FB Twitter

The Longhouse

The Longhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


The Longhouse is a truly unique and stylish 5 star property and we are so excited to be adding it to our portfolio. The owners of this beautiful home have a real eye for detail and amazing taste. They have lovingly created a vintage mid century style and the end result even had our Visit Scotland inspector totally blown away! Everywhere you look, you see quality, design features and quirky, original pieces which create a unique, welcoming and stylish home.

The Longhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay in the Longhouse, Aberfeldy. The house was beautiful, very easy to live in , comfy beds, great kitchen, beautiful views and light. Great location, bagged a Munro at Ben Lawers, walked the dogs everywhere, Aberfeldy is lovely with independent shops galore. House of Bruar a treasure trove.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, well thought out house with fantastic kitchen area and dining.
We loved the light throughout the house.
It was refreshing to stay somewhere where everything was thought off- ie no missing corkscrew or garlic crusher! Plenty of room and even a visit from a friendly Pheasant in the garden.
Highly recommend The Long House- it a super eco style home with amazing views, walks and location to explicate Perthshire and beyond.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.




Extremely comfortable house in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse has everything you could possibly need and of the highest standard too. The beds are all so comfortable with luxurious bed linen so a good night's sleep is to be expected. The bathrooms are modern and also to a high standard. The kitchen has plenty of crockery and every cooking item you could want. There is plenty of space for sitting to eat, chat or relax.
We took our dogs and were very pleased to find that the boundary is properly dog proof. There are several doggy items left for use which were helpful. One tiny gripe is that you can't walk out of the property with your dogs, you need to get in a car first. The house is on a main road so I wouldn't risk walking along it with dogs. Other than that it is dog-friendly.
All in all, a great house in a beautiful area.




Great month in the Longhouse

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My review for cleanliness is 4.8 not 4 but there was no facility to indicate this.

This is an exceptional property. The fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality and the space is comfortable for 6 people even in winter. Sadly the furniture in the sitting room space was really uncomfortable.

The enclosed garden was wonderful for our two labradors.

We were at the Longhouse for a month in December and we found it delightful even though daylight hours are limited in winter.

Angela was approachable, professional and helpful at all times.

A lovely house in a beautiful location.




Stunning property in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this property. It is extremely well equipped and finished to a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean. The location was great. It was an easy drive into Aberfeldy and there were plenty of walks from the cottage. We particularly enjoyed the walk to Highland Safari when we walked up through the little hamlet of Camserney. There was a lot to do in the local area. We will definitely be back.



Excellent lodge but WI-FI issues.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and accommodation. However problems with WI-FI which despite raising were not resolved during our stay.



6 Days around Aberfeldy

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property, so stylish and top quality throughout, 9.5/10, comfy settees please to get to 10/10
Good weather for October helped and we will hopefully return as we started to discover more in the area as the week went on, no issues at all and one minor point was well handled by the holiday company...
Overall a brilliant house so handy for all you need with a few great walks nearby...




Wonderful hol at the Longhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is a fabulous holiday home. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the living space is fantastic and the kitchen well equipped. The kids loved the table tennis table and enjoyed the large garden. I loved the view from the porch and was lucky enough to have many sunny days to sit there and enjoy the view. We’ll definitely return to the Longhouse.



Our Thoughts

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a high spec and fully kitted out property with every appliance that we required. We were impressed with the standard of the kitchen appliances and general quality of interior. We would suggest that a wee note indicating how to access the cutlery drawer. Four of us searched for 20 minutes before we found it.



Fabulous property

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property in a great location. The booking team were very helpful too. We loved it and will hopefully be back.



The Long House

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully designed house, the furnishings are luxurious. And a fantastic location for a holiday.



Great house is a fabulous location for exploring

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our staycation at The Longhouse and I have to say the house is fabulous and a real home from home. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and has everything you would ever need. Bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and very much a place to relax and enjoy some time out.

I think, as with previous reviews the sofas are very much a style piece, with comfort coming second :-). Not so much a problem for me, but with two teenagers (14 & 17) who like to lounge (a lot) they felt that a "squishier" sofa would have been nicer.

Also have to say that the house is super warm, so much so we didn't need to have the stove on even though the weather was on the chiller side.

Aberfeldy, and the surrounding area is great for walking and exploring and the village itself has a good selection of shops and venues for eating out or for grabbing meals on the go - even with the current restrictions.

All in all a great place to stay with teenagers and a dog (she had the best time ever) - would highly recommend a stay at The Longhouse.




Great lockdown break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is fabulous. Everything is of a very high standard and the house is equipped with everything you could need. The decor is fantastic and done to a very high standard. We had a family holiday with a 2 year old and 8 week old and the location was perfect with lots to do around Aberfeldy. Our toddler loved the horses, chickens and cows in the fields just outside the house. We would highly recommend the Longhouse for peace and quiet, fantastic views and comfortable accommodation.



