FB Twitter

Northerdale

Northerdale

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 63 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Four star. Sleeps 2 . Recently refurbished to a very high standard with cosy throws and cushions, this romantic hideaway for 2 people is perfect for a relaxing holiday away from it all. Log burner and free wi-fi included

Coopers

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was excellent. However there seems to be no cottage called ,The dog house,which coursed some confusion when finding the cottage.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at the cottage, it was perfect, relaxing and comfortable, and it had everything we needed, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend for a quiet peaceful weekend away!



Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Stunning location. Loved the babbling steam out back...idyllic.
We really enjoyed our stay...so cosy and clean.
Many thanks




Wonderful little cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June. We absolutely loved it! The location was beautiful, quiet and picturesque. The cottage itself was spotless, cosy and well equipped with everything you need, you don't need to bring anything with you apart from food for cooking! The owner, Julie, was lovely and very friendly and down to earth. We would absolutely love to stay here again!



Relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic relaxing break in The Dog House! The cottage was spotlessly clean and we had a lovely welcome hamper on arrival. The location was idyllic with beautiful countryside views and a cracking pub within an hours walk away. We came away feeling relaxed and rested. We will be back!



Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was really excellent; great views to wake up to. Nice and out of the way makes for a very quiet stay. It was a cold march when we stayed but it was lovely and warm. The only gripe I have is that where one turns off of the road it has a signpost to a farm which would be good to put that on the directions.
Yes I would definitely stay again




Lovely getaway!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Julie and the team at Mill House Cottages were very friendly and welcoming. The cottage had everything you needed for a comfortable little weekend break! Fully kitted out kitchen, wood burner (logs provided), there was some complimentary goodies too! Huge TV and comfortable furniture to laze about.

Upstairs a massive bed, beautiful, soft linen and a bathroom with a bath and a shower! Excellently clean throughout and would come back again in a heartbeat!

Thank you so much for a lovely weekend - wishing you and your team all the best in the future.




Perfect cozy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cozy cottage for a romantic break away. Spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, tasteful decor, lovely welcoming touches. Welcome hamper was a lovely surprise. Excellent quiet location & beautiful scenery.
Perfect break away. Thanks Mill house cottages!




Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mine was a 'work-cation'. Place was cosy with everything I needed. Importantly quiet and with lots of nice waking and scenery close by to chill. Wifi was amazing - better than home!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. Excellent kitchen and bathroom. Spotlessly clean and fitted out with everything one may need and more. Very attentive service and professionally run. We cannot think how it could be improved apart from providing a summer duvet!



Another great stay at Mill House Cottages.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Julie and Stephen are great hosts and have a very high standard of properties and equipment to suit a range of needs. This was our fourth stay at Mill House Cottages. They are in a great part of the country - so much to see and do but quiet and peaceful at the same time. Everything needed for a relaxing holiday, whether trekking in the rain or sitting in the sun, is provided. The bathrooms are particularly good with plenty of hot water. In winter, the log fires are wonderful.

The beds are large and comfortable though the one in Notherdale is showing a bit of wear since our first stay there and, personally, I much prefer cotton sheets so bring my own!!

The welcome basket contains everything needed to get through the first night and the kitchen areas are very well equipped. The overall sense is generous and feels like staying with very good friends.




A beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a relaxing break away from life at home and Northerdale at Mill House Cottages is in the perfect place for us. The cottages are near to Sedburgh with all the second hand book shops, Farfield Mill Arts and Crafts Centre and also near to Kirby Lonsdale. There are many good places to eat out and both the Lakes and the Dales are only a short drive away.

Northerdale is small but very comfortable and perfect for a week. We had a very happy time there. Any small issues were resolved very quickly by Julie and Stephen, who are as attentive as you want them to be.




Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our time at Northerdale Cottage. It's situated in the most stunning location and is equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay. We particularly loved that the bathroom had both a walk in shower and a bath. It definitely has a luxury feel to it and is in such a peaceful spot with lovely views. We couldn't have asked for more :)



Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was looking for a place to really relax and get some peace. This location was perfect. A beautiful location to come back to at the end of a days walking. From the bedroom window you could check the morning weather, watch the hares running across the meadow and the pheasants enjoying the early morning. Could not have asked for more.
Thank you




Recommended - mild caveats

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Much to like and not much to dislike. Good overall.
Pros: tasteful decor; firm, comfortable superking bed; quiet spot. Minor quibbles dealt with quickly and courteously.
Cons: quite a drive from the main road down single-track lanes; pretty sofa but not very comfy for those with a bad back; v small area kitchen/diner (nor suitable for the tall); take your own tissues/toilet roll as not provided/rationed to 1 roll (I really have to keep asking over a longer stay?).





