FB Twitter

The Lobster's Residence

The Lobster's Residence

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


The Lobster’s Residence is beautifully decorated throughout with cosy soft furnishings and delightful details. The cool open-plan loft area hosts the lounge and kitchen diner, making it the perfect St Ives hideaway for families and couples.

This Downalong beauty with ‘the pink door’ sleeps five guests in two lower floor bedrooms with one king size bed and a double bunk with single bed on top. There is a stylish large bathroom and a small outside seating area, perfect for a summer’s eve watching our St Ives world go by.

Fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Central location. Close to beaches, shops restaurants, etc. Spacious living area, lovely decor. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would love to return.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 14 days ago
Hi Andrew - thank you for your review we are so pleased you had a lovely time & look forward to welcoming you again in the future, Tim

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just returned from a wonderful week stay at The Lobster Residence.

The cottage is less a 30 second walk from the beach. Although you can’t see the beach, if you leave the top half of the door open you can hear the wonderful sound of the waves at high tide. We didn’t open the windows as one had a crack (reported) so didn’t want to cause further damage but had we the sound would have been even better.

The cottage is so convenient with the wonderful Norway Stores a short walk so you can pop and get fresh bread etc or a bottle of wine. Extremely close to Fore Street, the Tate and the Harbour but a nice distance away from the crowds. The nearest Long Stay car park was Barnoon which is a steep climb back to the car park. I would recommend booking your weekly Rover Car Park ticket in advance. We had no problem finding a space again in October but I think it would be a struggle in July and August.

The facilities were excellent. Lovely comfy bed. Well stocked with cutlery, pans etc but could do with some plastic cups if you are taking children.

I would have graded the accommodation condition higher but one window had a crack. A floorboard was coming loose just above the stairs so could become a trip hazard in time but will report this. The rug had been cleaned and left damp so it had a slight smell. Personally I think they need to get a different rug but these things are minor m, didn’t spoil the stay and easily rectified which I’m sure Cherished Cottages will do.

We loved the cottage and our stay in lovely St.Ives made even better with a fabulous week weather wise so much so we’ve booked for next year.

















Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 217 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Lobsters! And we will be sure to pass your feedback to the owners, Tim!

Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved the cottage great location and facilities were excellent. However this is the third cottage we have stayed in now and by far the worst for the furnishings.

The beds sofas chairs were very poor, and we were left feeling even more tired after long walks with our dog as we could not get comfortable.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 217 days ago
Hi, Thank you for your review, we will be sure to pass on your feedback to the owners of this cute cottage! Tim

A week at Lobster Residence.during covid.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had been as a visitor to the Lobster Residence the previous year as my daughter and her family had rented it the year before so I knew what I would be getting. I was very impressed with the property,its location especially being a short walk to Porthmeor beach and to the town centre with no steep hills in between. I had to think of this for my wife has a bit of difficulty in walking. Originally we were going take our 2 dogs but decided against it.
The standard of decor was very high and spotless.The spacious lounge had very nice furnishings and all appliances are modern and easy to use. The bathroom which is in the basement has a very good shower and was clean and hygenic. Also in the basement are 2 bedrooms, the main one being spacious with a large double bed. The other bedroom had a double bed but had a single bunk bed directly over it. This bedroom was small if say 3 children had to use it. There was no ventilation and a very small window which could not be opened. The stairs down to the basement area from the lounge are steep and great care has to be when using these stairs as there is no rail to hold on to on either side and one has to improvise using other means to ascend or descend safely. There is constant vehicle traffic going past the property as it is on the main exit route out of central St Ives for through traffic and car parks in the area. The road is very narrow and is busy with pedestrians dodging the traffic.Due to covid ST Ives was I suppose very much more busier than usual with people holidaying at home rather than abroad so that may have been a small effect.
All in all my wife and I had a very nice time and would recommend the property and would stay there again, BUT, if one has trouble with steep stairs I would say this is not the property for you.The traffic may bother you too and should be considered.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 252 days ago
Hi Craig, Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased your enjoyed your stay and the very pretty Lobsters Residence. We will certainly pass your feedback to the owners of this lovely cottage, Tim!

Lovely house, just round the corner from the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully decorated house with a lot of character. We chose this house because it’s literally just round the corner from porthmeor beach and you really cannot beat that. However, for those that like peace and quiet this house is not for you - you are on the main road through st Ives and it has constant streams of traffic from morning till night and constant streams of people - often people taking photos of the house , coming up the steps - holding their cameras up if you have the door open - and taking photos even if you’re eating your breakfast. We didn’t sit outside because we felt a little like zoo animals - however, this is a small point as we had a wonderful week regardless and would happily book again, as I don’t think you could find a better house than this. Only pain is the bins outside the bedroom window which the general public use to put their own rubbish in - you can’t really open the bedroom window because of this, and we picked a lot of litter up during the week as it wasn’t pretty - please note the lobsters bin is kept in the bottom bedrooms doorway. Cherished properties were really helpful with this issue and again wouldn’t hesitate to book though them again. Fans in the bedrooms would be a good idea as it does get very hot.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 260 days ago
Hi - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments about the Cherished Team! We have passed your feedback to the owner of this lovely property :-) Tim!

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our holiday at the Lobster’s Residence. The cottage is ideally located to enjoy St Ives beaches and town. It is very stylish however a fan in the bedroom and an extra comfy chair or two in the living area would add to the enjoyment especially if staying with older children or other adults but we will be returning.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 302 days ago
HI Jacqui, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay & we will send your feedback to our owners :-) Take care, Tim

Excellent Experience...

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall, we had a great stay at the Lobster's Residence. It is comfortable and in an amazing location for the beach -- but, a high-traffic area. I only gave 4 stars for cleanliness because there are rubbish bins placed directly in front of both bedroom windows, which is unpleasant, and these windows are the only ones that open downstairs. We would have moved them, but there is no place to move them to. Also, it should be mentioned for people with mobility issues that the stairs are very steep, however, there are lots of places to hold onto! :) Other than the bin location, which was a minor issue (they didn't happen to stink), it really is a fabulous little cottage with lots of little extra touches that made staying there a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend it.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 315 days ago
Hi Bradley, Thank you for your feedback we will certainly try to get the bins moved - they are left there by the refuse collectors. How ever, we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at this quirky central property - Very best wishes Tim!

The perfect stay…

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lobster Residence was the perfect place for our 2 week honeymoon to Cornwall.

Before we even opened the door, you’re greeted with a cute little terrace and a pretty pink door. The interior is beautiful and it has EVERYTHING you need. The bedrooms were great sizes, plenty of storage space and the bathroom was really nice and modern with a great shower!

The location is PERFECT - a couple of minutes walk from a few beaches and also from the main high street and restaurants.

We arrived quite late, so weren’t lucky enough to get one of the free parking spaces outside but one became available during our stay, which was great. If it hadn’t, it wouldn’t have been a problem as there were plenty of long stay car parks that we had expected to park in anyway!

The booking process with Cherished was so smooth, the detail we received prior to arrival was excellent (restaurants, parking, beaches etc).

I absolutely wouldn’t hesitate to book The Lobster Residence again nor would I hesitate to book through Cherished when we stay elsewhere!




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 336 days ago
Hi Lizzie, thank you for your lovely review of the Lobsters Residence - we hope to welcome you back soon :-) Tim

Charming property in the perfect location.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at The Lobster Residence. The location was amazing and just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the main harbour. The apartment itself was fresh, cosy and comfortable. We’d definitely come back again!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 365 days ago
Hi Paul, we are so pleased that you had a lovely stay at the Lobsters Residence. Hopefully, we will see you again soon! Tim