FB Twitter

Castle Peroch

Castle Peroch

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Castle Peroch is a quaint house with spectacular views down the TayValley. An outside paved patio area has been created to take full advantage of this.

The house which sleeps four/five is on two levels and comprises the following:-

Downstairs

Lounge with dining area, open fire and Smart television. Study with fold-down sofa bed. Well-equipped kitchen with electric cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washing machine. Breakfasting area with table and bench-seating, Separate toilet

Upstairs

One double bedroom and one twin-bedded room, spacious bathroom with bath and separate shower.

February Half Term in the snow

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful comfortable stay at the Castle we enjoyed the roaring fire, walks along the hillside in the snow spotting game and trips out to Pitlochry & Aberfeldy.



Fabulous views and a cosy nest

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit and we absolutely love the house. The views over Strathtay are wonderful, the property is secluded and there is a spacious kitchen for cooking and eating; there's also a study which is useful if one needs to work. The bedrooms are small but serviceable and the bathroom spacious with a good shower in its own cubicle; there is also a second WC under the stairs. There was wood for the open fire which made the sitting room very cosy. From the house there is access to a track up the hill towards Loch Skiach and the Millpond but be warned: it is quite steep at first!



Excellent location when hunting the Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful country house, very clean, super convenient when hunting the Kinnaird Estate. Would highly recommend.



25 years on

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We returned to our honeymoon cottage after 25 years, the setting is as stunning as we remembered. The kitchen and bathroom have been updated and the kitchen/dining room is lovely and light. The lounge is dark and not cosy, could do with someone from the estate staying a couple of nights and then updating it. Something to mark our Silver Anniversary would have been lovely but the estate has changed hands since then so although disappointing I suppose we shouldn't have been surprised. Had a great walk onto the estate land at the back of the cottage, found everyone friendly in the area.



Equipped and dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed on the estate every year since 2016 (2020 not allowed), this was the worst property we have stayed in.
It was poorly equipped by past standards and we could not relax in a dog secure garden as the perimeter bordered two release pens with about 3,000 pheasant and partridge poults and because the garden was wide open to the hill.
Just a perimeter garden fence would have made all the difference which is a very little cost to erect with estate labourers and considering the cost per week of the cottage rent would be a low cost and much appreciated long term investment.
This shortcoming would also apply to a family with small children.
Will be returning to Kinnaird but not to Castle Peroch




Castle Peroch

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice stay as usual, the only challenge was the heating in the lounge, which was a bit puzzling, otherwise very nice.



Lovely stay and lovely weather!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to lovely Castle Peroch. Excellent facilities - particularly the large kitchen and patio with BBQ. Our stay would have been even better with more comfortable sitting room furniture and a new double mattress.



Wonderfull setting, lots of wildlife.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and inspite of the cold and wet we were very comfortable. The generous supply of logs was much appreciated.Walks straight out of the house so no need to always use the car. We thought it too cold to fish the Mill Pool but it is a really attractive venue for a barbecue on a fine day.
Estate staff were very helpful and friendly.
I had to think hard to criticise and could only say that the living room is a little cramped if four wish to sit around the fire.




Birthday holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place to stay. The views are stunning over the river. Location is great for that area, nothing was too far to drive too.
Highly recommend doing the walks over the estate, they all start from here so plenty to see on the door step.
We found it perfectly comfortable and as we stayed in April 2021 they were exceptional with covid practices.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a real "character" house, perhaps originally a folly on the hillside, with stunning views over the Tay valley. Well equipped and well heated with modern electric radiators; there is also an open fire in the living room with logs and coal provided. Bedrooms are pretty compact but there is reasonable space for clothes. Spacious kitchen with fridge-freezer, compact dishwasher and washer/drier. Lots of pheasant and partridge about and stags roaring in the hills during our stay in October. Will stay again.



