FB Twitter

Grosvenor

Grosvenor

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Grosvenor cottage in stunning Herefordshire countryside. Stone built, beautifully furnished cottage with open plan living/dining room and kitchen. First floor enormous super-king master bedroom, single bedroom and bathroom. Own private courtyard garden for al fresco dining and use of main walled garden, furnished glasshouse and parkland with specimen trees. Perfect base to tour the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean

Wow Wharton

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t praise the team at Wharton Lodge enough & no wonder it is awarded 5* Gold year on year. It is such a special place and once there you never want to leave. Everything is top quality & nothing is too much trouble, it’s all about guest comfort and enjoyment from the minute you enter the premises. The cottages and grounds are immaculate and we were lucky enough to enjoy both the exquisite walled garden (it’s always a pleasure to chill out here) and our charming private courtyard. As always, we had a very warm welcome on arrival from the owners and on top of that we had a beautifully presented food hamper and fresh flowers in the cottage. This is self catering at its best and certainly ticks all the boxes if you want to chill out and recharge those batteries. We love the surrounding area too, Ross is a lovely town in a picturesque setting by the River Wye and The local people are always making improvements to make this a great place for visitors.
Thanks to all the team who made our stay so special.




A perfect week in Grosvenor

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Nicky, George and the team for another wonderful stay in Grosvenor at Wharton Lodge. The cottage was beautifully prepared and equipped , with a lovely personalised welcome hamper , and the gardens were an absolute delight.When you add in a week of warm spring sunshine, it was a perfect week. Already looking forward to our next stay at this lovely place.



Nicky replied 13 days ago
Dear L & B We really appreciate your really great review which has been shared with the team. It makes our day to know that you enjoy the cottage and surroundings and big thanks for taking time to feedback. IOU an extra bottle of apple juice! BW N

Perfect place to unwind

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spend perfect 4 days at Grosvenor cottage. Beautiful surroundings to relax and recharge. Felt like home away from home.



Nicky replied 50 days ago
Dear R, J and N, Thank you so much for the great feedback. It makes our day to know that during your stay you were able to relax and recharge, we know how busy your working life is. Please don't work too hard and when you next need those batteries recharged we would love to welcome you back to WL. Many thanks, N and G (plus T + B of course)

Grosvenor works it’s restorative magic

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th or 6th stay at Wharton Lodge - our first in Grosvenor. It won’t be our last!

Grosvenor offers its guests a generous living space and the usual - now familiar - high levels of comfort, attention to detail and immaculate presentation and levels of cleanliness we know to expect of Wharton Lodge.

It has beautiful views upstairs and down, including a garden view from the bathroom - making even the mundane business of teeth brushing a delight.

The indifferent weather this time proved that, rain or shine, WL is the perfect get away.

As always, the team’s warm welcome and Nicky’s thoughtful extra touches helped us to feel at home as soon as the car engine stopped. Loved Joyce’s Easter arrangement - thank you!

Alas this visit was all too short, but it worked its magic despite its brevity.

Thank you once again, Team Wharton.







Nicky replied 60 days ago
Dear S, Reading your review has brought a big beaming smile to my face. Thank you so much for your generous praise, it goes without saying that it means the world to us that you enjoyed your stay in Grosvenor. Thanks for taking the time to feedback and for your glowing review, it will be shared with the team. BW N

Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time of staying at Grosvenor Cottage and as always we were extremely comfortable and well looked after. The cottage is well equipped and in a great location, with many dog friendly pubs in the area and great walks. Nicky and George are great at providing recommendations for places to go, and it’s a lovely area to visit. We hope to be back again!



Nicky replied 67 days ago
Dear C, M & O, Thanks for the great feedback. We were delighted to welcome you to WL again and it means the world that you enjoyed your stay. Do keep in touch and remember there will always be a warm welcome for you, from both humans and dogs... Nxxx

As wonderful as always

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times in the past and will many times in the future. The accommodation is always spotless, is constantly being refreshed and updated and justifies the cost by the level of luxury provided. If you want to give your dog the best of all holidays this is the place to be. Fantastic walks all around together with dog friendly pubs and restaurants.



