FB Twitter

Howgills Barn

Howgills Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 79 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Five Star Gold Property. Sleeps 4. Converted from part of the barn at Mill House, this fabulous detached, contemporary property offers stylish living to suit even the most discerning of guests.

Luxury escape in the Lune Valley

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we live very close to the Lune Valley it is only when you are able to stay in the area that you realise how special it is. Staying at Howgills Barn was wonderful. Pure luxury and a log burning stove for those chilly Autumn nights enhanced the time we spent there. Can’t waite for an opportunity to return.




Great holiday property in a fabulous truly rural location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Howgills Barn before - about 4 years ago - and very pleased to say it is still a wonderful property in an outstanding location. The Barn is superbly fitted out with everything you'd need for a 'home from home' stay. The accommodation is top class, as is the service and customer care from Stephen and Julie. It's a perfect base from which to tour round Cumbria, The Lakes and The Dales.

Even the weather was kind to us for the several days we were there. With day-long warm sun, clear blue skies and the incredible autumn colours of the woods and the Fells, it really was special. No need to visit New England in the Fall when old England is as good as this!

Neil
South Somerset




Luxurious Lake District !

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really beautiful quiet location .

Fabulous accommodation... a real treat ... very well equipped , beautifully decorated and clean and comfortable... particularly the bed ! Wow .

The owners greeted us in person , were helpful and friendly and had prepared a beautiful essentials welcome pack which included red wine !

Thank you




Delightful Property

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful few days at Howgills Barn
The property was spacious, extremely clean with contemporary styling which we loved.
We lit the log burner on a couple of evenings which made the house very cosy.
Great places to eat locally and further afield.
Fantastic base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and The Lake District
We will be back !




Howgills Barn is a relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills barn is a fabulous place to stay especially for those with mobility problems. Apart from a couple of steps up to the barn you are then on one level. It has high quality furnishings, a superb fitted kitchen with all the appliances you need and stunning bathrooms/wet rooms for each of the two bedrooms. It truly deserves its 5*gold rating. Julie & Stephen the owners were extremely helpful hosts especially when taking delivery and removal of the oxygen system required for our stay. We will not hesitate to return again.



Tranquil oasis, perfect for relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn is beautifully appointed and a perfect base for a relaxing break, close to the Lakes and other adventures!



Great place - 2nd stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love everything about Mill House Cottages. This was our second stay at Howgills Barn and we had stunning weather as well! Great location for the Lakes and the Dales .. we completed half of the Dales Way long distance walk during our two visits. Superb accommodation and service.



A week in howgills barn in early may

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third stay with millhouse cottages and the second at howgills barn. It is a five star property creating high expectations which, for the most part are met. A chest of drawers in the front bedroom would be very useful. The adjacent store room is great but drawers for stuff which can’t be hung would be an improvement.
We thought the overall standard of cleanliness wasn’t as good as last time. Cobwebs on walls, dust in corners, smeary glass.
Finally, whilst not wishing to suggest that the duvet cover had not been freshly laundered, the underside bore several highly suspicious marks. Not nice wondering what you might be getting into bed with.
Lest this all sounds too damning let me say we had a lovely week and will no doubt be booking with mill house cottages again.




Julie Bolton - Owner replied 210 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you so much for raising your concerns with us I have spoken to the Housekeeping Team about your feedback and they are mortified that you weren't fully happy with the standard. Of course all linen is freshly laundered - that goes without saying ! Hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place for a relaxing break, very peaceful and scenic.
First time to stay in Howgill Barn and hopefully not the last, definitely a 5 star accommodation, credit to Julie and Stephen.
Will definitely return, this was our second visit as we stayed in Northerndale the first time.




A little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have used with Mill House Cottages and the second time we have stayed in Howgills Barn.

This is a beautiful peaceful location with accommodation to match and deserves its 5 Star rating. The accommodation is fantastic, comfortable and well laid out. We are in the process of booking again for next year because for us this is a little bit of heaven and we always leave our time feeling refreshed. Great hosts who are available but do not bother you unless you need it. We would recommend this to anyone.