A wonderful holiday in a stunning place

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great time, aided by great communication and help from the Kinnaird team. This pretty tower house is completely charming, located on a hillside overlooking the river Tay, on a sporting estate with walks in all directions from the front door. The well maintained track leading to it was easily managed by our VW estate, no high wheel base needed, though a 4WD might be needed in winter. A generous kitchen and dining area has been added to the back, opening into the comfortable sitting room in the tower section, with a study/bedroom next door, leading to a winding staircase with understairs loo. The large bathroom upstairs has a large tub for long post-walk soaks, and separate shower, with two bedrooms and sufficient storage, the smaller in the tower with a double bed, and the larger with zip lock twin beds. The staff were very helpful in enabling us to make this up as larger double which we found more comfortable for a longer stay. We were very cosy with amazingly efficient electric heating, and didn't need the open fire. The terrace and outside furniture gives splendid views, available from every window as well, of countryside, and of the pheasants, partridges, ducks and buzzards, and also a couple of hares which visited every evening. The location is very quiet, with hardly anyone else about, just a handful of walkers and other estate guests. Bar shopping for food in Dunkeld, and a lovely dinner at the Grandtully hotel, we need not have left the estate for our 11 day stay, given the variety of walking available, with several lochs, moorland and woods, waterfalls and hills surrounding us. There is a very good TV etc, and the wifi is fine if not superfast - an extender would help get the signal upstairs if needed. The decoration is country house comfy. There is a comfy armchair, another tub chair and two foot stools. Would prefer a large squishy upholstered sofa to the firmer easy to maintain faux leather version recently installed, but understand the thinking especially re covid precautions which were diligently followed. We had an outstanding stay and all the ups and downs of the walking meant we left a great deal fitter.



We spent a beautiful Time there

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thé place is wonderful , thé Walks around are great and thé house is well funished
We particuly appreciate the wood ready in thé cheminey !




Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent holiday home in a beautiful estate. All of our interactions with the Estate Office were professional, prompt and responsive. Thank you for helping us have such an enjoyable family holiday.



A Perfect Staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need for an escape to the country with some exceptional views over the Tay. You might not be able to guarantee sunshine but there’s plenty to do within minutes of Castle Peroch, and on the coldest days you can sit in front of an open fire with a book or relax in the generous bath. The local butcher in Dunkeld has everything you’ll need to take advantage of the BBQ on the terrace. Better than going abroad for sure. We’ll be back.



Cosy comfort in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything you need is provided. Fabulous for young and old. Unique location and plenty outdoor activities.



Great short break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is quirky in a cute way as the name suggests & sits beautifully up on the hill which gives great morning views. Service from the estate was discreet & very efficient. The cottage was immaculate & well equipped. There was plenty of space for the 3 of us & our 2 labs. We had some great walks & everyone we met on the estate were incredibly friendly. Would definitely stay here again.



Supeb Location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has to be one of the best views from any cottage in Perthshire. Superb location, scrupulously clean and well equipped fantastic all round



Lived up to expectations

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've wanted to stay at Castle Peroch for the past 25 years, and finally made it. As I expected, it is in an idyllic location with long-ranging views over the Tay valley, and my partner and I fell in love with it. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped, including a dishwasher, with a comfortable dining area that has lovely views. The sitting room has an open fire for which logs are provided. The bathroom is sizeable with a separate shower and large bath, plus a bidet. Of the two bedrooms, the double which we occupied is fairly compact, but with adequate space for clothes; the twin a bit bigger. A nice touch is the separate study, and there is wifi although the signal is a bit weak in the bedrooms.
We heard a stag roaring from time to time but didn't see it; there were lots of game birds (pheasants and partridges) around too. There are good walks from the property and the track into the hills is very well surfaced, but steep in parts.
The track up to the house is also quite steep but the surface is very good and except in wintry weather I would think that virtually any car should be able to access the property.
We shall certainly be back!




Beautiful location - calm, peaceful and tranquil

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Castle Peroch is a property which is idealic - it is tranquil, private and has absolutely fabulous views down the Tay valley. Yet, it has all the home comforts and is still close enough to amenities for all shopping etc in Pitlochry or nearer for occasional things. If you are looking for a get away from it all break - this is it. The folk on the estate are fabulous - Sandra in the office, Martin on the river and everyone else you meet have all the time in the world for you. Don’t think twice if this is the right location for you.



Excellent well equipped cottage, good for uninterrupted peaceful breaks

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed as a family of four for a week and really enjoyed it. The cottage is finished to a high standard and well equipped, if not on the generous side. A wall map identfied walking routes around the estate and we tackled one of those and had a enjoyable 6 mile walk. It was a little nippy during our visit and the cottage is fitted with electric radiators meaning we didn't notice the cold. The views from the patio to the river tay are breath taking and are selling point in itself. It was so quiet in the house and only by venturing outside could you hear the distant A9 on the other side of the valley. It was lovely using the study area to sit and read with my children using the wifi to access their tech next door.

