FB Twitter

Roman Cottage

Roman Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Property Features

  • One hot tub is included in the cost
  • All properties are set in 15-acre shared gardens- there are no private gardens (see aerial view)
  • Pond 400 yards away from property
  • Ample free parking
  • All power and heat included
  • Large kitchen-dining area with separate lounge
  • 3 bedrooms (+2 single sofa beds in snug) sleeping a maximum of 12 guests- full floor plan available on our website
  • Ground floor cloakroom with W/C and basin
  • Ground floor shower room with shower cubicle, W/C and basin
  • First floor shower room with shower cubicle and basin
  • All bed linen and one bath towel per person included - extra towels for the hot tub are not provided
  • Children welcome (free cots and highchairs available on request)
  • For full list of amenities follow this link: www.villa-farm.com/roman-cottage

Group stay for Sabrina’s Hen Do

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, clean, group friendly accommodation conveniently close by to York.
We had two cottages for 22 of us.

I would highly recommend York Farm for groups of friends, families or couples.
I hope to return one day soon!


Michaela from Bedford stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in May 2022


Wedding Venue

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely experience. Superb organisation, excellent catering and exemplary customer service. Cannot praise (all) the staff too highly.

For future reference, some guests complained that they could not hear the speeches, probably because the single loudspeaker was positioned to the back and on one side of the room. I recommend a more comprehensive sound system for future events.

Otherwise, we will have no hesitation in recommending Villa Farm at every opportunity!

Thank you.


Rupert from Compton stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in February 2022


The York Barn Team replied 173 days ago
Good Afternoon Rupert, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you had a lovely experience and enjoyed the wedding. I am pleased to say we do have a new sound system in the pipeline as we speak, so hopefully this will solve this issue in the future. It is great news that you will recommend us in the future, and we also hope that you may come back to stay too. All The Best The York Barn Team

40th Birthday Celebrations - Girls Group

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing stay at Roman Cottage. We visited for 3 days for a friends 40th Birthday and had lots of activities booked during our stay which were all held at the house. The House was the perfect size, we very rarely left the Kitchen Area. it was great for a party and everyone being together. The pictures don't do it justice and its a lot bigger than we were expecting. The Staff were very accommodating with anything we needed during our stay.

A few negatives but nothing that would put me off for future bookings:
Bathroom Facilities - There is one really big bathroom (toilet/shower), Cloakroom Toilet and one upstairs shower room. It would really benefit from the big bathroom being split into two (based on it sleeping 12) and the showers updating, they have very little power so its a bit of a task washing your hair.
The hot tub was great but you are seen from the main road so unless you don't mind its better to be used once it goes dark. there is lighting so its great in the evening. A wooden screen/fence of some kind would be good to make it a little more private around the hot tub itself but without spoiling the view of the garden.
The Wifi only worked in the Kitchen area, this wasn't an issue as we pretty much lived in the Kitchen area, perfect for socialising

I would definitely visit again and recommend to my friends. it was such a great few days away with the girls


Chrissie from Wigan stayed at Roman Cottage for 4 nights in October 2021


Issues with cleanliness and elements of customer service

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The property itself was quite tired and in need of a deep clean, I expect wear and tear due to nature of peoples visit but floors were very dirty, and areas very dusty and could tell the place hadn’t had a thorough clean for some time, cottage was also full of flies, this was reported and fly spray and zapper was given but no follow up was done from this.
Shower leaked into living room and when reported nothing was done about it and no visit from anybody was made.
Although sheets/cutlery etc were clean the property itself is really in need of a proper clean, I expected scuffs on wall and areas that needed some work due to Hen parties coming and going but did expect the floors to be clean at least.
I would of thought when problems are reported that this should be followed up with a check but this doesn’t happen on both the occasion with flies and also reporting the leak
The initial communication with the company was very good and there was no issues there, the issues were at the site itself.
When tidying up the cottage the outside bins were overflowing which may of contributing to the fly issue, the utility room next door to Roman cottage was left open and was a mess, from a customers point of view it doesn’t look good to have a room which stores all cleaning and bedding materials to be in such a state. The staff did walk around on site smoking e cigs which doesn’t look very professional, as this was a hen party it didn’t offend us too much but can imagine if it was a special day like a wedding it would. A female member of staff was initially helpful with the fly issue but I felt this should of been followed up, the leak when reported was met with I’ll let someone know, then didn’t hear or see anything from anyone, the leak was quite bad and overtime would of damaged the property but didn’t seem like a concern for them. I assume maybe the site does get rowdy customers but being a hen party doesn’t mean everyone is like that and should just be left to it, if problems are reported it should be followed up out of courtesy



