FB Twitter

Kingfisher

Kingfisher

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview
Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Kingfisher Cottage (sleeps 4 plus a baby) is one of three cottages in the Well Courtyard which was once part of the original stable block. The cottage is all on one level, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the fresh, contemporary living room and a Shaker style kitchen/diner including a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. Patio doors lead from the living room to a private, enclosed garden with a hot tub, table seating and a gas-fired Australian BBQ. The cottage has two bedrooms: one with a double bed; and the second with twin beds and space for a cot. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. Kingfisher Cottage has a fully tiled bathroom with a bath/power shower and a heated towel rail. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi.

A great spot for families to spend time

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Kingfisher cottage at Broomhill Manor. It was our first vacation with a walking toddler, so we were a little nervous about facilities and how family friendly it might be. We needn’t have been: the welcome was warm (fresh cream teas on arrival!) and the whole site is beautifully laid out for a family to cosy up and enjoy the space. The heated indoor pool was a great way to spend time at the end of a day adventuring on the Cornish coast, and the toddler’s playroom was full of things to keep our 1 year old interested for a week (and more). The nearby gardens were stunning and we also enjoyed watching the horses in the stables. Bude is a short 30min walk away and Summerleaze beach is a great way to spend an afternoon. We took advantage of the babysitting service one evening and Jessica was absolutely brilliant - thanks to her we were able to enjoy the food at Temple in Bude (highly recommended).

Mark from York stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in August 2019


The perfect stay with young kids

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Broomhill, just perfect. Alan and Linda are amazing hosts and the facilities and extras they provide made everything so easy with two young girls under two.

We can not recommend Broomhill highly enough. Do not hesitate - book now and enjoy.


Joanna from Folkestone stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in June 2019


Return Visit!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Title says it all. Our second visit, although 9 years apart. The last visit was when children were 2 and 4 so they used different parts of the complex and loved it then. Now they are 11 and 13 and it offered them different activities but they had a fab time. They played pool, table tennis, swam in the indoor pool, played tennis, archery on the front lawn which was excellent and horse riding which they did twice, The complex caters for all ages and all weather conditions, essential in the UK. You could just spend a relaxing time without leaving the grounds, though there is plenty in Bude and further afield to see and do.

The cottages are very well furnished and maintained to a high standard, we particularly enjoyed the hot tub in our Garden and the bbq. It’s in a beautiful tranquil setting but close enough to Bude, 5 mins by car or a picturesque 20 min easy stroll.

The owners are on hand and very helpful should you need anything.

It was the perfect holiday in this beautiful part of Cornwall, we shall return again and can recommend it to others.


Joe from Claygate stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in April 2019


Would return

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay to visit family in Bude. The new hotub was excellent and the family were allowed to join us so we were pleased we booked one.
The only down side is you could do with a 4X4 to use the access road but this would not stop a return visit.


Dennis from South Woodham Ferrers stayed at Kingfisher for 5 nights in March 2019


Highly recommend this Lovely cottage with own garden and hot tub,

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely family holiday at Broomhill Manor again, Kingfisher is a lovely 2 bedroom cottage with its own hot tub and garden lovely to use after a long day sight seeing with family. Great facilities Very clean and tidy very high standard. Every effort is made by the friendly owners to make your stay enjoyable. They’ve thought of everything even clotted cream, jam, scones, tea, coffee and milk waiting for your arrival in your cottage. Highly recommend Broomhill manor and kingfisher cottage. 5*****

Simon from London stayed at Kingfisher for 5 nights in October 2018


Stay at Kingfisher, Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I and 2 daughters (aged 5 and 7) have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Broomhill. We agreed it was the best self catered accommodation we have ever stayed in as it was so comfortable and well equipped. The indoor pool was excellent and really warm and we also loved our hot tub. The girls loved the riding although due to cost only went a couple of times but this was enough. The grounds are beautiful and the whole place is really relaxing with lovely owners.

