FB Twitter

Chough

Chough

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Chough Cottage (sleeps 5 plus a baby) was converted from an old cob barn and has walls that are over two feet thick. The ground floor has an open plan layout, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system in the living area and a dining table, cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster in the bright, Shaker style kitchen. The Cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. Upstairs, Chough Cottage has two bedrooms tucked under painted eaves: one with a king size bed and plenty of space for a cot; and the second with one single bed and bunk beds, intended for children. Beds are made up with fresh white cotton linen and fluffy towels are included. The well appointed shower room has a power shower and heated towel rail, plus a baby bath can be provided. Chough Cottage opens onto an attractive walkway lined with hanging baskets and fig trees, plus there is table seating and a gas-fired Australian BBQ right outside.

Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time. Lovely host, great facilities, particularly the pool area. Will definitely hope to return soon. The stables are also run by lovely friendly people.

Sally from St. Albans stayed at Chough for 7 nights in March 2020


Superb for families

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our time staying at one of the nicest locations in Cornwall. The whole estate was spotless and we were genuinely impressed with the facilities for children. There are lots of outdoor play options plus a very well stocked indoor soft play area; this went down very well with our 3 year old and 1 year old! The swimming pool indoors was perfect for taking the kids to, heated and well presented. We appreciated the high level of equipment provided in the cottage; everything you need for cooking etc and lots of items for kids like a high chair which would otherwise fill up the car. The cottage came with a good tv and a stereo with Bluetooth so we had those home comforts in a rainy moment. There are supermarkets nearby meaning it is easy to stock up etc. Bude itself is beautiful and a great base for visits further afield to Port Isaac, Padstow or Tintagel. There are a series of excellent beaches a short drive from the cottage too. All in all, we were very impressed with our stay; genuinely family friendly as advertised, but not swamped like larger resorts e.g. Haven and so forth. The owners are very friendly and helpful; the site is their home and they obviously take great pride in it. We would stay again very happily given how welcoming it is for families and on account of its very peaceful setting.

Micheal from Sandbach stayed at Chough for 7 nights in April 2019


February Half Term

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I cannot fault our stay at Chough. Comfortable, well equipped. Great facilities. Everything was perfect. My only issue was the manager made us feel very unwelcome on the one night we spent in the bar. There should be a clear sign saying children cannot play on the snooker table. Our children were told they could if they were supervised by an adult, they were, but the manager was still very rude, our children were playing nicely and are familiar with snooker etiquette!
But we've re-booked and can't wait to come back!


Nichola from London stayed at Chough for 7 nights in February 2019


Mrs

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time at Broomhill Manor and found everything to be excellent. We really enjoyed the swimming pool. The cottage had everything in it that we needed. We hope to be able to come again soon.

Helen from Belper stayed at Chough for 5 nights in October 2018


The perfect half term break

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The last time I stayed at Broomhill Manor was over 20 years ago as a child. Lots of great memories and so I thought I’d now take my family to make more memories. It is perfect! The pool we had all to our selfs all week (lucky I guess) and it’s so warm! The cottage was so comfortable in every way. The owner is a lovely guy and a great help all round. We will be going back for sure.
25 mins slow drive to Clovelly and the Milky Way (an absolute must if you have a young family)
Plenty of great pubs locally.
10/10


Matthew from Reading stayed at Chough for 4 nights in October 2018


Women’s retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was just what we needed for a quiet retreat.
It met my spiritual and physical needs, in clean and comfortable and beautiful surroundings.


from London stayed at Chough for 4 nights in October 2018


Lovely stay at broom Hill

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at broomhill manor. Great accommodation, facilities and location (5mins from centre of bude). Had problems getting our daughter to leave.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Chough for 7 nights in August 2018


Cosy cottage in beautiful grounds

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I’ve stayed here twice now and absolutely loved it. The kitchen is fully kitted out with everything you need to self cater during your stay. Equally the cottage is a short walk from a couple of pubs. I highly recommend The Tree Inn for the best carvery. Ideal for families as the play room and pool keep children entertained on site.

Laura from Ipswich stayed at Chough for 7 nights in April 2018


Great Location to explore

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exceptionally clean and very well equipped, particularly for those with young families

Julia from Derby stayed at Chough for 7 nights in March 2018


Great family place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chough cottage. It was lovely & clean & had everything we needed for us & our two young children. The onsite facilities were great too including the swimming pool & playroom. We'll definitely be returning!

Liz & Ashley from Derby stayed at Chough for 6 nights in October 2017


GREAT TRIP!

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Broomhill in August 2017 with 2 children. The whole experience was fantastic. Great welcome, fantastic and well kept facilities, wonderful location for visiting surrounding area and beaches. Definitely recommend. Cottage was delightful, spacious and relaxing. Lots of activities for the children to do and morning croissants/pain au chocolate a must!

Guest from London stayed at Chough for 7 nights in August 2017


RELAXING STAY

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an enjoyable stay at Broomhill. It is clear every effort is made to make the break as enjoyable as possible. Grounds were well maintained - very pretty. Bed super comfortable. Would be happy to stay there again.

Stuart from Attleborough stayed at Chough for 7 nights in August 2017


Review of Chough Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful, relaxing week at Broomhill. Alan and Linda were perfect hosts as usual. Thank you!

Paul and Fiona from Birmingham stayed at Chough for 7 nights in July 2017


Would thoroughly recommend Broomhill Manor.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, cosy well equipped cottage, helpful staff, great facilities for children. Our 2 year old had a fantastic time playing in the indoor swimming pool, the playroom, sandpit, play area's and trampoline. I will definitely be recommending to friends. Thank you for a great stay!

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Chough for 7 nights in October 2016


Fabulous child friendly accommodation and facilities in great location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation and facilities were of a very high standard and catered well for children. The indoor swimming pool was a particular hit with our 3 year old, lovely and warm. Location was fabulous. Close to local beaches and town. Easily accessible. Manor grounds were stunning, peaceful and relaxing. Laundry room was an added bonus. Overall we would highly recommend.

Susan from Winchester stayed at Chough for 7 nights in April 2016


Great cottage and facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay. Good as before. Pool great. Kids enjoyed games room. Cottage just right - pleasant décor, all the things you might need in kitchen, and spotlessly clean.

Sarah from Witney stayed at Chough for 7 nights in February 2016


Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic 1 week stay at Broomhill! Immaculate cottage, the kids loved horse riding and the swimming pool. We loved the bar, games room and snooker.
Very friendly and helpful owners, always available.
A lovely spot to explore North Cornwall and Devon. Looking forward to our next visit!


David from Thame stayed at Chough for 7 nights in October 2015


Chough - sleeps 5

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited in May half term...you wouldn't have known, we often had the lovely indoor pool to ourselves.
Lots of lovely manicured gardens, Grandma took herself off to the summerhouse with her book a couple of times. Chough sleeps 5, 1 large double with a triple with bunk beds and a single. Our boys 6&4 shared with Grandma. There was enough space as the single is quite separate. The dining area is a little squashed in but we were advised of that at booking and we should've booked earlier. Best to upgrade to bigger house with garden (and hot tub) next time. My husband was too tall for the bathroom, he's 6"4.
Great place - we will return. Lovely owners and I didn't even come home with any washing as the laundry room was great and free!


Karen from Cheltenham stayed at Chough for 7 nights in May 2015