FB Twitter

House Cottage

House Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Once the Housekeeper’s cottage this property now fully renovated to a high standard, adjoins the Manor House and its South facing aspect catches lots of sunshine. House Cottage is fully centrally heated and provides spacious and cosy accommodation for a family of five.

Downstairs, there is a lounge/dining room and separate fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and its own washer/dryer. The luxury marble tiled bathroom with feature bath with shower, is also on the ground floor. Stairs lead up to two bedrooms, one with a king sized bed, and the second which can be arranged with either two or three single beds, depending on your requirement. There is also space for a cot.

House Cottage is conveniently located for the outdoor pool, has its own enclosed front garden with seating and BBQ and adjacent private parking space, for your exclusive use. The garden with its with its ‘English country cottage’ charm, looks onto the main lawn at the front of the Manor.

Sorry, no dogs.

Third visit

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Broomhill Manor and the third time we stayed in House Cottage. It was another lovely stay, Alan and Linda were great hosts and we made full use of the facilities. House Cottage had everything we needed in it and our 3 year old loved the indoor pool and the trampoline.

Kirsty from Reading stayed at House Cottage for 5 nights in September 2019


A lovely, relaxing family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wanted to spend some time on this review in order to highlight just what a lovely place this is for a family holiday, or even a quiet romantic escape. We spent a wonderful week here in July 2019, staying in House Cottage with our two children, aged 14 and 11. Alan and Linda couldn't have been more welcoming, right from the outset, with a relaxed, helpful and friendly approach. They have clearly worked very hard over the years to deliver a delightful environment for a relaxing holiday. There were lots of little touches, which meant a lot to us, for example everything for a cream tea waiting for us in the cottage when we arrived, including a small bottle of milk in the fridge, made up beds and plenty of hand and bath towels, the beautifully maintained flower tubs and hanging baskets around the outside walls and the trust placed in us with the 'honesty' bar, to name but a few.

House Cottage was extremely pretty, well appointed clean and comfortable, without being intimidatingly sterile. It's a traditional period cottage, attached to the end of the main Manor House. Before arrival, we had a minor concern in that from the web-site photos, it appears to be located at the corner of two access roads. However, these are actually two little used footpaths, so we had no concerns over noise or privacy at all, in spite of the fact that I counted a total of only ten footsteps between the front door of the cottage and the gate for the outdoor swimming pool. The only problem that we had with the cottage was that during our stay the weather was exceptionally hot. Having thick stone walls and traditional small windows meant that the bedrooms could be very warm at night. Our bedroom did have a fan, which helped, but the kids struggled a little to sleep. Not a bad problem to have on a British summer holiday though.

We had arranged for groceries to be delivered by Tesco, which arrived shortly after we did. This meant that we could have spent the entire week without leaving site, if we had wanted. The weather was so good that we ate almost every meal outside at the table in our little cottage garden and spent several days doing nothing but relaxing by the outdoor pool, taking the occasional dip to cool off. All the cottages have high specification gas barbecues. Ours was spotlessly clean when we used it and worked really well.

We did venture out two or three times to explore. Bude is an easy 25 minute stroll, but if you need to take the car, for example because you are taking beach equipment, then parking at Summerleaze Beach is plentiful and reasonably priced. There are also many excellent places to eat and drink locally. We ate at Life's a Beach and also at the Preston Gate Inn, which is a quiet 15 minutes walk from Broomhill Manor. Not especially cheap, but all meals were excellent and therefore good value. Next time, we plan to try Elements and Scrummies in Bude. Both are highly recommended. We also visited Port Isaac and Boscastle while we were there.

Facilities on site were more than adequate for our children, who soon made friends with other, similarly aged kids and never had a reason to be bored. There are a total of 18 cottages, all of which were fully booked for the week that we stayed. This meant that there were a total of 73 guests, although you wouldn't have known it. We had many hours of exclusive use of the outdoor pool and bumped into just enough people for an occasional chat. Apart from the heated outdoor pool, there is an indoor pool with jaccuzzi, sauna, gym, a small bar with a full sized snooker table, a games room with pool table, table tennis table and bar football, a tennis court and those beautiful grounds to explore, with play equipment for the kids, including a trampoline. There is no additional charge for any of this, apart from the horse riding and you don't need to bring your own tennis racquets, etc. However, if you want organised entertainment, you will have to look elsewhere.

Overall, we have great memories of our holiday and can't wait to return. The only problem is that if too many people read this then availability might become somewhat limited......


Mark from Nantwich stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Another wonderful visit

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Broomhill Manor; we knew what we were getting and once again they delivered! The cottage and facilities are great and within easy reach of the beaches. It's a lovely site, well looked after and with a great atmosphere. The whole team at Broomhill Manor are superb and made us very welcome.