Rachael from Wetherby stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in August 2018


Ridiculously overpriced

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Eventhough the facilities at Broomhill are definitely above normal, the price of over 2000 pounds a week is completely out of order: for one, the cottages are really small and much too close to one another. The pools are both not equipped for seventeen cottages, the tennis court lacks enough adult rackets and there are only three balls, the table tennis table was crooked, the bats broken and so on. These all seem like pitty complaints, but when paying such an enormous amount of money, it is logical to expect better. Same goes for housekeeping: all a bit scrimpy. Towels were changed only once in two weeks, only two loo rolls etc. Again, not a problem when paying a normal amount of money, but definitely not the promised luxury experience. For comparison, the only 700 pound Finwood Cottage 2 in Rowington had a semi-private pool and everything was supplied in abundance.

There is nothing wrong with Broomhill Manor and the owners have a good thing going as to the facilities, but not for 2000 pounds a week. For us, never again.



Margriet from Amsterdam stayed at Kingfisher for 14 nights in July 2018


An idyllic spot for a young family

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming back to Broomhill for several years. It has been theor first holiday for all our children and we cannot think of a more perfect spot. There is a wealth of fun to be had on site, the cottages are spotless and wonderfully maintained. Much thought has gone into creating a perfect spot for parents to unwind at the end of the day. We love that the grounds are car free and the seaside only a few minutes away.
We can’t wait to be back again!


Anna from London stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in June 2018


Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Kingfisher, our 2 year old son loved all the toddler friendly facilities and lots of fun splashing around in the heated outdoor pool! We were made to feel very welcome by the owners Alan & Linda, thank you.

Guest from Reading stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in June 2018


Short break at Broomhill.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Broomhill Manor and once again we chose to stay in the Kingfisher cottage. Ideal for our needs as we have a 3 year old who enjoyed being able to run around the enclosed garden without supervision. The cottage and kitchen in particular have everything required for a family with young children. The grounds and facilities of Broomhill are very well maintained and we particularly enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Broomhill has an excellent location being just 5 minutes from the wonderful beaches of Bude but far enough to enjoy the piece and tranquillity of the countryside. By far the best accommodation we have stayed at in Cornwall/Devon.

Godfrey from Pulborough stayed at Kingfisher for 6 nights in May 2018


May Day Bank Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prefect weekend for us, travelled with two children, we really liked the comfort and quality of the cottage. Well equipped and very clean and warm. The garden is great with the use of the hot tub. The facilities are also really good, my girls loved the pool and the play areas. Perfectly located for a drive into Bude.
Hope we can return.


Abbie from stayed at Kingfisher for 3 nights in May 2018


Family stay at broomhill manor

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, husband and son stayed for a week and could not have been happier! Great service and facilities for the whole family

Emily from Bexhill-on-sea stayed at Kingfisher for 6 nights in April 2018


A lovely cottage with lovely facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely little cottage in a great location. The owners were helpful with our requests and made sure we were comfortable. The Christmas tree and related snacks were very thoughtful! The swimming pool and jacuzzi are lovely, and the facilities such as the play room were loved by the children. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Emma from Hove stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in December 2017


Kingfisher Cottage - a superb holiday option in a great setting

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was excellent - clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet given there was a family including several excited children staying in the cottage next door - we couldn't hear them. Having the hot tub was a treat.

Facilities and amenities on site were very good and were a great attraction during what was a very wet week.

Our stay would have been perfect but for both the pony trekking and archery not being available. These were two attractions that sealed our booking and so we were extremely disappointed when we told they wouldn't be available. BUT every cloud has a silver lining - we were directed by the owner to a stable about half an hour drive away called 'Laura's Lessons' and she delivered exactly what our son wanted (brilliant - highly recommend). We were also directed to Red Elk Archery which was fantastic. Located less than 10 minutes drive away this is a great half day out (book in advance). In fact Red Elk was so good we went several times during our stay.

I suppose the acid test is would we holiday at Broomhill Manor in future and the answer would be definitely yes - with or without the archery and pony trekking!


Carl from Stafford stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in July 2017


We will be back!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're after a luxury, peaceful, family friendly, carefree holiday then you really need to book at Broomhill!

We have just spent a week staying in Kingfisher cottage and have had such a fun and relaxing break.

