FB Twitter

Seagull

Seagull

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Seagull Cottage (sleeps 5 plus a baby) was converted from an old cob barn and has walls that are over two feet thick. The ground floor has an open plan layout, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the living area and a dining table, cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster in the modern, Shaker style kitchen. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. Upstairs, Seagull Cottage has two bedrooms under white-washed eaves: one with a double bed and space for a cot; and a second with one single bed and a bunk bed. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. The well appointed shower room has a power shower and heated towel rail, plus a baby bath can be provided. Seagull Cottage opens onto an attractive walkway lined with hanging baskets and fig trees, plus there is a table, seating and gas-fired Australian BBQ right outside.

A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in Seagull. Enough space for a family of five.
The swimming pools were great and we booked the lovely tennis court every day.
The children aged 10, 12 and 14 used the horse riding facilities
A great set up and would recommend


Sarah from Huddersfield stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2020


What a success

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn’t know what to expect but we could not have been happier.
Everything was scrupulously clean, most reassuring. Lovely accommodation. Beautifully equipped and welcoming.
Truly ‘dog friendly’ cottage for us and our pooch.
Safe access to all facilities, really well organised.
Exclusive access to the pool which was great.
Great location for access to beach and countryside.
Linda and Alan were really helpful with recommendations for where to eat and local restaurants with takeaway facilities. We ate some really tasty meals.
Short walk to the pub Preston Gate. Great success..
They say every cloud has a silver lining and this proves it. So pleased we came here for a glorious holiday. What a find. We’re booking for next year!!


Andy from Epping stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2020


80

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The seats in the lounge are uncomfortable.
The children’s play needs updating. The trampoline is good but the rest of the equipment is very tired


Guest from Chesterfield stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2020


Summer 2020

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super clean cottage on arrival. Lots of Covid-19 measures in place it made us feel v safe and secure.

Karen from Watlington stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in July 2020


Perfect for us

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed in Seagull - two of us plus our small dog. The cottage is comfortable, a good size and has all the amenities. We don't use the extra bedroom and the bathroom is fairly small; the living area and kitchen are very good. The facilities - pools, games room and grounds are excellent. The proximity to Bude itself is convenient - 10 min by car or 25 min walk down the track.

Barry from Cheltenham stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in September 2019


Fabulous place for a Cornish holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The facilities at Broomhill are fantastic the site & facilities are well maintained, clean & attractive. I would certainly recommend to any friends looking for a holiday in Cornwall. Alan & Linda made us (& our dogs) feel so welcome. The location is ideal for visiting all the attractions Cornwall & North Devon have to offer.

Sarah from Lincoln stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2019


The perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying in Seagull cottage at Broomhill Manor. We are a family with 3 children (7,12 & 14) & our black labrador. There was something for everyone, our youngest loved visiting and stroking the ponies at the stables & the trampoline. Our older two had fun playing tennis and using the indoor & outdoor pools & the gym. My husband & I enjoyed the honesty bar and the beautiful gardens. We were very lucky with the weather during our stay and visited several of the dog friendly beaches nearby plus we made trips to Tintagel, Boscastle and Rock. We went on some amazing costal walks and even came across some very friendly wild ponies! We also had a couple of days staying at Broomhill relaxing whilst the children played in the pool. Alan and his family could not have done more to make us feel welcome and the complimentary cream tea on arrival was a really nice touch. It is clear to see when looking back through the visitors book that everyone who stays here feels the same way as we do - Broomhill Manor is a very special place indeed, we will be back.

Joanne from Harrogate stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in July 2019


Every year

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in seagull every year. It is great for our family and dog and Broomhill is a superb outfit, great facilities, great location, super owners.

Martin from London stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in May 2019


Seagull cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we had a brilliant time with you. The facilities you have are perfect for a young family and to be able to go horse riding was a really bonus for our little girl. Only downside was the issue with the flies in the master bedroom. We came home most days to 15-20 dead flies around the bedroom which meant getting the vacuum out on a regular basis. It was pretty cold the first few evenings in the cottages too. Although the bedrooms where always nice and toasty, it was a little cold in the living room. A fire or a couple of blankets would help to cosy the place up.

Only suggestion to make the cottage even better would be a welly stand outside the cottage door. There wasn’t really anywhere to put muddy boots in the cottage. Our wellies ended up handing around the mat or at the back of the chair which made getting in & out of the door difficult.


Rebecca from Halesowen stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in October 2018


My Stay at Seagul

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0

My stay at Seagull was pleasant, comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the welcoming and clean cottage that was designed to cater to a family or a closely knit group. The proprietors were accessible and eager to ensure our needs were met.


from London stayed at Seagull for 4 nights in October 2017


A five day and five star stay with our dog

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to come to Broomhill because most Bude hotels don't take dogs. The weather was wet and windy but we really enjoyed our stay. Seagull was very comfortable and convenient; the kitchen extremely well-equipped and the bedroom was fine. The bathroom is small but the shower is good.

