FB Twitter

Kittiwake

Kittiwake

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Kittiwake Cottage (sleeps 6 plus a baby) is one of six cottages converted from the original Stable Courtyard. The cottage has a split level layout, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the airy, contemporary living room and a few stairs leading to a fully fitted Shaker style dining kitchen, with a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. The cottage has three bedrooms: one with a king size bed; a second with twin beds and space for a cot; the third with a bunk bed. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. Kittiwake Cottage has a fully tiled bathroom with a bath/power shower and a heated towel rail. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. Kittiwake Cottage overlooks the stable courtyard and there is a grassy area with a table, seating and a gas-fired Australian BBQ. The cottage is right next door to Heron Cottage, making the two suitable for groups of up to 12 extended family and friends to book together.

We had a family celebration here in August, in three adjacent cottages.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities and very clean and well cared for. Well equipped and comfortable, and excellent help and support from Alan.

Judy from stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in August 2020


Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful repeat stay at Broomhill manor. All the faculties you could ask for in fantastic setting on stunning grounds. Great for all generations. Warmly welomed by Alan, Linda and team. 5* I look forward to our next visit.

Elaine from Twickenham stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in August 2020


Lockdown summer holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time. The grounds are wonderful. Great to be able to have riding on site. Naturally pools and games room weren’t open, which was a real shame.

Guest from Gateshead stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2020


A brilliant stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our cottage and were so grateful for all the items provided for our toddler making packing a lot easier! The grounds are stunning and there’s so much to do from borrowing w board game to swimming to picking fruit from the trees in the garden. It’s just a really relaxing, well thought out and comfortable stay. We’ll definitely be back!

Sarah from Rickmansworth stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in September 2019


Another fab year at Broomhill

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 4th year returning to Broomhill Manor and our first in Kittiwake Cottage. We love staying there. The facilities are great compared with others for a similar price in the area and Alan and Linda are always superb hosts. We think Kittiwake is our favourite cottage so far, it has that balance of space but still open plan living. Slightly cheaper than most 3 beds as it doesn’t have a private garden, however that (surprisingly) was not an issue at all, as we still enjoyed a bbq and evening drinks on our table in the area out front in the courtyard many evenings. Bude continues to be one of our most favourite places to visit. It provides a combination of regular favourite activities but in addition we always find something new each year to entertain ourselves with, making each visit comfortable and unique, whilst still being accessible in comparison to many parts of Cornwall. I have recommended Broomhill to friends, who have also been and had a wonderful time.

Liz & Bill from London stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2019


Wonderful October half term break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place for our October half term break. Great to have an indoor swimming pool and all the other facilities on hand. It was fun to meet other families and socialise in the bar. 2 pubs within walking distance can't be bad either. The accommodation was very clean, well looked after and very snug after a full days activities out and about. All in all a wonderful stay. We will be back!

Guest from Richmond stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in October 2018


A fun week away to end the summer holidays

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely set up with plenty of facilities to enjoy, our 5 year old loved the swimming pool and the pony riding particularly. Cottage was well set up and lovely and clean. Although we didn't have a very nice outlook (over the small car park) - it didn't really matter as we were out a lot of the time anyway (slightly annoying to be woken by people emptying their recycling into the bins there - but that's the fault of inconsiderate people and nothing to do with the management). Beautiful surroundings and easy to get in and out of (via roads that aren't at all twisty turny!).
Would be a lovely place to go with a group of friends for a special occasion.


Clare from High Wycombe stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in August 2018


ANOTHER GREAT STAY

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here many times over the years, we knew what to expect, and once again we were not left disappointed,

Broomhill really is the most amazing place for a family summer holiday, and when you have the weather like we had, it makes it even more crazy people spend thousands of pounds to go abroad!

The facilities are superb, and the local beaches are some of the best in the world.

Alan and Linda are excellent hosts and we will be back again!


Jack from Bushey stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in August 2018


Great location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in Broomhill. It is ideal for a family with young children. It was very useful to be shown all the facilities of the site soon after we arrived. Our grandchildren loved the variety of things to do, such as the swimming pools, playgrounds and games room, as well as all the possible activities such as horse riding and archery. We also appreciated the scones provided when we arrived, and the fact that we could order croissants for breakfast.

The cottage was a good size for our group of six, and provided a good layout, including the outside BBQ and picnic table. It was also an easy walk or drive to the local Bude beaches.



Michael from Chichester stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2018


A weekend with friends

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was exceptionally clean and tidy. The estate was well maintained and Horse riding was a highlight for some of the youngsters. What could be better than a pleasant walk into Bude on a sunny day. We'll be back.

Roger from Portishead stayed at Kittiwake for 3 nights in May 2018


We had such a good stay we've booked to go back!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Kittiwake, the whole site is very well set up for young children (ours are 2 and 3) with lots of space to run around in the beautiful grounds and lots of play things, as well as the pools. The house was well set up for children too and it was very useful to have some things provided so we didn't need to bring so much with us. We used Nicky to provide some home cooked meals, they were excellent. Broomhill is really close to Bude, which is a great town. 2 lovely beaches and lots to do for both children and adults. We had such a lovely stay that we've already booked to go back next year!