Perfect home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn is a beautifully and luxuriously appointed cottage for relaxing and exploring the local area and the Lakes - we'll be back next year!



Howgills Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An ideal location to explore both The Lakes and The Dales. A well furnished and comfortable property which made for relaxed evenings after a long day. The welcome pack was a nice touch.



The cottage was fabulous it was so homely and comfortable.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfort and style were unreal and all the tittle touches that are added made our stay more memorable the hamper was so welcoming and the toiletries from "Bath house" were a luxury we actually came home and ordered some for our selves. Communication was excellent we received a text welcoming us on arrival a home visit to check that everything was fine and then a text to wish us a safe journey home. We would most certainly recommend a stay.



We had a wonderful stay the only issue being the lack of small windows to open in the master bedroom

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was excellent in every way. The quality of furniture, crockery etc was beautiful. Maybe just a couple of more cooking utensils (blender, whisk etc and a new sauté pan) would have been helpful as we loved eating in. Look forward to coming again soon.



Top quality off the beaten track

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a luxury location to use as a base to see the Dales and Lakes. So glad we found Howgills.







Relaxing and enjoyable location surrounded by beautiful scenery.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage well equipped with high end fixtures and fittings.
Julie and Stephen were great hosts, available when needed and a lovely welcome present of local produce.
Well situated for exploring the area with some good pubs for food and drink.
Highly recommended for those who like to walk and take things easy !




Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This made for the perfect weekend for my son's 18th Birthday. We hired Howgill's and Mill House cottage, both were superb. Mill House is an old favourite and it is completely refreshed after the redecoration. They both were comfy, cosy and had all the little touches you could hope for.



Self-Catering with Style

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious , comfortable, stylish accommodation for 4 ( plus well-behaved dog). The exceptional weather- hot and sunny in June - added to the pleasure. BBQ alfresco eating at 9pm almost unheard of in this part of the world especially several nights in a row.
Hosts available without being in anyway intrusive. Being very picky a little issue with lack of clothes hooks in bathrooms and bedrooms and the main bathroom shower could not be used to full as it would flood the bathroom and possibly beyond.
Local walking is for the very fit due to the steepness of the hill however a trip to Kirkby Lonsdale provides excellent walking along the river into the town. Eating out no problem even with a dog ( The Royal in the town very accommodating and good value )
Cottage provides easy access to places of interest in Lancashire, Cumbria and Yorkshire Dales. All in all; highly recommended.




Fabulous cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent a week at Howgills Barn and despite the poor weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is in a stunning location and is absolutely fabulous inside, fitted out to a very high standard, the attention to detail is fabulous right down to the Nespresso machine and the welcome goodies.
Highly recommended for the Lakes or the Dales and Kirkby Lonsdale (6 miles) is lovely with lots of great places to eat.




A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Hogwills Barn was our second stay with Mill House Cottages and like the first it did not disappoint us. We love the area, and the standard and comfort of the accommodation was absolutely fantastic. The friendliness and welcome were outstanding and it is our intention to definitely stay again. Some of our family were with us and this was their first stay here and they thought the accommodation was awesome. We would recommend this as a number one choice when deciding to visit the area of Cumbria or the Yorkshire Dales.



Fantastic barn, very well equipped and located in an oustanding setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn is a lovely place to stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, even the bedding had a lovely fresh linen smell and the barn offers a truly 'home from home' experience. We visited the barn with some friends and there is plenty of space for four adults, with all the amenities required. The location was great for us, very remote but lots of great places to visit nearby. The views are spectacular and it really was a truly relaxing break. We will definitely return!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at howgills, perfect for our family and close to our family members who we are visiting.
Clean and comfortable stay in a luxury accommodation.