We used it as base for longer drives to the tourist areas and liked withdrawing to the cottage for peaceful evenings. It was such a welcome change to the noisy campsites we have visited recently. Lovely open fire with a good supply of wood and coal if needed.

Only some minor niggles which wouldn't stop us going again. The property is accessed via a steep and unmade/gravel track and we arrived after a period of heavy rain meaning getting up the track was interesting as there were some large ruts. I would think twice about accessing this property in the winter months in our family mpv and would not recommend this to property to someone driving a vehicle with low or sports suspension. We got up and down easily in 1st gear (only). The grounds were overun with grouse/phesants and while my daughters loved them around they were prone to trying to jump in front of your vehicle when going up and down the narrow track. Some days they were on the roof of the property and in the garden hedges and this meant you had to watch where you stepped. But being these were the only neighbours (other than the occasional red deer) I would take them in preference to noisy human alternatives.

A gas bbq was supplied but unfortnately the weather (in August!) was not warm enough to sit outside and make use of it.

I thougherly recommend this property if you want a peaceful uninteruppted break and have access to a car. Nearest shops 15minute drive. Larger supermarket 30mins drive. Bring all the food and drink you need or pick up supplies on your trips out and about.




Return to Castle Peroch

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth time at Castle Peroch and we enjoyed it as much as ever. The location is perfect and the accommodation, although a bit dated, is very homely. We'll be back!



Fantastic place on earth

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in Castle Peroch once every year for 15 years.
Beautiful house and surroundings - it is very tranquil too.




Wonderful relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delight of a cottage, in the most spectacular surrounding imaginable - very well equipped with everything you need.
The view across the valley down to the river Tay while you have you morning coffee is worth the trip North alone.




Dramatic setting but some reservations

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Views, kitchen and BBQ all excellent; beds could be better quality; lounge makes good use of limited space. We could not find a corkscrew.



Another great stay in Peroch

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another great holiday on the Kinnaird Estate at Castle Peroch.
The house is lovely with fabulous views.
The staff in the office are most helpful and the housekeepers efficient and attentive.
Wonderful!




Super stay at Castle Perroch

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage to stay with famimy/friends. Superb view of the Tay River - very clean and comfortable. Great walks behind the cottage to the hills & fish ponds. Lots of things to do, see and walk around. Very calm and nice to come back to the quietness of the cottage after a long day hiking.
Denis, Dominique & Olivia.




Excellent cottage in a very scenic location. Loved our holiday at Castle Peroch!!☺️

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage, furnishings, scenery and view. Had a great time with our daughter and grandparents.!!! ☺️ Thankyou v much!!



Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it is the place which can skip you from the reality. Amazing location, unbelievable view and fully equipments.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very beautiful spot on Earth. Loved the house and the surroundings for more than 15 years. Keep coming back. The service is excellent and very friendly but also very respectful to your privacy. The walks you can take are breathtaking.




Castle Paroch

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a most unique location and cottage with stunning views over the river Tay and surrounds. Its is one of the best places that we have ever stayed - fantastic.



Outstanding stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic week staying at castle peroch stunning scenery and walks ideally located will definitely be coming back in the near future and next time hopefully do some fishing on the estate ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️



Another great stay in this lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent another wondeful week in Castle Peroch over New Year, enjoying simple comfort and unparalleled and breathtaking views of Perthshire countryside. Dusting of snow added to the magic leading to a memorable stay. We will be back!



3 night stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Castle Peroch. Very comfortable and cosier than photograph impressions.
Very scenic area and total privacy. Bonus seeing three red squirrels at the drive entrance.




A memorable stay at Castle Peroch on the Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful views over the Tay valley,conveniently located for good walking.Comfortable accommodation adequately equipped.



Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time in Castle Peroch. Everything was perfect, location, cottage, views, quality of the cottage. Only one thing could be better: a bigger tv screen..



Another lovely stay on the Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in Castle Peroch 3 times now and it does not disappoint. The setting is secluded with wonderful views. The Castle / Cottage is comfortable and great value. I highly recommend it.



Lovely cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in the house. it was conveniently located for my children's PLG camp in Dalguise and we enjoyed several walks through the estate. We met the housekeeper who was very helpful and gave us some useful information about the local area.