FB Twitter

Beach Retreat

Beach Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 73 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Lovely Restorative Break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beach Retreat. The location was perfect for walks on the beach and coastal path. The accommodation was well equipped and very clean. I have no hesitation in recommending this property.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean cottage in fantastic location for beach, very well equipped cottage.. definitely recommend .



Beach Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage, although old was very up to date and clean. The kitchen was well endowed with saucepans, cooking essentials etc, and we were welcomed by wine, crisps, biscuits, milk and flowers.
We were near the beach, on which dogs were allowed if you walked northwards! The nearby cafe was very dog friendly and in a lovely spot. There is also a lovely childrens play area and a great walk to Cromer.
The local shop sold an amazing amount of items and were very friendly.
Hopefully we will return in the near future!
Pam Willis




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was beautiful and so lovely to be able to walk to the sea within 5 minutes, it was great to explore the surrounding areas and the White Horse pub in the village is perfect for meals after a long day.
I know it says parking is not for the faint hearted but don’t even try if you have a large can. A bit more info on what is in the local area would be helpful.





Beach Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beach Retreat is a very comfortable cottage which had everything we needed. Everything was in good condition and we felt at home immediately. Cottage is in a lovely quiet location a couple of minutes walk from Overstrand beach. Can highly recommend.



Such a gorgeous little cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time here. Its location is amazing - just a few metres from the beach, and it has been designed so well, it has everything you could need



A Very Satisfied Customer!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Beach Retreat was exceptionally good in every way! Location was idyllic - literally 2 minutes walk to the beach! The cottage was perfect - exceeding our expectations in every way. We could not have been happier! Thanks Tracy for looking after us so well. We shall be back!



A pleasant stay in a quality cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two bed fisherman's cottage, upgraded to comfortable holiday cottage. Good location, Good back up to fix antiquated TV system. Needs resolving for future guests. Christmas tree and decoration was a welcome site,
car parking was tricky through lane at the rear of the property.
Overall a good visit to the area.




A really enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a most comfortable place to stay in . Had a really pleasant atmosphere to it as well. You could easily see the quality of the fixtures and fittings too. It was located in a great area, not too far from the beach, and only a short bus ride into Cromer. The owner was most helpful if we had any queries and met us within the first few days of our arrival. I must admit it was a bit strange getting used to a downstairs bathroom, but within a day or so, we soon got used to it, and I have to say the shower worked wonderfully well, so easy to use. About the only thing I could maybe suggest to improve the stay was to have a few more instruction books for the cooker, and television available to us, otherwise it was a really lovely place to stay, the beds being particularly comfy.



Beautiful Overstrand

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th time at Beach Retreat.
Me and my sister love it. It’s a real home from home. A lovely welcome gift of wine, chocolate, biscuits and milk was much appreciated.
An excellent location for beautiful walks along the beach to Cromer.
Will definitely be back next year! X




A week at Beach Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay. Clean, comfortable and a good location. Any queries about the property were promptly dealt with.



A very comfortable cottage with lovely comfy beds and a good cooking facilities.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a cottage full of character with a lovely comfy double bed and two singles. The kitchen is well equipped and the living area comfortable and spacious. There is also parking at the back but only suitable for an average car as the turning into the car parking area is very narrow and on a tight bend.

The beach is just minutes away and there is a good shop in Overstrand (which only takes cash). There is wifi in the house but no vodafone service (only EE) which in a way is a blessing if you want to escape the day job.

A lovely relaxing place to take a holiday.




A great place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, ideal location. Short walk to beach,pub and local shops.
Two mile walk to Cromer either by beach or cliff top walk, though this was very overgrown in places.




Beach Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, peace and quiet, much needed rest was most enjoyable. Would defintely book again for next year. Welcome pack very thoughtful also.



Great location in Overstrand

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay here was brilliant, we had a great week staying in one of our favourite locations, in spite of the weather. The facilities were excellent and very comfortable. We had other family members staying next door and also in another Poppyland house a few doors away. Highly recommended.