Girly weekend at Howgills barn

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning barn conversion, a real luxury retreat located in a beautiful setting.
Thoroughly enjoyed the barn and the surrounding area.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing setting, very peaceful with great walks from the barn, warm & cosy on wet days. Julie & Stephen very helpful & attentive hosts. Really comfortable beds with superb wet room bathrooms, we will certainly come back.



Lovely in every way!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just as the details suggested - very comfortable - can't think of anything to improve our stay.



Howgills Barn 5th - 12th September 2016

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would just like to say what a wonderful time myself and my parents had at Howgills Barn.
The accommodation itself was top class and had everything we needed. Everything was so comfortable and we had a nice relaxing stay.
The welcome pack was very much appreciated, as was the coffee.
No complaints whatsoever.

The location is also ideal for visiting both the lakes and the Yorkshire Dales, and the countryside between Barbon and Dent was totally unexpected. The location is also perfect for anyone looking simply to chill and to recharge the batteries./

I would definitely consider coming back to stay.




A great stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, a real touch of class in a very peaceful location near attractions. Can't wait to return. All round excellent stay. Can't fault anything. Made to feel very welcome and wanted for nothing.



Howgills

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have had another lovely holiday at Howgills Barn. I am very fussy about where I stay and always spend hours trawling review sites before I book. Accomodation clean and spacious. Location great for us. Beautiful views of the countryside around. I would definitely stay again.



Absolutely perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to the owner of the property for having a such gorgeous relaxing place.Our visit to the cottage was so great, so if we could , we will have stayed longer. 5 Stars all the way !



Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank yo so much for your lovely comments and feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you all and hope to see you again at some stage in the future Kind Regards Julie

Good, but..

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn was lovely and well appointed, well located and modern. The surrounding scenery was spectacular, and it seems that the local walks were well off the beaten track. The amenities in the facility were generally great, the shower was powerful and the Internet reliable. We thoroughly enjoyed using the kitchen and it had all the implements you could want. Julie and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

However there were a couple of things I felt could be improved.

We only used one of the bedrooms but were disappointed to find polycotton bedding, and the mattress was somewhat sunken. Additionally we arrived with a baby and had requested a cot but we weren't informed that bedding wasn't supplied. We were offered a sheet for the cot when we asked the following day, but it would have been helpful to know in advance.









60th birthday

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely time at the barn. It is very comfortable and in a beautiful location. It had everything that you need and we felt like home from home. It is a great place to relax and unwind. Thank you.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful week in this superb cottage. Everything was beautifully crafted, immaculately clean and to a very high standard. The peaceful surroundings, at the foot of the fell were breathtakingly beautiful. Even the weather was perfect - the only downside was it was much too warm to light the log burner! Maybe a reason to return in colder weather?
Stephen & Julie were perfect hosts - friendly & helpful yet respectful of our privacy.
The area is far away from the madding crowd, surrounded by fields and meadows but only 10 minutes from Kirby Lonsdale. After a day out in the Lakes or Dales the cottage was a perfect retreat. We enjoyed an excellent meal at the friendly local inn at Barbon.
All in all, a great holiday which suited us and our aging parents.
Thank you! We hope to return.




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review. You certainly had a great week with the weather ! I am so pleased that Howgills Barn worked well for all your group. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards Julie

Outstanding Howgills Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn was outstanding.
The area is breathtaking. The stunning lake district is close enough to visit - but do not miss the beauty of this part of the Yorkshire Dales.
Julie and Steve are the ultimate hosts and have great attention to detail.
Definitely returning




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear All. It was an absolute delight to have you all to stay in Howgills Barn! We thoroughly enjoyed having you around and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much ! Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warm wishes from Stephen and Julie

Howgills Barn - a lovely property in a great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You would go a long way to find a property of this quality for the price. Fixture and fittings are to the highest standard and the super king beds are extremely comfortable. The location is ideal for those wishing to visit the sights and villages in both the Dales and the Lake District, despite being off the beaten track. The owners are very friendly and obliging. Howgills is definitely worth another visit.



