FB Twitter

Ruskin's View Cottage

Ruskin's View Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Delightful property in Kirkby Lonsdale with hot tub

Superb Kirkby Lonsdale Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week in this lovely cottage and found it to be perfect. It is located in the centre of Kirky Lonsdale and has a good selection of restaurants within a few minutes walk. It is tucked away through private gates with it's own parking spaces and beautiful views. It was spotlessly clean, finished to a very high standard and very well equipped. The welcome hamper was fantastic and very much appreciated. We loved everything about it and would definitely come back.



Julie Rogers replied 16 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time. The cottage is very special and the owners are wonderful ! Kind Regards Stephen and Julie

Sublime

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely 6-night break in this cottage. Everything you could want for was there, even down to his and hers matching umbrella's! Especially grateful for the hamper of goodies and fresh produce in the fridge which included Prosecco and Beers. Homemade Victoria sandwich cake lasted us the whole break. Neil (the owner) was very friendly and went out of his way to help if you needed him.



A quiet central location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found Ruskin View spacious, modern, fresh property in central Kirkby Lonsdale. The property is down a very narrow road where you have to lower and replace a single barrier post on entry, but it really is not a ptoblem, lots of friendly neighbours and passing locals helped with this voluntarily. Property quite large, modern and fresh, light and airy. Also well equipped. Large variety of shops within walking distance. The owners very friendly and available if required, but left us alone to enjoy our stay. Great time despite weather and we would come back again.



Great week in Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at Ruskin View. The cottage is fantastic with everything provided you could imagine ( inc a very welcome hamper on arrival). The location is spot on for exploring the surrounding area and everything in the town is on the doorstep. Some very good eateries near by, especially Palo’s. Would definitely recommend this property. We would love to return, however we will soon have a canine member in the family, so sadly this won’t be possible. Many thanks to the owners for making our stay so comfortable.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely superb holiday cottage where nothing could be faulted. Very well equipped, spacious, comfortable and clean. The welcome hamper (which included a delicious homemade cake) and lovely secluded, peaceful garden with hot tub, made it extra special. There are a good range of excellent places to eat within walking distance of the cottage and lots of lovely walks and bike rides right on the doorstep. Thank you Neil and Gill for making us so welcome and enabling us to have such a perfect, relaxing holiday.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house in a great location with lovely views. It was well-equipped, clean and tidy. The roof terrace was fantastic during the summer days and evenings. We would highly recommend this property.



A very relaxing and enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, what can I say... from the moment the gates to the cottage opened we were in awe at how peaceful and secluded the setting was given you are in the heart of the village. The cottage went above and beyond our expectations and the photos don’t do the space justice. It had all the facilities plus more that you could need and a beautiful welcome hamper with local produce and a delicious cake! I would highly recommend staying at this hidden gem!



Wow wow wow

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed with Mill House Cottages before so we knew their standards and therefore had very high expectations. Ruskin’s View Cottage exceeded all those expectations! Everything was first class in the cottage including the lovely warm welcome from Neil and Gill.
The location is excellent. It’s like staying in a secret corner of Kirkby Lonsdale and yet everything you could want or need is on the doorstep.
Kirkby Lonsdale is a lovely town and very convenient for exploring Westmorland.
Thank you Neil and Gill for helping to make our stay at Ruskin’s View Cottage so perfect. We will be back.




Perfect Relaxing Break.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Ruskin’s View for a week in June. The cottage was fitted and furnished to the highest standard and was immaculately clean.
Kirkby Lonsdale is a smashing wee town with many welcoming pubs, restaurants and fantastic independent shops.
After a day walking in the Yorkshire Dales or climbing the Lake District fells Ruskin’s View and it’s amazing hot tub is the perfect place to ease your aching feet!




Stunning!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage - the best we’ve ever stayed in. We would definitely return. Everything was top quality and every detail had been thought through including maps and walking books, umberellas, rainy day games and even a home baked cake! Location was ideal right in the village centre but still very private and with amazing views.



Ruskin's View Cottage, Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed here for a week. The property is outstanding, and the facilities are exceptional. There are great views over the churchyard and on the other side, Ruskin's View (river and hills)......sublime. Given the location, parking is a serious bonus and once inside it feels very private and grand. There was a welcome pack on arrival which was a lovely thought and it included an array of provisions. The owners live next door and are extremely helpful and friendly - couldn't do enough for you. All the amenities within the cottage are first class and great pride and care is taken to ensure a very comfortable stay. The hot tub is a very nice touch and great to relax in after a long day's walk. Shops and services are literally on the doorstep and it is a fabulous location to explore the West Yorkshire Dales and the Southern Lake District. If you like excellent food, Cartmel is only a short drive away and well worth the visit. We dined at Rogan and Co in Cartmel and their lunchtime specials are excellent.

We liked the cottage so much that we have already booked to stay there next year.




