FB Twitter

Keepers Cottage

Keepers Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Keepers cottage is a very attractive traditional house in a quiet location.

The house which sleeps four is on two levels and comprises the following:-

Downstairs: Spacious lounge with log burning stove and Smart television. Dining room, Kitchen with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer. Separate toilet French windows leading from the lounge to a timber-decked area overlooking fields stretching towards the River Tay

Upstairs: Two double bed rooms (both ensuite) These can be used as twins or doubles

Very comfortable and relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed a very comfortable week at Keeper's Cottage. When we arrived, the keys had been left in the property and there was contact details left for someone in case of emergency. We were not allowed to arrive at the property until after 5pm. We were slightly surprised that no one checked in with us during our stay to make sure we were ok, but assume that it was due to COVID. The cottage was nicely furnished, and very warm. The bathroom towels were smaller than we were used to. The beds were comfortable. it was very nice that each bedroom had its own bathroom. The kitchen was quite well equipped but there was no welcome pack, and we could have done with a larger oven tray for roasting. We enjoyed a beautiful 8 mile walk out the back of the property which was marked with posts and a map and instructions were provided. The property was a few miles from a very nice pub in a neighbouring village, and about 15 minutes by car into Pitlochry. We left the afternoon before our week was up, so we could have a relaxed departure, as we had to vacate the property by 9am the following morning.



A warm and comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to chill out and escape from the stresses of everyday life for a while. Snugly ensconced in the sheltered courtyard of the Kinnaird estate, surrounded by the magnificent Perthshire trees, this old cottage has been beautifully and sympathetically renovated, in keeping with the original architectural style. We were really impressed with all the Covid precautions taken, which obviously helps to keep everyone safe, both staff ane visitors. Lovely bathrooms, spacious living areas, and a super-efficient and easily adjustable heating system - all in all, one of the most welcoming and comfortable holiday properties we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot!). Very easy to pass the time quietly wandering round the beautiful woodlands and fields down to the river, òr admiring the gorgeous little walled garden, but it was great to discover how many hill walks up onto the moors can be accessed directly from the cottage. Only got to one of them this time, but we will DEFINITELY be back to sample some of the others. Roll on our next visit to Keepers Cottage, and many thanks to Sandra and Fiona for helping to make our first stay so enjoyable.



Keepers Cottage Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kinnaird cottages are great places to stay, and it is so good to see continuing investment in maintaining and improving standards. The wood burner and super comfy settee and armchairs in the lounge at Keepers were great as autumn weather finally arrived during our stay. Thanks to Fiona and Sandra for continuing excellent service and housekeeping.



A return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before always spotless. Would stay again and highly recommend it. Placed between Dunkeld and Aberfeldy and Pitlochry. As much or as little to do as you please



Lovely place in a peaceful and scenic location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Keepers Cottage and loved exploring the local area and amenities. A very enjoyable break. Would definitely return.



A wonderful week in 'Big Tree country'

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at Keeper's Cottage. It is very spacious and well equipped for a family of four/four adults. There is a fabulous view from the decking from the Drawing room. There is great local walks straight from the door and the Estate also arranged a day's fishing for us. Though very much in the country a lot is very close at hand - the lovely Cathedral town of Dunkeld, Blair Atholl and Perth within 30 minutes, and we also comfortably made a day trip to the coast at St Andrew's. In all, a splendid week.



A week in wonderful Perthshire

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been coming to the area for nearly 20 years. Most of my visits have been to Kinnaird houses. They never fail to impress. Had a beautiful week and for three of the seven days glorious sunshine! The house was warm and welcoming. Even with covid limitations there was plenty of equipment in kitchen. The lounge was very comfortable. Bathrooms, well what can I say. I would steal the bath if I could!!! It was so peaceful and that gorgeous air!!! Hope to return one day.



Kinnaird estate,Keepers cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful peaceful location. The cottage is surprisingly spacious and very comfortable. It is provided with everything that we could have wanted including a gas BBQ on the patio. Meticulously clean in these COVID times.
We hope to return.




A lovely cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable week in Keeper's Cottage, which I would completely recommend. It's very well appointed (though it could do with a more modern toaster!), and everything worked well. We appreciated the peace and quiet, and the comfort and elegance of the cottage. It's an excellent location from which to reach many interesting places - Dunkeld, Pitlochry, especially the theatre, Aberfeldy and further away the Highland Wildlife Park and the Angus glens. We'd certainly look to returning sometime.



Excellent and unusual accomodation

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bags of space and bags of character. Very well furnished and the wood-burning stove ensures a comfortable evening whatever the Scottish weather throws at you. My only (very minor) criticism is the fairly limited quantities of crockery, cutlery and saucepans.



Fabulous location and excellent staff.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a special place to stay whichever accommodation you decide to stay in.
Excellent staff and always very accommodating.
Lost count how many times I have stayed at Kinnaird and it never fails to provide the perfect place to stay..
Special thanks to Sandra and Fiona absolutely brilliant X
Chris Baker and family..