Out arrival and stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our arrival the house was warm and very welcoming. There was a bottle of wine waiting with biscuits, coffee and milk in the fridge. Everywhere was just perfect. Two minutes from the beach. We had some problems with the TV which was rectified by a pleasant chap who came within the hour.
No complaints whatsoever. We would recommend Beach Retreat to our friends and neighbours.




Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just returned from one week's stay in Beach Retreat, feeling much refreshed, we have nothing but praise for Poppyland Holiday Cottages. We have never stayed in a cottage with EVERYTHING thought of and supplied. Furthermore, its location in Overstrand, itself a lovely place to stay, could not be bettered. We can't wait to return!



Beach Retreat - Poppyland Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hosts, very responsive and a wonderful location just 2 minutes from the beach and coastal paths. We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and would happily come again.



Modern, clean, comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here and we intend to return. Cottage in good position, clean, modern, cosy and comfortable.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review. Best Wishes Tracy

Well need break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful retreat, right near the beach, it was so peaceful and private. Location is just near enough to Cromer, to walk in. Spotless clean and very comfortable, just the break we needed. Only problem was we could only book Friday to Tuesday otherwise would of booked the full week. Oh and nice welcome pack touch which was appreciated.



A week in September

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cottage, well located in a quiet village and just a short walk to the beach, perfect for a family holiday.



Perfect break

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at the beach retreat cottage in Overstrand.
Beautiful location 2 mins from the beach.
Cottage was well kept, clean and full of modern amenities.
We were greated on arrival with wonderful gifts of wine, chocolate,milk and biscuits much appreciated after a long journey.




Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great little cottage close to the beach. Well equipped and warm. Tracy was very helpful and flexible on arrival and departure times out of season. Would love to return.




Beach Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with everything you need home from home. Location fantastic two minutes from the beach and plenty to do and see in the area. Would definitely recommend.



Short break in half term

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm clean cottage. Kitchen equipment was spotless.
Great location very short walk to the beach.
5 minutes from a dog friendly pub serving high quality food.
Thoughtful owner left wine & chocolates.





Enjoyed Beach Retreat.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage, perfect for your holiday. The entrance to the parking area is a bit tight, but manageable. Everything top class.
Peter and Maureen Brailsford




New year break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay over the new year
Cottage is excellent in a brilliant spot
Would definitely book again




Wonderful cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend stay at Beach Retreat. Lovely surprise to see the Christmas tree all lit when we arrived. The cottage is so cosy and warm with the wood burner. Everything has been thought of to make our stay so lovely. Would definitely stay again. Bailey our dog loved it too




Great place highly recommend it.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage to be in a great location. It was warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Will visit again very good value for money.



Short family break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well-equipped and comfortable cottage in a quiet coastal location. Would definitely stay again in the future.



beach retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
beach retreat was as good as always nice welcome package clean and tidy well equipped everything you need



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a realy great holiday in the beach retreat, the location is all that is needed for a peacful week away.
Many thanks
The Harrison's




Beach retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super cottage in excellent location.Really well furnished and comfortable Very close to the beach. Welcome pack.
Good information leaflets




Beech Retreat Review

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cottage in excellent location, reasonably well equipped. We would be very happy to stay here again.
Parking on site was a challenge but was manageable with care.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for staying with us again, this time in Beach Retreat. Hope you can return for your 4th visit at some point. Very Best regards Tracy

Good choice for a holiday with young children.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Beach Retreat because we were on holiday with our daughter and two young grandchildren and it really did suit them perfectly. The open plan nature of the cottage meant we could keep an eye on them at all times! Outside space was fine too, they enjoyed the small front space on their own and we all enjoyed the paved area at the back, especially once we had tied the gate up! Very close to the sea and even better, we passed the play park on our way. Comfy beds, good bathroom, plenty of hot water and good kitchen. Good WiFi too. Very much appreciated washer and dishwasher and that we didn’t need to supply our own washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets. We love the village of Overstrand and so easy to call in to the shops at Cromer if we needed more than the village shop could supply. Seriously thinking of booking for next year. Thank you very much to Poppyland Cottages, we would all highly recommend.