Great for birdwatchers and sunsets

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A peaceful and relaxing stay. Beautiful scenery and walks from the front door. Narrow approach lanes not a problem and well maintained. Saw a Redstart for the first time. One Swallow flew in through the open front door but flew out again!
Only adverse comment was there was no microwave in the cottage as advertised in the details although Sarah kindly offered to get us one if necessary. We only banged our heads once in the kitchen. Bed huge and comfy and lovely shower. Would return.




Excellent cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After the long haul up from Essex and with dusk was approaching, we were tired, but the arrival at the cottage really cheered us up. There were daffodils in the window, the table lamps had been left on to give a pleasant welcoming glow and then there was welcome hamper, the wine was especially appreciated. We met Stephen who told us a few thing about the local area and wished us a pleasant stay. The property was well equipped and everything we needed, and we thought that the owners had given a great deal of thought to furnishing and equipping the property to make visitors feel comfortable. Superb scenery, we did try to walk to the top of the fell but didn't even make halfway. Super location to visit attractions in the area and had a lovely five days break. I think we will be returning.



Cosy and welcoming.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Northerdale for our minimoon due to the amazing location and cosy look of the property. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind. The weather wasn't great while we were there, but we were able to enjoy the log burner and views from the property.



Cosy Autumn Break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy Northerdale provided us plus our dog with an excellent base for another visit to the beautiful Lune Valley and Millhouse Cottages. Stephen and Julie made us very welcome and are always available to help with anything that may arise. The basket of goodies waiting on the kitchen table is generous and carefully put together. After a long journey through dreary weather, it was great to find the log basket stacked, the wood burner ready to go and lights left on to welcome us latecomers. In the morning sunlight the views of the fells across the Lune Valley and the old oak trees in their autumn colours were a glorious sight. Northerdale has good walks from the door, a good pub down the road and is close to the lovely little towns of Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh.



Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely escape from the city. We really enjoyed the wood burning stove and everything was done to a very high standard. The location is lovely and has some good walks nearby.



A place to revisit

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Northerdale was to celebrate our 55th Wedding Anniversary and it was certainly a beautiful place to do this. The cottage was homely and comfortable and on the couple of occasions when we convinced ourselves it was cold enough, we enjoyed the cosiness of the log burner. We also liked the extra large bed, our own 5' now seems positively small!

Although we are familiar with the better known areas of the Lake District and have spent a lot of time near the east coast of Yorkshire, we have previously only passed through this particular area and feel we've missed out, because it's so unspoilt it's superior to the overcrowded tourist towns by the Lakes. I really hope we shall have the opportunity to return, we enjoyed getting to know Kirkby Lonsdale and the Sedbergh bookshops but as the weather wasn't particularly kind, feel there's much more to discover.

We did find the Barbon Inn and went there twice, and our final 'treat' was breakfast at The Crossing Point Cafe in KL which set us up for the day. A welcoming Irish owner and they have a good selection of wines too.

The hamper of 'goodies' was much appreciated too, and it was nice that Julie made time to greet us and Stephen responded
to a small query about the woodburner. Many thanks to all at Mill House Cottages.




Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
What a wonderful review ! Thank you so much ! We are delighted you had a fantastic stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday. It was a delight to meet you both and we are thrilled that you have discovered the joys of The Lune Valley. Like you, so many of our guests are amazed by its beauty, the friendliness of the locals and traffic free roads ! We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes Stephen and Julie

Beautiful country cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Northerdale Cottage. Just what we needed as we were in search of peace , views and relaxation. Very pretty cottage. Fantastic views. Thank you to Julie and Stephen for a great holiday



The Cottage is delightful.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Northerdale is beautifully furnished and very well kitted out. Unfortunately we missed Julie when she came to say hello, because we were out visiting friends, but we were in touch via text and were made to feel very welcome.




Beautiful and peaceful experience.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So much peace around especially on sunny days. Shame I left my football at home. Just previous and special memories really.

Took to Ingleton walk, about 3 hours or so, alot of steps to climb and some nice sceneries.

