FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The owners of this stunning property have put a lot of thought into creating a stylish and welcoming home from home and the attention to detail is fantastic. There are 2 bedrooms, one double and one zip and link. Both have built in wardrobes so there is lots of storage space available. The living room has comfy leather sofas, a dining area and large patio doors leading out on to the covered balcony. Somewhere we are sure you will spend a lot of time! The gorgeous kitchen is very well equipped and has a large American style fridge freezer, oven, hob and microwave as well as all the china, utensils, pots and pans you could wish for. If you like cooking, you will love this kitchen! Downstairs, off the entrance hall, there is a utility room (an ideal place for your dog to sleep) and a large shower room, plus the entrance to the integrated garage area.

An amazing property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in a beautiful location several minutes from Dunkeld we could not have asked for a better place to use as a base for our week-long stay. Our hosts were kind, generous and every little detail was thought of. We will definitely return!



What a home from home!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply one of the best cottages we have stayed in. Extremely well appointed and the finish is 5 star. The location of the accommodation is perfect giving quick access to the mountains whilst providing an easy journey to any shopping needs as well. Wonderful holiday and such a warm welcome from Suzanne and Tam. Everything has been carefully considered by them both to ensure a fantastic, memorable holiday is had. We will definitely be back!



A gem of place

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time here and it was of course as the good as our first stay. Top notch furnishings with very good beds. Large bath two showers and a superbly equipped kitchen. Wonderful views from the balcony and walks on your door step. Wi fi good too. 10 mins drive to dunkeld. Have booked a third stay it's that good



Home from home!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our recent trip to Scotland with our two dogs, we decided to stay in three different self catering places (all similarly priced) and The Stables was head and shoulders the star of our holiday. Great location (Dunkeld for provisions and the River Tay and The Hermitage for beautiful walks), spotlessly clean and comfortable, bright light and airy, brilliantly equipped kitchen, and large utility/boot room for wet dogs and coats. Our hosts even provided baby gates so the dogs could feel relaxed whilst drying off before sprawling in front of the wood burner in the sitting room! The dog friendly Meikleour Arms (one of our host’s recommendations) was fabulous.



Beautiful Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables is a beautiful property in a stunning location. The welcoming owners have obviously put a lot of thought into making this a relaxing and excellently equipped holiday house. The bedrooms were super comfy and the kitchen a pleasure to cook in! Walks from the door, without ever having to get into the car.



Second stay at the Stables

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A year since of our first visit we returned to stay in the Stables again. On our first visit we found everything clean, modern and welcoming with one of the most attentive and thoughtful hosts we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. So our expectations had been raised for our return stay and there’s sometimes a level of trepidation that you may not find things as good or enjoy yourselves as much.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Suzanne and family and as soon as we opened the door we could immediately tell that the Stables are maintained to the same high standard we found previously and we could see small but valuable improvements that Suzanne has made based on direct communication with guests. For example, when we departed last year Suzanne asked if we could think of any improvements/additions and based on what we said, we found a new coat stand in the utility to hang all our coats. This approach has also meant the Stables has the best equipped kitchen we have ever seen in a self catering accommodation with quality utensils.

The weather was dry and sometimes sunny and we visited some familiar and some new places. The position of the Stables is very near to Dunkeld (5 mins drive) but tucked away in a quiet area. Being near the A9 means most places are easily accessible and even the more distant places are only an hour (give or take) by car . We visited Anstruther on the Fife coast one day and the Ardverikie estate at Loch Laggan on another day but the Cally car park just outside Dunkeld provides local walks around the Atholl woods or to Loch Ordie.

If the weather does take a turn or you fancy an easier day, then the Stables lounge is a great place to relax looking out at Suzanne’s horses and sheep, with a lovely log burner if it’s very cold or you just want a real fire. The nut feeder also attracts a daily red squirrel visitor, so great if you want to practise your photography skills. There is also some walks straight from the Stables, that wind up the hillside and through the woods and give good views.

In summary we had another fantastic stay and we will return for a third visit.

Thanks
Andrew and Marcia




Short midweek break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay with family of 4 and dog.
Everything was in place for us from our arrival to departure.
We were made to feel very welcome by Sussane and tam who supplied us with fresh eggs from the resident hens.
This is the perfect location for exploring different areas of Dunkeld and enjoying the lovely views from the farmhouse balcony.
Would recommend the stables for anyone traveling with dogs or young family.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at the stables in dunkeld. Excellent hosts who couldn’t do enough for us. The property is lovely and you could sit on the balcony and watch the wildlife all day, kids particularly enjoyed the horses and the red squirrel. It’s in a good location to get around the area only a couple of minutes from dunkeld and 15-20 mins from perth, Pitlochry etc. Highly recommend staying here and we would go back in a heartbeat.



An immaculately clean, very comfortable property

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An immaculately clean, very comfortable property with lovely views, just a few miles from Dunkeld Centre. Suzanne was very welcoming.
The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly want and more.
Fresh eggs from the chicken left in the kitchen were a real treat.
Living rooms and bedrooms were well furnished, bed linen was of good quality.
showers were powerful and plentiful towels supplied.
There is also a utility room. dogs were very welcome. stair gates and ironing board available
I would definitely recommend.






