FB Twitter

Dick Turpin

Dick Turpin

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 66 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


"Heaven for Two"

An extravagant but inviting decor and exquisite Shropshire views are yours near lovely little Clun.

An extravaganza created with a twinkle in the eye. You'll love the imaginative, luxurious eccentricity of it all. There is 'why not?' a clock from a Russian submarine in the bathroom, with a pig diving into the village pond above the bath. And an array of bathrobes, umbrellas, kitchen equipment, and speakers set into ceilings; press a button on the wall of the sitting room and the sound floods in. The space is both immaculate and generous: a long, light hall and huge sitting/dining room with a terrific fireplace (all the logs you need) and a sculpture above it.

Charming and unique

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week in a charming and unique cottage in the beautiful Clun valley. Roger, the host, was most welcoming and concerned that everything was in order for our relaxation and contentment. His personal touch in the decor and furnishings reflects his life’s interests and work. The cottage is in an excellent situation for great walking in the Shropshire hills and Offas Dyke. It’s also a great place to snuggle down with the wood burner lit when the weather is inclement. All in all, a memorable stay.



Great place for a stress free break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in a lovely location.

The cottage is fitted out with very high spec equipment, from the cooking facilities to the bed, log-burner and furniture.

Great location, very rural and quiet and great for escaping from life for a few days. Well worth a walk into Clun if you have boots you don't mind getting muddy and we really enjoyed days out in Ludlow and Knighton.

Roger was a great host, very friendly but never intrusive.

Happy to recommend the cottage to all.




The Dick Turpin Cottage Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Facilities provided were excellent, and the goodies left for us in the cottage most generous. We loved the log fire and enjoyed using it several evenings. All the information re: the equipment in the cottage was most helpful and maps etc a great bonus. My only problem was that the seating in the living room was beautiful but not very practical in terms of comfort, but that may have just been my age!



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unique cottage in beautiful location.and great hosts in Roger and Bernhard.views were magnificent and welcome package really generous.



A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding location with stunning views. An excellent, informed host who went out of his way to provide every comfort!
We intend to return next year. Thank you Roger for a wonderful stay!




Very Happy !

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No faults whatsoever. Excellent hosts, loads of advice and a location to die for. Measured the Db levels one evening - 19 Db! Great fun stargazing and we'll be back - for sure.



A Unique 5* Character Property

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a gap of many years we returned to The Dick Turpin Cottage and were not disappointed. The high standards that we experienced before have been maintained. It is a unique property presented and equipped to the highest standards delivering, at a reasonable price, the difficult to find luxury experience for a couple.



Superb!!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience of staying at Dick Turpin Cottage. It exceeded our expectations by miles! Wonderful place to relax, can't think of anything we might have needed that wasn't there and there were so many extras - champagne, wine, cocktails, cheeses etc. etc. etc...… and you couldn't meet a finer host than Roger! We will definitely be going back.



Roger Wren replied 248 days ago
It was a pleasure to meet you both and wonderful that you enjoyed the cottage so much. As you probably realise it means so much to me that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay/Clun and the surrounding countryside is very special and well deserves its recognition as an "Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty" Do please come again soon Roger

a bit of a bumpy climb up to the property but worth it when you get there the views are superb

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lots of space in the three separate rooms,all the extras you could want especially in the bathroom (even slippers and dressing gowns). nice private patio at the the rear for some shade. we had a lovely week . just one slight problem, you needed to be 7 feet tall to use the micro wave. i'm sure roger has it in hand though.



Roger Wren replied 255 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your kind and helpful review. We do try to keep the stone driveway in as good condition as possible with contractors coming at least every few months, sadly with the variety of the shropshire weatherbit can be a bumpy ride. As yu foud a slow approach seems to give the best result ! I will certainly look i to the location of the microwave. You very kindly gave us a 5 for everything except "Service" could I please ask if there was any particular way in which we let you down in respect of service. ? This would help me avoid letting future guests dwn You cooperation is much appreciated kind regards Roger

Return to Clun

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful week staying in the Dick Turpin cottage. The perfect antidote to living in London.