Nicky replied 83 days ago
Dear D & G, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you all (2 legged and 4) back to WL again one day... BW N

Another wonderful stay at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Wife and I have stayed at Wharton Lodge Cottages about 14 times which really says it all. The welcome from Nicky and George,the owners, is always very warm and genuine and nothing is too much trouble.The cottages are superbly well equipped and spotlessly clean. The Italianate gardens are magnificent.
The location is ideal for many wonderful pubs and restaurants and for numerous places of interest. Two of the cottages are dog friendly and both have their own courtyard which is most useful in the Summer months.
We would definitely recommend these cottages to anyone looking for a relaxing or even more energetic holiday in beautiful surroundings.




Nicky replied 156 days ago
Dear P & P, Thank you very much for the great review. We really do appreciate such generous feedback which will be shared with the WL team. It makes our day to know that you enjoy visiting our little haven in Herefordshire and we hope to welcome you both to Wharton Lodge again in the not too distant future. BW N

Just perfect!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a wonderful long weekend at Wharton Lodge Cottages to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday.
From the warm welcome when we arrived to the wave off when we left, our stay was just perfect.
The cottage was the most warm, comfortable and luxurious haven we could wish for. The views and grounds outside were wonderful. My son just loved running around the woods and using Nickys tree swing!
The welcome hamper was fantastic, full of great quality, yummy food and drinks.
Nicky and George were so welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area.
Ian had a fab birthday. We all felt super spoilt all weekend.
We will definitely return and can't recommend a stay here enough!

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch...
Thank you all for a wonderful stay. Xx



Nicky replied 161 days ago
Dear N & I, Thank you so much for the glowing review, we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay with us at WL. It means the world to us that you have made happy memories during your visit. We hope to see you again one day, there will always be a warm welcome and a seat available on my swing. :-) BW N

Another pre Christmas break in Grosvenor

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Wharton Lodge - in the past, we've had a long weekend in the run up to Christmas but, this year, we treated ourselves to a full week in Grosvenor and enjoyed every moment. As usual, the team at WL provided first class service with everything from the attention to preferences in the welcome hamper to the Christmas decorations to the freshly dug parsnips! A joy to stay here - we're looking forward to our next visit, already booked for May. Happy New Year to all the team at WL.



Nicky replied 174 days ago
Dear L, Thank you so much for the perfect review. We really appreciate you taking the time to feedback and it's great to know that you really enjoyed your pre-Christmas break. We all wish you a Very HNY and thanks for being such perfect guests. Until the next time... BW N

Special place

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We knew on our first visit almost twenty years ago that we had found a very special place. We have recently returned from our second visit this year, the latest of many in Grosvenor. It's always a joy to return and be greeted so warmly by Nicky, George, the Team, and our four legged friends. The cottage is always immaculate and the garden looks beautiful at any time of the year. They provide us with the perfect place to relax.

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch...
Myra & Jennifer from Derby





Nicky replied 243 days ago
Dear J & M, Thank you so much for the great review, we really appreciate the wonderful feedback following your recent stay. We love life here at WL and it is made extra special when we have the opportunity to welcome back such special guests to our cottages. Big thanks N & G

Wonderful Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge cottages are just the place to totally relax and unwind. Everything is top quality and spotlessly clean. The cottages, gardens and grounds are immaculate and lovingly cared for. Nicky and George, the owners are just fabulous hosts and have lots of interesting facts and information about the area if you need it. They are backed up by the A TEAM, who all take pride in their work to make your stay just perfect. We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival and even the dogs Tilly and Bo (who are so well behaved) were happy to see us. I can’t praise this place enough it ticks every box & that is why we keep returning.



Nicky replied 259 days ago
Dear R & J We really appreciate the amazing feedback which will be shared with the 'A' Team. It makes our day to know that guests enjoy not only the cottage but the gardens and surrounding countryside. We think ourselves very fortunate to live in a beautiful property and area, to share it with such kind guests is the icing on the cake! We hope to welcome you and the dogs again one day.... BW N & G

Our stay was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From enquiring about staying at Grosvenor Cottage and everything being ready (including a welcome pack) within 2 hours (even with Nicky on holiday in Turkey) our stay was a dream. A fantastic cottage, wonderful staff and gardens. Highly recommended

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch...
[email protected]





Nicky replied 259 days ago
Dear P & J, We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating your special Anniversary in Grosvenor cottage, your first stay with us here at WL. Thanks for your kind feedback which I will share with the team, who as you have discovered do a fab job in our absence..... We hope to welcome you again one day when George and I shall look forward to meeting you. BW N

Wonderful Wharton

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoy visiting Grosvenor Cottage at Wharton Lodge. We love the cottage and gardens as well as the glasshouse for relaxing. We have already booked again for 2019.