Lucy from Warrington stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in October 2021


Lovely weekend away with the girls

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovey cottage great location only a short bus ride to York.
Customer service was great from start to finish will definitely recommend and book again


Michelle from Nottingham stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in September 2021


Gorgeous stay with family and friends

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best stay at Roman Cottage, the building itself was gorgeous with plenty of choice for sleeping arrangements. The conditions were hygienic however it could be perfected slightly with a little more dusting of cobwebs etc. There's so much gorgeous land to play games and enjoy nice weather, with a nice touch of being able to use the BBQ. Lovely, helpful staff and good security when a wedding was on. We made use of the utilities, especially dishwasher. Would 100% return.

May from Stockton-on-tees stayed at Roman Cottage for 4 nights in August 2021


Review for Villa Farm, perfect stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great customer service especially having to re book twice due to covid. Really accommodating. Recieved a text when the property was ready, contactless arrival, very clean property with great amenities. Fantastic location would definitely book again

Natalie from Colburn,catterick Garrison stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in July 2021


Great place, great team!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at Villa Farm, Corrina and her team could not have been more helpful. Everything you need for a family get away.

Marcus from stayed at Roman Cottage for 13 nights in November 2020


Excellent staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a group of 9 girls in Roman Cottage and it was the perfect size. Kitchen is especially big and seated us all. Hot tub and BBQ facilities were great. We were able to decorate the cottage (as it was a 30th Birthday). We all thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. Customer service from Villa Farm was exceptional, especially during challenging COVID circumstances. I would 100% visit again.

Kate from Manchester stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in August 2020


Amazing family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for accommodating us so last minute. The lady who I emailed could not be more helpful, despite the fact she was going away herself.

The place is surrounded by beautiful scenery and we felt so calm and relaxed. The hot tub was an amazing addition for our children Who had an amazing holiday.

The layout is great - huge kitchen and large living room.

Having already had 2 holidays cancelled this year, we are more than grateful for your welcoming and helpful support. We already want to come back!


Lydia from stayed at Roman Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


A spacious and unique cottage with stunning Italian art on the ceilings

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was so unique as it had beautiful paintings on many of the ceilings.
With its own hot tub that outlooked a huge lawn you can relax on, it is the perfect place to stay in summer. There was even a barbeque there!
It was very clean and a nice place to stay.


Guest from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brill cottage, very spacious. Such good value for money. Lovely surroundings and only a ten min taxi into York. Couldn’t of asked for anything better.

Stacey from Castleford stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in April 2019


A great experience

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic venue in a perfect location, ideal for York centre. The service is fantastic, staff respond immediately and address everything. I cannot recommend this place highly enough for providing a perfect stay, perfect service with great standards.

Lisa from Lancaster stayed at Roman Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


The photos on the website don't do this place the justice it deserves!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I arrived a little earlier than the rest of the party so I could set up and I was amazed at how lovely the grounds were before we had got to our cottage! We were a little bit early for check in but there was already someone waiting for us to show us around. When we went into the cottage, I couldn't believe how big it was! The photos online were lovely but they don't do it justice at all. I was very, very impressed! Everywhere was immaculate.
We had an absolutely fantastic weekend and I would definitely come back. I think the only thing I would recommend, is that if you go in the summer, a fan might be a good idea in the bedrooms as it got a bit too hot to sleep, but it didn't spoil the weekend in any way.
I can say enough how impressed I was with everything!


Laura from Middlesbrough stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in August 2018


Hen party at Roman cottage Villa farm

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were a party of 11 staying at Roman Cottage for my daughters hen do. The location is just what we were looking for, relaxing with lots of green space but close to York. The cottage was perfect plenty of room for everyone. Only two showers so we had to be organised but we managed fine. Beautiful kitchen and decoration add to that the hot tub and it was a perfect stay that was good value for money.

Kay from Heanor stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in July 2018


Good location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Noises from hen party well into early hours 3.00 am and beyond. Fish in small pond very much compromised in this weather- algae in pond. Gardening a mess
H


Gillian from Skipton stayed at Roman Cottage for 3 nights in June 2018


Hen party 1st June

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and amenities at Villa Farm are brilliant. There are a number of cottages on site but still feel that our cottage was private.

Guest from Haltwhistle stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in June 2018


HEN do

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
12 hens staying in the house and we all had a fab time thank you so much. The facilities were really good however we did feel a toilet in the upstairs bathroom is a must. You could easily move the wardrobe to the other side of the room to make room to make the bathroom a bit bigger to fit one in. However this didn't ruin our stay would just of made it a bit easier. The grounds were beautiful and well cared for and all the staff we spoke with were really nice and accommodating. Thank you for all your help in the run up to our stay.

Kelly from Halifax stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in May 2018


Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I could not have wished for a better hen weekend. The cottage was perfect and the events with party york were brilliant! Everything went to plan and it was a fab weekend. Definitely would recommend to anyone and would go back again

Chloe from Halifax stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in April 2018


My hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a fabulous weekend we had a cocktail class on the Friday evening and a spa day on the Saturday. All very lovely and lovely accommodation x

Phillippa from York stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Birthday Bash in York

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
9 friends had 2 nights at Roman Cottage - A great location and a lovely house to stay in. Everything provided and so easy to book etc. Well recommended. Plus use Alan's Taxis if going into York at night, he's a star

Guest from Derby stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in November 2017


Nice break away lovely setting but not very private

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Staff are lovely with a warm welcome! The villa we stayed in was Roman, huge kitchen, lots of indoor space. Beautiful views and lovely hot tub. Only about 15 mins in taxi to York centre too. Downside was the villa we stayed in has a shared garden and when 6 girls are in a hot tub we didn't expect the neighbouring male guests to be nipping out for cigarettes. Also the car park is not close to villa I would have thought car parking would have been nearer the villa. Last point the cleaning was ok but not perfect there was alot of cobwebs in bathroom and main living area I ended up hoovering after out first night! For the cost of the villa it could be cleaned more so guests don't feel obliged to do it. We also had to ask someone to clean the bbq as this hadn't been done from previous guests

Gillian from Seaham stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in July 2017


Hen do

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a couple of cottages for a hen do and it was perfect, everyone had a great weekend and it was a great base for getting into the centre of York.

Katherine from Milton Keynes stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in July 2017


Great location, beautiful properties and really helpful staff

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, beautiful properties and really helpful staff, I would definitely recommend others to stay!

Shona from stayed at Roman Cottage for 4 nights in July 2017


Hen party weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend in roman cottage for a hen party.
The cottage was perfect and so well equipped for everything we needed - although the oven was very slow!!
The staff have been so friendly and helpful from the initial enquiry, booking the transport to providing information on York, so thank you very much!!


Guest from Blackburn stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


Excellent location for Stag & Hen parties.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used our stay at this venue as a staging post for my Brother's Stag do in York.(Approx. 4 miles out)
We stayed in two cottages to sleep all of our party.
I have to say that all of our party of 19 were very impressed by the spaciousness, the rural scenic views, the excellent facilities and the level of well appointed comfortable facilities, making our stay exceptionally enjoyable.
The hot tub was very well used and appreciated by most, adding a needed relaxing dimension to our planned activities.
The provision of a decent barbecue was a nice touch also, again adding to our options of enjoyment.
Overall, we had a brilliant weekend and we would highly recommend this venue to all if you have a big party to accommodate and wish to relax thoroughly.


Liam from Barnsley stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


Hen weekend in The Roman Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hen weekend for 10 ladies, staying in the Roman Cottage. We chilled out on the Friday evening- enjoyed the garden and the hot tub. Went to the races on Saturday & then in to the city Saturday night. Villa Farm is ideally placed - it's just the other side of the ring road. Plenty of room at the barn for us, great kitchen area & shower rooms. An upstairs loo would have been handy & the fridge took ages to get cold but apart from that a very enjoyable weekend in a lovely, clean spacious barn.

Sarah from Sleaford stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


A great weekend.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have asked for more, the accommodation was more than enough for 12 people. The grounds were great, hot tub was great. The breakfast and BBQ we ordered was fantastic and just what we needed (as no one really wanted to cook). Getting into York was quick an cheap in the taxi. We will be coming again.

Francis from Leicester stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Excellent venue

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend this place to anyone. Very comfortable and clean and such a great place to hold a hen do. The kitchen was kitted out perfectly and very spacious for all 11 of us. Only down side would be the sofa beds in the lounge weren't very big for tall people but other than that I could not fault this place Atal. The staff are very helpful and the taxi service that they recommend to use (Alan's taxis) was fantastic, very friendly and literally picked us up from were ever we were at in York. Would definitely stay here again.

Kate from stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Great stay , will defiantly return , just a few issues

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
- the sofa beds in Roman were very uncomfortable, you couldn't really class them as beds to a paying customer, they were very hard and we had to double up on quilts to get a little more comfy, there was a ridge that dug in ur back and your not even lay on a mattress. The beds in the bedrooms were fantastic and couldn't really understand how the sofa beds in the snug could be classed as a bed.
-It defiantly needed another sofa in the lounge , not enough comfortable seating places, half of the guests didn't have a sofa to sit on , we had to move one of the sofa beds from the snug and they are not comfortable compared again to your sofas, and that 3rd sofa could be an actual pull out bed that has an actual mattress on it. With it being a cottage , that home from home feeling. It needs to accommodate everyone who has paid and I'd say u had been very unlucky if u had to sleep and sit in on the beds provided in the snug.
- it took us a while to get used to the hottub being seen from the main road , that was a little strange, and some kind of shelter over the hot tub would be have been great. It needed to be made a little more enclosed some how.

Apart from those negatives we had a fantastic time
-it was well stocked up for us with regards to dish washer tablets bin bags ect...
-it was so so clean
- staff were amazing
-bedding was fantastic quality
- location , great
-hottub worked great ,
- party planning side was fantastic
- cottage layout was perfect

Thankyou for a fantastic stay


Jamie from Manchester stayed at Roman Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at Villa Farm. I am pleased to see that you had a great stay and would return. I can only apologise that you found the sofa beds uncomfortable. We will be looking into purchasing a form of mattress topper in order to provide comfort to the sofa beds. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

New Year Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Villa Farm and we would definitely return. Everything was very easy and was impressed with them providing cleaning products and hand soaps etc! (Although maybe have nut free ones)
From our friends staying the upstairs bathroom the only changes they would make, instead of a shower, a toilet would be better suited.


Vicky from Normanton stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in December 2016


Lovely weekend celebrating birthdays

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Building was well equipped, lovely and comfortable and the hot tub was a great addition! Good furnishings and ample towels and bedding for everyone. Sarah was helpful and informative and the time just went too quickly!

Lynsey from Doncaster stayed at Roman Cottage for 2 nights in September 2016