FB Twitter

The Longhouse

The Longhouse

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


The Longhouse is a truly unique and stylish 5 star property and we are so excited to be adding it to our portfolio. The owners of this beautiful home have a real eye for detail and amazing taste. They have lovingly created a vintage mid century style and the end result even had our Visit Scotland inspector totally blown away! Everywhere you look, you see quality, design features and quirky, original pieces which create a unique, welcoming and stylish home.

Family long weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at The Longhouse. It's a few miles from the town of Aberfeldy which has a supermarket and a good range of shops. The area is scenic, the views from the property are beautiful, especially the early morning mist, and we loved the peaceful rural location.
The Longhouse really is super and, overall, very comfortable and well equipped but I want to leave a totally honest and thorough review because we felt a few minor changes/additions would really elevate it significantly.
On arrival the house was very inviting - it's attractive to look at and easy to find. The underfloor heating was on and the house was very warm which was welcoming. We found it much too warm for us and turned the heating down, however 24 hours later it was still too warm, especially when the sun came out. There are no windows to open in the seating area, although there are blinds on the lower windows. Ideally, it would be nice to still appreciate the sun and the views without having to sit with the blinds drawn. Perhaps a fan, or ceiling fan,and maybe venetian blinds, would help with the overall comfort. The only way to get air in is to open the sliding french door in the dining area, or the back door. We liked the fact we could securely lock the french door 'open' which was a benefit with one dog and children for safety.
The tiled floor is beautiful and practical, but we felt a large, non slip, comfortable rug in the seating area would have added to the comfort and given a more homely feel there.
We found the seating is 'tired' and not comfortable - this may be because we are all tall but I notice some other visitors have mentioned the same. Some additional seating might be nice. On holiday it's nice to have a really comfortable sofa and chair to properly relax in. Even one of those inexpensive IKEA chairs would have added to the comfort factor. All the tables and furnishings were noticeably stained with ring marks which we felt was not '5 star'. There are plenty of coasters so this is the fault of previous guests who have not taken care. Perhaps furnishings which can cope with clients placing hot cups on them might be an idea? Also, a couple of table or floor lamps would have created a more pleasant ambience in the evenings rather than depending on the spotlights or two wall lights which are not over any of the seating.
The kitchen is very well equipped with a good standard of kitchenware and crockery. We would have preferred a simple electric kettle rather than needing to put the kettle on the stove. (We actually bought one to use during our stay)
The dining area is very pleasant with a good sized table, a range of table mats and, as I said, good quality crockery and kitchen/dining ware which was appreciated.
The fridge/freezer was also a good size and spotlessly clean. The large island unit in the kitchen is very attractive and food preparation is easy.
The laundry room is useful - I didn't notice an outside drying line - there might be one.
We didn't like the kitchen bins having to constantly lift the lids - we would have preferred a touch lid or pedal operated lid.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and the quality of curtains, blinds and towels is very good.
There are good windows which open in all the bedrooms allowing a flow of air which was appreciated.
The two bathrooms are of a good standard. We appreciated the non slip bath mat for the children.
The securely fenced garden is excellent for children and dogs.
It was our first holiday with our grandchildren. There is a high chair which was much appreciated.
Overall, a very attractive property, well equipped, lovely location, excellent dog and child friendly secure garden, welcoming, excellent customer service from Highland Perthshire Holiday Homes and a very good layout for family get togethers.
Would definitely recommend and return.





Excellent Location, well maintained modern property.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family of 6, all adults plus a small baby and two dogs in September 2022. The accommodation is spacious and well equipped with good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, the en-suite bedroom being the favoured one to get first !!. The lounge is large with views across the fields to the River Tay and hills beyond. There is seating just about for 6 but the chairs could do with an upgrade. Very good sized kitchen with massive oven and fridge and long dining table for evening meals. We found the house to be very warm, perhaps too warm for us, so a cozy place in the winter. The house is just a couple of miles from Aberfeldy where you can buy all the essentials, we used the local CO-OP for food and supplies. You can walk from the house to Aberfeldy via the riverbank, takes about 1 hour ( turn right at the bottom of the road and after about 300 yards turn left down a marked footpath until you meet the river) We would recommend this house to others.



Great house, everything you could need for. Great week

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super house in perfect condition and well placed for exploring the area around aberfeldy.
Everything we needed for a great week and perfect comms with the rental company. Handy for kids and parking for both cars and safe place to store bikes in the garage.




Wonderful place to relax and explore

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great few days here. Lovely house and perfect for a family. Have no hesitation recommending this property.



Stunning house in a lovely part of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay. The house is stunning - a real Grand Designs place - and very well equipped. Everything felt very luxurious. The beds were very comfortable, lots of kitchen kit and the cooker/dishwasher/fridge/microwave/tv top notch.

The local area is lovely, especially Loch Tay. We did some great local walks and cycling. Aberfeldy is quite a nice town and it was possible to walk there along the river in about an hour (quicker if you haven’t got two dogs who insist on going for a swim every couple of hundred yards!)