Delightful in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Wharton Lodge Cottages and just like the first time, it was absolutely marvellous.
The area is enchanting and the cottages are absolutely beautiful. Much thought had gone to every detail and Nicky and George are the perfect hosts. Thank you again for making our stay so comfortable and homely.




Nicky replied 285 days ago
Dear V, G & I, Thanks for taking the time to complete a review and for the glowing feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us so especially when we know you are extremely busy. It means the world to us that you enjoyed WL, the cottage and the surrounding area. We wish you happy times in your new home and please do keep in touch.... BW N & G

Wonderful Grosvenor, we love the cottage and the walled garden

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our recent stay so much, we have booked to visit again this September. Thanks to the Team at WL



Nicky replied 310 days ago
Dear J & R Thank you so much for the great review feedback. We are lucky to have you both stay with us on a regular basis and we are delighted you enjoy WL as your 'holiday home'.... We look forward to welcoming you back next month. BW N & G

Grosvenor holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Nicky, George and the WL Team + Tilly and Beau,

We really enjoyed this holiday for the second time, it was perfect.

Greetings Hans, Nicolette, Colin , Lewis and Pippa.







Nicky replied 324 days ago
Dear H, N, C, L and P, Thank you so much for the great Review, we really appreciate you taking the time to feedback especially when you are on holiday. T and B are missing you and we hope to welcome you back to WL again one day. BW N and G

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accomodation and surroundings
Accomodation of a very high clean standard.
Staff very amicable




Nicky replied 329 days ago
Dear K & D (E & J) Thank you for the great feedback following your recent stay in Grosvenor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed welcoming you all again, too many times to count. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.... N & G

Very well equipped acomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful setting with extensive and accessible grounds (perfect for dogs). Very well appointed and equipped with a friendly and helpful host. Highly recommended.



Nicky replied 336 days ago
Dear A & S Thanks for taking the time to complete a review and for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent holiday. It is important to us that when guests bring a dog, the dog is as welcome as they are and it's good to know that R also enjoyed WL and the parkland. BW N

First Class Cottage in Beautiful Surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in this cottage in nine months and it was excellent. Everything is thought of in equipping the beautiful cottage and it is comfortable, beautifully appointed and we were looked after admirably. The garden is outstanding and the adjoining parkland provides a perfect setting. We shall be back! Thank you.



The Best!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge is warm and welcoming from the start. With a glass of local pear juice in hand we toured the lovely gardens.. ours to enjoy for the stay. Nicky and George Cross have created a family home that welcomes guests in their 3 well appointed cottages. Come for the views and comfortable, lux accommodations and amenities, but stay for the fine hosts who will provide a unique Herefordshire experience.



Nicky replied 360 days ago
Dear J & D Wow, you have made our week. Thanks so much for the fabulous feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in glorious Herefordshire. It was our pleasure to welcome you and you will always be welcome at WL..... BW N

Wharton in june

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit to this wonderful cottage and we are already counting down to the next later in the year.
On arrival we were greeted by Nicky and George (the owners) and we immediately felt at home. Grosvenor is immaculate throughout, the decor and soft furnishings are beautiful and the place is spotlessly clean. The housekeepers here do an amazing job. The gardens are immaculate and it was lovely to relax in the walled garden with an early morning cuppa, there are plenty of seating areas both in sunny spots and the shade and the orangery is simply delightful.
There are lots of lovely places nearby, and Nicky who is so knowledgeable on the local area will happily give useful tips.
We feel so lucky to have found this amazing place that ticks so many boxes, so well done Nicky, George and all the team at Wharton Lodge for the consistently high standards and the great care you take of your visitors.




