FB Twitter

Goldcrest Lodge

Goldcrest Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 61 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Occupancy: 2 person

Named after the UK’s smallest bird, Goldcrest Lodge is our brand new lodge that has space for two guests and accepts 1 and 2 night bookings!

Upon entering through the oak door you will find yourself in the spacious bedroom/living room with its sumptuous Extra King bed (1.95m/6’3″ long!), which can also be prepared as two generous single beds (3’0″ wide). There is a Freesat TV, Fibre Broadband Wi-Fi and board games. Meals can be taken at the drop-leaf table or on the covered porch.

Off the main room there is a fully equipped kitchen, which has a double electric oven with hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge, washer drier and all the essential utensils.

The ensuite shower room has a spacious shower, wc, electric heated towel rail, hand basin and an illuminated mirror with shaver socket.

At the front of the lodge, the covered porch is perfect for sitting out in all weathers offering shelter and shade. There is ample space round the lodge to enjoy outdoor living, with additional seating and a BBQ station.

Goldcrest Lodge caters for the outdoor lover with cycle storage and wash down station for both bikes and four-legged friends.

You can hire a BBQ, which comes with a pack of charcoal, for £30. Dogs are welcome in Goldcrest Lodge for £35 each.

Goldcrest has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests. It is the only lodge that will accept 1 or 2 night bookings!

Goldcrest Lodge is the perfect way to experience Mill Meadow on a budget, or when time is limited.

3 Night Getaway - Goldcrest Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect getaway for a few nights - lovely lodge with personal touches (homemade flapjacks, tea, coffee, sugar, milk and local apple juice/cider provided).
Chris and Suzanne were very helpful on keeping us up to date with the check-in and check-out procedures regarding the Covid protocols currently in place.
Suzanne recommended the local pub (The Swan) which is a 10 minute walk and serves lovely hot food with very friendly staff.
Would highly recommend for a relaxing peaceful getaway.




Lovely mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the cabin and the bed was very comfy!
The hot tub was a lovely extra and even though this cabin is next to the main entrance gate on the site, it still felt private as we were behind fencing.

We would highly recommend staying here. We chose to stay on site for our whole trip but would suggest planning days out if you were to stay any longer than us.




Gold crest lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge great site only downfall too remote from essentials too close to busy roads Not safe for pedestrians .suzanne and Chris were lovely hosts loved the hot tub and enjoyed sitting by the lake watching the fish jumping .



Minimoon relax!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little lodge in peaceful surroundings for the first couple of nights of our minimoon. Just what we needed post wedding! A few nice personal touches from the owners as well. Highly recommended accommodation. All the best.



Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my nieces wedding so we needed a place to dress, relax and sleep at night. It was quiet and relaxing without the formality of a hotel - the wooden cabins were atmospheric, but importantly in great condition and very clean.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Millmeadow was the perfect getaway from our hectic lives and really allowed us to relax and enjoy a few days of quiet. The location is absolutely beautiful and the lodge was perfect for the two of us. Chris and Suzanne are nothing but helpful and I would highly recommend staying here to anyone. We will definitely be returning in the future



Professional, high-quality, attention-to-detail.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest Lodge is so beautifully decorated, and the attention to detail is wonderful: I particularly enjoyed the beautiful bedding, quality interior lighting and British bird-themed decor. I swear the kitchen is better equipped than what I have at home, and they even welcome you with home-made flapjacks. The little TV is an improvement on what you get in most hotels: it is wall-mounted and rotates towards you, so we could indulge in the guilty pleasure of watching a movie on Netflix in bed with the screen right in front of us!

The location is very handy for Taunton town and we wish we had taken the opportunity to go on more local walks and travel further into the countryside... but you can't do everything! We did walk to the local pub (The Swan) one evening, which was charming.

Even though Goldcrest is quite near the main site entrance, it feels private thanks to the outdoor willow screens. These also completely hide the hot-tub from anyone walking past, so we could chill in our swimming costumes without worry.

