FB Twitter

River View Cottage

River View Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Spacious cottage overlooking the River Tay. Sleeps 6 and village amenities within easy walking distance

Short 3 night stay for eedding

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this for two of our guests who had travelled far for a wedding in the vicinity. They were both perfectly happy and comfortable with the accommodation.



Third visit to a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was so lovely to bring another group of friends to this lovely cottage. It was my third time staying at the cottage and it still doesn't disappoint. Great social space, loads of amenities and the views are beautiful. Totally recommend and i will return again



Excellent place for a family break...

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property for a family break in the heart of Kenmore. Great location by the side of the River Tay giving easy access to walking routes and trails. House is very comfortable with enough space to accommodate up to 6 people. Handily located close to the local park with a football pitch/tennis court, swings and zip slide so ideal for kids. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Kenmore....



Warm & Welcoming Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutley perfect for us all, Location was just what we wanted as we know Kenmore and the surrounding area well.
The house was extremley well equipped, warm and inviting with outside seating areas (subject to weather) at both the front and rear of the property.
Cleanliness was spot on.
Yes I would recommend this property to other users and I'm sure we'll be back even if its just on a short break.




Holiday with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Peaceful location with good weather. Lovely local walks from doorstep. Visited pizza bistro by the loch several times.



Fabulous location, and would book again.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed here from Mon-Fri. I know Kenmore well, and have stayed in many of the self catering options in and around the village, this was the most homely.
The location is fantastic, away from the 'main' road going through the village, but 2mins walk to the hotel and village shop. Small thing to note though, the photos are obviously a few years old as the view to the river is much more obscured by trees and undergrowth than they show, but this is not a problem, just a bit deceptive.
The house is well equipped, and does not lack anything, however I would say some of the living room furniture is a bit tired, however everything was spotless and it had a lovely homely feel to it all.
Contact about the booking was excellent and friendly as well.
Will definitely look to book again.





Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place ,lovely cottage.,The only downside is we have to pay the full rate and there are only two of us. This is our third stay here



Lovely Property in Ideal Location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverview Cottage is perfectly situated in the picturesque village of Kenmore.

The property has been renovated to an extremely high standard and is a lot bigger on the inside than would be first thought. There is a balcony to the rear of the property, complete with a table and benches, which overlooks the river.
The property was spotless when we arrived and everything needed in terms of cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery was supplied.

Riverview Cottage is surrounded by beautiful walking areas, whether it’s a wander along the riverbank or a walk through the Taymouth Castle Estate.

A lovely property, one to which we will return.




River view 2021

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riverview cottage. It is a lovely property in a great location, being central to all the facilities and services in Kenmore within a minute or two. The cottage was well stocked with all the kitchen equipment you could need. Our only criticisms would be that the double bed was too small, we found it difficult to share and we are of average size. Also that the information on what to do with rubbish was confusing, there is out of date instructions on the fridge door and different instructions in the property information book, which says that a neighbour would kindly take the bins out on the relevant day, this did not happen and luckily I managed to get the bin out just before it was due to be emptied. Apart from that everything was great and we would definitely look to book the cottage again if we are planning to stay in Kenmore in the future.



Lovely spacious property in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at River View Cottage. Very spacious, on three levels. Well equipped with everything you need. Nice to have seating outdoors, both front and back (front gets more sun!) and lovely view out over the river. Would definitely recommend.



Pleasant short break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had three nights in the house, it is well equipped, clean and comfortable.
The location is excellent as well with all local attractions well within walking distance.




Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great location, beautiful setting.
Cottage is on 3 floors, which is not clear from website, but which suited our family needs.
Dogs welcome with a welcome basket provided, access to waste ground and riverside walks straight from back of cottage, again great for us with our dog!
Fairly well kitted out, just a few wee maintenance issues which we expected could have been seen to considering it must have been closed.for a.while. Not enough mugs! Some chipped and a set of ugly thick ones! But otherwise yes good and we would go back.




Brilliant September weekend break with family

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a lovely weekend break in the beautiful location of Kenmore. River view cottage was ample space for all of us in a very roomy cottage. Kitchen had all the facilities you could want ‘ everything was spotless & felt very safe in the current Covid crisis. The cottage is in a really good central location in a lovely historic sight on the estate of Taymouth castle right in the heart of the Villiage right on the river just a stones throw from pub restaurant, walks, local shops, water sports & of course beautiful Loch Tay. Although central very private with ample parking. We would love to come back & will recommend to others. Thank you for making it an amazing place to come to : )



Staying while working away couldn't get any better!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at River View Cottage for just over three weeks while working in the Kenmore area, it was perfect for what we needed, comfortable, clean and well-equiped.
Thank you so much to Amanda and her team for making our stay as enjoyable as possible (while working...).