Grosvenor Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class cottage set in beautiful grounds. Although near to Ross on Wye, other attractions were more remote. An ideal place for a restful break.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear D & M Thanks for the lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us in Herefordshire, away from the madding crowd. Do keep in touch and when you next need some R&R you will always be welcome at WL.... BW N

A lovely, restful haven.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Grosvenor. The cottage is spacious and comfortable, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Everywhere was spotless when we arrived and it didn't take long for us to feel 'at home'. The grounds and gardens are lovely and provide a lovely space to relax. There are also plenty of interesting places to visit within a reasonable driving distance. Nicky made us feel very welcome. We hope to return to Wharton Lodge Cottages again.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & T Thanks for your great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Grosvenor. It's really important to us that guests have a chance to escape their busy lives and have some real R&R, it sounds as if we met our aim. Don't work too hard and remember next time you need to recharge your batteries, we would love to welcome you back to WL.... BW N

Another excellent holiday in Grosvenor

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from another wonderful stay at Wharton Lodge. We love everything about the place - the warmth of the welcome, the quality of the accommodation, the beautiful gardens and grounds - Nicky and her team do everything possible to make their guests comfortable and their attention to detail and personal preferences is first class. Our next holiday in Grosvenor is already booked!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & R Thank you so much for another fabulous review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It makes our day to know that you enjoyed the cottage and gardens and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know you appreciate the little extra touches. Until the next time, thanks again N & G

Our latest visit of many

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another week's stay in Grosvenor, the latest of many over the years. The minute we drive through the gates of Wharton Lodge we relax. We always get such a lovely warm welcome from Nicky, George & Joyce that we feel as though we are visiting friends. We also know that should any problems occur they will always be happy to help. The cottage is beautifully maintained & so comfortable. We love the walled courtyard, the view across the park, & being able to sit in a great garden. We loved seeing the Labradors Tilly & Beau again. We have known four generations of the dogs since our very first visit. We will be back again, you've not seen the last of us yet Nicky & George!



Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Grosvenor for the New Year and it was a very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable holiday. The cottage is great, Nicky has thought of absolutely everything: ranging from Christmas decorations to a bowl for our dog, you name it/ I can't think of anything that we missed. The cottage is furnished to a high standard and very cosy. Nicky was always there if we needed her, but she respected our privacy. She is a wonderful person who takes great care of all her guests. Our dog Barley had the best time ever, being able to run around the parkland and there are also numerous great walks nearby. There are so many other positives to mention, but the best thing to do is to go and experience it for yourself!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M, R, R and I Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, it is really appreciated. We loved welcoming you and introducing you to a new area of the UK. Do keep in touch and when you plan another visit to the Wye Valley we would be delighted to welcome you again.... KR N

One visit is definitely not enough!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked my cottage for the Christmas week so I could keep close to my son, his wife and my grandchildren. I really did have a wonderful stay. The cottage was decorated for Christmas, so it looked really lovely. It was fantastically clean and they really had thought of everything. Nicky couldn't have been more helpful. She was there if I needed her but otherwise I felt like I had the whole estate to myself. Wonderful. I would love to book again and I have no doubt that I will, this time I hope to take my new husband with me. His birthday is in March so maybe we will head up there then. I would highly recommend and quite honestly I wished I lived there!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C, Wow what fabulous feedback, we are over the moon with your comments and really appreciate your kindness. We love living a WL and it's great to know that our guests enjoy the property so much, they would like to live here too! We look forward to welcoming you back to WL again one day and to meeting your husband. KR N

A pre Christmas break in Grosvenor

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another delightful stay at Wharton Lodge, enjoying the first class hospitality that Nicky, George and the team always provide. The accommodation was beautifully presented, complete with Christmas tree and decorations. Everything you need to know about Wharton Lodge Cottages is reflected in the fact that we booked two further holidays there immediately we got home from this one!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & R, We really appreciate your very kind feedback, which will be shared with the team. Thank you so much for completing the review and for being such great guests.... we look forward to welcoming you again in 2018. Happy NY to you both, N & G

Excellent Cottage in a Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grosvenor Cottage is a beautiful warm and well maintained cottage with a wonderful walled garden, and surrounded by parkland. The owners Nicky and George are most helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The cottage is close to the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean, but it also has easy access to the Western Cotswolds, Cheltenham, Great Malvern and the Slimbridge Wetland Centre - all of which we visited.
Although we did not bring our dog; dogs are most welcome, which is quite unusual for quality cottages. The welcome pack is excellent, the best we have ever received. Altogether an excellent holiday cottage.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear H & D Thank you so much for the excellent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and that you made time to tour the local area. Please do keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you to Wharton Lodge again one day, your dog would be welcome too.... Many thanks, N

