FB Twitter

Round House

Round House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Roundhouse Cottage (sleeps 4 plus a baby) was originally the gatekeepers lodge and is the quaintest, quirkiest and most romantic in the Broomhill Manor Village. The cottage is detached and just a little way from the other cottages to provide greater privacy whilst still being close to the indoor pool and other amenities. The stable door entrance leads through to a cosy, open plan living room, with a beamed ceiling, comfortable sofas, a wood burner, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system. A dining area and Shaker style kitchen are at the far end, with a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster and a view of the sea from the kitchen window. A gleaming, luxurious bathroom is also on this floor, with a corner bath and integral power shower. In keeping with the character of the cottage, a narrow staircase leads upstairs where taller guests may have to duck to reach the two bedrooms: one with a king size bed and glorious views over the valley to the sea; and the second with bunk beds and space for a cot. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. The cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. Adjacent to the cottage, Roundhouse has its own private, enclosed garden with table seating and a gas fired Australian BBQ.

Wonderful stay again

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay for our 3rd time. Fantastic facilities, very confident in cleanliness (Covid protocols in place), warm welcome. Strongly recommend Broomhill manor, just wish we had booked for 2 weeks. The roundhouse has lots of character and its own little garden which is lovely. Stairs not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Douglas from Loughborough stayed at Round House for 7 nights in July 2020


A sunny half term break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we have had a fabulous break here at Broomhill. This was our sixth time here. We've stayed in the Round House and Sandpiper previously and like both very much, but with one child on a school trip there were just three of us and the dog and the Round House suited us really well. It's quiet but close to site amenities and we simply love the cosy cottage with it's log burner. Broomhill never disappoints - it's calm and peaceful with beautiful gardens and we really enjoy our daily walk to Crooklets beach and in and out of Bude. Must also mention the lovely horses and ponies - it really adds to our holiday to be able to ride and the stables and horses are thriving under Jo's management. No doubt we will be back again...…………….

Nicola from Nottingham stayed at Round House for 7 nights in February 2019


Amazing holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday. Loved broomhill manor and Bude looking forward to coming again next year.

Karina from London stayed at Round House for 7 nights in August 2018


Great location and facilities on site

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Roundhouse for May half term and had a brilliant week. We loved having the indoor and outdoor pools on site, and our girls (3 and 5) made good use of the kids play room on a couple of the wetter days, whilst the outdoor play equipment kept them busy when we had our archery lesson. Staying at Broomhill was a great base for us to get out for day trips, including cycling the Camel trail to Padstow for fish and chips, visiting Clovelly, hitting Widemouth and Sandymouth beaches sandcastles and surfing (children lying on a bodyboard in shallow water!), and of course crabbing at Summerleaze. It was a packed week for us and Alan and Linda couldn’t have been more helpful; we’d definitely stay again and recommend Broomhill for anyone wanting a stay in Cornwall.

Sam from Broadstone stayed at Round House for 7 nights in May 2018


Family holiday with two under threes and the dog

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the round house in mid May and couldn’t have asked for a better location for our first family holiday as a family of 4. Our two year old loved exploring in the games room and the outdoor sand pit. The trampoline was also a big hit. Having access to an indoor swimming pool was also really great as it meant we could all go for a swim together giving us something to do even if it had rained. The location was excellent, a quick drive into Bude for everything you might need, close to a variety of beaches so that we could visit a different one each day and most of them dog friendly. The short walk to the local pub was also great. We all felt extremely welcome and at home including the dog. We’ll definitely be returning.

Dale from Llansanffraid stayed at Round House for 6 nights in May 2018


A cosy, comfortable & characterful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Round House was delightful. It was fully equipped with everything you could need. I was particularly impressed with all of the ‘baby gear’ we were provided with. It was great not to have to bring all of that with us for our 6 month old baby. Packed full of character, the cottage was cosy & provided us with a great base to relax in. I especially liked the private little garden for our personal use.
The facilities on site were great; a lovely indoor pool & lots for the kids to do. I also took advantage of the onsite stables and went for a ride which I thoroughly enjoyed. The outdoor pool was yet to open as it was early May but I could see that this was also a great facility. The grounds of Broomhill were beautiful & very well kept.
Bude & various beaches are within easy reach. I highly reccommend a stay at Broomhill Manor.