A wet and windy week in Overstrand

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second visit to a Poppyland Cottage and we look forward to the third. Highly recommended.



Tracy Riches replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review. Weather not the best at all, hopefully you will be more successful with weather next time. Best Wishes Tracy

Poppyland Cottages great as usual

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed quite a few times with Poppyland cottages in Overstrand now since we come for the annual judo camp in Cromer and as always their properties do not disappoint. This was the first time we stayed at Beach Retreat since we had a dog and it was lovely. It was spacious, modern yet comfortable and had all the amenities needed. We thought it a lovely touch that there were doggy treats, a bed, poo bags and toys for our four legged family member too. It's also close to a dog friendly beach and cafe. All in all, we had a lovely stay at the Beach Retreat. Thanks Poppyland Holidays.



Fantastic break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Beach Retreat is really well appointed, nice furnishing, clean and comfortable. A stones throw the beach, good pub, cafe and crab shack. Amazing R&R, would definitely recommend and go back



Beach retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed and comfortable,lived up to expectations.When we raised an problem with the wi fi the owner came round straight away.
Parking was tight as explained.




Last minute Christmas break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of days over Christmas at Beach Retreat and had a fabulous time, only wished we could have stayed longer! The cottage has everything you need, is cosy and there was a lovely Christmas tree in the lounge which made all the difference.

There was milk in the fridge when we arrived, wine and chocolates, and some lovely shortbread, a really nice thought.

Right on the beach and we walked the lovely cliff top walk to Cromer to see the Boxing Day dip.

I would recommend this cottage and look forward to using it again.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. Happy that you enjoy your mini Christmas break at Beach Retreat. Happy New year Tracy

A sisters get together in a perfect place

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is clean comfortable and well maintained. It is near the beach a shop a cafe and a pub so walking distance to all you need. Lovely log burner In the sitting room and comfy beds in the bedrooms. The dog loved it too!! Enclosed garden and dog bed and bowls etc provided.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review, pleased you had an enjoyable break. Best Wishes Tracy

Comfy cottage close to the sea

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage close to the sea, very clean and modern with everything you need for your stay, parking was a bit tight but there is plenty of room on the road.
Good location with a shop/post office nearby and the seafront about 5 minute walk. Lots to do in the area with some lovely places to visit nearby.
This was our first time visiting this part of Norfolk and we were very impressed, loved the walk across the golf course to Cromer and back and there is a national trust property close by.
Thank you for the goodies on arrival much appreciated.
Would love to return again. Thank you.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Norfolk and your stay in Beach Retreat. There are some great walks from the cottage door and some great places to visit. Best Wishes Tracy

This is a lovely cottage in a great location close to the beautiful beaches at Overstrand.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every time we come to Norfolk we book with Poppyland Cottages. We have loved every cottage we have stayed in and Beach Retreat was up to the usual high standards and made our holiday so pleasurable. Thanks again.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to have you return and thankyou for your review. Best Wishes Tracy

Brilliant and beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay. The cottage was perfect and so welcoming when we arrived. Small treats on arrival and lights on ready for us. Everything we needed and I would love to return with the kids as high chair, cot, kids cutlery DVDs all there. Thank you so much!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review, hope you can return some day. Best Wishes Tracy

Great cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, daughter and I stayed at poppyland recently, during a week in November for my northday and our anniversary. From the minute we walked in to thr cottage, it felt like home. It was warm, clean and there was even a little welcome gift for us.

During our stayed we messaged the owners with a couple of queries to which they responded almost immediately and couldn't have been more helpful. We also left something at the cottage when we left but they have already returned it which we greatly appreciate.

I couldn't recommend this place enough to anyone if try are heading to the Norfolk coast - fantastic.