Wonderful Wharton

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge is a truly special place. The standards here are so high and the cottage we stayed in (Grosvenor) was immaculate, we felt like we were the very first visitors in it. The housekeeper is amazing & all the staff go the extra mile to make sure that guests have a good experience. The owners really do care about their guests and want them to enjoy their time at Wharton Lodge. We had a lovely warm welcome from George, Nicky and the team, the garden looked beautiful and everywhere was just perfect. We were so happy to be back, this place is just perfect for relaxing and recharging the batteries, there are plenty of places to visit in the surrounding area and it is equally nice just to sit in the walled garden and chill out. Absolutely perfect



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & R Thank you so much for the really great review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your recent stay not to mention the great comments about the cottage and gardens which will be shared with Mark and the team. Thanks for your kindness and when you next fancy some R&R, you are always welcome at Wharton Lodge..... KR N

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Wharton lodge in Grosvenor cottage for our 25th wedding anniversary with our daughter and our scottie dog. The cottage was excellent and the surroundings so peaceful.
Nicky and George went above and beyond as hosts. We have stayed in several premier cottages but this was the most modern and clean with outstanding furnishings and beautiful views.
We would highly recommend a stay at Wharton Lodge cottages.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & P Thank you so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed celebrating your special Anniversary with us here at Wharton Lodge. Here's to the next 25 years... in the meantime if you are heading in this direction we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks again, KR, N

Grosvenor cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had not visited this area before but was pleased we did. The week we were there flew by and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Grosvenor cottage was lovely, the attention to detail was very much appreciated. We especially enjoyed walking in the walled garden and using the orangery. Walking with our dog Dylan in the early morning around the extensive grounds was a great start to the day - spotting the heron and buzzard added to the pleasure. The setting is simply stunning, a beautiful place and very relaxing.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear D & G Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and discovering this 'undiscovered' scenic area..... Really pleased that Dylan also enjoyed the gardens and parkland, we tell T&B how lucky they are to have such a lot of space to play. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all to WL again one day and we look forward to hearing all about the new family member.... KR N

Fabulous Grosvenor

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage and walled garden. The attention to detail, little extra touches and housekeeping are first class. Nicky, Joyce and the team make us very welcome, we have such a relaxing time we stay regularly and have done for several years.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & R Thank you so much for completing a review, not to mention such a positive one! It's always a pleasure to welcome you both and we are delighted to know how much you enjoy staying at WL. Do keep in touch and when you are ready for some R&R, please do keep WL in mind, you are always welcome. Kind regards, N

A true home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptionally clean with the sort of attention to detail and little extras that bring a smile to your face. It certainly was the 'home from home' that Nicky and George wanted to create.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear B & M Thanks for the great feedback, we really appreciate your kind review. It is very important to us that guests relax and feel at home during their stay at Wharton Lodge, it appears we succeeded this time. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day. Kind regards N

Our new favorite place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The warm and perfectly appointed cottage sits on beautiful, quiet grounds. The proprietor is unbelievably accommodating and wonderful. On a two month trip, this was our favorite week by far and hope to return!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear X, E and D Thank you so much for the absolutely amazing review. Your kind feedback is really, really appreciated and will be shared with the WL team. As I think you may have guessed... there is nothing more important to us than for guests to have the best time both in the cottage and the area, we are so pleased we have achieved our aim. It was a delight to meet you all, we hope to welcome you to WL again one day. N

Grosvenor Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very happy four nights in Grosvenor Cottage, I couldn't reccomend it more highly. Extremely comfortable and in such a beautiful part of the world.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & B Thanks for the great feedback, it has made our day. We are not only delighted that you enjoyed staying at Wharton Lodge but that you loved the area too.... Many thanks, N

On the doorstep of the Forest of Dean

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is simply the best holiday cottage we've ever experienced. Nicky and George are wonderful people and the welcome they extend is all we could hope for (not forgetting the beautiful Labradors).