Excellent location for peace and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is situated on a hillside adjacent to a wild wood and has excellent views of the Clun valley. The only noise is from the occasional call of red kites, buzzards and raven that soar above on the thermals created by the hillside.
The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable, I particularly liked the log burner and the endless supply of logs.
The hosts are very helpful and pleasant and have given much thought to the needs of their guests.
The wifi signal is strong, car parking secure and all things considered I think this a very good base for touring the area.




Interesting cottage with wonderful views

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding property with a very thoughtful welcome pack. Set in a lovely wooded area which has been planted by the owners.
Walking around this area was very good as it is not too far from Offa's Dyke. In fact it is near parts of the Dyke which actually still look like they were part of a dyke some 1200 years ago!
Our weather was varied and I really enjoyed trying to complete a 1000 piece jigsaw I found in the cottage when it was raining. I will have to go back again to finish it.




Spring break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of places to visit. The cottage has everything you need, a good shower plus a bath, a large very comfortable bed and a well laid out kitchen. The only slight niggle is the lack of comfortable seating in the lounge, but that could just be personal preference. The woods at the back of the cottage are a delight on a sunny day.



Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dick Turpin cottage is a delight to stay in with original decor and top class comfort. It really is a home from home with everything you might possibly need.The views are amazing although we only really got to enjoy them on a couple of days due to the very wet weather. I would recommend this cottage to anyone.



The perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect Christmas in rural Shropshire made doubly so by our hosts Roger and Burkhard. Looking forward to returning in Summer.



Peace and quiet in the Shropshire hills

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this beautiful, excellent and quirky cottage. The very good facilities were set off by interesting objet d'art, a very large and comfortable bed, great bathroom and plenty of space. Probably one of the best appointed kitchens we have experienced in a self catering cottage. The welcoming food and wine provided on our arrival, was a treat and much enjoyed. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The location was ideal - hidden and peaceful, with wonderful views to the front of the cottage and a lovely private space to sit out to the rear. Steps to an elevated seating area was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. Climbing further up, through a winding, wooded path, surrounded by fox and badger sets, must have been a real Labour of love - amazing.



Quietest place in Clun

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the best place to stay if you are looking for total peace and quiet and relaxation. Roger and Burkhard are the loveliest hosts, supplying a welcome hamper that beats the best! We felt very much at home and enjoyed our breakfasts looking over the stunning Clun valley. In a word....perfect!



Stunning location in the Shropshire Hills

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dick Turpin Cottage provides a very peaceful retreat set in stunning countryside. The Cottage's interior is eclectic in style with plenty of books, DVDs, TV and musical sources to entertain should you decide to stay in. The cottage is well equipped but one or two items could be replaced in due course. The welcome hamper was gratefully received.

The location of the cottage gives good access to many of the local tourist attractions (such as Powis Castle, The Severn Valley Railway and The Long Mynd) as well as the striking Shropshire towns in the area (such as Shrewsbury, Ludlow, Much Wenlock and Bridgenorth). Aberystwyth on the coast is not too far away and is an interesting drive passing through diverse landscapes.

The owner is very friendly and was onsite during our visit. We had no issues during our stay and the only negative is that the chairs in the lounge could be a little more comfortable. But on the positive side having both an ensuite and cloakroom was a bonus and the surrounding grounds provide a haven for birds and other wildlife as well as an interesting and distinctive backdrop,

Unless you want a full on break in the midst of coffee shops, bars and restaurants then this could be place for you..




Return to Clun

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always our stay at the Dick Turpin cottage was a week of total bucolic bliss. Returning in December.



Unique cottage in Shropshire

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a very attractive location with a pretty village nearby. My only criticism would be that the outside space at the rear of the cottage has got a bit overgrown and could have been so much more inviting and attractive .