The cottage was perfect for us as a family for the week (We are a family of 4, in our 30's with a 3 and a 6 year old).
A wonderful welcome of milk, clotted cream, Jam, fresh scones and tea/coffee was waiting for us. Clean fluffy, bright white towels and crisp cotton bedding on extremely comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. The cottage was really tastefully decorated and had sufficient crockery etc. There is a dishwasher and dishwasher tablets, tea towels, cloths etc are all provided. We had a food shop delivered on our arrival day and there was plenty of cupboard, fridge and freezer space.

After you have been shown and settled into your cottage, Alan or Linda come by after an hour or so to check you're okay and to take you on a guided tour of the grounds and facilities which was a lovely personal touch.

Broomhill manor had absolutely, everything we needed and more.
We made fantastic use of the wonderful facilities- heated indoor and heated outdoor pools. Gardens with plenty of space, play equipment and Wendy houses, equestrian facilities which both our children loved (they did a 30minute stable management session which involved meeting, brushing, braiding and feeding the horses and a 15minute pony ride around the grounds).
I used the small but well appointed gym a few times- there is a treadmill, cross trainer, rowing machine and bike plus floor space and mirrors - no gym mats so take your own or a towel for floor work.
The bar with a honesty book was well stocked and well used!
There were 2 indoor rooms - a play room for under 6's which our children loved- cars, books, board games, a shop, dolls, prams and ride ons. The Games room had ping pong, foosball and a pool table which we used once but our children were a bit too young to appreciate it.
There is a free to use laundry room, with 3 washing machines and 2 tumble dryers which is such a brilliant facility to offer - I never had an issue using a machine and I get to go home with just 1 bag of washing- yippee for me!! The cottages have clothes airers and heated towel rails which were useful for wet swim stuff and towels.
Really good wifi and we even managed to steam the Grand Prix and a couple of films!

Kingfisher is one of the 4 or 5 cottages which has its own hot-tub and enclosed garden and it was very, very well used! It was the perfect temperature and our 2 were in it every morning and evening. The cottages all have gas BBQ's - we didn't get around to using ours but could smell others being put to good use. There is also an option to have home-cooked meals delivered, and we saw others using this too and it looked great (we obviously need 2 weeks next time to fit it all in!).

The 'tourist information room' in reception was so helpful but so To was Alan who is a walking, talking TI !! All you have to tell him is what you fancy- Pizza, steak, fish and chips and Alan will tell you where he would recommend locally and he came up tops every time! We really enjoyed his recommendations- the Bay Leaf, Elements, The Olive Tree, Tree Inn (bit of a tree theme!!) but booking is essential.

The beaches in Bude are beautiful, we ended up buying wetsuits and bodyboards (very cheaply in Bude Town) and spent 2 full days (would have spent more but this is still Britain and we had sun and 24degrees one day and pouring rain and 16 the next!!). The Sea Pool is also fabulous.

We also took trips to The Gnome Reserve and Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre. Both a 30-40min drive but worked well for us as our 3year old still naps. Both were excellent half a day trips and we would highly recommend them.

Throughout the week there was a daily presence of staff in Green Polo Shirts, pruning the beautiful plants, mowing the grass, cleaning the communal facilities. On Saturday as we were loading up the car and checking out there was a real bustle of activity. Staff scrubbing BBQ's, and hot tubs being cleaned, windows open- everywhere being aired. You can clearly see how much effort the Broomhill team put in to making and maintaining such beautiful cottages and grounds. The standard is so high everywhere.

Thank you so much for a great, carefree week and we look forward to returning to Broomhill Manor Estate!



Matthew from Warwick stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in July 2017


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Bude and Broomhill!
This was our first stay at Broomhill and we loved it, so much so we've booked again for next year.
The on site facilities are amazing with loads for everyone to do whether its relaxing in the hottub, swimming indoors or outdoors, tennis, horse riding, archery to name but a few.
It's located about 2 miles from Bude in a secluded estate. You can walk into town on bridleways and footpaths without much need to interact with traffic - its down hill on the way there...so uphill on the way back but at a holiday pace very manageable even for the small people!
The cottages are very well maintained and have almost everything you could need - lots of the important 'little' things are provided for you - like dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, cling film and foil. It's these nice touches that make the difference.
The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful - we would definitely recommend this place 10/10!


