FB Twitter

Box Tree Cottage

Box Tree Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Box Tree Cottage, Barbon. Delightful 2 bedroom cottage in village location within easy walking distance of the local pub and village shop.

Another great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Box Tree Cottage. It has been the ideal spot to relax and enjoy a break with everything you need at hand. The cottage is stunning and in a brilliant position for nearby walks, great food at the local pub, and no distance by car from Kirkby Lonsdale. Mill house Cottages run a very professional company and so helpful. The owners of the cottage are friendly and make you feel so welcome.....a home from home in an idyllic spot.



Love this cottage!!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Box Tree Cottage is a beautiful stone property in the quiet village of Barbon which has been thoughtfully and tastefully restored by owners Peter and Jan who live just next door. Each room is finished to a very high standard with top notch furnishings and appliances. Outside is a cosy flagged terrace (lovely sun trap) which leads onto a pretty private country garden. There is also a much larger grassed area at the back of the property (ideal for exercising the dog) leading down to a beck. A ten minute walk takes you to the village pub (which serves meals) and local shop/cafe/deli. Also very well placed for exploring the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District and surrounding areas.
This is an extremely comfortable and well equipped cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Peter and Jan made us feel very welcome and we would definitely return in the future and have no hesitation in recommending Box Tree Cottage!




Beautiful cottage with attention to detail.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and luxurious cottage that had wonderful attention to detail and everything considered.

Furnished and finished to a high standard.

Ideally located for walking and a peaceful location if you want to get away from things but only a few minutes from Kirkby Lonsdale for convenience.

I am not easily pleased and I was delighted that the cottage looked better in life than in the photographs.




A wonderfully luxurious and relaxing stay in beautiful Yorkshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our holiday at Box Tree Cottage. Peter, Jan and the dogs (!) were really welcoming and friendly and the cottage was wonderful. Every detail has been carefully thought out to make the cottage a luxurious and relaxing place to spend a few days. The location is incredible-a beck at the bottom of the garden, a fell to climb just down the road, a lovely village with a friendly pub and cafe/bistro. And we were so lucky with the weather-we spent a couple of nights out in the garden star-watching!
We will most certainly be back!
Thanks, Claire and Lee




Second visit, still as good

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Box Tree Cottage and we weren't disappointed, still one of the best SC cottages we have stayed. The big difference for this visit was the weather, glorious sunshine, and thankfully not the scorching 30C plus temps in the south, which meant we were able to walk and cycle in lovely conditions. Walking and cycling from the door, but also lots to explore within a short drive. The cottage's facilities are 5*, Peter and Jan have done a wonderful job of the renovation and it has everything you need and probably more!! I am confident we will be back for more visits!!



Beautiful Box Tree Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful weeks stay in beautiful Box Tree Cottage.
The cottage is situated in the village of Barbon not far from Kirkby Lonsdale, with a great local pub within walking distance, serving excellent food and local beers.
The cottage itself is of a very high standard, beautifully and very tastefully decorated. Everything you need and more, and exceptionally comfortable.
A perfect base for local walks, and not far away from the great Lakeland Fells, Yorkshire Dales and Trough of Bowland.
Kirkby itself has many wonderful shops, bars and restaurants all exceptionally friendly, including our four legged friends.
A absolute must if visiting the area, and would highly recommend.






Wow....

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite simply the best holiday cottage we have stayed in....great location for both the Lake District and the Yorkshire dales.
The local pub which is a ten minute walk offers great food and is dog friendly.
The cottage is simply stunning and the attention to detail is very good.
Would not hesitate to recommend.




Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, clean, comfortable and well equipped cottage in the lovely unspoilt village of Barbon with it’s pub, coffee shop, views and walks. Really enjoyed our stay.



Barbon, Kirkby Lonsdale

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful place to stay - very well positioned for easy access to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Box Tree Cottage is tastefully decorated contemporary with a traditional feel and fitted with the highest standards of mod cons with lots of natural light and a cosy log stove in the sitting room. Kitchen is fully equipped and all of ground floor is underfloor heated. Useful warm utility room for dogs to sleep and dry off. There is a field directly outside the kitchen where you can go to the beck running through for the dogs to have a paddle. The village Barbon is delightful with its own inn and a village shop / cafe plus loads of walking straight from your doorstep. There are plus several great pubs & inns in area by car within 5 miles if you are staying for a week plus for more interesting local food. Kirby Lonsdale is a must to visit. We will be back!



Simply delightful

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Box Tree cottage is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The furnishings and decor are of an exceptionally high standard and you immediately feel comfortable. The cottage is spacious and very easy to live in. Special mentions need to go to the open fire and amazing bathroom! The location is tranquil and yet not too far away from places such as Kirkby Lonsdale and Hawes which are perfect for days out. The host was there when we arrived to show us around but we were then left to our own devices which was perfect. Our stay was very memorable and without hesitation would recommend it.