There are many good walks and it takes about 30 min to walk to the town down the path. We used both indoor and outdoor pools and played table tennis quite often.

Alan and Linda were very helpful and the experience has made us realise that we should stay in good self-catering places more often because of the greater freedom and convenience it brings, especially when you have a dog. Our miniature poodle enjoyed it too!


Barry from Cheltenham stayed at Seagull for 5 nights in September 2017


Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always love coming to Broomhill Manor. It is fantastically run, all facilities are very well maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for Alan and his team. Seagull cottage is very well situated. A very special holiday and we all came away a great deal more relaxed than when we arrived!



(Only slight niggle, the hairdryer could do with replacing, makes a loud noise when operating)


Martin from London stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in May 2017


restful, spacious, immaculate, well stocked, generally delightful as ever

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
restful cottage, spacious rooms and bedroom, immaculately clean, elegantly designed,well stocked kitchen, generally delightful as ever

from Brighton stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in May 2017


My experience while staying at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Clean,safe beautiful surroundings. The homely environment allowed me to relax and enjoy tranquil moments.There was a welcoming team that ensured we settled in comfortably.
Activities include access to swimming pool, hot tub and sauna. I found the walk to the shops and local communities to be a fat burning exercise as I walked along the varying terrains, enjoyed the views and met friendly people along the way.
I consider Broomhill Manor Estate to be an ideal get away for families and groups, and look forward to visiting again.


from London stayed at Seagull for 3 nights in October 2016


Wonderful weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage set in stunning grounds with amazing facilities for the family. Children particularly enjoyed the warm, clean pool and the indoor play room. Extremely clean and loads to do on our doorstep. Thank You so much for a lovely weekend away.

Verity from Wadebridge stayed at Seagull for 3 nights in October 2016


Cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Broomhill Manor was lovely and conveniently situated near Bude. Our teenage children enjoyed the games room, tennis court, archery and swimming pools! Seagull cottage had a well equipped kitchen and was comfortable for four people, though might feel rather small for five. It was near the pool, laundry room and other facilities. Everywhere was very clean, the grounds were well cared for and on the one occasion when we asked for help from the maintenance team, they responded very quickly.

The only downside to this cottage was the low ceiling in the bathroom (clearly visible in the online photos). Fortunately, none of us are taller than 5'8 - anyone bigger would struggle to stand up at the basin. On the other hand, plentiful hot water and a decent shower did slightly compensate for this.

The owners were very welcoming... And the cream scones on arrival were great too! I would recommend a stay at Broomhill Manor (but do check your cottage for size first.)


Jennifer from Northwich stayed at Seagull for 14 nights in July 2016


Wonderful experience

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My time at seagull was very pleasant and I wish I could stay longer. Looking forward to my next visit.
The condition of the accommodation was very clean.


Charmaine from London stayed at Seagull for 3 nights in October 2015


Weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The little touches mean a lot - the washing up bits, cling film, nice towels, soap and the cream teas. Not many self catering cottages provide this. The properties and facilities are all stunning and Alan always goes out of his way to make you feel at home.

Charlotte from Newbury stayed at Seagull for 3 nights in September 2015


Great time at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic holiday at Seagull Cottage, Broomhill Manor. Two adults, children aged 13, 10 and 8 and the dog! The weather was a bit hit and miss but that didn't matter but there was so much for the children to do, swimming, tennis, horse riding and the games room kept them entertained whilst we relaxed in the beautiful surroundings. Bude is a 5 minute car journey away with beautiful beaches. We had such a good time we've already booked again for next year!

Guest from Bristol stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2015


A lovely week with the family in Seagull

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The extended family and dog enjoyed a return visit to Broom Hill Manor this time in Seagull. The swimming pools, horse riding, archery and games room are all ideal for the family. We were lucky enough to have four good days so we were able to get out and try some surfing too. Everything is close at hand ro Broom Hill so you don't have to travel miles for shopping, good beaches and little fishing villages. I'm sure we will be back.

Guest from Brackley stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in August 2015


Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week and had an amazing, fun packed holiday. The children particularly enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool - despite the unpredictable weather!
We all had a great time at the archery on the lawn, and even managed to improve and hit the target!
There was lots to do, for all ages.
The cottage was clean and well equipped and the gardens beautiful.
We hope to be back soon.


Kirsty from Melton Mowbray stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in July 2015


Seagull Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Feb 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to Broomhill and definitely won't be the last.
We stayed in Seagull cottage which is well equipped. Our dog was catered for too with a comfy bed and biscuits on arrival, scones and clotted cream for us.
Plenty to do rain or shine by car or on foot.
A relaxing week much needed had by all.


Julia from Copthorne stayed at Seagull for 7 nights in February 2015