A map of local footpaths would have been helpful - they weren’t shown on the Ordnance Survey maps provided.




Exceptional

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is a wonderful quiet place to stay and we would most definitely recommend it.
It is in a fabulous position with wonderful views and it is so easy to get into Kenmore, Aberfeldy, Pitlochry, Crieff, Perth and many more places.
We look forward to returning soon.




The Longhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay in the Longhouse, Aberfeldy. The house was beautiful, very easy to live in , comfy beds, great kitchen, beautiful views and light. Great location, bagged a Munro at Ben Lawers, walked the dogs everywhere, Aberfeldy is lovely with independent shops galore. House of Bruar a treasure trove.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, well thought out house with fantastic kitchen area and dining.
We loved the light throughout the house.
It was refreshing to stay somewhere where everything was thought off- ie no missing corkscrew or garlic crusher! Plenty of room and even a visit from a friendly Pheasant in the garden.
Highly recommend The Long House- it a super eco style home with amazing views, walks and location to explicate Perthshire and beyond.
Thankyou for a wonderful stay.




Extremely comfortable house in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse has everything you could possibly need and of the highest standard too. The beds are all so comfortable with luxurious bed linen so a good night's sleep is to be expected. The bathrooms are modern and also to a high standard. The kitchen has plenty of crockery and every cooking item you could want. There is plenty of space for sitting to eat, chat or relax.
We took our dogs and were very pleased to find that the boundary is properly dog proof. There are several doggy items left for use which were helpful. One tiny gripe is that you can't walk out of the property with your dogs, you need to get in a car first. The house is on a main road so I wouldn't risk walking along it with dogs. Other than that it is dog-friendly.
All in all, a great house in a beautiful area.




Great month in the Longhouse

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My review for cleanliness is 4.8 not 4 but there was no facility to indicate this.

This is an exceptional property. The fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality and the space is comfortable for 6 people even in winter. Sadly the furniture in the sitting room space was really uncomfortable.

The enclosed garden was wonderful for our two labradors.

We were at the Longhouse for a month in December and we found it delightful even though daylight hours are limited in winter.

Angela was approachable, professional and helpful at all times.

A lovely house in a beautiful location.




Stunning property in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this property. It is extremely well equipped and finished to a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean. The location was great. It was an easy drive into Aberfeldy and there were plenty of walks from the cottage. We particularly enjoyed the walk to Highland Safari when we walked up through the little hamlet of Camserney. There was a lot to do in the local area. We will definitely be back.



Excellent lodge but WI-FI issues.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and accommodation. However problems with WI-FI which despite raising were not resolved during our stay.



6 Days around Aberfeldy

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property, so stylish and top quality throughout, 9.5/10, comfy settees please to get to 10/10
Good weather for October helped and we will hopefully return as we started to discover more in the area as the week went on, no issues at all and one minor point was well handled by the holiday company...
Overall a brilliant house so handy for all you need with a few great walks nearby...




Wonderful hol at the Longhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is a fabulous holiday home. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the living space is fantastic and the kitchen well equipped. The kids loved the table tennis table and enjoyed the large garden. I loved the view from the porch and was lucky enough to have many sunny days to sit there and enjoy the view. We’ll definitely return to the Longhouse.



Our Thoughts

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a high spec and fully kitted out property with every appliance that we required. We were impressed with the standard of the kitchen appliances and general quality of interior. We would suggest that a wee note indicating how to access the cutlery drawer. Four of us searched for 20 minutes before we found it.



Fabulous property

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property in a great location. The booking team were very helpful too. We loved it and will hopefully be back.



The Long House

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully designed house, the furnishings are luxurious. And a fantastic location for a holiday.



Great house is a fabulous location for exploring

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our staycation at The Longhouse and I have to say the house is fabulous and a real home from home. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and has everything you would ever need. Bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and very much a place to relax and enjoy some time out.

I think, as with previous reviews the sofas are very much a style piece, with comfort coming second :-). Not so much a problem for me, but with two teenagers (14 & 17) who like to lounge (a lot) they felt that a "squishier" sofa would have been nicer.

Also have to say that the house is super warm, so much so we didn't need to have the stove on even though the weather was on the chiller side.

Aberfeldy, and the surrounding area is great for walking and exploring and the village itself has a good selection of shops and venues for eating out or for grabbing meals on the go - even with the current restrictions.

All in all a great place to stay with teenagers and a dog (she had the best time ever) - would highly recommend a stay at The Longhouse.




Great lockdown break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is fabulous. Everything is of a very high standard and the house is equipped with everything you could need. The decor is fantastic and done to a very high standard. We had a family holiday with a 2 year old and 8 week old and the location was perfect with lots to do around Aberfeldy. Our toddler loved the horses, chickens and cows in the fields just outside the house. We would highly recommend the Longhouse for peace and quiet, fantastic views and comfortable accommodation.