Perfect holiday retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Box Tree after visiting at Easter. A stunning cottage with absolutely everything you need so if the weather isn't good one day, it's a treat to stay home in front of the log burner and chill. The location is great with easy access to the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. Peter and Jan are lovely friendly hosts and make you very welcome. We will definitely return again and would thoroughly recommend Box Tree as a luxury relaxing break in a beautiful location.



Perfect cottage in Barbon

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Box Tree is a real treat. Luxuriously equipped throughout, it really felt like home for a week, only better!! The cottage is in a lovely village and is within 45 minutes of a multitude of great foodie opportunities. The cottage is immaculate throughout. There is no need to take anything with you. There is a lovely village shop which serves all the basics, and treats, and a quality supermarket less than ten minutes away. I'm sure we will return.



Amazing break away

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Box Tree Cottage was everything we could have hoped for and more. We had an extremely relaxing week in the most beautiful setting. The cottage has been designed to an extremely high standard and had everything we needed, with the local shop and pub being a short walk away. Peter and Jan, the owners, were so welcoming and made us feel at home as soon as we walked through the door. Will definitely be back!



Beautiful break in the Lakes

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning cottage with all home comforts provided. Situated in a pretty quiet village with a pub and cafe, lots of lovely walks on your doorstep and the cottage is in lovely grounds, ideal if you have your your legged friend with you, as we did. About 3 miles from beautiful Kirkby Lonsdale and all its facilities and of course the big lakes and stunning walks not far away. All in all a fab place to stay, we'll definitely return. Lovely hosts Peter and Jan.



A lovely stay indeed.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When looking back on our stay , we have said how much the weather made it for us , so we count ourselves quite lucky. This cottage is outstanding in our opinion. The owners were very kind to us and our friend who popped over to see us from Lytham.
We had a lovely warm welcome from the owners . The viilage is fortunate to have a good eating pub and café, who also gave us a friendly welcome over the week we stayed. It was thoughtful that the welcome basket was well stocked, so many times have we had the obligatory bottle of wine and nothing else, not ideal for breakfast !
We thank "mill house cottages" and the owners of Box Tree Cottage for a wonderful stay. Good luck with the racing car!!

now back to reality!




A wonderful short break in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed a very pleasant five day February break in this delightful cottage set in the village of Barbon nestling at the foot of the Yorkshire Dales. Waking up each morning, coming down stairs to feel the warmth of the underfloor heating and being able to look out of the windows to see the fells in one direction and the Lune Valley in the other was a real treat. The cottage is well equipped, in excellent condition and was spotlessly clean, and despite being modern has a real cosy feel about it. In our short time there we were able to combine a little local fell walking, with numerous trips into Kirby Lonsdale, a few minutes drive away, and some longer trips into the Lakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and would happily recommend it to others.



Half Term Break Away

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 5 nights in Feb school holidays. The cottage itself was very nice with no expense spared when being renovated which makes a huge difference. We have stayed in other properties and this was one of the best. The location of the cottage is great for access by car to the lakes or the dales. The village of Barbon where the cottage is located was very friendly and we ate in the Barbon Inn and also used the Churchmouse shop and bistro. There's lots of places to visit with children, we visited the Beatrix Potter Experience in Bowness, the Safari Zoo in Barrow, White Scar Caves in Ingleton amongst other places in between. The local town of Kirkby Lonsdale is small but has some really nice shops, we also visited the Kirkby Lonsdale Brewery which is well worth a visit if you like your ales (and coffee & cake). Pub restaurants nearby the cottage we visited were The Plough and The Pheasant - they were both equally as good for food. Overall our stay was really nice and we would definitely recommend to stay at Box Tree if you are looking for a short break away. Peter and Jan the owners of the cottage will welcome you and answer any questions you may have.



Perfect Cumbrian retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A luxury cottage on the edge of a traditional village within easy access to all the places of interest and good amenities. Lovely hosts who were clearly very passionate about Barbon and giving guests the best possible experience.

Great village pub and tea rooms/store. Couldn't have wanted anything more.




Christmas weekend at Box Tree Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most lovely time over the Christmas weekend. The cottage is set in Barbon, handy for accessing Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, and offers beautiful walks locally. Everything inside is furnished to the highest standards, hosts Peter and Jane were lovely and kind - offers great tips for keeping the fire going! Can't recommend this place enough, would definitely visit again.



Box Tree Cottage Revisited

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were one of the first visitors to Box Tree Cottage when we visited in June. I provided a substantial review at that time.
It speaks volumes when I say that we booked this second visit in September having enjoyed our last stay so much. We were the first returning visitors. The standards have remained just as high as has the welcome provided by Peter and Jan. We certainly expect to book again next year.




