FB Twitter

Nightingale

Nightingale

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Nightingale Cottage (sleeps 6 plus a baby) is one of three cottages in the Well Courtyard which was once part of the original stable block. The cottage is all on one level, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the fresh, contemporary living room, a dining table for 6 and a Shaker style kitchen/diner including a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. Patio doors lead from the living room to a private, enclosed garden with a hot tub, table seating and a gas-fired Australian BBQ. The cottage has three bedrooms: one with a king size bed; one with twin beds and space for a cot; and one child’s bedroom with a bunk bed. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. Nightingale Cottage has a fully tiled bathroom with a bath/power shower and a heated towel rail. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi.

Review

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay for a week at the beginning of September. The facilities were great and we all loved the hot tub and BBQ

James from London stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would go there again in a heart beat. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable. The facilities were excellent. The team were kind and welcoming. In an uncertain time during covid the processes broomhill had in place worked well. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

Victoria from Carterton stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in July 2020


Great location and lovely hosts

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay for second time here. Lovely hosts who are really helpful. We opted for slightly bigger lodge than last time (House Cottage) and we preferred it especially use of the hot tub when pools were out of action (Covid-19).
Location perfect especially for Bude which is a lovely town and walking distance.
I would suggest following improvements:
- sofas upgraded - very uncomfortable to relax on in evening (little support)
- something to reduce condensation on windows
- top bunk bed having rail. Even as adult we wouldn’t use, making one bed in house unusable
- horse riding pricing more consistent. We were charged more than advertised rates
But we will be back as it’s really a lovely place.
Thanks


Gillian from Peterborough stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in July 2020


Great stay for all of the family

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely place to have a break which we would very much recommend to others. The pool was warm and facilities excellent. Our accomodation was really lovely and spotlessly clean - its size and layout worked perfectly for us as a family of 5. The kitchen was really well thought out too which helps a lot when you don't want to pack everything. We were so pleased too to have booked a cottage with a hot tub as this was an excellent feature which we made the most of- even during the bad weather. We hope to return here as soon as possible.

Helen from Trowbridge stayed at Nightingale for 4 nights in February 2020


Fabulous cottage and facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week at Broomhill. Linda and Alan were incredibly welcoming. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. We loved the thoughtful extras such as blackout blinds. We made good use of the beautifully warm swimming pool and jacuzzi and the games room was great for rainy days.
We would recommend Broomhill especially for families with children and teenagers. There is loads to do in the area from coastal walks and beautiful beaches to great restaurants in Bude.


J from London stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in December 2019


A lovely family cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage with modern appliances and a very good finish.
Great facilities on site and plenty of space for all the guests to enjoy.


Sarah from Alcester stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in August 2019


3 generations enjoying facilities on offer

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had 3 generations enjoying the facilities on offer in the lovely setting of Broomhill Manor. The children loved the pools, every generation had an archery lesson which was superb and the youngest went on a horse ride. The cottage was spotless and well appointed, the only downside the creaking headboards when moving in bed. The hot tub was well used and we loved the meals provided by Nicky. Would happily recommend to others.

Lesley from Solihull stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in August 2019


A fantastic family holiday at Broomhill

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time at Broomhill Manor. The cottage and its surroundings have been beautifully maintained and we really enjoyed using the leisure facilities (pools, hot tubs, games room, children’s play room and horse riding to name but a few). Plus, we were perfectly situated to enjoy the stunning scenery - not only in the grounds, but by visiting nearby Bude and going on coastal walks.

This was our first holiday as a family of three - since welcoming Oliver to the world seven months ago - and the baby-friendly services of Broomhill such as providing a travel cot, black-out blinds, baby monitors, a baby bath seat, a high chair and, of course, having meals delivered to our cottage have all made this a stress-free, relaxing and really enjoyable trip.

Thank you!


Natalie & Rob from stayed at Nightingale for 6 nights in June 2019


Great Place to Stay...

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well equipped cottage set in beautiful surroundings. Friendly helpful staff and plenty to do onsite. Would highly recommend.

Kim from Market Harborough stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in July 2018


excellent week

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week at Broomhill Manor. The cottage we stayed in was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The grounds and facilities on site were very good especially for families with children.
Alan was an excellent host - bought everyone a pint in the bar when England scored!!
Loved the idea of a honesty bar, obviously very trusting owner!!
We would thoroughly recommend staying at Broomhill Manor.


Tony from Fareham stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in July 2018


Amazing!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Broomhill and won’t be our last. Unbelievable place and facilities which we would highly recommend. The owners can’t do enough for you and run the place immaculately.
Wonderful place. Thank you.


Tom from Newark stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in June 2018


Great location and facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay - loved the grounds, pool, trampoline, stables, bar and great walks straight from the door. Alan very friendly and helpful as was Jo at stables. Great location for sightseeing and activities such as body boarding and coastal walks.
Cottage itself was (although description and portrayal on website accurate) quite cramped, decor and furnishings a bit tired, and quite basically equipped. Not tub lovely but noisy. Bathroom fab and dishwasher both very noisy.
All outweighed by the facilities and location though.


Marianne from London stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in April 2018


Beautiful, peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Well maintained grounds. Polite, helpful staff. Excellent location. Perfect for staying with small children. Amazing, huge tumble dryer! We had a brilliant time.

Martha from Bushey stayed at Nightingale for 14 nights in June 2017


Second Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to Broomhill Manor and we will definitely be back again next year. Alan & Linda are warm and welcoming, the facilities superb and we all come away feeling recharged. Helen and her team at the Stables are great and I would recommend them very highly, our girls get a lot of riding at home and thoroughly enjoy riding at Broomhill Manor.