Melanie from Bristol stayed at Kittiwake for 3 nights in September 2017


Week at Broomhill

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, very comprehensively equipped cottage and really nice, family friendly leisure facilities. Great to have facilities to use washing machine and driers to keep swimming kit etc fresh.
Kids enjoyed the games room and the (heated) outdoor pool seemed warm even on cloudy days.
Only (slight) criticism would be size of third bedroom. I think would be too small for older teenagers but was absolutely fine for our 10-12 yr olds but this is a very minor point.
Owners were fantastic and really helpful. Used to come regularly as a child and now after returning nearly 30 years later would still thoroughly recommend!


William from Hexham stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2017


Great holiday with a toddler and baby

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first holiday with our toddler (2 years) and baby (2 months). We had a brilliant time. Broomhill Manor looked perfect from its website and all the other reviews - it really is as good as it sounds.
Clearly you want a low stress holiday with 2 small children and it fully delivered. Nothing was too much trouble. Other guests were really friendly too. I'm pretty sure we'll be coming back here next year.
We used the pool everyday and our toddler gained so much confidence. There were also loads of lovely days out within a short distance. Our toddler had an amazing time and was thoroughly exhausted by the end of the holiday!
If you are travelling from London with small children, Puxton Park near Weston-super-mare is a good place to break the journey (there is also a zoo around there that we might try next time).


Matt & Emily from Harpenden stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2017


Lovely Christmas Stay over the Festive Period!!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my Wife stayed in this idyllic cottage over the festive period and had a great time whilst we were there. The facilities were always clean and the owners were more than happy to offer us suggestions for pubs, restaurants and country walks for us to enjoy during our stay. I would recommend these cottages to anyone who is looking for a break in Cornwall!!

Robin & Julie from stayed at Kittiwake for 3 nights in December 2016


Excellent!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can think of nothing negative to say! The cottage was beautiful and well equipped, the amenities better than we could of hoped for. Especially enjoyed the lovely indoor pool!
The flowers in tubs and hanging baskets were colourful and splendid adding to the walkways around the site which were kept very clean.

Well done loved it!!


Lin & Don from Blakeney stayed at Kittiwake for 5 nights in September 2016


An amazing week - thank you!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic week at Broomhill. The cottage was spacious and clean and just what we needed for our family. There was so much to do and our kids loved the indoor playroom and pools.
Also great to have the horse riding on site which was a real treat for me.
I've already recommended Broomhill to a few people and would love to return. Next time I would try to get a cottage with its own garden but that would the only drawback to kittiwake!


Guest from Windsor stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2016


Superb

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for over 25yrs and once again it was as good as ever. Everything about the place is superb and can't recommend it highly enough.

Jack from Bushey stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in June 2016


Nice but small

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in lovely condition but the children's room was poky. There is only one bathroom which is not ideal with four adults staying in the property. The bathroom fan was noisy every time the light was switched on.

Caroline from Amersham stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in July 2015


Wonderful family break in Bude

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Kittiwake cottage for a week at the end of June with our two pre-school boys. The cottage had everything we could need, including stair gate, black out blind and plug covers, and was very comfortable, and lovely and light and airy. All the on-site facilities are perfect if you have small kids, we used the outdoor play area daily, as well as both pools and indoor playroom, great if you have a bit of rain. I also booked an on-site massage with Hazel, which was wonderfully relaxing after running around with the boys all day. Great to have free use of laundry facilities as well. All in all we couldn't fault Broomhill at all, we had a fantastic time. Out and about during our week, we spent a lot of time on the beaches, and would also recommend a trip on the Launceston Steam Railway if you have small children, and hiring bikes on the Tarka Trail.

Guest from Warwick stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in June 2015


Kittiwake holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the holiday and loved using the brilliant facilities. Great welcome with scones and clotted cream in the fridge and milk. Excellent facilities and we had a great time doing archery, using the games room, pools and horse riding. The only slightly negative things were my concern over a wobbly wardrobe in the little room which my children nearly pulled over, and the fact that it was a squeeze to get 6 of us around the kitchen table. Lovely place, helpful, hospitable and friendly owners, thank you for a great time.

Guest from London stayed at Kittiwake for 7 nights in May 2015


Alan replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for drawing our attention to the wobbly wardrobe in the bunk bedroom. Our maintenance man has inserted additional screws and it is now very solid! We hope you and your family will return some time in the future.

May bank holiday stay 2015

Review submitted on Sat, 09 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottages and wonderful location. During the stay if housekeeping services is provided at least once to do cleaning (hoovering) etc then that will add to stay experience.

Harleen from Wembley stayed at Kittiwake for 3 nights in May 2015