Another trip to Kinnaird

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed in a number of different cottages on the Kinnaird estate, and never been disappointed. Keepers Cottage is very spacious, and well-equipped, although a number of the usual facilities (books, games etc) had rightly been removed because of the pandemic). We would have absolutely no complaints, but will note that the wifi can be a bit in and out, depending on demand. Kinnaird is perfectly located for exploring Highland Perthshire, and there are lots of excellent walking opportunities locally.



Mrs

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Picturesque place to stay but a little remote without a car.
Fishing was very enjoyable although no fish caught.




Its a Keeper

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious cottage, clean, warm and welcoming. Certain things like cushions removed due to Covid restrictions but did not spoil our stay. Quiet and restful spot. Only a short drive in either direction to amenities, shops and restaurants. Lots of walks if you want them.



Excellent - highly recommended

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant place to stay. More space than I expected. The deck offers fantastic views and is a great place to sit in the evening. Didn't try the barbecue, but it is obviously a lot better than the dirty mini-bbq offered by many self-catering cottages.



keepers cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this attractive cottage for many years. The facilities are excellent. On our recent visit we were pleased to see the bedrooms had been decorated and new beds supplied. The cottage was set up for Corvid-19 regulations.



Fishing break.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The estate is very well run and the staff were all very helpful, the scenery and fishing was excellent.



Great and lovely Place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautefull Place lovely to stay for a short of long time
Everything is all right
A Home to go back




Perfect stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our peaceful stay at Kinnaird Estate Keepers Cottage. The charming cottage was beautifully decorated and well appointed. It was easy to travel to explore the country side but then return for drinks on the deck. Perfect for 2 couples.



Lovely Short Break at Kinnaird.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in an ideal location for exploring. Very peaceful break in a lovely part of the country. Will visit again.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely old house which has been sympathetically restored. All mod cons and very comfortable beds. Stairs to bedrooms quite steep as is usual in an older property. Location is great with miles and miles of walks round about.



A comfortable holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good quality cotton bed linen would be appreciated.
Heating and hot water supply are always excellent.
Wi-Fi reception is intermittent and unreliable,
We have been staying in this excellent and comfortable cottage for about 20 years.




Keepers cottage Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage, prepared for our arrival. Well equipped kitchen. Spacious rooms. Also enjoyed a days salmon fishing on the estate.



Everything you need!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a well equipped and cozy cottage. Everything we needed for a week away with our baby. Great kitchen and super comfy sofas. The Kinnaird grounds are great for strolling and stargazing. Thanks!



Relaxed stay in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Found Kinnaird Estate by reading "1000 places to see ..." but had to learn that the hotel is no longer operating. Opted for the Keepers Cottage instead and were impressed by the beautiful landscape and, even more, by the lovely ambience. Helpful and friendly staff helped making our stay a wonderful experience.



one week stay in cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
comfortable cottage with ample hot water. Décor a bit dated.Some glasses in the kitchen missing from previous visits.Excellent location within fantastic grounds.



First class location for a short break.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this cottage several times. Highly satisfactory once again. Location and facilities are ideal for our requirements. Visited the Pitlochry Highland Games on this occasion. Excellent day out.



Only for outdoor sports participants participants.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed here at Kinneard many times before, but will not do so again unless a serious renovation is undertaken and the heating units already installed are made available to guests. As is, the cottage is in no manner comfortable.



FAMILY STAY AT KINNAIRD ESTATE

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location. For us city living folk, a great getaway back to the old country world warmth and charm I grew up to.

The directions are clear, check in was seamless. The wife loved the kitchen and I the sit out patio outside the living.

The WiFi was troublesome in between, but I had one of your staff attend to me the next morning and explained that I should not park my car in front of the kitchen window as it interrupts with the network.

It was a near record summer, so the heating in the bedrooms was not required, but since the controls are not within the house, we were a little uncomfortable with the heat.

Overall, the experience was so good that I am coming back with family again if I am promised same fares.

Our thanks to all those who keep the place.

Tony




Very good, but some reservations.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is clean, spacious, thoughtfully equipped and well located. Beds, bedrooms, bathrooms and showers were all very good.
However the DVD player was faulty, and the TV volume control also seemed intermittent. The sofa and armchairs were not very comfortable, having a very long seat. This resulted in difficulty in sitting without almost lying down.
The oven in the kitchen was poor, and the trays and saucepans (no lids) did not match to good quality of the cutlery and glassware. Preparing and cooking a meal for 4 from scratch would have been testing.
The internet connection is intermittent so it would not suit someone working from the cottage.




Keepers cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this very comfortable cottage for a number of years and have always enjoyed our stay.



Home away from Home

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay for a few days with the kids. Nice and quiet when we needed it to be and close enough to attractions to keep kids happy for the day. Loved the drive up to the Millpond and got a glimpse of a nice stag and a Golden Eagle for our troubles.



Beautiful Area

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We travel up to Kinnaird as often as possible - Sandra in the Office extremely helpful. Cottage - while in need of update with decor - is always immaculate. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and well kept.
We absolutely love it




positive

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Welcome tray on arrival with fresh milk and bread would be appreciated.
Good products needed in bath