FB Twitter

Manor House Apartment

Manor House Apartment

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Manor House Apartment (sleeps 6 plus two babies) is an elegant and spacious self contained apartment in the west wing of Broomhill Manor. A private entrance opens into a large vestibule where stairs lead to the apartment itself on the first floor. The large, luxurious living room overlooks the main lawn and includes an imposing fireplace, comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system. A separate dining room has a sea view and the fully fitted kitchen includes a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. The apartment has three bedrooms: one with a king size bed, space for a cot and an ensuite bath/shower room; and two bedrooms with twin beds (one with space for a cot). The apartment has a family bathroom with a bath and power shower overhead. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included.

Family holiday Cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in good proximity to beaches and local amenities. Highly recommended visiting this part of Cornwall which also borders with a beautiful part of Devon. Nice tennis court and good facilities for kids (trampoline, swings, large spaces and pony rides). The masseuse was very good. The cottages were lovely but could with some refurbishment

Guest from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in September 2020


Family trip to Bude (Sept 2020)

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Broomhill Manor (having had to cancel holidays abroad this year) and the Manor Apartment was perfect for the 6 of us. It was spotlessly clean on our arrival and throughout our whole stay we felt very safe from C-19 due to the extra precautions in place. We had excellent weather so were able to make full use of the facilities, especially the well-maintained tennis court, the pools and BBQ. Watched some fantastic sunsets from the stables too. Great to be able to walk into Bude from this location for the amazing coastal walks and beaches. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly......always on hand to answer queries etc. We would definitely book here again.

Andrew from Bramley stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in September 2020


Excellent staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party of six ranged in ages from 4 to 67 and we were all accommodated and provided for very adequately. Despite the obvious implementations now having to be put in place we were extremely happy with the careful monitoring of the pools (wonderfully warm) and rota system. Would highly recommend.

carol from harrogate stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in August 2020


Our Tenth Year in succession

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After all the challenges of lockdown and social isolation it was a real pleasure to come to Broomhill Manor again this year for our three generational family holiday. Alan and Linda made us feel as comfortable and welcome as ever.
Yes there were some adjustments but honestly we found them minimal with no detrimental impact on our enjoyment and activities.

Indeed a real bonus as far as we were concerned was the dedicated exclusive hour long swimming slots in either the outdoor or indoor pool. This gave the oldies of us a chance to enjoy a swim in comfort without impeding others. The schedule alternating venue and varying time slots was great and helped us to plan our day effectively. We didn't need to arrange a swap but this seemed to go very smoothly through the member facebook page.

Our special welcome pack recognising our tenth year was a real treat and was a particular surprise given all the uncertainties and concerns for Alan and Linda over Covid19 which must have occupied their thoughts. Our Crooklets beach hut and time on the beach was very much as usual. We did not go onto the town except on an drizzly morning and early to collect ordered croissants when it was very quiet but it did look busy at some other times.

Next year is in the calendar.






Joan from Maldon stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2020


We love Broomhill!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third trip in three years, and we have no 4 booked for next year. Lovely setting and gardens, nice shared facilities and great for teenagers into riding. Plenty of walks from the door, and lots of beaches and attractions easy to get to.
Alan and Linda are wonderful hosts, and looked after us really well.
We have found our happy place - which is harder to do as the kids get older. I just wish we had discovered it when they were younger.


Marianne from Wanstead stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2020


Lovely October half term break staying in the Manor House apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying in the manors house apartment lovely big apartment for my family and my brother in-laws family. En-suite and big bathroom ideal for my family of 6 adults and little one. This property does have a lot of stairs, Lovely indoor swimming pool, Gym and even a laundry room to use which is free. Friendly helpful owner’s highly recommend this property. Will defo stay in this apartment again.


Simon from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 6 nights in October 2019


My stay at Manor House Apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in The Apartment for the first time. It was a lovely stay. Very comfortable and clean. It would be nice to have a clock in each cottage but on the whole a lovely stay.
Linda and Alan are great hosts.

Charmaine from London


from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 4 nights in October 2019


Wonderful family stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Going away with 3 children under 3 is tricky. Broomhill made life as easy as possible for us. Good quality baby and toddler gear all provided and the accommodation was lovely.
It is such a fantastic place to have a family holiday, the swimming pools are fab. The outdoor pool was a lovely temperature in September.
The children loved saying hello to the horses, the play areas, the very well stocked play room and the beautiful grounds.
We’ll certainly be back!


