FB Twitter

Heron

Heron

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


Our largest cottage and suitable for six adults, Heron has just been refurbished to a high standard. Heron comprises a large open plan room with spacious lounge, ‘Shaker’ style kitchen and dining area. Being part of the original stable buildings, the room is large and air. Heron is a popular choice for a family group taking several cottages as this is a good cottage for the group to gather together.

On the same level, there are three bedrooms, one double with king size bed and two twin bedded rooms. There is ample room for two cots, one in the master bedroom and the other in one of the twin rooms. There is a well appointed bathroom with bath and combined shower.

The cottage overlooks the original stable courtyard and there is a grassy area outside with table, seating and Australian gas BBQ for your exclusive use.

Being next door to Kittiwake, the cottages work well if booked together for large family groups of up to 12 people.
Sorry, no dogs.

A week's stay in Heron

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Heron was excellent even though the weather was mixed. The cottage ticked all the boxes and Linda was extremely helpful and kind. The indoor pool and gym is a little bit tired and needs a little TLC. But other than that the holiday and service experience is first class.

Andrew from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Heron for 7 nights in September 2019


Child-May 2019 summer holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, what a great holiday. This was our 7th year at Broomhill and having recommended it to our whole family and taking three cottages the holiday needed to meet everyone’s expectations which it did with ease. As per usual there was nothing that Alan, Linda and the team had left unchecked. The cottages were sparkling and we all felt at home from the minute we checked in. We fully recommend Broomhill to everyone we meet for it’s amazing grounds, location, comfort and all round style.
Thank you and looking forward to 2020.


Colin & Laura from Wallington stayed at Heron for 14 nights in July 2019


ALWAYS A GREAT WELCOM

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very accommodating hosts. lovely location. Well equipped cottage. On the down side the swimming pool was out of use for a short while.

Roger from Portishead stayed at Heron for 3 nights in April 2019


Great stay at Broomhill Manor Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Heron cottage as a family of 5 in April 2019. We loved exploring the site and the kids especially loved the swimming pool area and games room. Great location to explore both Cornwall and Devon, Bude centre being about 10 mins drive. Alan and Linda a fountain of knowledge about the area- highly recommend the cottage!

Jenny from Leeds stayed at Heron for 7 nights in March 2019


Fantastic Holiday with the family

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had unseasonably good weather for Feb half term! Everyone from the kids to the in-laws loved Broomhill Manor. It is just perfect. We must return in Spring/Summer to try the outdoor pool. The bar with its amazing Snooker table, retro jukebox was a big hit with my Father in-law. My kids who are under 5 both adored the play areas both indoors and outside. We will be back for a third time in the not so distant future.

Amanda from London stayed at Heron for 7 nights in February 2019


My stay in heron

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I always enjoy my stay at broom hill. I always stay in heron. The space, cleanliness & comfort is second to none. It’s really home from home. The customer service we receive is truly amazing.

from London stayed at Heron for 4 nights in October 2018


Entertaining at Heron!

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 4 staying in Heron with the extended family staying in Swallow & Fulmer. Heron has a great entertaining space so it’s a perfect cottage if you want to gather with your family/friends for mealtimes! Well equipped house, comfortable beds, clean bathroom.
In an ideal world, it could do with a bigger fridge & a full- size dishwasher.


Clare from London stayed at Heron for 7 nights in August 2018


Just Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have rated everything as excellent except value for money, and the only reason I haven't rated that as excellent is that this type of holiday is simply a little pricey due to location (and school holidays) and is inevitable, but you pay for what you get, and what we got was fantastic. My rating down of that criteria is no reflection on the place or the service etc.

We like to holiday in the UK as well as worldwide, so we have a good basis for comparison. As a holiday in the UK, we can't fault it. Surfing, mountain biking, cycling with the kids, hiking, pedalos, beaches, beautiful villages, amazing restaurants, cafes & bakeries, fantastic drives etc etc. We really fell in love with Cornwall and the Broomhill Manor is the ideal location for all of this, just outside Bude. There is stuff to do when it's raining and loads to do when it's not. We met other families there who go back every year. The best recommendation that we can give is that we booked to go back in 2019 within a fortnight of getting home!


Chris from Leeds stayed at Heron for 7 nights in July 2018


A great location for all ages

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was excellent as usual. Beautiful gardens and cottage exceptionally clean and tidy. We had wall to wall sunshine with the temperatures up in the high 20's. We have booked again for next year. My only comment would be, this year the drying of bath towels and swimming gear was OK as it was so hot, but had the weather is not so good, it would be useful to have two clothes horses in the six birth accommodation.
Have a great summer season.


Liz from Rownhams stayed at Heron for 7 nights in June 2018


My stay in Heron

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a excellent time at broomhill manor. My cottage (Heron) was so comfortable and clean. The facilities on site was excellent. Alan and Linda made us feel right at home. Their customer service was of a really high standard, The only thing needed in each cottage is a clock in the front room area. We will be back next year. Thank you Alan and Linda. Keep up the good work.

from London stayed at Heron for 4 nights in October 2017


family weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using Broomhill for our family get togethers for 20 years it's a great venue. Good facilities, customer care and comfort.