Then Windermere, boat ride which was alright despite the outpouring of rain.












































Very Good cottage in great location

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Could not find fault with the Northerdale cottage, It would have been nice to have a bread bin, a shelf over the bathroom sink would have helped storing toiletries, but these are very small points.



A Beautiful Setting....

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Northerdale was very comfortable. And is in a beautiful setting. We were welcomed on arrival by a polite lady. And we met the owners in passing, which is a shame because it would have been nice to have met them on a more personal basis. A lovely bottle of wine awaited us as did the bread, jam, milk and butter. The décor and condition of the cottage was good. It was slightly chilly on a couple of occasions, we found one radiator in the kitchen area that we could turn on but the other in the lounge area was locked. I did manage to find the control settings for the heating upstairs mainly due to the fact the towels were not drying, so I turned the heating on. The biggest hurdle was the low ceiling area in the kitchen, which I had only read about on a trip advisor review. Both of us are tall and as their were no warning signs at all it made us very conscious to avoid that area. We have nicknamed the cottage 'Mind Yer 'Ed'

The cottage is suitable as the details said for 2, but certainly not for a baby due to their not being much space in general, and storage space i.e. wardrobe etc., is minimal. And it is definitely not suitable for a baby on the move due to the danger of the stairs alone.

We enjoyed our stay at Northerdale and may well try some of their other cottages on offer at some time in the future.




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review Northerdale. We are very pleased that you had a good time and managed to turn the heating on when required - it isn't normally required in August so we switch it off accordingly and the radiator which is locked comes on with a timer twice per day. Northerdale is a lovely property for two. We do occasionally accept babes in arms, but would normally encourage guests with toddlers to try a more suitable property. Hope to see you at some stage in the future. Kind regards Julie

Beautiful setting, sweet cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great customer service from Julie as we booked a last minute the day we went. The cottage is lovely and the setting is superb. Our toddler loved running round, watching the tractor hay bale each night and watch the sheep on the fell. The best surprise was a welcome hamper of goodies along with gorgeous toiletries and super soft towels. The cottage is really for a couple and even though I loved it , the open staircase in to the bedroom was a bit too much of a challenge to keep our toddler safe! He loved playing on the stairs though! The use of a high chair was thoughtful and useful. A lovely cottage and we very much enjoyed our stay. Next time we will opt for a larger cottage door and book further in advance.



Wonderful Cumbia

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Northerdale. The location is just brilliant for us as it is near the Lakes, Lancashire and Yorkshire and the views from the cottage are second to none.



Northerdale

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and very cosy, the kitchen had everything we needed and everything worked like it was meant too.
The views were stunning and the walks were lovely as well.

Already recommended the cottages to friends are hoping to visit the cottages again in the near future.
Thank you for the hospitality and a wonderful holiday.




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review ! Thank you so much for "spreading the word" - we really appreciate it ! Kind Regards Stephen and Julie

Late spring break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very well presented and is very comfy got two. Every thing we needed was there and quite a few nice touches.
Location was great for us as on the boarders of lakes and dales.
Fantastic hosts there if you needed them but not intrusive.
Would highly recommend




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted that you had such a great time. It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Northerdale is a really lovely compact cottage which is perfect for a couple looking to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District.
The cottage had everything we needed for a week's break and the log burner was perfect for the cold evenings (which we didn't mind!).
We definitely would love to return to this part of the country and would happily stay in this cottage again.




Warm, cosy cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peacefully located at the end of a narrow lane, the cottage was smaller than expected but perfectly suitable for two people. Just be careful under the stairs if you are on the tall side! Lovely and warm with plenty of logs for the wood burner and stunning views onto the fells. Friendly and helpful owners close by if you needed them. We found the duvet a little too warm despite it being cold outside and having the window open all night.



Northerdale cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location in a clean comfortable warm cosy cottage with a welcome pack and personal welcome by friendly helpful people
We can recomend staying here as we had a most enjoyable time staying at northerdale millhouse cottage
Thank you all
Regards and best wishes from Audrey and Fred Aunger





A lovely break away for our honeymoon

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely 6 nights here for our honeymoon. A nice remote location which suited us but lots to do in the surrounding area being between the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales. The local Barbon Inn a couple of miles away was great too. Cosy little cottage, very comfortable with great attention to detail. Loved the welcome hamper. We hope to return.