Beautiful cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to this area having previously used Poppyland cottages and once again a lovely cottage in a great location. Cottage was well maintained, comfortable and well equipped. Location is great being able to walk to beach and playground to keep kids amused. Provision of toys / stairgates / highchair etc great so we can travel lighter. Would definitely book again with Poppyland.



Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, modern & comfortable with easy access to beautiful beach for long leisurely walks. Highly recommend.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. Best Wishes Tracy

Wonderful Hoilday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage excellent amenities and very clean. Ideally situated very quiet and close to the beach and local shop/post office. All which made for a wonderful holiday.


































Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased to hear you had a great holiday. Thank you for your review Best Wishes. Tracy

Lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The holiday cottage was lovely, 5 minutes walk from the beach and there is an ice cream van and children's playground on the way. Overstrand is a fairly quiet little seaside village, and it is about 10 minutes drive to Cromer which is a busy seaside town. We have two little girls and they had a lovely time. Would highly recommend it.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Overstrand is a great place to stay with a young family and pleased they had a lovely time. Best Wishes Tracy

Fantastic cottage a*********

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had yet another wonderful time in beach retreat. People are amazing there owners are friendly and kind. Thank you so much for another wonderful holiday and some amazing memories.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much, so happy you had another great holiday. Best Wishes Tracy

Idyllic family holiday - we didn't want to come home!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy cottage, well modernised and equipped, with sunshine flooding through the ground floor. Easy to find everything we needed in every room which meant we felt relaxed very quickly. Delighted to find wine, cake, flowers, milk and an Easter egg on arrival! Useful shop nearby for essential groceries and supermarkets located 10 minutes away in Cromer. This was our second visit to Overstrand so we felt immediately at home. It was only 2 minutes to the sandy beach, could just about see it from the upstairs window! Children's playground nearby with a very friendly ice-cream man, and the delightful Cliff Top Cafe on our doorstep. This time we visited Sheringham to go on the Poppyline steam train to Holt, played crazy golf in Mundesley and had an amazing morning at Blakeney point to see the seals. Look forward to visiting Overstrand again and would highly recommend both Beach Retreat and Hardy's Cottage.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us again. Best Wishes Tracy

New Year Long Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a comfortable, cosy cottage near the beach for our New Year family break and this is exactly what we got. The cottage and area exceeded expectations. Being so close to the beach was a luxury even in the Winter and the newly refurbished cottage was warm, very clean, and had everything you needed, a real home from home. We would love to return and have already recommended our stay to friends.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review, we would love to have you stay with us again. Best Wishes. Tracy

Lovely long weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at a Poppyland Cottage and the first time on that stretch of the North Norfolk Coast. The Cottage was beautifully set up when we arrived - even a Christmas tree which our 3 year old loved! Very much appreciated the welcome pack - what is not to like about wine and cake waiting for you! Great location both in terms of access to the beach and local attractions. Allowed us to have a good balance of exploring the area and being snug and cosy each evening. We really enjoyed our stay - thank you



Tracy Riches replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you had a lovely stay and Ruby enjoyed the Christmas tree. Hope you have a happy Christmas. Tracy

Love Overstrand

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here. A beautiful cottage, very clean and in a great location. A real home from home! The welcome goodies are a nice touch.
Parking at the rear was too tight for my car but parked just up the road with no problem.
We (3 sisters) know the area well as we've had many family holidays here as children. Nothing has changed! The cliff top cafe is still there and the beaches are beautiful.
There's a lovely walk along the cliff top to Cromer then you can walk back along the beach (tide permitting)
Cromer has some lovely gift shops and Mary Janes is a must for fish and chips!!
Try The Sitting Room for coffee and an almond coissant (delicious) in Sheringham.
Had a wonderful week.
Will defiantly be back. X





Tracy Riches replied more than 1 year ago
Love to have you back. Regards Tracy

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully refurbished cottage. Parking behind cottage a bit of a challenge. Everything you may need for your stay was supplied and the cottage was very clean on arrival. Would definitely book a return stay.



