FB Twitter

Park House Cottage

Park House Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Beautiful property sleeping 6 people on outskirts of charming village of Barbon
Comprising of three bedrooms and three bathrooms with designer touches, this cottage has the wow factor!

Feedback

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay with our university friends. The remote location and views were perfect.

There was a change of bed linen in the cupboard but no towels. It would have been good to have another set of towels. We washed two of the towels but struggled to dry them as there was no tumble dryer.

We only realised on our last night when we came back in the dark that the outside light wasn’t working. It might be good to have a light outside that comes on once there is movement as two of the party struggled to get down the steps to the front door in the dark.

Another addition to the property could be the installation of a downstairs toilet. As a group with two impaired mobility a downstairs toilet would be a significant attraction.




Julie Rogers replied 98 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Park House Cottage really is beautiful. As you were only at the cottage for a few days, we did not leave any extra towels as usually, what we provide is more than sufficient for a short stay. We would have been pleased to drop some extras off if you had let us know. Thank you for pointing out that the outside lights didn't work on your final evening - we will get that sorted. So sorry that Park House Cottage does not have a downstairs loo. It is a 17th century cottage and the layout does not allow for that. We have several other properties with that facility as well as ground floor bedrooms. Thank you once again for choosing our cottages ! Kind regards Stephen & Julie

We had a fantastic time !

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a weeks holiday at this beautiful house in August. Is is beautifully appointed and immaculate. The cottage is within easy walking distance of the village which is just gorgeous. The Barbon Inn and the village shop were regular haunts and all the locals were incredibly friendly. The house is very spacious and there was plenty of room for our group of six to relax in the evening. We will certainly recommend this property and no doubt, we will return in the no too distant future.



Lovely Location - some improvments on dog security would be an improvment

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location was very nice - but a single track route meant a slight panic every time as there were no passing places and was difficult to reserve not for nervous drivers . Although do friendly it would have been better if the patio area had a fence arround it as there were no secure areas you could let your dog out , given the amount of sheep in the area this was an issue .



A fabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Park Cottage as a group of four adults, two children and a dog. We loved every aspect of the cottage and area and would love to stay again.



Fab Hols

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time, the weather was amazing, we walked the 3 peaks and my husband introduced us all to mountain biking! The house was lovely, we couldn't fault it, loved the decor and all the bathrooms. The hand soap smelt gorgeous. The location was just brilliant, great for all our walking. We had some great meals out too in the local pubs, with a quiz night thrown in too and on the last night walked from the house to the local pub and back in the dark by torchlight through the sheep which was very funny after a few gin and tonics! Would definitely recommend this house to friends and hopefully come again.



Park House in Barbon

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed this attractively furnished and comfortable cottage in a beautiful natural landscape with walks from the door.. Owners who lived next door very friendly and helpful. Public footpath came past the cottage, but only occasionally used, so not for anyone seeking complete privacy.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I couldn’t wait to leave my review to tell everybody how much we fell in love with this cottage. Upon arrival I just knew the next 9 nights was going to be brilliant. Loved everything about this cottage, the walks the views and needless to say we were very sad to leave. Barbon is a very special little place. We would also highly recommend The Barbon Inn, excellent food,excellent staff and could’ve find fault with anything.

Just wish we could of stay there forever




Great cottage and location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the stay. Was ideally placed for Kirkby Lonsdale and Kendal and the cottage had everything we needed.




Great week at Park House Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once over negotiating the initial crawl along the narrow access road we had a really good week in an excellent cottage, became very adept and confident by the end of the week though as we went back and forwards each day to enjoy the surrounding area. Enjoyed the easy walk to the great pub in Barbon during the daylight though somewhat daunting to return in the dark! Thanks to Park House Cottage, Millhouse Cottages and Kirkby Lonsdale, hope to see you again soon.



Outstanding Cottage and Location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This really is a very special cottage in a truly breathtaking area. The cottage was spotlessly clean and decorated tastefully throughout. We found it to be very comfortable and welcoming.
It is set in a fantastic location with stunning views all around.
Waking up to the peace and tranquility and beautiful scenery was a pure joy every morning.
Its very close to the lovely Kirkby Lonsdale which has some great places to eat and walk.
The Highwayman at Nether Burrow is well worth a visit for good food and friendly service.
We will certainly make a return stay at Park House Cottage.




Nice break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, great location and would be very happy to return again with the family to explore the area even more in the future.



Wow

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and the views amazing. Very Relaxing. Sad to leave and can't wait to go back.