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in Howgills Barn. It was a delight to meet you all ! We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and hope to see you again at some stage in the not too distant future. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

The best accomodation we had in England!!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every part of this beautiful property.
Beautifully presented and everything thought of.
Nearby pubs were excellent.
Great spot between the Yorkshire Dales and The Lakes.




We love it!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are returners to Howgills Barn and find its surroundings stunningly beautiful. Despite the weather we had a most restful and enjoyable stay. What better than to wake up in a morning with no other sound than the birds singing and lambs bleating? Pure tranquility. Everything top quality and as ever, a very warm welcome from Julie and Stephen. This is a truly amazing place.



Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
As ever, it was a pleasure to have you to stay! Thank you so much for your great review and your loyalty to us. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

A walking week.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay and a great base to explore the local area. Accomodation was extremely comfortable and the hosts have thought of everything to make the stay memorable. Would highly recommend. Plenty of lovely walks within close proximity, most of which happen to cross paths with a pub or two... A real home from home, and we will definitely be back!



Amazing cottage with view to match

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was an amazing place the views where breathtaking and the cottage it's self well we couldn't have asked for anything more. Julie and Steven where great any nothing was too much trouble very friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely welcoming hamper which was very nice. Each room was so well done and was so clean. The log burner was a real treat to come back to after a long day out walking. Fabulous walks right outside the door. Well definitely book again, can't wait to come back!



Julie Bolton: Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you both to Howgills Barn on such a special occasion ! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

make your reservation without hesitation!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From initial inquiry to checkout, communications with Julie were always prompt. The accommodation is as good as, if not better, than the pictures portray. The location was perfect with many walking options available at your door step or sights to visit within an easy drive away.



Beautiful cottage, beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and very comfortable - we very much enjoyed our stay at Howgills Barn. Fully equipped and with all the extras so we didn't have to think about bringing everything with us (fire lighters, kindling, matches, DVDs, milk, butter, tea towels etc). Plus the little luxuries made for a great few days.



Brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't fault Howgills Barn, the property is decorated to a high standard and furnished to make sure you have a cozy relaxing holiday. And you wouldn't wish for a better location. stunning!



enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was most enjoyable ,from the time the booking was made ,Julie and Stephen were perfect hosts ,The accommodation was perfect clean ,all the amenities you could want ,heating at this time of year first class ,
This was our second visit to one of the properties ,i have stay we will be back ,highly recommend these
to friends and relatives .
Well done job




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for a lovely review! Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Howgills as much as The Pavilion. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Family Christmas at Mill House Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect place to have a grown up family Christmas away from home. We had some lovely walks then came back to a warm, comfortable and superbly fitted out space. The bathrooms and bedrooms were a delight and so restful. Just what we all needed.




Another amazing cottage break in first class surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another stay at these wonderful cottages with Stephen and Julie most welcoming hosts who have thought of every detail to make your stay just great, with an eye for style and quality makes these cottages outstanding. You will not be disappointed.
Thank you for a great stay.




A real delight!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times at Mill House and always enjoyed a wonderful relaxed time there. Howgills Barn is extremely comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The log fire is so cosy now that the evenings are drawing in and it is getting colder. One of the greatest pleasures is being able to walk straight out of the cottage and enjoy wonderful walks. The area is so beautiful and un-spoilt, we prefer it to the crowded Lakes! We very much look forward to coming again. Thank you Julie and Stephen.



fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic cottage with fantastic views great quiet location
Could not ask for a better place to spend my anniversary really glad I booked it .




Perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice location, everything as described, even better, high standard, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds, luxurious bathrooms, astonishing views, very friendly and helpful hosts



A great holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'll start by saying that I have a terrible habit of reading reviews for everything!! I had read reviews about here and all were really positive, so I booked. I'm so glad I did!
Just stayed in Howgills for a week with my husband and son (a wheelchair user). The location is quite remote but this was made clear to us on booking and really wasn't a problem. The barn was spacious enough to accommodate the wheelchair which was great.
The nearest village is about 5 minutes away and we had a meal in the pub there, it wasn't a fancy gastro place but we enjoyed our meals.
The local town Kirby Lonsdale, a 10/15 minute drive, is quaint and beautiful. It has a decent supermarket, some lovely little shops and we had another good meal in The Red Lion. If you park at Devils Bridge there's a great walk along the river that leads into town. There is also a great spot called 'Ruskins View'
My only downside was that the weather was too good sadly to light the log fire and the steps at the front could be a problem for other wheelchair users. We bumped it down and lifted it up.
Overall great accommodation in a gorgeous setting with beautiful views!