Roger Wren Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Chris & Gloria I was very sad to see your review and marks following your recent stay. They seem so far removed from the many very kind comments you made to me in our numerous chats. I am really sorry about the " overgrown area", do please accept my sincere apologies. It is entirely my fault due to my trip abroad just before your arrival and my continuing health problems I had foolishly taken my eye off the ball. If you had felt able to bring your concerns to my attention during your stay I am sure I could have got Michael,the gardener, to deal with asap. We employ a number of people and firms to help maintain the grounds, you probably saw people on site several times during your stay. I am very sorry that no one , including me, took the time to cut back and tidy up that particular space. Can I repeat my apology for this lack of maintenance, it is my fault ad I hope you appreciate it does not reflect on my normal very high standards. Kind regards Roger

Super situation for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very special cottage in a lovely part of Shropshire. The owner makes you feel very comfortable and special with the most amazing welcome hamper and high quality accommodation.



My after thoughts

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My only reservation is the very step and rocky drive which meant i had to have tyre check at local garage. Otherwise a delightful location . The walk into clun very tireing !! Good food and service at white horse pub.



Brilliant in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Dick Turpin Cottage. Every time we have found everything perfect. There is always a good supply of anything you need to start your holiday. It is very comfortable cottage and peaceful location. The vases of flowers are a very welcome addition. Both my daughter & I hope we will able to return again soon. So many places to visit.



A perfect cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a unique cottage in a wonderful location, away from traffic and just birdsong to enjoy. It is extremely comfortable, warm and tastefully furnished. The owner was very generous in providing a hamper of goodies including a splendid bottle of champagne. If you like walking you will be in heaven. Clun is a delightful village to explore.



A gem in Shropshire

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dick Turpin cottage is lovely and located in a most beautiful part of Shropshire, we look forward to returning later in the year. Roger is a perfect host and has thought of everything to make his guests feel welcome and very comfortable. Christmas morning we walked through the woods at the back of the cottage and came back to a cosy fire and a glass of Cockford aperitif - thank you Roger, it was delicious! We played music through the very clever sound system (that can be heard in every room if you wish) before watching a film in the afternoon while toasting our toes - bliss! The village of Clun is only about a mile away and although we didn't get chance during this visit to try out the local pub, we can certainly recommend the florist/greengrocer shop and butcher, everyone was so friendly, produce was fresh and locally sourced. See you in a few months Roger when we hope to stay again. PS A big thank you for going to so much bother with the Christmas tree and garlands - it was all so lovely.



Roger Wren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas tree and garlands. Delighted that you were able to support the local shops and use local produce. As you know from the contents of the "Welcome Hamper" wherever possible we purchase and support local South Shropshire people. Look forward to welcoming you for a return visit, kindly contact me prior to booking so I can ensure you enjoy a "Loyalty" discount. Roger

A very relaxing place

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing holiday after a very busy period in our lives.
To experience the peace and calm of the cottage was wonderful.




Dick Turpin revisited.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at the cottage for the last three years and each time has been as wonderful as the last.



A lovely relaxing break in beautiful rural setting

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely relaxing break in beautiful rural setting. Location is such that walks from the front door are essentially impossible as a narrow winding A road with pavement for pedestrians is at the bottom of the drive, but the cottage itself was faultless.



Roger Wren replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Julia Thank you so much for your kind review of the cottage. I was very sad to see your comment about the lack of a pavement on the A488, whilst this is correct it is just NOT correct that you could not have enjoyed a huge selection of walks direct from the front door, including a pleasant walk into Clun by just crossing the A488 and then taking the bridlepath, paths and then a tiny back lane into the village. The map on the wall in the utility shows direct walks to Offa's Dyke and to many other places, as well as Clun. A good proportion of our guests are serious walkers and feel the cottage is a perfect base, we do have about 20 acres of the wooded hillside criss crossed by pathways, seats and the top gate leading to the Shropshire Way etc. Regards Roger

If you like comfort and tranquility look no further

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dick Turpin Cottage was everything we needed. The furnishing was rich and interesting but never cluttered. There was colour, texture and art everywhere. The setting was fabulous with views of both the distance and also of close and folding hills. The back garden sloped steeply making for a totally green image from the back windows. Everything was thought of and nothing was skimped and there were lots of personal details which made us feel very welcome. The cottage was easy to warm, comfortable to rest in, interesting to look around and utterly peaceful.



