FB Twitter

Craigard

Craigard

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
78% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Bright and spacious open plan property sleeping 6, with beautiful views of Loch Tay

Great Location - but not perfect.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is located right on Loch Tay. The view from the living room is incredible.

The house is modern, well equipped and could have been in excellent conditions except:
-The oven in the kitchen was not properly cleaned. Once turned on it started smoking and triggered the smoke alarm, causing a rather unpleasant experience.
-The WiFi speed is 0.2 Mpbs (we tested it on several devices). Essentially there is no WiFi.
-Apparently the toilets leak from time to time. On our last day of stay we were woken up early in the morning by two men who had entered the house to inspect the toilets not aware we were staying at the cottage. They were polite and apologized for the mistake, but insisted on inspecting the house since "they had come all this way already".
-The house shares an entire wall with another house. The picture on the website misleadingly cuts off the adjacent house to the left although we had guessed that was the case. Luckily the house next to us was empty so we did not experience any disturbance, although we were there off season.
-The floors upstairs are extremely loud. I would recommend staying downstairs when everyone is asleep at night. There is no way of going upstairs without having the floor boards creak loudly at each step.

The manager for the most part was polite and replied to questions via email within a few hours. However, on the last day, when we told her of the dirty oven and the men entering the house to inspect the toilets without warning, she did not reply. I wasn't expecting much, maybe a "We apologize for the inconvenience" or something of that sort. But instead my email was simply ignored. That left a rather poor impression.

In conclusion, this property could be a fantastic place to stay if a few minor improvements were made. But due to my negative experiences I don't feel comfortable recommending it.

PS A folder in the living room recommends a restaurant at the Kenmore Hotel. I do NOT recommend that restaurant.




Angela replied 45 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review. I am very sorry that your stay was affected by the issues that you have mentioned. I have been in touch with the owner who sends her sincere apologies for the intrusion of the 2 men who visited to inspect the bathroom. This was arranged without my knowledge and the owner forgot to do a last minute check of the houses availability before they were due to visit. I can assure you that we would never normally intrude on a guest like this during their stay. With regards to the oven, I have spoken to the housekeeper who has apologised but thinks that the smoke may have been from residue of the cleaning product used rather than because it hadn't been cleaned properly. However, this is clearly not acceptable as it should have been more thoroughly washed off and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Finally with regards to your comment about the email you sent, I am very sorry but I don't remember receiving that and if I had seen it I can assure you I would have replied. Again, please accept my apologies and be assured that we have noted your comments. Thank you

Relaxing stay with great views of Loch Tay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to the Shoreside properties. The properties are facing Loch Tay with wonderful views from the balcony, they are furnished to a very high standard including very comfortable beds. The kitchen is very well equipped with all mod cons required. Fantastic location set in natural surroundings and very close to Kenmore with its restaurants and shops. Highly recommended for a relaxing away from it all holiday.



Fantastic position

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plus points:
Views of the loch were stunning
Upside down house, which was well laid out and spacious
Well decorated.
Loads of parking
Everything we needed including some games
Damage deposit returned promptly
Bathrooms very usable and clean.
Negatives;
The £150 booking fee is steep!
The beds are doubles not king-size - we thought both double rooms would have really benefitted from longer wider beds.
For an upside down house there is little insulation between the floors so you can hear every step from the living area.
Needs internal recycling bins.




Angela Penfold replied 88 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for us. With regards to your comment about a £150 booking fee, I wanted to point out that you booked via Trip Advisor and this was a charge made by them, which is not passed on to us. When guests book directly with us they will always save at least 14.5% as this is what Trip Advisor add to our prices. We always prefer to be able to deal directly with our guests and hope that you will come directly to us in the future in order to get the best price and a more personal service.

A perfect location on the edge of Loch Tay with beautiful views and accessibility to the surrounds

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craigard is part of a complex of holiday homes located on the site of an old hotel. Shoreside has its own access to the Loch with a jetty and grass area to sit and enjoy. The location is perfect for nearby hill walking and small towns are accessible by car within a 15 minute drive. This really is a wonderful place to enjoy your holiday.



May 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craigard is an exceptional house in an exceptional location. It is located in the village of Fearnan which is centrally located in the Perthshire Highlands. The house itself is located on the main road from Kenmore to Killin, which is a lightly busy road during the day. However, this does not distract from the experience nor the glorious views across and along Loch Tay. To access pebble beach and wooden causeway on the Loch you must cross the road. Within the house the furnishings and utilities are very good. The house has many tall windows which make the upstairs bright and welcoming. The balcony has space for a table and chairs for 6 adults. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Overall it is excellent.



Beautiful house in stunning location.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this fantastic house. Views were stunning and house had everything we could need to help us relax and live home from home. We will be back!



Beauty and calm

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was beautiful and distinctive in its location and made me feel comfortable and was very clean and modern and integrated in all the requirements and I hope to return to more than once



A Few Days In Msy

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short break. The location is more than lovely - it is tremendous. The view is of the loch and hills and not only do you see across the loch but also down the length as well.

The house is sun drenched for most of the day and yet it can stay cool with the door to the balcony at the front.

The wildlife is accessible as the lochside is across the quiet road and short shoreside. There is a jetty which takes you further into the loch and there are views of the Lawers ridge.

The road is not a concern. It is a rural setting and the main communication link for all the community. We did not findo it distracting.

The house itself is fantastic. Modern, clean and well equipped. Three double bedrooms, two ensure and also the main bathroom.. Kitchen, dining area, sitting area and balcony are upstairs with small toilet.

The upstairs is cathedral like with the high arches and main windows.

All in all an excellent situ and house.




Great place to rest and discover Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful view on the lake and surroundings
only concern: WIFI access is limited in term of bandwith