James from Reading stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


House cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at house cottage was very comfortable, the delicious scones cream and jam was a welcomed delight.
The owners are always very hospitable.
It was like home from home.
Looking forward for our next stay.


from London stayed at House Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


A great second stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely second stay at Broomhill Manor, House Cottage was great again with everything we needed. Our 2 year old son loved the the indoor pool, the swings and the trampoline. He also enjoyed his first pony ride.

Kirsty from Reading stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Our stay at broomhill manor

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Broomhill Manor the staff were very helpful and accommodating the cottage was like home from home all the modem cons were available. We had easy access to cabs to take us to and from town. We would recommend this place to everyone.
Jeanie Cynthia Claudia and Cecilia
Thank you .


from London stayed at House Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


A great stay despite the weather

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in House Cottage for a week in early September. We had a great week despite the Cornish weather trying its best to put us off. The cottage was very comfortable and perfect for staying with our 18 month old son. Despite the wind and rain we even managed to use the BBQ although we weren't brave enough to eat outside! Our son loved the swings and trampoline on site and we also made good use of the indoor pool. Linda and Alan were great hosts and very helpful with our various questions. I would highly recommend Broomhill Manor!

Kirsty from Reading stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Great family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a great place to stay for a good family holiday. Not only is Broomhill Manor a great place itself for the whole family, the whole of Cornwall is with in easy reach for a fabulous holiday with something for everyone. Lovely local beaches near by - recommend Crooklets Beach - safe bathing & body boarding with lifeguards in summer and excellent car park, cafe and toilet facilities close by. House Cottage itself excellent - very central within Broomhill Manor's properties. Close to all on-site amenities. Kids (aged 9 and 7) loved the pool, games room and playground area. Took advantage of the excellent stables with several rides round the extensive, well kept grounds and local area. Kids made loads of friends during our stay and were sad to leave. Great facilities for adults too - spa room with treatments available from lovely therapist (highly recommended for some de-stress "me" time!), gym and bar with honesty book to settle up at the end of the stay. Thanks to all at Broomhill Manor for a fabulous holiday. We will be back!

Helen from Wirral stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Another brilliant summer holiday at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been at Broomhill Manor for the fifth time already and still love it more each and every time. Time just flies too fast.

Carsten from Chemnitz stayed at House Cottage for 14 nights in July 2017


My review of cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found it very nice and enjoyed my time there even with the traditional british weather. Thank you for the great experience and until next time.

Guest from Anzing stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Cornwall Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners and hosts are friendly and very helpful. Plenty of good information and advice about the local area.
The property is beautiful and extremely peaceful.
We used it as a base to explore Cornwall and Devon and, provided you have a car, it turned out to be a very good location.


Steve from Nanoose Bay stayed at House Cottage for 6 nights in May 2017


So good already booked for Christmas 2017!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and Daughter had stayed here several times during the summer over the past 7 years, but its the first time I have been with them, and we chose Christmas to stay. I am specific about what I need by way of a well stocked kitchen of crockery, cutlery etc for the festive season and asked them if they could provide what I wanted, as I was quite happy to bring my own. There was no need to worry, everything I asked for they provided and more; nothing was too much trouble for Alan, Linda, Fran and the team, we had everything we wanted and needed. To welcome us there were some wonderful mince pies, a pint of milk for a well needed cuppa after 5 hours in the car, and a lovely bottle or red wine. On the day we sadly departed, 28th Dec, we booked and confirmed for Christmas 2017! A brilliant Christmas.

Gillian from Weybridge stayed at House Cottage for 5 nights in December 2016


Summary of our stay at House cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, it was convenient in location because i have mobility problems, the people in charge were very helpful and accommodating. they were very efficient in dealing with any problems. the cottage itself was lovely, my only problem was having the toilet downstairs, but apart from that it was great i wold recommend it to family and friends.

from London stayed at House Cottage for 3 nights in October 2016


As good as ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great facilities on site for families with children of all ages, in beautiful surroundings. Near to some lovely beaches. This was our 3rd visit to House cottage and we hope to go back again!

Niall from London stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Review

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice; would recommend. Extremely tasteful and lacking in anything commercial. Peaceful, plenty to do, idyllic, traffic-free, handy for good pub. For sporty types I'd recommend the local running club, Bude Rats, Tues & Thurs 6.15pm at the cricket pavilion

Christine from Liverpool stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect for kids

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in house cottage.. It is a perfect cosy little house and ideal for us and our two young boys. There's so much to do at broomhill and bude that the boys were knackered every day - hooray! Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and they really looked after everyone. Because the house has such solid walls it gets very hot upstairs in the evenings but a fan in the main bedroom did help. We also forgot our blackout blinds so had 5am starts - argh!!! Lovely house and even better grounds and amenities.