Modern lodge in peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House is aesthetically very nice and modern. Great garden/patio area.
Very comfortable beds and great bathrooms/shower rooms but heated towel rails didn't work.
Lovely open plan kitchen/dining/lounge but kitchen not as practical as it could it be and not all utensils were clean on arrival.
Lounge area is bright with great views and lovely wood burning stove but seating not that comfortable and not well suited for 6 people.
Lots of great walks nearby.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review Caroline. We really appreciate it. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the house and all the area has to offer. The towels rails do work but perhaps you didn't spot the switches to turn them on. Sincere apologies about the utensils. This has been raised with our cleaners who assure us this will not happen again. I hope you will decide to book with us again in the future.

5 star stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week at The Longhouse in August; 4 adults, a baby and a dog. We had loads of space and the house really is kitted out to an extremely high spec. Everything in it is quality and was all spotlessly clean on arrival.

The location is great and an excellent base to explore Aberfeldy, Kenmore and beyond. Some great road cycling in the area with stunning views down Loch Tay, Ben Lawers and Schiehallion.

We had glorious weather during our stay so sat out most evenings in the outdoor space which was great.

Few areas of improvement would be:

Beds - the bedrooms are so large and could easily accommodate larger beds. We have a super king-size bed at home so going to a standard double felt a bit tight but was known before booking.

Lounge seating: the chairs/sofas in the lounge are very much style over comfort.

Outdoor washing line: was surprised there was nowhere to hang clothes up outside although a clothes horse is provided.

Local chickens in garden: with having such great weather we really needed the doors wide open to get a breeze through and with having the dog, the local chickens weren't always welcome visitors. They also defecate everywhere which isn't ideal with a toddler running around.

None of the above would stop me from staying at The Longhouse again however as we had an amazing week.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review; we really do appreciate it. I am pleased to report that the owners of The Longhouse have had some chicken wire fitted on the gates to stop the chickens from getting in to the garden! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will book with us again in the future.

What a fabulous holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is a gem of a find. We were lucky enough to spend a week there with our family, 3 children and dog and had a wonderful time. Everything was exceptionally clean and we felt very safe given the current climate. We found it an ideal base to explore the gorgeous area and all family members thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We we not hesitate to recommend this property and aim to return as soon as possible!



Luxury last minute half term break!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited the Perthshire area for over a decade and stayed in some lovely holiday houses but we have never stayed anywhere as beautiful as this house! Everything about it, inside and out is to the highest standard.
The whole house was sparkling clean when we arrived. In our opinion the owners have thought of every last detail to make the perfect holiday home. As a family with two young children we do a lot of cooking and washing while we are on holiday. This was not a chore in The Longhouse as they had a great selection of good quality cooking utensils, a fabulous range cooker and plenty storage for our food in the kitchen cupboards.
The bedrooms all had very comfortable beds and luxury bedding, the towels were also very good quality. Both bathrooms were tastefully decorated and the showers were both out of this world. There are lovely views from each window of this house. As to be expected in February the weather wasn't good but the house was warm and cosy. The underfloor heating and the log burner keep this house so warm it didn't feel like winter to us.
The Longhouse is a credit to the owners and a fantastic addition to the already great range of holiday properties Angela has available. We will hopefully be back to The Longhouse again soon!




Angela Penfold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so thrilled to have been able to add The Longhouse to our collection and your comments as one of our regular guests means a great deal. Thank you for taking the time Gemma. Look forward to having you back at the Longhouse soon!

The Longhouse - stylish Scottish country cosiness at its best

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Longhouse is an interior design lovers dream, it has carefully curated mid century furniture as well as interesting curiosities that give the space a really unique personality. Everything was spotlessly clean and has been planned out to perfection with high end fixtures and fittings. The kitchen is well laid out and equipped, the open plan layout area creates a good social space with the log burner being a real centre point. The bathrooms are to a luxury specification (super important for relaxing in a hot bath after a long walk!) The bed was comfortable with high quality linen, we slept really well. We enjoyed the space as a couple but can see how it would work being there with a group of good friends or family as there are three bedrooms in total.
There are spectacular views from the Longhouse of the Perthshire countryside, the house is well situated to explore the beautiful surrounding area. We enjoyed the Drummond Hill Black Rock walk - great views of the Loch Tay and an atmospheric walk through the pine tree forest. We saw red squirrels too, a rarity if you are a city dweller! The house is about a 30 minute walk or a short drive to the picturesque village of Aberfeldy which has some interesting independent shops and nice eateries. We particularly enjoyed the The Watermill gallery cafe.
The weather wasn’t great on our visit (to be expected in Scotland in February!) This really didn’t matter as we got to enjoy more time cosied up in front of the fire with a glass of red wine at the Longhouse. Thanks for a wonderful weekend, we definitely will be back soon!




Angela Penfold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!