Great little cottage, lovely scenery and views, friendly hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay over New Years. A cosy cottage, lovely scenery and cosy nights with the wood burner made for an excellent stay. Stephen is on hand to answer any questions and can recommend some good walks.

We would definitely like to have another stay sometime in the future.




Another blissful holiday at Mill House Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week in late October staying in Northerdale. Great walks, comfortable and attractive cottage with a large, light well-appointed bathroom. Steve and Julie are very helpful and their welcome hamper is fab.



Beautiful place...highly recommend!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Such an amazing place. The second time Ive been...we had a wonderful time. Very comfortable beds, wonderful view and a very nice welcome basket with some tasty goodies. I'm sure I'll visit again!



Our stay at Northerdale was simply fantastic!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I mean, it couldn't have come any better.
A perfect little and cute cottage, located between the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District with such kind landlords, that's still brilliant.
We had expected much more rain at this time, but the weather conditions were perfect too (for us).
We, as passionate photographers, were lukily surprised by a lot of sun, a fantastic clouded sky, dozens of
waterfalls, lovely nature and stunning landscape, amazing!
By the way, all english people we had to do with, were so kind, polite and helpful, that was a wonderful experience.

We have to say thank you to Julie and Stephen, which were perfect host's of a beautiful property that we were allowed to come to.

Very warm and kind regards
from Sabine and Steffen




a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal location for both the yorkshire dales and the lake district. A comfortable, clean cottage in a peaceful location. The cottage was well equipped.



Lovely cottage in beautiful surrounding

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time at Northerdale and in the area. We have had a lovely holiday and enjoyed every minute at the cosy cottage. There is also so much to see and do so two weeks are hardly enough!
Thanks a lot to Julie and Stephen for being very friendly and making feeling us welcome.




Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review ! We really appreciate that you took the time to give us some feedback. Hope the journey back to Switzerland was good. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us for two weeks.

4 enjoyable days in Northerdale

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had some superb walks, and visits to interesting local towns. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the cottage was well-equipped. The local people we spoke to were also most kind, and pleased to show us round when we wanted that.

The narrowness of the one-mile approach road to the cottage took some getting used to, but the road was well-maintained. My husband knocked his head three times in the kitchen, but he IS fairly tall - and he did not hit it hard !

Many thanks for the owners' care - and lovely hamper.




Beautiful cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful few days at Mill House Cottages having chosen to stay in Northerdale. The cottage was immaculate and beautifully decorated with a huge super king sized bed. The surrounding area is stunning . Kirkby Lonsdale itself is very pretty and we ate at The Sun Inn and at Avanti , following recommendations from Stephen and Julie . We will certainly return and recommend the cottages to our friends.



The best!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to these cottages more times than we can remember. Set up a quiet lane and against the fellside, they must be amongst the most peaceful in the country. They are maintained to the highest standards and, as soon as anything needs replacing, it is done so that you know exactly what to expect. Not only that, but the welcome hamper is sufficient for immediate needs, avoiding the need to take essentials with you. The owners, Julie and Stephen are always very welcoming - so much so that we now count them amongst our friends. We have recommended Millhouse Cottages to many of our family and friends, and they agree with us - the cottages deserve the highest accolade.



Perfect for two

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage, perfect for two. Very well equipped and maintained. Tastefully furnished.
The cottage is in a lovely area but we used it as a base to explore the Lake District, about half an hours drive away.




Beautiful cottage with roaring wood stove!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superbly restored and appointed cottage in stunning countryside. Friendly, helpful but discreet owners on site to offer advice and explain everything on arrival. Some excellent local pubs and nearby Kirkby Lonsdale has all necessary shops and amenities. Would recommend to family and friends.



Relaxing winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage in rural location. Had everything we needed. We had a problem with the heating which the owner sorted out very quickly. It was very handy to have the owners on site. Would definitely recommend.



One week November break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely area and it was very good to be so close into the fells. The cottages are well maintained with a lot of thoughtful touches and very comfortable, warm, dry and well equipped. The owners do not rely on the beauty of the area to 'sell' the cottages. The beds are fantastic although our one missed note is why undermine this by using poly cotton bed linen? This made the difference for us between good and excellent. Steve and Julie were nevertheless helpful and lovely hosts and very patient with our constantly evolving booking. Walks and places to eat nearby were fantastic.