Restful, comfortable home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful week in a beautiful setting. The cottage had everything we needed for a restful and restorative stay.
Hosts were on hand, welcoming and friendly, but not intrusive and we felt far from the madding crowd and comfortable.




A perfect gem.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Shropshire and everything exceeded our expectations. The cottage is full of interesting things that captured our attention and imagination, someone definitely has an artistic flair. The owners were so friendly and helpful, and the treats that were awaiting us were fantastic. When I told friends about the welcome pack, they were astonished. The cottage was spotlessly clean and was made especially welcoming with beautiful vases of fresh flowers.
Would I recommend this cottage to friends and family? Already have done. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.




A gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had high hopes for this cottage and weren't disappointed. Beautifully appointed with lots of quirky touches. One of the nicest things were all the extras - champagne and red wine, cheese bread chocolate cake and more. We particularly loved the crockford aperitif!



Another perfect holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, an excellent week at the Dick Turpin Cottage. Perfect location, wonderful views. This year the British weather allowed us to savour the scenery for most of the week. We love the new furniture in the living room.



Pure Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This exceptional cottage is in the most beautiful setting, peace and quiet only birdsong and sheep bleating can be heard. There are lots of places to visit but if you want to get away from it all and wash away the stresses of life then Dick Turpin Cottage is the place for you. You will want to return year after year to recharge your batteries.



return to Clun

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Dick Turpin and it was as perfect as ever. Roger is the most wonderful host the cottage grounds are wonderful and Clun is a lovely English village.



Stay at Dick Turpin Cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at the Dick Turin cottage over the last seven years.Nothing had changed,it was as though time had stood still.From day one arriving in the pouring rain and being able to settle in and light a log fire was so comforting .The attention to detail the food and drink in the cottage was just delightful .We felt so at peace in this enchanted area of Shroshire.Thank you Roger.



fantastic find!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented, comfortable cottage in a wonderful location. The owners really have thought of everything, certainly deserves its 5 star status!
A little walk / drive from the pretty, sleepy village of Clun, with great views and opportunity for excellent walks / running especially if you enjoy hilly terrain.
Particularly enjoyed the welcome champagne, wine, cake and dairy products. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage for a relaxing getaway. We do hope to return in the future.




A little piece of heaven x

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner enjoyed a long weekend in the dick Turpin cottage and what can I say apart from it being perfect! A gorgeous cottage in the hills of clun with everything you could need...decorated tastefully with a real luxurious feel.... Roger the owner gives it some extra special touches.... Champagne on arrival ....milk eggs and cheese in the fridge.... A lovely cake and fresh flowers in each room. Me and my partner absolutely loved it in fact once Christmas is out the way we will be booking it again! X



A Shropshire Idyll

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dick Turpin has it all - magnificent location and outlook, stimulating and eclectic design, great space and comfort and a very warm welcome from Roger, its host. The cottage and its garden make full use of its setting on the side of a hill and the myriad pathways in the surrounding woods offer opportunities for lovely walks from outside the back door. A wonderful stay!



A small piece of paradice still exists.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely comfortable and well equipped cottage with some really luxurious touches. A simply beautiful location to get away from it all.
Your own mysterious and magical forest....... birds, nature and scenery all around.
Charming hosts who made us feel very welcome.
Thank you........We will return.......
Jeff & David




The best cottage we stayed in

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I are travelling throughout the UK and staying in holiday cottages since about 15 years. Therefore we have quite an experience in holiday cottages throughout the country. In the past we have stayed in so called luxury holiday cottages such as Premier Cottages. In terms of cosiness, usefull and functional equipment, tastefull decorations and friendliness of the owners, The Dick Turpin Cottage is unbeatable!



Dick Turpin Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage in a peaceful location with fantastic views. The host was very welcoming and the welcome pack second to none. Stayed August 2015



A real gem

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 delightful weeks in this romantic cottage. All mod cons and very comfortable. Lovely area for walking and wildlife and the locals are welcoming.