Kirsty from Malvern stayed at Round House for 6 nights in May 2018


Summer-ish week in Cornwall...

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our little family of 4 had a wonderful week in the Roundhouse. We were spoilt with a cream tea on arrival which went down really well and was certainly appreciated! The location of the cottage was ideal. Just a few minutes drive to Summerleaze if you need to take body boards etc, but if you're not taking lots to the beach it's an easy 20 minute stroll there. We loved the cottage itself, it had everything we needed during our stay. Our only very slight criticism is that we would have loved a sofa in the lounge rather than chairs for a bit more comfort of an evening. The facilities on site were fantastic. The laundry was really handy. The girls loved the pool and swam every day. I treated myself to a massage with Hazel, really recommend her! The tree in in Stratton itself was really lovely - authentic and historic. We were warmly welcomed everywhere we went. Alan & Linda looked after us and were always knowledgeable, warm and helpful. We will definitely be back!

Colette from Southampton stayed at Round House for 7 nights in July 2017


Broomhill manor

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at broomhill manor was excellent. Our cottage (round house) was cosy and clean. All activities and amenities were in close proximity to cottages so the children had easy access to all games and sports. We all had a brilliant time and are likely to return next year!

Sophie from stayed at Round House for 3 nights in May 2017


fabulous stay at broomhill

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely collection of cottages with superb gardens and grounds, good swimming pool, tennis court, games room etc on site and extremely helpful but not intrusive owners who live on site.
Its a real bonus having riding stables attached with such easy access.who cater for all levels of ability.

We had a fabulous stay with children aged 6 and 10. Loads to do in the area as well as all the lovely beaches. We tried archery and canoeing which were both excellent

Can't recommend highly enough


Caroline from Leaminster Spa stayed at Round House for 10 nights in April 2017


Great September stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the ideal place for a holiday with a toddler. Weather wise we managed to pick the worst week of the Autumn for our break but thanks to the excellent facilities at Broomhill Manor we still had a lovely time and we were all kept entertained. Our daughter (15 months at the time of our stay) loved the pool and the toddler room. The lovely grounds at Broomhill meant that we could make the most of the short glimpses of sunshine we did have as we explored our surroundings and our daughter loved visiting the horses in their paddock.

Russell from Cardiff stayed at Round House for 7 nights in September 2016


Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 grandparents, 4 parents, 4 grandchildren staying in 3 properties, all decided this was one of their greatest holidays. Even if weather dodgy (is wasn't) so many facilities and so much to do. A delightful place and would love the whole family to come again.

Tom from Cranleigh stayed at Round House for 7 nights in August 2016


Overpriced and certainly not a 5 star cottage, simple changes would make a big difference

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The overall facilities i.e. swimming pools and steam room (for an addtional charge) were really good, however:
- The cottage was too small for 4 people and definitely not as described online, as there is not enough comfortable seating for 4 people 3x1 armchairs does not equal 4 comfortable seats for 4 people.
- The cottage was not private but more like living in a goldfish bowl as it was next to the main road to the stables, walking route to Bude and next to both carparks, so we spent most of time with the curtains closed as the only windows overlooked either the carparks or the road to ensure a little privacy.
- We could not use the garden as it was plagued with wasps and also in shade for the majority of the day.
- There was no washerdrier in the cottage itself but you have to use a a communal set up a walk away ( this for me would reduce the rating from a five star cottage to 3 stars as I do not wish to waste my holiday going to what is essentially a launderette)
- There was no hairdryer again a minimum requirement for a 4 or 5 star cottage,
- Only 2 toilet rolls and 2 dishwasher tablets were provided for a week for 4 people, what is the cost of a toilet roll or a dishwasher tablet, this seemed tight in the extreme noting the price of the cottage.
- Some areas within the cottage needed a lick of paint especially in the bathroom which had stains on the walls.
- We couldn't use the tennis court as the rule stipulated specialist tennis shoes, my boys were most disappointed.

The saving grace was the swimming pool and the weather

We have stayed in 4 and 5* cottages all over the country for over 15 years and feel that this was the most overpriced cottage noting the issues we found.

