EASILY FIND A QUITE SPOT AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD IF THEY WISHED. NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED FOR A FAMILY GET TOGETHER

Don from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Don Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay at the cottage with all the family and thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left. We hope you come and stay again soon Sam