Goldcrest is the only lodge for two people, all the others are designed for bigger groups, and I'd love to try and stay in one of the larger ones in future as they look stunning as you walk past. The whole site is incredibly peaceful, including the lake, bee hives, summer house etc.

It feels like you are guaranteed a good quality experience at Mill-Meadow, with attention to every detail possible and a lovely modern Somerset feel. We are planning to return as soon as we can!




Mill Meadow replied 24 days ago
Wow, what amazing detailed feedback, your comments are so wonderful and will be incredibly helpful to anyone planning a short break just for two! We so delighted you both had a great time with us and also watched TV in bed! you can do all kinds of things at Mill Meadow and we hope you will visit in a different season to experience another aspect of Mil Meadow life. Best wishes to you both.

Lovely little lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest is a lovely little lodge ideal for two people. Our daughter, new son-in-law and their dachund enjoyed their stay after their wedding. A great place to relax and enjoy the hot tub. Suzanne surprised them by putting a 'just married' banner on the outside of the lodge, which was so kind of her.



Mill Meadow replied 24 days ago
It has been such fun having so many bride and grooms use Goldcrest Lodge following their wedding! We are delighted your family finally got to see Kingston St Mary where your new son-in-law grew up and the wedding weekend was simply perfect. Thank you so much.

Peaceful, friendly, great location!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a really nice spot, which manages to feel remote and deep in the countryside but is in fact very easily accessible. There were some minor hiccups with our check-in process, but otherwise this place is highly recommended!



Mill Meadow replied 37 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill Meadow, we are sorry you experienced some issues on arrival but we are very grateful for your kind comments. Best wishes.

Tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent peaceful setting, committed staff, well equipped, wonderful stay.
Thank you Chris and Suzanne for all help and advice.




Mill Meadow replied 49 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback to hear you describe Mill Meadow as "Tranquil" is so important to us. We hope you will be able to visit in another season. Best wishes.

Mill Meadow Magic

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have lost track of the times my family have stayed here. It is a jewel in the Somerset countryside. Our hosts Chris and Suzanne are ever attentive and professional. GoldCrest is the smallest lodge but still fabulously equipped with space for a Queen bed and a welcoming hot tub alongside. A spacious covered terrace area provides sanctuary for dining out in all weathers. A must stay experience for anyone wishing to recharge their batteries.



Mill Meadow replied 37 days ago
We have counted and this was your 6th stay with us and your first in Goldcrest Lodge, we are delighted you enjoyed staying in our smallest lodge and are very grateful for your generous feedback, it is always and pleasure to welcome you both and your comments will help other guests plan they stay. We are looking forward to your daughter arriving this autumn. Please keep spreading the word about us and we know you will return again. Best wishes to you and the family.

Short stay in the Quantocks area

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property with a hot tub, great staff and responded quickly to our only minor problem with the tv signal.



Mill Meadow replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you kind comments. Best wishes.

Would 100% Recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot wait to bring the whole family down see you again in september what an amazing place and everyome was so friendly too very rare find x



Mill Meadow replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you in September. Best wishes.

Amazing lodges, perfect hosts.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay! We booked 5 of the lodges at Mill Meadow for our friends and family over our wedding weekend.
From booking through to check out Suzanne and Chris went over and above and exceeded all our expectations. Mill Meadow truly is a special place for any occasion. The welcome to the lodges was amazing and each one finished to a high standard with everything you could possibly need. We would certainly recommend staying at Mill Meadow and will be booking a return stay for sure.




Mill Meadow replied 37 days ago
Once again thank you for choosing Mill Meadow and for being the perfect wedding group. Best wishes for the future.

Superb weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely recommend Mill Meadow. Although we only went for the fishing, there is plenty around the area i.e. walks, places to visit. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the hospitality was excellent. Suzanne and Chris made us very welcome. The lodge was perfect and well equipped. We had never been in a hot tub before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We will most certainly visit again. The lake was well stocked with all types of fish and my husband caught quite a lot, unfortunately he didn't manage to catch any carp, they were not interested, but were happy with what we did catch. Well done again to Mill Meadow for your hospitality.