If some simple changes were made i.e. hairdyer, more loo paper/dishwasher tablets, a small settee, trees cut away so that you can use the garden and some more honest marketing re the lack of washing machine and real location of the cottage, or the cottage priced more realistically this would make a big difference.




DO NOT CONTACT from Pulborough stayed at Round House for 7 nights in August 2016


Linda Winstanley replied more than 1 year ago
Our aim is to make sure our Guests thoroughly enjoy their holidays and we will always go the extra mile to achieve that; therefore it is always useful to receive a review that is contrary to all other guest reviews, as it helps us question the status quo and enables us to continually improve our guest experience. There are many avenues for feedback available during your stay at Broomhill Manor with the opportunity to address any issues while you are still here. Guests find that having the owners on site at all times is a real benefit as it enables immediate resolution of simple areas of dissatisfaction. Examples include needing extra toilet roils or dishwasher tabs, gaining advice on use of appropriate tennis footwear, or receiving help to locate where in the cottage you will find the hairdryer. Our manned reception, onsite staff and use of “fix it” cards means that someone is always on hand to answer any queries straight away. Having a full time maintenance and gardening team means we can rapidly rectify any maintenance issues as they arise, or deal with things that are not to a guests liking such as marked paintwork, or foliage in a garden that needs trimming back. There is an additional opportunity in the bar each evening, where guests can talk to us to about their queries or concerns, or suggest things that would improve their holiday experience and we are very responsive to Guest feedback. Our free of charge guest laundry provides washers, dryers and washing tabs and guests appreciate the powerful commercial dryer which dries a family set of beach towels in under 30 minutes. Set at the end of a private lane and over half a mile from any main road, Broomhill Manor is in an extremely peaceful and tranquil location; Round House is at the edge of the estate on a narrow private track which leads to our private stables and is a walking route to the beach or to the local village of Poughill 10 minutes’ walk away. All our cottages consistently achieve Visit England’s 4* Gold stringent rating criteria and Round House remains one of our most popular cottages with families and couples alike. The seating in Round House of 2 armchairs and a “love seat” (small settee) is marketed as suitable for 2 adults and 2 children and is consistent with its 4 Star Gold rating.

Enjoyable week at The Roundhouse

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our week very much and loved staying in the Roundhouse, our 6year old grandson did the pony rides a few times and would have gone every day. We all did the archery and would have happily done another day if this was available. The pools were popular with all and the only negative was that the outdoor pool had children with large inflatables and took up a lot of room in the pool. Overall we would love to retun to this lovely place and the owners were marvellous, nothing too much trouble for them.

Julie from Hampton stayed at Round House for 7 nights in July 2016


Our favourite holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Broomhill is a very special place. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Alan and Linda gave us a warm welcome and we instantly felt at home. The facilities are excellent and our 17 month old enjoyed our morning and evening strolls round the estate, visiting the stables, playground, playroom and beautiful gardens.

The pool is lovely and I can highly recommend Hazel for a pampering treatment and massage.

We also ordered meals from Nicky which were beautiful, a fantastic idea to give you some time off from cooking on holiday - especially when you've got a little one and it's not so easy to eat out in the evenings.

The Roundhouse was cool and quirky. A cosy cottage with a ton of character. You can just about see the sea sat in bed with your tea in the mornings!
It had everything you need - and we did cook a few meals, so thoroughly tested the kitchen! It was brilliant to not have to pack the car full of baby gear and turning up knowing there was a stairgate in place meant we could relax while we unpacked!

The small garden opposite is lovely, we didn't get bbq weather in May but did sit out with a glass of wine a couple of times.

There is a bridle way right opposite which is great for the pram and getting little one off for a nap.
Fantastic location for exploring Cornwall too, we fell in love with Bude and spent quite a bit of time there, can recommend a slap up meal at Life's a Beach!

Broomhill was so peaceful and homely, we will certainly be going back one day. Thank you Alan and Linda for sharing your home with us!


Jane from Holmfirth stayed at Round House for 7 nights in May 2016


First holiday in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time! Peaceful, comfortable, well located and perfect for our little family - we have an 18 month old who had a great time, as there was always something to entertain him with - trampoline, pool or play room. Great fun relaxing and having BBQs in the evening as exhausted toddler slept off day's excitement. Looking forward to coming back.