Julie Bolton: Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much ! Great review and very representative . It was a delight to have you staying with us. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

Exceptional accommodation in beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills barn is one of the best holiday accommodations we have stayed in. Exceptional in
Its facilities, cleanliness and location. Julie and Stephen friendly and helpfull and clearly passionate
about providing their guests with a first class holiday experience. Would highly recommend.




Julie Bolton: Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It was lovely to see you all and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday

Escape to the country!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An absolutely beautiful cottage in a stunning location with lovely views. Extremely well equipped and furnished to a very high standard. Luxurious bathrooms with sumptuous white robes to snuggle in by the log fire. The most comfortable beds for a restful nights sleep after long walks in the surrounding countryside.







Another excellent holiday at Howgills

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent service was received from housekeeper, Sarah, at midnight on the night we lost power due to hot air balloon taking out a power line. A fresh supply of candles and matches provided a different ambiance to that expected but hey we enjoyed the experience and had a good holiday as ever.



Exceeding Expectations

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay in Howgills Barn and each time it exceeds expectations as we discover something new and different in this beautiful area.
We did more local walks during this stay and really enjoyed dining out at The Highwayman, The Sun Inn and The Barbon.
The cottage is extremely well equipped with TVs in both bedrooms. The walk in wet rooms are so luxurious and we just love the log burner, which along with underfloor heating kept us very cosy during our visit. Having our own private laundry and drying room was a bonus when drying out walking gear. Can't wait to come back!




Recent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
People walking through the outside sitting area means no privacy, wi fi not evident for business use would expect better at this price range White Swan excellent




Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I have emailed you directly to better understand your comments ref the private seating area. You have very kindly let me know that whilst we were away, a couple of members of the Team used your private seating area as a short cut! This is absolutely not acceptable and I will re-enforce that to the people concerned. As we discussed during your visit, the broadband is of a rural speed and whilst perfectly capable of sending emails and "googling", it isn't possible to download any big files. We have supplemented the land based broadband with satellite and BT tell me that they are well on their way to upgrading the line. Best Regards Julie

The perfect getaway for peace and quiet

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a gorgeous location. Very isolated and if you are not a fan of driving on single track country lanes then access may be a problem for you. However, the drive is worth it because of the views and the peace & quiet. The cottage was very warm and comfortable with everything you need. Despite the location the Wi-fi was not bad either. Unfortunately we had awful weather but this just made the place more cosy!



Wonderful find!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a stay at Howgills Barn after finding it on their website. The website is amazing & the
Barn looked superb. On arrival we were delighted to find that the Barn lived up to its description & totally exceeded our expectations. Everything is immaculate & of the highest standard. All rooms have been dressed in beautiful fabrics, lovely colours & fabulous furniture. The bathrooms are stunning. The extra touches like the Nespresso Coffee Machine in the kitchen shows how considerate Julie has been in planning every detail.

Julie & Stephen were warm & welcoming. They were extremely hospitable throughout our stay & treated us like family. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely people!

A truly wonderful place to stay. We are going back!

Kim & John, Feering, Essex








Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Wow ! Thank you for such an amazing review ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was a delight to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Stephen and Julie

A winter wonderland

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was another fabulous stay, we have been in Mill Cottage a few times and now Howgills, it was just as expected and more, outstanding in all areas, comfort and quality with such styling, always a welcome basket to give you a sample of local goods. There is everything you need and with some special extras added makes your stay even more special. Wonderful, friendly and very welcoming cannot wait to book again. A perfect cottage sat in magnificent surroundings.
Thank you once again




Exceptional

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we continue to return to Mill House says it all. This time we decided to treat ourselves to Howgills Barn and we were not disappointed. The cottages, location and the hosts are exceptional.