Colleen from Winchester stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in September 2019


Nine Years and Counting

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For three generations of the Binder and Campbell family this is the perfect location providing a tranquil colourful well kept garden for Grandpa to enjoy, a well appointed apartment (the large fridge freezer particularly welcome) with the space we like, a big Aussie BBQ and adjacent picnic table for 'al fresco' lunches (simple) and dinners (accompanied by lots of fizz), indoor and outdoor heated pools which we all enjoy, a tennis court which we have well used for the first time this year. With our beach hut on Crooklets for when the 'surf is up', the range of individual shops in Bude (the bookshop a special favourite) and good eating out places in and around, whatever the weather we always have plenty of activities to enjoy without straying far afield - for us another huge bonus.

Next year our tenth in already in our diaries!


Guest from Maldon stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2019


This is the second time we have stayed here, and it just keeps on getting better.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of five, and this year we stopped in the Manor House Apartment. The location is excellent, with a wide range of activities on site and within a 30 minute drive. With two swimming pools on site, the tennis court and horse riding there are activities to do what ever the weather. Looking forward to our 2020 stay!

Matthew from Bridgnorth stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2019


Our perfect family holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Continuing a family tradition from the 1950s of self catering holidays in Poughill, for the last 7 years three generations have done it in style at Broomhill. With the proximity to the beach and great on- site facilities it is quite simply our perfect family holiday no matter what the weather. The apartment in is spacious, light and warm. The Aussie BBQ and personal outside eating area add to the holiday feel. The gardens are a delight to walk or play in and the hosts Alan and Linda ensure we have a memorable stay every year.

Guest from Maldon stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2017


A family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Broomhill provided an excellent base for a self-catering family holiday. The Manor Apartment was excellent with plenty of room. A couple of minor challenges with the electrics, but those were sorted very quickly.

A couple of observations:

Providing 6 dishwasher tablets and 1 bin bag for a family of 6 for 7 days of self-catering, while we are all for protecting the environment, is a bit of a challenge. At over £2k for the week, I don't really expect to have to shop for such basics as toilet rolls, bin bags and dishwasher tablets. It just gave the impression of a very meticulous inventory providing the absolute bare minimum of needs. At the sort of money we are paying, if the margins are that tight, frankly an extra £10 on the costs is nothing, and wouldn't effect our decision to buy, but the hassle of having to shop for the basics is what I'm going on holiday to forget about.

At £60 for 30 minutes horse riding, while I appreciate the stables is a separate operation, that added to the overall impression of expense. Unfortunate.

The written directions are completely wrong and need re-writing. 30 yards is just over the length of a cricket wicket, the turning down to Broomhill is more like 250 yards from the main road - more like a 3 wood! To use 'opposite the White Cottage' as a reference, when just about every cottage is white, adds to the challenge; and a Broomhill sign, even a small one, at the turnings would be helpful.

The in-door pool seemed highly chlorinated.

The pine needles on the tennis court, although Alan did warn us, are a real danger especially during a damp week. I'd suggest a big yard broom is left at the court so players can at least sweep the needles off the court when they are particularly bad.

Please accept these observations in the spirit they are written, we really did have a most enjoyable week.


Mike from Wantage stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in August 2017


Alan and Linda replied more than 1 year ago
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you had a most enjoyable week. I am sorry that there were several areas that you felt could be improved and would answer your points as follows: We are members of the UK's leading cottage rental association, Premier Cottages, and as part of this it is a condition that we provide limitless dishwasher tablets and black bin bags. You should have been made aware of this on arrival and therefore I am very sorry that this does not appear to have happened for your visit. The running of the stables has recently changed hands however I have spoken to Jo and she is confused as £60 for 30 minutes is not a tariff we recognise. We would be grateful if you could contact us as to number of riders in case a refund is due to you. Rides are normally charged at £30 per hour per person. The indoor pool has an automatic chlorine dosing system which is set at 2.5ppm which is within the ideal range of 1-3ppm. We deliberately set it at 2.5ppm during peak season as bather load can be extremely high and we feel it is imperative that there is always an adequate amount of cleanser for safety reasons. I am sorry that due to weather conditions the tennis court was not kept completely free of needles, we do our best but it is difficult when conditions are extremely windy. Thank you for your observations and suggestions. Kind regards Alan and Linda

good spot for a family Break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location for families to explore the area and then to come back to very good facilities
The grounds are beautiful





Graham from Ilford stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in May 2017


Ancestral exploration

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My two brothers and my husband spent four days in the Manor House Apartment.
Our great grandmother was born at Broomhill and emigrated from the UK to Canada in 1911.
Our grandmother who was 15 at the time regaled us with many stories about her childhood antics while staying at Broomhill.
My brother wrote a biography of her this past year (The Prospector's Wife). Our trip from Canada to explore this area and the Manor House more than met our expectations and imagination. Thank you so much to Linda and Allan who showed us rooms inside their part of the house that matched our old pictures of the dining room and living room.


