FB Twitter

Grouse Hall

Grouse Hall

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Historic farmhouse in elevated position with sweeping views over The Yorkshire Dales

Grouse Hall, A Week in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really wonderful week in Grouse Hall and the directions to find the cottage were clear and easy to follow.
The cottage is nestled into the Dales and you wake up to beautiful scenery and the sounds of the Curlews calling, it is a really peaceful retreat surrounded by the rolling Dales which are beautiful.
Grouse Hall was a delight to stay in and was very tastefully decorated and furnished and after a day out walking and exploring it was a treat to come back to a warm, comfortable and well equipped cottage.
(The wood burners were a welcome source of heat and added to the ambience of the cottage and were easy to use )
There are many beautiful places to visit that are an easy distance from the cottage both in the Dales and the Lake District and so we were able to explore both and enjoyed the contrasting countryside.
We had an amazing meal in the Black Bull in Sedbergh, this was one of the recommended restaurants, thank you.
I would definitely recommend Grouse Hall as a luxury cottage to stay in if you are visiting the Dales.
Thank you to Julie and Stephen.




Wonderful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In what feels like a real 'away from it all' location yet only half a mile from the main road, this fantastic cottage is beautifully furnished, clean and also lovely and warm on colder days. Situated in a very quiet lane with outstanding views, yet only 15-20 minutes from Sedbergh and Hawes it really is the perfect base for exploring the Dales.



Just what we had hoped for

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In fact Grouse Hall exceeded our expectations - the quality of the furnishings and kitchen appliances was excellent and the house was immaculate. We will have no hesitation in booking further accommodation from Mill House Cottages.



The perfect, peaceful Dales retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grouse Hall is one of the best designed and comfortable interiors one could wish for. It is located high up on Grisedale on a lonely road which places you right in the heart of this secluded moor. Although you will want to explore, you will also want to spend lots of time indoors relaxing. It is the perfect vantage point from which to view the many changing faces of the surrounding moorland. It is so peaceful.



Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautifully renovated cottage. Very peaceful with uninterrupted views across the Dales.

Extremely well equipped; the only thing missing was a clothes airer which would have been useful for drying clothes. Also, not sure it was necessary to leave all the lights on for our arrival.

So glad we picked it and would happily recommend it to others.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Much bigger than we expected it was going to be. Had everything we needed and access etc was easy. Fittings etc all really nicely done. Wifi good. Beds super comfy. Welcome hamper was a really nice touch. Location was beautiful but be prepared to drive around - although we did find plenty to do around the area and enough to entertain a 5 year old. It would be nice to add a hot tub and there was certainly space for it outside. We were really impressed with the cottage and I would definitely book another mill house cottage. Highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful break.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Grouse Hall on one of the sunniest weeks of the year. The cottage , particularly the kitchen, was very well equipped and had plenty of space for 4 people. Everything in the cottage was of the highest quality - the beds were very comfortable and the showers were powerful. We loved sitting on the terrace on an evening with a glass of wine, just looking at the view and watching the sheep in the field next to the cottage.



Very special holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was in two minds as to whether or not I should write a review as I couldn’t fault our stay, and quite like the idea that nobody else knows about it!! Want it all to myself!!
Beautiful cottage in amazing location! Set by itself, it is very quiet. There is a fabulous view out of every window of Garsdale. I felt as though no one else had stayed there, that it was my special place. Very well done to the owners for keeping in such good condition and to such a high standard. Lots of space; two sitting areas, three bathrooms, extra toilet, porch and utility area. Absolutely loved it!!




Grouse Hall

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grouse Hall is in a fabulous location, with wonderful views from the house and is ideal for exploring the Dales.
The cottage is very cosy and everything was of the highest quality with lots of quirky touches.
The weather was mixed but it it didn't stop us getting out. Both Sedbergh and Hawes are lovely towns which are close by and lots of great walking on the doorstep.




