FB Twitter

The Ghillies Cottage

The Ghillies Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Cute little cottage with 2 en-suite bedrooms, open plan living/kitchen/dining space and large garden. Dog friendly. Driveway parking. Lovely walks from the door. Bedroom 1 has a king size bed and the second bedroom has zip and link beds. This property has recently had 2 new shower rooms as well as a new heating and hot water system. The location is quiet but only a few minutes drive from Aberfeldy.

Chillies cottage excellant

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, very clean and comfortable, great location, Well worth a visit, we will definitely return.



A week at Ghillies

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall our week was great, the huge garden proved popular with our dogs and the area was stunning. We had some beautiful weather and enjoyed our week thoroughly.
The cottage itself was comfortable and a fine base to stay in, but we did have a couple of complaints.
Firstly the shower pressure was little to nonexistent, couldn’t help but feel a power shower or even a pump on the boiler would have helped out with that.
Secondly the heating was a bit of an issue, when we entered the cottage for the first time we were hit was a wall of heat and checking the panel all seemed to be set as instructed. So we swung between too hot and too cold as we had to switch radiators off and on depending on the temperature.

Some smaller things, the inside of the kettle didn’t look healthy and had some particles floating in it, the toilet roll holder in the back en-suite was broken when we arrived and ended up causing a few run away toilet paper incidents.

All in all it was a good week had and the cottage provided a great base for exploring areas of Perthshire we had never gotten the chance to explore.




Angela replied 233 days ago
SEPT 2022 - WE ARE DELIGHTED TO ADVISE THAT THE COTTAGE NOW HAS A BRAND NEW GAS CENTRAL HEATING SYSTEM AND 2 BEAUTIFUL NEW SHOWER ROOMS.

Our break in Aberfeldy

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jan 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the Ghillies cottage for a week during mid-January 2022. Our party consisted of 3 seniors and our dog Bracken.
The cottage is located approximately 3 miles south of Aberfeldy and about the same distance north of Kenmore. Sitting elevated a few hundred yards up a leafy driveway off the main road, the cottage is easily accessible with grass lawns and a small burn running down from the woodlands behind. There is ample parking to the front and side.
The cottage is modern in design and very well furnished and equipped. Heating is supplied via electric units throughout which is included in the rental charge.
We all had a super time despite some local closures and restrictions due to the Covid pandemic. Our dog loved his romps in the woodland and appears quite bored now being back home.
We would not hesitate to recommend this property and will hopefully return again in the near future.




Our 4th stay at The Ghillies, says it all!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at The Ghiillies three times under its previous owners before it was sold.
When we spotted it back on the market for holidays we booked immediately and are pleased to report it was as enjoyable as previous visits.
Clean, well equipped and furnished. Only two of us but ample room for a small family here.
Thank you for a very pleasant and relaxing stay.




The Ghillies

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in a great location for exploring the area, clean and welcoming.
Great area for cycling and walking with everything at your door step.




Ghillies in August

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spot with lots of wildlife in the forrest and beautifully quiet. Nice wee cottage too. Great base to explore the area and good watersports in Aberfeldy



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cottage in a great location to explore Highland Perthshire. The outside space was fantastic with lots of wildlife to see including deer, hares and red squirrels.



Ghillie's Cottage July 2021

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean, comfortable cottage in a quiet location. High quality furnishings. Lots of wildlife at the door. Hot water pressure is very low and was the only downside of a perfect week. Will definitely book again.



This small but comfortable cottage is in a peaceful, beautiful location, perfect for exploring.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is small, but somehow very spacious and accommodating for two couples.
Location was great, just up the road from Castle Menzies and Aberfeldy. There are wonderful river walks from the village, and its a short car ride to Loch Tay, Cairngorms, and more. Highly recommended.
Only two very minor negatives: (1) internet connection was terribly slow and (2) showers / bathrooms really need modernising. Personally I think those negatives are priced in; the cost for 5 days was very reasonable.
We never met the host, but she was super helpful throughout the booking and arrangements during COVID lockdowns.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Ghillies Cottage was perfect for us, the photos do not do it justice. It was clean and comfortable, with everything we needed given the restrictions. The location is amazing, feels like you are in the middle of nowhere and yet it's very convenient for travel about the area. Comfy bed, well maintained grounds, deer, red squirrels and lots of birds. Even visited by a hare!



Short stay in Aberfeldy

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the cottage was good.
There is an en-suite in both bedrooms though the showers could be more accurately described as drizzles. Not a decent flow at all.
cottage was warm with plenty of hot water.
TV was broken when we arrived and a new one supplied, which we used, with limited success, off the wifi as the old satelitte box no longer worked with the new set.

