FB Twitter

Sailfish Cottage

Sailfish Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Sailfish Cottage is a beautifully renovated luxury fisherman’s cottage in the heart of Downalong, St Ives, blending stylish contemporary luxury with delightful period character. Being only moments from the town, the cottage is perfectly located for the shops, restaurants and award-winning beaches that St Ives has to offer.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage right in the heart of St Ives and 2 minutes walk from Porthgwidden beach. Everything you'll need is literally on your doorstep. This is our third consecutive year in St Ives and I think this is the best accommodation we've had to date. It's clean, fresh and pretty.

Just a few things to bear in mind:
* low ceilings - was a bit of an issue for my 6' partner, but not for me!
* dropping off - the cottage is on a v narrow two-way street. When dropping off or packing up, nothing (not even a bike) can get past. This can cause a a tailback, and you have to reverse all the way back up or go round the block to let cars past. The car park is v close though, so if you pack light, it might be easier to carry bags rather than have the car outside the door.
* showers only - so not ideal if you have young kids who only like baths.
* No outdoor space - although there is a table and chairs outside, it's really v squished. I'd say think of it as having no outdoor space other than to dry off wetsuits etc, so you're not disappointed.




Tim, Christine & the girls At Cherished Cottages replied 4 days ago
Hi Hannah, thank you so much for your review - we are so pleased you had a lovely stay, we have noted on the website the height issue in the kitchen! Hope to see you again soon, Tim.

Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous cottage, perfectly located 5minutes from beaches, shops and galleries. Clean and well equipped with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and lovely and warm. Beautiful glass work art and decorated to a very high standard, which we have come to expect from Cherished cottages
The ceiling height was the only slight issue as we are a tall family so just be aware as we had a few bumped heads! Parking space was also very useful and big enough for our van. Thanks again- we had a fabulous time and hope to be back again soon.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 18 days ago
Hi Anna, Thank you for the feedback we are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay! Tim

Sailfish Cottage - Our Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Sailfish Cottage many times we feel very much at home there, I have lost count exactly how many times! it is great to be just a few yards from the harbour and a big plus is that the cottage has an allocated parking space just around the corner. It's nice knowing what to expect when we arrive after our long journey from Kent and we get settled in and can relax right away. How fabulous it would be if this lovely cottage was situated the other side of the road with harbour views. It's not a problem though as the harbour views are just a few steps away! Sailfish is a fabulous cottage, just wish it was mine!




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 198 days ago
Hi Lisa & Gray, We are so pleased that you have had another fab stay at you home from home! See you again soon, Tim

Sailfish cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at sailfish cottage.
The cottage was immaculate, the lay out was great and the location was perfect
We will definitely be returning for another stay at this wonderful cottage




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 221 days ago
Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you had such a good week at the lovely Sailfish, see you again in 2024, Tim.

Summer break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Sailfish Cottage. It’s in the heart of the action and you can walk to many beaches within a few minutes. The parking provided means we just park our car and stay on foot for the holiday, to avoid the crowds. Clean and fully equipped.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 256 days ago
Hi Gail, it was lovely to welcome you again to (not so sunny this time) St Ives! See you again soon! Tim

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Sailfish Cottage. Closeness to Shops, Beaches & Costal Walks.
Charming & Beautiful Cottage.





Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 284 days ago
Hi Claire, Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again in St Ives! Tim

Very happy with this cottage and location.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful old cottage, well situated for the shops, galleries and beaches. Immaculately clean and well equipped for a family holiday.
A couple of fixtures needed repair but they were swiftly dealt with by the handyman from Cherished Cottages.
Recommend the breakfast at Porthmeor Beach Café. Source Kitchen also very good for evening meal if a little pricey.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 303 days ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! Tim

Beautiful cottage, wonderful location!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week off season. It would be even more wonderful if the log effect electric fire had worked!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Shirley, Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had another happy week at Sailfish! The gas fire was attended by our plumber - sadly it was the remote that was broken - not the fire :-) Thank you for pointing it out to us, Tim!

Great week in St Ives

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in great location, the cottage is well equipped, modern and warm. The beds are very comfortable, good quality bedding and towels. Modern bathrooms, well maintained and clean. Nice lounge with a cosy feel, gas wood burner which gave a homely feel - even though we did not need to use it as the house is so warm. The kitchen had everything we needed during our stay, we cooked dinner for 4 each night - home from home. Thank you



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Julie thank you so much for your lovely review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sailfish, Tim.

Winter Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay in Feb, super location and perfect for 4 adults + 2 children. Will be booking again.

Excellent location with car park space near.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
HI Phil, thank you for your review - we are delighted you had such a lovely stay. See you next week, Tim!

Perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at sailfish for Christmas and it was just perfect. A very high end property very well looked after and perfect location. We loved our time here and will 100% be coming back



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sailfish is a pet friendly , well equipped cottage with parking. It is of a high standard with good quality bedding and towels. It is a flat walk in to the harbour .Perfect location in Downaling .