Mill Meadow replied 80 days ago
Thank you so much for the kind and generous comments following your mini break with us, we hope the carp will be more willing to meet you on your next visit to Mill Meadow. Best wishes to you both.

Just what was needed

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a brilliant time at Mill Meadow and Goldcrest Lodge. We stayed for a long weekend and couldn’t have asked for more. The lodge was spotless and cosy with the added bonus of the hotub which was ready for us to use on arrival. There was a slight problem with the control on the hot tub which Chris was already aware of and when we needed help putting it on, despite being away himself, he sent someone along to help instantly. The lodge was spotless and comfortable with everything you could need for a long weekend (we used the kitchen for breakfast but ate out otherwise). A nice touch was the welcome pack which included details of local walks.... we chose one that visited the Swan pub which is also well worth the visit for their lovely home cooked food or just a drink in their big beer garden on a nice day. If your looking for a quiet weekend away in a lovely setting with everything you could need or want within walking distance or a short drive away (with the added bonus of a hot tub), goldcrest lodge at mill meadow is the place to stay!!



Mill Meadow replied 111 days ago
Wow, what wonderful comments we really appreciate your kindness with this feedback. It will certainly help other guests. Glad you tried The Swan and enjoyed the hospitality there. Please let everyone know about us and the special time you both had at Mill Meadow. Best wishes.

Lovely peaceful place for our overnight stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean peaceful pretty lodge for two. Very comfortable and secure.
Well maintained and well informed about our stay from start to finish.




Mill Meadow replied 111 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your comments for us. We hope you may visit again in the future. Best wishes.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite only living 20 mins away, this was a great getaway. Lovely lodge, great location and a 10 min walk to the local. Great contact with the owners meant that all Covid stuff was clear & sorted beforehand. Lodge was lovely, clean & quiet. Will definitely be back.



Mill Meadow replied 119 days ago
We really enjoy welcoming local guests, such an honour. Thank you so much for your brilliant feedback and we hope to see you again in the future, best wishes.

Rest and Relax

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a wonderful time away for a couple of nights, from the moment we booked it until the moment we left the service and hospitality has been amazing from Chris and Suzanne, what a beautiful lodge set in a peaceful and tranquil setting can't fault a thing, the site is well maintained and clean also the lodge is perfect to.

Thank you for a lovely time away and we will hope to see you guys again soon.

Would highly recommend for anyone looking to escape the madness of the outside world and allow yourself to relax in the beautiful setting of Mill Meadow ☺️




Mill Meadow replied 133 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your mini break at Goldcrest Lodge. We hope to see you both in the future. Best wishes.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn’t have asked more from our stay at goldcrest lodge! Luxury accommodation, excellent customer service and our dog could even join us too!



We loved our stay at beautiful Mill Meadow and hope to come back soon.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge in beautiful surroundings! Great set up - everything you need for a relaxing break. Hot tub under the stars was a real treat. Warm and cosy inside with great attention to detail. Small but perfectly formed. Kitchen really well equipped and great shower. Easy check in and lovely welcome pack- there were home made flapjacks with milk, local apple juice and cider in fridge. Our golden retriever Stanley was welcomed too and there were lovely walks from the lodge. Thank you. We hope to come back soon!



Amazing place for a weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Goldcrest Lodge at Mill Meadow. The accommodation was the perfect size for the two of us plus labrador. All the facilities were superb and it was such a treat having our own hot tub! Mill Meadow is in the perfect location, we were able to get takeaways delivered from Taunton, beautiful walks in the Quantocks were just a short drive away and the village pub, just a 15 minute walk away served delicious food with great service. Would definitely recommend and we hope to visit again!



Mill Meadow replied 297 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderfully positive and expressive review. So pleased to know Goldcrest Lodge ticked your boxes. Head back to Mill Meadow soon. Stay safe and best wishes.

A wonderful weekend retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend away. Clean and cosy. Beautiful surroundings. Staff are friendly. We took our dog and she loved every moment. We would most definitely go back.



Mill Meadow replied 312 days ago
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are so pleased your mini break was enjoyed by you both and your lovely dog. Stay safe and best wishes.

Goldcrest Lodge Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely couple of nights in Goldcrest Lodge at Mill Meadow. The lodge itself is quite compact but very comfortable, cosy and well equipped. The hot tub and Netflix were an added bonus. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Little touches like the homemade flapjacks on arrival and milk and local cider in the fridge made all the difference from other similar places I’ve stayed.
We were staying to visit family in the local area and the site is very well located for Taunton and the Quantocks. Although the lodge is near the entrance to the site and near the road (more a country lane) it was really quiet and peaceful and there was no traffic noise at night. The site is gated which added to the sense of safety and privacy.
The welcome and overall customer service we got from the owners was wonderful, they are super helpful and friendly. Perhaps most importantly at the moment they are going to great lengths to follow Covid secure guidelines and provide a safe stay.
I would definitely stay here again.




Couldn't list one fault with Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was fabulous from the service to the cleanliness to the value for money, such a lovely couple and you feel like you're being welcomed into their home with open arms. Covid policies all very up to date and easy to follow.



Fabulous 4 nights away

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was everything we hoped for and more and especially loved our late night Jacuzzis
Suzanne and Chris were great hosts and very friendly, especially loved our welcome pack which included delicious homemade flapjacks and local cider.
We will definitely be recommending to others.




Mill Meadow replied 324 days ago
Thank you for choosing Goldcrest Lodge and especially for your very positive feedback following your time with us. We hope you will choose to visit again, maybe in another season. Stay safe and best wishes.

The Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Sunday evening to a warm glow lighting the way t9 the lodge. On opening the door we were delighted to find a clean delightful little haven that allowed our two dogs to stay. The lodge was pristine that had thought of everything even down to the most amazing flapjacks ever! Outside there was a barbecue area and a hot tub tucked away.
The next morning we awoke to discover that the local area lended itself to some beautiful walks with amazing views and scenery, and just a car ride away from the coast. All in all a fantastic stay and we are looking forward to revisiting soon.




Mill Meadow replied 337 days ago
Thank you so much for the super comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed Goldcrest and found the local area and beyond ticked the boxes for you all. We would really love you to return one day maybe in another season. Stay safe and best wishes to you both.

The best little getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved our stay at mill meadow. We stayed in the goldcrest lodge which sleeps 2. The lodge is very cosy and you have all the amenities and facilities you require. The king size bed was so comfortable and it was lovely being able to relax in bed watching TV in the mornings. Such a great location with a lot of things to do surrounding the area. The hot tub was the best part of the trip for us being able to relax with some drinks. The staff were super friendly and always on hand if we needed anything. We will definitely be returning for sure!



Short Stay stop over to Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stopover place to relax and unwind after travelling from North of England to Cornwall
The hot tub was an added relaxation.
The Lodge was ready for us when we arrived and we would certainly stay with Mill Meadow again
Chris & Suzanne were available if we had any queries and were the perfect hosts




Great stay at Millmeadow

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Goldcrest for a 2 night break for my husbands 40th mid September. It’s a cute little gingerbread style lodge and is very cosy!
We booked a massage and a facial at the lodge and made the most of the hot tub.
The only very minor downside is that not many pubs and restaurants are within walking distance (just the 1 actually) and you need to drive into town to eat or drink somewhere different.
Other than that an amazing place with a fishing lake a few steps away with lots of fields and country walks to enjoy




Mill Meadow replied 351 days ago
We are so pleased you liked Goldcrest Lodge and enjoyed your time with us for your birthday celebrations. Your feedback is gratefully received. Please consider staying with us in the future, best wishes.

