FB Twitter

Somerwood

Somerwood

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.2
Location
4.3
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Sleeps 16
Somerwood is the ideal holiday home set in the ideal location. A large property built to exacting standards and high specifications, Somerwood boasts all of the features and amenities that allow for a truly enjoyable break. Whether the goal is ultimate relaxation with friends or a fun-filled family gathering, there is something for everyone in this holiday home.

Located in an area of outstanding natural beauty only half a mile away from the village of Ribchester and near to the towns of Longridge, Clitheroe and Whalley, Somerwood is in a great spot for exploring all the Ribble Valley has to offer.

Christmas stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 16 adults and children stayed at this beautiful cottage over Christmas. It is close to a little village which has 3 pubs can walk in the daylight don’t think I would chance it at night. The cottage was very spacious. We had our Christmas dinner at the cottage which had everything we needed to cook our dinner. The rooms were lovely and clean. The customer service was brilliant on Christmas Eve the kettle stopped working and with in an hour they had brought a replacement. A staff member came round twice a day to check the hot tube and even dressed up as Santa over Christmas which the kids loved . Overall this was a brilliant cottage which helped make our Christmas very special.
If we had to be picky the showers heads needed to be cleaned due to limescale build up and none of the outside lights worked. And it needs cleaning under the sofas but these are minor things that did not affect our time away. Thanks for a lovely stay




Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Nov 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Having stayed at Oak Bank Farm a month ago with family we returned to Somerwood for another family weekend away. Generally a spacious and nicely laid out property. Unfortunately the central heating system wasn’t working which didn’t make the place feel warm and comfortable as it was pretty cold weather. This was dealt with quickly but the maintenance on call guy as he brought out several fan and electric heaters for some of the rooms plus wood for the fire which thankfully made a difference. Not sure why the office closes at the same time you get access to the property - you would expect some cross over so issues can be resolved if there are any by contacting the office not the emergency on call number. The hot water never really got very hot and so warm rather than hot showers were had. Kitchen could be better equipped for such a large house - basic things like kitchen scissors and pizza cutters were not provided and bread boards and cutlery had seen better days. For a luxury house I would expect better. Great hot tub and sauna. Games room is great for anyone taking kids/teens. Plenty of space so a great house for large families or groups.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place!! We loved our stay here and will def be coming back. Somerwood has something to do for all ages to keep everyone occupied. The staff were so helpful and friendly before, during and after our stay. Thanks so much



Great family stay in lovely large house with excellent service

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Somerwood was perfect for our extended family get together. Table tennis, tennis, snooker for the active ones, sauna and hot tub for us all to relax. Kitchen and dining area had all we needed. Large lounge for us all to relax. And lots of rooms so we could all have our own space, including a ground floor room for our less mobile guest. The location is great with lots of walks and places to visit. When places in the UK are busy this year the Ribble Valley and surrounding area was a hidden and calm gem. But best was the service, always responsive to email queries before we visited and advised me on local caterers to ease the cooking chores. Frozen meals from Breda Murphy were delicious and afternoon tea from The Lovely Cow Shed was a super celebration treat. Hot tub checked every day and quick to sort the couple of queries we had during our stay, including hot water fixed within half an hour one evening. Thanks!



Somer(wood) Lovin'

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time I've stayed at Somerwood Cottage and it certainly won't be the last. Gorgeous space inside and out and great location for a long weekend away with a big group. The facilities are perfect for either a leisurely chill or more lively fun with the party basement. The master bedroom 'Ribchester' is really lovely with a balcony and gorgeous big bath. The place could do with a little updating, a lick of paint here and there and the pond cleaning but all in all, you stay here and truly feel like it's a treat to visit. During the past year with covid restrictions, this occasion felt extra special and like a real getaway. It's a short walk from Stydd Gardens which I would definitely recommend a visit too - perfect for lunch or a little mooch for trinkets. In the other direction, it's just a short walk from a pub called The White Bull. Absolutely 10/10 for food and especially the Sunday roasts. I would recommend this cottage to anyone :)



Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 195 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's lovely to hear you have stayed before and would recommend us to others. I believe Emma has been in touch via email and hope you will be back soon!

Long weekend group stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently attended Somerwood with 12 of my friends and it's fair to say we had a fantastic time! The house was immaculate upon arrival and we were over the moon with the facilities on site.

We all specifically enjoyed the games room, tennis court and hot tub where we spent most of our time, while also taking full advantage of the BBQ and kitchen facilities to enjoy meals together.

We will definitely re-book for 2021!




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 274 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and apologies for our delay in responding. It's great to hear you had a fantastic time at Somerwood and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

A fun week!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fun week a Somerwood. The basement floor is fantastic for teenagers who hung out in there a great deal and this gave us adults some peace and quiet! Plenty of room and lots of bedrooms. Bathrooms really nice, especially in master bedroom. Kitchen nice and big enough for a large party. Hot tub maintained everyday and was lovely and warm. Short walk to village and we used 2 of the village pubs and walked home.
Parts of property starting to look a little tired. Dishwasher is quite rickety and probably needs replacing, head boards and beds on middle floor also quite rickety and tired. It would be good to have a smart TV in the sitting room and a TV in kitchen. We would have loved some outdoor furniture, there is picnic benches like you find at the park, but some nice comfortable furniture would have been nice when we had a BBQ.




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you had a fun week. We will take your suggestions on board and have Somerwood booked in for some TLC. We're hoping to upgrade our outdoor seating ready for next Summer. We hope you visit again soon.

Great lads week away

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Somerwood as an alternative to the holiday we couldn't attend in Spain. The facilities were really excellent and represented amazing value for money. The amount of things to do meant everybody could be doing different things and keeping busy. House was really clean and well equipped. There isn't an awful lot to do within walking distance of the house but we didn't mind as there was more than enough to do in the house itself.

The only thing we found lacking was a good outdoor seating area as there is just some rather uncomfortable benches. Some nice comfy seats would go a really long way.

Apart from that, everything was spot on and we would 100 percent visit again and recommend to others.

Customer service was really good. I got swift replies over email and the man we spoke with on arrival was really friendly and helped us out.

10/10




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

A dream vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have wished for anything better. We had a real family holiday situated in the most beautiful surroundings. John and team were so accomadating and helpful, making our stay even more memorable.
Young and old enjoyed to the fullest with only the fondest memories. The house has absolutely everything one would need, not a detail missing.
Thank you for making our vacation one to remember for years to come
With much appreciation
Family weinberger




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!