Lovely property in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, comfortable and great location. Our only couple of minor negative comments would be that in such a comfortable and immaculate property that the towels provided were so obviously old and quite marked and also the number of light bulbs that needed replacing



Lovely cottage with beautiful views

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage high standard of cleanliness and decor. Perfect bolt hole for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and the lakes



Beautiful Cottage in enviable location.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was comfortable and well equipped and was within easy access of the village. Great views.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We'll be back - cottage is in the most stunning, peaceful location right under Barbon Fell. Close to Barbon village which is really lovely, with pub and community shop. Cottage beautifully decorated - but instead of lots of nick nacks, would have preferred better basic cooking equipment and more spare plates/cutlery which was surprisingly lacking for a party of 6. We got off to a bad start, with a cold house and overflowing water tank, but this was swiftly attended to, and a lovely plumber came in the evening. .



A fantastic cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Park House and we will be back ! A fantastic cottage with easy access to the village and fabulous walks from the front door.



Fabulous relaxing luxurious retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing week in beautiful surroundings. The cottage is to a very high standard of decor. The welcome pack on arrival which contained a good selection of basic and luxurious items and not expected, was a nice touch. The wood burning stove in January made for a very cosy atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to ‘get away from it all’. Lovely walks locally and the beautiful Lake District within 30 minutes drive West and the Yorkshire Dales on the doorstep to the East. The Barbon Inn within walking distance in the village provided a warm welcome and lovely food.



If it snows you will need a 4x4

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was ok . I stayed in the box tree last year and found it cleaner. The welcome pack at the box tree was better with coffee and butter included. The cottage is very hard to find and single track roads which would be treacherous if it snows. No good for disabled people.



Birthday Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked 6 nights for a birthday break. Stunning location and an excellent property. Great service from start to finish. Would recommend the Barbon Inn for food and atmosphere and the Churchmouse especially for their Friday night Bistro but booking is essential.



Beautiful Cottage with lovely views but very narrow lanes to and from property. Peace, Quiet & Rural

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Cottage with lovely views

Negatives: no tumble dryer, heating inadequate, narrow lanes ..




Mill House Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property, well equipped and immaculately furnished. The location is perfect for local walks or easy access the Lakes and or Dales. Would highly recommend.



Park House Cottage Review

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful. Will be back again in the future and will recommend Millhouse Cottages to friends and family.



Beautiful Property in ideal Location

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is beautiful, The interior styling and facilities are spot-on..you feel as if you have walked into a Sunday Magazine country cottages photo shoot. Location is excellent too - just a 5-10 minute gentle walk into Barbon with its local pub/restaurant and village shop.

Great place to stay for 3 adult couples.




cottage heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned for our second stay at park house cottage and once again had the most wonderful time. The cottage is well laid out, with lovely fittings and furnishings , modern yet homely. The setting is absolutely gorgeous , amazing views all around. Great choice of local restaurants and fabulous walks .Can not recommend highly enough !Would benefit from having tumble drier!



Comfortable cottage, in great location with amazing views!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would say peace and tranquility describes the location of the cottage. Other benefits are that the cottage is beautifully furnished, comfortable and well equipped (perhaps some hooks on back of bedroom and bathroom doors would be helpful though). Another bonus is that there is a great pub, The Barbon Inn just a ten minute walk away. Six of us have a cottage break every year and thus has scored the highest!! Thank you.



Simply wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is set in the perfect location. It is around 10 minutes away from Kirkby Lonsdale which has local shops, restaurants and a supermarket, the short drive to the cottage takes you to a beautiful country setting surrounded by fields.

The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and the facilities (kitchen/bathrooms/log fire) are great. The welcome hamper is a nice touch too.

We will definitely be back.




Park Cottage Review

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. We would definitely use Mill House Cottages again and not hesitate to recommend to families and friends.



Ideally situated for Lakes and Fells

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Park House Cottage has all the charm and comfort needed for a wonderful stay. Beautifully decorated and spacious, it has fulfilled all its promise. We will certainly try to return to the area shortly.



Quality service and a quality cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with quality fittings, furniture and decoration set in a lovely location. Well deserved 5 star rating. Local pub served good quality food. Both the cottage and the pub are dog friendly.



Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed with Mill House Cottages many times before and have always found them to be excellent in terms of both decor and location but this cottage is something really special. Superb location with stunning views and tastefully decorated throughout. Perfect for a relaxing break. We will most certainly be returning to Park House again and again.



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
We knew you would love it ! As you say, Park House is really special. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay.

Park House Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage for a relaxing break with just the sheep for company. Kirkby Lonsdale which is nearby was a delightful little town with unique small shops. The lake district is within easy reach but so many people!!