FB Twitter

4 Island Road

4 Island Road

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
5.0


4 Island Road is a beautiful refurbished granite Downalong cottage nestled in the fisherman’s quarter of St Ives, just a stone’s throw from beaches, restaurants and shops. The cosy cottage blends original Cornish feature walls and stained-glass doors with snug soft furnishings, plus boasts outside space to sit and relax after a day on the beach or for those chilly winter evenings there is a real wood burning stove. The perfect hideaway for your St Ives family retreat with two ensuite double bedrooms and a twin bedroom in the loft.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday with cherished cottages. Lovely cottage in a great position. Right next to a island car park. It was out of the busy season so parking wasn’t a problem as we have a blue badge and always managed a disabled bay. Only weekends you would struggle. So we stayed in st ives and went exploring in our car week days.
Gorgeous Bright sunny kitchen … only an under counter fridge with ice box so remember when you order your shopping. Not a problem if you eat out. But would recommend taking a mini freezer to take with you if you need more space.
Toilet downstairs a plus for us older ones . Outside double bench which was lovely to sit outside on a sunny day . I loved everything about the cottage. The quality of everything was lovely. The only negative was the sofa needs replacing and is very low for anyone with leg or back problems . I would go back if it was replaced as I loved everything about the cottage. The seatings only got four. So if you have little ones and there’s six of you I would recommend taking a couple of bean bags.
Great value property. In the best position. Downalong is my favourite part of st ives and your 2 mins from 4 beaches, the harbour, art galleries and eateries.
I can’t praise cherished cottages enough they really do deliver a top quality service
A Friendly helpful team.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 49 days ago
Hi Kathleen, we are so pleased that you have had such a nice stay with us again! I will certainly pass your feed back to the owners of the lovely 4 Island Road, see you again soon! Tim

Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the island road and was amazing location parking was a big struggle.
But the property was lovely really cosy has all the things you could need. The mattress was ok could have been a little more comfortable especially one of the single beds. But overall really nice and enjoyable




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 213 days ago
Hi Jenny Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & we will pass your feedback to the owner, Very best wishes Tim!

Lovely house in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, we had a fantastic holiday, and the location on Island Road is as good as it gets in St Ives.

The property is lovely. It was clean and had everything we needed over the week. The gift bag from cherished was a nice thought and got us set up with tea and coffee, as well as a few treats.

The kitchen especially was the perfect size and setup for a holiday cottage, and the living room felt cosy, with the wood burner. The whole house was a good temperature, and had the right facilities.

We were only two of us and the cottage felt just right. I can see it being good for four people too, but the bathroom situation was a little odd for more than that - anyone staying in the top room would have to use someone else’s en-suite to have a shower or bath, so it felt like a bit of a wasted room.

We did have a problem with a broken TV but the service from Cherished Cottages was fantastic - it was repaired the following day, and then replaced the day after that, all while we were out so we didn’t feel any disruption.

If I were being critical, the sofa was quite a squishy sofa and felt like it was about ready to be replaced, and the bed in the master bedroom was really quite small, with a slightly uncomfortable mattress that gave us a few issues. The master en-suite door also catches so it needs to either be slammed or left ajar, and the dining benches were difficult to manoeuvre as the tops weren’t solidly on, but these were minor niggles.

We’d also have appreciated a later checkout, especially as there’s no parking, so doing all the things requested (like stripping beds and taking bins out), as well as trying to get your luggage to a parked car up a large hill felt a bit stressful for those of us who are not early birds!!

All in all we’d definitely recommend Island Rd, the location can’t be beaten, it was decorated nicely and felt very homely!




Lovely Place to Stay - Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at 4 Island Road, the house was clean, comfortable and felt like home for the 2 weeks we were there. Our 2 children loved the top bedroom and some days we couldn't get them out of bed they were so comfy. The facilities were great and the location was perfect to get to the beach (we preferred Porthmeor which was a 5 min walk, 2 minutes into town so great for small children walking. We will definitely be back!



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 284 days ago
Hi Annie, Thank you for your lovely review - the top room is lovely we all agree with you! :-) We look forward to seeing you again in St Ives! Take care, Tim

St Ives Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a brilliant location just a stones throw from porthgwidden porthmeor and harbour beaches and 150 metres from island car park. It was really well furnished with all the mod cons and equipment the only down side in the kitchen was storage space If I was to nit pick the settee was a bit low for me but I'm in my late 60s the shower in our room was brilliant but had no place to store shower gel and sponge etc. Had a lovely holiday hear.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 301 days ago
Hi Michael, thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a nice holiday in St Ives and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Tim

Excellent, comfortable and modern accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well situated within easy reach of the beaches, shops, bars and restaurants I would highly recommend this accommodation. Two of the bedrooms had en suite facilities which were a blessing and the kitchen was excellently equipped with everything you could wish for. An excellent stay!



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 357 days ago
Hi Pamela, We are so pleased you had such a great stay! Best wishes Tim

NYE 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a great stay in this very cosy comfortable well equipped cottage. Loved it all.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Wendy, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay over New year at the lovely 4 Island Road! Very best wishes Tim!