Small but perfectly appointed

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, well equipped, wish we could have stayed longer. What’s not to like ?! Mill meadow always delivers. We’ll be back. Thanks again.



Mill Meadow replied 351 days ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcoming you both again one day. Stay safe and well, best wishes.

A short break

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, quiet, secluded spot. We stayed in the smallest of lodges available. Just one room, kitchen and bathroom. There was a lovely hot tub. We had a great weekend. Only criticism if I was nit picking is the walk from lodge to hot tub. As the lodge is right on the entrance to resort you feel a bit exposed. But that was no big problem.
If staying here it would be worth noting that there are no local amenities, nearest pub a ten min walk (lovely walk through the field) but there is no shop. So make sure you take all you need with you




Mill Meadow replied 351 days ago
Thank you for your kind and generous comments and for choosing Mill Meadow for your short break, we are so pleased you both had a good time. Stay safe and well and best wishes to you both.

Frequently Returning customers

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love goldcrest lodge. We stayed here for our anniversary, and where my partner proposed. We returned almost a year later for a romantic getaway after spending lockdown with 2 small children (we left them with nanny!).
The lodge, as always, was beautifully clean, warm and welcoming. With beautiful little touches in the fridge.
The bed and duvet is so so so comfy we want one at home.
Sadly the hot tub did not get up to temperature on the first day, so we did loose a day's use. But it was lovely and warm on the Sunday.
Unfortunately due to the current covid situation our little break came to an abrupt end on leaving morning.
We had to be up by 8.30. to strip the bed (something very difficult for someone with a disability who has to pay someone to do this at home) and to sort the recycling. I am hoping as soon as covid restrictions ease things will revert back to normal, as I hate to say anything negative about this beautiful place and it's wonderful owners.
We will certainly be back again next year.




Mill Meadow replied 351 days ago
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we are pleased you returned for another mini break with us but sorry to hear some of our Covid compliance processes were difficult for you, had we known we would have been very happy to accommodate your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021.

Fantastic stay at Goldcrest

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first post lockdown holiday was just perfect thanks to the whole team at Mill Meadow, we couldn’t of been made to feel more welcome. From welcome calls and texts to ensure a smooth contactless check in, to responsive emails and home baked treats and local produce to greet us at the lodge when we arrived. The location is gorgeous too and the lodge had everything we needed including a hot tub and bbq, which made for the perfect weekend getaway.



Friendly and efficient staff. Gorgeous lodges in a peaceful setting! Highly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just want to say a huge thank you for making my Dads 60th a special one. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay. They highly recommend a stay at the Mill View.
I would also like to thank you for making the booking process easy, you have been super friendly from the beginning.
Thanks again!




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a lovely short break in the Goldcrest lodge at Mill Meadow. The hosts Chris & Suzanne couldn’t have been more welcoming and were always on hand to assist with any enquiries. We were thoroughly impressed with everything they have put in place to make the lodge clean and safe in the current Covid climate and would love to return soon!



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us in Goldcrest Lodge. Please hurry back and kind regards to you both.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice cottage suitable for couples. The owners are very polite and welcoming and the location is wonderful.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to add some comments following your short stay with us, we hope you will stay longer next time. Kind regards to you both.

Exceeded all expectation. Incredible customer service from staff, nothing too much trouble.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment I arrived it was evident that the owners wanted me to have the best possible experience with a sensitive personal touch in many ways. The lodge and hot tub were beyond expectation, very clean, equipped with everything needed and luxurious. The information shared about walks, bike rides, restaurants and places to visit was perfect and the sharing of home produce was fun and delicious. I can’t wait to get back - feel home sick already. Have recommended to numerous other people since I returned and the only complaint is that the facilities are unavailable and fully booked. Thank you all so much for making it a fantastic 4 nights - wish I’d booked for longer.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
How wonderful to receive such fantastic comments from you, we are so happy we ticked the boxes for you and we know your kind words will help others when choosing a holiday with us. We hope you will return soon to make some more Mill Meadow Memories. Best wishes to you both.