Overall very good

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Of personal taste, the kitchen was not, we felt, very homely. Also we've had experience of a glass roof to the extent that we had slate/tiles to replace the glass. Not a lot of wardrobe space upstairs. Position in Overstrand very good indeed.Overall very neat and clean and modern but not to our personal taste.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Yes we renovated Beach Retreat recently to a modern style making it more open plan as all of our other cottages are more traditional, trying to give a variety of accommodation to suit all of our guests tastes. Its a shame you chose Beach Retreat from the website as it is the only one with the glass roof in the kitchen. Glad you had a good week and the weather was very kind to you. Best Wishes Tracy

Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, tastefully decorated. Had to call Tim re the wfi but soon sorted as was fairly important to us as there was no mobile signal for miles. Much thought has gone into making your break home from home. Nice surprise of the welcome bottle of wine, cake and tea good way to start your break.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou very much for your review. Pleased you had a good break with Poppyland Holiday Cottages. Best wishes Tracy

Another good holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beach Retreat has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It has lots of extras in the kitchen that other holiday cottages do not provide. It also has a good sized freezer which is useful for self-catering. The furniture and decor is simple and tasteful and everything was very clean and in good condition. It is so close to a lovely sandy beach. Our children had a wonderful time. There is a beach cafe, a shop and a pub within walking distance. All that you need for a fun family holiday really!



Beautiful 'home from home' !

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Beach Retreat for 2 weeks, on our first visit to Norfolk. Wonderful cottage, all mod cons, we really felt at home there. Great location (2 minutes walk to the excellent Beach), in a lovely village. Very comfortable bed, and the living room and kitchen are so light and airy. Nice private back garden which really catches the sun.
We had a wonderful holiday, visiting Cromer and Sheringham etc. , and really felt at home in this fabulous cottage. We would highly recommend it to anyone!




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you had a super two weeks at Poppyland Holiday Cottages. It was very nice to meet you and hope you are able to holiday with us again. Kind regards Tracy

A fantastic stay at Beach Retreat.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Beach Retreat. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with all the comforts of home. We couldn't praise it enough, and look forward to coming back.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, very pleased you had a lovely week at Beach Retreat. Hope you can make a return visit sometime and congratulations on your engagement. Best Wishes Tracy

parking

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Entry to car parking area was very tight even with a medium car, no mention was made of this in property description. Otherwise an excellent property



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. Sorry you had problems with parking, yes it is a little tight at the entrance, please park in Harbord road if worried, there are no parking restrictions or permits needed in Overstrand. I will do my best to advise on parking when guests phone. Very Best wishes Tracy

weekend in overstrand

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful cottage with garden and parking space
lovely location
short walk to beach
everything you need
owners have thought of everything
good welcome pack
weather just topped it off




Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage! Beautiful interior set in a quiet street seconds from sea views. Lovely area with a pub which serves great food and a cliff top cafe, serving ace breakfasts!
The cottage was clean, comfortable and a real home from home. Can't recommend it enough.
We will be going back with the children next time, as it's more than suitable for families as well as quiet adult breaks.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, pleased you enjoyed your stay at Poppyland. Best Wishes Tracy

A fantastic mini-break..............

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marvellous cottage, beautifully furnished and in an excellent location. A short walk to the beach, fresh crab shack nearby and the Cliff Top Café. Lovely walk to Cromer along the beach - we did the return walk along the coastal path next to the Royal Cromer Golf Course. A fantastic weekend away made special by having such a lovely cottage as a base!