Review of Northerdale Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage with wonderful views, providing a warm and comfortable retreat perfect for a wild and windy weekend.

Perfectly placed for exploring the south lakes area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back as soon as possible.




The perfect getaway!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My short-break wish list consisted of the following: middle of no-where (tick!), nestled within gorgeous countryside (tick!), cosy and comfortable (tick!), bath for lots of bubbles and relaxation (tick!), epic log fire (tick!). This cottage was perfect. The fact I caught the lurgy and was forced (!) to stay indoors, snuggled under the blanket with a lemsip, for the whole holiday really wasn't any hardship, I definitely got my money's worth :) Thank you for such a lovely stay!



Perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great holiday and stay at Mill house cottages. Perfect location for walking in the Dales or Lakes. The scenery is stunning, straight from your front door. If all you want is peace and quiet with only the sound of sheep in the distance then this is the place for you. Will definitely be going back again.



A wonderful escape from the city

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful retreat with the Yorkshire Dales on your doorstep, It's a perfect escape from the city with fantastic views and great walks a-plenty.The cottage is very nicely decorated and Stephen and Julie are very helpful.



Deborah, Stoke-on-Trent

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent find. The cottage itself was everything you would expect from a 1 bedroom property - compact and cosy, but really lovely and very nicely decorated. There was a very nice welcome package on arrival, which was a lovely touch from the owners who also call to see you have settled in. The cottage is located up a couple of one car width lanes off the main road so is it is very peaceful and the only other people you see are the ones staying in the other cottages. I would highly recommend this cottage, which is ideally located for visiting both the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales, and I cannot wait to return.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Northerdale is a small cottage for two people in a very quiet and peaceful location with wonderful walks right on your doorstep. The Yorkshire Dales and the Lakedistrict are all within easy driving distance. During our stay we were able to see the Tour De France which made our visit extra special



Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice relaxing holiday. The cottage was as good as advertised. Outstanding scenery. New outside seating would comfort. Overall - excellent.



a perfect cottage for two

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage for two. We relaxing and walking in a wonderfull nature. Is was a very warm welcom Form Julie and Stephen. We thinking to Comeback in the next few years.



A fantastic short stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage, facilities, welcome hamper and the views made our honeymoon stay just fantastic. The cottage was straight on to some gorgeous trails and footpaths to make having a walk very easy and the location and information provided meant we found excellent restaurants and good places to visit with ease. Julie and Stephen were spot on in the way they took care of us and we would definitely recommend Northerdale to anyone looking for walking holiday, a romantic break or a fab location to explore the dales and lakes from. Truely excellent!



Excellent holiday retreat!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every bit of our stay at Northerdale, Mill House Cottages. This is a gem location with perfect views over the dales and (at this time of the year) the many lambs and sheep virtually at our doorstep which is extremely fun to watch. Walking, golfing, pretty villages in the neighborhood. Super! The cottage was perfect for two with all the right facilities. Great welcome and support from Stephen and Julie.



Idyllic Location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a truly wonderful place to stay and we have returned many times. The views from the cottage are breathtaking, facilities are top notch and the hosts make you feel very special. We call it our 'small but beautifully formed' haven. What more can you wish for?



spring break at norther dale

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very cosy, comfortable, well equipped and we were made very welcome. The location was perfect for walkers, we really enjoyed walking on the hills from the front door.



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable in a lovely location.
What more to saymmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm




Northerdale Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Dec 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Mill House Cottages, excellent cottages we will be back many times more, thanks Julie and Stephen for you hospitality. Fabulous location we have never slept so well.



A Long Weekend in the Lake District

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Northerdale proved a welcome destination at the end of a slow trip up the M6 - a warm fire, delicious food and a cosy cottage made for a relaxing stay. Julie was a helpful host and we particularly appreciated the flexible approach to check out time! Definitely planning a return trip.



Regular Visitors

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times and highly recommend it. Even moreso now it's been refurbished. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. You always get a welcome hamper filled with local goodies, and a bottle of wine! The cottage is perfect in every way for a couple or singleton. You can walk straight from your door right up to Calftop, if you're feeling energetic. There's a drying room and laundry area if you get wet and muddy! Then back to the cottage to a lovely warm log burner!



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Lorna and Mitch _ thanks so much for your great feedback. We know how much you love it here and our visitors' book always benefits from the amazing cartoons you leave in it !