FB Twitter

Sailfish Cottage

Sailfish Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Sailfish Cottage is a beautifully renovated luxury fisherman’s cottage in the heart of Downalong, St Ives, blending stylish contemporary luxury with delightful period character. Being only moments from the town, the cottage is perfectly located for the shops, restaurants and award-winning beaches that St Ives has to offer.

Enjoyable Stay At Sailfish Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at Sailfish Cottage, at long last, having booked the property in 2019 and then having the holiday cancelled two years running due to COVID (obviously not Cherished Cottages fault !). The property is in a great location for all local amenities, a minute walk to the dog friendly Bamaluz Beach and a few minutes to Portmeor & the harbour. A real home from home, lovely house, what we have come to expect from Cherished Cottages having stayed in one of their other properties (Seaside House) a couple of times previously. Just a heads up, there is a tv in the kitchen diner, which is hidden behind a sliding door, which we only found on the last day !! We would definitely recommend this property, very enjoyable stay.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 33 days ago
Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely review! The secret TV :-) made us smile! We look ofrward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Early Easter trip

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sailfish cottage was excellent… the standard of the accommodation is first class. The cleanliness faultless. Location perfect. All of which made for an enjoyable stay in st ives.



Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Very clean and so well equipped. All the local amenities are very close. The parking space is just around the corner for convenience.
Highly recommended. If you are tall like me at 6’5” just watch the low ceiling and beams I would definitely stay there again.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 112 days ago
Hi, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sailfish. The cottage is in a great central location & the parking is always a bonus in downalong! We look forward to welcoming you again - Tim!

Comfortable cosy down along character holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family of four (and our labrador) we have enjoyed another great holiday in Sailfish cottage. It’s a cosi and extremely comfortable holiday home with charm and character and the most comfortable beds! Set in a perfect location it’s central in st ves close to all the beaches, shops and restaurants. Another bonus to this lovely accommodation is the great parking space offered with the property. Although it’s a 2 minute walk form the house it’s a safety positioned large parking space which is ideal for our big family car! Would recommend Sailfish although please note in is set on three floors. We will be back



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 201 days ago
Hi Kate, We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay again at Sailfish! We look forward to seeing you soon! Tim

Superior Cornish cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Sailfish for a week. It is the perfect base for discovering Cornwall and enjoying St Ives itself. A home from home. We had a fabulous time and will be returning.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 252 days ago
Hi Steve, We are so pleased that you had a great week at Sailfish! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow !!! Beautiful house , fab location ! Worth every penny and the parking space was a life saver !!! Will deffo visit sailfish in the future



Tim & The Girls at Cherished! replied 308 days ago
Hi Sally! Wow! what a fab review - thank you! We look forward to seeing you again..soon! Tim

Beautiful house ,great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sailfish is in a great location with a short walk to the harbour and beaches. It was spotlessly clean and really well equipped. The standard of accommodation is high with really comfortable beds and good quality bedding and towels.The parking space is a must . The Cherished cottages team are great and really helpful. We have booked for next year and would highly recommend it .



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 321 days ago
Hi! Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sailfish & we look forward to seeing you again next year! Tim

Great stay at Sailfish Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, wife Donna and mother Wendy + Cairn Terrier Betsy had a super 2 week stay. The cottage was very comfortable and modern and very tastefully furnished. It was perfectly located for the surrounding beaches/ harbour front/The Island (perfect for walking the pooch), also only a spit and a stride from the main shopping area, which is always a bonus. The patio area got the sun all day, it was only a small area but ok for us, especially as so many properties in the area have very little or no outdoor seating at all. We’ve stayed in St Ives for the last 4 years now - always in the Downalong area. We’ve booked the cottage for the same time next year. This is the first time we will have stayed in the same property twice.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 321 days ago
Hi Pete & Donna, thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again next year, Tim :-)

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Sailfish Cottage over Christmas week and it was a great choice. Felt at home from the minute we walked in they had thought of everything every little detail and the location and vibe in the town added to a wonderful relaxing Christmas break.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anne, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you have had a great Christmas at Sailfish. Have a lovely 2020! Tim

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage. Very nicely furnished and well equipped with lots of lovely small touches. In a good location for the beaches. Highly recommended.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi John, Thank you so much for your glowing review - We look forward to seeing you in the near future in the lovely Sailfish! Tim

Home from Home !

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another wonderful stay at Sailfish cottage. Fantastic location, great facilities and excellent reception rooms for relaxing and entertaining.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jon, a big thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you in the future! Tim

Second stay at Sailfish

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have family in St Ives and we surf so we are down 3-4 times a year and like to stay in nice properties which are close to town and close to Porthmeor. With two young children in tow it's important that it's a fairly flat walk to the beach and that we have a parking space both of which Sailfish has. The cottage is well finished with everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing time in St Ives. I liked that we could put the kids to bed on the 2nd floor and then chill out in the lounge which is on the middle floor as some cottages we've stayed in have the lounge two floors away from the kids rooms and it's a trek up and down when they're not settling.

We usually like to try out new properties each trip but this was our second Easter in Sailfish Cottage which says alot about it. We also stayed in another property with Cherished Cottages last October and have another house booked with them for later this year which says alot about Cherished!




Christine @ Cherished Cottages! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Phil - thank you so very much for your fabulous review & comments about Sailfish Cottage and Cherished Cottages too! We look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn.