FB Twitter

Ruskin's View Cottage

Ruskin's View Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 69 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Delightful property in Kirkby Lonsdale with hot tub

Stunning Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruskins View cottage is a hidden gem in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale. Extremely spacious cottage with excellent secure parking. Every detail has been thoughtfully considered providing a perfect environment with all amenities you could wish for. Great walks from the door with the added bonus of a hot tub to relax in afterwards. We look forward to returning for another super holiday.



First Class Property In A Great Location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property - modern furnishings, clean, comfortable, safe, secure, off road parking with everything you could need. Hot tub an added bonus. Great welcome hamper to start the break off. One of the best properties we have stayed in.

Location - easy to get to - 15 minutes from the M6. Kirkby Lonsdale has everything you could need - shops, restaurants, etc which are just a minutes walk away. Beautiful views from the property. Quiet location. Easy access to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.

We has a great weeks holiday and would highly recommend. Superb!!




What a fabulous cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruskins View Cottage is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed! I spotted it out when looking to book somewhere for a mini honeymoon and this was just perfect.
Attention to detail with everything you could possibly think of, the cottage was spotless and had everything you could need and more.
The hot tub was a lovely little downtime in the evening also.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely be back.




A luxurious sanctuary for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this luxurious, modern 5* cottage with amazing views. A perfect place for a relaxing break.
The cottage is located close to the centre of Kirkby Lonsdale with everything you should need within walking distance e.g. restaurants, pubs, cafes, shops. Everywhere we went everyone was friendly and helpful.
In fact, the cottage has everything you need to just stay there and not move if you wanted to.
It has the added bonus of parking which is rare in the town.
A soak in the hot tub is a must after a long walk and is perfect for any aching muscles.
Thank you to Neil for the warm and friendly welcome and the hamper of deluxe local goodies was much appreciated meaning you don’t need to venture out for supplies as soon as you arrive
We will definitely be booking again soon as we could easily have stayed for another few days.





Lovely accommodation in an amazing location.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and well equipped. Amazing location and views. Hot tub sealed the deal and was enjoying despite the rain! Would definitely return.



A property worthy of the famous view

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There really isn't much to say about Ruskin's View Cottage; it is one of the most beautiful places I have had the privilege to stay. It was such a stunning place to wake up each morning and we were made to feel very welcome with the hamper on arrival. I won't hesitate to go back.



Another fab stay at Ruskin View

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Ruskin View. Can't fault this cottage. Tucked away so lovely and private yet right in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale so ideal for meals /drinks out and a v short walk home. Nice to have a bit of luxury with the hottub and the interior of cottage is perfect. Very stylish yet cosy. Everything you need for a lovely holiday is here. Highly recommend.



Another matchless stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and myself have stayed in Kirkby Lonsdale at least 20 times over a number of years, in several differing types of accommodation. This is our second New Year at Ruskin's View and it served to reinforce our initial impression: This is about as good as it gets! The cottage is centrally located, beautifully appointed and lavishly equiped with high quality furnishings and appliances. Although in the middle of the town the cottage has dedicated parking (a huge plus in Kirkby) and offers private outside space with the benefit of a hot tub. And altough New Year is not the best time to take advantage there is also a private roof terrace overlooking the church yard. The hosts are generousity itself providing a lovely welcome hamper with a variety of local produce and a bottle of fizz to be enjoyed at your leisure. Although they live nextdoor there is no sense of intrusion and it is reassuring to know that they are at hand if ever needed.

Kirkby itself is a delightful market town full of independent shops, a great brewery and numerous good bars/restaurants. It is also very well situated for the lakes, the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland, to name but a few. In short the accommodation, the hosts and the location add up to a winning formula that we would recommend whole heartedly.




Our 4th stay. We love it! Relaxing Christmas break.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday. Our first Christmas stay. The village is magical at Christmas. Neil and Gill are so welcoming and left a lovely hamper and Christmas gift.