Everything you'd want

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was beautifully renovated, well equipped, spotlessly clean and in a good location. Booking was straightforward. We arrived to cake, milk in the fridge, a bottle of wine and Easter eggs for the children.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. Pleased you had a lovely Easter break. Kind regards Tracy

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our recent stay at this lovely cosy cottage which is ideally situated for walking in such a beautiful part of the country & has easy access to the surrounding villages etc. - thoroughly recommend a visit.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your short break with us and had some pleasant walks in the area. Kind regards Tracy

Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday in Overstrand. The cottage was perfect, couldn't fault it in any way. Thank you to Tracy for the thoughtful welcome pack. The milk, tea, coffee etc was appreciated - the cake and wine a huge bonus! Lovely area, great walks and friendly people. Would definitely like to return.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your great review, hope you can holiday with us again sometime. Best Wishes Tracy

Perfect family short break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my partner stayed at Beach Retreat for a weekend with our 5 year old daughter and 6 month old son, it was a perfect place for a perfect family weekend away. I couldnt fault a thing, wine and cake and milk in the fridge on arrival was a lovely welcoming touch. The cottage was beautiful and spotless and had everything we needed in it which makes coming away with 2 small children so much easier. Customer service was spot on, as we were arriving late on the friday evening the lights and heating had been left on for us. Location of the cottage was perfect, minutes from the beach, you could even see the sea from the bedroom window! My 5 year old loved the cottage so much she even asked if we could move in! We cant wait to book up again and come back, cant thank poppyland holiday cottages enough for a lovely relaxing weekend!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou very much for your review. Trying to get things right for every guest is sometimes challenging, and it is very rewarding for us to receive such lovely reviews. We are very happy that you had a lovely time with your little family and hope to see you again. Kind regards Tracy

Our second visit to Beach Retreat.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Beach Retreat and 5th break with Poppyland Cottages. We have yet to be disappointed as the cottage was very comfy, with a lovely fire, great kitchen and ideal location , being so close to Overstrand beach and the local shops and restaurants in the village.
We have been so impressed with all the company's properties we have recommended them to friends, which is not something we would do lightly.
Hope to return to Beach Retreat again very soon.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou again for your review and being able to recommend us to friends. Pleased you had a good week, weather was kind for February. Look forward to you hopefully holidaying with us again. Kind regards Tracy

Excellent short break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A late booking for a weekend break. They were very accommodating and gave a discount as we weren't Sunday night. Very clean, nice welcome gifts, excellent beds . Great wood burner .
Great location being near the beach and the local shop.
Only critique would be the single beds were a bit unsupportive for an adult male. Also the oven could have benefitted from a baking tray for roasting meat.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I will make sure roasting tin is in the cottage and check the bed base. Pleased you had a pleasant stay. Kind regards Tracy

Beach Retreat - a wonderful place to spend Christmas.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beach Retreat was like home from home and had everything we needed. The cottage was warm and comfortable with the added bonus of a log burner. It was also very clean and tidy on arrival with added touches such as mince pies on arrival.
The open planned living/kitchen area was great as it meant I could cook and potter around in the kitchen and still be with the family. The kitchen was well equipped with good quality appliances.
The two bedrooms were a good size with plenty of space to store clothes and the children liked finding the games in the bottom drawer!
The location was perfect - you could walk to the beach, shop and pub and within 5-10 minutes drive could be in Cromer.
The owner was very helpful and I would recommend this cottage and would even like to go back again sometime :)




Lovely Property, beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was absolutely lovely, such beautiful and high spec decor. We were left with all the essentials we needed, along with some unexpected luxuries. (thank you). Close to the sea, a great little shop and post office, a lovely little cafe, great pub and a great hotel. A very pleasant walk along the cliff top to Cromer. I unfortunately had a fall on the first day, so spent quite a lot of time at the property, which I really enjoyed, it is such a relaxing space and with multi-fuel stove was very cosy too. Although you didn't need the fire as the whole place was very warm even in December, it was great to sit together in the evening in front of a romantic fire. I would definitely come again. Thank you Poppy Holiday Cottages, it has been a joy.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments, pleased you had a lovely few days before Christmas.

A chic cottage very near the coast

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Beach Retreat. Lovely and warm during cold December weather. Beach Retreat is well equipped and the bed is really comfy. Would loved to have stayed longer. Getting to the parking space with a large car was possible but not for the faint hearted! Really enjoyed walking along the cliff top to Cromer and back along the beach (or vice versa depending on the tide).




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beach Retreat and thank you for your review.