FB Twitter

The Old Bakehouse

The Old Bakehouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Old Bakehouse is a spacious two bedroom stone cottage located in the heart of St Ives Downalong area, very close to Porthmeor beach. The central location of this beautiful cottage allows you to access the award winning beaches, shops and vast array of restaurants and cafes within a couple of minutes on foot. Perfect for couples and small families alike and what’s more, you can even bring your four legged friend along too!

Excellent!!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage in heart of St Ives contained everything you could think off and would stay again and again !!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 28 days ago
Hi Heidi, Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Tim

March Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thought the property was in a great location and was within 2 minutes walk to reach any one of 4 beaches.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Old Bakehouse and I will look to book it again next year.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 55 days ago
Hi Stephen, Thank you so much for your review of your March holiday! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, Tim!

Beautiful cottage in diwnalong

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and freshly painted.
The bed was very comfortable and I didn’t need my topper I took!!!!
Loved the position of where it was. So easy to unload and park the car in island car park. plenty of spaces in winter if you are disabled and have a blue badge.
Cherished cottages have fantastic customer service. We loved it so much we booked before we left for December.
I would have no hesitation to book with cherished holidays.
The only thing I’d say is if you have a small child I would recommend to take a stair gate at the top of the stairs as there’s a step from both bedrooms and if they didn’t notice it they could fall down the stairs.
Perfect in every way … great storage, washer drier a bonus. Very cosy and warm.






Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 97 days ago
Hi Kathleen, Thank you for your lovely review of both the staff and the property, we will see you again soon! Tim

Fantastic property in the heart of St. Ives

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Dec 21, myself, husband & 2 dogs. It was just perfect for us. The property was immaculately clean on arrival and very warm and welcoming. Although a small cottage the rooms are of a good size.
We did experience 2 maintenance issues with the property but Cherished cottages resolved both very quickly and I can’t fault their turn around times and customer service.
We hope to return again soon




Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 161 days ago
Hi Louise Thank you for your fab review we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Excellent property in our favorite location. The Old Bakehouse is in a perfect central position.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect base to explore St. Ives. Very comfortable and clean. Will definitely be back as soon as we can..



TYHE BAKEHOUSE GORGEOUS HOLIDAY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved this cute cottage, comfy and warm.
It had everything we needed and is very close to all amenities.
Loved it and would definitely book again.




A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in St Ives many times but this was my first stay in a property managed by Cherished Cottages & they didn't disappoint.
The cottage was lovely overall & very clean and well presented although some areas are getting ready for a little maintenance & upgrade i the not too distant future - not said to put anyone off but just an observation & hopefully the owners will have this planned into their budget.
A general problem with holiday lets at the moment is the COVID extended cleaning times - it was a bit of a drag having to wait until after 5pm to gain access after a 5 hour journey & that along with the early leaving time at the end of the break did make me feel like i had lost a full day.
Would i return to this cottage - yes. (but its not the top of my list although another property by Cherished Cottages is!)
What would improve it - Some upgrading & maintenance & some more subtle lighting/table lamps in the living room (being picky now)
If it had a reserved car parking space that would be a massive benefit & would put the cottage almost at the top of my list for future visits.




Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 209 days ago
Hi, Thank you so much for your honest & frank review of the Old Bakehouse. We will certainly pass your feedback to the owner of the property regarding the updating you suggest :-) However, sadly, parking is not something we can resolve, as spaces in St Ives downalong, are few and far between! Take care, Tim!

We will be back - cats and all!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Old Bakehouse, as did our 2 indoor cats. It was in a great location - away from the bustle of the harbour but just 2 minutes walk to two great beaches and the same down the harbour itself. There was a welcome hamper full of delicious Cornish produce and fresh flowers to greet us. The Cherished team have been very welcoming and helpful. We will be back - cats and all!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 234 days ago
Dear Fi, Thank you for your lovely review, we are truly glad you all have had a lovely stay, Tim!

A little gem, ideal position.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with 2 dogs and this was perfect. Grass area or beach for them. We loved it. Cottage was perfect. We have talked about returning so that is a good sign.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 244 days ago
HI Julie, Thank you for your review, we agree the location is ideal for dog walking! And visiting the town, Take care, Tim

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect location, perfect little cottage, perfect holiday with good friends. Highly recommend Cherished for your holiday bookings.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 280 days ago
Hi, thank you so very much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future, Tim.

Home from home in beautiful St Ives

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another outstanding holiday in St Ives in one of Cherished Cottages beautiful properties. Stayed at the old bakehouse previously and it never disappoints. The location is superb, pre booked restaurants each evening so all went well also pre booked parking on someone’s drive a little out of town but totally worth it. Thanks for the memories will be back again in august to stay at another property with family thanks to all the staff that work so hard to make our holidays special ones x



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 349 days ago
Hi Claire, Thank you for your lovely review and your kind words about the team here at Cherished! Tim

A stones throw from 2 of the best beaches in the world

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is a stones throw from Porthgwidden and Porthmeor Beach and allowed us to come and go with ease.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 349 days ago
Hi, We agree with you - amazing location - hopefully we will see you in St Ives soon! Tim

Perfect Location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For two people we found the cottage very spacious and has excellent storage for all the stuff you need to bring when holidaying in the UK. It’s freshly painted and certainly very clean. However we did struggle with the beds, main bedroom could easily take a larger bed, if keeping with what’s there, please get a mattress topper!!

Missed a Nespresso machine.

Love being in close proximity of the beaches and Island car park.

Loved the hamper and tulips, thank you Cherished, always excellent service.




Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 363 days ago
Hi Susan, Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you had a lovely stay with us again! Tim

The old bakehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could possibly need in a holiday cottage with a superb location and very comfortable.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
HI - thank you so much for your lovely review! Tim

Lovely house, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Old Bakehouse with our toddler and dogs. Great amenities, great location, clean and well maintained. We couldn’t ask for more!



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Claire Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, Tim!

Our third stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love our holidays at St Ives and The Old Bakehouse meets all our requirements in location and the first class condition of this property, right on the harbour and the town with plenty of walks close by, we look forward to next year for our fourth stay in St Ives and The Old Bakehouse !!



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Raymond, Thank you for your great review of the Old Bakehouse, we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in St Ives - Tim!

Fabulous little cottage right in the middle of town

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully clean, pretty cottage in the best part of town- within easy strolling of beaches and eating places. We loved the welcome hamper and even the dog was not forgotten. Every time we came in or out of the front door, we were met with envious glances from tourists. The cottage itself was exactly as the photos show- fairly small but very well-appointed with everything we needed to feel comfortable and relaxed.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Julia, Thank you for your lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim!

Beautiful Cottage, Ideal location.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely small cottage, ideally situated to everything you need in St Ives. A wonderful long weekend and as normal Cherished delivered what we needed.



Old bakehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay in characterful property. Good facilities and location. Unfortunately British weather was not the best but thanks anyway for a nice week of accommodation and facilities.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - so sorry the sun wasn't shining! Tim!

A May Bank holiday week stay in St Ives for the fourth time in four years.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have visited St Ives for the last 3 years. The Old Bakehouse being one of the better cottages! Thank you



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ian, Thank you for your lovely review. Very best wishes, Tim