Ruskin View is a delightful house

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ruskin View is a delightful house set just off the main street but manages to be quiet except for the birds and the church bells - what could be more relaxing? The house is clean, modern, well equipped, warm and very comfortable. The view, across the owners' garden, is stunning. So thank you Neil and Jill for being such good hosts.



Wonderful cottage, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with all modern amenities. Very comfortable and relaxing, lovely to come back to at the end of the day. Great location right in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale but still very quiet.
Wonderful base for the whole area and lots to see and do. Would definitely recommend!




What a find!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had one of the best holidays staying at Ruskin's View. The property is stunning and finished to a fantastic level. Everything you could want was ready to hand including a hamper of local produce to kick start the holiday. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and finished off the perfect holiday rental. Kirkby Lonsdale is a little gem too. We'll definitely have to come again!



Ruskin's view - a real treat

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Ruskin's view for 5 nights. A really friendly welcome (plus pack) when we got there and we were delighted with the location and quality of the accommodation. Lovely and peaceful while literally being in the middle of Kirkby Lonsdale - a beautiful town with plenty of excellent eateries (make sure you're hungry before you go to the Bakers for breakfast!!) and interesting shops.

And we were next door to the stunning Ruskin's view. Beautiful. Would love to go back to sample more of the area and would definitely books this cottage again. Thank you Neil and Gill.




Beautiful Cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Ruskins View Cottage towards the end of February.
The finish is excellent and thought has gone into every room, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook & bake. The location is great, hidden away but a stones throw from the centre of town.
A beautiful cottage, thank you!




Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow Wow Wow! What a fantastic cottage. Everything about Ruskins View is 5 * - the facilities, the location, the views.

The owners are friendly & helpful & left us a wonderful welcome hamper.

The cottage is tastefully decorated throughout & they have literally thought of everything.

Hot tub is such a lovely touch.

Can’t wait to return.




A Gem of a Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find Ruskins view was. Without doubt one of the best locations, not only for visiting local towns and villages but also the views were amazing. The town of Kirkby Lonsdale has everything to offer, from great eateries and pubs to small quaint shops. The Cottage itself is outstanding, from everything you could ever need in a kitchen, to comfy beds, underfloor heating and a fab hot tub. We will defiantly be back to stay again.



A delight

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you’ see in the photos and more...

My wife and I have visited and stayed in Kirkby Lonsdale many times but this place is hands down the best yet. Amazing views, tons of space, high quality throughout and super clean. On top of that there’s a hot tub, parking and a generous welcome. Can’t wait to come back. Ruskin view cottage saved a very wet long weekend.

Thanks Neil and Gill!




Just perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the property was excellent. To be able to wake up to the view at the back of the property was truly uplifting but then to be able to access the town and all its amenities within a minute's walk was the icing on the cake. Neil and Gill had put such thought into this property. Not a single item had been missed in making your stay much more than a home from home. And what a home. If you wanted to take a picnic there was a beautiful hamper and a waterproofed blanket for your excursion. If you wanted to stay in and avoid the distraction of the television then there were games aplenty. However if, like my husband, you found yourself gripped by Netflix and 'The Crown' there was entertainment every evening.

The welcome hamper was so generous that we cursed ourselves for bringing so much food. If you turned up without your own provisions then I feel sure you could manage for one night with what was provided. But with so many great shops within walking distance you could feed the five thousand after a 30 minute walk around.




Stunning property in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant family holiday at Ruskins View. Standard of house and what is provided is excellent. It sits in a beautiful location a stones through away from shops, pubs and restaurants and has the added bonus of a hot tub. Would definately love to go back and would highly recommend.



Place to get away - tops

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a short stay. Definitely putting it on our return list. Perfect for a relaxing stay or going further afield. Welcome pack was wonderful and catered for my coeliac needs. Restaurants in the village recommended also.in all a top class let.



Ruskins view cottage is absolutely beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruskin’s view cottage is a luxurious place to stay for a break in the Lake District. We were lucky enough to be one of the first people to stay there and we absolutely loved it!

The property has been renovated to the highest standard and is in a brilliant location in the beautiful town of Kirkby Lonsdale. The hot tub is in a private courtyard and there is a nice roof terrace overlooking the church and grounds which gets the evening sun. Neil and Gill kindly left some food and refreshments for us on arrival which was a nice touch, and Neil was on hand and attentive to any queries we had.

Ruskins view cottage is great - you won’t regret booking it!




Excellent all round!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot praise this cottage highly enough. Located in the middle of town , although you wouldn't know it, hidden away behind a secure gate with idyllic views from the driveway. Secluded courtyard with hot tub and patio furniture . Everything is to the highest standard. Within an easy car drive of the lakes. Loads to see and do. Also walks around the town itself.



First holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first holiday with our 9 month old daughter. The property is very modern and open plan. Plenty of space for here to play. The location is perfect and we couldn’t have asked for better weather. The hot tub is also nice for relaxing in. Booking was very easy and the information and details supplied were very useful. We will definatly be returning and hopefully booking the property in France for our holiday next year.