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. So delighted to hear how well the house worked for you and that you were able to really enjoy your stay, in spite of having to work. Hope you will come back again sometime for a holiday!

Fabulous get away

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing retreat and accommodation perfect !!
House was fantastic and the booking easy!!!!
Highly recommended !





Nice cottage in a small town

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was well equipped and clean. Located in a very quiet area in the town of Kenmore. Nice walks along the river Tay starting from the house.
Well prepared information about the house and points of interest available in the house.

Recommended improvement: Both, SAT-Receiver and DVD-Player are connected to the modern Flat TV by SCART connectors, thus switching the connectors is required to change between SAT and DVD. A small investment in a new DVD player with HDMI connector would solve the issue.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted to report that the TV etc are now connected with HDMI leads! Thanks for the comment on this; its always so helpful to get feedback from our guests.

A lovely short break

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a spacious well equiped cottage in a lovely setting.
Kenmore is a small village on the edge of the loch .
We had 3 teenagers and we all enjoyed the 4 day break .
Thanks




Comfortable cottage in superb location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Don't be deceived by this cottage's modest exterior - inside it is a spacious, comfortable home on 3 levels, all with views to the River Tay at the rear. Very well appointed with everything a family of 6 could need, including a washing machine, pizza trays, DVD player (NB don't take your blu-rays), small rotary drier, barbecue, etc. Angela, the home-made biscuits, tea, coffee and pint of milk you left for us on arrival were a lovely welcome - thank you. Upstairs bedrooms are beautifully finished with velux windows overlooking the river but the downstairs bedroom is quite cold, damp and dark, and the en-suite is constantly damp which has affected the tile grout in the shower. A small gripe is that we had no information on the timing of the hot water, so it was difficult to predict when to avoid having an unexpected cold shower!

Great to have benches to front and rear, from which to watch nature and the world go by. Convenient deck at the rear with ample space for barbecues in the evening. Gardens at front and rear on the small side and are partly paved and gravelled, with a rather unkempt grassy bit at the rear; however, we still managed to squeeze in our swingball!

Perfectly located in the centre of Kenmore, very close to the Post Office which is also a handy corner shop, the small beach, play park, riverside walks and the Kenmore Hotel on your doorstep. The cottage is surrounded by wildlife including owls, song thrushes, fish jumping out of the river, ducks and even a red squirrel. Would thoroughly recommend the walk up Drummond Hill to Black Rock viewpoint, the Crannog Centre and the Falls of Acharn with a surprise hermit's cave! Avoid Taymouth Marina which seems quite disorganised and over-priced.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I realise you left your review a while ago now but I just wanted to give you an update, following the feedback you left for us. We have managed to address the hot water issue now and have also done some maintenance over the winter to improve the downstairs en-suite shower.

Excellent weekend at River View Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our trip to Kenmore was enhanced by our stay at the River View Cottage. All the amenities and comfort we needed for a great weekend with friends.



Comfortable stay at River View Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at River View Cottage for a family birthday weekend. Accommodation was first class. Clean and tidy with all furniture and fittings of good quality. Warm and cosy throughout stay despite changeable weather. (You take your chance with that!). Had a fantastic dinner at The Waterfront Restaurant and tasty bar lunches at the Kenmore Hotel and Courtyard complex. The village itself is most picturesque and we enjoyed local walks. We would highly recommend River View Cottage to others and certainly consider a return visit.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, warm house in beautiful location. Spacious - with lower ground floor bedroom and two further large bedrooms on the first floor. Enclosed garden accessible down steps from decking, very useful for responsible dog owners. Excellent kitchen facilities. Plenty of walks from the door - along the river and around Taymouth Estate which is fascinating.



Great location, lovely comfortable and well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Arrival instructions were clear and helpful, cottage very clean and comfortable. The location was great, with walks from the house and pub and deli very convenient! The kitchen was the best equipped of any self catering accommodation I have ever used - we tend to cook ourselves when away and ther was nothing I needed that I didn’t find! Would highly recommend, and we may well be back.



85

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A superb cottage beautifully located, well equipped and a really good layout. Very quiet with very nice neighbours and local folks. Ideal for walks and fishing as the Tay is 30 yds out of the patio door. I do think though the beds were uncomfortable and that the mattresses should be replaced. There is also an an opportunity that under the decking could be made into a secure bike store at little cost which would attract cyclists. I also think the cottage should be strictly no smoking. There were nickotine smells which required the windows to be opened.
Would I go and stay again - absolutely yes!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review; we really appreciate it. I am sorry that you didn't find the mattresses suited you. They are all actually pretty new with the twin room and downstairs double only being purchased in the past 12 months and the other room only 18 months ago. Thank you for the suggestion about the bike storage which is a great idea - I will pass this on to the owner for his consideration. Finally, I am very concerned to read your comment about the smell of nicotine as the house is a strictly No Smoking house, as are all of our properties. Our housekeeper is very vigilant about such things and didn't report an issue to me so I wonder if it is possible that it was something else that you smelt. In any event, I will investigate - thank you.

Excellent property in an excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverview Cottage was an excellent find for us and we had a fantastic holiday. The location, cleanliness and customer service of Highland Perthshire Holidays were all first class. There is everything you need in the cottage, it is spacious and felt like a real home from home.



Great stay in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay at Riverside Cottage (not something we usually do); we went last year and as there is so much to do, see and walk we thought we'd try and get some more done. I would say we still have several years of visits before we get bored. The cottage is a great place to base yourself. The 3 mile circular walk around the golf course and past the castle grounds, or back along the river, is a lovely way to start the day. The facilities in the village are many and varied. A well stocked village shop and post office within 100mts of the cottage, plenty of good eating places and bars; Taymouth Marina, Kenmore Hotel, The Kenmore Club and the Courtyard at the Mains of Taymouth (which also has a lovely deli). Plenty of walking; Ben Lawers Schiehallion, Drummond Forest and Hill, Kenmore Hill just to name some. Drive down Glen Lyon if you get the chance. The cottage is very comfortable with all the facilities we wanted and lovely neighbours. Angela, the property manager, is very obliging and sorted out the telly for us very quickly (the satellite dish being replaced on the Sunday). All in all a really great location for either a quite or full on busy break, which-ever you prefer.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Nigel. We look forward to having you return again so that you can continue to work through the list of all the amazing things this fabulous area has to offer!

Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having previously stayed at the cottage over Easter, we returned for a four night stay and had a lovely time. The weather
was fabulous and we definitely saw the area at it's glorious best.The cottage is very comfortable and in an excellent location
for walks, sightseeing, restaurants, etc. As always the booking experience was very easy and quick. Many thanks to Angela for that. We will definitely return in the future.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return stay at the cottage and hope to have you back again in the future.

Perfect Spring Break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the location of this cottage and the beds and bedding were super comfy. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and most importantly for family sanity in the evenings the WiFi was reliable!!



Easter break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long Easter weekend at River View Cottage with our family and and had a lovely time. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed and was a very cosy retreat to come back to after our walks in the area with our dog. The beds were really comfortable and the lovely views over the Tay from the decking were an added bonus. As always the booking process with
Angela was problem free with great communication at all times. We will definitely be back in the future.




New year Break

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd time staying at River View for a New Year break, just booked again for this New Year, the property is clean and comfortable, the property is further Inhanced with the addition of new carpets, there are however a few annoying features, namely the toilet seats in both bathrooms stubbornly refuse to stay in the upright position which is not ideal when being used my males, the settee and chairs in lounge are not that comfortable, but that could just be us being picky. Would highly recommend River View .



Great location and comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well situated overlooking the river on one side and greenery on the other which looked particularly attractive with the autumnal colours. It is also a stone's throw to the hotel, restaurants and shops so very handy to nip out for food and drinks. Lots of great walks on the doorstep so a dog lovers paradise. Kenmore itself is also a lovely wee village. Major niggle for us was no dishwasher which was totally unexpected and we could have done with more than the two dishtowels provided. There also isn't a drier and with Scottish weather what it is, there was nowhere to dry clothes quickly. Perhaps buying one of those hot air driers that you plug in from Lakeland would be a useful addition? That said, everything else was very comfortable and the cottage is otherwise well-equipped with good Wi-Fi which kept our children particularly happy. Parking on the doorstep also very convenient.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted to report that since your visit, the owner has had extensive improvements done to the house including new carpets, new beds and furniture in the twin room which now has a zip and link option and there is a dishwasher being installed this week! In addition, the deck area has been improved to make it far less slippery in the wet.

Very comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very comfortable and in a beautiful position with views of the river. Kenmore is a lovely village with good restaurants



Fantastic location and beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage could not be in a better location - just through the stone arch so you can walk everywhere, lots of places to eat out nearby. Cottage over 3 levels and all rooms were spacious and clean, with lovely furniture. Only downslide was deck was very slippy. But walk out the back garden gate and you are 10m from the river, walk out the front gate and you are 30m from the historic stone arch. perfect!