FB Twitter

Aodin

Aodin

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


Beautiful Steading conversion sleeping 8 in a breathtaking location. Dog friendly

Stunning, peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Aodin. The property was well equipped and clean but decor was a little tired with scuffs and marks on the paint work. The location was stunning and we enjoyed lots of walks on the estate. It is definitely worth buying an OS map for walking there as there isn't any information on walks from Aodin in the property. It is also worth noting that the downstairs den/playroom is now a dining room. There is a table and chairs in the room but no sofa or games. The TV is still in there.

We did find the road up to the property a little bit anxiety inducing as the first stretch (nearest the B846) has no passing places and a steep drop to one side. The last section of the road does have spots to pass but each time we went up and down the road we kept our fingers tightly crossed that we wouldn't meet a car on the lower section. Thankfully the only times we did meet other cars we were close to passing places so only had a short distance to reverse. But this didn't stop us having a wonderful time - it just encouraged us to explore the estate more than we might have done otherwise.




Love the accomodation but, man, that's a crazy road!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
1.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautiful. Really lovely upstairs living area with spectacular views. Very high elevation and really peaceful. Great indoor spaces. We loved our stay.

The road up and down from it was a bit crazy, though. Single track with some really steep inclines and sharp angles. Almost no passing places at all (there might actually have been none on the road itself). I'm not a nervous driver in the slightest (and have driven round many of the Scottish Islands with their dodgy roads) but I was still very nervous that we'd meet another vehicle every time we drove up and down. We'd often have been facing 10+ minutes of reversing down or up steep angles and I really did not fancy that. This was in the summer.

So: spectacular house. Not easy to get up to or down from (for us).




Excellent as ever. Very sad about the closure and nature of the alterations.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Aodin every year for the last 25 - 30 or so. Over the years changes have been made, generally in the way of improvement and our own suggestions about improvement have often been implemented. Location and views are wonderful. Staff on the estate are friendly.
Many happy memories.




Aodin Adventures

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation with magnificent views. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Highly recommend!



Stunning location, attention to detail required

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The setting of the is property is second to none and the property is lovely. However, we did feel that a few things internally were overlooked and deserve a refresh. It was an informal process with no personal interaction from the agent and only a pint of milk on arrival, contrary to the image sent to us for our review, which included flowers and whisky. Whilst still in good decorative order, the decor is starting to age. The kitchen was generally well appointed but lacked matching mug and glasses sets, particularly wine glasses. The tidiness could have been better as we had to go around putting games and other items away in cupboards. The oven had not been cleaned. A number of light bulbs were out. There was no electric in one of the bedrooms. There was no information on walking on the estate, perhaps this is intentional to discourage, but was a highlight of staying at the property. Whilst disappointing, it didn’t spoil our enjoyment and was a special place to stay.



Angela replied 365 days ago
Dear Mr Butler, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to hear about some of the issues you experienced. It is such a shame that you didn't contact us at the time so that we could deal with the matters you have raised. We are always available on the phone whenever guests are in need of help or advice. I apologise if you found the photo on our website was misleading. We do 'dress' houses prior to taking the photos for our website, as do a lot of accommodation providers. We provide a welcome tray with tea, coffee, sugar, milk and local shortbread in all of our properties. We did supply new mugs and wine glasses earlier in the season and I can only assume that there had been breakages that we were not notified about. I will remind the cleaners to keep an eye on such things in future. The Estate handyman had been asked recently to replace any dead lightbulbs but perhaps more had gone since his visit. I am very puzzled by your comment that one of the bedrooms had no electric? Again, this could have been resolved if you had contacted us to report the issue at the time. There is a folder in the house which gives information on the local area and guidance for guests when walking on the estate. In addition, there is a page on our website called The Area which provides further information and useful links to find local walks etc. Kind regards, Angela

A well located property with an outstanding outlook. The garden area is safe for children and dogs.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our second trip to Aodin with 3 generations of our family. The layout works well for a combination of family members due to the subdivision of 2 of the bedrooms and a family bathroom downstairs (there is only a very small bathroom with an over the bath shower upstairs for the other 2 double/twin rooms).
The building and grounds/gardens are great and we used them a lot as the weather was brillliant.
The roads up to the property are tricky but the surfaces have been attended to since our last visit which was helpful.
Aodin is in a very good position for visiting Aberfeldy, Grandtully etc and is a good base. There is plenty to see and do in the area and the views are stunning.
On the negative:
The information regarding COVID rules emailed out prior to our stay stated that the property has to be vacant for 3 days between guests and that you must be out by 9.30am to allow cleaning to be performed. The guest book showed that the previous guests had only left the morning of the day that we had arrived. The laundry was still in the house and the cleaners had not yet been (we did arrive a little early but there were different times given in the covering email from the attachment which caused the confusion). The cleaners were in for about 30mins which doesn’t seem long for a 4 bed, 2 bathroom house. The carpets are grubby, there are marks on the walls, pull cords are filthy (which I had noticed last year), there were dead bugs behind the beds and couches and a mass of dead flies etc between panes of glass in one of the windows in the room which we were sleeping in which is a little off putting. It is great to have a washing machine and tumble drier but I feel that in a 4 star accommodation you should have access to extra towels, sheets etc, especially for use in the kitchen and toilets etc. A cupboard with replacement lightbulbs etc would be useful too as there were a few missing in at least one of the bedrooms.
It would have been nice to have seen some evidence from our visit last year of basic maintenance having been done as the house would have been unused for several months during lockdown presumably. Having said about these negatives, it is still a great house to stay in for a break and we would be happy to go back again next year




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review Ruth. I was very sorry to see some of your comments about cleanliness but I can advise that we are no longer using the cleaning company responsible for the changeovers prior to your arrival. We now have a new cleaner in place and can assure you of much higher standards in future. With regards to your comment about the gap between guests, the 3 days is only one option and the other is fogging - we do one or the other. I do agree with your comments about the maintenance but the house is actually due to be closed at the end of the season for some major building works and redecoration etc so if you return next year, which I very much hope you will, you will notice some very big improvements. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Aodin in the future and hearing what you think about all the new changes. Kind regards, Angela

An amazing holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a 3 generational family group of 8, we had the best time at Aodin. The setting and views from the house are spectacular and we spent most of the week in the garden. The house is extremely well equipped and the rooms are all very well sized. The layout has changed a little and we would have preferred the sofa to be back in the tv room to allow the kids to use it properly. This wasn’t a massive issue as the kids spent the whole week outside in the sunshine and playing on the swings. The dogs had a fab time too exploring the garden.
The house is a great place for groups of family/friends to catch up as the large upper room is so spacious. The journey up to the house is a little bumpy but well worth it. We would love to come back sometime soon. Highly recommended - you will love it.




28 years and still returning

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is superb. Facilities pretty good and management response to minor problems prompt. Comfortable and clean.



Our stay at Aodin

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The situation of the property is outstanding. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. We had a real sense of freedom staying in a very attractive part of the world. The properly was ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area. It was lovely to see an abundance of wildlife on our doorstep and to be able to walk from the property. The property was very comfortable and clean. Our only disappointment was that the wood burner could not be used. That was disappointing since the autumnal nights were cool, it would have been the icing on the cake for us to sit at a real fire. That said, we were speedily provided with an electric solution which kept us warm in the remaining evenings. An ideal property for one or two families, giving everyone plenty of living space.



Third week, twenty seventh year

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was the first and second week of three. We are very familiar with what to expect, the surroundings are stunning whatever the weather and the levels of comfort are generally very good with one or two exceptions we have previously commented on and which have not been addressed. The condition on arrival looks good although some of the detail requires further attention in the Covid19 situation. The new cleaners need some oversight. However, we raised issues as we went along, this was welcomed and the manager was responsive.



Amazing house in an amazing location!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A late booking for us, as our holiday to France was cancelled the day before we were due to leave due to quarantine restrictions returning!
Angela was really helpful during the process, given the lateness of our booking.
Our Covid bubble, 8 of us (ourselves and in-laws) had an awesome fortnight at Aodin in August. The location, on the side of a hill, with stunning views across the valley and up high was simply amazing. The town of Aberfeldy, a short drive away, had everything we needed including a Coop and a couple of great restaurants - The Townhouse was a particular favourite. For any last minute walking / activity gear, Munro's was perfect.
The configuration of the house worked well for us as one family had the upstairs with its own bathroom, and the other used downstairs, again with its own bathroom. We used the dining room a few times when we ate in - enough space for all of us. The big lounge was a real centrepiece, with its great views through the floor to ceiling windows. The log burner was out of action but being August we really didn't miss it. However, outside of summer I'd want a functioning log burner for the price. (The whole house is heated with storage heaters).
The outside space was great and our 2 young boys (10 and 7) loved the swings.
The barn was handy for our bikes, my golf clubs, our cricket stuff and footballs.
The area is amazing; our highlights included the Birks of Aberfeldy, Dewars Distillery, walking Schehallion, white water rafting on the Tay at Grandtully, the enchanted forest at Dunkeldy, day out in Pitlochry, Highland Safari at Weem, golf at The Blairgowrie golf club, mountain biking at Glencoe, and then up to the Glenfinnan viaduct (of Harry Potter fame).
In terms of restaurants we recommend The Townhouse, Aileen Chraggan, The Highland Safari Cafe and Inn on The Tay.
We'll hopefully be back!




Well situated lodge for visiting Perthshire with family or friends

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Aodin with 3 generations of the same family. We all loved our stay and were sorry to leave. Aodin is on 2 levels allowing the part of our family with young kids to be downstairs and the rest of the adults upstairs. The large lounge upstairs was great with stunning views, as does the outside of the property. It is very peaceful. Great family kitchen area which we used for all meals instead of the dining room.
Negatives were he single track roads to get to the lodge, thought I had taken the bottom of my car off a couple of times. A 4x4 is really required.
Hand soaps, washing up liquid and more towels should have been provided, especially in the current situation. (Add the Prince to the bill, we would never know). The log burning stove had been condemned, although we didn’t need it. No coffee machine as advertised.
Negatives aside, we had a great break in a well laid out lodge. Well situated for Kenmore (water sports etc), Aberfeldy, Pitlochry etc.




Short stay at Aodin

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Aodin is a beautiful property and perfect for a stay with friends.

The house had everything we needed - the kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms and living room were extremely comfortable.

We enjoyed multiple walks, both from the house and within driving distance. We ate at Aileen's Craagan and had drinks at the Marina in Kenmore - both very enjoyable. We were so lucky with the weather that we had a swim in the Loch and it wasn't even too cold!

The only think we’d like to feed back was the lack of handwash and hand towels in the bathrooms. There was one soap by the kitchen sink . Given the situation regarding Covid-19, we would’ve expected this to have been provided or at least been informed prior to arrival that we would have to bring our own.

We would love to stay at Aodin again.




Beautiful property

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning views and a great property. The window in the sitting room has the most amazing view Great facilities



Lovely weekend with amazing views

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed last weekend, 2 couples, 2 kids and 2 dogs and everyone loved the house. I was slightly concerned when I first saw the road but it was worth it when we reached the house.
We spent the days at Aberfeldy, Kenmore and walked the Forest Walk at Weem (Castle Menzies), then home to a lovely cosy fire and chill out.
Lots of dog friendly cafes and pubs nearby.
The house was so big there was space for everyone to have their own wing! The kids (age 9) loved playing hide and seek inside and out, they were exploring, had named the cows, so great to see them outside and not on tablets (a weaker WiFi signal has its bonuses!)
Loved it, thanks very much!




A perfect introduction for our guests

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views to die for in all weathers. Good walks straight from the house. Cosy and comfortable. Well equipped



Beautiful house, beautiful position, what's not to like?

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and its position sell themselves and that is why we keep coming back. Added to this is the excellent service from all the staff on the estate and the manager and their concern to make our stay comfortable. They respond to the inevitable snags in a timely way. We don't look for the Homes and Gardens touches [scatter cushions that we don't know what to do with and don't need] just somewhere clean, comfortable and well-equipped to relax and entertain our friends.



Family weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second year at Aodin and we were unsure if the house would be to the same standard but we shouldn't have worried, there were additional tables and a better kitchen layout.

The house is stunning, setting breathtaking and very private,

The enclosed garden is ideal for pets, children and grown ups alike,

Love it, it may be our 'once a year' House,

Well looked after too by Angela at Highlland Perthshire




Good sized home and a beautiful location for the perfect getaway.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Aodin for a week for a family gathering. We were blessed with sunshine and the views were spectacular. The house is super and was ideal for seven adults and a two year old. If you want to get away from it all this is the place.



November weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location with beautiful views. The house was immaculate and very well equipped. We will come back.



The Frames

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house to stay,so big but cosy!!
The best views in the world!
Great walks and country life.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave it for us and hope you will return to Aodin in the future. Kind regards, Angela

As perfect as it gets

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Noticeable improvements since our first stay at Aodin in 2013
Heavenly views , great high location , 4WD recommended , secure , privacy & seclusion , nice garden , peaceful
Beautiful house , spacious , comfortable , clean , very well equipped
Wish no pets allowed
As perfect as it gets , good value for money , highly recommended , definitely will be back soon

Mohammad (from Kuwait)




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you like all the improvements that have been made to the house since you last stay, which was before we took over the management of the house. Look forward to having you back! Kind regards, Angela

Fantastic property with incredible views

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both living areas and bedrooms are very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed. The view is addictive, I found myself often lost in thought looking out from the upstairs living area. The log burner provided plenty heat in the colder evenings. The large garden and outside sitting area are well kept. The estate employees were extremely helpful and able to fix anything very quickly. We had a fantastic week here and will definitely return.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Well what can I say! Thank you!! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Aodin and really appreciate you taking the time to leave this lovely review for us. Hope to have you back soon. Kind regards, Angela

Nearly perfect accommodation!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house has an awesome view over the valley of Aberfeldy. The rooms are very nicely equipped and everything you need is available. We can really recommend it.



A beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Aodin; the cottage was very comfortable and provided everything we needed. You can not capture the location well enough by photo; if you're looking for picturesque look no further........we loved it here.



We have visited every year since Aodin first welcomed visitors so that speaks for itself.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always arrive with high expectations but never without a bit of anxiety about any changes. On the whole we have liked the changes over the years and appreciate the attention which seems to have been given to things we have suggested. The most important 'likes' are the view along the valley, the responsiveness to our needs and friendliness of estate employees, the high levels of comfort [bedding and seating]and the range of kitchen equipment, glasses and crockery. We were relieved on this occasion to discover that the new eating arrangements are just work in progress. It isn't comfortable sitting at benches and it's a pity to lose the experience of dining upstairs.
We certainly plan to be there next year.




Autumn holiday with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the forth time we have stayed at this beautiful remote rural house with family or friends and once again it is one of the most chilled and relaxed places on earth. Stunning views, beautiful surroundings and very impressed with all the upgrades that have taken place since the last time we stayed. Will definitely be back ...... the best way I know to recharge your batteries.



A difficult access to property

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
They said it was pet friendly and I can understand they would have rules about having pets but our well behaved dog was only allowed in 2 rooms the kitchen and snug which limited us as we couldn't use the beautiful upstairs with the stunning views as much as we would have liked



Aodin, Perthshire (August 2017)

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week family holiday at Aodin in Perthshire during August 2017. Aodin is a beautiful, modern (refurbished) and well equipped 4 bedroom holiday home. It is set on a hillside in a lovely private countryside estate which is approximately 5 miles drive from very good amenities in Aberfeldy. The view of the Tay Valley from the upstairs lounge is wonderful. There is ample space in the gardens around the house to relax and unwind. Guests should be aware that the last mile or so leading up to the house though the estate is single track road and you need to drive carefully to avoid the many pheasants!. In winter time I think you would certainly need the equivalent of a Land Rover to negotiate the last 100 yards to the accommodation as this is unsurfaced. Nevertheless, I would say that it is most definitely well worth the extra effort to get there. The experience of waking up every morning in a peaceful and secluded private estate with breathtaking views was very rewarding. I believe that the location is also very good for hill walking although I did not get the opportunity to do this myself on this occasion. All in all, if you are prepared to stay a little bit further out from the nearest town Aberfeldy and negotiate the single track road through the estate every day then I would thoroughly recommend this property for a holiday stay in Perthshire.



A beautifull house

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house, well furnished all amenities, spectacular view only problem the 5 mile walk to Aberfeldy.