Lindsey from Isle Of Wight stayed at Heron for 3 nights in October 2017


Spacious cottage in beautiful grounds

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in this spacious and comfy cottage. The facilities at Broomhill were fantastic and all beautifully maintained. We will definitely visit again.

Grace from Horsham stayed at Heron for 7 nights in August 2017


A Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the initial warm welcome and friendly introduction, we felt valued and supported in an unintrusive way. All the facilities we tried were well-kept and safe. The atmosphere was peaceful but not too quiet. We valued the small extras like a prepared meal on our first evening and the occasional hot croissants for breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommended Broomhill.

Philip from Wareham stayed at Heron for 7 nights in August 2017


The perfect place for our family holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Broomhill Manor. The facilities and accommodation were perfect for our young family. We would definitely stay here again.

Mark from Knutsford stayed at Heron for 7 nights in July 2017


Excellent accommodation and location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron cottage at Broomhill Manor is fantastic. Lovely spacious cottage, great complex with great indoor /outdoor swimming pools, grounds and gardens and good play equipment for kids. We would not hesitate to return.

David from Gloucester stayed at Heron for 7 nights in June 2017


I can not recommend this highly enough for travellers wth young families

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The title says it all, the location is great for days out and the site itself is excellent for parents and kids. What really stood out for us was the cottage readiness for young ones, good cot, black out blinds (set up), high chair etc. We are regular Premier Cottage customers and we paid a little more than we normally do for this site, I have to say worth every (EVERY) single penny. Simply put visit Broomhill Manor if you want a well prepared / managed site (Alan is a great guy) with loads of fun things for the kids (and even a bar onsite for us older ones).

Dan from Chelmsford stayed at Heron for 7 nights in April 2017


Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After returning to Broomhill after several years, we found that the renovated accommodation excellent and there was everything that we wanted in the cottage including equipment for our two year old grand daughter. The welcome cream tea was a wonderful surprise was a good start to our stay. Although the cornish weather could have been kinder, we enjoyed the great facilities at Broomhill for all the family especially having the indoor pool to ourselves most days. We shall definitely be returning.

Liz from Rownhams stayed at Heron for 7 nights in June 2016


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second time staying at Broomhill Cottages and again we had the most wonderful holiday. We stayed in their biggest cottage (Heron) and it didn't disappoint. Lots of space for our family and my parents in law and beautifully furnished and clean. The facilities are always kept in great condition and the flowers and gardens are immaculate. Alan and Linda are very accommodating with children and always deliver great customer service. We have already booked Heron for 2017!

Vicki from London stayed at Heron for 7 nights in June 2016


Wonderful accommodation and pool/playroom/playgrounds and great service

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable, apart from unfeasibly thick pillows but we solved that by putting decorative cushions in pillowcases. I expect though if we'd asked the hosts for thinner pillows they would have gone as far as to buy some if they didn't have any as the hosts were very attentive and thoughtful. For instance, I hadn't thought to request in advance a plastic floor mat to catch food under my toddler's chair and they bought one specially as they didn't have a spare in stock. A place to experience excellent customer service! We also had unbelievably good service from our Tesco delivery driver who had arrived early and unpacked all of our enormous delivery of cold and frozen food into the fridge and freezer, in piles in order of use by date. The indoor swimming pool, playroom, and outdoor playgrounds were all wonderful. We would highly recommend. We also enjoyed the food we ordered from the caterer lady. Bude is great too. Fabulous beach, cafes, a few good restaurants, and we particularly liked the exhibition and cafe in the castle. All thoroughly relaxing. All the onsite facilities at Broomhill meant it was still either fun or relaxing during the periods of bad weather when we still needed to keep toddler entertained. Having Heron was particularly great in wet weather as our toddler had loads of distance to run around indoors.

Esme from Woking stayed at Heron for 14 nights in May 2016


Excellent week in Bude

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time back at Broomhill, we have been twice before, Alan and Linda were as welcoming as always and we had a great week. We had 3 cottages, Heron, Woodlark and Chough as an extended family group, they were all spotless and very well equipped. Our girls, 11,7 and 5 enjoyed playing tennis, the games room, swimming and of course horse riding! It was a lovely week and we will definitely be returning again in the future.

Gary and Belinda from Reading stayed at Heron for 7 nights in April 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very warm welcome and accommodation brilliant , Alan went out of his way to help with anything we needed and looking forward to returning hopefully next year .