Fiona from Chorley stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in May 2017


Really enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 6 nights are Broomhill. The facilities and accommodation are excellent. The owners are very helpful.

Jamie from Southampton stayed at Kingfisher for 6 nights in February 2017


Cant wait to return!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful holiday, couldn't have asked for more, great location, comfy beds, hot tub was amazing and very well used, Alan and Linda are incredibly welcoming and on hand for all your needs. The only negative thing i can say about the holiday is that it wasnt long enough! We will be back next year!

Simon & Sam from Stowmarket stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in October 2016


Recent stay at Kingfisher Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well run site with excellent facilities. All the grounds are well maintained and the cottages very clean and well prepared for arrival. Alan and Linda are great hosts and always available to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible .

David from Chester-le-street stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in July 2016


Great holiday with toddler.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Broomhill Manor cottages are in a quiet and secluded location just 10 minutes from Bude and it's great beaches. Kingfisher is a 2 bedroom cottage with a pretty enclosed garden that gets the sun early in the morning. The cottage was well appointed with the kitchen particularly well equipped. We were very impressed with the decor which appeared fresh and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in on holiday. Broomhill Manor caters very well for children and especially toddlers. This was our most enjoyable and successful holiday yet with our 2 year old daughter and we would be happy to return next year.

Guest from Pulborough stayed at Kingfisher for 7 nights in May 2016


An excellent and comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Broomhill Manor in a Kingfisher Cottage for the May Day Weekend (4 days). We were welcomed by Alan and shown to the cottage, he explained how everything worked and then took us on a short tour of the grounds. The cottage was very well equipped with numerous bath towels, toilet paper, Fairy Liquid, tea towels, dish cloths, all the things I thought I needed to take on a self catering holiday were provided. The cottage was spotlessly clean and a lovely size for the 3 of us. A fully fitted kitchen with a dishwasher, full size freezer and fridge, hob and oven and every possible utensil you could think of. Two bedrooms, one double and one twin, bathroom with shower and a lovely living room. The central heating worked a treat and the hot tub was brilliant, so easy to use and heated 24 hours a day, so you could use it at any time, just take the lid off the top, press the button for the jets and it was ready to use. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and open until 10 at night. Didn't go to the bar. All in all a superb stay and would fully recommend.

Guest from Swansea stayed at Kingfisher for 3 nights in April 2016


Happy New Year!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful way to see in the New Year! A mini break away booked at Broomhill Manor with some close family friends staying in the adjacent cottage! The weather was a washout, but it didn't deter the children [& adults] having fun in the hot tub! They were also kept busy with the in-door pool & games room. Lovely facilities, happy children ultimately makes for very happy & chilled parents. The exceedingly generous champagne reception held by our hosts Linda & Alan, was a delightful pleasure to attend & excellent start to the New Year's Eve celebrations. They are charming hosts who simply can't do enough for you. Despite the Bank Holiday & bad weather conditions, the girls were also able to go for a couple of rides which absolutely sealed the deal on the entire holiday! We have previously stayed at Broomhill Manor with family, on 3 previous occasions during May/early June. This experience was just as much fun but worth returning in the summer months to enjoy all the outdoor facilities it has to offer ie gardens with pond, outdoor pool & tennis court. Wonderful stay & hope to return in the future.

Kate from Taunton stayed at Kingfisher for 4 nights in December 2015


Perfect family break!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our time at Broomhill Manner! With so much onsite to keep our toddler entertained; including an indoor swimming pool, playground, trampoline, games room & sandpit (to name but a few!) all made our trip totally stress free. Couple this with the onsite chef cooking & delivering dinner directly to us on our arrival day and the hot tub in the garden... made our stay perfect. We can't wait to return in the spring!

Roz from Wokingham stayed at Kingfisher for 4 nights in September 2015