FB Twitter

Goldcrest Lodge

Goldcrest Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


Occupancy: 2 person

Named after the UK’s smallest bird, Goldcrest Lodge is our brand new lodge that has space for two guests and accepts 1 and 2 night bookings!

Upon entering through the oak door you will find yourself in the spacious bedroom/living room with its sumptuous Extra King bed (1.95m/6’3″ long!), which can also be prepared as two generous single beds (3’0″ wide). There is a Freesat TV, Fibre Broadband Wi-Fi and board games. Meals can be taken at the drop-leaf table or on the covered porch.

Off the main room there is a fully equipped kitchen, which has a double electric oven with hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge, washer drier and all the essential utensils.

The ensuite shower room has a spacious shower, wc, electric heated towel rail, hand basin and an illuminated mirror with shaver socket.

At the front of the lodge, the covered porch is perfect for sitting out in all weathers offering shelter and shade. There is ample space round the lodge to enjoy outdoor living, with additional seating and a BBQ station.

Goldcrest Lodge caters for the outdoor lover with cycle storage and wash down station for both bikes and four-legged friends.

You can hire a BBQ, which comes with a pack of charcoal, for £30. Dogs are welcome in Goldcrest Lodge for £35 each.

Goldcrest has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests. It is the only lodge that will accept 1 or 2 night bookings!

Goldcrest Lodge is the perfect way to experience Mill Meadow on a budget, or when time is limited.

Our Favourite place for a weekend away!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I returned to Goldcrest Lodge after our fabulous visit last year and it was just as good. Our host was so accommodating and made our visit so special. As we were celebrating my birthday Suzanne had birthday bunting hung outside to welcome us and lots of goodies in the kitchen! Her homemade flapjack was waiting for us again which was such a welcome treat! The beds were so comfortable, every area spotless, all amenities to hand - the perfect place for my sister and I to relax, drink lots of wine, go on country walks and just feel like we were properly away for the weekend. We will be back again - thank you so much!



Mill Meadow replied 24 days ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to Goldcrest Lodge for another short break together. Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback which will be of great value to our future guests. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Suzanne and Chris

A hidden gem that makes you realise Somerset is not all about cider!!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Travelling from the NW we knew it would take a while to navigate our way along the motorway network, but it was very well worth the effort. Mill Meadow is an oasis of calm in the busy world and 3 nights in Goldcrest Lodge meant I was ready to launch myself back into my teaching life! From the minute we arrived we were looked after superbly by our hosts Suzanne and Chris. Nothing was too much trouble and clearly they have put their heart and soul into the lodges and the surrounding landscape.
I have not slept in a more comfortable bed and all the fixtures and fittings were carefully selected and so clean, everything seemed brand new. The hot tub was an extra relaxation after a long walk-do not miss Cothelstone Hill (Seven Sisters) and the wonderful views. Definitely a ‘wow’ moment.
Thank you Chris, Suzanne and Joe for creating such environmentally friendly 5* luxury and you should experience it for yourselves.




Mill Meadow replied 62 days ago
Wow, that an amazing review you have left us, it makes us feel very proud! We are delighted you loved the lodge and were able to enjoy the beauty that surrounds us here at Mill Meadow and the Quantock Hills. We are a great stop over for our guests who live a long way from the West Country and as Goldcrest Lodge can be booked by the night it's perfect. We hope you will venture this way in 2020, when you will receive the same warm and friendly welcome. Best wishes to you both.

Perfect place to relax

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would like to thank all the staff, we had an amazing time!
Also, it's a pet-friendly place. My little Yorkshire terrier enjoyed the stay.




Mill Meadow replied 62 days ago
It was lovely to meet you both and get to have a cuddle with your little dog. We are so pleased you enjoyed the lodge and we hope you will hurry back to Mill Meadow one day.

What a gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place to get away to. Thoughtful hosts, peaceful location and the most comfortable stay. The attention to detail was great.



Mill Meadow replied 68 days ago
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us for such a lovely occasion even though you are only a few minutes drive from us! We are so pleased Goldcrest Lodge meet your expectations and we hope you will visit us again soon. Best wishes to you both.

Ideal cottage for two

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest is an ideal cottage for two, with everything you might need for a stay of any duration. The accommodation is located in a cluster of larger properties, only a short drive from Taunton. Plenty of scope for walking and more. I would certainly return, not just for the cricket but perhaps on my way further West.



Place to relax.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to relax and chill out. The area is so beautiful and there are many places to visit of interest. Will be returning when the opportunity arises.



Mill Meadow replied 126 days ago
Thank you so much for staying with us at Goldcrest Lodge, it was super to meet you both and hear how you visited so many places during you stay. Great to hear you hope to return to Mill Meadow and we will look forward to catching up once again.

A perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was exactly what we were looking for and it delivered as promised. Clean, warm, well-maintained, comfortable and with very good facilities, it was perfect for a couple of days' break whilst seeing some friends just up the road. We were very well looked after and it is a very quiet place to relax. It was also a huge bonus being able to bring the dog with us (plenty of room inside for his bed etc.) and not having to stay for at least three nights. Thank you.



Mill Meadow replied 172 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review for our Book by the Night lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable bring your gorgeous dog too! We hope to see you all again in the future.

Rare werk away

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most pleasant location with great facilities in the lodge and nice local amenities, in easy reach of a major town.



Spring wedding weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend stay at pretty Goldcrest lodge We were attending a wedding at nearby Hestercombe Park and it was an ideal location. The lodge is compact and cute with a very large and comfortable double bed ,separate kitchen and bathroom with a large shower. It has every facility and comfort for a break in the beautiful Somerset countryside.
Linda and Ray from Liverpool




Mill Meadow replied 215 days ago
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback for our smallest lodge! we are so pleased you found it ideal to stay for the wedding weekend and we certainly are nice and close to Hestercombe Gardens, such a lovely venue to marry. Happy Easter to you both.

A short break at Goldcrest Lodge, Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Goldcrest and was sad to leave.
Everything I needed was provided and the use of a washer/dryer within the lodge was invaluable when you are walking and cycling.
Suzanne the housekeeper was very attentive and informative without being intrusive.
I would happily return next year.




Wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband stayed there on our wedding night! Amazing.. they go above and beyond to make sure your happy!

I would go again and highly recommend them!

Thank you so much for making it a night to Remeber for your wedding night.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely timber lodge set in a wooded area next to a beautiful lake, lots of lovely walks nearby. Very peaceful



Half way house

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This chalet is perfect in every way and provided a very cosy half way house on my way to Cornwall. Ideal for me and my dog. Very high standard of decor and cleanliness. Loved the homemade flapjacks.



Great place!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for one night for a wedding nearby. Very clean and nice lodge with very helpful staff - thanks!



Goldcrest Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest Lodge is fairly new to Mill Meadow and was a lovely lodge, very nice interior and definitely a nice place for a short break.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and will defiantly be returning again the only thing we missed this time was a hot tub as we have always had one when we stayed before. Have already recommended to several of our friends.



Lovely cosy cabin

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding party so didn’t get to explore the local area. However the cabin itself is lovely! Has everything you need and the bed is very comfy