Suzanne from South Petherton stayed at Heron for 3 nights in September 2015


Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our whole family enjoyed a delightful stay at Broomhill Manor. The accommodation was luxurious and the grounds so peaceful; with no cars the only sound was birdsong and the gardens are lovely. Our girls 7 and 10 swam every day in the outdoor and indoor (generously warm!) pool. We all really enjoyed learning to horse ride, and as someone who has never ridden it's was ideal for me too to try as it was so welcoming and confidence building for novices. The children made good friends as did we in this magical setting. For anyone seeking a lovely break surrounded by nature and getting back to the simple life (but with modern luxuries) I would recommend this holiday.

Chris from Reading stayed at Heron for 7 nights in August 2015


A great family week

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party consisted of 5 adults and 2 very small children, and Broomhill more than satisfied our various needs. There was plenty of fun and diversion for the little ones, with the pools, the games room, the outdoor play areas and the stables, and for the adults there was comfort, space and relaxation, with the spa treatments for pampering and the gym to work out. We availed ourselves of all these facilities, but there was even more on offer that we didn't get round to sampling! Everything was maintained to the highest standard, from the beautiful grounds to the scrupulously clean cottages and indoor public areas.
The site is ideally situated, within walking distance of Bude but peacefully located in the countryside. There was ample, secure parking close to the cottages, and plenty to see and do within a reasonable driving distance.
Alan and Linda could not have done or provided more for their guests, and we shall all remember our stay at Broomhill most gratefully and fondly.


Guest from Swansea stayed at Heron for 7 nights in August 2015


Our week in Heron Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our cottage by the owner who took the trouble to have several interesting chats with us during our stay.
The facilities in Heron were very good indeed, and we enjoyed the brand new gas barbecues.
In the kitchen, maybe a few more serving dishes / fruit bowls would have been handy, and some simple instructions on the cooker and dish washer.
The archery day was most enjoyable too.
All in all a very good week in a really nice cottage.


Guest from Havant stayed at Heron for 7 nights in July 2015


Good but not great

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage we stayed in was great, toddler friendly and all on one level.

The one thing that let it down for us was the outside space, this was to the front of the cottage but we didn't find it toddler friendly. There was grass directly outside but there was a drop of about 1 metre onto a grave/stone court yard which led directly onto the car park/quiet road therefore we were constantly on high alert with our active 2 year old! If the lawned area was fenced off before the drop it would of been far better. There are other cottage on site that have fenced off gardens which are more suited to toddlers!


Guest from Cookham stayed at Heron for 10 nights in June 2015


The Plummers

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit as we loved it so much last year. The facilities and grounds are what makes this place so special. The kids are free to roam around within reason which we love. We also love the north Cornwall Coast and all the places you can visit with Broomhill as a base. It's a cliche but happy children makes for happy parents and our kids loved it just as much as last year.Heron is great because of the size of the living space. There were 12 and then 9 of us so we could all eat together. It's hard to find any fault, if I was to be really picky quite a few of the bedroom drawers can't be opened because the wood has swollen and the drawers are too tight for the holes of that makes sense. It would be helpful to get them sanded so that they are all useable. We really hope to visit again next year but school holiday prices mean this needs consideration. To be honest I think it is worth it though. I recommend Broomhill to all my friends.

Guest from Oakham stayed at Heron for 7 nights in May 2015


A family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome is warm and the cottages are tastefully presented and comfortable. The situation is pleasant and the grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and the Games Room. Laundry facilities were good and the situation suited us very well indeed. We were extremely lucky with the weather and able to enjoy meals outside on the picnic table.

Guest from Maidenhead stayed at Heron for 7 nights in April 2015


Broomhill Manor Review

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family had an enjoyable stay at Broomhill Manor, and we were made to feel very welcome when we arrived. There are lots of facilities on site which we made use of and we were grateful for the cottage being well heated as we were unlucky to stay during a week when it was quite cold outside. There was a problem with the wifi not reaching as far as our cottage but a new system had just been installed. It wasn't a major issue for us but the owners were keen to get it resolved. Overall we were happy with our stay.

Guest from Surbiton stayed at Heron for 7 nights in March 2015


We love Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth stay in the last 3 years to Broomhill Manor. The accommodation and facilities are first class, and have everything we need for us and our two children (aged 7 and 4). We love the surrounding areas, but spend much of our time in and around the grounds of Broomhill Manor. From the swimming pool to the games room, the horse riding to play areas, the kids always find something to do. The cottages and equipment are excellent, and if there is something you don't have, Alan and Linda (our wonderful hosts) will try their best to accommodate your request, and more often than not succeed.

The stables are an added bonus, as our little girl (aged 7) loves to ride the ponies in the past and now the horses. Helen, the stable manager, is brilliant with kids and very friendly.

The bar in the early evening provides an excellent family atmosphere that our kids talk about our 6pm trip to the bar all day. The kids and adults all chatting and playing one of the many board games that is supplied, whilst enjoying a quiet drink or a game of Snooker for the adults.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and we enjoy taking walks around the lawns and lower gardens.

We cannot recommend it enough, hence the 5 visits, and we have not been on a English holiday in the last three years that hasn't been at Broomhill Manor.


Guest from Solihull stayed at Heron for 7 nights in February 2015