As always the home was spotless, welcoming and they had sprinkled it with Christmas magic too. Tastefully decorated, a wonderful home from home.

Thank you again and we can’t wait till our next booking.




Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Ruskins View Cottage - it was spacious, clean, comfortable, luxurious, close to all amenities, beautiful view, just perfect. Also it was really easy to communicate with the lovely owners. Thank you!



Perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruskins View is in the perfect location with beautiful views. The accommodation has everything you need & more. We were warmly welcomed by Neil & Gill. We always enjoy our time away in Kirkby Lonsdale & we will be returning.
Stuart & Tracy (Sheffield)




Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here and it was just as perfect this time.
The location is great; close enough to the town but still incredibly quiet once inside.
The interior is lovely with lots of nice touches. Fabulous welcome hamper too.
Can’t wait to come back.




September stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place to stay right in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale . Accommodation is superb - immaculately clean as is the hot tub. Lovely welcome hamper on arrival which was a really lovely surprise . Would thoroughly recommend staying here .



Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Ruskins view and we love it. The attention to detail from the owners and the finishing touches really do make your stay even more special. The location is fabulous, views fabulous and standard and quality of the cottage is amazing.
Thanks so much we will be back




Stunning and immaculate cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

A stunning and immaculate cottage in a beautiful location,one you could only ever dream of.

As a family we all love Ruskin’s view cottage and we can’t wait to visit again soon.




Perfect- everything you would want from a holiday cottage and more.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is immaculate, full of light and luxuriously comfortable. The view from the bed is glorious.

The extra touches such as the bath house toiletries, bathrobes and a thoughtful welcome hamper are fab. The hot tub is a welcome activity after being outdoors all day.

It’s perfectly located in the centre but still gives you a quiet night’s sleep as it’s set back.

I would definitely stay again.




Fanatic location, quality and detail.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastically located within 1 mins walk of the high street yet tucked away in a peaceful spot . The house itself has been very well refurbished to a high standard and the owners have gone to some detail to make sure it is excellently equipped.





Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sometimes I get suspicious when I see nothing but glowing reviews, but Ruskin's View really does deserve them. I can add little to all the praise already recorded on this site – the house is so special – so I would just urge you to find a slot when it's available and book. We'll certainly be back (second stay just completed, and the house is still as immaculate as it was a year ago).



A haven in the hills.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is stunningly well located and a beautiful renovation. Its position in the lovely market town of Kirkby Lonsdale is unsurpassed and the level of equipment amazing. It has been thoughtfully furnished and and the views across the churchyard from the bedroom terrace are good for the soul.
After a very long journey we were delighted to discover the large sponge and sparkling wine ready chilling in the fridge.
We are highly likely to revisit.




A beautiful cottage - the best we've ever stayed in

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for four nights. The cottage is stunning. It felt like we were the first people to have stayed there - it was immaculate. Everything is very high quality from the doors / flooring to the kitchen / bathrooms. The kitchen is incredibly well equipped with everything you could ever need, including a picnic basket.
The welcome pack was incredibly generous. The location was wonderful - step outside your front door and you're in the beautiful village of Kirkby Lonsdale but it's very quiet in the cottage and sitting in the garden and hotub.
Can't recommend this cottage enough!! Wonderful!! We'll be back!!




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay here was perfect. Location, welcome pack, cleanliness, spec and comfort of equipment and furniture - a place we would revisit without a moment’s hesitation. Highly recommend.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our break at Ruskin's View.
The cottage was immaculate, very reassuring during these times. Very comfortable and plenty of room, Loved everything about it. Beautiful, well equipped kitchen, although we only used the toaster and coffee machine as there were so many lovely places to eat out within a 2 minute walk!
Wouldn't hesitate to go back.