Modern lodge in peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House is aesthetically very nice and modern. Great garden/patio area.
Very comfortable beds and great bathrooms/shower rooms but heated towel rails didn't work.
Lovely open plan kitchen/dining/lounge but kitchen not as practical as it could it be and not all utensils were clean on arrival.
Lounge area is bright with great views and lovely wood burning stove but seating not that comfortable and not well suited for 6 people.
Lots of great walks nearby.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review Caroline. We really appreciate it. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the house and all the area has to offer. The towels rails do work but perhaps you didn't spot the switches to turn them on. Sincere apologies about the utensils. This has been raised with our cleaners who assure us this will not happen again. I hope you will decide to book with us again in the future.

5 star stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week at The Longhouse in August; 4 adults, a baby and a dog. We had loads of space and the house really is kitted out to an extremely high spec. Everything in it is quality and was all spotlessly clean on arrival.

The location is great and an excellent base to explore Aberfeldy, Kenmore and beyond. Some great road cycling in the area with stunning views down Loch Tay, Ben Lawers and Schiehallion.

We had glorious weather during our stay so sat out most evenings in the outdoor space which was great.

Few areas of improvement would be:

Beds - the bedrooms are so large and could easily accommodate larger beds. We have a super king-size bed at home so going to a standard double felt a bit tight but was known before booking.

Lounge seating: the chairs/sofas in the lounge are very much style over comfort.

Outdoor washing line: was surprised there was nowhere to hang clothes up outside although a clothes horse is provided.

Local chickens in garden: with having such great weather we really needed the doors wide open to get a breeze through and with having the dog, the local chickens weren't always welcome visitors. They also defecate everywhere which isn't ideal with a toddler running around.

None of the above would stop me from staying at The Longhouse again however as we had an amazing week.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review; we really do appreciate it. I am pleased to report that the owners of The Longhouse have had some chicken wire fitted on the gates to stop the chickens from getting in to the garden! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will book with us again in the future.

What a fabulous holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is a gem of a find. We were lucky enough to spend a week there with our family, 3 children and dog and had a wonderful time. Everything was exceptionally clean and we felt very safe given the current climate. We found it an ideal base to explore the gorgeous area and all family members thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We we not hesitate to recommend this property and aim to return as soon as possible!



Luxury last minute half term break!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited the Perthshire area for over a decade and stayed in some lovely holiday houses but we have never stayed anywhere as beautiful as this house! Everything about it, inside and out is to the highest standard.
The whole house was sparkling clean when we arrived. In our opinion the owners have thought of every last detail to make the perfect holiday home. As a family with two young children we do a lot of cooking and washing while we are on holiday. This was not a chore in The Longhouse as they had a great selection of good quality cooking utensils, a fabulous range cooker and plenty storage for our food in the kitchen cupboards.
The bedrooms all had very comfortable beds and luxury bedding, the towels were also very good quality. Both bathrooms were tastefully decorated and the showers were both out of this world. There are lovely views from each window of this house. As to be expected in February the weather wasn't good but the house was warm and cosy. The underfloor heating and the log burner keep this house so warm it didn't feel like winter to us.
The Longhouse is a credit to the owners and a fantastic addition to the already great range of holiday properties Angela has available. We will hopefully be back to The Longhouse again soon!




Angela Penfold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so thrilled to have been able to add The Longhouse to our collection and your comments as one of our regular guests means a great deal. Thank you for taking the time Gemma. Look forward to having you back at the Longhouse soon!

The Longhouse - stylish Scottish country cosiness at its best

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is an interior design lovers dream, it has carefully curated mid century furniture as well as interesting curiosities that give the space a really unique personality. Everything was spotlessly clean and has been planned out to perfection with high end fixtures and fittings. The kitchen is well laid out and equipped, the open plan layout area creates a good social space with the log burner being a real centre point. The bathrooms are to a luxury specification (super important for relaxing in a hot bath after a long walk!) The bed was comfortable with high quality linen, we slept really well. We enjoyed the space as a couple but can see how it would work being there with a group of good friends or family as there are three bedrooms in total.
There are spectacular views from the Longhouse of the Perthshire countryside, the house is well situated to explore the beautiful surrounding area. We enjoyed the Drummond Hill Black Rock walk - great views of the Loch Tay and an atmospheric walk through the pine tree forest. We saw red squirrels too, a rarity if you are a city dweller! The house is about a 30 minute walk or a short drive to the picturesque village of Aberfeldy which has some interesting independent shops and nice eateries. We particularly enjoyed the The Watermill gallery cafe.
The weather wasn’t great on our visit (to be expected in Scotland in February!) This really didn’t matter as we got to enjoy more time cosied up in front of the fire with a glass of red wine at the Longhouse. Thanks for a wonderful weekend, we definitely will be back soon!




Angela Penfold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!