FB Twitter

Puffin

Puffin

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Puffin Cottage (sleeps 5 plus a baby) was converted from an old cob barn and has walls that are over two feet thick. The ground floor has an open plan layout, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the living area and a dining table, cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster in the modern, Shaker style kitchen. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. Upstairs, Puffin Cottage has two bedrooms under high, painted eaves: one with a double bed; and a second with one single bed and a bunk bed. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. The well appointed shower room has a power shower and heated towel rail, plus a baby bath can be provided. Puffin Cottage opens onto an attractive walkway lined with hanging baskets and fig trees, plus there is table seating and a gas-fired Australian BBQ right outside.

A great stay at Puffin Cottage - Broom Hill Manor

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was lovely and clean. The only comment I would make is the beds were slightly uncomfortable and the upstairs suitable for shorter people due to low ceiling height. Well kept and clean and a good range of household items.
Great facilities on site for families and lots on offer for the kids from horse riding, tennis, swimming and a lot more.

Alan, Linda and their team really looked after us during our stay and have done a great job looking after the complex and it's great base!

Definitely recommend to family and friends.



Anupa from Stanmore stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in July 2020


Fantastic family week

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Broomhill. Cosy cottage, great swimming area, friendly stables and welcoming owners. We will definitely be back!

Anna from Chandlers Ford stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in October 2019


Lovely family holiday cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottages, with great facilities near to Bude! The properties and surroundings are very clean and well kept. Bude is a 30min walk down a track or a 10min drive. Beautiful beaches and other attractions nearby.

Claire from Bushey stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in July 2018


Lovely week at Broomhill

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Puffin was a lovely, clean and well equipped cottage (the cream tea on arrival was very welcome too!).
Broomhill had great facilities for us to use. Our children (aged 7&6) had a great time. During our stay we made use of the indoor and outdoor pools which were very clean. The children really enjoyed the games room, tennis and looking at the fish in the pond (the gardens are lovely to walk round). We also enjoyed a family horse ride. The girls at the stables are very helpful and friendly.
It was very handy to have use of a washing machine and tumble dryer (these are free of charge and detergent is left in each cottage for you to use). Location is good too, just a short drive or approx. 20 min walk into Bude. There are some lovely beaches in Bude and others nearby. The reception area has a whole room of information leaflets including books on tried and tested restaurants in the area, days out etc. This was very useful. We would definitely recommend a stay at Broomhill!


Rory from Buckingham stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in August 2017


One week stay in Puffin cottage, Broomhil Manor

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A first time stay and overall a great week -we enjoyed the facilities to the full despite the weather being cloudy with rain. Friendly accommodating staff .
or: comfortable cottage and fully equipped to an excellent standard. Facilities well maintained and the pools were great. Handy for Bude and other local facilities.
Against: Large yew tree outside the cottage gave an sour odour of pee the entire time - after a while you get used to it but at first we thought it was the cottage itself. Did'nt actually detract from our enjoyment.

We would consider this again were it not for Bude being in the north west extremity of Cornwall and extensive travel required to visit the rest of the county.


Marcus from Mark stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in July 2016


Excellent place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in Puffin and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone! The facilities at Broomhill Manor are fantastic and we received a very warm welcome from Alan. We really hope to be back again soon!

Jo from Bristol stayed at Puffin for 6 nights in May 2016


Tiptop condition. Clean outside area. Rooms was in good condition. Service was ok.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The ambulance found it difficult to get in and out of the area. That is something u need to work on. The place were we dine together was very small.

Charmaine from London stayed at Puffin for 3 nights in October 2015


Immaculate cottage, great facilities

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Puffin cottage is compact but clean, bright and modern with everything we needed for our stay. The kitchen was particularly well equipped for self catering and we enjoyed the gas barbeque. The facilities on site were exceptional with a newly refurbished tennis court, friendly stables and two pools and a jacuzzi. There are beautiful gardens, laundry facilities, games room and play room. It was perfect for our family holiday.

Elaine from St Ives stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in August 2015


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and three small sons and I had a tremendous stay at Broomhill Manor. The setting, quality of accommodation, stupendous array of facilities and proximity to a stunning coastline made the holiday wonderful.

James from Winchester stayed at Puffin for 7 nights in August 2015


Fantastic for children and relaxing for parents

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem! So thrilled we found this place and will definitely be visiting again (and recommending to all our friends). I am always incredibly fussy with beds, towels, cleanliness etc and the whole cottage was spotless. Every appliance and utensil you could need are provided. Beds comfy, towels soft and fluffy, lovely bed linen, excellent facilities. The on site facilities are wonderful, super grounds, the children loved exploring the gardens, outdoor play areas, trampoline etc. They played tennis and had a pony ride at the onsite stables. My daughter was previously scared of horses and now loves them. We didn't try the outdoor pool but it looked great, my son loved the games room and we all loved the pool and Jacuzzi. Its really handy as a base for seeing the local area but also lovely enough to spend a holiday there rarely going off site. We didn't try the onsite meals but they have a large choice available to be prepared and delivered to cottage ready to heat up. Owners are really helpful and friendly, gave all the information we needed, also lots of tourist information leaflets available on nearby places to visit. Cream tea and milk awaiting us in our fridge on arrival. It was really relaxing, beautiful and I cannot praise it highly enough. If you are choosing between different properties stay here it is expensive but worth every penny for a lovely break. The children cant wait to visit again.

Guest from Bath stayed at Puffin for 3 nights in June 2015