Practically perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I couldn't recommend this more highly. The cottage was spacious and immaculately presented. Very convenient for the town only a 1 minute walk to the shops with easy parking but in a lovely quiet location with amazing views. The cottage came with lots of lovely little touches like a welcome basket with eggs, jam, bread, milk, butter and even a a homemade cake. Also other essentials were supplied like tea, coffee, cereal etc. The owners were also very friendly and welcoming and you would often see them out with their dog walking around the town. The hot tub was also a bonus and great way to relax after a day out exploring, they also supplied towelling robes for this. Overall an amazing week in a beautiful location, we hope to be back next year.



Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in under a year and once again, everything was just perfect. The cottage is perfectly located - near to shops and restaurants, yet beautifully secluded and peaceful. Fully equipped with everything you could need, it's furnished to a very high standard and immaculately maintained. A very useful welcome pack is provided along with a delicious (and large!) Victoria sponge. Externally there are two areas where you can sit outside to eat or enjoy the sun when it shines and the hot tub can be enjoyed in all weathers. Kirkby Lonsdale is the ideal base for touring the local area. There are lots of walks and places to visit just a short drive away. Definitely the best cottage we have stayed in.



Fantastic Kirkby Lonsdale Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Ruskins View and we loved it just as much as our first visit. The cottage is spotlessly clean, comfortable and equipped to the highest standard. The owners live next door and are there to help if you need anything and provide the most amazing welcome hamper. The cottage is tucked away in a quiet corner of Kirkby Lonsdale but still very close to all the lovely independent shops. We discovered the ice cream shop this time , which was very good. The surrounding area is great for walking and there is also walking direct from the cottage. We enjoyed a stroll beside the river Lune most evenings. This is a truly fantastic cottage and we have already booked out next visit.



Ruskin View Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely time staying in the beautifully located Ruskin's View Cottage in Kirkby Lonsdale. It is so comfortable and spacious, so clean and immaculate and so well equipped with everything you could need. We were made so welcome by the owners and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to returning before too long.



Amazing. We will be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was lovely, in a beautiful location. It had everything we needed and Neil and Gill were very welcoming, leaving a delicious hamper and homemade cake! Area is stunning and some lovely walks straight from the cottage. Thank you!



The most prefect Xmas ever

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first minute you arrive to the last minute when you have to leave this is just perfect. Neil and Jill are wonderful hosts along with their dog Milo who is just as welcoming. Nothing is left to chance everything is absolutely amazing. We stayed for 11 nights over Xmas and arrived to a magnificent house with everything you would want to to ultimate highest standards. There was a Xmas tree in the living room and a beautiful welcome hamper with bread prosecco eggs biscuits and things too many to mention. There was milk and butter in the fridge and a massive home made chocolate cake just for us. There was everything including tea coffee sugar coffee machine and pods for that machine. The house is to the highest quality possible and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. We have been coming to Kirkby Lonsdale for years and the privacy of this house behind gates and without the worry of where to park on your return is truly the belt. Views over the Lune and Ruskin's View along with the beautiful church must not be missed. The best house we have stayed in by far. We will definately be back




The most beautiful contemporary cottage with the most delightful views in Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ruskin View, we didn’t want to leave. The cottage is super, comfortable, contemporary and well equipped with the highest spec of equipment. The cottage has be well thought about, there’s nothing gone a miss.



Excellent accommodation in the perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was fantastic and the owners have great taste. We had a relaxing and comfortable break in a great location - amazing views and very quiet despite having all the amenities of Kirkby Lonsdale on the doorstep.



The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is hard to know where to start, as everything in the cottage was perfect. Probably the first thing to note is this is not a second home, it is just holiday accommodation. Everything is designed to ensure you have a lovely relaxing time on your holiday.

So many things have been thought of; from hot water bottles if the weather is cold to fans if it is hot. The interior has a fresh scandi-vibe, with a light and airy decor. The kitchen is really well equipped with everything you might need. The outdoor spaces are very private, with a lovely roof terrace and courtyard with a hot tub.

The owners live next door, and are helpful when needed, but are not intrusive in any way. Oh and finally there was an incredible welcome pack, cake, prosecco, biscuits, milk, eggs, and lots more.
I am already looking at dates for next year as I can’t wait to return.