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for your review, Sailfish is a perfect cottage for the pet friendly visitor in St Ives & we hope to welcome you again in the future! Tim

Beautiful cottage in great location!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage in the centre of St Ives. Location was great for visiting all the beaches and a minute stroll to all the shops and restaurants. Small outside space that we made great use of as it gets the sun all day and into the evening. Would absolutely recommend!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lisa, Thank you for your marvellous review - we look forward to welcoming you & your family again in the future! Tim

Sailfish cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit. We found it ideally placed for restaurants, shops and beaches. Very clean and well cared for. Liked the little table and chairs outside, and enjoyed reading newspaper and watching the world go by….nice touch.
We would definitely go again.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janet, w e are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Enjoyable Stay At Sailfish Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at Sailfish Cottage, at long last, having booked the property in 2019 and then having the holiday cancelled two years running due to COVID (obviously not Cherished Cottages fault !). The property is in a great location for all local amenities, a minute walk to the dog friendly Bamaluz Beach and a few minutes to Portmeor & the harbour. A real home from home, lovely house, what we have come to expect from Cherished Cottages having stayed in one of their other properties (Seaside House) a couple of times previously. Just a heads up, there is a tv in the kitchen diner, which is hidden behind a sliding door, which we only found on the last day !! We would definitely recommend this property, very enjoyable stay.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely review! The secret TV :-) made us smile! We look ofrward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Early Easter trip

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sailfish cottage was excellent… the standard of the accommodation is first class. The cleanliness faultless. Location perfect. All of which made for an enjoyable stay in st ives.



Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Very clean and so well equipped. All the local amenities are very close. The parking space is just around the corner for convenience.
Highly recommended. If you are tall like me at 6’5” just watch the low ceiling and beams I would definitely stay there again.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sailfish. The cottage is in a great central location & the parking is always a bonus in downalong! We look forward to welcoming you again - Tim!

Comfortable cosy down along character holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family of four (and our labrador) we have enjoyed another great holiday in Sailfish cottage. It’s a cosi and extremely comfortable holiday home with charm and character and the most comfortable beds! Set in a perfect location it’s central in st ves close to all the beaches, shops and restaurants. Another bonus to this lovely accommodation is the great parking space offered with the property. Although it’s a 2 minute walk form the house it’s a safety positioned large parking space which is ideal for our big family car! Would recommend Sailfish although please note in is set on three floors. We will be back



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate, We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay again at Sailfish! We look forward to seeing you soon! Tim

Superior Cornish cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Sailfish for a week. It is the perfect base for discovering Cornwall and enjoying St Ives itself. A home from home. We had a fabulous time and will be returning.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Steve, We are so pleased that you had a great week at Sailfish! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow !!! Beautiful house , fab location ! Worth every penny and the parking space was a life saver !!! Will deffo visit sailfish in the future



Tim & The Girls at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sally! Wow! what a fab review - thank you! We look forward to seeing you again..soon! Tim

Beautiful house ,great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sailfish is in a great location with a short walk to the harbour and beaches. It was spotlessly clean and really well equipped. The standard of accommodation is high with really comfortable beds and good quality bedding and towels.The parking space is a must . The Cherished cottages team are great and really helpful. We have booked for next year and would highly recommend it .



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi! Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sailfish & we look forward to seeing you again next year! Tim

Great stay at Sailfish Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, wife Donna and mother Wendy + Cairn Terrier Betsy had a super 2 week stay. The cottage was very comfortable and modern and very tastefully furnished. It was perfectly located for the surrounding beaches/ harbour front/The Island (perfect for walking the pooch), also only a spit and a stride from the main shopping area, which is always a bonus. The patio area got the sun all day, it was only a small area but ok for us, especially as so many properties in the area have very little or no outdoor seating at all. We’ve stayed in St Ives for the last 4 years now - always in the Downalong area. We’ve booked the cottage for the same time next year. This is the first time we will have stayed in the same property twice.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Pete & Donna, thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you again next year, Tim :-)

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Sailfish Cottage over Christmas week and it was a great choice. Felt at home from the minute we walked in they had thought of everything every little detail and the location and vibe in the town added to a wonderful relaxing Christmas break.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anne, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you have had a great Christmas at Sailfish. Have a lovely 2020! Tim

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage. Very nicely furnished and well equipped with lots of lovely small touches. In a good location for the beaches. Highly recommended.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi John, Thank you so much for your glowing review - We look forward to seeing you in the near future in the lovely Sailfish! Tim

Home from Home !

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another wonderful stay at Sailfish cottage. Fantastic location, great facilities and excellent reception rooms for relaxing and entertaining.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jon, a big thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you in the future! Tim

Second stay at Sailfish

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have family in St Ives and we surf so we are down 3-4 times a year and like to stay in nice properties which are close to town and close to Porthmeor. With two young children in tow it's important that it's a fairly flat walk to the beach and that we have a parking space both of which Sailfish has. The cottage is well finished with everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing time in St Ives. I liked that we could put the kids to bed on the 2nd floor and then chill out in the lounge which is on the middle floor as some cottages we've stayed in have the lounge two floors away from the kids rooms and it's a trek up and down when they're not settling.

We usually like to try out new properties each trip but this was our second Easter in Sailfish Cottage which says alot about it. We also stayed in another property with Cherished Cottages last October and have another house booked with them for later this year which says alot about Cherished!




Christine @ Cherished Cottages! replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Phil - thank you so very much for your fabulous review & comments about Sailfish Cottage and Cherished Cottages too! We look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn.