FB Twitter

Woodpecker

Woodpecker

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


One of six cottages forming the sunny Stable Courtyard and approached through the original stable archway. These cottages have been imaginatively converted from the old stables. Woodpecker has an open plan lounge/dining area with fitted galley kitchen. There are two bedrooms, one double and one bunk bedroom (suitable for children) and a bathroom with combined bath/power shower.

Woodpecker is suitable for two adults and two children. There is a grassy area outside with table, seating and Australian gas BBQ for your exclusive use.

Sorry, no dogs.

Just right for families

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week spent at Broomhill manor. Has everything we need as a family with young children. The facilities on site are perfect with both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, play equipment and a stable!! Woodpecker cottage was comfortable and clean and my two loved the bus bunk beds!! Location is perfect to getting to lots of different places but when the weather was as beautiful as it was when we was there, the beaches of Bude were so close!!!

Laura from Waterlooville stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2019


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another amazing stay at Broomhill Manor. Honestly feels like a second home, we absolutely love it here. Will definitely be back!

Becky from Birmingham stayed at Woodpecker for 4 nights in March 2019


Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodpecker provided a great base for our family of 3’s cornish vacation. Delightful cottage with all the equipment you could need for your holiday.
Wonderful hosts and fabulous facilities on site- it was hard to tear our 4 year-old away!


Mary from London stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2018


Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our second holiday at Broomhill and it definitely wont be our last. Our cottage (Woodpecker) was clean, well kept and well equipped. Our toddler loved the double decker bus bunkbed! The site itself is absolutely fantastic with so much to do for both children and adults. Our 2 children (18 months and 3 years) absolutely loved the playroom, sandpit, trampoline, playground areas and huge lawn to run around on. The indoor and outdoor pools were also a great hit as well as the pony rides. My husband especially enjoyed the archery session on the lawn and I had a great cliff ride on one of the fantastic horses form the stables.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and any little niggles were dealt with quickly and efficiently. They manage to strike just the right balance of being available but not intrusive. Although the site was fully booked it never felt busy or crowded as there were so many things to do and we often had the pool or gym completely to ourselves.

When we did venture off site we enjoyed some great days on Summerleazes and Crooklets beaches as well as a brilliant day at the Milky Way adventure park about half an hours drive away. We didn't really venture much further because our children had so much to do on site and also enjoyed playing with the friends they made in the cottages next door to us.

Overall a superb holiday and we can't wait to go back. Next time we will book further in advance to get a cottage with a hot tub which would have been the cherry on the cake!


Elizabeth from Birmingham stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2018


Another great stay at Broomhill

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay in Woodpeckers.Everything we need and to a high standard.Our fifth visit there now.

Guest from Bracklesham Bay stayed at Woodpecker for 5 nights in June 2018


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another perfect stay at Broomhill.Everything has been thought of to make a stay at Broomhill such a pleasure. Lovely setting & excellent amenities.

Guest from Bracklesham Bay stayed at Woodpecker for 3 nights in April 2018


A lovely week with family

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time at Broomhill.
Very happy with accommodation and facilities.
Stayed in Woodpecker next door to my sister and her family.
My little girl LOVED the bus bunkbed, as did her cousins who kept popping in to play in it.
A great way to holiday with family!!! Everyone has their own space/accommodation so can run their own night time routine easily (really important for the 4 little ones in our group) but super easy to spill out onto the grass in the morning and have breakfast and lunch together on the picnic tables. The cousins had a blast together playing in both pools, the playroom, trampoline, fort and Wendy house.
Thank you for a lovely holiday xxx


Laura from Nottingham stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2017


The perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time at Broomhill Manor and would recommend it to anyone. Perfect place for a family holiday, we're hoping to return again next year. 10 out of 10!!

Becky from Birmingham stayed at Woodpecker for 4 nights in May 2017


Not so great for groups of

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Sadly, thiis wonderful place has one shortcoming.......
If your kids are of the seen but not heard variety, then you should have a wonderful time. If they are more boisterous, fun loving and child-like take heed and watch out for the proprietor who will be on the war path.


Guest from Poole stayed at Woodpecker for 3 nights in April 2017


Amazing holiday cottage for our family

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful holiday this was - there are endless facilities on site that the kids didnt even want to leave to explore the surrounding area! The pixie hut, sand pit and toddler room were loved by our 2 year old and our 3 year old spent ages exploring the grounds, hidden pathways, trampoline and adventure play area! Plus the indoor pool with spa treatments was a real bonus for mum!!! Total relaxation and that was before we set foot in Bude which is only a stones throw away. Just sad we didnt have longer to explore the area more! Definitely would love to come back again!

Michela from Sherborne stayed at Woodpecker for 2 nights in October 2016


Alan and Linda replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Michela, We are delighted that you all enjoyed your family holiday at Broomhill Manor and thanks so much for your comprehensive and glowing review! Holidaying with toddlers is not always the most relaxing experience, so it's good to hear that Broomhill Manor worked well for you and your family, and that you were all able to unwind and enjoy your holiday! Come back and see us soon! Alan and Linda

We would woodpecker again!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at Broomhill. Alan and Linda were always on hand. So much to do for all the family - best activity is a toss up between archery on the lawn for young and young at heart and trampolining - again suitable for small ages and sizes!! We will definitely be coming back for another stay! Bus bed was also a big hit...

Andy, Eleni, Alex (7) and Sophia (1)


Andrew from Ely stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in August 2016


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location close to Bude and beaches. Perfect for families with good facilities. Really helpful and friendly owners. Beautiful grounds and more than comfortable cottage. Would recommend to friends.
Travelled with a very young baby and toddler - all baby / child equipment was available and good.


Nicholas from Sevenoaks stayed at Woodpecker for 6 nights in July 2016


Self Catering Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Broomhill and we were not disappointed.

Booked at the last minute, but Alan couldn't have been more accommodating!

From the welcome cream tea to the leisure facilities, Broomhill has everything you could possibly need for a peaceful, relaxing break.

Broomhill is a home from home for us, the cottages are very well equipped that you can just arrive worry-free. The cottages are in a secluded area which means you are very rarely disturbed by anything other than the local wildlife.

Alan goes above and beyond to ensure that everything is in order for your stay.

The spa therapist was also excellent.

Looking forward to our next visit to Broomhill.


Liam from Lewes stayed at Woodpecker for 5 nights in June 2016


Best holiday so far with our 2 year old

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Give your self a real holiday with your toddler by taking them here.
It had everything he could have asked for right on the doorstep. He could even hear the horses from the front door.
The pool was great, the grounds were great, the horses were great.
We loved it!


Brian from Wanstead stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in April 2016


Brilliant weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Alan & Linda make us very welcome its our way of catching up with all the family. We have been coming here for about 15 years and are children are now having their own families and so the party grows. Excellent facilities and lovely grounds.

Lindsey from Isle Of Wight stayed at Woodpecker for 3 nights in October 2015


A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Broomhill Cottages. Everything had been thought of and the ground floor flat was perfect for our 9 month old and 2 year old. We made a lot of use of the playroom, swimming pool, swings and onsite laundry. So much to do in the area and lovely to come home to our cottage each day.

Delia from Godalming stayed at Woodpecker for 5 nights in October 2015


Down memory lane

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed at Broomhill Manor thirty years ago and were regular visitors over the next ten years or so. Our recent holiday took us down memory lane and the magic of Broomhill still works. Wonderful weather, Bude revisited, Eden project explored and old friends re-united. Great place, great holiday and we'll be back; probably bring the grandkids next time!


Duncan and Margaret from LARGS stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in September 2015


Just Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th holiday at Broomhill Manor and it definately won't be the last. At Broomhill the weather doesn't matter as there are plenty of fabulous facilities whether it rains or shines...indoor pool and jacuzzi, outdoor pool, toy room for the little kids, games room for big kids, outdoor play areas, beautiful gardens, horseriding and the all important bar to relax after your busy day! The cottage also has everything you could possibly need and is a real home from home. If you can drag yourself away from Broomhill there is lots to see and do in the area....an abundance of beautiful beaches and lots of tourist attractions.

Nicholas from York stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in August 2015


Lovely trip to Broomhill

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Both adults and children have had a great time in Broomhill this summer, despite the weather! Swimming pools were great and warm, tennis court was good despite the rainfall the previous day and the horse riding was lovely. The house was clean and warm, and the children appreciated the bunk beds! A great extra in free use of washing machines and tumble drier! The children enjoyed the playroom, and when older they will enjoy the games room equally.


The kitchen was stocked well with a great fridge freezer which allowed us to take all our own meals frozen so no cooking! I would have appreciated a measuring jug or kitchen scales though just to complete dinners. Judging by eye is not my speciality!!

all the staff were very friendly and made you feel at ease, especially when we had a leaked nappy in the night!

The features such as the large lawn at the front, the archery, play spaces, Bute's beautiful beaches and the pools are a big plus. Also as there are no cars on site, we felt very safe giving some freedom to the children to go ahead to places...not something you can always do at every holiday site or in the city!

We have already booked to come back, a first for us to book so early and return to a holiday cottage. Looking forward to it already!


Guest from Bristol stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in August 2015


July 2015

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going in got Broomhill Manor for the last 27 years.
We still enjoy it as much as we did the first time.
Plenty of things to do all year


Michelle from Chingford stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2015


Great for families!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Endless things to keep the under 10s occupied. Great location only a few miles from the Bude beaches, and plenty of decent eateries for the grown-ups.

Smaller cottages are very cosy size wise, and would benefit from a little modernisation - plus a bigger bed - but very comfortables and clean.


Guest from Collerton stayed at Woodpecker for 4 nights in June 2015