Visiting family in Somerset

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our daughter and family have been staying in Somerset with her in-laws during the lockdown. We stayed in Goldcrest Lodge which was twenty minutes away from them. The Lodge whilst compact had everything we needed during our six night stay. We spent most of the time out with family, but looked forward to returning to the comfortable lodge in the evenings. We used the BBQ one evening which was provided free with excellent local charcoal.
The staff at Mill Meadow were very friendly and attentive. A great location for a quiet break.




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We think Goldcrest Lodge is ideal for guests such as yourselves who were visiting family in the area. We enjoyed meeting you both and wish you best wishes.

Well

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well equipped self contained lodge. Even has a bike store! Peaceful location and able to appreciate nature as lake on site. Covid compliance procedures made us feel very safe and staff very helpful.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and we are delighted you were able to explore our lovely county on your bikes while staying at Goldcrest Lodge. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to see ing you both in the future, best wishes.

amazing get away

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 3rd time returning to mill meadow and I absolutely love it more and more each time. Made to feel so welcome when arrive and the home made flapjacks are a lovely touch. Highly recommend. Already looking at booking my 4th visit xx



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for being a returning guest, it was a pleasure to have you with stay and we are so pleased you enjoyed Goldcrest Lodge for this visit. We look forward to helping you plan your next! Best wishes.

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend Mill Meadow. It’s home from home arriving with freshly made treats and a few essentials in the fridge and cupboards. It was my partners 30th and they had placed a birthday banner up with a card and a bottle of bubbly. They were happy to help and very friendly. The lodge was spotless, considering it’s dog friendly I wouldn’t of ever said pets have been inside. We are very happy with our stay and would definitely return.



Two night stay at Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Goldcrest Lodge for two nights and was made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The lodge was warm, homely, cosy, clean and comfortable and had everything we could possibly need, the homemade flapjacks were very welcome after our drive down and added a more personal touch. Our stay included use of the hot tub and was excellent value for money. Would definitely go back, hopefully in the summer.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, it is such a pleasure to read your wonderful review and know you have valued our approach to customer service and enjoyed Goldcrest Lodge. It will be great to welcome you both back in 2020. Happy New Year to you both.

Very good

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good very good very good very good very good very good very good very good



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
We are very, very, very pleased Goldcrest Lodge ticked the boxes for you, thank you for choosing to stay at Mill Meadow and hurry back.

Our Favourite place for a weekend away!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I returned to Goldcrest Lodge after our fabulous visit last year and it was just as good. Our host was so accommodating and made our visit so special. As we were celebrating my birthday Suzanne had birthday bunting hung outside to welcome us and lots of goodies in the kitchen! Her homemade flapjack was waiting for us again which was such a welcome treat! The beds were so comfortable, every area spotless, all amenities to hand - the perfect place for my sister and I to relax, drink lots of wine, go on country walks and just feel like we were properly away for the weekend. We will be back again - thank you so much!



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to Goldcrest Lodge for another short break together. Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback which will be of great value to our future guests. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Suzanne and Chris

A hidden gem that makes you realise Somerset is not all about cider!!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Travelling from the NW we knew it would take a while to navigate our way along the motorway network, but it was very well worth the effort. Mill Meadow is an oasis of calm in the busy world and 3 nights in Goldcrest Lodge meant I was ready to launch myself back into my teaching life! From the minute we arrived we were looked after superbly by our hosts Suzanne and Chris. Nothing was too much trouble and clearly they have put their heart and soul into the lodges and the surrounding landscape.
I have not slept in a more comfortable bed and all the fixtures and fittings were carefully selected and so clean, everything seemed brand new. The hot tub was an extra relaxation after a long walk-do not miss Cothelstone Hill (Seven Sisters) and the wonderful views. Definitely a ‘wow’ moment.
Thank you Chris, Suzanne and Joe for creating such environmentally friendly 5* luxury and you should experience it for yourselves.