Cathy from Saskatoon stayed at Manor House Apartment for 4 nights in April 2017


Fantastic weekend.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful setting for our annual women's retreat. We will definitely visit again. We were made to feel very welcomed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 3 nights in October 2016


Review of broomhill manor

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at broomhill manor. The kids loved it especially the heated outdoor pool and the hot tub!! The playroom was fab for the toddlers and we felt relaxed letting them play in there whilst we sat out in the sun. We would definitely recommend to other young families.

Sarah from Lytham stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With 3 year old twins and a 5 year old I am always slightly nervous how accommodation will suit us. But the moment we arrived it was clear that I needn't have worried. Everything was perfect - the accommodation was so comfortable and everything was safe and secure, with all my requests for bed guards and stair gates having been heeded. Manor House Apartment is very spacious so that even before we went out the kids loved running about and playing. Facilities on site such as the play room, sand pit and playground were much used and enjoyed and the laundry room was very convenient. My daughter also enjoyed a pony ride which she loved. In summary we had a really lovely holiday, much of which was down to such fantastic accommodation and we would most certainly like to return.

Jessica from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in August 2016


Self-catering as it should be

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really nice place to stay with good facilities and despite there being several other properties on the site there was no sense that you are in a holiday complex. Quite expensive but good value for money, especially if you value customer service.


Robert from Leamington Spa stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in July 2016


A wonderful place to stay with excellent facilities with the indoor and outdoor pools.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the apartment 5 years ago and it was just as good this time. The gardens are simply beautiful and a lot of energy and thought goes into all the planting. We had the added bonus of lovely weather and hope to go again sometime as the complex suits all ages.

Robert from Oxted stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in May 2016


Great break

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely and relaxing stay in the Manor House Apartment. Really welcoming and great location, and the sun shone for us too!! Would recommend highly.

from stayed at Manor House Apartment for 2 nights in April 2016


An excellent week in Bude in excellent accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for an excellent week in Broomhill. The Manor apartment was ideal for us as a party of six adults, well equipped, spacious and clean. The amenities were excellent especially the pool and snooker room. Broomhill has beautiful grounds with many easy access to Bude centre, we will be returning in the future.

Stephen from stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in March 2016


A really good find!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really pleased with our stay. Excellent welcome, very friendly atmosphere, good facilities for whole family. Riding particularly good. Bravo!

Julian from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in February 2016


Great location

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Apartment was comfortable. Everything needed for self catering was made available. Very well equipped.Local amenities was easily accessible. The onsite facilities was also very accessible.

Charmaine from London stayed at Manor House Apartment for 3 nights in October 2015


Sunny week in Sept

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accomodation, great facilities, knowledgable proprietor and scones with clotted cream on arrival: wonderful. Sunshine as if ordered for our three generation family week, fabulous.

Richard from Leicester stayed at Manor House Apartment for 7 nights in September 2015


Our son had recently had an appendix op and we sought home from home comfort with local attractions

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the cream tea reception to the checking out, Broomhill Manor could not be faulted!

Alan met us on arrival and having guided us to the Manor House parking he then showed us around and left us to unpack and have a nose around before taking us on the full tour of the amenities and facilities.

The place is magnificent! Beautifully kept gardens, indoor and outdoor pool (which we foolishly only tried on our second last day and realised what we had been missing! We found it an excellent remedy to a long day out site seeing), games room/bar sauna/gym area. There is horse riding and archery available or even just the massive lawn which can become your own secret park for playing with the children

Inside we found we had everything we wanted from te Manir House apartment. So much space for us to find a quiet corner to do some work or reading but large communal dining and lounge spaces for groups

Alan is a great source of local venues for things to do, some of which would not appear in the TI pamphlets. Places to see, eat and drink were recommended each day and none of them failed to deliver

In summary i would most definitely recommend the "Broomhill Manor experience" for all ages, simply everything is catered for by Alan and Linda. All you are left to worry about is the choice of things to do. Having travelled to many corners of the UK and found mixed experiences, i can wholeheartedly say our recent visit to Broomhill Mabor will not be the last!

Just book it and find out for yourselves!!


David from Liverpool stayed at Manor House Apartment for 5 nights in September 2015


Excellent we'll definitely be back

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean , helpful staff & above and beyond facilities. The children absolutely loved it and the attention to detail when meeting their needs really made the parents job a lot easier! See you next year :-)

Janine from Shrewsbury stayed at Manor House Apartment for 6 nights in June 2015