A superb stay in a beautiful 5 star cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot praise Box Tree Cottage enough!
We had a fantastic stay in this excellent cottage which has been renovated to such a high standard. We would definitely recommend this property. The cottage was immaculate with every possible feature or appliance you could wish for. The owners could not have been more friendly. They were so welcoming and helpful and made the stay even more perfect.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 night stay at Box Tree Cottage. The house itself is gorgeous and finished to a very high standard. We felt at home as soon as we arrived.
Jan made us feel very welcome and was on hand if we needed anything. My daughter loved the dogs Darcy and Fergus and was beyond excited to be able to walk one of them back from the shop. I think that was the highlight of her holiday !
Barbon is a lovely little village and we ate at the local pub on e evening which was very good. We also made good use of the little shop and it became our morning ritual to wander down each morning.
Further afield we visited Cartmel and spent an enjoyable few hours there. White Scar Cave which is well worth a visit too.
We were sorry to leave Box Tree Cottage and very much hope to make a return visit.




Gorgeous cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful cottage! The owners who lived next door made us all feel very welcome. The front garden is idyllic. Out the back is a paddock which is huge and great for the kids to play on.
Inside the cottage has been decorated to an exceptional standard. Everything you could think of is there...including a picnic hamper, gin glass, Internet TV, gorgeous white company bedding...the list is endless.
The location is perfect in a quiet village with a pub and a shop yet close enough to kirkby lonsdale. Great Base for exploring both the south lakes, Yorkshire dales and the lune valley.
We will most definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone
Thank you!




Amazing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage, amazing people and a lovely surrounding area in an idyllic setting. A real gem and one we'd ideally like to keep a secret, but that wouldn't be fair on the loverly owners. Cannot rate this fully equipped and immaculate cottage highly enough. You won't be disappointed.



An excellent cottage with just one safety problem

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at Box Tree Cottage, very attractive and well located for the beautiful Lune Valley and the western part of the Yorkshire Dales. However, two of our three person party fell over due to the deceptive step down into the bathroom, one hurting her foot badly - and it could be really serious if someone hit their head. The problem is that the floor tiles both sides of the step are the same and so it's not easily visible. The owners told us that people have mentioned it before and it is important that they address this before other people have accidents.



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Box Tree Cottage. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in the beautiful Lune Valley. Thank you for raising your concerns about the step. As you say,Peter and Jan do point out to all guests that there is a step into the bathroom and that you should be aware of it. There is already a plan in place to make it more visible and this will alleviate any issues going forward. Kind regards Stephen and Julie

What a gem of a cottage, 5 star all the way!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We do cottage holidays a lot in the UK and have to say this is the best one yet! From the minute we arrived to when we left, we had a lovely welcome from Peter and Jan. You cant help but go "Wow" when you first walk into the cottage. Its beautifully decorated and equipped to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. It has everything you could want from a cottage. We didn't get the weather we wanted, but being rained in most days didn't matter so much, as it was nice to relax in the cottage. We'll definitely be doing another trip back in the Winter.



lovely week

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage, facilities are as it states 5 star.
Would not hesitate to book again. The standard of décor and finish in the cottage are superb, the mood lighting in the bathroom with the huge bath was real luxury. Barbon is a pretty village but handy for visiting the local area.




Superb 5 Star Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have been more pleased with Box Cottage. The design of the cottage and the equipment levels were fabulous. The choice of decor and furnishings were all at the top level.
The village of Barbon is charming and very quiet. It is a pleasure to sit outside the cottage for coffee or lunch and enjoy the lovely garden.
The cottage owners, Peter and Jan were very friendly and welcoming. We already plan to pay a return visit this year.




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review ! We are delighted that you had such a great time at Box Tree Cottage. I have just received your new booking so we will look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future ! Kind Regards Stephen and Julie

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a wonderful week in Box Tree Cottage. Peter and Jan are fabulous hosts. The cottage itself is beautifully furnished and is in a stunning location. We were sad to leave but will hopefully return soon.



Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at Box Tree Cottage. Hope to see you again in the future ! Best Regards Stephen and Julie

Box tree cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely situation & fantastic renovation. It has been done sympathetically with all the home comforts one could wish for. Pever & Jan were excellent hosts. We were so well looked after with kindness & consideration plus if there was a minor problem it was dealt with immediately.



Box Tree Cottage review

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Box Tree Cottage has been renovated to the highest standard with nothing missing or over looked. We stayed for 2 weeks and never felt cramped. The location in Barbon is great for quick access to the fells and village with a good pub along with a shop which doubles as a cafe / restaurant. The hosts Peter and Jan are welcoming and go a long way to make your stay as homely as possible.