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, that an amazing review you have left us, it makes us feel very proud! We are delighted you loved the lodge and were able to enjoy the beauty that surrounds us here at Mill Meadow and the Quantock Hills. We are a great stop over for our guests who live a long way from the West Country and as Goldcrest Lodge can be booked by the night it's perfect. We hope you will venture this way in 2020, when you will receive the same warm and friendly welcome. Best wishes to you both.

Perfect place to relax

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would like to thank all the staff, we had an amazing time!
Also, it's a pet-friendly place. My little Yorkshire terrier enjoyed the stay.




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both and get to have a cuddle with your little dog. We are so pleased you enjoyed the lodge and we hope you will hurry back to Mill Meadow one day.

What a gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place to get away to. Thoughtful hosts, peaceful location and the most comfortable stay. The attention to detail was great.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us for such a lovely occasion even though you are only a few minutes drive from us! We are so pleased Goldcrest Lodge meet your expectations and we hope you will visit us again soon. Best wishes to you both.

Ideal cottage for two

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest is an ideal cottage for two, with everything you might need for a stay of any duration. The accommodation is located in a cluster of larger properties, only a short drive from Taunton. Plenty of scope for walking and more. I would certainly return, not just for the cricket but perhaps on my way further West.



Place to relax.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to relax and chill out. The area is so beautiful and there are many places to visit of interest. Will be returning when the opportunity arises.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for staying with us at Goldcrest Lodge, it was super to meet you both and hear how you visited so many places during you stay. Great to hear you hope to return to Mill Meadow and we will look forward to catching up once again.

A perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was exactly what we were looking for and it delivered as promised. Clean, warm, well-maintained, comfortable and with very good facilities, it was perfect for a couple of days' break whilst seeing some friends just up the road. We were very well looked after and it is a very quiet place to relax. It was also a huge bonus being able to bring the dog with us (plenty of room inside for his bed etc.) and not having to stay for at least three nights. Thank you.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review for our Book by the Night lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable bring your gorgeous dog too! We hope to see you all again in the future.

Rare werk away

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most pleasant location with great facilities in the lodge and nice local amenities, in easy reach of a major town.



Spring wedding weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend stay at pretty Goldcrest lodge We were attending a wedding at nearby Hestercombe Park and it was an ideal location. The lodge is compact and cute with a very large and comfortable double bed ,separate kitchen and bathroom with a large shower. It has every facility and comfort for a break in the beautiful Somerset countryside.
Linda and Ray from Liverpool




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback for our smallest lodge! we are so pleased you found it ideal to stay for the wedding weekend and we certainly are nice and close to Hestercombe Gardens, such a lovely venue to marry. Happy Easter to you both.

A short break at Goldcrest Lodge, Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Goldcrest and was sad to leave.
Everything I needed was provided and the use of a washer/dryer within the lodge was invaluable when you are walking and cycling.
Suzanne the housekeeper was very attentive and informative without being intrusive.
I would happily return next year.




Wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband stayed there on our wedding night! Amazing.. they go above and beyond to make sure your happy!

I would go again and highly recommend them!

Thank you so much for making it a night to Remeber for your wedding night.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely timber lodge set in a wooded area next to a beautiful lake, lots of lovely walks nearby. Very peaceful



Half way house

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This chalet is perfect in every way and provided a very cosy half way house on my way to Cornwall. Ideal for me and my dog. Very high standard of decor and cleanliness. Loved the homemade flapjacks.



Great place!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for one night for a wedding nearby. Very clean and nice lodge with very helpful staff - thanks!



Goldcrest Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest Lodge is fairly new to Mill Meadow and was a lovely lodge, very nice interior and definitely a nice place for a short break.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and will defiantly be returning again the only thing we missed this time was a hot tub as we have always had one when we stayed before. Have already recommended to several of our friends.



Lovely cosy cabin

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding party so didn’t get to explore the local area. However the cabin itself is lovely! Has everything you need and the bed is very comfy