A wonderful break at Grouse Hall

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous, beautifully furnished cottage with incredible views. It is very remote so not for someone who wants to be near a town. I would rather keep this gem a secret...



Amazing views with peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grouse hall is located on a very quiet road- the views from the property are stunning and all you can hear are sheep. The property is excellent- the beds are 5 star luxury. Fantastic wood burner which made the evenings warm and cosy. The kitchen is very well equipped.
Short drive to Hawes or Sedburgh provides beautiful walks, waterfalls and delicious pub food. There are some walks from the property but best to drive out.
Weather was superb which was lucky for us- this meant the only downside we found was the garden furniture which was needing some treatment or cushions and maybe a little more comfort? Luckily we had our garden chairs with us so we sat outside using those.
Grouse hall is one of the best properties we have stayed in a d it is in a beautiful part of the country- if you like peace and getting away from it all then this is the place to recharge your batteries!!




Would have liked to move in!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was spotless and had every comfort you could wish for. Freshly refurbished and decorated with everything brand new. Plenty of space for 2 couples wanting to share with the king sized beds. Nice boot room area and cloakroom for muddy walkers. Two living areas which are both cosy. Central heating was automatic and worked a treat as did the log burners. Might need a degree to operate the ovens/hob as they were so modern but we managed! All in all a lovely house in a great location.



Cumbria break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grouse Hall was as stunning as the views. It was cosy, beautifully presented and decorated . The facilities were well thought out and nothing lacking. Everything was of the highest quality which made for a luxurious and comfortable stay. We particularly liked cooking in the high speck kitchen. The location was breathtaking, we never tired of the views. The icing on the cake was star gazing at night. Totally awesome. We could not recommend Grouse Hall highly enough and we will absolutely be back! Great customer service too- nothing was any trouble.



A gem of a property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grouse Hall is a high quality property in a stunning and quiet location. we hope to return next year.



A peaceful getaway!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful house with absolutely stunning views. It was a lovely break from the London rush; lots of walking and reading, everything we needed!



Holiday in a quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property in a beautiful location. I would highly recommend Mill House Cottages - they were very helpful with the booking and this property was very high spec.



A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous place to stay if you want peace, quiet and tranquillity! Grouse Hall is spacious, comfortable and very well configured with great social spaces, an outdoor seating area with stunning valley views, spacious bedrooms and a fabulous boot room which is very useful after a days walking. Plenty to explore in the locality as well as further afield - we would definitely stay here again.



Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely luxurious cottage in a fantastic spot with great views. Lovely comfortable bedrooms, great bathrooms and spacious living areas. The location is really special on the side of the hill overlooking the whole valley, so peaceful but lots of days out and walks in easy reach.



JUlie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Grouse Hall ! iT really is stunning Thank for your review Kind Regards Julie

A very relaxing stay at Grouse Hall

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a 4 day getaway at Grouse Hall. Unfortunately we picked a very, very stormy weekend! However, Grouse Hall was warm and inviting when we arrived. It's a beautiful cottage, just as the pictures show on the website. The beds are super comfy with wonderful linens; the towels were soft and fluffy and plentiful. The cottage has been renovated and decorated to a very high standard. The views were spectacular. Due to the weather we weren't able to get out and about as much as we would have liked, but spent some cozy times in the cottage. It was a little more remote than I anticipated - but that was my fault, I didn't read the website info correctly and although initially it made me uneasy (particularly when it snowed the first night and I thought our car might get stuck), we soon adjusted and I would definitely love to return to this wonderful property. Highly recommend.

The only minor issue was the oven/microwave.... the manual said it was a combi-oven, but for the life of us, we could not figure out how to make it work as a microwave!!




Review of Grouse Hall

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grouse Hall and would highly recommend. The property is located in an absolutely stunning position overlooking the Garsdale valley and is furnished and decorated to a very high standard and suited our needs perfectly.
It is a walkers and cyclists paradise and there are brilliant bird watching opportunities.