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & D Thanks so much for the great feedback, we really appreciate your kind review which we will share with the team. Do keep in touch and whenever you need some R&R we do have a travel cot and high chair available :-).... N & G

Another wonderful stay at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from another lovely break at Wharton Lodge. Superb, comfortable, well-equipped accommodation and a wonderful, warm welcome provided by Nicky, George and their staff, as usual. The gardens are a delight and we were able to enjoy them every day in lovely weather. It's a real pleasure to stay at Wharton Lodge , whatever the weather or time of year and we have become regular visitors - our next trip is already booked.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & B We really appreciate your very kind feedback. There is nothing more important to us than for guests to relax, enjoy WL gardens, surroundings and their cottage. We are delighted we hit the mark! Until the next time.... Many thanks, N

The very best

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in self catering accommodation all over Europe. I can say without hesitation that Wharton Lodge Cottages are the very best we have encountered. A veritable master class in how to run a self catering operation



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & C Wow, thank you so much for the fantastic feedback... you have made our day! It is so important to us that you have a comfortable, relaxing time at Wharton Lodge and we so appreciate hearing that on your second visit we have again met/exceeded expectations. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you both (not forgetting 'P') again one day. KR N

Our second stay at Wharton Lodge Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from another great holiday staying at Grosvenor Cottage - you'd be struggling to find a more beautiful location with such great facilities. The cottage is luxurious and dog friendly, and was perfect for a family of 3 plus dog! The grounds and formal gardens are beautiful, with parkland beyond [perfect for pets and children]. Nicky and George always have great recommendations for places to visit and eat, and there are some lovely walks and pubs within a short distance. We definitely hope to go back for more stays!!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C, M & O, Thank you so much for another great review, it really is appreciated. We loved welcoming you all again and as you will imagine Beau is missing her play mates O & T. Please keep in touch and I hope to get around to posting some of the great footage taken with M's new toy very soon. Thanks once again from the whole team at WL.... N

Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Grosvenor cottage. The cottage is immaculate, comfortable and very well located. Nicky & George are excellent hosts. They were very welcoming, looked after us and gave us fantastic local recommendations.
My girls felt at home and didn't want to leave at the end of four days. We will definitely return.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & P Thanks for the great feedback, it really was our pleasure to welcome you all and we are delighted you so enjoyed your stay. It would be great to welcome you all back to Wharton Lodge Cottages one day.... in the meantime we will investigate the best restaurants for steak & ale pie ;-) (we also offer beef & ale casserole on our freezer menu). Warm regards Nicky

Superb cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was an amazing find. Beautifully decorated, clean as a whistle, comfortable and warm. The welcome from George and Nicky was fantastic and they were so helpful and keen to make sure our stay was as good as it could be. Everything had been thought of from a welcome pack of lovely breakfast goods to a bowl and towel for the dog. The park the cottages sit in is huge and good for stretching your legs or exercising the dog. Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing break in a peaceful setting.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Andrea Thanks so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your New Year stay with us. Really appreciate the feedback especially as you had to hit the ground running! Warm wishes, Nicky & George

Delightful luxury dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage, Grosvenor, was everything we hoped for and more. Set amidst lovely grounds with a park a short stroll away it was an ideal spot to chill out with our dog.over Christmas. Delightfully decorated and very comfortable with all mod cons. Nicky & George, the owners made us feel so welcome, even inviting us into the main lodge on Christmas morning for drinks. Lovely walks in the vicinity too, the Forest of Dean is only a short drive away. An excellent few days away, will definitely be going back.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J&A, Thank you so much for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed Grosvenor and spending Christmas with us at Wharton Lodge Cottages. It makes our day to receive such positive feedback and it really is appreciated. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back, with an extra special request from Beau! Warmest wishes for a Happy New Year Nicky & George

Grosvenor cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Grosvenor cottage, Wharton Lodge , where the owners go the extra mile to make you welcome and ensure your comfort. The property is equipped to a high standard and presented in immaculate condition. We would recommend this property without hesitation and have already booked two further visits for 2017.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Linda Thank you so much for the fabulous review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to complete a review not to mention the very positive feedback. Thanks also for choosing WL this year, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2017... Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year N&G

Fabulous Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly magnificent place. Wharton Lodge is a perfect place to chill out and relax, cottages are lovingly cared for and the garden and surrounding parkland is fabulous. Nicky and George are perfect hosts, they are on hand if you need them and have vast knowledge about the surrounding area. We have had such a good time at Wharton Lodge and will definitely return



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R & J Really appreciate your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you both again and we are delighted you enjoyed your return visit to Wharton Lodge. Do keep in touch and remember you are always welcome N & G