Beautiful comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dick Turpin cottage was everything we had hoped for and more. It was comfortable and clean and very well equipped and the area was so peaceful and quiet. The welcome hamper was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the cheese, wine and fruit cake :-)



Superb cottage in superb surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here regularly and never tire of it. The cottage is furnished to a high standard, with everything needed and much more! The surrounding countryside is beautiful. There are many quality places to eat in the locality. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners.



A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had an amazing time here at Dick Turpin Cottage. It was our first time here and we will most certainly be returning. From the moment we set foot in the cottage we felt at home. It was lovely seeing all of the little trinkets and ornaments - Roger and Burkhard have such great taste! It was also lovely visiting such a beautiful part of the country and going for lovely walks. Roger and Burkhard (and Bonnie) have been fantastic and friendly hosts too. Thank you so much and we hope to return soon.
Monique and Ian Turnbull




How many times have we been here now? At least 15 ....

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 years running? That must say it all, surely. But now it seems that I must stretch this out to 150 characters. OK. Now I'm down to 15 ... 8 .... Last one. That's enough. Sorry to be cheeky.



A Excellent Location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall a great place to stay for a quiet and relaxing holiday. Within the cottage however there were a couple of areas I felt could be improved. Firstly,the lounge seating was not the most comfortable and the dining area somewhat impractical. Secondly, the beds were overly hard and had a plastic lined bottom sheet which made you sweat at night. On a more positive note the welcome goodies were excellent, including champagne, wine and chocolate. We also loved the quirkiness of the decor and the cosy cottage ambience.



Roger Wren replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry that you did not feel able share the problems you experienced early on in your stay, as you know I made every effort to meet the requests you did made. May I comment as follows: 1.The firmness or not of both bedding and seating is such a personal choice and for that reason we have a huge selection of down & feather cushions for the sofa and chairs to give them a softer feel. 2. I do apologise that the housekeeper used an old type of mattress cover all our new ones are 100% cotton. 3. Not sure what you would suggest for the dining area, there is one good sized table and four chairs normally set in the corner . Some guests do prefer to move it out into the room as thee is plenty of space in the large 18.6m x 18.6m room. The dining chairs have new locally made padded seats cushions I do appreciate that you will be recommending the cottage and that overall you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Roger

Really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every detail was considered by owner; very thoughtful and well received Welcome Pack! Very well appointed and comfortable. Great location would certainly stay again.



luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful place to stay wanted for nothing. lovely welcome and so many googies left for us to enjoy. surroundings are tranquil and we relaxed very quickly. a weekend was not enough time to fully enjoy this lovely area and dick turpin cottage



A cut above - in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Dick Turpin Cottage in January 2015. I cannot say enough to praise it...... so instead, I'm going to go as far to say, this: clearly, I cannot know what you as a holidaymaker, considering going to stay at the Dick Turpin Cottage might be - interested in, worried about, or looking for......but I don't need to know - because everything is catered for.
The cottage already has every luxury you could conceivably need/think of, for a relaxing break away from it all - whatever the time of year....I kept thinking "Where's the...." only to turn around and find it before I'd completed my thought..!!...perfectly furnished kitchen - CHECK, huge bath adorned with luxurious soaps and oils - CHECK, flatscreen TVs in sitting room and bedroom - CHECK, most comfortable colossal bed I've ever slept on - CHECK, fabulous wood burning stove for cosy winters - CHECK, beautifully framed outdoor table for magical breakfasts al fresco in summer - CHECK, perfectly structured walk up the valley through fairytale landscape and picture postcard views - CHECK.....a million and one little surprises left for you by THE most thoughtful hosts on the planet - CHECK)..... But if by some unlikely, pig-flies-by miracle, you find yourself, or your holiday in any way lacking - your hosts will move heaven and earth to fix it for you. I challenge you to find such occasion to call on them though! Simply : it's a cottage that could not be more - by hosts that could not do more...and in a beautiful part of the world to boot. We were very lucky to have had the pleasure.




perfect place

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the stay, as close to perfect as you can find!
Every little detail was there in the cottage, and Roger was prompt in any support requests.
Highly recommend for a charming escape!