Ruskin View Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time staying in Ruskin View Cottage. An excellent cottage in every way. Could not find fault with anything. Definitely 5 Stars. Look forward to returning again in the future



A gem in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale, the hot tub was a hit as was the welcome hamper of goodies...

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The photos do not do justice to this delightful spacious cottage in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale. Well equipped and beautifully furnished, we shall return!



Another wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in Ruskin’s View Cottage and as with our first visit last year everything was absolutely perfect. The cottage is fantastic (clean, comfortable, spacious and well-equipped) and the location is brilliant (very private and peaceful with really good eating places/shops and lovely walks from the doorstep). We really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub after a busy day exploring the lovely surrounding area. We will be back for a third time - thank you for making us so welcome and our holiday so special.



Just perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed for a week at Ruskin's View. It is situated in the market town of Kirkby Lonsdale and is ideally suited for visiting nearby places of interest. The cottage is extremely private, tucked away in a quiet corner of the town, yet seconds away from local amenities.
The cottage itself is stunning and the owners, who live in the adjacent property, have thought of everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The welcome pack was a lovely selection of local produce, including a delicious Victoria sponge. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean with spacious rooms, equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The upstairs bathroom has both a bath and generous sized shower and the locally produced toiletries were a touch of luxury.
We were fortunate enough to stay there during a heat wave and were able to make use of the outside space. The downstairs patio (complete with hot tub) caught the sun from the early morning, while the upstairs balcony, overlooking a peaceful churchyard, was still bathed in sunshine well into the evening.
This is definitely a five star property and we would highly recommend Ruskin's View both for the location and for the standard of accommodation it provides.




Wonderful week at Ruskin's View

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at this wonderful cottage and location. Ruskin's View catered for our every need a beautiful spotlessly clean property with a lovely roof garden with lovely views and an amazing hot tub. We cannot thank Neil and Gill enough for their hospitality and the more than generous welcome pack. We especially enjoyed the Prosecco fresh bread and beautiful cake. Kirkby Lonsdale is a lovely place to visit with great shops and pubs and everyone very helpful and friendly. We are definetly planning to return again one day and cannot recommend Ruskin's View highly enough.



Best of all worlds!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great combination of a stylish, comfortable, well-equipped home in the perfect location: peaceful, with far-reaching rural views, yet in the heart of a delightful, lively town. Nearest grocery store 30 seconds away; and two secure parking spaces to boot. We got all the support we needed from the friendly owner Neil, living next door (in what looks to be an even more beautiful property!) but he was never intrusive. We were please to book a shortish (5 night) break, even in mid-July. Highly recommended.



Exceptional Cottage in a Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ruskin’s View Cottage for a week with our 2 boys, aged 9 & 12. The cottage is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated, very clean and very comfortable. Our hosts were lovely and on hand if we needed anything.
We can’t fault this cottage in any way, from the lovely welcome pack that greeted us to the breathtaking view, it was just perfect. It is in a superb location ... we walked from the cottage every day apart from one day when we travelled to Grizedale Forest to do Go Ape. We had a very relaxing holiday and finished each day in the gorgeous hot tub. Five star! Would highly recommend Ruskin’s View and Mill House Cottages in general. This is our third visit, we have stayed at The Pavillion twice as a couple and Ruskin’s View as a family. We will be booking again as soon as we can.




Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you had a fantastic time at Ruskin's View ! We knew you would love it. Thank you so much for your continuing business. We really appreciate it !

An absolute gem of a property.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location, facilities of cottage, cottage it self and hosts are all top dollar. It does not matter if you seek seclusion or like to enjoy the delights of Kirkby Lonsdale this place fits the bill.



The perfect venue

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most relaxing time in a wonderful property with the most welcoming and considerate hosts.

You will not be disappointed !




Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you ! As you say, Ruskin's View really is lovely

Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic 10 night break at Ruskin View. It's a beautiful cottage, fully equipped to the highest standard and in a perfect location. The cottage is absolutely 5 star. Contemporary, well designed yet cosy and with the added bonus of the hottub. Honestly I can't reccommend enough.
We arrived at about 9pm at night after a longish drive to prosecco in the fridge, a lovely hamper and a homemade cake. So thoughtful. Neil was v helpful throughout our stay but also completely unobtrusive. Kirkby Lonsdale itself is a gorgeous town. Brilliant park for kids and lovely foodie pubs for the adults. Walks down by the river, even in the rain were lovely. A perfect spot too, as a base to explore Cumbria and the Lake District. Will definately be back.




Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
Ruskin's View is a really special property ! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the charms of Kirkby Lonsdale. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

Ruskin's View Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing cottage in a fabulous location.
Spacious and very well equipped cottage. We couldn't fault a thing and would highly recommend.




Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much ! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ruskin's View. It is a very special place !

Ruskin's View cottage: Self-catering doesn't come better than this.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent a hugely enjoyable New Years break in Ruskin's View Cottage. We have travelled extensively in the UK over the last 30 years and this property is without doubt one of the best we have ever stayed in. It is centrally located in the lovely town of Kirkby Lonsdale and has dedicated, secure parking, a real bonus in Kirkby where parking is always at a premium. Despite its central location the cottage has private outside space comprising a court yard with an excellent hot tub and a roof terrace with lovely views over the church yard. The accommodation is beautifully appointed and lavishly equipped with high quality furnishings and a first rate kitchen. If you don't want to cook Kirkby's extensive choice of restaurants and pubs are a stone's throw away. The owners, who live next door, were most welcoming but never intrusive and provided by far the most generous welcome pack that we have ever seen, the large homemade cake being a particular highlight. We cannot recommend this property highly enough.



Fabulous christmas venue

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another week spent in this immaculate cottage, on arrival the cottage was christmas ready, with a beautiful tree and lovely decorations throughout. There was also a superb hamper with a very unexpected but most welcomed bottle of champagne, great way to start off our christmas break. We love Kirkby Lonsdale, but this cottage definitely has the wow factor, in its furnishings and features.

If I did have a comment to make it would be that the tv is small and could be a bit bigger to help us oldies read the guide and menus, other than that a perfect place to stay.




Superb Kirkby Lonsdale Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week in this lovely cottage and found it to be perfect. It is located in the centre of Kirky Lonsdale and has a good selection of restaurants within a few minutes walk. It is tucked away through private gates with it's own parking spaces and beautiful views. It was spotlessly clean, finished to a very high standard and very well equipped. The welcome hamper was fantastic and very much appreciated. We loved everything about it and would definitely come back.



Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time. The cottage is very special and the owners are wonderful ! Kind Regards Stephen and Julie

Sublime

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely 6-night break in this cottage. Everything you could want for was there, even down to his and hers matching umbrella's! Especially grateful for the hamper of goodies and fresh produce in the fridge which included Prosecco and Beers. Homemade Victoria sandwich cake lasted us the whole break. Neil (the owner) was very friendly and went out of his way to help if you needed him.



A quiet central location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found Ruskin View spacious, modern, fresh property in central Kirkby Lonsdale. The property is down a very narrow road where you have to lower and replace a single barrier post on entry, but it really is not a ptoblem, lots of friendly neighbours and passing locals helped with this voluntarily. Property quite large, modern and fresh, light and airy. Also well equipped. Large variety of shops within walking distance. The owners very friendly and available if required, but left us alone to enjoy our stay. Great time despite weather and we would come back again.



Great week in Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at Ruskin View. The cottage is fantastic with everything provided you could imagine ( inc a very welcome hamper on arrival). The location is spot on for exploring the surrounding area and everything in the town is on the doorstep. Some very good eateries near by, especially Palo’s. Would definitely recommend this property. We would love to return, however we will soon have a canine member in the family, so sadly this won’t be possible. Many thanks to the owners for making our stay so comfortable.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely superb holiday cottage where nothing could be faulted. Very well equipped, spacious, comfortable and clean. The welcome hamper (which included a delicious homemade cake) and lovely secluded, peaceful garden with hot tub, made it extra special. There are a good range of excellent places to eat within walking distance of the cottage and lots of lovely walks and bike rides right on the doorstep. Thank you Neil and Gill for making us so welcome and enabling us to have such a perfect, relaxing holiday.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house in a great location with lovely views. It was well-equipped, clean and tidy. The roof terrace was fantastic during the summer days and evenings. We would highly recommend this property.