A wonderful converted barn in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Howgills Barn - it is a beautiful barn conversion with luxurious fittings, a huge welcome hamper and all set in beautiful scenery with its own private Fell to walk up.



Per e-mail to owners. Beautiful property in a wonderful location - highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Refer to earlier e-mail to owners. I can honestly say we've had a fabulous break in a simply wonderful property - thank you for letting us share your little bit of heaven if only for a few days. The opportunity to walk out of a lovely contemporary furnished home and straight up onto largely unknown fells amongst the deers was singularly unique in our experience (Paul loved the wilderness heading up towards Middleton Fell).

We'd love to keep Mill House Cottages a secret - but that's not good for business!




An amazing start to our honeymoon!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing start to our honeymoon at Howgills Barn. The cottage was amazing and the welcome hamper was lovely to find. We enjoyed the surrounding area and the beautiful views from the cottage and it was a luxurious place to come back to at the end of the day. Stephen and Julie were both really friendly and keen to help give us a great holiday.



Best Night Sleep Ever!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic views in a well equipped cottage which really is home from home with everything we needed. The cottage has been well decorated and maintained, quiet location with the only downside being that our stay was not long enough! Will certainly be looking at returning in the near future.



Wonderful location in Cumbria!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulously appointed and maintained barn conversion in a beautiful part of Cumbria!

Stephen and Julie are amiable but unobtrusive hosts.

Would recommend to anybody who enjoys English countryside.




Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this property merits it's 5 star rating. It has the wow factor as soon as soon as you arrive in the drive. Once inside Howgill s Barn is even more impressive than the online pictures portray. Tastefully decorated throughout with modern furnishings and fittings. The welcome hamper was a beautiful touch and much appreciated. The toiletries were luxurious. A wonderful peaceful location and an ideal place to unwind and relax. Only down side was we d only booked for 4 nights and didn't want to leave.



Great venue

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Made to feel very welcome, excellent modern accommodation with the wow factor in a peaceful location and great central base for days out in the Yorkshire Dales and Lake District



Simply Stunning!!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn had everything we wanted, it was a beautiful barn conversion in a fantastic area. A real gem. Loved the welcome pack of goodies to get you started - the local yogurts were delicious! Howgills has everything you need for a relaxing holiday, hope to return soon.



Excellent accomodation in idealitic surroundings and location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a relaxing home from home cottage in a rural setting and that is exactly what we got. Situated at the top of a single track lane, surrounded by fields and amazing views makes this the perfect country retreat. You are warmly welcomed by the hosts in person and with a welcoming basket of goodies. The property is finished to a very high standard and the décor and furnishing are in extremely good taste. Large comfortable beds, large bathrooms with large showers and bath tubs. What more could you ask for? Thank you Stephen and Julie for making it a very relaxing and comfortable holiday.



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from 3 nights stay in Howgills Barn and Southerdale Cottage. The cottages are absolutely perfect, the have been renovated to the highest standard, I could not imagine them being any better. The setting was very peaceful and incredibly beautiful. Would highly recommend a stay at these cottages and hope to go back soon.



A Great Location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long journey so arriving to a beautiful, warm cottage was a relief. We had a lovely hamper of goodies which enabled us to have a drink before unloading the car (and something stronger for when we had unpacked).

The bedrooms and bathrooms were finished to a very high spec and the toiletries were gorgeous. The location was beautiful and thanks to the directions easy to find.

We had no need to light the pre-laid wood burning fire but it still made a good focal point. The decor was extremely tasteful and the kitchen fitted to a very high standard. It was a joy to return to after a days' sightseeing.