Wonderful location and wonderful people

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 3 night stay with our dog Mickey.
Grosvenor is a fabulous 2 bed cottage with good sized rooms and a nice powerful shower.
The kitchen is comprehensive, clean and very well equipped
Parking is a breeze, walking the dog across the fields is handy, the gardens are beautiful and the location quite perfect.
Nicky is a very generous and kind host, we felt that even though our visit was short, we had made a friend.
Whenever we are in need of a stay in the area - we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
Thank you.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & T Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,,,, and for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and found WL the perfect base for exploring the area. The fiver is in the post for your really kind feedback on me ;-) Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you to WL again sometime. Big thanks, N

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fortnight at Wharton Lodge Cottages and this was by all means one of the best holidays we have ever had. I can hardly put into words how exceptional our stay has been: Grosvenor cottage has everything your heart desires: excellent furnishings, comfortable and elegant, all rooms beautifully decorated with great thought to detail, well equipped and spotlessly clean. On our arrival we even had the bonus of a welcome hamper (very much appreciated after our long journey from Gemany)
The garden was also well kept and lovely to sit in. But the real wow factor is the people who run this place: Nicky and George are two kind, attentive and generous hosts giving us a very warm welcome, showing us round and providing us with fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden( bliss!) Also the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We truly had a memorable time and we can't thank Nicky and George enough. Annabelle, our Vizsla bitch, who was allowed to stay with us - as Grosvenor is a dog-friendly accommodation - also enjoyed each and every minute.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear H & I Firstly apologies for the delayed response, I had thought I had written a couple of weeks ago. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It really is appreciated when we receive so much praise and I will share your comments with our team. Do please stay in touch and we hope to welcome you (along with Anna) again one day. Warmest, N

PERFECT GETAWAY

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome was superb, Nicky was a wonderful hostess. Property is superbly appointed. Private courtyard is lovely for evening meals and morning coffee whilst the grounds themselves of Wharton Lodge are spectacular. Well kept and beautiful to look at and to relax in day or into the evening. "Dogs Welcomed" ! This was a huge part of us booking here as we want our time away with our black labrador, Stanley to be fun and luxurious rather than having to stay at home or camp in a tent to keep our dog with us. Wharton Lodge has it's own resident dogs who all made Stanley feel welcome too. Cannot mention too much how well furnished and decorated the cottages are. Location is superb for visiting local places such as Symonds Yat Rock, Hereford, Ross, The Chase-Williams Vodka Distillery (Leominster)-DO the tour!
Fabulous and recommended for those wanting and willing to pay a reasonable price for quality and luxury that is only just down the M50!




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & S Thanks so much for the amazing feedback which will be shared with the team. It really was our pleasure to welcome you all and take part (in a small way) in the celebrations..... N

Wharton Lodge, a favourite place.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Wharton Lodge Cottages numerous times over many years, usually staying in Grosvenor, and would not stay anywhere else if visiting Herefordshire. We are always assured of a warm welcome on arrival, a clean and comfortable cottage, and a peaceful stay. We just keep returning.



Grosvenor cottage, Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class in every way - a joy to stay there. Nicky, George and their team go the extra mile to make sure that you are welcome and comfortable. The cottage is furnished and equipped to a high standard and the gardens are a delight. We have already booked another visit and would recommend it without hesitation.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & R Thanks for taking the time to do a review and for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Grosvenor and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you both again later in the year.... Nicky

amazing cottage in a lovely area ,with lovely pubs and great sights.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
my wife and I have stayed at many up market holiday cottages ,but none can compare with Wharton Lodge ,we will be back again and again ! you could ask for anything more perfect.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & S Thanks very much for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your second holiday with us and your kindness is much appreciated. Please do let us know what we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. We should all have different cars before your next visit, we look forward to seeing your final choice.... Warm regards Nicky

A week long break in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Grosvenor because it said it welcomed dogs & it really did, towels & dog bowls etc.. The cottage was just like a 'home from home' with everything you could need - including a tasty welcome hamper. The grounds surrounding our cottage were pretty spectacular & we were welcome to walk & sit in them. Many nice dog friendly places to eat out & the walking was plentiful & exhausting.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Wharton Lodge - both the cottage and the gardens. The area as you discovered is perfect for a visit with a canine companion. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all again one day.... Kind regards Nicky