A very relaxing and enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, what can I say... from the moment the gates to the cottage opened we were in awe at how peaceful and secluded the setting was given you are in the heart of the village. The cottage went above and beyond our expectations and the photos don’t do the space justice. It had all the facilities plus more that you could need and a beautiful welcome hamper with local produce and a delicious cake! I would highly recommend staying at this hidden gem!



Wow wow wow

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed with Mill House Cottages before so we knew their standards and therefore had very high expectations. Ruskin’s View Cottage exceeded all those expectations! Everything was first class in the cottage including the lovely warm welcome from Neil and Gill.
The location is excellent. It’s like staying in a secret corner of Kirkby Lonsdale and yet everything you could want or need is on the doorstep.
Kirkby Lonsdale is a lovely town and very convenient for exploring Westmorland.
Thank you Neil and Gill for helping to make our stay at Ruskin’s View Cottage so perfect. We will be back.




Perfect Relaxing Break.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Ruskin’s View for a week in June. The cottage was fitted and furnished to the highest standard and was immaculately clean.
Kirkby Lonsdale is a smashing wee town with many welcoming pubs, restaurants and fantastic independent shops.
After a day walking in the Yorkshire Dales or climbing the Lake District fells Ruskin’s View and it’s amazing hot tub is the perfect place to ease your aching feet!




Stunning!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage - the best we’ve ever stayed in. We would definitely return. Everything was top quality and every detail had been thought through including maps and walking books, umberellas, rainy day games and even a home baked cake! Location was ideal right in the village centre but still very private and with amazing views.



Ruskin's View Cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed here for a week. The property is outstanding, and the facilities are exceptional. There are great views over the churchyard and on the other side, Ruskin's View (river and hills)......sublime. Given the location, parking is a serious bonus and once inside it feels very private and grand. There was a welcome pack on arrival which was a lovely thought and it included an array of provisions. The owners live next door and are extremely helpful and friendly - couldn't do enough for you. All the amenities within the cottage are first class and great pride and care is taken to ensure a very comfortable stay. The hot tub is a very nice touch and great to relax in after a long day's walk. Shops and services are literally on the doorstep and it is a fabulous location to explore the West Yorkshire Dales and the Southern Lake District. If you like excellent food, Cartmel is only a short drive away and well worth the visit. We dined at Rogan and Co in Cartmel and their lunchtime specials are excellent.

We liked the cottage so much that we have already booked to stay there next year.




Ruskin View is a delightful house

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ruskin View is a delightful house set just off the main street but manages to be quiet except for the birds and the church bells - what could be more relaxing? The house is clean, modern, well equipped, warm and very comfortable. The view, across the owners' garden, is stunning. So thank you Neil and Jill for being such good hosts.



Wonderful cottage, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with all modern amenities. Very comfortable and relaxing, lovely to come back to at the end of the day. Great location right in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale but still very quiet.
Wonderful base for the whole area and lots to see and do. Would definitely recommend!




What a find!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had one of the best holidays staying at Ruskin's View. The property is stunning and finished to a fantastic level. Everything you could want was ready to hand including a hamper of local produce to kick start the holiday. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and finished off the perfect holiday rental. Kirkby Lonsdale is a little gem too. We'll definitely have to come again!



Ruskin's view - a real treat

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Ruskin's view for 5 nights. A really friendly welcome (plus pack) when we got there and we were delighted with the location and quality of the accommodation. Lovely and peaceful while literally being in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale - a beautiful town with plenty of excellent eateries (make sure you're hungry before you go to the Bakers for breakfast!!) and interesting shops.