Alison from Bishop's Stortford stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in May 2017


Great facilities for families

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Close to beach (the walk down takes about 25 mins and is possible with an off road pushchair) and amazing facilities onsite. Really enjoyed our stay.

Guest from Chipping Norton stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in May 2017


Christmas Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a pleasant time, The cottages are well equipped and there are many things to do around.
We hope to come back again.


Iris from London stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in December 2016


Nightingale Autumn Break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting with loads of on site facilities for the whole family. With older teenage children, the indoor pool was great, the hot tubs in the lodges were also good. We enjoyed the Archery on the lawn & the kids loved the horse riding. Having a small gym on site was a bonus which for adults was welcome. Although we didn't use it, the bar & jukebox would be fantastic if you were there with a few friends or perhaps other families rather than sit in your respective lodges so this was good. If you had younger kids, there was plenty for them to be doing also. We also liked the fact we were within walking distance of 3 pubs and close enough to Bude to get in some supplies without a major trek. All in all, enjoyed the entire week & were able to go out and about very easily. The weather of course was a bonus and along the coastline (which was close) its always spectacular. The lodges themselves were clean, tidy and very comfortable. My only comment (and its minor) would be the sofa's could probably do with some freshener.

Stephen from High Wycombe stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in October 2016


Best family holiday ever!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Noghtingale the first week in October and we're blessed with wonderful weather all week. The cottage is absolutely lovely. The beds are so comfy I slept better in them than my own at home! We have 1and 3 year old girls and they settled into the cottage quickly, it's very child friendly and made travelling the 7 and a half hour journey that bit easier without needing to pack bed guards, cots, kids cutlery etc. We had our best family holiday at broomhill, our girls particularly enjoyed the play room and gardens. The on site washing machine and dryer came in very handy too. Bude is a beautiful area but we did venture further afield as well with visits to dairyland, Eden project and St Ives. We spent a beautiful sunny morning at widemouth bay, definitely worth a visit as well as summerleaze and crocklets beaches. We had our shopping delivered to our cottage, a huge bonus for us! Alan & Linda are lovely people and always willing to help in anyway.

Sarah from Norwich stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in October 2016


Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous family holiday at Broomhill Manor. Comfortable, homely cottage, conpletely child friendly and very well equipped. Great facilities on site with lots to keep adults and children entertained. Everywhere maintained to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Friendly and welcoming hosts and lovely extra touches like scones and clotted cream on arrival. We couldn't find a single thing to fault and we can't wait to return.

Elizabeth from Birmingham stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in September 2016


Excellent facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, thank you Ålan and Linda. Fantastic facilities we especially loved the warm pools, archery, riding and Hazel's beauty therapies. Beautiful grounds and it all made for a very relaxing holiday.

Guest from Exmouth stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in July 2016


A lovely half term break

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely half term break at Broomhill Manor. The location is fantastic with wonderful grounds, close to some wonderful beaches and the facilities on site are great. Our children (aged 6 and 4) enjoyed two pony riding sessions and we used the indoor pool daily. My six month old was very happy in the water too as the temperature is very warm. We used the tennis court once but sadly didn't get to try archery as it was raining. The games room was also popular with our son and the evening bar popular with us! A very nice service! Our cottage was warm with a great shower - important after a bracing day at the beach! The beds were comfortable too. The cottage is cosy and a little more space would have been good (namely around the dining room table and in the master bedroom for the travel cot) but this is not really a criticism. Better black out blinds would also have been good but we could have borrowed some I'm sure if we had raised it as we were kindly lent a lot of other baby / child equipment. We all enjoyed a great holiday and would recommend Broomhill Manor to friends and would like to return in the Summer to make use of the outdoor pool!

Guest from Beaconsfield stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in October 2015


Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8th year, love it, top of the range bbq and hot tub, pool in and outdoors, highlights, sofa needs replacing, everything else excellent, going again...

Shaun from Southampton stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in August 2015


A great place to stay & see North Cornwall.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Broomhill and it was as excellent as our previous trips. Everywhere is always exceptionally clean and the staff (and owners!) are always friendly and ready to help, for example we had a problem with the heated towel rail in our bathroom, but the fault was found and the repair done by the following day at a time that suited our plans. Alan was also able to loan us some body-boards for the two weeks as we forgot ours!
Lots of nice touches, including some really excellent scones, with jam & clotted cream ready for arrival and everything for a reviving cup of tea or coffee after the journey.
Bude is a great base for exploring this part of Cornwall - the beaches and coastal footpaths are fantastic - and Broomhill is ideally located.
The facilities on site are great - we made good use of the tennis court, which has just been updated and was fab; the gym - which has really top-notch exercise equipment (unusual for a holiday site!); the snooker table in the bar and the swimming pools, which, despite the number of cottages I usually had to myself. Our children are way past using the play room, but this looked really good for younger children and the pool table, table football and table tennis was great for the slightly older kiss.
Finally the amazing flowers in the grounds need a mention - just beautiful!


Guest from Westerham stayed at Nightingale for 14 nights in July 2015


Second visit after 6 year break.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned after a break of 6 years and arrived to the same warm welcome. Pool and games room ideal for active boys (13 & 9) and we would all recommend archery. Lots to do nearby too. We'll be back!

Guest from Stadhampton stayed at Nightingale for 7 nights in March 2015