I've said 'No' to recommending the property, as it does not pass the test of 'would we go back to the accomodation in the future?'




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Ghillies Cottage. I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I am afraid I was not aware of the problem with the showers so will get this looked at as a matter of urgency. With regards the TV, this was a very unfortunate situation as the previous guest did not report that the TV was not working so we were unaware. We did replace it with a new smart TV as quickly as possible but then it turned out the old Sky box was not compatible with the new TV so we had to order a new free sat box which took a couple of days to arrive. I am extremely sorry about this and totally respect your comments given the circumstances. I am happy to report that the new TV and free sat box are now fully operational and we are awaiting a plumber to look at the shower issue. We really do appreciate you leaving your review and letting us know about these issues as we cannot put things right if guests do not let us know. We never mind a phone call if a guest has a problem.

A lovely comfortable cottage in a tranquil location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful area. It was very quiet indeed and so lovely to only hear the birds and the babbling burn. To see the wildlife surrounding the cottage was a joy (deer, hares, red squirrel). The cottage was spotlessly clean and was very comfortable.



Lovely Location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for three nights and were very comfortable and would not hesitate recommending it
to anyone.The peace was great,and the wild life one could see even from the windows is amazing.Deer,pheasants,Bullfinches,
Stoats,Red Squirrels etc.




A Perfect Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took our labrador, Shane with us to get away from the fireworks. It was so peaceful and we never heard a sound.
The cottage itself was just perfect and very comfortable. It had everything we needed and was presented to a high standard.
Thanks to Angela who made the booking process easy and run smoothly and was very helpful when answering any queries we had.
We will definitely return for another stay.




A great stay and location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic location and very good customer service. Would definitely recommend and come back, my 2 boys loves out in the garden (or should I say Forrest!) and playing in the stream. Will definitely be back.



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. Great cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay. A couple of problems that we had were sorted out straight away by very helpful member of staff - Angela. Interesting places to visit nearby including The Birks of Abergele, Queens View and Loch Tummel. Would definitely visit again



Fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has a fabulous location with an amazing back garden full of wildlife. It is warm and has everything you need for a short or long stay including two en-suite bathrooms. Only downside was the shower pressure in the rear bedroom was not great. Recommended as a great place to explore the area or just hang out with the local hares, red squirrels, deer and grouse in the huge back yard.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at The Ghillies Cottage. Clean and well equipped. No problems whilst there at all. Great spot to explore beautiful Perthshire from.



September getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is set in a beautiful and peaceful setting and only a short drive from amenities in Aberfeldy. The cottage has everything you'll need, very comfortable beds, great kitchen but one downside is that the showers are not very powerful. Would highly recommend and is excellent value for money compared to many other rentals in the area.



Lovely Location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good and quite stay at the cottage very relaxing place to stay.No complaints at all.
We ate out At The Townhouse Hotel in Aberfeldy it was very good staff and food great.we also ate out at Aileen Chraggan hotel it was also very good we would recommend them both.




Well deserved break!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ghillies Cottage. The cottage was very clean and well equipped for a self catering holiday. The location is excellent with plenty of walks to choose from. Angela was very helpful with 2 minor breakdowns which we reported and would not hesitate to book through HPHH again.

Gary and Gill




A Great stay at the Ghillies

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and cosy, in a beautiful location the countryside scenery was amazing. Aberfeldy, the local town was a very nice place , lots of good shops, places to eat , things to do. We went to Cluny House Gardens nearby, which was lovely and saw a lot of red squirrels. Also visited Loch Tay and Kenmore, Queen's view at Loch Tummel and Pitlochry.
Thoroughly enjoyed it , would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from busy locations and city's.




Superb clean and comfortable cottage in quiet location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, such a lovely location and extremely clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed long walks with our little terrier and had a really good and relaxing break there. A happy stay in a lovely cottage.
As there are other properties on the same large estate some information on walks and boundaries around the cottage would be helpful. We will be back.




Perfect place for a post-lockdown break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted with this beautiful wee cottage for our short break in Perthshire. Angela was very helpful and the booking confirmation information was very clear. Very quiet spot but still close to Aberfeldy and access to some lovely walks - we walked to Weem Woods, along the river to Aberfeldy, and round The Birks. Large back garden was great to exercise the dogs with space to sit and enjoy the sun. Inside was very clean and fresh. Looked liked the rooms had been recently decorated and all were well furnished. We all commented on how comfortable the beds were! Very impressed by the temporary covid-19 cleaning instructions and we were happy to comply. Would definitely recommend both Ghillies Cottage and Highland Perthshire Holiday Homes.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to be welcoming guests back to our properties and delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks and hope to have you back with us again in the future.