Lucy from Cambridge stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Fantastic return!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Broomhill manor after a fabulous week there last year, brilliant!!

House cottage ideal for us with a 2 and 5 year old. Great space downstairs with kitchen, dining / living room all open plan. a garden area with bbq and bench that overlooked the main front lawn so plenty of space to let off any unspent energy for the children whilst being able to see them.

Alan and Linda are the most friendly, welcoming and accommodating owners we have met.

Our children used the horse riding facilities that are onsite, again, brilliant. Managed by Helen and aided by Katie and Pippa, you are in great hands and thoroughly looked after, definite recommendation.


Peter from Tunbridge Wells stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


A lovely English Cottage fully equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting. Fully equipped including a washing machine. Very clean lovely bathroom very pleasant spacious lounge and the bed was very big and comfortable. We did not use many of the facilities because we travelled around Cornwall visiting Houses & Gardens and the wonderful Camel Valley Vineyard.

Peter from stayed at House Cottage for 5 nights in May 2016


May bank holiday break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, wonderful accomodation, charming owners, perfect weather. Can't wait to go back.

The area around Stratton, poughill and Bude do enough to keep even the littlest of people happy, and a short drive sees you in boscastle or tintagel, which are breathtaking. Used to holiday at broomhill as a kid, and even though it remains the same look and feel it's a different beast. Peaceful even when busy, perfect amenities from house to laundry room to pool to play rooms. Don't forget the ample grounds and stables. If Cornwall wasn't meant to be explored for its beauty you'd be more than happy staying in the grounds all day/week. Alan and Linda are lovely and go out of their ways to chat and make you feel like more than a guest.

Can't wait to go back.


Anthony from Dorking stayed at House Cottage for 6 nights in May 2016


House Cottage at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely hosts, fabulous setting and well placed for access to beaches and gentle walks.
We were staying with our two small children (2 yrs and our 3 month old baby) and House Cottage was perfect. Easy access to the lovely indoor pool, well equipped play room and the riding stables. Although the weather was mixed, there was still plenty to do and lots of places within 30 minutes drive to go and explore.
Would recommend!


Jemima from Wolverhampton stayed at House Cottage for 5 nights in April 2016


Broomhill September 2015

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Broomhill is a lovely place to stay, particularly with young children. Alan and Linda were very attentive hosts without being intrusive and have a talent for appearing just at the right time. The facilities are lovely, and the layout of the site is well suited to families with outdoor play areas, lovely clean pools and indoor play areas as well. The on site stables were great with friendly and helpful staff, and a good range of riding options. Proximity to the coast, to Bude and to local amenities like supermarkets is very good and yet the site itself is tranquil and feels completely cut off from the hustle and bustle. We stayed in house cottage which was superbly clean and welcoming and also very spacious. The dedicated parking space just by the cottage is a great bonus for packing and unpacking as well. All in all a great holiday and I hope to return in future!

Michael from Warwick stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage - very clean and all mod cons . There was plenty to do on site whatever the weather.

It's a Lovely location - hope to return again one day.


Kevin from Southampton stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Bude, and we love Broomhill Manor. This was our second visit to Broomhill, and we had a fantastic stay in House Cottage. House Cottage is lovely with a large lounge and a particularly well-appointed kitchen.
We made good use of both pools, enjoyed an archery session, and had a relaxing massage too. We all went on a one hour hack with Broomhill Stables, which had the added bonus of identifying a great route to cycle to and from Bude. Had such a good time, we wished we'd booked for a second week.


Guest from Ipswich stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Fantastic holiday location for families with kids

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Broomhill Manor for the 3rd time now and can't wait to return. Always great to spend time in this fantastic location during summer holiday with so many things to do in and around Bude.

Guest from Chemnitz stayed at House Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


A fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't fault Broomhill Manor, we stayed in the lovely House Cottage which was perfect for us and our small children. Facilities are brilliant and the standard of the cottage was high.
One comment I would make is it could do with supplying 'child friendly' crockery. A few plastic bowls, plates etc would have been useful.


Anna from Aylesbury stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Broomhill replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found House Cottage of a high standard. Thank you for your remarks in regards to toddler cutlery and plates - we do actually hold a central store of plastic cutlery and plates suitable for toddlers which is listed on our website along with all the other equipment we can provide and had we known of your requirement we would have been more than happy to provide this for you. Guests can follow this link to our toddler page: http://broomhillmanor.co.uk/luxury-cottages/facilities-for-infants/ It was delightful to meet you and your family and we hope you will return again in the future.

The best family holiday!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottages. Incredibly friendly, helpful owners. The poole is always warm and clean, so the kids visit 2 or 3 times a day. There is so much for the whole family to do that our boys were loathed to leave the grounds to even go to the beach!

Guest from Poole stayed at House Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015