Return to Dick Turpin Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed at Dick Turpin Cottage in May 2014 and returned in October 2014 because we loved it so much. We will return again next year.We have recommended it to all our friends.



Exceptional holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both thought that the Dick Turpin Cottage was an exceptionally good holiday cottage. Burkhard was very friendly and helpful. The cottage is amazingly well-equipped and is quite large for a 1-bedroom house. It's finished to a very high standard and is full of quirky touches (a clock from a Russian nuclear submarine graces the bathroom, for instance!). The surrounding Shropshire and Welsh countryside is very hilly and beautiful.



Dick Turpin Cottage-but highway robbery it certainly ain't!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I live in Australia and have stayed at the Dick Turpin Cottage three times in the last four years. We didn't come to the UK in 2013 else it would have been four from four. The cottage is a delight. Furnishings are quality and comfortable and the cottage is very well appointed for self caterers. Unusually the kitchen has a large fridge and freezer, dishwasher, microwave oven and induction cooktop and wonderfully robust pots and pans. There is also a washing machine in a separate room. The setting of the cottage is superb and the views are magnificent. Roger Wren, the owner, is a charming man and has made sure that virtually everything you might need is available. On arrival you'll find the cottage is impeccable with masses of fresh flowers and a few. actually more than a few, welcoming treats. I can't recall anywhere else we have stayed where so much effort has gone into making arriving guests feel super special. The bedroom is spacious with a very comfortable bed and with decor that is- well, hard to describe- but very fitting and very unusual. My wife thinks sleeping in the bedroom is like sleeping in a jewellery box. The bathroom is also very spacious with a full length bath and a shower that you could get lost in. Overall the Dick Turpin Cottage is a remarkably comfortable and delightful base from which to explore and enjoy the rolling Shropshire countryside.



Interesting holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our week's stay in August was extremely pleasant. You definitely need transport as the cottage is quite remote and you need to travel some distance to sightsee. This is an idyllic location and very peaceful. The cottage is quite zany/unusual with plenty of quirky features/objects. Whilst everything has been thought of in a generous manner including a lovely hamper we found the lounge chairs a little uncomfortable and unsupportive for our worn out bodies! The bed was comfortable and large but the plastic coated mattress protector was disappointing. I'm sure this may have been changed if requested to be fair but since the weather was not hot we decided not to complain. We enjoyed our stay and particularly liked the spaciousness of the property and the plentiful hot water/heating, the useful extras, but sadly never got around to using the built in hi fi system in all the rooms. The two large televisions were appreciated as were the abundance of flowers and orchids. We are looking forward to a return visit.



Roger Wren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments, my profuse apologies for having to travel north urgently to visit my friend diagnosed with terminal cancer. I do wish you have been able to use the direct link telephone from the cottage to my mobile so I could have had the bedding altered to your personal requirements. The housekeeper lives very close and we could have dealt with any requests very promptly. Delighted you are thinking of a return visit Best wishes Roger

One of the best cottages we have stayed in

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a very peaceful and relaxing location. It is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owner is very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Items of food to welcome guests were good. Fresh flowers in cottage each week were an extra special touch.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. The owners are very friendly. Have been there twice and planning to go back next year. We found everything there that you could possibly need to start your holiday. Milk, butter eggs, bread to name just a few things plus a bottle of wine and champagne. It is one of the most beautiful settings and so many places of interest to visit not far away or even just to sit in the garden and look at the views. Fantastic.




Superb rural retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited this cottage 8 times now, and every year we value the peace and quiet, the lovely countryside, the wide range of quality places to eat in the area and the friendliness and welcome of the owners. We will be back in 2015!



A real treat ...

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
... to find a cottage for two furnished like a real home with so much care and style. And in such a fantastic location - lots to do and see, or equally good to stay in and relax.