And we were next door to the stunning Ruskin's view. Beautiful. Would love to go back to sample more of the area and would definitely books this cottage again. Thank you Neil and Gill.




Beautiful Cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Ruskins View Cottage towards the end of February.
The finish is excellent and thought has gone into every room, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook & bake. The location is great, hidden away but a stones throw from the centre of town.
A beautiful cottage, thank you!




Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow Wow Wow! What a fantastic cottage. Everything about Ruskins View is 5 * - the facilities, the location, the views.

The owners are friendly & helpful & left us a wonderful welcome hamper.

The cottage is tastefully decorated throughout & they have literally thought of everything.

Hot tub is such a lovely touch.

Can’t wait to return.




A Gem of a Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find Ruskins view was. Without doubt one of the best locations, not only for visiting local towns and villages but also the views were amazing. The town of Kirkby Lonsdale has everything to offer, from great eateries and pubs to small quaint shops. The Cottage itself is outstanding, from everything you could ever need in a kitchen, to comfy beds, underfloor heating and a fab hot tub. We will defiantly be back to stay again.



A delight

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you’ see in the photos and more...

My wife and I have visited and stayed in Kirkby Lonsdale many times but this place is hands down the best yet. Amazing views, tons of space, high quality throughout and super clean. On top of that there’s a hot tub, parking and a generous welcome. Can’t wait to come back. Ruskin view cottage saved a very wet long weekend.

Thanks Neil and Gill!




Just perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the property was excellent. To be able to wake up to the view at the back of the property was truly uplifting but then to be able to access the town and all its amenities within a minute's walk was the icing on the cake. Neil and Gill had put such thought into this property. Not a single item had been missed in making your stay much more than a home from home. And what a home. If you wanted to take a picnic there was a beautiful hamper and a waterproofed blanket for your excursion. If you wanted to stay in and avoid the distraction of the television then there were games aplenty. However if, like my husband, you found yourself gripped by Netflix and 'The Crown' there was entertainment every evening.

The welcome hamper was so generous that we cursed ourselves for bringing so much food. If you turned up without your own provisions then I feel sure you could manage for one night with what was provided. But with so many great shops within walking distance you could feed the five thousand after a 30 minute walk around.




Stunning property in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant family holiday at Ruskins View. Standard of house and what is provided is excellent. It sits in a beautiful location a stones through away from shops, pubs and restaurants and has the added bonus of a hot tub. Would definately love to go back and would highly recommend.



Place to get away - tops

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a short stay. Definitely putting it on our return list. Perfect for a relaxing stay or going further afield. Welcome pack was wonderful and catered for my coeliac needs. Restaurants in the village recommended also.in all a top class let.



Ruskins view cottage is absolutely beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruskin’s view cottage is a luxurious place to stay for a break in the Lake District. We were lucky enough to be one of the first people to stay there and we absolutely loved it!

The property has been renovated to the highest standard and is in a brilliant location in the beautiful town of Kirkby Lonsdale. The hot tub is in a private courtyard and there is a nice roof terrace overlooking the church and grounds which gets the evening sun. Neil and Gill kindly left some food and refreshments for us on arrival which was a nice touch, and Neil was on hand and attentive to any queries we had.

Ruskins view cottage is great - you won’t regret booking it!




Excellent all round!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot praise this cottage highly enough. Located in the middle of town , although you wouldn't know it, hidden away behind a secure gate with idyllic views from the driveway. Secluded courtyard with hot tub and patio furniture . Everything is to the highest standard. Within an easy car drive of the lakes. Loads to see and do. Also walks around the town itself.



First holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first holiday with our 9 month old daughter. The property is very modern and open plan. Plenty of space for here to play. The location is perfect and we couldn’t have asked for better weather. The hot tub is also nice for relaxing in. Booking was very easy and the information and details supplied were very useful. We will definatly be returning and hopefully booking the property in France for our holiday next year.