Thanks!

Evan & Ellen (&Gwyn) Owen-Powell


from Brighton stayed at Round House for 7 nights in April 2016


A week at Broomhill in March

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in Roundhouse Cottage at Broomhill in March. We paid a bargain price and had all the facilities nearly to ourselves so were well and truly spoilt!

The customer service was exemplary, the facilities were spot on (we have never stayed anywhere with such a lovely warm pool!), the cottage was small, but full of character and the area is lovely. It was great to be able to walk into Bude and therefore we hardly used the car for the week! Our only niggle was that there didn't seem to be enough hot water in the cottage to fill the lovely corner bath, but the shower was fab so it didn't really matter!

We would love to return, but not sure we can afford the school holiday prices and we might be pushing our luck to take another week off school!


Zoe from Penzance stayed at Round House for 7 nights in March 2016


Had a lovely time

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Broomhill Manor has excellent facilities - a good pool, jacuzzi, bar etc plus indoor & outdoor play areas and a stables. It is well located, only a few minutes drive from Bude & its beaches. We stayed in the Round House, a lovely old cottage, although if you are tall like me you do need to watch your head! Alan & Linda keep everything in an excellent state, and on the couple of occasions we had minor problems they were dealt with very promptly with a minimum of fuss and bother. We are already thinking of going back next year.

Howard from Alton stayed at Round House for 7 nights in October 2015


You will wish this was "Your Home"

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Broomhill Manor is beautiful. Its an Alice in Wonderland for children. For adults you have lovely pools and spa. If your a family its a great break during school holidays. For singles and couples during term time you can loose yourself in the beautiful gardens, try horse riding (Helen very accommodating). You are literally minutes from lovely walks. Only a short drive mile and a half to Bude which is breath taking. Linda and Alan that live in the lovely Manor are so down to earth and accommodating and make you feel at home. All their cottages are all lovely. I stayed in the Round House very unique as of course its Round. The interior design of each one of their cottages is unique. Bude is Beautiful but Stratton is equally a place that you will "Wish was your Home". Whether you want to relax or be very busy Broomhill Manor has it all. You will feel like a special guest at Broomhill Manor as this is how Linda and Alan make you feel. The cottages have everything you will need to "Wish this was your Home". Enjoy.

Theresa from Leicester stayed at Round House for 5 nights in September 2015


A lovely break away in a quirky cottage with fantastic facilities

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently come back from a fantastic week staying in The Round House, the cottage is very small but has everything you will need for a comfortable stay, the corner bath was an added bonus. Please note if you are tall you will need to watch those door frames!!!! Broomhill manor is beautiful and the indoor pool was fabulous we were in there every day. We will definitely return. Alan and Linds were fantastic hosts :-)

Guest from Portsmouth stayed at Round House for 7 nights in July 2015


Delightful, tranquil holiday cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome awaits in beautiful landscaped surroundings, a perfect place to stay for a family. Our two young boys never tired from using the swimming pools, tennis court, games room, play areas and even had a go at horse riding. Plenty to do at the cottage and plenty to do in beautiful Bude - the beaches really are as pretty as they claim!
Thank you for making our annual holiday such a memorable one.


Guest from Shrewsbury stayed at Round House for 7 nights in July 2015


Another lovely stay in a very cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week at the Roundhouse at Easter and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was clean and cheerful, well equipped and the log burner fire was a nice bonus. We love the touches that make arriving for a week so much more convenient, washing up liquid, toilet roll, soap etc. The welcoming cream tea goes down a great too! Broomhill is a great place to stay, the grounds are beautiful, and the kids are kept entertained by the tennis court. Swimming, trampoline & horse riding activities. We had some windy weather whilst we were there but the beaches nearby are stunning whatever the weather! We will be back again........

Michelle from Solihull stayed at Round House for 7 nights in March 2015


Not disappointed!!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Broomhill Manor and we are currently planning a third.
Peaceful and beautiful, well located and with excellent facilities..we couldn't ask for more.
Our two young children loved the pool and two dogs slept very well after several beach walks at Black Rock in glorious sunshine.
Thank you Broomhill Team and see you soon!



Annie from Cheltenham stayed at Round House for 3 nights in March 2015