Wonderful week in a beautiful part of England

Review submitted on Fri, 16 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage in a beautiful part of England. The cottage grounds are extensive and guests are free to wander at will. The owner is most hospitable.



Chilling Out

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome when we arrived. Lots of nice little touches e.g. Wine, chocolate, flowers. A very quiet location for just chilling out! Plenty of walks within a few minutes drive. Local scenery lovely.



A perfect few days

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite coming during some awful floods we had an amazing time. Such a relaxing place. Would definitely recommend and come back to in the future. Set in a beautiful location and close to charming towns and villages



Charming cottage break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So today we left this lovely cottage just outside of the small village of Clun in the Shropshire countryside. Myself and my other half were there for a 6 night stint and I have to say that everything was absolutely as described. The owner was extremely happy to help with any and every query we had (but also didn't intrude on us in any way)- with us safe in the knowledge that he was just a phone call away if we needed him. Both of us were hit by the luxury, the "five-star" nature of the place- the recently refitted kitchen and plush bedding, beautiful shower room.... Even the "welcome pack" was more than the usual "bread, eggs, milk" combo that I've received before in similar situations; this contained farm-fresh eggs from the local farm shop, fresh bread, freshly made fruit cake, champagne, red wine- even a bottle of bourbon to help ourselves to if we so wished. The log fire was beautiful- bigger than expected!- and we could help ourselves to as much wood from the well-stocked, pre-chopped woodpile directly under us as we needed. There are vast fields of plush, green Shropshire countryside on all sides, providing an absolutely gorgeous backdrop. We intend to visit again in the summer months in order to fully take advantage of its location (warning- lots of hills! Wellington boots a must). The lovely owner even bought us a little gift on Christmas day (again, left outside our door so as not to disturb us)- what a nice touch! These people really care about providing a quality service. The only thing that I would warn you of is that the actual village itself is a mile away from the cottage, but a long mile it seems- up a large hill, on a road with no pavement. It does have two lovely pubs and a small village shop with basic groceries but if you want a bigger shop then the next big towns are 20+ miles on any side, so make sure you know where you're going/have plenty of time to spare (we got lost). Please don't let that bother you though. I urge you to visit if you can! 5 star!

Gill & Thomas, 29.12.13




Our fourth stay at this Romantic Retreat.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to 'get away from it all' this wonderful cottage is for you.
Guests continually return regularly, a glance through the Visitors Book, show repeat visits of up to 14! Need we say more?
The proprietor Roger Wren is very attentive, yet not overly so. The cottage is large, warm, isolated and yet not too far from 'civilisation'
Technically it is very advanced, not only with wifi/ broadband connection but also an internet radio ,iPod and the Brennan music system is wired into the Lin system giving music in the living room,bedroom and bathroom.
There was no mobile signal for my smart phone (O2) but there is a land line - but who needs outside contact here???




Overall, a lovely cottage in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at the cottage, although the weather wasn't great. We loved the setting and location of the cottage, although it would have been nice to have a clear view from the window - there was a tree that blocks the possible superb view.

The only other point to mention, which might not bother other people, is that the settee was extremely uncomfortable. Having spent great days walking and visiting many villages, you want to be able to go back to the cottage and put your feet up and relax. The settee is low backed and not relaxing at all - you certainly could not fall asleep on it!

These would be the only 2 things I would change and then it would be all round excellent.

The owners are very friendly and perfect hosts.




Roger Wren replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your comments. Dealing with the two problems firstly the tree surgeons are here in November as usual and they will open up the view again. Secondly, I take on board your opinion about the firmness of the settee which as you say is a matter of personal taste. It is in fact a custom made sofa bed 1m x 2m with lots of down filled cushions available. If you mentioned the problem I could have helped as we also have extra "toppers" , as with the pillows and mattress for the bed we try to have a wide selection to suit our guests individual requirements However I will ensure that during our regular winter refurbishments we address this matter. We had already planned to replace the armchairs with special recliner chairs which claim to be "the most super comfortable easy chairs" I want to do all I can to make your next stay 100% perfect. Roger