A superb stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a place we will return to again and again. It’s 10 mins from dunkeld and set in an elevated position with walks from the door. The house itself is very well furnished with quality fittings and great beds. The kitchen is also set up for those that want to cook. Wifi is good and the TVs have Netflix etc . The lounge doors open onto a deck which is a great open air space. The owners left food basics in the kitchen which was very much appreciated. The house is so warm and comfortable we did not want to leave. Owners are helpful and personable. The track leading up to the house is not a made up road but an ordinary car can cope as long as it’s not icy or snowy. Parking is easy and secure.



Perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our week at The Stables. The property is wonderful, it is so thoughtfully finished and feels really spacious. Everything about the property was so clean and fresh. It is really well equipped, especially the kitchen making everything seem very homely. We enjoyed some lovely drinks in the sun on the balcony in the evenings which was fabulous looking out over the amazing views. We went for great walks every day, our favourite walks were definitely the ones right on the doorstep, you can walk for miles and miles from the house with gorgeous scenery and views.

Suzanne was a fabulous host, she was very patient and kind with our children who were very (overly!) eager to find out all about the animals! We would definitely recommend this property and can’t wait to visit again ourselves.




Warm welcome and morning mist

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived after a very long journey, we knew from the greeting we were given my Suzanne (waving to us eagerly from the fields) that we would be made to feel welcome. Suzanne and family were one of the highlights of our stay but also the fantastic accommodation, the location and the views were all part of the fantastic week we had. We’ve stayed in many cottages but I would rate this among the best we’ve had the pleasure of spending time in. If you like cooking then the kitchen is fully equipped with high quality tools and appliances.

Although this is our fourth time in the local area, This is the first time we’ve stayed near to Dunkeld and we quickly realised being near to the A9 allowed us quicker access to other places but it’s worth noting the Stables is tucked away nicely from the town and so is really quiet with starry skies and wildlife (deer and red squirrels) in the woods behind.

The upstairs living room looks over the fields where the family have horses and six sheep and we loved to watch the sheep wander around, all set against a backdrop of Birnam Hill in the distance, with mist often rising between the fir tree in a morning, making for great photos. The log burner is also worth mentioning as it’s great to have a real fire but honestly the heating in the Stables is excellent anyway.

In spite of the current COVID restrictions everywhere, we didn’t feel that we had to compromise and Suzanne made any interim measures seem painless when we sadly had to leave at the end of our stay.




Fantastic hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables was the perfect location for our family and pup, tucked away just outside Dunkeld and close to so many great walks in this stunning area. The cottage is incredibly well equipped, comfortable and was immaculately clean. The hosts had thought about everything, provided a very warm welcome and were on hand with advice and tips. Wonderful wildlife with deer in the woodland behind the cottage, red squirrels coming into the garden and housemartens farting around the courtyard. We loved the balcony - perfect for a morning coffee or evening glass of wine. Well worth the long road trip.



Relaxing staycation in Perthshire

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose the Stables for a late booking holiday, based on location and very good reviews. We were not disappointed. Very well equipped and everything of a high standard.
From the welcome pack to the welcome itself. From relaxing on the the balcony, looking at lovely views and walking in the surrounding countryside with the dog, the holiday surpassed our expectations. We also had a couple of nice meals in the gardens of the Athol Arms in Dunkeld, just a couple of miles away. This we would also recommend.
We will be back again next year, and sooner if we can get a booking.

Highly recommended.

One observation; the COVID protocols for packing up before leaving took longer than we expected. This is just an unfortunate requirement of these times.







First class accommodAt is superb location.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house,and very friendly accommodating hosts . We may well visit again as it is a perfect base for exploring Perthshire.



Will be back soon!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at The Stables. It’s such a beautiful home and a great place to escape for a few days. Will be back soon!



Perfection!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful hosts and a wonderfully private location. The accommodation has been built and specced to very high standards and we wanted for absolutely nothing. Without a doubt we will visit again next year. Suzanne was so respectful of our privacy but was always on hand for advice and help where needed.



beautiful accommodation near dunkeld

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautiful, immaculately clean & very homely. Lots of space, beds very comfortable and plenty utensils/household items in the kitchen for a weekend away. The hosts were very welcoming & kind. Good parking right outside front door. Dog also felt very welcome and spent most of his time on the large veranda that overlooks the lovely countryside. Very relaxing stay, thank you Suzanne & Tam :-)



Home away from home

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a five night stay at the recently converted 'Stables'. Beautifully furnished throughout, with some lovely finishing touches. Great living area with a veranda looking out onto picturesque countryside. Two good sized bedrooms with comfy beds and large fitted wardrobes to both. Two very well equipped bathrooms with great showers. Kitchen was brilliant, everything you need and more. Suzanne and Tam, our hosts, were lovely and very accommodating, nothing was a problem. I am sure any problems you may encounter will be dealt with immediately. We would, without a doubt, recommend this holiday let to anyone looking for a nice peaceful getaway with all mod cons, a 'home away from home'. We would love to return again. The Gowens Family.



11 out of 10!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place to stay with excellent hosts and I would recommend it to anyone! 11 out of 10!



Beautiful house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Stables. The house is stunning and has everything that you could possibly need. The house is set in rolling countryside, yet still close enough to the lovely village of Dunkeld. Loads of country walks and beautiful scenery. Suzanne was a great host. We loved the extra little touches, fresh eggs and cookies. We will definitely be back for another stay and would thoroughly recommend staying at The Stables. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️