We will certainly recommend the cottage to our friends and colleagues.




a stay to remember

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could ask for nothing more! Beautiful surroundings in an immaculate barn. We were pleasantly surprised by the modcons..... In fact better equipt than my own home! A wonderful addition was the welcome hamper which went above and beyond. Even when the weather wasn't with us we were comfortable in front of the log fire and TV. I couldn't recommend this place more highly and can't wait to return.



An amazing barn conversion in a stunning setting

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn is fantastic - such luxurious accommodation with great attention to detail - and in beautiful surroundings. We had a wonderful time and will be coming back again soon!



cant wait to visit again.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place to stay, stunning location and the warmest welcome. Lovely welcome basket waiiting for us. We had the best few days and did not want to come home (even the dog didnt want to leave). should have 6 stars, would not change a thing. can not wait to visit again.



Everything and more...

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely conversion of the barn, modern and bright.

Had a great stay watching the Olympics with feet up, log burner in full force, under floor heating so stone floor great to walk about on in stocking feet, gales were howling outside and no draughts at all.

I can fully recommend this place for a get away from it all vacation.

The welcome basket was well stocked, towels & bathrobes fluffy, good wifi, Vodafone & O2 reception.
For those concerned that dogs are allowed in the barn, there were no dog hairs to be found, not even under the sofa, I had to move sofa to get my dogs chew stick out from under it and there were no dust bunnies :-)

Window down to the floor meant the dog had a great view watching the sheep so she was happy.




A touch of luxury between the Lakes and Dales.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Howgills Barn. On arrival we were greeted with a food hamper that contained just about everything that we might need, including a bottle of very good red wine, which we drank with enthusiasm. The barn itself was beautifully decorated in sympathy with its unique character. Everything was of the highest standard and quality; the showers, wet rooms, furnishings and culinary items.
The crowning glory of this barn is its wonderfully secluded situation yet proximity to Keswick, Kirby Lonsdale and Ruskins View.




Howgills Barn - December 2013

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time in the most beautiful location. The cottage was just gorgeous and we really couldn't have asked for more. We like to try different places when we take a break but this is a place we will definitely be looking to return to - we loved it.



6 Star Luxury!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My girlfriend and I have just returned from a fantastic three night stay in Howgills Barn and we want to go back already! The barn is lovingly decorated in a modern and luxurious style with some fantastic little touches including the free standing bath, walk in shower, arrival hamper and ready made fire. The walk up the fell at the rear of the property is more of a challenge than it looks but the peacefulness and starry skies at night are certainly worth it.

I'd can't recommend this property enough. Please stay here - you'll love it!

James (and Emma)




Great cottage break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this beautiful cottage for my husband's birthday and it was worth every penny. It offers premium quality comfort, we absolutely loved every minute and couldn't fault a thing. It's very spacious, I loved the huge bath in my en-suite and the underfloor heating. The kitchen is equipped with the latest modern conveniences, which was ideal as i love cooking a feast. The log fire was excellent it heated the cottage instantly and we also enjoyed toasting our marshmallows on it. We stay in cottages every year and I can honestly say hand on heart that this was by far the best we have ever booked, 5star premium quality. We are already looking to book our next stay with millhouse cottages and we can't wait ;) I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a high quality premium service in a great location with amazing views, you will not be disappointed!



First Class as always.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We continue to come to both Howgills Barn & The Paddock as they "tick all our boxes". These are the best self catering cottages we have ever used. Stephen & Julie are excellent hosts.



Lovely Break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Howgills Barn is beautiful, cosy and welcoming, with every possible need already thought of and provided. Good wifi too!
A very easy booking process, Julie was very accommodating and helpful. Would recommend this property for anyone looking for a peaceful break, within reach of amenities. Kirkby Lonsdale is a very pretty little market town and provides local shopping. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have asked for a nicer break. Cottage was in excellent condition. We were felt very welcomed. Very nice countryside around and Kirkby Lonsdale was a lovely little town to visit. Kids loved their stay as well



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. we are so pleased that you had a great holiday and enjoyed the surrounding area.